Ocean Blue and Sand Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Ocean Blue and Sand  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Ocean Blue Punta Cana"
Posted by: kevin  on Sep 21, 2016
see all reviews

Ocean Blue and Sand Reviews
Ocean Blue and Sand Pictures and Information
Ocean Blue and Sand Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#10
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.1

Based on 47 reviews

Ocean Blue and Sand Information


Right on the sea front at the wonderful beaches of Bávaro, immersed in the luscious tropical green of palm trees and close to the White Sands golf course, the H10 Ocean Blue and H10 Ocean Sand hotels dispose of complete suites, all-inclusive services*, and an extensive activity program to make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Ocean Blue and Sand Reviews

Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.1 of 5 47 reviews
Excellent
  16
Very good
  20
Average
  7
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (24)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (14)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (4)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
41 - 46 of 47

"Great beach & plenty of miles to walk."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Helen from Kitchener  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
469 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 1st to 8th
Check in a bit slow, but drinks were served. We arrived at 2.30 p.m. & were sent to get something to eat as our room would be ready at 3.30 p.m.

Rooms
Beautiful, spacious, liked the double sinks

Restaurants and Bars
Good food on a whole. Really liked the alacarte each night & no problem getting a table. Service was quick. Liked the family musicians who came to our table in the italian restaurant, nice touch prefered the carrabean grill the best. Didn't like the constant time share meeting requests, enough already

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Clean, clear & beautiful. Grounds where imaculate

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went to santa domingo. Long 4 hr bus ride, but guide roberto was great & tour destinations good too for the history or geography buff

Other Comments
Would definitely recommend ocean sands. I think we might take our kids next year. Great beach & plenty of miles to walk.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I highly recommend this resort."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Susan from Tavistock, Ont,  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
450 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 7th
When we arrived check in went very fast.They gave us each a drink.What a beautiful entrence way.

Rooms
The rooms are a nice size.Jetted tub in our room,very clean,we were on the ground floor which we like.

Restaurants and Bars
Excellent restaurants excelent food.The bars are good to lots to drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The pools and the grouds are so beautiful very weel kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Activities were good to ,exept the sound in the building where the shows are you cannot hear what they are saying. we took the tour where you swim with the sharksb and the sting ray that was very nice tour.

Other Comments
We enjoyed our trip very much we would go back to this resort.I highly recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The lobby is very comfortable."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Anne from PEI  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
429 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 11th to 18th, 2009
Flew with Canjet this year and had absolutely no problems. Had booked emergency exits and had tons of room. Flight took 3 hrs 55 minutes and our return only took 3 hrs 35 minutes. Arrival in Punta Cana went smoothly and our bus ride took exactly 25 minutes using a part of the new highway. Check in was long as there were many people checking in at the same time.

Rooms:
Our first room was in 5116 which was ground floor. It was extremely musty and after one hour, I returned to the desk and they immediately switched us to 4305 (third floor). This building is halfway between the beach and the lobby so very convenient. We had requested second floor but there was nothing available. Everything in the room worked ok. They are in the process of refurbishing the rooms but we still had the old furniture. Safe is free and programmable. There are 12 hangars in the closet. We were lucky to get facecloths every day but some people didn't so bring a couple in case. We had a huge balcony around 8 by 10. You need to adjust your showerhead so as to avoid water on the floor that people are talking about. Lights are a bit on the dim side but they use energy efficient bulbs throughout the whole resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the food very good this time around compared to 2006. We also felt the service had improved dramatically. The beach bar not turns into the Carribean Grill at night and is very nice. We had the best beef tenderloin with mashed potatoes. By the way men need to wear long pants at the Italian and Dominican. All other restaurants let you in with nice shorts. I have to say our best night was our last night. We went to the buffet only to discover that we had to go to the kitchen to get our food. Naturally we were not impressed. We walk in and discover ice sculptures and decorations everywheres that words cannot describe. It was breathtaking. They had lobster soup, turkey with gravy and tons of great food. I think they call this Kitchen Party and it was on Saturday night. Do not miss this one.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I was up around 7 or so every day and had no problem getting a palapa by the blue pool which is the quieter one. The yellow one has all the activities.We saw the workers cleaning the pools every day. We took walks on the beach which is lovely and even had a few dips in the ocean. The grounds at this hotel are really stunning with its beautiful folliage and flowers. There is piped in music in rocks all along the pathways during the day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
The lobby is a very nice place to be in the evenings where you can listen to live music. Yes the lobby is a bit small compared to some other resorts but is's very comfortable.

Other Comments:
This was our second time there and we are booked to return on March 29th. We have absolutely no hesitation whatsoever in returning. If you have any specific questions, I will be glad to try to answer them. Can't wait to return.

louanne@eastlink.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the best resorts we've ever been too."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Chris & Susan from Elmira, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
460 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 11 - 19, 2009
Left from Kitchener which is always great. Arrived at Hotel around 2am only 2 staff at reception to handle a full bus. Went to the Sports Bar, that has a late night buffet and had a quick bite to eat along with a couple of drinks

Rooms:
The room was great. Very large and clean. Bathroom had a whirlpool tub and double sinks. Nice balcony with table and chairs TV worked with lots of english channels. Nice having a fridge in the, it was always stocked with Water, Pop and Beer.

Restaurants and Bars:
No reservations required for the speciality restaurants!!! You just showed up and if they had tables available you were seated. They have 6 speciality restaurants all are great with a variety of menu options. Went to the Italian twice for the lamb chops. The Sports Bar was good for watching Football and Mike's Coffee shop was great. The Coffee Shop is like a Starbucks, any type of coffee or frozen drink with lots of pastries. The Buffet had lots of variety and was setup with food stations, so no lineups.
The Bars all served

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was fantastic lots of chairs. You could walk for miles in either direction. Water was warm and clean. Pool was hugh with 2 swimup bars, again lots of chairs. The grounds were spotless, lots of flowers, birds. We saw cranes and a pair of wild parrots.

Other Comments:
One of the best resorts we've ever been too. We've been travelling to the Caribbean for over 30 years and have been to Punta Cana dozens of times. More staff members/guest than I have ever seen. They thanked you for a tip however, they weren't looking for tips. Service was the same.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great resort."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Dale from Kitchener, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
449 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 18 - 25th, 2009
Arrival was very efficient,they provided us with a cold wash cloth and welcome drink. We were a group of 10 and reception made a few adjustments to ensure that we were in the same building. Nice lobby and bar area as well.

Rooms:
Spacious and well equipted My only complaint would be the shower glass door didn't block the water very well leaving puddles on the floor. Our Balcony faced the back of the building/treed lot. Not very scenic but OK as we really didn't spend much time in the room. Inside balconies are very nice with view of pool or beach.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet and all restaurants were awesome! It was really nice to not have to make reservations in advance.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
You need to save your cabana area early but can easly spend the entire day at the beach. My only complaint is that several of the cabanas needed repair, if this were done more shade would have been available.

Other Comments:
A great resort. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* A very nice, well laid-out hotel."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2005  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2005
485 people found this review helpful

November 6 to November 13, 2005

Location:
Ocean Blue Golf & Beach Resort is located approximately 35 minutes from Punta Cana Airport. It shares its property with Ocean Sand Golf & Beach Resort. If you’re walking along the beach, it is directly adjacent to LTI Resort to the south, and the Iberostar Hotels are to the north.

Ocean Blue and Ocean Sand are essentially the same resort. When you enter the lobby, the reception for Ocean Blue is on your right and for Ocean Sand it is on the left. Rooms along the left side of the resort as you face the beach are for Ocean Sand guests, Ocean Blue accommodations are on the right. Accommodations are identical, all room types are available on both sides. All resort facilities are shared between the two.

Check-In
You check in at reception, unless you have upgraded to a deluxe junior suite or honeymoon suite. For these suites, which are in Villas 6 and 10, you have private checkin/checkout privileges at Guest Services, which is around the corner from the Ocean Blue reception. We just went into the Ocean Blue reception and they escorted us to Guest Services.

On checkin you will be given a wristband, your room keys, towel cards, and a “Welcome Passport”. This includes a map of the resort and excellent information about all the restaurants and other hotel services.

The occupancy rate was between 50 and 60 per cent the week we were there it seemed to be mostly Canadians and Americans.

Grounds and Beach
A nice thing about this hotel is you don’t have to spend a lot of time finding your way around. All the restaurants (except for the beach restaurants) are in one spot, across a courtyard from the lobby, and all other common areas are at the front of the resort by the lobby, with the two swimming pools in the centre of the two resorts. The villa buildings of the resorts are in a row along each side of the resort. There are palm trees and gardens throughout the property. The gardens are still young, but will fill in nicely as they mature.

A shuttle runs around the resort on a regular basis. If you are walking, it would take about 10 minutes to walk from the beach to the lobby.

There are two huge swimming pools, both with a swimup bar. The pools have a beach-like sloped entrance, which is nice. At their deepest point they are less than 5 feet deep.

There are lots of chairs surrounding the pools, and some umbrellas for shade. The chairs around the pool are plastic, though, and not as comfortable as the chairs at the beach.

Beach towels are available at the Watersports Centre on the beach.

Due to lower occupancy, only the bar on the Ocean Sand side of the swimming pool was open. The one on the Ocean Blue side is a swimup bar only, and it was closed.

The hotel is located on a beautiful wide stretch of beach. You can walk for miles in either direction. There was a little bit of seaweed washed up on the beach, but not much. There were some waves, not as calm as further south at PUNTACANA Resort where we spent our first week, and the water was not quite as turquoise blue-green as it is there, but still very beautiful.

A few palm trees dot the beach, offering a little bit of shade. They don’t have the traditional thatched beach palapas, they have constructed wooden pergola-type structures with a covering on top (see pictures). I didn’t find that these really provided much shade, though.

Weather/Bugs:
We had a great week for weather, hot and sunny every day, it only rained at night a few times. Unfortunately one of those times was the first night we arrived, it started pouring rain while we were walking to the restaurant for dinner, we got absolutely soaked in just a few minutes! There is an umbrella in every room, too bad we didn’t bring it.

The morning we left there was a change in the weather due to a tropical depression. First thing in the morning we could see the ocean was a very deep blue colour. A little while later the dark clouds rolled in and it started blowing hard rain off and on.

There was absolutely no problem with insects or mosquitos.

Rooms
There are 374 rooms on the Ocean Blue side, and 334 rooms on the Ocean Sand side, located in 10 buildings.

It is interesting to note that this is one of the few resorts that allow 3 children in a room. Maximum occupancy is 4 adults or 2 adults and 3 children, or 3 adults and 1 child.

All of the Villa buildings have inner courtyards, all decorated differently. Reminds me very much of the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus. I especially liked the beautiful pots of Trinitarias (bougainvillea).

There are 3 room categories – the regular Junior Suites, in Villas 1 through 5 at Ocean Blue and Villas 7 through 9 at Ocean Sand, the Deluxe Junior Suites in Villas 6 and 10, and the Honeymoon Suites, also located in Villas 6 and 10.

Regular junior suites are very spacious. All offer 1 king or two queen-sized beds, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, living area, full bathroom with Jacuzzi-style tub, hairdryer, telephone, cable TV, coffee maker, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, iron and ironing board, umbrella, in-room safe. There is no clock-radio in the room.

We stayed in a deluxe junior suite. The deluxe junior suites are all in Villa 6 at Ocean Blue and Villa 10 at Ocean Sand, which are the buildings closest to the beach. We had a wonderful view of the pool and beach. These suites are larger than the regular junior suites, and the bathroom is different.. there is a window in the bathroom that looks into the rest of the room from the Jacuzzi tub (toilet and shower are private), which lets in lots of natural light during the day. There are blinds on the window that you can close for privacy. We had a 4-poster canopy bed and comfortable seating area, and nice wicker furniture on the balcony. There was no ceiling fan in our room, I was told rooms with 4-poster canopy beds did not have ceiling fans. The air-conditioning worked well, and we always had plenty of hot water.

English TV channels available were Cinemax, HBO, ESPN, Disney, CNN, TBS WGN TNT, and the cartoon network.

A little tip - The power in our room went out one day, apparently very briefly. A few lights came on immediately, but the TV and most of the lights were not working. We just assumed there was a power outage and the generator was on. I happened to go downstairs a while later and mentioned to the concierge about the power being out. She told me it had only been out for a minute, and that I just needed to re-insert the card in the slot inside the door. I’m glad I asked, not sure we would have figured that one out for a while.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* A very nice, well laid-out hotel."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2005  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2005
485 people found this review helpful

November 6 to November 13, 2005

Restaurants:
Main Buffet Restaurant
The main buffet restaurant is El Carey for Ocean Sand and La Tortuga for Ocean Blue. The buffet area where you get your food is between the two, so the food is the same for both, there is just separate seating on each side of the buffet. While we were there the La Tortuga side was closed, so everyone sat in the El Carey section. The food selection is good. At breakfast they have all the usual stuff – fresh fruit, omelettes, juices (their orange juice tasted like Tang, though, it wasn’t real orange juice), pancakes, sausage, bacon, etc. The restaurant is air-conditioned. There is a smoking section in the restaurant. We found the service to be fairly good here.

The restaurant opens at 6 a.m., with continental breakfast until 7 a.m., breakfast buffet 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m., Lunch from 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m, and Dinner from 6:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. During the week we were there, this central buffet restaurant was closed a couple of nights, and the buffet was at the beach restaurant.

La Cana Buffet Restaurant – at the beach
La Cana Beach Restaurant at the beach opens for continental breakfast between 10:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., and snacks are available between 3:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. We ate there at lunchtime most of the time as it was more convenient than going to the main buffet and you could go in with your bathing suit on. They had hamburgs, hotdogs, French fries, pasta, salads, and pizza on a daily basis, and a few other items that changed each day, as well as fruit and deserts. Try their icecream – it’s great!

Aside from the buffet restaurant for dinner, you can also choose to go to one of the a la carte restaurants. We never had a problem getting into any of the restaurants. Some people made reservations for the restaurants at the buffet restaurant in the morning, but it is my understanding this winter they will totally do away with reservations. If the restaurant you want to eat at is full when you arrive, they’ll give you a beeper and you can go and have a drink at the lobby bar, or relax at Mike’s Coffee while you wait. Long pants for the men are required in the a la carte restaurants, although it didn’t seem this was enforced as I did see some men wearing shorts.

Route 66 Restaurant
They serve American-type food – burgers, fries, ribs, steak, etc. They have gone all out in the decoration, complete with a ‘50’s Ford parked out in front. We ate here our first night. I had a rib-eye steak, it was just okay, a little big tough. Service was pretty good. Coffee was horrible, but that’s before we discovered Mike’s Coffee. The music played was mostly from the 60’s and 70’s.

Margarita Restaurant
This is the Mexican Restaurant, and it was excellent. They have an antipasto bar which is a meal in itself. Very nice décor.

I Mascherati di Venezia
This is the Italian restaurant. Again, the décor is very nice and food was good. The menu offered chicken and shrimp dishes, spaghetti, rigatoni, etc. I also had an eggplant appetizer that was very good and Pat had the soup and said it was excellent. The “salad” was ricotta cheese with apples and raisins, different but good.

La Casa de Mi Abuela (My Grandmother’s House)

This is the Dominican restaurant. It is very elegantly decorated, and the food was very good. Service was excellent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* A very nice, well laid-out hotel."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2005  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2005
485 people found this review helpful

November 6 to November 13, 2005

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* A very nice, well laid-out hotel."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2005  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2005
485 people found this review helpful

November 6 to November 13, 2005

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"* A very nice, well laid-out hotel."

Ocean Blue and Sand
User Rating:  Ocean Blue and Sand Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Nov 1, 2005  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2005
485 people found this review helpful

November 6 to November 13, 2005

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube