Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
1 - 10 of 45

"Nightmare Vacation"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  D  on Mar 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
481 people found this review helpful

6th time in the Dominincan, 4th in Punta Cana. All of our other vacations to the Dominican were amazing...and we looked forward to returning before we even left. However after this stay we will not return to a Bahai resort, and we will probably not go back to Punta Cana. We will never deal with Transat!!!!! We hope all other vacationers have a great experience at this resort, and it was obvious the fun many people were having...but we feel we must share our experience.

Your Arrival:
We flew Air Transat. First time with this company. Lots of leg room, but flight attendants refused to smile. They actually yelled at my daughter for not having her table up, when I told them it was due to the fact they had not collected her food or partially full juice, they snapped it up and walked away. Otherwise...good flight.
We were directed to the wrong bus at the Punta Cana airport with another couple. Drove for 1 hr before they simply just dropped us at the Bahai. They were not expecting us, and after a long debate drove us to the Esmeralda part of the resort. After another 30 min, alot of Spanish and tension we were told we were not staying there. Then we were taken back to the lobby (soaken wet with our Canadian clothes still on) and very thirsty (could not get a drink due to no wrist bands). Another 30 min or so and they found our room with the Golden Club. Keep in mind, I had my Hotel Voucher with me and let everyone read it several times. Finally got the package with wrist bands and we were taken to our room.

Rooms:
Upon entering our room with the Bell Boy, we quickly noticed we had been put in a room that had yet to be cleaned. The family/group before us sure had a good time...the room was a disaster. We knew if we left, we probably were not getting another room and the Bell Boy told us not to worry and to get settled. Hot, sweaty and very irritable...we slipped into our bathing suits in disgust, locked our stuff in our suitcases in the corner (had not been told about a safe) and ventured to the beach...without towels !!!

Restaurants and Bars:
You are pre-assigned your 4 a-la-cartes. Which is good and bad. Great to have the opportunity to actually get into 4 during your 7 day stay, but the times meant an early day from the beach in order to get cleaned up. We used 2 of them and enjoyed the atmosphere at both. The main buffet on alternate nights was always good, and very clean. We enjoyed breakfast over looking the Ocean every morning and it was beautiful. Snack bars by the pool and beach crowded and hard to find a table...but enjoyed by the kids several times a day.
The bar staff were wonderful and entertaining at the main pool bar (both swim up and walk up). The male bar staff at the Sports bar very accomodating and friendly. They went out of their way to get the Canada Hockey Game on every night and cheered along with us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds lovely. Always people working and quick to say Ola !!
Pools clear and warm. Beach clean with lots of chairs. Towel guy at main pool irritable always and refused to change towels at the end of the day. We didn't have bath towels so we tried to get fresh beach towels before getting cleaned up for the night but he refused. We ended up keeping them and getting new ones in the morning..only to be yelled at daily for not handing them in for washing over the night. I explained every day our dillema...he simply did not care.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hardly saw the entertainment staff, which was dissapointing for our kids. They did do alot of activities but due to the size of the resort it was hard to know what was going on when. Staff didn't cirulate as they did at the other resorts we visited and didn't try to get the tourists involved. We did see the Lion King and Michael Jackson...3+ maybe. Not sure of the off resort activities since we missed the Transat Tour meeting, and when we asked our rep about it, she didn't answer but told us to look around.

Other Comments:
Our girls (18yrs)were coming home from the Karoke one night and took the trolly to our room. Upon exiting the trolly the driver summoned them to him, and they went. He then opened his phone and showed them a video of a Bull having sex with a woman, all the while talking Spanish to them. They were terrified and ran quickly to the room. Their vacation changed from that moment on...as did ours. We finally went on the long walk with determination to find the Transat Tour Lady the next morning and went through all of our concerns (even though we had discussed them to Golden Club earlier twice with no luck). She was vaguely interested in the room and getting lost issues...but jumped when told of the video stating he would be fired immediatley and wanted more info. We declined at that moment, fearing the girls would be targeted by other staff and agreed to give all info as we signed out. She agreed this would be best for the girls and agreed to meet...however never showed up at check out time and we could not find her...not surprised !! He is still lurking around......

Other concerns:
No face clothes. No bath towels for all of us. Room never swept (big insect of some type was dead at the base of our patio doors all week) we left him there as our check. Bar fridge filled 2 times all week..we really only needed the water and had to get our own. Our rep actually told us to brush our teeth with tap water, which in the past was a huge NO.

CHECK OUT:
Again...no Transat Rep around. Quick and efficiant sign out at the Golden Club. We saw a group from our flight entering a bus at our designated time. I asked the Nolitours rep if it was our flight and he said yes to get the family and luggage. I told him we were Transat and he said no problem. Once on the bus they asked us to leave. We said ok but needed to get our luggage. They said no, our luggage would be at the airport for us when we got there. We refused to get off without it. Finally at his insistence we were leaving, and he quickly said "go sit back and stay" then came and explained numbers (no clue what he was saying, but realized other Transat people on the bus were looking quite concerned ). I wanted to speak with Transat Tours...but could not find anyone. We stayed on the bus...and cheered when we arrived at the airport and new we would soon be in Canada to celebrate our Gold medal wins !!!
It was the best feeling ever to be home...and that is a first for all of us. It is especially disappointing when you go through the propper channels with your concerns and no one cares...hence the reason I am writing this review.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be Ware"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Mar 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1160 people found this review helpful

I am writing from the resort. Could not wait to get home. The facilities are fair to poor. The room smelled bad. There was a leak in my bathroom. The gym was very poor. My kids aged 9-14 were bored and wanted to go home. The food was only tolerable if you dranked enough free alcohol to brunt the taste and quality.

We walked onlonf the beach to the Hard Rock resort. Wish we stayed there.

Room Number:
910120

Room Block:
90

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice Beach
Crowded pool. Had to get to the pool by 7AM to get a shaded chair

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the worst experiences- a warning"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joe  on Jan 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
665 people found this review helpful

The purpose of this review is to give warning to other vacationers who have the mindset that their trip is going to be perfect and nothing will go wrong... Our first day at the resort, there was a few of drinking around the swim up bar. Around 4 o'clock we went to get ready for supper. As we were getting ready my fiances sister collapsed in the shower. When we found her she was unconsious and having convulsions. We don't have any proof, but the probable cause is the she was drugged by the bartender at the resort. He was very strange, knew she was the only single one, and she did not have that many drinks. Her doctor here in Canada says she was undoubtedly drugged. Even if she was not drugged, the medical service we got was shocking. We called for the doctor three times, no one came. It took around half an hour for someone to come and take her to the doctor. It would have taken us 5 minutes to carry her there if we knew where to go. I could not believe it, no one would help us. Once we got her to the doctor I asked security to give me a ride back to her room so I could get her passport and insurance so that she could be treated (it was our first day, the resort is large, and it was dark so I didn't know how to get back to the room). The answer was no. It was outraging. Everyone had a lazy attitude and didn't care to help. The only positve was the doctor herself, she was very helpful. In the end we got her to the hospital, she had a close call with death but fortunately she is now okay, though she did not fully recover for the rest of the trip. So be aware, in a medical emergency, no one at this resort will step up and help. It seems that no one is in charge and they give you the run around. Which leads to another bad experience. A few days later my fiance was getting ready at the spa with her brides maides for our wedding. They shaved part of her eyebrow off, and burnt another girls shoulder, not to mention not doing any of the hair right. The girls walked out on them and guess what? We got charged for the spa. And once again, no one seems to be in charge to answer, they give you the run around, and lie straight to your face. We complained the next day and they wouldn't give us a refund because they said we didn't complain when it happened.... I don't know maybe its because we were about to get married! So it is not hard to beleive that this whole ordeal put a major stress on our wedding and continues into our marraige. I know many people will like this resort but this is our experience so be careful. We spent alot of money to only have the one of the worst weeks of our lives.
Other negatives
-most of the safes never worked
-door handles were broken
-volleyball was flat (they didn't have an extra)
-overcrowded - I only saw 2 volleyball courts for a couple thousand people
-remote control never worked
positves
-running water which was usually hot

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Robbed"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
1183 people found this review helpful

Don't go stay away worst experience ever we were robbed while sleeping We arrived Feb 23rd and were robbed the very next evening we stayed in room 77208 I later learned when I returned home that so were other people Robbed. The manager of the hotel didn't not care did not help and they made you feel like a criminal. Not once did anyone say sorry to us. They can't speak english so it was very hard to communicate. The balcany door has only a pin hole to lock, we found our carry on bag on the balcany and look out for the maids I think they are working with someone My husband and I could have been killed hurt or raped and my daughter and her friend were in the next room which I don't even want to think of what could have happened. Sunquest also was no help one of them said to me Did you go to oreintation I said no I travel every year for the past 20 years I don't need to hear Sooo he was implying that if I went it would have helped me I don't think so. You are suppose to be safe in your resort not at this hotel.

Room Number:
77208

Room Block:
77

Arrival:
FEb 23rd

Rooms:
unsafe

Restaurants and Bars:
terrible except for the Japanese

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Other Comments:
Don't go you will be robbed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed!!Never Go Back There!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Jan 30, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2017 | Leisure | With Group
164 people found this review helpful

The resort and grounds are beautiful.

Very disappointed in the food,the buffets were very small and I'm sure they used food from the previous night for their lunch menus.Buffets were very disappointing ,no variety at all, no selection.

English is not a well known language,very difficult to communicate.

Room Number:
81121

Arrival:
Unorganised as we arrived in a group of 33 people.They handed out packages but most did not have door entry keys in them.It seems they were just interested in you going to the meeting the next day so you would spend more money on the excursions.

Rooms:
Rooms are very nice, but they were not replenished daily.Had to ask for supplies.Asked the maid for a facecloth,she told me to call room service for one.Rooms were tidied everyday but not cleaned.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bartendar at the nightly entertainment sucked.Unless you were young and pretty, you were waited on last.The bartenders at the pool didn't understand half the time what you were asking for because they didn't speak english.I asked for a simple vodka and grapefruit,I got wine.I said no Vodka and grapefruit,I vodka and coconut...seriously.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Enjoyed the pool area until one woman decided to take her bathing suit top of and be sleezy with the bartenders and other woman.Just not appropriate!Really...grow up.

Also one reason I go to a resort is to spend time on the beach.Not this one...one day we did because it rained in the morning and we were able to get 4 chairs.It was sooooo packed ,wall to wall people..not pleasurable at all!

Other Comments:
Other resorts we have been to have a BBQ's,lunch served by the pools,we didn't have to leave the pool area to have lunch in a crummy buffet.

The best part is there were probably 6-8 people that left sick .One person from our group was hospitalised for 3 days.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst vacation ever!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Mar 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
1119 people found this review helpful

Please believe me when I say, stay away from this resort. I stayed here with a group of friends Feb 23 for a week, it was a week from hell. When we finally arrived to our room in villa 77,I tried to open my door and realized the card key was not working. I had to hike back to reception to get the card reactivated, I was hot and tired and hiked back to my room where the card opened my door but it wouldnt turn lights and air on. I would have to put the card in and out for it to finally work. This was everytime I went into my room. The room was nice at first glance, when you take a closer look you realize everything is old and dated. Towels were white at sometime and rooms were not cleaned some days until after 5:00. The food was just barely okay and never warm! The Japanese restaurant was the only good place to eat. All these problems were tolerable compared to what happened to my friends, while they were SLEEPING someone broke into their room and stole money, cell phone, jewelery. When they reported the theft to security and management they didn't seem to care and infact treated my friends like they were criminals
and were lying about the theft. They were so unprofessional and unwillimg to help them out. Do not waste your money and time going to Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro unless you want your safety being an issue your belongings stolen and treated very poorly. It was very difficult to relax and enjoy ourselves after this happened. When is this resort going to do something about peoples safety if anyone can just come in your room while sleeping and steal your stuff. What has to happen someone has to be hurt, raped or murdered for management to do something to fix this serious problem of lack of security and safety of all guests! I thank God that my friends didn't wake up, what would have happened to them if they did!

Room Number:
77210

Room Block:
77

Arrival:
Disorganized! Nobody directing you to reception or check-in we just followed the crowd.

Rooms:
Dated and bad smell. Remote for tv and phone didn't work. Toilet broke had to walk to reception because phone didnt work, said they would send someone and we waited no one came.

Restaurants and Bars:
Japanese restaurant was good and thats it! Took forever to get a drink in the main lobby!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
At least the weather and beach was beautiful. Good thing the resort had no control over these too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware BED BUGS"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Manda  on Apr 25, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
824 people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Grand Bahia Principe in Punta Cana was less the enjoyable.

We stayed with the Grand Bahia Pricipe in Punta Cana between the dates of April 12th to the 19th and I have a few major concerns with our stay and our experience.

#1 We had to deal with an infestation of Bed bugs in our room that didn't seem to completely show up until towards the end of our trip. I was affected the worst of our whole family but all of us were bitten at least a half dozen times. I would not expect this to even be a remote concern for a resort that boasts a 5 star rating. We still have our luggage outside of our home because we don't want to risk getting our home infested.

#2 We found that the resort was very unfriendly for children. There were multiple times where there were people by the family pools who were topless and even though the signs say "NO TOPLESS" nothing was enforced. This makes for an incredibly uncomfortable visit to the pool. We attempted to take our children to the kids club one day and the child care worked seemed very disinterested in even being involved with the kids and the activities available to them were simply a joke.

#3 For a 5 star resort the food was incredibly poor. Granted there was a ton of food but much of it was tasteless and low quality. We booked 5 A'la carte meals and the only one that deserved any kind of mention was the Japanese restaurant. My impression is that the resort simply focuses on quantity not quality.

#4 I have to say that there were some friendly staff on the resort but as a whole I found that the service was not there, you felt as if there was no place to get answers for your questions. This may be because of the language barrier but there needs to be a solution to this problem. You could tell we were there because our "money" was needed but not because they wanted us there.

I would never go back again, nor recommend this place to anyone.

Room Number:
21209

Room Block:
21

Arrival:
April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awful service and dirty "

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Jun 6, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2017 | Leisure | With Group
84 people found this review helpful

Do not go here. We had to switch our room three times due to bugs and mold. It took 8 hours to get a decent room. The staff was rude and disrespectful. The food was also horrible and they would not give us dinner reservations because our room wasn't ready then by the time we got our room number everything was booked, leaving us to eat at the buffet for all meals which was not good quality food. I would never go back and do not recommend this resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor Management Attitude - Disastrous Xmas Eve dinner experience"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mike from Ottawa  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
538 people found this review helpful

I booked three families and arranged for another two families to join us for a week of vacation at this resort. Unfortunately, I found the service to be poor, staff had difficulty of communicating properly in English and at times giving wrong information. Despite our initial request, at the time of reservation to be placed close to each other, we were spread around the compound, not able to have breakfast or most dinners together. Worst of all, it was the Xmas Eve dinner. Having booked our dinner table to be together and promised to have this arranged, we were spread all around the restaurant at individual tables. The dinner menu was preselected and handed to us at the restaurant, consisting of: Lobster & prawn cocktail, Langoustine soup, spiral of sea bass Mornay (half cooked), lemon sorbet, stuffed turkey roll, creamy gem squash cheesecake, coffee/tea/liqueurs. No considerations were made for kids, people with sea food allergy or dislike, vegetarians, etc. When aske! d for an alternative to some menu courses, servers promised to bring something else, which never arrived. All the kids in our group went to bed hungry that night. Our reservation was for 9 pm, the turkey was served at 11:15!! Many left the restaurant before the turkey dish arrived. We were still waiting for the French Fries for our kids, so that they would not go to bed with empty stomach, which never arrived. TOTAL disaster. We managed to talk to the night manager, Daniel, after a lot of difficulty. He initially did not want to hear us, at the end apologized and promised to talk to the General Manager and get back to us; we are still waiting, but not holding our breath.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Norovirus, sanitation, smoke, crowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Dec 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
1468 people found this review helpful

We both got Norovirus and were very ill, no disinfectant used in rooms, the mattress stank and the A/C so musty we had to turn it off. People can smoke any place and they do - the theatre had so much cigar smoke you couldn't watch the shows. Impossible to get a lounge chair unless you staked a claim by 8:00 am.

Room Number:
22104

Room Block:
22

Rooms:
Not sanitized, just wiped everything spreading germs everywhere. Did not clean you glasses, just wiped them every day. A/C was so full of mold you couldn't run it. The mattress stank and was so stains - disgusting

Restaurants and Bars:
Good variety - all meats were over cooked.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Gounds were beautiful, pools very nice, beach beautiful but so many people

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube