Ocean Blue and Sand Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Ocean Blue and Sand  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Great vacation"
Posted by: John  on Nov 22, 2014
see all reviews

Ocean Blue and Sand Reviews
Ocean Blue and Sand Pictures and Information
Ocean Blue and Sand Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#10
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 46 reviews

Ocean Blue and Sand Information


Right on the sea front at the wonderful beaches of Bávaro, immersed in the luscious tropical green of palm trees and close to the White Sands golf course, the H10 Ocean Blue and H10 Ocean Sand hotels dispose of complete suites, all-inclusive services*, and an extensive activity program to make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Ocean Blue and Sand Reviews

Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.1 of 5 46 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  20
Average
  7
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (23)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (14)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 46

"Very Poor Experience"

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on May 8, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Wedding | Family and Kids
88 people found this review helpful

We went to Ocean Blue for a family wedding. Let me first comment that the wedding was absoutely beautiful and perfect.

However a number of flaws in the visit overshadowed the wedding. We traveled with a 14 month old who became very sick. We asked the hotel staff to call the on site doctor and we were told the doctor would be 40 minutes to 90 minutes before he could visit. The baby started to have a reaction to a high fever which the mother knew immediately medical care was needed asap. At that point rather than wait for the on site doctor to come we asked the hotel staff to call a cab to take us to the hospital. Noteworthy it was late at night, everything was dark when we arrived. Ten minutes into the ride the cab driver stopped and told us he ran out of gas. Keep in mind you now have a crying, coughing baby and two terrified women in the vehicle in a foreign country. Motorcycles stopped on the side of the road to take a look and left, cars whizzed by....then we realized the cab was still running. If he ran out of gas why was the car still running? About ten minutes later another cab pulled up and took us to the hospital. This cab driver recognized at least how sick the our little passenger was and traveled at great speed, albeit on the wrong side of the road with oncoming cars, cut people off but we did get to the hospital. At the hospital as would be expected in a foreign country, we were not admitted (no matter how sick you are) until they could valid that an insurance company was covering the cost of the visit. After 45 minutes on the phone with the insurance company and the receptionist it was confirmed the visit was covered. It was determined by the doctor the baby had a temperature of 104, pink eye, a chest infection and croup. After receiving treatment and the prescribed medication we asked the receptionist to call a cab to return us to the resort. She informed us she would not make the call until she received the approval from the insurance company for the payment of the visit. Another 45 minutes later approval was provided, a cab was called and we returned to the resort.

Room Number:
3211

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
April 27-14

Rooms:
clean when you kept after the staff.

Restaurants and Bars:
In addition to the above horrible experience, the food was an embarrassment, it was unappetizing, not preserved well and no variety. There is nothing open 24 hours to eat at, no poolside cafe that you are able to get a snack which does not work well when travelling with children. When they are hungry they want to eat, they won't wait.

Other Comments:
The following morning I asked to speak to the resort Manager and was told he was unavailable and I was also told that the individuals who called the cab (the bell boys) were not the responsibility of the resort and I had to go to another area to voice our complaint. I went to the designated area and explained to the gentleman behind the desk what happened, and his response was in a sarcastic tone "What is it you want me to do? We can't do anything about this." Perhaps not him personally but the resort should be responsible for the safety of their guests and if there is a medical emergency that they cannot accomodate on the premises and they send the guest off site, you would expect the well being of that individual would be first and foremost on their minds. There should be procedures in place that are followed such that validate the arrival at the hospital and the return back to the resort safely. A courtesy follow up with the guest and a report shoud be on file. If they call a cab in these circumstances they should ensure it is able to fullfill the requirement, not leave them stranded in the middle of nowhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WE WOULD NOT GO BACK!!!!!!"

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARY  on May 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
582 people found this review helpful

WE 8 ADULTS WERE AT OCEAN BLUE & SAND 5/15....5/22. WANTED TO TRY A DIFFERENT HOTEL. HAVE STAYED AT IBEROSTAR PRIOR VACATION WAS GREAT. THTE RESTERAUNTS ARE NOT ALL OPENED EVERY NIGHT THEY ADVERTISE 8 ONLY MAYBE 3 OR 4 OPENED AT ONCE. FOOD IS FAIR AT BEST. ROOMS ARE POOR. HAD TO BE MOVED DUE TO PROBLEM.SPOKE TO ACOUPLE WHO HAD WATER POURING INTO THEIR ROOM FROM CEILING DURING RAIN.ENTIRE COMPOUND IS SLATE AND TILE. IF THERE IS ANY RAIN OR MOISTURE WALKING IS VERY VERY SLIPPERY. I MYSELF FELL IN FRONT VOF A ROOM NOONE CAME TO CHERCK TO MAKE SURE WATER WAS CLEANED UP. WE PUT A BATH TOWEL OUTSIDE OF ROOM IT WAS THERE STILL WHEN WE LEFT! THE EMPLOYEES WAITSTAFF ARE GREAT BUT SPEAK LITTLE ENGLISH

Your Arrival:
OK

Rooms:
VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
NOT ENOUGH OPENED FOOD WAS FAIR AT BEST

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH AND POOL WERE NICE DON'T PLAN ON GOLF IT LOOK LIKE A DESERT!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
FAIR

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed and will not be going back !"

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  sherry  on Apr 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
340 people found this review helpful

We were a group of 16 family members travelling from Canada. The drive to and from the hotel was pleasant. We arrived at the resort around 9:30 or so only to be told that our rooms wouldn"t be ready until 3:00.This was a big inconvenience since we had two younger children with us.
When we finally got checked into our rooms I must say they were quite spacious but average. Unfortunately the safe in my sister's room had no door on it. Even after several requests by her and her husband to have it fixed or replaced, it was never done. During their entire stay they had to keep their money,documents etc. in another family member's safe.
The beach was fabulous and the quiet pool was lovely. Most of us were early risers so getting beach chairs was never an issue.
There seemed to be quite a language barrier with the staff there and compared to other resorts we have been to, service was not great.
Some of us did some excursions but for those of us who went on the tropical storm excursion, it was the highlight of their trip! Goldilocks was a gem.
The restaurants were a bit of a disappointment with the exception of the Italian. Most of the time we ate our meals at the main buffet where again the service was terrible.There was a wide variety of food and we all enjoyed that part of it. However a lot of the time the table wasn't completely set and getting tea or coffee was out of the question. Many times we ended up just never getting it even after going up to remind them.Bear in mind this is the buffet where many times we would be there for an hour or so. Plenty of time to get your beverage wouldn't you say. As in any establishment there were a few exceptions like the pasta chef and one or two of the waiters who were nice. Also, our maid who personally thanked me for the gifts we gave her. Those were the people we tipped well with pleasure.
If you didn't go to the nightly shows which were over at 10:30 or so there was little else to do. We tried the bowling but they didn't have enough shoes or all of our sizes. The main lobby was big but didn't have enough chairs to accomodate many people. They had entertainment for about an hour each night which was good but after that nothing. We spent the last few nights sitting outside on the bistro chairs chatting and having a drink which was relaxing but for the money we all spent for this trip there should have been more. We won't go back for sure nor would we ever recommend this resort to anyone. It was just nice to vacation together with family.
It really puzzles me that for people who supposedly have it so hard why they wouldn't be friendlier to get more tips. We were so happy when someone was finally nice we all pooled our tips and handed it to them! A smile goes a long way in any language!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Holiday Spoilt by Clientel! Not a Thomas Cook STYLE Hotel!"

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Jun 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
714 people found this review helpful

Just arrived back from a two weeks stay a the the Ocean Blue Bavaro (26/05 to 09/06), We travelled with Thomas Cook (UK) from Gatwick & booked this Holiday back in Oct 09. TC market this Hotel as a "STYLE" Hotel which although it has the potential to be is most definatly is NOT! It seem that this H10 Hotel is marketed as a cheap option for those travelling from the USA/Canada/Peurto Rico & when the previous reviews state that its good value for the $ then maybe it is at the prices they were paying but we paid £3600 for this trip (2 adults & 2 kids)!
When we booked this trip Thomas Cook gave us a FREE upgrade to a Privilage Package, two months after we booked they dropped the price by £800 so in theory we had Paid for it! Then two weeks before our flight TC downgraded the aircraft to an older plane with 29" seat pitch from 33/34" & No seat back IFE! Not a good start!

Your Arrival:
On arrival at The Ocean Blue we were directed to reception to check-in, I had taken all my booking details with confirmation of the Privilage Upgrade. Thankfully there was another couple with the same Upgrade (Hi Duncan & Jo) who also had all their documentation as proof as the H10/Ocean Blue staff were totally unaware of any offer an so were unaware of our status consiquently they had NO Privilage rooms ready! We finally got our rooms & luggage a few hours later, not ideal when you have had a long flight with kids.

Rooms:
The room was large & spacious with huge bathroom! Although it was a privilege room it overlooked the service road to the back of the hotel, not what I had hoped for & emailed ahead & requested on several occassions! We managed to get a room change after 6 days & a heated discussion with the Privilege staff! We did not receive all the promised Privilege extras & had to ask several times before we got half the promised mini bar! The rooms are clean & a bit scruffy but thats to be expected with the constant us I guess!
The second room had plumbing problems, the toilet never flushed properly & we had to take the ciston lid off every time & flush manually! We did report this but it never got fixed! We also had water flowing through the lights from the room above when they used the Shower/Bath, however this did get fixed!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food and Drink
We found the food to be very good with loads & loads of choice & dinning option. We did visit Route 66 (USA) twice which the kids loved, Mexican again very nice & Italian which we didn't like very much. We found the Italian station in the Buffet to be as good.
We did have room service on one evening which was swift & very good. The beach snack bar at lunch was also very good. Drinks overall very good, good choice of Cocktails & top shelf alcohol, Wine Red & White very drinkable, Champagne like Cider & only 4% not so good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Pools
Well where do I start? Both pools are Huge & both have swim up bars. Loads of sunbeds available at all times. The Pools are advertised as the Quiet Pool & the Sports Activity Pool, unfortunatly on the first week of our stay the hotel was running a American HipHop Gangster Rap Festival, The whole pool area was overun with foul mouthed hiphop fanatics walking around with 3ltr Bottles of Grey Goose Vodka (beacause the Dominican Alcohol didn't get the drunk!) shouting & screaming & overtaking the whole of the swimup bar (the only one open!) & blaring out thair HipHop Music for 6 days! The second week a huge group of youngsters (about 200) from Peuto Rico arrived again running riot & performing Sex acts in the pool at 2pm in the afternoon! Thankfully I love the beach in Punta Cana so was happier away from all the madness which is unfortunate for our children who we felt were not suited to the sights & sounds of this pool enviroment!
The Beach
Well what can I say? Real paradise! White sand & azure sea....beautiful! We used the Privilage beach area which although isn't very grand has a waitress service which was a nice touch. Also plenty of sunbeds at any time of the day & unlimited beach towels. Only downside was the aftermath of the youngster (condoms & vomit) the next morning!

The Grounds
The grounds are beautiful, Immaculate gardens, all clean & well kept..........well done to the groundstaff!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:

Activities
Very Poor! My husband plays Volly Ball but often he turned up to play & the activity had been cancelled! My daughter (9) went to Kids Club twice which again was poor.


Staff
We found the staff had very little English skills especially the waiters & waitresses which was not a problem really as with a little help we usually got our requests understood. Although there were plenty of staff they never seemed to go out of their way to be overally helpfull or friendly!

Evening Entertainment
There is a large Theatre with loads of seating but unfortunatly the shows run on a weekly basis so if you have seen them in the first week the second week you have nothing to watch! The Michael Jackson, Latin & Circus show are well worth a look.

Other Comments:

Privilage Package
All I can say is if you get it FREE the go for it otherwise don't waste your money! We never had any outstanding service from anywhere in the Hotel, We didn't get all the package advertised, My husband ordered a bottle of Champagne for our Wedding anniversary from the Privilage Customer service desk & it never arrived, when he complained they said they would get one send & it arrived 2 days later, warm with no glasses & no Ice! This Hotel has no finesse about it anywhere which is a great shame.

Holiday Overall
I have rated Ocean Blue as a 3*, I have visited Riu Palace Macao & Superclub Breezes Punta Cana which were both fantastic & I would say that this hotel is the only one I would not return to. I feel that it is being marketed as a bargin Bucket 18/30's venue & H10 are selling it off to anyone without any regard for how this may effect other holidaymakers! It was not a Family friendly hotel for the two weeks we stayed & by reading the previous reviews I believe that this is ongoing problem at the Ocean Blue. We were also aware that the Thomson Clients (UK) that were there at the same time as us were requesting to be moved to other hotels due to the noise & antics of others at night keeping everyone awake till 4am in the morning!
My Husband & I both had tummy upsets, my husbands being quite severe & he is still suffering now we are home. We did see a food inspector one evening in the main Buffet & the next day they introduced a hand sanitizer policy in all food areas. I am asuming that there was an outbreak of sickness/diarrhoea!
I think Thomas Cook are wrong to advertise this hotel as a STYLE HOTEL when it quite clearly isn't, if you are expecting luxury of any kind you will be dissapointed! If you get a good bargin/last minuite getaway & go with no expectation its an OK Hotel otherwise shop elswhere!
Would I go back? No, there are far far better Hotels for the same price! Would I recommend a friend? No!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I was very dissatisfied."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donna from Mount Laurel, N J  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2009
233 people found this review helpful

Arrival: September 18th to 25th, 2009
Our flight was changed to 10:15 with a stop in Baltimore. This made us lose a whole day. By the time all the others were dropped off at their hotels we didn't get to ours until 4:30.

Rooms:
Furniture needed to be updated due to knicks on all. Bathroom caulking around the tubs were a mess. Fixtures in the bathrooms falling off the walls. Musty smell in the rooms were disgusting. Airconditioning not working properly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were hot. Food was good. Desserts were not all that great. Drinks at the bars were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches were nice as were the pools and the grounds around them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on a Catamaran trip which was very enjoyable. My husband went on a snorkeling excursion which he enjoyed.

Other Comments:
This hotel when viewing online looks great. However, for being 4 years old is really beat. The furniture is old, the repairs that were made looked like a child did it. For example the caulking around the tub was a mess. I was very dissatisfied.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OKAY place, but probably would NOT return"

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Feb 26, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
265 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Arrived half an hour early, but while being "shuttled" to our resort, there were SIX hotels for "drop-offs" ... we were of course the 6TH one. Check-in went smoothly, with the exception of rooms not being ready till 3. Still get a kick out of the $10 tourist card.... don't see the point of it, love the fact the little band actually KICKS the tip basket towards you, as you are walking by, and fighting off the guys trying to carry your luggage for you, for tips is also a joy.

Rooms:
Rooms are okay, low pressure in the shower, not much hot water, but honestly, I have pretty much grown to expect that in the D.R. Room was also very cool... and try as we could, the A/C for some reason could not be adjusted. Maid was a no-show ...twice... we had gone to our room one day at 3, and another day at 4. She comes and grabs the towels, but does not replace them until the room is clean. I don't really care about an un-made bed, but a shower after a day at the beach/pool is much appreciated, and waiting for towels is a pain, had to call TWICE the one day to get them, and they arrived at 6!

Restaurants and Bars:
Italian rest; very good, Dominican; also very good. Buffet no problems.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and pool both very well maintained, as were the grounds. Word of caution though .... some of the flooring/tiles.. can be VERY slippery when wet!!!

Other Comments:
Nice place, just too spread out for my liking. You either walk A LOT or wait for a shuttle. It's also a place where one must be very patient.....SOME of the bartenders are not the quickest, and the week we were there, the rudeness and the lack of manners of the guests were overwhelming....there seemed to be a lacking of "please and thank you's" and an ABUNDANCE of cutting into lines, or cutting in at the bar.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not really a 5 star!!"

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  kelly  on Apr 28, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
256 people found this review helpful

45 people arrived for a wedding on Saturday the 20th at 10:30am.....couldn't check into rooms until 4:30....wasted a whole day....staff kept telling us only 10 minutes, only 10 minutes!!! Not impressed! Showers were a night mare...only "half" shower door....water leaks all over MARBLE FLOORS which are very slippery when wet!!! On several occasions we found staff at least 4 or 5 sitting on the stair case and when trying to get by(excusing yourself)received dirty looks!!! We tipped our Maid 20 US dollars a day plus gifts!! and lucky if our room was cleaned up by 4:00......

Food was no great shakes!!! enough so that you didn't go hungry, but very unorganized...no reservations taken! line up only,,,,poorly cooked meat,,,small steaks served to three out of 4 people (who returned the steaks as they tasted "off" one friend became quite ill later the same night from the steak.....burgers were ok on the beach grill....grounds were beautiful,,,,pool great....but very long distances between dining rooms/rooms/beach.....but walking was wonderful when able to avoid "Sales pitches" and beach "bartering was becoming ridiculous!!!would we go back...probably not...just not impressed with food at all...and staff were not that pleasant....the trip to the Island was breathtaking!!! Franklin was our guide and would highly recommend this excursion!!!!!

Arrival:
Poor 5 hour wait for rooms

Rooms:
Clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Poor

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grossly Overrated"

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leon  on Aug 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
415 people found this review helpful

It is logical for most to peruse the reviews of the various resorts available and then make a decision because on the extent to which the positive reviews outweigh the negative ones. I chose Ocean Blue based on this logic, but I also noted what the nay-sayers wrote as well. My wife and I just returned from this short trip (8/23-8/26), and although the weather was impacted by rain from storm Isaac, I will not include it as a factor here in my observations.

This resort and its services are grossly overrated. I would rank it a score of 3 of 5 overall. I would recommend prospective visitors to explore other options at the same price. It did not meet my expectations at all. I have read some positive reviewers advise that if you come with “reasonable” expectations, you would be pleased. My response to this is that I believe that most hard-working Americans (and others) who spend this kind of money for a resort are reasonable people who know when they receive or do not receive reasonable value for their money. Ocean Blue falls noticeably short on this.

I would say that I am certainly not impressed with Ocean Blue and cannot recommend this resort for the price paid.


Room Block:
Villa 5

Rooms:
Well maintained.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is always an important element of any vacation and it is with me even though I am not complicated when it comes to meals. But I expect quality that befits the reputation of the resort. My wife and I ate at the buffet most of the time, as well as at the American diner Route 66, Mi Abuela (Dominican cuisine), the beach buffet, and Bucanero seafood restaurant. We tried making reservations and the steakhouse and Italian restaurant but the process is utter nonsense. There is a small window of time to line up and make reservations at these restaurants, and if you cannot line up at these times, you are out of luck (and there is no waiting list or second chance later in the evening). Don’t waste your vacation time to spend on a line to do this. That is one way they try to persuade guests to sign up for their H10 Privilege Club.

The buffet food in all respects (options, quality and service) is disappointing. I do all-inclusive a few times a year, mostly in Cancun, and the buffet at Ocean Blue is NOT up to par. I found much better meals at Route 66 and Mi Abuela. The Bucanero seafood restaurant is a paid restaurant at $40 per person. It is a plain ripoff. Basically, it is an open-sided thatched-roof shed at the edge of the beach with about eight wooden picnic-style table-and-benches on the sand. They call the dinner a “romantic seafood dinner for two.” I ordered the lobster dinner for both of us. We got a small grilled half-lobster, the tail the size of a jumbo shrimp (the rest of the body roasted an inedible because it contained nothing, not even claws), a tiny piece of fish (grouper filet), a tiny scoop of rice, and some vegetables. Remember, now, this is a tiny lobster, the tail the size of a large shrimp, and each of us got half of each side. We had wine which was good. They listed about four dessert items and all were unavailable except one. We were done with this fiasco in less than 30 minutes and headed back to the main buffet, while my wife nursed the many bites from the mosquitoes there. Luckily I wore long pants with shoes and socks. I would say that the food tasted good, but the size of the portion was an absolute ripoff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Here are the positives. Nice layout and design of the resort area and in good condition throughout. Up front is the main check-in lobby that includes a bar and lounge area and other guest service offices. Immediately behind the main lobby is a circular courtyard with ponds flanked by the main restaurants, casino, gift-shop and “disco” (my kids remind me that they call it a “club” nowadays). Two parallel rows of three story villas with balconies lead from the courtyard area down to the beach, separated in the middle by the pools. It is a rather long walk down to the beach from the front, but there are always golf carts passing by to take you back and forth, a day and night, sun or rain. The grounds and pools are well maintained, the room was clean, in good condition, spacious and well appointed, everything worked, and the attendant did a fine job.

Now here are some issues that other guests have written about that I would validate as true. First, there is a noticeable odor of sewer as soon as you step out of the lobby area into the courtyard right behind it. It smells like an overflowing sewer and seems to be more pungent near the casino area. This odor did not dissipate during the four days I was there. Note that this is the same area where the restaurants are also. Someone who is there at this moment and reading this might want to check it out and verify.

The seaweed on the beach is a major issue, not a minor problem. Especially at Ocean Blues’ beachfront it was piled up in huge mounds along the beach. About 20 feet into the water, everything looked like a muddy mess. Not a pretty sight (I took pictures). About six workers came with their rakes to tackle the problem, they looked around in despair, made a few gestures with rakes in hand, and then left having done nothing. A few hours later half of them returned with rakes in hand while the tide was rising. They looked on as the waves did the job of pulling the mounds back into the ocean. Not a rake was lifted in the process to clean up the seaweed. So I walked over a mile down Bavaro to see how the other resorts were handling this problem. Much smaller mounds of seaweed at the other places, and workers carting off the seaweed with wheelbarrows. I noticed treadmarks of tractor wheels on the compressed sand, so I figured that they must have used a tractor to shovel off the seaweed. Ocean Blue’s seaweed was the worst and it was left unattended until the high tides came and washed it back into the ocean. I can also tell you that the seaweed problem was evident along the entire stretch of Bavaro beach that I walked (about 2 miles). The beach itself, however, is nice, wide and with soft sand. The water is not too rough, with gentle waves.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Other items of brief mention. There is really no full-cast entertainment show that I saw when I was there. Just three young men dressed in white everything every evening doing some dancing and comedy skit on stage for about an hour or so. The main lobby has wifi that is painfully slow. You have to pay for Internet near the lobby area to get decent service. If you wish to make a phone call back home, they sell a $5 US Claro phone card that gives you a whopping 15 minutes of call time. The drinks are normally what you would expect at an all-inclusive. I tried a few and they were decent. I am not a drinker and had just one Presidente beer from their well-stocked refrigerator in our room. Always had bottled water and soda supplied with no problems. My wife, an avid coffee connoisseur, enjoyed Mike’s Coffee. Did not partake in any excursions as I prefer to spend my few days just relaxing without hassle to join or buy anything or engage in adventure.

Other Comments:
Room maintenance was excellent, and transportation around the resort the same. But there is big problem with the men who work at this resort and I blame management for this. Yes, they constantly stalk you to sign up for their Privilege club. They are everywhere, aggressive and sometimes impolite. They drive around in the golf carts, stop when they see you, and say “come here.” If you go, they start asking you intrusive and deceptive questions with the intention of taking you to the privilege club reps at the front. We were at the beach buffet once and one of the cooks came around and put his hand around my wife’s waist asking if he could help her. She immediately told him to get his hand off her and he should not be doing that. The men I also noticed are constantly winking at the female guests, even when their husbands or boyfriends are around. I have read similar reports of this type of behavior.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice but is not a five star and there were some things to watch for."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sheila  on Mar 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
300 people found this review helpful

Your Arrival:
Upon arrival at the hotel, there seemed to be a lot of assistance which impressed us at first. We were told about our Signature orientation the next morning, time and location. Our bags were held while we checked in which was efficient and when we entered the reception area we were greeted by a white shirt person who said when we were done we needed to go the side desk for more information about the resort.
Unless you want to start an intense sales pitch, avoid this. We were assured it was not sales, but simply someone would join us for breakfast and give us a tour of the facility. We arrived late and since it seemed genuine, we agreed.
The next morning right after our Signature orientation, we realized we didn't need this "tour", and tried to skip it but were pursued and pressured, still being assured it wasn't a sales pitch.
Long story, we wasted our whole morning, stuck in a meeting room, hearing about the Privilege Club etc. Save yourself the time and avoid that tour.

Rooms:
The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. TV was old and remote didn't work well, this was frustrating as we wanted to watch some of the Olympics without success. Otherwise we normally don't care much about TV.

Restaurants and Bars:
It is important to note that there are two ala carte restaurants that are not included in all inclusive. One is $40 USD per person for seafod, we couldn't seem to find out what that included but didn't go, and the other is full charge averaging $35.00 per plate.
An extensive wine list was available in these restaurants, quite expensive.

The house wine "red" at times was okay and other times it wasn't pallatable, we enjoy a good glass of wine, so this was disappointing.

Buffet service needs to be addressed, it is disorganized and understaffed, in most other places we have stayed, nobody was seating guests, no tables were set and ready after the first seating, servers were too busy to provide the services they needed to such as water, cocktails, wine, table settings.

The choice and quality of food was very good and ever changing.

Route 66 restaurant service was disappointing and the food was mediocre, but all others we tried were very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool and beach were very crowded, there were lots of families there which may have increased the guest count, but it was very difficult to secure chairs in either area and we found ourselves going out at 4 and 5 in the morning to secure seating with shade.
Very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was no apparent program for children and no designated area for them, and there were lots of children, more than we have seen at any other resort.

As adults not travelling with children, it was difficult to find a quiet area to enjoy ourselves. Example, lots of children sitting at the pool bar ordering drinks and then playing with them in the water.

Other Comments:
We would not return to this resort because of the Privilege Club high pressure sales and two levels of service in the resort. Each time we went to the main lobby we were approached to consider "time share and privilege club"

There was a special reception room for these folks, they had the only view rooms in the facility, and roped beach area, beach breakfast dining, separate bar.

We have stayed at many locations and used this site to make choices, this is the first time I have shared a review because we wanted to help others avoid the problems we had. We watched many people on their first day of arrival having this same pitch which seems to be sponsored by the Hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If I was to marry I would choose another spot...not here."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherry  on Nov 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Wedding | With friend
843 people found this review helpful

I expected alot more. the grounds where kept lovely and the people where very friendly. The food was just ok ! You won't starve tho. The rooms are outdated . The weather wasn't the best in Nov. I guess we hit a bad week, not there fault tho... hehe The best was the horse back riding and enjoyed it the most! The first day I was there I fell going down the stairs a little bruised ..really slippery when wet so beware..dont let it happen to you.They changed our room to the first floor which was nice. I paid 916.00 with air fare all inclusive ,which was good I would not pay anymore than that, some people did....I would have been very upset! November month was alot of rain.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube