Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
11 - 20 of 45

"Norovirus, sanitation, smoke, crowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Dec 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
1468 people found this review helpful

We both got Norovirus and were very ill, no disinfectant used in rooms, the mattress stank and the A/C so musty we had to turn it off. People can smoke any place and they do - the theatre had so much cigar smoke you couldn't watch the shows. Impossible to get a lounge chair unless you staked a claim by 8:00 am.

Room Number:
22104

Room Block:
22

Rooms:
Not sanitized, just wiped everything spreading germs everywhere. Did not clean you glasses, just wiped them every day. A/C was so full of mold you couldn't run it. The mattress stank and was so stains - disgusting

Restaurants and Bars:
Good variety - all meats were over cooked.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Gounds were beautiful, pools very nice, beach beautiful but so many people

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not worth it"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  louis  on Sep 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
1088 people found this review helpful

The country,the staff, the vendors , they are far from friendly. Every body is out to get you,they're looking for your money,if you're not a good tipper I would suggest Mexico,there you may Pic the same resort and get the real deal.
Note I consider my self to be a very good tipper,but being put under pressure wile on vacation is not what was looking for.

Room Number:
9210

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
on the resort good
off the resort I dare you

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Time..."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvie  on Jun 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
1026 people found this review helpful

I have to say that it was an awesome resort. Great friendly staff, great food, and very clean. We went a group of 5 women and we were treated well. We are now going back in October / 11.
I would recommend it to everyone.
Thank You
Sylvie

Room Number:
32110

Room Block:
Villa 32 / Club Diamond Section

Rooms:
Rooms were cleaned every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Italien was very good and the B.B.Q also.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool and beach were clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Resort, Great Food, Friendly Staff"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kay  on May 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
862 people found this review helpful

GIFT STORE- souveneirs are reasonably priced, becareful for alcohol buys if it is not duty free. they have most US/CAD products you may NEED.

SERVICE - They are amazing staff. usually ONE USD dollar is enough of a tip as it converts to approx. 45 Pesos +/-.

TRANSPORT - they have shuttle trolleys every 5 mins to and from the main lobby to the beach - its not far to walk if you want to, but a nice ride if you need it.

$4/night for the safe
don't leave money out or the maid might take it as a tip.
Almost EVERY drink is included - see menu at the sandbar for foreign drafts/brandy/specialty drinks.

Leaving - ask the receptionist to call and give her the money to pay for a cab - you may get it less than $38 USD if no shuttle.

Airport - has an IMMENSE WAIT TIME - and have at least 12 different checkpoints. International coming into the states/cda has so many restrictions its a bit too much - but you have to go thru it unfortunately.

Leave enough time for connecting flights as they tend to get delayed on the field going into the states ( ours was birds on the field, then checking baggages etc) we had two hours between and we still missed our connecting flight.
if it is the airports fault insist on getting a hotel voucher instead of paying yourself for an overnight stay for the next flight out.

OVERALL - Completely worth the trip and awesome stay - great memories and a very relaxing time.


Arrival:
Get a shuttle to the resort or pay 38 USD dollars for a private cab ride. Everything is monitored from the airport so the cab drivers cannot cheat you. We exchanged CAD and USD dollars at the airport - waste because they underrate you obviously and the locals prefer USD dollar bills as payment or tip rather than Pesos.

Shockingly - they charge $10 per person getting off the plane as 'an entry into the country fee' - couldn't argue so we paid.

Getting into the lobby at reception we were greeted with refreshing drinks.
**Careful tho- the receptionist basically flat out asked for a BRIBE to put us in a beachfront villa** Glad we said no because our villa was halfway between the pool and the main indoor buffet (needed if you want airconditioned meals as opposed to beachside buffets - still nice but mid-day is a bit hot) He seemed to be the only 'bribed' staff.

Also be cautious of the lobby - they say to go on a 10 mins free helicopter ride, or win this and that if you listen for 10 mins to them... its a timeshare scam, just say no thank you, walk away and they wont bother you again.

Restaurants and Bars:

any ala carte restuarants book the day off your stay, because they fill fast... we waited till the second last day so didn't get any reservations - but were not at all disappointed because the main buffet was excellent

FOOD - at the main dinning buffet area - great choices - changed everyday to a different theme. had the plain hotdog, hamburger, fries for those that dont like flavour, and then had the variety section based on themes, then standard salads, desserts etc. some with the theme flavours (e.g. Japanese, Mexican, Dominican, Italian, Canadian, French, etc)

For babies they give a whole carton of milk if you ask for it instead of a cup (its usually 1% with added calcium) we had no choice but to use that - and our baby didn't seem to have a problem.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THINGS to bring - Lots of ONE DOLLAR BILLS for tipping, Conditioner, sun tan lotions, toothpaste/brush, your basic necessities you can't do without if they dont have it in the room.

No need for towels they have a beach towel and room service.

They have room umbrellas for use.

Vast grounds, impeccably manicured lawns.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Don't leave the resort - not worth it.

TONS of activities to do within the resort - but expensive (individually or per family) - altho seems like you can negotiate prices because they WANT you to sign up, if not one person then the whole family.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big Thumbs Down! Would Never Go Back"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Mar 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
935 people found this review helpful

Aside from the beautiful beaches and nice weather, neither of which the resort can take credit for, everything from check in to check out was an ordeal. The resort is way too big and cannot accommodate the number of people staying there. The hotel staff for the most part were rude, unhelpful, and dismissive. The food was mediocre at best and most of the time the buffet was the your only option. Most of the options were stale and consisted of whatever was left over from the day before. If you were lucky enough to get a reservation at one of the restaurants, you realize the food is pretty much the same thing available at the buffet, just presented a little differently. If you are an english speaker, you are in the minority. We had bed bugs in our room and nobody seemed to care. The pools and beach were overcrowded. If you want a lounge chair, be prepared to be up and out there staking your claim at about 7 am everyday. The housekeeping and some wait staff (usually the bussers) were very nice. Also, the women in the guest relations office were helpful most of the time. Overall the resort was way too big, poor in design, and non user friendly. I cannot say it was relaxing in the least. The experience was disappointing and I would never recommend this resort to anyone in the future.

Room Number:
77305

Arrival:
Check in was a process due to the fact no more than two people were working behind the desk. Nothing was explained to us in terms of how to navigate the resort or even find our rooms. We were given a poorly designed and extremly unhelpful map that was pretty much useless. Nobody explained to us there was an orientation meeting we could attend in order to find out some information about the way the place worked and we basically stumbled our way through everything. By the time we figured out how the place ran, it was time to leave.

Rooms:
The rooms were ok at first glance. However, we had bed bugs and our keys never worked. Our phone constantly flashed that we had voicemail, but we could not check them or even call the front desk because the buttons did not work.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was terrible. Eating at the buffet was a dreaded experience each day. If you were able to actually book a reservation in one of the restaurants, you were not pleasently surprised by what was served. Despite the fact there were bars ALL over the place, none ever seemed to be open except the one in the main lobby. The drinks were small and watered down. If you want alcohol in your drink you have to request it. And you better bring money to tip or you will have a hard time getting anyone to pay attention to you.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful but overcrowded and loud most of the time due to the "fun activities" taking place all the time and some entertainment host yelling into a microphone all day. The lounge chairs were old and not very comfortable to lay on. The same thing with the pools. There were not enough chairs so you have to get up really early to go out and claim one. By early I mean like 7 am.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The excursions were ok, but it was a constant attempt to sell you something and get more money out of you. It got really old being hassled all the time for money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Stay Wonderful - Airport Line Up of Legalized Beggers"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Mar 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
668 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Bahia Principe twice - Club Diamond and Club Golden. both were excellent - Diamond gives you a private pool, Golden is closest to the beach. We had choice of 4 al a cartes. Buffet was consistently good. People are wonderful and friendly and helpful. So respectful and attentive to elderly guests! Holiday damper always arrives when leaving the country . . . if your luggage is anywhere near the limit,you will be charged (even though no charge at departure point) - their scales are fixed. We paid an extra $24 - people next to us paid an extra $48. What could you possibly buy in Punta Cana to cause your luggage to go overweight? Everyone has their hand out: porters, washroom attendants, photographers, singers, duty free attendants. Honestly, you feel like never going back after going through that for 3 hours (the amount of time they make you wait at the airport).

Room Number:
3206

Room Block:
Villa 3

Arrival:
Private check in for Club Golden - goes pretty quickly. Porters take you to your room.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean and spacious. Robes and slippers provided. Also provided with a fruit plate, t-shirts and decorative swans.

Restaurants and Bars:
Spanish restaurant - massively overcooked meat - inedible. Steakhouse was nice but not our usual type of steak. Italian was the best. Japanese was fun. Buffet was almost always very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean - no seaweed on the beach. Busy in February though - hard to find chairs unless someone gets up early. The problem seems to be that people mark chairs by the pool and then take chairs at the beach and go between them. so you always see empty chairs but you can't use them because they are reserved! Selfish . . .

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities and tours.

Other Comments:
If only someone could make the aiport experience more civilized!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time at Gran Bahia Principe in Punta Cana"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
693 people found this review helpful

We were at the Bahia Principe from Feb 21 to Feb 28, 2011.

Overall, it was a fantastic experiece. The resort is well kept, grounds are stunning, the beach is unbeatable, the food was great, rooms were clean and safe, bars were good, althought here was sometimes a language issue when ordering drinks... but staff were super friendly and helpful.

Specific comments are below, but I have to say the most annoying issue we had on this vacation were the French Canadian tourists. I've heard all sorts of bad things about 'them' but never seen any evidence, until this trip. I guess because we flew out of Ottawa, we had a large number of Quebecers on the flight. They were rude in boarding (pushing, shoving and then taking their time to pull stuff out of their carry-on when the plane was boarding - and similarly stupidly slow when de-planing).

On the bus at the resort, they were pushing and shoving to get off, would bud in line at check in, bud in line at the buffet in the resort, we had a chair 'stolen' one day when we left the beach for lunch, despite leaving a towel and clothes on the chair. I've never seen such rudeness and general selfishness from any one group of people.

I don't want to tar all French Canadians as rude, but holy cow it seemed everyone who was FC at our resort was seriously short of the 'respect and politeness' gene.

Anyway, the resort offered wifi in the lobby only, and I saw lots of people with their laptops surfing. They offer free internet access to Royal Golden guests and I went online twice. First time was a waste of time... unbelievably slow connection. Second time was way better.

All in all, the Bahai Principe Punta Cana was a great experiece for us. Any negative comments below are mostly picking nits. I would recommend this resort to anyone as we all had an awesome time. I wouldn't return to it however, only because there are so many other places to see/stay... but I would return to Punta Cana for sure. The Riu next door looked amazing and we're intrigued to see what it would be like.

Room Number:
1208

Room Block:
Royal Golden

Arrival:
We departed from Ottawa via a 6 a.m. flight. Our travel agent told us to be there three hours in advance, as the operator (transat vacation) closes their desk one hour before take off time, regardless of who's in the line. No one likes to get up at 2:15 a.m. but we did and much to our surprise, the airport was open, but we had to wait 2+ hours after we got through security. oh well

THe flight was via Canjet. Seats were cramped and service not the greatest on the flight.

Arrived on time and was struck by how beautiful the Punta Cana airport is. Thatched roof and waaay nicer than the airports in Puerta Plata and Veradero (my only other two caribbean airports I've been to). The airport itself was clean, well lit and easy to navigate. Operators were easy to find once through customs and the bus was pretty quick in getting us to the resort (about a 20 min ride). The Transat 'host' was kind of annoying as we found him over the top with his 'rah-rah you're in punta Canada, no stress' crap... That stresed me out. LOL

Check in was via the Royal Golden check in. Rooms were not ready but they gave us a place to change and to watch our bags. We went back to the bags a couple of times, and the bellman asked each time if we were the owners.

Once we got to the rooms, they were great and in the building over looking the seafood resto, next to the beach. :) There was a minor mix up in room prep (previous guests left the 'do not disturb' sign on their door and then checked out... idiots... but management was awesome about it.

Rooms:
Rooms were spacious and clean, albeit a bit dark. The bathroom was particularly dark with not enough lighting. We had an adjoining room with the kids (20 and 17) and had some issues getting the safe to work, but it eventualy decided to co-operate.

We paid for Royal Golden service which included an evening bed turn down. We only got this service twice in a week. Also a few times we returned to our room at 5 p.m. to find it still not cleaned, despite the kid's room being cleaned. NOT impressed with that and found we had to put out the 'please clean our room' sign to ensure it was cleaned in the morning.

Also part of the Royal Golden service was a promised 'club house' exclusive to RG guests, that featured a private pool and news papers, etc. The place doesn't exist. Resort people were counfounded by this when I asked where the private pool and louge were. There is a private pool, but only for 'Diamond' guests. Transat will be hearing about this, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment. The only real benefit of Royal Golden serivce is the 24 hour room service (although a VERY limited menu) and being right next to the beach. The resort is HUGE and it would suck to be almost 1km walk from the beach. They do have a shuttle service but stumbling out of your room to the beach (or vice versa) is very handy.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the food generally very good. Lots of beef too, and all well cooked and prepared. The buffet was great, but as mentioned it's a long distance from the beach. The a-la-carte restaurants didn't seem to offer anything different than what was available at the buffet other than a different location. We found the buildings freezing cold via the A/C and in one, the A/C was dripping water on my better half. We asked that that unit be shut off, or we be moved... neither happened.

There are three beach front restos and we discovered the food at the two western most ones much better than the one beside the pool. Hours for accessing the buffet and these restos was odd and sometimes you find yourself hungry and nothing was open. Not a BIG deal, but still.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was awesome! The resort was over-capacity which meant for a very busy beach. The bad was that in order to guarantee you having the chairs and real estate you want, you have to get out there to stake your claim before 8 a.m. or you're SOL.

The beach was, as I said, awesome. Sand was uber soft and the water was great. There is an under-tow on this beach, so little ones must be closely supervised.

Crews were on the beach each morning cleaning up seaweed, and vendors were there selling stuff, but not annoying people at all.

Pools were great. Big and clean and no issues. Grounds are gorgeous and having the shuttle buses to get your around the resort was fantastic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't participate, so can't really comment. Our goal was sun and sand and that's all we did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay Away from Arrecife Studios for the Wedding Pictures"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Enrique  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
644 people found this review helpful

I recently had a wedding at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana and the same thing that happened to sebitasalejo occurred to us. They told us that it would be ok and not to worry about it, but when you show up it's a different story. They tell you that you have to talk to the wedding people to deal with them in person. Even if you have it in writing via email that your guest can take pictures with a professional camera. They'll make you sign a paper that says they can charge you $500 if they feel that the pictures being taken are professional pictures. So in a sense it's all a very grey area that they control. They even stopped someone in our party taking pictures in the middle of the ceremony. It was so annoying and frustrating. I would not recommend dealing with arrecife. Jackie was has a lower IQ than george bush. She wasn't helpful at all. She portrayed herself as the manager of Arrecife and said that if they didn't take the pictures than we would get charged $500. It's a total scam and they leave you with no choice but to use them. You don't need things like this right before your wedding. It's stressful enough and don't forget that this is a business to them. When you show up to the hotel to do all the paperwork you don't have a choice anymore. You're cornered!! We decided not to purchase any of their pictures as other people took plenty of pictures. Plus, my brother and I saw what the photographer Willy was doing to the pictures and it's not brain science. All he was doing was applying a preset setting on the pictures he took. He was using the program lightroom from adobe. I know of it because I used it for a class I took during the summer for fun. The same pictures they give you, you can do on your own with the same quality, but with a higher quantity at a WWWAAAYYYY Cheaper price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pluses outnumbered the minuses"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ronald  on Feb 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
686 people found this review helpful

This resort is huge. It is clean, well maintained and beautiful. The staff were always friendly, smiling and courteous. The room we had was very nice with appealing decor in my opinion, though the safe nor the alarm clock worked and we had a 15 inch color TV.

Because of its size getting around takes a fair amount of walking or waiting for a tram. We were at this resort for 6 days and were never able to eat ala carte because we had not made reservations before we left home. Don't worry you not go away hungry.

The beach is beautiful with a few topless women which no one seemed to mind or pay attention to. People stake out their chairs by 8 AM and then don't show up until noon. This is kind of peeve that takes place everywhere.
The nightly shows were Ok but don't waste your time with "Black Theatre". By the end of the performance 50% of the audience had gotten up and left.

We came for the weather and in that regard we were not disappointed. Sunny and mid 80's everyday.

Everything was not perfect but the good far outweighed anything negative and we would recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely but crowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marc  on Feb 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
651 people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This resort is large and confusing at first as it is actually four resorts in one with about 7000 guests. It took me a couple of days to figure it out then I was fine. The most confusing thing is that the reception areas for the Punta Can side and the Bravaro side are mirror images. We only went on one excursion which was to Santo Domingo. It was a 14 hr day but quite interesting.
First the good:
-Beautiful, clean beach, great sand
-lovely clean, clear ocean with moderate ways, great to play in
- clean, well maintained grounds
-clean rooms, NO mustiness, good, strong A/C
-two weeks of great weather, only a couple of evening and one small morning showers
-nice main lobby bar
- the Japanese restaurants and the BBQ
- the service at the a la carte’s
- frequent trolley service
-no upset tummies!!
-clean pools
Now the average:
-the food; other than the Japanese and BBQ restaurants,
-room décor
-landscaping
-service
And the bad:
-resort is way too big!
-beach is very crowded. If you’re not down there by 7 am to claim a spot you won’t get a palapa
-rude people on the beach (maybe because of crowding??). We had people try to move under our palapa sometimes even if just one of us moved out into the sun. Conversely, we had people park themselves so close to the palapa on occasion the it made it difficult to move into the sun.
-buffet restaurants were extremely noisy. Not because of kids, but because of the design and loud staff.
-not enough beach bars and no staff serving drinks on the beach. It needs some small beach bars where you can sit in the shade, have a cool one and visit
-a lot of the people there, guests and some staff, seemed quite unfriendly. Not nearly the number of friendly greetings or Hola’s that we normally hear in the DR.

This resort is very popular with French Canadians which probably accounted for 60% of the people with the rest from the US, the rest of Canada, and Europe. I would only recommend this resort if you like being around a lot of people.
All this being said we still had a wonderful vacation and will return to Punta Cana, but to a smaller resort.

Room Block:
24

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube