Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa  

Uvero Alto, Dominican Republic

"Not too bad"
Posted by: vivian on Nov 30, 2014
see all reviews

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Reviews
Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Pictures and Information
Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#41
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 4.2

Based on 7 reviews

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Information


The Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa is a five star hotel complex, situated on the eastern side of the Dominican Republic, on the Uvero Alto-Macao beach in the Higüey region.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Reviews

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 4.2 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 7 of 7

"Not too bad"

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  vivian  on Nov 30, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
197 people found this review helpful

The resort was located in a beautiful part of the Dominican Republic however it was very disappointing not been able to get to this location easier from the main highway that was build to better the road to this resort. The staff members of the restaurants and bars were very polite and charming however the information staff along with housekeeping were not very accommodating or informative. The front desk-information staff did not fully explain the facility and i had to place several calls with questions. The first day in the resort was very good with the nice clean pools and a very nice beach however the people from the front desk did not explain how to activate the power for the room therefore we had to call for an electrician who later explained to us that the room key need it to be store in a device by the door. The second day was great having a lot of free drinks and a safe place to leave your personal belongings without fear of loosing them however the menu did not varied much and did not represent the Islands gastronomy. The last day of our stay we call the front desk to reassure the check out time and we were told that it was at 12 pm however there was a staff from housekeeping that kept harassing us since 10:00 am about the towels than at 11:00 am to check if we were gone and told us that the supervisor send her to check if we were out of the room since the next guess had arrived and she need it to clean the room. It was a very rude farewell since we had to wait until 3:00 pm to get our rooms when we arrived two days before and we follow the instructions given by the front staff. Over all the bar tenders and waitresses/dinning room helpers were amazing however the administrative staff and housekeeping make it unacceptable. As a Dominican American is a shame that a resort with so many visitors from all over the world can have such a bad experience coming to stay relax for a few days because of the members of the staff and the inability to practice their own policies

Room Number:
004

Room Block:
M

Rooms:
Spacious and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Amazing bars. Did not visited any restaurants besides the buffet which was not very good to my taste

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not participate in group activities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Resort!!!"

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Christa  on Oct 6, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
197 people found this review helpful

After reading many varied reviews, decided to check it out for ourselves. The resort was fantastic but very, very large. For those with walking issues, heed our advice.

Our room was Q105 and it was by the beach and pools. It was spotless, up-to-date and air-conditioned, with a sitting room, balcony and stocked fridge! Two TV's with satellite, so channels were not an issue.

The grounds were immaculate - we had an oceanview room which we loved, but the gardenview rooms overlooked lovely grounds, and were situated about halfway between main lobby/dining room and the beach/pools.

The weather was very, very hot, but sitting on the windy beach was lovely. The ocean was warm and clean, and loungers and shade were plentiful. No need to drop a towel off at dawn

The bar-b-que on the beach served lovely pork chops, chicken, burgers and fries. This was right next to one of the many bars with self-serve pop machines and lovely bartenders who remembered your drinks from one day to the next - impressive. There was also a covered restaurant poolside with a varied buffet. Lovely to sit in cool comfort while eating in your bathing suit!

The pools were gorgeous - plenty of safe swimming space for the little ones and also for the adults. Two swim up bars! Again no issues with loungers or shade. Poolside activities were plentiful. During our stay there were constant volleyball games/tournaments on the beach and in the pool

The main dining room was open from 7:00 pm until about 2:00 am, then open from 5:00 am to 10:00 for breakfast, then 1:00 - 4:00 for lunch. The food was quite good and had themed menus daily. I particularly enjoyed having fresh pasta or omelettes made for me every day. The fresh juices were to die for.

All staff were exceptionally friendly and although English wasn't always the best, with their few words of english and our few words of Spanish, we managed just fine.

The nightly entertainment was fabulous, with disco afterward for those interested.

All in all, had a fantastic time and thoroughly recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind the walk from ocean-view rooms to the main lobby and back. A pair of comfortable shoes and you're good to go.

Room Number:
105

Room Block:
Q

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great hotel, wonderful place"

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  phoebe  on Jun 12, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
544 people found this review helpful

Sirenis Tropical suites is one of the best hotels in Punta Cana that I have visited as I and my family had a wonderful stay here. These are reasons why I will go back for another nice experience here. The staff was very nice but because of the language barrier, it was difficult to communicate but that didn’t matter as their smiles and friendliness made up for their communication problem. The room maid was very nice and cheerful, and the hotel grounds are very beautiful. The hotel is well kept, gorgeous and very clean facilities. The animation team was very great, the entertainment was 5 stars throughout out stay and we never missed any of it. The two pools here were clean and safe for both adults and kids and the bar here was great as well. They have an awesome beach which I and my family look forward to everyday throughout our stay, it is clean and at the end, we just walk back to our rooms. The restaurants are great; we especially loved the Japanese restaurant, great food. The buffet at this resort was great as there are varieties and the rooms were also great. Although, I think the rooms need some upgrading as the beds were just a tad bit hard and as much as the rooms were very clean, it had this musty feeling which I think should be improved. Thank you to the staff for making me and my family have a wonderful holiday here, we will be back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation!"

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
943 people found this review helpful

I would definitely recommend the Sirenis resort. We found the facility and grounds immaculate, staff always willing to help in any way, pools excellent and everything was spacious. I have read other reviews where guests have scurried down at 7 a.m. to reserve lounge chairs but this was never the case; there seemed plenty available in shade or in sun, or on the beach if that was your preference. We loved the beach area and walked for a long way. About a half-mile away we saw the Dreams Resort and their beach paled in comparison with the size of ours, and the abundance of coconut palms which made our beach less windy and much more attractive. There are two buffets which are always so well laid out and much variety each day and the staff are at your beck and call. The fresh juices in the morning are to die for! There are at least 6 a-la-cartes to choose from - the Japanese was spectacular. Entertainment was good. Frig stocked everyday with fresh bottles of water, pop, and beer. We were very fortunate to have a view of the ocean from our balcony but only a few of the buildings are in this location, but the grounds are so well kept and attractive, the "garden view" isn't bad! The weather was gorgeous and the excursions are great- enough choice for all ages. We booked with Transat and the airline was exceptional.

Room Number:
103

Room Block:
Q

Arrival:
We were a bit disappointed to not have the welcome promised with cocktail and a rep to provide information upon arrival. Perhaps because we arrived in late afternoon, we did not have the meeting with our rep until 10 a.m. the following morning. As a result we were felt lost being as this was our first visit to the D. R. and our first all-inclusive vacation - didn't know what we were able to take advantage of, etc. The buffets don't open for evening dinner until 7 p.m. so we were famished having to wait - we had been up since 3:30 a.m. and had a long day travelling, and the drive from the airport was a harrowing hour-long experience, so a bit of a welcome when we arrived would have been oh, so appreciated. We saw many other arrivals throughout the week receive the complementary cocktail, and felt saddened that we missed the anticipated hoopla we've read about.

Rooms:
We requested a room that was not first-level, and we were assigned to a ground level floor. It was more than adequate; however I didn't feel comfortable opening either a window or the patio doors for the night, and have problems breathing without the advantage of fresh air. When we mentioned this to our rep, Sarah, the following morning at our introduction meeting, she immediately arranged for us to be moved to another block where we had a second-floor suite, and were able to leave the patio doors open all night with the ocean breezes flowing in. I will always be grateful for everyone that made this move possible - it totally made our trip!

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in the buffets was plentiful and adequate - some things we just avoided, like the breads and waffles that were sitting out and obviously wouldn't be fresh as a waffle-bar where they are made in front of you. There was an omelette chef every morning, however, who made your eggs or omelettes to perfection just as you ordered. The fresh juices were unbelievably delicious. Coffee is a delight.
We tried 4 a-la-cartes: Mexican - just so-so. Food nothing spectacular - the best was the make-it-yourself fajitas. Mediterranean - a total disappointment. The waiters made mistakes on our appetizers - had to be exchanged twice so we got 4 different appetizers come and go. Husband's entree was stuffed chicken and he received some dish with cut-up chicken, so that had to be replaced with what he ordered. My entree was skewered shrimp and seafood, and if I had closed my eyes I could not have guessed it was shrimp - tasteless. Desserts were forgettable.
Steakhouse - we ordered filet mignon and received 2 small-sized steaks instead. We decided to keep our meals and the steaks were delicious. The appetizer bar was very good. Dessert was same as buffet served so not spectacular but fresh fruit was all we needed anyway.
Japanese - a culinary and entertaining delight! The chefs go above and beyond to provide a humorous and enjoyable experience and the food was absolutely delicious and abundant. We ordered tempura (deep-fried ice-cream) for dessert and it was awesome. Our best evening was here.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very well kept - no complaints whatever.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took two excursions; the zip-line and the Bararo Runners. We would highly recommend both; however if we had to choose just one we would say do the Bavaro Runners - its an experience every tourist should have to really get a taste of the country outside a pampered resort. We were picked up at 9 a.m. and taken through the countryside up to the mountain where the zip-line excursion is situated. We visited a school and "typical" Dominican home, sugarcane plantation, learned about coffee & cocoa making, with taste tests of all these and more - we had a fabulous lunch served to us with beer and/or pop, we went horseback riding, saw orchids, pineapples, almond trees, avocado trees, mango trees, cacoa trees, many sugarcanes, much more. The day ends with a visit to beautiful Macao beach for some swimming or boogie boarding in the ocean, or just relaxing on the beach. We returned at 5:00 with the feeling we had learned much more about the country we were visiting. A must-do! The zip-line excursion was fabulous and easy for anyone to do but is a bit more physical.

Other Comments:
One thing we learned after we were at our resort was that we were not, in fact, at the Caribbean. The ocean we were in was the Atlantic, yet many of the resorts state you are on a Caribbean vacation. While this was a disappointment, the water was not. It was a beautiful jade color and warm as one could wish for. But if we return to the Dominican I will definitely look at booking somewhere on the Caribbean side where the sand is reportedly "dazzling white". It is NOT white at the Serenis. but no complaints about the fine and clean sand we were on.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved this place"

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Greg  on Apr 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
1111 people found this review helpful

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit , Dominican and have fun or relax the option is yours . 4 of us from nova scotia just got back on the 28th of march and have the best memories . Beach went on for miles . Nice pool with two swim up bars . Steak resterant good . El Pres. beer on tap and cold. Brugal rum , White Rusians and very good bahama's mamma's at the lobby bar . Chicken and pork at the beach barbaque was great everyday at lunch time ( bar right there also ) Buffet was very good , busy times there are 2 to choose from but both had the same menu . Night shows were entertaining and the entertainment crew were very friendly . Lots of peacocks and lizards ( pretty cool ) Every morning there was a male outside our room with his tail standing up stutting around for the females . The guys who climb the cocunut trees and prun the limbs , cut the coconuts off and make mugs , ash trays or just cut it open and offer it to you to drink (tip) . Staff was just out of this world nice . Ours friends who went with have e-mail address's and offer's of a place to stay when ever ( very nice girl at the photo shop )a lot talked to us by name with a true smile on their faces . One very nice waittress at the lobby bar would write spanish with english on a coaster and give to our friends would were with for the very first vacation anywhere so they could learn a little spanish and then test them the next day ( it was fun and nice ) In the buffet you were never without a drink of some kind because before you are done with your drink they are there to refill , coffee , water , (wine el a cart). Staff kept the tables clear with a smile ( never tipped...dam )Horseback riding on the beach was great but the horses will run on the way back so hang on . Two hrs for 32.50 each ( the guys who come around the pool and beach will come down on the price )and only about 10-15 mins from the resort . Shops set up 2 nights a week where you could buy a lot of differant hand made items . so muchmore . Had a very nice time

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I WOULD NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN"

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  MALCOLM  on Dec 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1183 people found this review helpful

This was the worst holiday we have had in the Dom Rep, And we have been 14 times. the hotel had building work going on night and day in several blocks, our block had jack hammers breaking floor tiles at 11pm, YES IT WAS REALLY THAT BAD. Th hotel does not have a manager that i could find and did try on several occaisions, only to be lied to by the reception staff every time. i wasted a lot of hours going to appointments with the manager that the staff made for me only to find that i had no appointment.!!! I can only conclude that either there is no manager or he is afraid to face all the complaints that were made by almost everyone i met there.
It is also being chhange over to TIMESHARE and everything is geared up for the hard sell. So be prepaid to be hassled constantly by the "timeshare twats" as i call them. The Hotel is in desperate need of renovation, the rooms and buildings and the pool are in a very bad state of repair.
I advise everyone to steer well clear of this hotel its nothing like it was 5 years ago when we last stayed there, it has gone in my opinion from a 5 star tto a 3star hotel.

Room Number:
T103

Room Block:
T

Arrival:
Arrival was ok, check in was 11pm so we were tired and just wanted to sleep as we had been traveling for 2 days to get there.(delays at Gatwick) luckily the reception was very quiet as it was so late so check in was quick.

Rooms:
Our room was in need of a lot of repairs. the balcony rail was fixed with very rusty screws and was not very safe. the aircon had 3 settings,Setting 1 was not very cool at all which made it perfect for the ants to thrive and they bite.Setting 2 did not work at all. And setting 3 was very cold, it made the ants dormant so we didnt get so many bites but we had to sit with blankets around us. Not really what you would expect in the Caribbean is it?

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were ok, and the main buffet resturant was ok when it wasnt busy but at the weekends when the locals checked in it got very busy and it was chaos in the dining room. pushing and shoving and handling the food with thier bare hands then putting it back in the trays for others to pick up and eat, It was not very nice.
The themed resturants that we went to were not good, the Italian looked very nice inside (nothing like Italy) but very nice, The food how ever was not very nice.
The steakhouse was the same, we ordered a steak each and we said we wanted them well done as we dont like them rare, they came scorched black on the outside and when we cut them the blood ran out so we got up and left, so we dont know if the desserts were any good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool needs a lot of work as the tiles are all broken or missing which makes the place look very run down. The grounds are ok but we have seen much better gardens in all the other hotels we have stayed in.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I cannot comment on the Activities as we went for a relaxing laze on the beach, so we did not get involved in any activities.

Other Comments:
I can only repeat my first statement.........
I WOULD NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very relaxed holiday full of sunshine, good food & new acquaintances."

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  mra  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
1258 people found this review helpful

We diverted from our norm this year & chose the Dominican Republics’ east coast as our destination…the Sirenis Tropical Suites Resort on Uvero Alto Beach being the exact location.

Flight: Our vacation this year was booked with TMR/ Tours Mont Royal thru Sell off Vacations & we were going to have some challenges…a “French flight”, flying out of Montreal & we are anglo-speaking! What made us choose TMR you ask?…an excellent price of $1468+ taxes per person for 2 weeks, plus an extra $50 pp credit for being 55years & over. Departure time was set for 10:15am Tuesday January 13th, flying Air Transat. Arriving at the airport at 6:50am, check in is very swift & due to the fact that we pre-selected our seats both for departure & return, we had no worries. We are sitting in row 9BC, which is the first emergency row…we’ve got excellent legroom, but find the seats to be very uncomfortable and narrow. Take-off is on time at 10:15 and during our 4-hour flight we have exemplary service from our flight attendants. It is during the flight that we do our Immigration paperwork & receive our Tourist Card.

PUJ Airport: This was our 8th trip to the Dominican Republic, but only our 2nd trip to Punta Cana….a few things had changed, but in the most part, I remembered the steps from a previous trip. We touch down at 3:40pm & after de-planing onto the tarmac, we were escorted into the Airport where we were greeted by two senoritas, had our pictures taken & then ushered into line where we handed in our Tourist Card & then proceeded thru Immigration. The luggage carousel was an elbow affair, where 289 other passengers jostled you around, all looking for their suitcases too! Finding our Destination Rep, we got our hotel packet & our bus number and the next leg of the journey began.

Resort Arrival: As pre-warned in reviews that we read prior to our departure, the road from the airport to Sirenis is long & not all a smooth ride. Once past El Cortecito it was a matter of “shake, rattle & roll” & if I had had an open bottle of Presidente in my hand, I swear that it would have been all over me instead of in the bottle! We arrive at Sirenis Tropical 60minutes after leaving PUJ airport at 4:45pm, stopping first at the Grand Paradise & Dreams Punta Cana to drop off guests. I must say that we were really disappointed upon our arrival at Sirenis: No one greets us as we get off the transfer van; we take our own luggage into the Reception area, no welcoming drink or hot towel. Although check in is very smooth with no waiting time, another of the things that turned us off was “the upgrade” spiel. The upgrades were Silver ($25), Bronze ($45), Gold ($75) & Platinum ($95) levels …that is starting at $25 per person per day. For the upgrade you would get a coffee maker, iron & ironing board in your room; the safe would be free; 10% discounts off Spa services etc. Now if you do the math, $25pp x 14 days = $700.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very relaxed holiday full of sunshine, good food & new acquaintances."

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  mra  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
1258 people found this review helpful

We diverted from our norm this year & chose the Dominican Republics’ east coast as our destination…the Sirenis Tropical Suites Resort on Uvero Alto Beach being the exact location.

Flight: Our vacation this year was booked with TMR/ Tours Mont Royal thru Sell off Vacations & we were going to have some challenges…a “French flight”, flying out of Montreal & we are anglo-speaking! What made us choose TMR you ask?…an excellent price of $1468+ taxes per person for 2 weeks, plus an extra $50 pp credit for being 55years & over. Departure time was set for 10:15am Tuesday January 13th, flying Air Transat. Arriving at the airport at 6:50am, check in is very swift & due to the fact that we pre-selected our seats both for departure & return, we had no worries. We are sitting in row 9BC, which is the first emergency row…we’ve got excellent legroom, but find the seats to be very uncomfortable and narrow. Take-off is on time at 10:15 and during our 4-hour flight we have exemplary service from our flight attendants. It is during the flight that we do our Immigration paperwork & receive our Tourist Card.

PUJ Airport: This was our 8th trip to the Dominican Republic, but only our 2nd trip to Punta Cana….a few things had changed, but in the most part, I remembered the steps from a previous trip. We touch down at 3:40pm & after de-planing onto the tarmac, we were escorted into the Airport where we were greeted by two senoritas, had our pictures taken & then ushered into line where we handed in our Tourist Card & then proceeded thru Immigration. The luggage carousel was an elbow affair, where 289 other passengers jostled you around, all looking for their suitcases too! Finding our Destination Rep, we got our hotel packet & our bus number and the next leg of the journey began.

Resort Arrival: As pre-warned in reviews that we read prior to our departure, the road from the airport to Sirenis is long & not all a smooth ride. Once past El Cortecito it was a matter of “shake, rattle & roll” & if I had had an open bottle of Presidente in my hand, I swear that it would have been all over me instead of in the bottle! We arrive at Sirenis Tropical 60minutes after leaving PUJ airport at 4:45pm, stopping first at the Grand Paradise & Dreams Punta Cana to drop off guests. I must say that we were really disappointed upon our arrival at Sirenis: No one greets us as we get off the transfer van; we take our own luggage into the Reception area, no welcoming drink or hot towel. Although check in is very smooth with no waiting time, another of the things that turned us off was “the upgrade” spiel. The upgrades were Silver ($25), Bronze ($45), Gold ($75) & Platinum ($95) levels …that is starting at $25 per person per day. For the upgrade you would get a coffee maker, iron & ironing board in your room; the safe would be free; 10% discounts off Spa services etc. Now if you do the math, $25pp x 14 days = $700.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very relaxed holiday full of sunshine, good food & new acquaintances."

Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa
User Rating:  Sirenis Tropical Suites Casino & Spa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  mra  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
1258 people found this review helpful

We diverted from our norm this year & chose the Dominican Republics’ east coast as our destination…the Sirenis Tropical Suites Resort on Uvero Alto Beach being the exact location.

Flight: Our vacation this year was booked with TMR/ Tours Mont Royal thru Sell off Vacations & we were going to have some challenges…a “French flight”, flying out of Montreal & we are anglo-speaking! What made us choose TMR you ask?…an excellent price of $1468+ taxes per person for 2 weeks, plus an extra $50 pp credit for being 55years & over. Departure time was set for 10:15am Tuesday January 13th, flying Air Transat. Arriving at the airport at 6:50am, check in is very swift & due to the fact that we pre-selected our seats both for departure & return, we had no worries. We are sitting in row 9BC, which is the first emergency row…we’ve got excellent legroom, but find the seats to be very uncomfortable and narrow. Take-off is on time at 10:15 and during our 4-hour flight we have exemplary service from our flight attendants. It is during the flight that we do our Immigration paperwork & receive our Tourist Card.

PUJ Airport: This was our 8th trip to the Dominican Republic, but only our 2nd trip to Punta Cana….a few things had changed, but in the most part, I remembered the steps from a previous trip. We touch down at 3:40pm & after de-planing onto the tarmac, we were escorted into the Airport where we were greeted by two senoritas, had our pictures taken & then ushered into line where we handed in our Tourist Card & then proceeded thru Immigration. The luggage carousel was an elbow affair, where 289 other passengers jostled you around, all looking for their suitcases too! Finding our Destination Rep, we got our hotel packet & our bus number and the next leg of the journey began.

Resort Arrival: As pre-warned in reviews that we read prior to our departure, the road from the airport to Sirenis is long & not all a smooth ride. Once past El Cortecito it was a matter of “shake, rattle & roll” & if I had had an open bottle of Presidente in my hand, I swear that it would have been all over me instead of in the bottle! We arrive at Sirenis Tropical 60minutes after leaving PUJ airport at 4:45pm, stopping first at the Grand Paradise & Dreams Punta Cana to drop off guests. I must say that we were really disappointed upon our arrival at Sirenis: No one greets us as we get off the transfer van; we take our own luggage into the Reception area, no welcoming drink or hot towel. Although check in is very smooth with no waiting time, another of the things that turned us off was “the upgrade” spiel. The upgrades were Silver ($25), Bronze ($45), Gold ($75) & Platinum ($95) levels …that is starting at $25 per person per day. For the upgrade you would get a coffee maker, iron & ironing board in your room; the safe would be free; 10% discounts off Spa services etc. Now if you do the math, $25pp x 14 days = $700.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube