Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
1 - 10 of 45

"Very Pleased With Trip...First time ever did a trip like this"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Barbara  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
827 people found this review helpful

We read alot of reviews from this website some good and some bad. So we went ahead and did discover our own reviews.Its a beautiful place. Not alot of English spoken and the trolley drivers dont know the resort..like where the restaurants are you have to study the map. Which is your job !!!Kinda like a maze..lol

Your Arrival:
We arrived at 1am with Airplane delays. At first we got there we wernt direct to the VIP. Thus waiting in the general line for 20mins before we were told different. Then when directed to VIP we went in and got a room package. With our allecartes already assigned. And our purple bracklets disappointed we got no other direction. That was a lil sad as we didnt know what trolley to get or where even to go.but we found our room and was in bed by 230am

Rooms:
We asked for 2 double beds. But oh well we gotaking and a single it still worked so no biggy. One thing you need toknow is the dominican peopleare very smart as when u get a room you get two cards one for the door and the second one there is a slot inside the room for the other one and u put it in there and it works the air conditioning and lights (trick bring a walmart gift card and it works too and allows the air to continue to run when ur not there)as your card gives the power to the room. The bathrooms are all tile and real nice the tube is a jacuzzi....its nice blow dryer and huge mirror and a mini mirror...they supply lots of shampoo/conditioners/combs/sewing kit/combs

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet is great...the snackbars are fabulous....the alle carts well we only did the bbq one as we arent ones to try new things so the paris/japenese/meditrainin were the others and we didnt go..the main buffet kept us for the week. So the food islike chicken turkey ham roast beef lamb pig carved as you ask.....there is tons to eat burgers fries pizza fried tomatoes veggies omelettes/pasta bar and breads and steak and pork chops baked /boiled potatoes....you will not go hungry the snackbar is a mini buffet plus allthe sandwich meats and cheese.If your nota vinigertte dressing person forsalads bring ur own and also if u like HP sause bring it as they have none.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach/ Pool beautiful clean and tested daily...the pool checkers walkaround in white jackets like they are doctors..lolThe grounds are WELL maintained and there are tons of people cleaning everything railings..floors...balcony..its trulycrazy howmuch cleaning goes on here and you can smoke anywhere as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Theone activity wedid was the mega truck and its 95.USA and it was wellwoth it. Our tour guide was Alex and hes so funny ..We visited the children school..sugar cane fields..seen the country side..went to a ranch horse backride and had a lunch..seen how cigars are made seen how people live there also seen how they jar and make coffee..coca..vanilla..met afamily toured their house.Also if you take this tour bring school supplies for the school and the soaps from the hotel. But most of allcome with a strong heart as their are children there that beg...and its not allowed to give them anything for their own safety you have to give the items to the school.

Other Comments:
We have never done a holiday like this ...i am ready to do another trip and see what is all out there....its like heaven with no responsibilities.....iwould return in a heart beat......planning one for next February with my kids. They look after every detail...like a sticker on the toilet paper...the maids if you tip will be very good to you too

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort great weather amazing food."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
743 people found this review helpful

Left Montreal December 31 2009 9:00 am flight with Can Jet Airlines,4 hours with no leg room,a sandwich only to eat.i will not fly Can Jet again,will fly Air transat or sunwing,and i think i will go for first class.Four hours is too long to not be comfortable.It took only 30 minutes to get to the hotel.
we had reserved the royal golden deluxe,The difference with the royal golden deluxe.they call it the Esmerelda, there is 4 villas,closest to the beach.the safe is included with the royal deluxe.

Your Arrival:
Rooms are just ammazing, we had a king size bed,jaccuzi in the bathroom
could not ask for moore.

Rooms:
we went to book our a la cartes at 8:30 am the next morning,computer was down.
we went to the pool came back 1 hour later,she gave us 5 ala cartes, instead of 4. the only one we couldn't get was the steak house.we went to the japonese
restaurent, meat was overcooked,has they cook the meat first instead of last
Sushi was great, ambiance fantastic.we went to the Bella Italia.we didn't enjoy it.the main buffet at the principe lobby is huge great food can't complain.over all we did like the food.

Restaurants and Bars:
The beach is beautiful white sand.the pools are great cleaned daily.this is a 5 star hotel, it was my fisrt time in the dominican republic,and we will be returning for 2 weeks next time. we have travelled to cuba 4 times puerta vaillarta , jamaica, and puerto rico, this being the best resort so far,so please do not take in consideration all these negative reviews,some people complain about everything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We went to the casino we did not do any excursions, we just wanted to relax on the beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort was fantastic"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  CJ  on Mar 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
655 people found this review helpful

Several friends and family went to the Bahai Principe Bavaro in Puna Cana for a wedding. The resort was amazing, people were friendly and all of us would return their again. I would highly recommend this resort - it was fantastic.

Your Arrival:
No problem with the arrival at the airport or at the hotel.

Rooms:
Very clean, well stocked and beautiful. Staff was so friendly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Such variety and the food was amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Our room was just outside the pool, which was beautiful. However we spent most of our time at the beach, which was lovely.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do if you had the time.

Other Comments:
The other problem we had was stamps. Bought some post cards and could notlocate one stamp at the entire resort. However, that was the only blemish on a perfect holiday weekend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another Great Time at the "AMBAR""

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gary  on Sep 3, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
822 people found this review helpful

Back for our sencond trip to the Ambar section. Another great week in the sun. Everything went smooth form arrival at Toronto airport to board Air Transat right thru to the arrival in Punta Cana.

Arrival:
Arrived on time, thru customs and had luggage ready to board bus in no time flat. When leaving the aircraft and seeing the thatch roof terminals again, you know your finally here. Having your first cold Presidente once you leave the airport is great also. Smooth bus ride to Bahia and quickly transported to the Ambar lobby. Greeted with a welcome drink and within 15 minutes had our room keys and we chose to walk to our room since it was sunny and warm and it was only a 3 minute walk. Luggage was delivered to room about 15 minute later.

Rooms:
The rooms are big and spacious. We were in bldg. 64. Great few and only steps to the pool and 2 minutes to the beach. Rooms were clean,towels were plenty and the turn down service was great. No matter what room you are in, you are only a a few minutes to the lobby or the beach. From the lobby to the beach is only a 5 minute walk.

Restaurants and Bars:
Emailed down 10 days before we left with our request for reservations and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find our we got what we asked for. The "Mediterranean - El Olivo" was my favorate. "Don Pablo Gourmet" was great, Japanesse - Maiko was good and had lots of fun. The Italian restaurant at the "Esmerelda" section was excellent. Don't over look the buffets. The food is excellent and a great variety. The wine is so so ... but you can order other wine's from the wine list that aren't to bad price wise. Bars looked to be well stocked. I enjoy the Presidente so that what i mostly drank.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool at the Ambar is quite compared to the other sections. Large and very clean. Great swin up bar were you get to meet people from around the world.
The beach is the best part. Warm white sand right to the waters edge. Lot's of palapas and shade from the palm trees. Beach bar close by to quench your thirst. Even in May when it was quieter, the "Towel Games" were play. If you arrived later in the morning, you could still get chairs with shade, but the prime locations were taken. If you want the prime locations.. then the old saying applies... " If you can't beat them ... then join them."
Pictures speak for themselves about the beach here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Mainly here to relax, laid by the pool or on the beach during the day and enjoyed the evenings all around the resort. The Ambar lobby is quite, but just a short walk away there is plenty to do. Show'are in the theater each night. All the lobby's close at 11pm but then everyone moves over to the Pablo Square where there's the Casino, Disco and shops. If you want the activities and night life, there's pleny there on the resort. If you just want the peace and quite, then you can stay in the Ambar lobby and enjoy the quite entertainment.

Other Comments:
Many thanks to all the staff. Everyone was friendly and always greated you with a smile. They work hard and a tip here and there is much appreciated. Would not hesitate to return to the Ambar.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time at Gran Bahia Principe in Punta Cana"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
969 people found this review helpful

We were at the Bahia Principe from Feb 21 to Feb 28, 2011.

Overall, it was a fantastic experiece. The resort is well kept, grounds are stunning, the beach is unbeatable, the food was great, rooms were clean and safe, bars were good, althought here was sometimes a language issue when ordering drinks... but staff were super friendly and helpful.

Specific comments are below, but I have to say the most annoying issue we had on this vacation were the French Canadian tourists. I've heard all sorts of bad things about 'them' but never seen any evidence, until this trip. I guess because we flew out of Ottawa, we had a large number of Quebecers on the flight. They were rude in boarding (pushing, shoving and then taking their time to pull stuff out of their carry-on when the plane was boarding - and similarly stupidly slow when de-planing).

On the bus at the resort, they were pushing and shoving to get off, would bud in line at check in, bud in line at the buffet in the resort, we had a chair 'stolen' one day when we left the beach for lunch, despite leaving a towel and clothes on the chair. I've never seen such rudeness and general selfishness from any one group of people.

I don't want to tar all French Canadians as rude, but holy cow it seemed everyone who was FC at our resort was seriously short of the 'respect and politeness' gene.

Anyway, the resort offered wifi in the lobby only, and I saw lots of people with their laptops surfing. They offer free internet access to Royal Golden guests and I went online twice. First time was a waste of time... unbelievably slow connection. Second time was way better.

All in all, the Bahai Principe Punta Cana was a great experiece for us. Any negative comments below are mostly picking nits. I would recommend this resort to anyone as we all had an awesome time. I wouldn't return to it however, only because there are so many other places to see/stay... but I would return to Punta Cana for sure. The Riu next door looked amazing and we're intrigued to see what it would be like.

Room Number:
1208

Room Block:
Royal Golden

Arrival:
We departed from Ottawa via a 6 a.m. flight. Our travel agent told us to be there three hours in advance, as the operator (transat vacation) closes their desk one hour before take off time, regardless of who's in the line. No one likes to get up at 2:15 a.m. but we did and much to our surprise, the airport was open, but we had to wait 2+ hours after we got through security. oh well

THe flight was via Canjet. Seats were cramped and service not the greatest on the flight.

Arrived on time and was struck by how beautiful the Punta Cana airport is. Thatched roof and waaay nicer than the airports in Puerta Plata and Veradero (my only other two caribbean airports I've been to). The airport itself was clean, well lit and easy to navigate. Operators were easy to find once through customs and the bus was pretty quick in getting us to the resort (about a 20 min ride). The Transat 'host' was kind of annoying as we found him over the top with his 'rah-rah you're in punta Canada, no stress' crap... That stresed me out. LOL

Check in was via the Royal Golden check in. Rooms were not ready but they gave us a place to change and to watch our bags. We went back to the bags a couple of times, and the bellman asked each time if we were the owners.

Once we got to the rooms, they were great and in the building over looking the seafood resto, next to the beach. :) There was a minor mix up in room prep (previous guests left the 'do not disturb' sign on their door and then checked out... idiots... but management was awesome about it.

Rooms:
Rooms were spacious and clean, albeit a bit dark. The bathroom was particularly dark with not enough lighting. We had an adjoining room with the kids (20 and 17) and had some issues getting the safe to work, but it eventualy decided to co-operate.

We paid for Royal Golden service which included an evening bed turn down. We only got this service twice in a week. Also a few times we returned to our room at 5 p.m. to find it still not cleaned, despite the kid's room being cleaned. NOT impressed with that and found we had to put out the 'please clean our room' sign to ensure it was cleaned in the morning.

Also part of the Royal Golden service was a promised 'club house' exclusive to RG guests, that featured a private pool and news papers, etc. The place doesn't exist. Resort people were counfounded by this when I asked where the private pool and louge were. There is a private pool, but only for 'Diamond' guests. Transat will be hearing about this, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment. The only real benefit of Royal Golden serivce is the 24 hour room service (although a VERY limited menu) and being right next to the beach. The resort is HUGE and it would suck to be almost 1km walk from the beach. They do have a shuttle service but stumbling out of your room to the beach (or vice versa) is very handy.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the food generally very good. Lots of beef too, and all well cooked and prepared. The buffet was great, but as mentioned it's a long distance from the beach. The a-la-carte restaurants didn't seem to offer anything different than what was available at the buffet other than a different location. We found the buildings freezing cold via the A/C and in one, the A/C was dripping water on my better half. We asked that that unit be shut off, or we be moved... neither happened.

There are three beach front restos and we discovered the food at the two western most ones much better than the one beside the pool. Hours for accessing the buffet and these restos was odd and sometimes you find yourself hungry and nothing was open. Not a BIG deal, but still.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was awesome! The resort was over-capacity which meant for a very busy beach. The bad was that in order to guarantee you having the chairs and real estate you want, you have to get out there to stake your claim before 8 a.m. or you're SOL.

The beach was, as I said, awesome. Sand was uber soft and the water was great. There is an under-tow on this beach, so little ones must be closely supervised.

Crews were on the beach each morning cleaning up seaweed, and vendors were there selling stuff, but not annoying people at all.

Pools were great. Big and clean and no issues. Grounds are gorgeous and having the shuttle buses to get your around the resort was fantastic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't participate, so can't really comment. Our goal was sun and sand and that's all we did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome resort and beach."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karla Burkholder  on Jan 11, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
840 people found this review helpful

This is our third trip to the Dominican Republic. It is a beautiful country. The people at the resorts work long, hard hours. They are friendly and always willing to help you. The Bavaro beach area is beautiful. We highly recommend this area of the Dominican.

Your Arrival:
Arrived on time flying in from Detroit, Michigan through Apple Vacations. Apple rep. there to greet us upon arrival and direct us to the bus that would take us to our resort.

Rooms:
Room was nice with a king size bed, jacuzzi tub/shower. Large closet for clothes. They provided you with robes and an umbrella to use during your stay. Robes are available for purchase if you choose. Maid kept room clean and tidy. Refrigerator was kept well stocked with beverages. Coffee maker in room with coffee and tea available. Plenty of bottled water available.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet restaurants were excellent. Always a lot to choose from. The buffet restaurant in the Principe Premier area was smaller and not as crowded as the one in the Principe Bavaro area. Ala carte restaurants: we ate at the French restaurant, the Garden Grill and the Japanese. All were excellent. Did not use the bar areas.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is awesome, beautiful white sand and you can walk for miles. Pools were nice, kept clean, landscaping was beautiful and well taken care of. Beach got crowded by 11:00 a.m. and cleared out some by 5:00 p.m. Best time for walking is early morning or late afternoon.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not do any optional activities.

Other Comments:
The only downfall to the trip was upon returning to the airport to fly back to Detroit, the lines were long and slow moving. We arrived 2 hours before the flight was to leave. It took us two hours to get checked in and go through security. Flight was late leaving. Make sure you get to the airport at least 2-3 hours before your flight takes off.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gran Bahia Princiipe Bavaro - Diamond Club lived up to our expectations plus more!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Jul 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
827 people found this review helpful

Myself (40 years old), my husband (43 years old) and our niece (15 years old) spent two lovely and relaxing weeks at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Diamond Club Section from July 8-22, 2010.

Arrival:
When we arrived we immediately left our bags with the bellboy at the front entrance, walked 100 metres or so to the Diamond Club lounge and very quickly checked in with the incredibly professional Francy Dugarte, the Diamond Club Manager. She explained our a la carte bookings, gave us a map of the resort, and provided us with a cold welcome beverage. After signing for our electronic key we were directed back to the front area where a bell boy placed all the luggage in a tram and drove us to our villa #34 directly beside the Diamond Club pool. Alexandro carried all the bags to the third floor room and welcomed us with a smile.

Rooms:
The room in the Diamond Club room was spacious and included two double beds, though king size beds are available upon request and if you aren't travelling with a third like we were. There was also a sitting area with a table and two chairs, a television, dresser drawers, bedside table with reading lights on either side and enough closest space for everyone. My recommendation to you is to bring along extra hangers or ask your maid for additional ones upon arrival. There were only 5 hangers per closet side. The hangers you will receive upon request are wire hangers so if you have an issue with them, bring your own plastic ones.

The bathroom consists of a jacuzzi tub/shower combination with marble surround as well as the sink and toilet. Don't forget that the water is NOT DRINKABLE out of the tap at this resort and therefore you will have to brush your teeth using the bottled water provided. There are new bottles delivered to your room every day.

In the room there is also a mini bar fridge that contains water, pop (pepsi, 7-Up and Orange) and two cans of Brava beer. The fridge is restocked as needed. Each evening when we returned back to the room, there was new stock free of charge. The fridge does have some extra room in the event you bring your own wine, liquor or refrigerated snacks with you on vacation.

As well, every room does have a walk out balcony with a small table and two chairs. I would suggest that you bring along clothes pegs or a clothsline if you wish to hang your bathing suits or towels to dry in the evening because there is no rack made available on the balcony and otherwise you are hanging items from the chairs or the balcony rail, neither of which are ideal. My only suggestion regarding the room to the resort is a drying rack added to the balcony, I have come across them at RIU resorts in the Dominican and Mexico.

Restaurants and Bars:
When you book at the Diamond Club section you are allocated four a la carte reservations per week with your concierge. In addition, at the Diamond Club section you are provided with exclusive use of the Italian Restaurant for breakfast and lunch each day. It is only steps away from the Diamond Club pool and is a much quieter and relaxing breakfast and lunch experience.

On the evenings we ate at the buffet restaurant it was just ok compared to the a la cartes but we never went hungry on those evenings and simply understood that the process of presenting food on such a large scale isn't going to produce gourmet. Now the a la cartes are an entirely different story because they are all FABULOUS in their own unique ways! Our favourite was the Garden Grill located mid resort, with the highest quality food I have ever experienced at an all inclusive! The manager is Joselo, an incredibly friendly gentleman who will greet you with a smile and assist in making your dining experience a great one. I highly recommend you book this location as soon as you arrive.

Our second favourite restaurant was the Italian Restaurant with a wide selection of main entree as well as an enormous variety of appetizers in a buffet style. I can't say enough about the entire staff working in this restaurant from first thing in the morning when they greet you for breakfast till your evening dinner reservation. Very hard working, always with a smile and each one of them made our vacation a great one! Thank you Yulia, Jesus, Juddy, Ramon, and Rafael for your professionalism and daily smiles!

Our third and final favourite that I'll mention was the Japanese Restaurant. You have two options for eating at this restaurant, the tapanaki area where they cook the food in front of you and the table service. Don't forget to request the tapanaki so that you aren't disappointed. As well, just a tip, always double check your reservation slip after booking with the concierge to make sure the request is noted. We did see a family quite upset when they were seated in the table service area after believing they requested the tapanaki but unfortunately that area was completed reserved for the night and the slip was table service.

The bar service was on par with the majority of other resorts in the caribbean that I have experienced over the past 15 years or so. The beer on tap was Presidente, there was champagne for mimosas and cocktails were colourful and well presented. There are blenders at the bars and I would suggest you request they be used for some drinks because the "slushi machines" don't do them justice.

There were three bartenders who stood out as the friendliest, most professoinal and most customer service oriented during our visit. They are located at the Diamond Club pool.Thank you to Maria, Starling and Joselo!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I can't comment greatly on the services and fun available on the beach because I am pretty much a pool tourist but on the days I did walk down to watch my husband take out the catamarran, I found plenty of lounge chairs and a sandy ocean floor to walk on. The water is not as clear as it was during our last visit three years ago but it was quite wavy due to a storm system in the area. I did see an entertainment crew running games such as horseshoes and volleyball so it looked like there was plenty to keep you occupied on the beach. As well, there was a beach bar for guests with a slightly less assortment of drinks to choose from.

The grounds are positively immaculate for such a large resort and you will always see groundskeepers out in the baking heat trying to make your day a visually appealing one. Positively no complaints with the grounds!

There are an assortment of pools in this resort. There is a beach front pool divided into sections with the deepest area being to the right of the swim up bar. I was actually a bit surprised at how deep it is, a good 5 and a half feet because it came up to my shoulders so I don't think I'd want too many little people in that area. This pool is positively CRAZY during the day with people and activities. If you are looking for relaxation, don't sit at this one! This is the pool for those booked into the Junior Suites and not upgraded to Diamond Club. Like I've said before, book Diamond Club and avoid disappointment. This booking gets you four a la cartes instead of two per week along with a nicer breakfast and lunch and the exclusive use of the nicest pool on the property.

Which brings me to the Diamond Club Section pool. I have taken both videos and photos of this area that speak for themselves. The links are attached to this review. It is a large free flowing pool with a swim up bar, pretty views to every side and plenty of lounge chairs. The towel service and bathroom is a 20 second walk and it is also directly on the transportation line that runs the length of the resort. A special thanks to Jose, the pool guy who kept the pool area clean and inviting during our entire stay. He greeted us each and every day with an "hola" and a smile, a very sweet man.

As noted on other reviews, this resort is very large but not daunting and very manageable with the "tram" transportation service that runs every 3-5 minutes along three seperate lines of the resort from front to beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Regarding activities on and off the resort, I can't review off the resort because I didn't book any, yet there are a number available from the representatives who walk around the resort everyday.

On the resort you have the pools, the beach activities (non-motorized water sports-one hour free daily), the games around the pools and beach and the shopping in the resort at the front area to the left of the lobby. As well, there is a casino but I don't think I've ever met anyone who has won at one in the Caribbean.

Other Comments:
This resort is a very solid 4.5 star and certainly a 5 star if you factor in the quality of the a la carte restaurants. The service was fantastic, the room location ideal, Diamond Club pool inviting and hotel as a whole completely lived up to our expectations and exceeded them! One last note that we found helpful when packing for our own trip. Men are allowed to wear dress shorts in the buffet restaurant, and all but one a la carte restaurant so if you wish to try the French restaurant you must wear long pants...no exceptions.

I know that on the review sites the reviews for this resort differ greatly, with some loving, some hating and those that thought it just so-so. We are experienced 15 year + all inclusive travellers who have stayed at 2.5 star resorts, 4 star resorts and 6 star resorts and I can honestly tell you that we would return to the Diamond Club section, Premier section, the Ambar (adults only) or the Esmeralda section in a heart beat! I didn't really go into the Esmeralda area review, but there is video about it on my video link. It is a smaller resort attached to the property directly on the beach but strictly for those guests who book there. It looked heavenly when we walked around it and when talking to guests they compared it to the Bahia Principe Ambar but for families. It is very tempting to stay there next time as well.

You won't go wrong booking the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro but Diamond Club or better is a must!

Please don't hesitate to email me if you have any questions regarding this review. My email is kcponce @ hotmail.com.

Cheers and happy travels!

Kelly

Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/Ilovlos/GranBahiaPrincipeBavaroDiamondClubSection02#

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/lovlos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Beautiful Paradise!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Terri B  on Feb 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
712 people found this review helpful

This was our first holiday as a family and it was wonderful. We had 2 adults, and 3 boys 17, 17 & 18, and we also went with another family of 6 - 2 adults, 3 girls 18, 17, 13 and one boy 11. The weather was hot during our entire stay. We had a shower once during the day for 10 minutes otherwise it was hot during the day and warm at night. The day we left December 24th we were at the beach until 11:00 am then came back to the room to pack up to go home and then the rain came.

Your Arrival:
We arrived December 17, 2009 at 4:30 pm. The weather was so warm compared to what we left behind in Edmonton, Canada. Going through the Punta Cana airport was fast and organized. The buses waiting to take people to the resorts were all properly labeled. The ride from the airport to the resort was approx. 25 minutes. The driver and tour guide on the bus were very helpful and had everyone's information for their resorts except for us. The reason being is that instead of us staying at the Gran Bahia Punta Cana, they upgraded us to the Esmeralda. We arrived at the main lobby, and then a driver grabbed our luggage and drove us to our resort. The staff at the front desk were very friendly. We were greeted with a cool towel and a drink. They were very accomodating by giving us 2 rooms joined.

Rooms:
The boys room had 2 double beds, and our room had a king size bed. The rooms were grand and fit for a king and queen. The bathroom had a rain shower, a jacuzzi tub and 2 sinks. Everything in the bathroom was in marble, and had a window to the room, which you could easily pull the curtain over it. The rooms were clean, the air conditioning worked, the maid service was wonderful, they cleaned the rooms daily, left fresh towels, fresh pillows and towel art on the beds daily. They even came back in the evening to turn down our beds. The rooms also had a couch that pulled out to a bed, there was a table with 2 chairs and a balconey. We were on the main floor, so I would go out to the balconey to warm up because my husband was enjoying the air conditioning to much. The balconey had a table with 2 chairs. Our rooms were non smoking, but you could go out on the balconey to have a smoke. Sitting on the balconey in the late evening was very warm and calming.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were very good. We ecspecially liked the Japanese restaurant. The buffets at our resort had a vast variety of food. They had all kinds of meat, fish, soups, pasta, vegetables, fruit, cakes... you name it they had it. The buffets had a different them everyday from canadian, italian, chinese, american to mexican. They still had alot of your basic foods as well. The buffets breakfasts, lunches and suppers were just a good if not better than some of the A La Cartes.We tried other buffets at the resorts and they were the same as ours, very good. The bars whether at the main lobby, or the lobby at our resort, or the swim up bars. The people there work very hard to please us, and we had a wonderful time. Manwell, and Abraham are the best bartenders at the swim up bar, and the bar at Esmeralda. We had a great time and a lot of laughs with them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was gorgeous, there was plenty of chairs, as well as the sun huts. The kids played beach volleyball everyday. They had games at the beach, they had a bar at the beach, and they also had security which you didn't see unless something went wrong, then they were there immediately. The sand is so soft and white. The overall smell of the outdoors had a floral hint to it. The grounds at the resort were immaculate. There was always someone working on the grounds either doing the plants, painting the borders, cleaning up dead leaves, sweeping the walkways, or cleaning the tables at the pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always something going on day or night. During the day there was plenty happening at the beach, the pools had activities, there was snorkling lessons, they had excursions to go on. There was a market on the resort you could do some shopping, they had a mini golf course, a spa, the kids even went and played basketball at the courts, but only lasted 15 minutes, it was to hot for them to play. Again the weather was great!! The evening had shows at the main theater like 80's show, The lion King and Michael Jackson look a like. The shows were very entertaining. The main lobby had a big meeting place you could sit and visit and have a drink. It was a nice place to meet other people.

Other Comments:
I don't have one bad thing to say about this resort, they spent alot of time trying to please everyone that stayed there, and they even went out of there way to make your stay there enjoyable. The people there are friendly, and funny. English isn't a language barrier there, because they try so hard to please everyone. I would definitely return to this hotel, and I would 100% recommend the Gran Bahia Principe to anyone and everyone. I can hardly wait to go back there again!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent time at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tracey  on Jan 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
776 people found this review helpful

Your Arrival:
Arrival was a little confused as 2 flights arrived at the same time and check in details for the hotel was done on the coach at the airport. The staff did not have all guests information so it delayed us and we were sat in the airport car park on the bus for approx 1 hour ( a thirsty wait). All was sorted once we got to the resort and although we were booked at the bavaro side - we were allocated a room on the punta cana side. No worries though as they are both the same.

Rooms:
Stayed in room 17306 - block half way between the reception and pool, approx 10 mins walk from the beach. Nice and quiet with no noise at night. The room was always spotless and the maid left us swans etc made with towels. I took a phrase book and left little notes in spanish with a tip if I needed anything else and it was always sorted immediately.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet lounge was excellent - Iris and Daniel were the best waiting staff and looked after us very well. As I am gluten intollerant I have experienced problems before through lack of choice (I cannot eat sauces/flour/pasta/bread) however the amount of choice was fantastic - lots of different salad and freshly grilled meat options. There was never a single day when I could not select a very enjoyable meal. As I cannot eat cakes etc - I was very pleased that there was also a selection of jellies and fruit for desert! Also ate at the fish/steak and japanese - all very very good. The pool bar was fantatic and Francisco worked his socks off keeping our glasses topped up! The guys would also come round in the afternoon with a trolley serving freshly made sangria and mamajuana - Yum ! Went to the theatre shows a couple of times which were very cheesy and entertaining but remember that this is not the West End and loosen up a little ! Most evenings we stayed in the lobby bar listening to the pianist, watching the dancers and chilling with a G & T and a pack of cards. Good gin good friends and good conversation! What more do you need ?

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were spotless - as were the pools and beach. Only ventured to the beach once as enjoyed lounging around the pool. Found everyone to be very friendly and met some very nice canadian people whilst we were there. Hi to you all - Trish, Nikki Jody and your significant others - we really enjoyed the afternoon bar sessions. Also Bill and Mary who shared our last week where Bill and Phil sorted out the worlds problems over a cerveza or two !

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Never strayed off the resort as we have stayed in the DR so many times and just wanted to chill out. Lots of activity going on in the resort - the afternoon aerobics in the pool were a hoot to watch, particularly the young lady getting all the old guys to do aerobics and Mr Universe contest - what a laugh!

Other Comments:
Have read some of the other reviews with I guess what can only be described as amusement !. This is a great resort - BIG - yes ! , but take a risk, have a walk and get some of that flab off ! You need it after the great dinners and deserts. Yes - there may be some mossies - but its hot !! Yes - you may have your towels moved - but there are big signs saying you cant reserve a sunbed !!!! So don't - if you want a bed - lie on it and stay there - or let someone else use it when you aren't. Seriously though - this is a fantastic place - so go,relax and leave the stress behind you, peoplewatch, snooze, read a book and most of all, learn from the people there to serve you, who love life, are proud of their country and work so hard for not a lot of money to make your holiday the best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific experience"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vic  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
741 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Our flight from Halifax was smooth and hassle-free at the Punta Cana airport. We felt very welcome. After our bus ride to the Bahia Principe, arriving at 0930, we were allowed to check into our room by noon.

Rooms:
While we had booked a 2nd-floor room, the folks at reception assigned us a ground-level room just 2 minutes from the beach. This was great, and allowed us to easily get our towels onto the beach chairs by 7 a.m.
The one glitch was with the room safe. While we anticipated paying for it, the darn thing wouldn't lock. After nagging reception a couple of times, they sent a technician who simply said there was a problem with our room key card. I don't think he knew more than a cuple of English words. Eventually we had to walk back to reception to get a new card, and it worked. But we were delayed for over 2 hours from getting to the beach. It turned out they had incorrectly programmed the card.

Restaurants and Bars:
There's way more food than you can comfortably eat here, folks. We had something different at the buffet each meal and still did not get through all the choices by week-end.
The a-la-carte restaurants were good, but not exceptional. We ate at Tex-Mex, Japanese and Mediterranean. Service was okay, depending on how busy they were. We showed up at one restaurant on the wrong night, but they sat us anyway, without any problems.
Being used to Canadian beer, the watery stuff they served inclusively was simply disappointing. If you like extreme sugar highs, go for the Pina coladas, Coco-Locos, etc. Tons of sugar and hardly any alcohol.
The waitresses were friendly and prompt, except for one instance when we could not get someone to come anywhere near our table. They speak very little English, and a lot gets lost in translation.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No complaints here. Aside from the fact that the big pool and the beach were way overcrowded, everything was clean and orderly. The most irritating activity was the "DJ" who had access to a powerful amplifier system, and used it on max! I simply turned up the volume of my iPod to drown this loathsome noise out, but I guess the dance/fitness stuff attracted a few people who were continuously berated by the DJ for whatever reason he could think of.
If you want some peace in the afternoon, go WAY up the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the VIP Safari, Dune Boogies and deep-sea fishing. These activities were terrific, despite being way over-priced.

VIP Safari: We explored the countryside in a small open bus, visiting an organic farm (coffee, cocoa, etc), which was well worth the visit, Also stopped at a sugar cane harvesting operation and a school and cathedral in Higuay. We finished up the day with grilled lobster (quite unlike our North Atlantic, but really good). Our guide was intent on distributing beer and rum throughout the trip, spilling it everywhere when we hit bumps in the road. This, to him anyway, was really hilarious. The requisite "shopping stops" were tolerable, but just.

Dune Boogies: This excursion allows teams of two to ride in each dune buggy, but follow the leader in convoy fashion. Speeds were never high, the countryside was fascinating (except for the piles of garbage everywhere).
We visited Macau(?) beach, which had great rollers of surf coming in. A good spot for a swim (except for literally mounds of garbage everywhere and the usual hawkers). The cave we explored was pretty neat, located next to a mini shopping mall in the middle of nowhere. Which came first? We went for a swim in the cave, and great volumes of dirt came off everyone.

Fishing: By far, the best activity of our stay, and our boat of six people landed a 60-lb and a 300-lb (!) marlin. I got a barracuda. Simply one of the best fishing trips I've ever been on, made possible by Gone Fishing!

Other Comments:
Aside from the (preventable) safe incident on the first day, we have very few complaints. In general, staff were willing to please, although very few of them can speak more than a few sentences of English.
I would definitely return to this resort. You can be as active (or inactive) as you like, and still enjoy yourself immensely.
Security was first-rate, and even after I had stumbled onto the beach late at night, a couple of security guys (I assumed they were, anyway!) got me pointed in the right direction even though they could speak no English at all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube