Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Huge Resort - Excellent Service"
Posted by: Peter  on May 9, 2013
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.5

Based on 42 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5 42 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (38)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (6)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
1 - 10 of 42

"Huge Resort - Excellent Service"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on May 9, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

The Ambar is one of many resorts in One BIG resort. I was looking at the various resorts and their ratings on Trip Advisor and on Bahia website. The impression I had was that each resort is separate. After my trip I realized that this in fact is not the case at all. Furthermore, when you visit and stay on your little resort, you will miss many other activities that go on. The best way to explain this is when my wife and I walked the properties of Bahia Principe we found them to be like boroughs and that each borough has a Main hall where the guests of that particular borough can check in, get guest services, help and have access to other specific services and tours. We suggest you take a walk, a ride on the little trolley trains and get to know the shopping, casino, and theaters at the Bavaro (if you are not staying there).

To fully understand the resort and to get a heads up before your vacation, I have made a video explaining the complete resort and posted it on YouTube.

YouTube Video at http://youtu.be/BYLkRjYpdjk

Would I Go Back?

Yes and no. It was clean and had everything with respect to beach, pool, dining and drinking (all you can drink).

My wife and I do not drink anymore and eat very healthy so we will be looking for resorts that offer more activities such as archery, horseback riding, arts and crafts etc...

But in conclusion, there was nothing that happened that would keep us from going back, especially if a bunch of friends were to go.

Room Number:
forgot

Room Block:
forgot

Arrival:
We travelled with Air Transat and they took care of the connections and orientation.

Rooms:
Facilities:

We found the rooms, grounds and all things extremely clean and well kept. After visiting the other resorts, the Ambar is the most luxurious, especially because of some of the added features that their guests have and the other resort guests do not have. An example of this is that the AMBAR guests can eat out at any restaurant every night that they are there (reservations required) while the other resorts allow only 3 night out per week and the balance must be in one of the many buffet style restaurants either on the beach or in the main lobby entrance area.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food:

We found the food from good to great depending at which restaurant or buffet that you visit. As you will see from the video, this place is HUGE! So the challenge of preparing food that everyone likes is in my opinion almost impossible. For example, we had reservations to a fine Italian Restaurant one night. The menu offered many wonderful choices from stuffed fillets to pasta and more. However, we noticed the people next to us ordered a Pizza? So as you can see, they have to cater to all types of appetites and they seem do it well. In fact, my wife and I eat very healthy at home (Green Smoothies, no wheat, red meat etc...) and we were worried that we would get sick. That was not the case at all! In fact we did not even gain a pound. Additionally at the Ambar, there is also 24-hour room service.

With all that said, the restaurants that take reservations offer a fairly good meal but because there are so many people to serve and to sit every evening, the meals are rushed and served quickly, almost head spinning quick. For example, at the Japanese restaurant, we had reservations for 7:15 and as we sat down the waiter took our order. The soup arrived within a minute and the sushi plates about three minutes thereafter. By 8:00 we were done? That is a little quick. I have had better Miso Soup but the sushi was great!

We found the water is safe to drink and their food cleanliness is excellent. When entering any dining place, there was always a woman to greet you and you had to have disinfectant cream squirted on your hands before you entered the restaurant. I do not think that people have to worry about getting food sickness other than eating and drinking too much.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pool:

Remember that the AMBAR is for adults only so the guests from other resorts cannot enter but the AMBAR guests can go everywhere. So there are no children at the pool or on the beach directly in front of the AMBAR.

We thought the beach was one of the nicest we had seen and the pools are lovely. There was white plenty of white sand on the beach and huge pools with sit in bars and so on. We are not the type to sit around in the sun at the pool side or the beach, but we did notice the towel reservation game that happened every morning between 8:00 to 8:30 whereby people would place their towels to reserve a lounge chair on either the beach or pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursions:

We did the Dolphin Adventure and a Snorkeling Adventure. I have videos available for both if you are interested in planning a similar trip. Both trips were fun and we did not experience and problems at all. Remember to bring water and sunscreen!

Dolphins - http://youtu.be/ZbLMFe0kAGE
Snorkeling - http://youtu.be/U0x1ztGeTo4

Other Comments:
The Staff:

Obviously most of the staff speaks Spanish with little or no English except for the waiters. However, we found that they were all very friendly, professional and helpful. We speak French and English but wish we spoke Spanish to better interact with the staff and locals.

Tipping:

You are expected to tip and tips are much appreciated. For example, I spoke to a guest services representative one evening who told me that she was a student from Costa Rica and was completing her education program by working there FOR FREE for six months to get experience. They host her in a small room with 6 other women. So you can imagine how she would appreciate a few extra dollars. Generally I was tipping about 5.00 USD each meal and personally gave it to the waiter or server who provided me with the service. Additionally, I had brought baseball cards (new in small packs) and handed those out for tips as well since they really like baseball in Punta Cana.

Videos: http://youtu.be/BYLkRjYpdjk

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware BED BUGS"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Manda  on Apr 25, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
233 people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Grand Bahia Principe in Punta Cana was less the enjoyable.

We stayed with the Grand Bahia Pricipe in Punta Cana between the dates of April 12th to the 19th and I have a few major concerns with our stay and our experience.

#1 We had to deal with an infestation of Bed bugs in our room that didn't seem to completely show up until towards the end of our trip. I was affected the worst of our whole family but all of us were bitten at least a half dozen times. I would not expect this to even be a remote concern for a resort that boasts a 5 star rating. We still have our luggage outside of our home because we don't want to risk getting our home infested.

#2 We found that the resort was very unfriendly for children. There were multiple times where there were people by the family pools who were topless and even though the signs say "NO TOPLESS" nothing was enforced. This makes for an incredibly uncomfortable visit to the pool. We attempted to take our children to the kids club one day and the child care worked seemed very disinterested in even being involved with the kids and the activities available to them were simply a joke.

#3 For a 5 star resort the food was incredibly poor. Granted there was a ton of food but much of it was tasteless and low quality. We booked 5 A'la carte meals and the only one that deserved any kind of mention was the Japanese restaurant. My impression is that the resort simply focuses on quantity not quality.

#4 I have to say that there were some friendly staff on the resort but as a whole I found that the service was not there, you felt as if there was no place to get answers for your questions. This may be because of the language barrier but there needs to be a solution to this problem. You could tell we were there because our "money" was needed but not because they wanted us there.

I would never go back again, nor recommend this place to anyone.

Room Number:
21209

Room Block:
21

Arrival:
April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be Ware"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Mar 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
558 people found this review helpful

I am writing from the resort. Could not wait to get home. The facilities are fair to poor. The room smelled bad. There was a leak in my bathroom. The gym was very poor. My kids aged 9-14 were bored and wanted to go home. The food was only tolerable if you dranked enough free alcohol to brunt the taste and quality.

We walked onlonf the beach to the Hard Rock resort. Wish we stayed there.

Room Number:
910120

Room Block:
90

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice Beach
Crowded pool. Had to get to the pool by 7AM to get a shaded chair

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst vacation ever!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Mar 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
536 people found this review helpful

Please believe me when I say, stay away from this resort. I stayed here with a group of friends Feb 23 for a week, it was a week from hell. When we finally arrived to our room in villa 77,I tried to open my door and realized the card key was not working. I had to hike back to reception to get the card reactivated, I was hot and tired and hiked back to my room where the card opened my door but it wouldnt turn lights and air on. I would have to put the card in and out for it to finally work. This was everytime I went into my room. The room was nice at first glance, when you take a closer look you realize everything is old and dated. Towels were white at sometime and rooms were not cleaned some days until after 5:00. The food was just barely okay and never warm! The Japanese restaurant was the only good place to eat. All these problems were tolerable compared to what happened to my friends, while they were SLEEPING someone broke into their room and stole money, cell phone, jewelery. When they reported the theft to security and management they didn't seem to care and infact treated my friends like they were criminals
and were lying about the theft. They were so unprofessional and unwillimg to help them out. Do not waste your money and time going to Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro unless you want your safety being an issue your belongings stolen and treated very poorly. It was very difficult to relax and enjoy ourselves after this happened. When is this resort going to do something about peoples safety if anyone can just come in your room while sleeping and steal your stuff. What has to happen someone has to be hurt, raped or murdered for management to do something to fix this serious problem of lack of security and safety of all guests! I thank God that my friends didn't wake up, what would have happened to them if they did!

Room Number:
77210

Room Block:
77

Arrival:
Disorganized! Nobody directing you to reception or check-in we just followed the crowd.

Rooms:
Dated and bad smell. Remote for tv and phone didn't work. Toilet broke had to walk to reception because phone didnt work, said they would send someone and we waited no one came.

Restaurants and Bars:
Japanese restaurant was good and thats it! Took forever to get a drink in the main lobby!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
At least the weather and beach was beautiful. Good thing the resort had no control over these too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Robbed"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
602 people found this review helpful

Don't go stay away worst experience ever we were robbed while sleeping We arrived Feb 23rd and were robbed the very next evening we stayed in room 77208 I later learned when I returned home that so were other people Robbed. The manager of the hotel didn't not care did not help and they made you feel like a criminal. Not once did anyone say sorry to us. They can't speak english so it was very hard to communicate. The balcany door has only a pin hole to lock, we found our carry on bag on the balcany and look out for the maids I think they are working with someone My husband and I could have been killed hurt or raped and my daughter and her friend were in the next room which I don't even want to think of what could have happened. Sunquest also was no help one of them said to me Did you go to oreintation I said no I travel every year for the past 20 years I don't need to hear Sooo he was implying that if I went it would have helped me I don't think so. You are suppose to be safe in your resort not at this hotel.

Room Number:
77208

Room Block:
77

Arrival:
FEb 23rd

Rooms:
unsafe

Restaurants and Bars:
terrible except for the Japanese

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Other Comments:
Don't go you will be robbed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Villa 29 was home for a week"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barb  on Feb 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
599 people found this review helpful

We chose the Dominican Republic because every trip to Mexico resulted in at least one day of sickness. NO PROBLEMS AT THIS RESORT!! Every thing was very clean and the hot food was hot and the cold food was cold. I thought the wait staff and customer service was fantastic. They were always smiling and never seemed to expect to receive a tip (even though I do believe in tipping and tried to reward them). On our previous trips to the Cancun area it was sometimes hard to get a drink without currency in hand. Not so at this place. They always replied to a thank you with "mucha gusto", it pleases me much. Speaking of drinks, they were GOOD. The buffets always had a good assortment. The Garden Grill Steak House was excellant as was the japanese hibachi. I would not recommend the El Mason Spanish ala carte. The Michael Jackson show and the Circus show at the nightly theatre were very good. The other shows just OK. Book any excursions after you arrive the resort not ahead of time. Had some issues with that but not the resorts fault. We were part of the Diamond club which provided us a designated pool area. Liked that alot. Not as crowded and chairs available. Nice lobby/bar area to socialize after a day in the sun. We will go back

Arrival:
check is very smooth

Rooms:
bed was small but nice size room. Bring your own face clothes, only bath and handtowels provided.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good drinks. Liked main buffet best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Large resort but many trolleys always running from end to end. Never a long wait for a ride

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not take advantage of activites on site. Did excursions and relaxed at pool/beach.

Other Comments:
Don't let negative reviews scare you off. I was very pleased with our vacation

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disappointed in lack of chairs, restaurant reservations and overall customer service"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
599 people found this review helpful

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed here 2Jan-5Jan2012. Rained 3 of 5 days. If you didn't get out by 7a.m. to grab a chair at any of the pools or the beach you didn't get one! As bad as a cruise ship! Room was nice and large but TV small and old. Ocean was nice but you had to take a tram car to get there the resort was so big. Same for dining. The Buffet room you had to be dressed. Food was plentiful but mediocore. We were entitled to 2 reservations at the speciality restaurants and went to make reservations while awaiting our room to be ready and were told there was no availability at any restaurant at any time! After a one hour fight and a return the next day, we finally were able to get reservations (not the restaurants we wanted) and one we had to eat at 9:20pm. Customer service was horrible, no one cared and they all played the 'I don't understand' card if you had a problem. Very little english spoken to spite the fact the bilingual school is directly across the street. Obviously none of the staff at this hotel attended. Resort much too big and more than they could reasonably handle. Had been to La Romana in the past at an all inclusive and was 10 times better all around for 1/3 the price!

Room Number:
31-311

Arrival:
Long wait for room and very unclear directions on where things were.

Rooms:
Cleaning staff very helpful and probably the best staff.

Restaurants and Bars:
Some had attitude and others overbearing. About 5 staff members had a stack of evaluation cards already filled out, hovered over us the entire dinner trying to get my daughter and I to turn them in - they had everything rated as excellent. Bar service was ok but I didn't find any bar with friendly staff - all seemed mad at the world and we were bothering them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean and neat. Activities directers at pools less than enthusastic. Chair availablity extremely poor and when you asked for help to get one they said there was nothing they could do.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not participate but heard from other guests it was not worth it, very unorganized, and late and spent more time waiting than doing.

Other Comments:
Would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Norovirus, sanitation, smoke, crowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Dec 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
1019 people found this review helpful

We both got Norovirus and were very ill, no disinfectant used in rooms, the mattress stank and the A/C so musty we had to turn it off. People can smoke any place and they do - the theatre had so much cigar smoke you couldn't watch the shows. Impossible to get a lounge chair unless you staked a claim by 8:00 am.

Room Number:
22104

Room Block:
22

Rooms:
Not sanitized, just wiped everything spreading germs everywhere. Did not clean you glasses, just wiped them every day. A/C was so full of mold you couldn't run it. The mattress stank and was so stains - disgusting

Restaurants and Bars:
Good variety - all meats were over cooked.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Gounds were beautiful, pools very nice, beach beautiful but so many people

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not worth it"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  louis  on Sep 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
672 people found this review helpful

The country,the staff, the vendors , they are far from friendly. Every body is out to get you,they're looking for your money,if you're not a good tipper I would suggest Mexico,there you may Pic the same resort and get the real deal.
Note I consider my self to be a very good tipper,but being put under pressure wile on vacation is not what was looking for.

Room Number:
9210

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
on the resort good
off the resort I dare you

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Time..."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvie  on Jun 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
773 people found this review helpful

I have to say that it was an awesome resort. Great friendly staff, great food, and very clean. We went a group of 5 women and we were treated well. We are now going back in October / 11.
I would recommend it to everyone.
Thank You
Sylvie

Room Number:
32110

Room Block:
Villa 32 / Club Diamond Section

Rooms:
Rooms were cleaned every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Italien was very good and the B.B.Q also.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool and beach were clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube