Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
11 - 20 of 45

"Nightmare Vacation"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  D  on Mar 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
845 people found this review helpful

6th time in the Dominincan, 4th in Punta Cana. All of our other vacations to the Dominican were amazing...and we looked forward to returning before we even left. However after this stay we will not return to a Bahai resort, and we will probably not go back to Punta Cana. We will never deal with Transat!!!!! We hope all other vacationers have a great experience at this resort, and it was obvious the fun many people were having...but we feel we must share our experience.

Your Arrival:
We flew Air Transat. First time with this company. Lots of leg room, but flight attendants refused to smile. They actually yelled at my daughter for not having her table up, when I told them it was due to the fact they had not collected her food or partially full juice, they snapped it up and walked away. Otherwise...good flight.
We were directed to the wrong bus at the Punta Cana airport with another couple. Drove for 1 hr before they simply just dropped us at the Bahai. They were not expecting us, and after a long debate drove us to the Esmeralda part of the resort. After another 30 min, alot of Spanish and tension we were told we were not staying there. Then we were taken back to the lobby (soaken wet with our Canadian clothes still on) and very thirsty (could not get a drink due to no wrist bands). Another 30 min or so and they found our room with the Golden Club. Keep in mind, I had my Hotel Voucher with me and let everyone read it several times. Finally got the package with wrist bands and we were taken to our room.

Rooms:
Upon entering our room with the Bell Boy, we quickly noticed we had been put in a room that had yet to be cleaned. The family/group before us sure had a good time...the room was a disaster. We knew if we left, we probably were not getting another room and the Bell Boy told us not to worry and to get settled. Hot, sweaty and very irritable...we slipped into our bathing suits in disgust, locked our stuff in our suitcases in the corner (had not been told about a safe) and ventured to the beach...without towels !!!

Restaurants and Bars:
You are pre-assigned your 4 a-la-cartes. Which is good and bad. Great to have the opportunity to actually get into 4 during your 7 day stay, but the times meant an early day from the beach in order to get cleaned up. We used 2 of them and enjoyed the atmosphere at both. The main buffet on alternate nights was always good, and very clean. We enjoyed breakfast over looking the Ocean every morning and it was beautiful. Snack bars by the pool and beach crowded and hard to find a table...but enjoyed by the kids several times a day.
The bar staff were wonderful and entertaining at the main pool bar (both swim up and walk up). The male bar staff at the Sports bar very accomodating and friendly. They went out of their way to get the Canada Hockey Game on every night and cheered along with us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds lovely. Always people working and quick to say Ola !!
Pools clear and warm. Beach clean with lots of chairs. Towel guy at main pool irritable always and refused to change towels at the end of the day. We didn't have bath towels so we tried to get fresh beach towels before getting cleaned up for the night but he refused. We ended up keeping them and getting new ones in the morning..only to be yelled at daily for not handing them in for washing over the night. I explained every day our dillema...he simply did not care.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hardly saw the entertainment staff, which was dissapointing for our kids. They did do alot of activities but due to the size of the resort it was hard to know what was going on when. Staff didn't cirulate as they did at the other resorts we visited and didn't try to get the tourists involved. We did see the Lion King and Michael Jackson...3+ maybe. Not sure of the off resort activities since we missed the Transat Tour meeting, and when we asked our rep about it, she didn't answer but told us to look around.

Other Comments:
Our girls (18yrs)were coming home from the Karoke one night and took the trolly to our room. Upon exiting the trolly the driver summoned them to him, and they went. He then opened his phone and showed them a video of a Bull having sex with a woman, all the while talking Spanish to them. They were terrified and ran quickly to the room. Their vacation changed from that moment on...as did ours. We finally went on the long walk with determination to find the Transat Tour Lady the next morning and went through all of our concerns (even though we had discussed them to Golden Club earlier twice with no luck). She was vaguely interested in the room and getting lost issues...but jumped when told of the video stating he would be fired immediatley and wanted more info. We declined at that moment, fearing the girls would be targeted by other staff and agreed to give all info as we signed out. She agreed this would be best for the girls and agreed to meet...however never showed up at check out time and we could not find her...not surprised !! He is still lurking around......

Other concerns:
No face clothes. No bath towels for all of us. Room never swept (big insect of some type was dead at the base of our patio doors all week) we left him there as our check. Bar fridge filled 2 times all week..we really only needed the water and had to get our own. Our rep actually told us to brush our teeth with tap water, which in the past was a huge NO.

CHECK OUT:
Again...no Transat Rep around. Quick and efficiant sign out at the Golden Club. We saw a group from our flight entering a bus at our designated time. I asked the Nolitours rep if it was our flight and he said yes to get the family and luggage. I told him we were Transat and he said no problem. Once on the bus they asked us to leave. We said ok but needed to get our luggage. They said no, our luggage would be at the airport for us when we got there. We refused to get off without it. Finally at his insistence we were leaving, and he quickly said "go sit back and stay" then came and explained numbers (no clue what he was saying, but realized other Transat people on the bus were looking quite concerned ). I wanted to speak with Transat Tours...but could not find anyone. We stayed on the bus...and cheered when we arrived at the airport and new we would soon be in Canada to celebrate our Gold medal wins !!!
It was the best feeling ever to be home...and that is a first for all of us. It is especially disappointing when you go through the propper channels with your concerns and no one cares...hence the reason I am writing this review.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort great weather amazing food."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
744 people found this review helpful

Left Montreal December 31 2009 9:00 am flight with Can Jet Airlines,4 hours with no leg room,a sandwich only to eat.i will not fly Can Jet again,will fly Air transat or sunwing,and i think i will go for first class.Four hours is too long to not be comfortable.It took only 30 minutes to get to the hotel.
we had reserved the royal golden deluxe,The difference with the royal golden deluxe.they call it the Esmerelda, there is 4 villas,closest to the beach.the safe is included with the royal deluxe.

Your Arrival:
Rooms are just ammazing, we had a king size bed,jaccuzi in the bathroom
could not ask for moore.

Rooms:
we went to book our a la cartes at 8:30 am the next morning,computer was down.
we went to the pool came back 1 hour later,she gave us 5 ala cartes, instead of 4. the only one we couldn't get was the steak house.we went to the japonese
restaurent, meat was overcooked,has they cook the meat first instead of last
Sushi was great, ambiance fantastic.we went to the Bella Italia.we didn't enjoy it.the main buffet at the principe lobby is huge great food can't complain.over all we did like the food.

Restaurants and Bars:
The beach is beautiful white sand.the pools are great cleaned daily.this is a 5 star hotel, it was my fisrt time in the dominican republic,and we will be returning for 2 weeks next time. we have travelled to cuba 4 times puerta vaillarta , jamaica, and puerto rico, this being the best resort so far,so please do not take in consideration all these negative reviews,some people complain about everything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We went to the casino we did not do any excursions, we just wanted to relax on the beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never Again"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Craig  on Mar 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
776 people found this review helpful

Let me start off with saying,we are AMERICANS, we are a average couple,50ish in age,have traveled to Mexico 13 times, 3 cruises, and twice to the Dominican Repulic. So we have seen and experienced quite a large field of differences. Our trips have always been to all inclusive resorts.
THIS WAS AT THE " GRAN BAHIA PRINICPE PUNTA CANA BAVARO "

Your Arrival:
When we arrived in the Dominican we were greeted by warm air and smiles, we did not have transfers arranged, so when a baggage guy came up to us and started talking, we asked where to catch a Taxi, with smiles he brought us to where the taxis are, and thanked us, we tipped him a couple of bucks and he was happy. ABSOULTELY NO PROBLEM with finding a Taxi, the cost to our resort was $40 which we found out was the going rate and had no problem paying it, tipped him a $5. Takes about 30 minutes to get there.
Checking into our resort was some what of a hassle, because the really do not speak english very well at all, if any !!! It took us about 20 minutes to finally get a room. Some of the staff are alittle better at thier jobs then others, just like any where. During this transaction I asked which way the beach was and he pointed to his left, then I asked him which way our room was and he pointed to his right, no way was he going to move us closer, but he did let us know there was a pool right outside our building. The POOL was a small shallow piece of cement with 3 COLD whirl pools in it. After we took a trolley to our building ( building 51 ) we started to get a feel for how FOOLISH LARGE this resort is.

Rooms:
We were on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool (LOL), Just about as far from the OCEAN AS POSSIBLE! King size bed, which was extremely firm, Bathroom where very nice with a exceptional shower, just like anywhere you had to rent a Key to Activate the safe, well worth the $26. My wife and I had been bit in the night by bugs, 2 nites in a row, so on the 3rd day, we stripped the pillow cases, sheets, and comforter off and threw them out side our door so the chambermaid would totally understand, she did not speak any english what so ever. Rooms were pretty good size, and air conditioner worked well, as well as the ceiling fan. Very comfortable temp. Plenty of closet space, iron, blow dryer, and your frig was stocked every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
BOOZE, weak, very weak, and your FROZED DRICKS, where not FROZEN, they came out of a chilled slushy machine. This was the only place we have seen that there was a charge for stronger drinks, good scotch, brandy, ETC. OK OK, NOW ABOUT THE FOOD. WHERE SHOULD I START!! COLD, to LUKE warm, now when I say this, please don't say I'm being to picky, it was EXACTLY THAT. Every meal, morning noon and night, and the selection of food was diffenetly catering to the people from germany,Italy,Spain,France, not the Americans, you have a better Quality of food you enjoy in your local buffets. It got so bad, we started making grinders to take back to our room, because of the selection of american food. Once again they the staff did not speak english. They did not even know what a cup of ice was.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One of the nicest beaches we have seen. Clean, Sandy, no Rocks, very very comfortable water temp. Some topless, no major issue, alot of chair saving and then never showing up. Same with the little covered Cabanas. LOL, it got so bad with the saving thing, that if I had not seen anyone show about to the covered cabanas far a few hours, I would throw the towels and books,hats off on to a nearby chair so other peole were able to enjoy them.
Pools down at the beach area where kept up nicely, and very clean. The beer at the snack bars in the beach area were the coldest, food still was cold to luke warm, but the beer was cold!

Other Comments:
Absolutely not American friendly, ( American food,speaking english or lack there of)
We had to take a trolley from our room, to get to the lobby, then take a different trolly to the beach that was about 1/2 mile away from the lobby. To time consuming and inconvient. Did not enjoy it.
To large of a resort, (3500 people and it was booked full)
Staff - did not speak english, and the evening shows were terrible, now we were not expecting las vegas by a long shot, but these people never practiced and it showed, could not even keep in step with ANY and I measn ANY dance routine. Sound system was loud and very blurry, could not uderstand what they were saying, even the few very very broken english words they tried. WE WILL NEVER GO BACK, I HOPE SOME OF YOU READ THIS AND CHANGE YOUR PLANS, YOU WILL BE DISSAPOINTED IF YOU GO. YES THE WATER IS NICE, YES THE WEATHER IS NICE, YES ITS IT JUST PLAIN NICE TO GET AWAY WITH YOUR SPOUCE, HOWEVER YOU WILL NOT LIKE THIS RESORT.
TheY work off of QUANITY, NOT QUALITY !!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort was fantastic"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  CJ  on Mar 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
655 people found this review helpful

Several friends and family went to the Bahai Principe Bavaro in Puna Cana for a wedding. The resort was amazing, people were friendly and all of us would return their again. I would highly recommend this resort - it was fantastic.

Your Arrival:
No problem with the arrival at the airport or at the hotel.

Rooms:
Very clean, well stocked and beautiful. Staff was so friendly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Such variety and the food was amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Our room was just outside the pool, which was beautiful. However we spent most of our time at the beach, which was lovely.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do if you had the time.

Other Comments:
The other problem we had was stamps. Bought some post cards and could notlocate one stamp at the entire resort. However, that was the only blemish on a perfect holiday weekend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"understaffed and overcrowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  TK  on Apr 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
797 people found this review helpful

This resort was lacking simple ammenities: Pool towels were unavailable, air conditioning wasn't working, rooms weren't cleaned until almost dinner, unfriendly staff

Your Arrival:
Arrival was rushed and confusing. Packets were handed to guests as we arrived on a bus with no verbal information. Rooms were not ready upon arrival. While this is common, no one gave us information as to when.

Rooms:
Not very clean. Outdated.

Restaurants and Bars:
Understaffed. Difficult to find tables at breakfast in particular. Food was mediocre.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach. Limited chairs. Beautiful, well manintained grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
excursion = Marinarium... must see... swim with nurse sharks and sting rays

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort but takes a few days to get your bearings."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  jody  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
725 people found this review helpful

Arrived at 09:30 am and proceeded to check in. The desk was very busy but a rep from Signature Vacations - the copmany we booked with passed out envelopes with out info and arm bracelets for the week. We were told we could not go to our rooms until 3PM but could use the resort facilities and eat at the beach restaurant. Everything was very clean and the grounds were beautiful. We were told to meet at 09:30 the next moring for more information from our tour rep. This meeting was quite useless as the accent was too thick and we could not hear what he was saying. We found overall that the staff had problems communicating in English but were much better in Spanish and French. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Beach chairs could be reserved by placing your beach towel on the chairs and this could be done up to 9 am or so. After this time the chairs are all taken. Evening shows were well posted and quite good considering resort staff were uesd. Beware of the water drains at night as several people including us tripped and fell. The swimming pools were very nice and always clean. The beach was very busy and seemed to always too windy for our taste. Overall, our week was very enjoyable and we had a great vacation. If I consider an all inclusive vacation in the future I would perfer a smaller resort as this one was very busy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Tremendous value for the price"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Apr 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
768 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at the Bahia Principe Bavaro/Punta Cana as the two resorts are interchangeable. We've been to the Punta Cana area nine times, stayed at the Riu Palaces, Iberostar Bavaro, Grand Palladuim Bavaro and Secrets Excellence. The Bahia was as good as any of those but cheaper. As is written in many of the reviews, this place is gigantic which gave us the only negative aspect, too many people and this was the beginning of a lower season. They handled the crowds very well, we never had to wait for anything, we just prefer less crowds. The resort is huge and that eats up some time to get around. The trains were excellent, 1 or 2 minute waits at most. However, we love to walk so this was a great advantage for us. The food in general was as good as the other resorts I mentioned and better than most.
In summary, if you don't mind lots of people and want a great value for the price you pay, go to Bahia.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific experience"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vic  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
742 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Our flight from Halifax was smooth and hassle-free at the Punta Cana airport. We felt very welcome. After our bus ride to the Bahia Principe, arriving at 0930, we were allowed to check into our room by noon.

Rooms:
While we had booked a 2nd-floor room, the folks at reception assigned us a ground-level room just 2 minutes from the beach. This was great, and allowed us to easily get our towels onto the beach chairs by 7 a.m.
The one glitch was with the room safe. While we anticipated paying for it, the darn thing wouldn't lock. After nagging reception a couple of times, they sent a technician who simply said there was a problem with our room key card. I don't think he knew more than a cuple of English words. Eventually we had to walk back to reception to get a new card, and it worked. But we were delayed for over 2 hours from getting to the beach. It turned out they had incorrectly programmed the card.

Restaurants and Bars:
There's way more food than you can comfortably eat here, folks. We had something different at the buffet each meal and still did not get through all the choices by week-end.
The a-la-carte restaurants were good, but not exceptional. We ate at Tex-Mex, Japanese and Mediterranean. Service was okay, depending on how busy they were. We showed up at one restaurant on the wrong night, but they sat us anyway, without any problems.
Being used to Canadian beer, the watery stuff they served inclusively was simply disappointing. If you like extreme sugar highs, go for the Pina coladas, Coco-Locos, etc. Tons of sugar and hardly any alcohol.
The waitresses were friendly and prompt, except for one instance when we could not get someone to come anywhere near our table. They speak very little English, and a lot gets lost in translation.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No complaints here. Aside from the fact that the big pool and the beach were way overcrowded, everything was clean and orderly. The most irritating activity was the "DJ" who had access to a powerful amplifier system, and used it on max! I simply turned up the volume of my iPod to drown this loathsome noise out, but I guess the dance/fitness stuff attracted a few people who were continuously berated by the DJ for whatever reason he could think of.
If you want some peace in the afternoon, go WAY up the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the VIP Safari, Dune Boogies and deep-sea fishing. These activities were terrific, despite being way over-priced.

VIP Safari: We explored the countryside in a small open bus, visiting an organic farm (coffee, cocoa, etc), which was well worth the visit, Also stopped at a sugar cane harvesting operation and a school and cathedral in Higuay. We finished up the day with grilled lobster (quite unlike our North Atlantic, but really good). Our guide was intent on distributing beer and rum throughout the trip, spilling it everywhere when we hit bumps in the road. This, to him anyway, was really hilarious. The requisite "shopping stops" were tolerable, but just.

Dune Boogies: This excursion allows teams of two to ride in each dune buggy, but follow the leader in convoy fashion. Speeds were never high, the countryside was fascinating (except for the piles of garbage everywhere).
We visited Macau(?) beach, which had great rollers of surf coming in. A good spot for a swim (except for literally mounds of garbage everywhere and the usual hawkers). The cave we explored was pretty neat, located next to a mini shopping mall in the middle of nowhere. Which came first? We went for a swim in the cave, and great volumes of dirt came off everyone.

Fishing: By far, the best activity of our stay, and our boat of six people landed a 60-lb and a 300-lb (!) marlin. I got a barracuda. Simply one of the best fishing trips I've ever been on, made possible by Gone Fishing!

Other Comments:
Aside from the (preventable) safe incident on the first day, we have very few complaints. In general, staff were willing to please, although very few of them can speak more than a few sentences of English.
I would definitely return to this resort. You can be as active (or inactive) as you like, and still enjoy yourself immensely.
Security was first-rate, and even after I had stumbled onto the beach late at night, a couple of security guys (I assumed they were, anyway!) got me pointed in the right direction even though they could speak no English at all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gran Bahia Princiipe Bavaro - Diamond Club lived up to our expectations plus more!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Jul 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
828 people found this review helpful

Myself (40 years old), my husband (43 years old) and our niece (15 years old) spent two lovely and relaxing weeks at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Diamond Club Section from July 8-22, 2010.

Arrival:
When we arrived we immediately left our bags with the bellboy at the front entrance, walked 100 metres or so to the Diamond Club lounge and very quickly checked in with the incredibly professional Francy Dugarte, the Diamond Club Manager. She explained our a la carte bookings, gave us a map of the resort, and provided us with a cold welcome beverage. After signing for our electronic key we were directed back to the front area where a bell boy placed all the luggage in a tram and drove us to our villa #34 directly beside the Diamond Club pool. Alexandro carried all the bags to the third floor room and welcomed us with a smile.

Rooms:
The room in the Diamond Club room was spacious and included two double beds, though king size beds are available upon request and if you aren't travelling with a third like we were. There was also a sitting area with a table and two chairs, a television, dresser drawers, bedside table with reading lights on either side and enough closest space for everyone. My recommendation to you is to bring along extra hangers or ask your maid for additional ones upon arrival. There were only 5 hangers per closet side. The hangers you will receive upon request are wire hangers so if you have an issue with them, bring your own plastic ones.

The bathroom consists of a jacuzzi tub/shower combination with marble surround as well as the sink and toilet. Don't forget that the water is NOT DRINKABLE out of the tap at this resort and therefore you will have to brush your teeth using the bottled water provided. There are new bottles delivered to your room every day.

In the room there is also a mini bar fridge that contains water, pop (pepsi, 7-Up and Orange) and two cans of Brava beer. The fridge is restocked as needed. Each evening when we returned back to the room, there was new stock free of charge. The fridge does have some extra room in the event you bring your own wine, liquor or refrigerated snacks with you on vacation.

As well, every room does have a walk out balcony with a small table and two chairs. I would suggest that you bring along clothes pegs or a clothsline if you wish to hang your bathing suits or towels to dry in the evening because there is no rack made available on the balcony and otherwise you are hanging items from the chairs or the balcony rail, neither of which are ideal. My only suggestion regarding the room to the resort is a drying rack added to the balcony, I have come across them at RIU resorts in the Dominican and Mexico.

Restaurants and Bars:
When you book at the Diamond Club section you are allocated four a la carte reservations per week with your concierge. In addition, at the Diamond Club section you are provided with exclusive use of the Italian Restaurant for breakfast and lunch each day. It is only steps away from the Diamond Club pool and is a much quieter and relaxing breakfast and lunch experience.

On the evenings we ate at the buffet restaurant it was just ok compared to the a la cartes but we never went hungry on those evenings and simply understood that the process of presenting food on such a large scale isn't going to produce gourmet. Now the a la cartes are an entirely different story because they are all FABULOUS in their own unique ways! Our favourite was the Garden Grill located mid resort, with the highest quality food I have ever experienced at an all inclusive! The manager is Joselo, an incredibly friendly gentleman who will greet you with a smile and assist in making your dining experience a great one. I highly recommend you book this location as soon as you arrive.

Our second favourite restaurant was the Italian Restaurant with a wide selection of main entree as well as an enormous variety of appetizers in a buffet style. I can't say enough about the entire staff working in this restaurant from first thing in the morning when they greet you for breakfast till your evening dinner reservation. Very hard working, always with a smile and each one of them made our vacation a great one! Thank you Yulia, Jesus, Juddy, Ramon, and Rafael for your professionalism and daily smiles!

Our third and final favourite that I'll mention was the Japanese Restaurant. You have two options for eating at this restaurant, the tapanaki area where they cook the food in front of you and the table service. Don't forget to request the tapanaki so that you aren't disappointed. As well, just a tip, always double check your reservation slip after booking with the concierge to make sure the request is noted. We did see a family quite upset when they were seated in the table service area after believing they requested the tapanaki but unfortunately that area was completed reserved for the night and the slip was table service.

The bar service was on par with the majority of other resorts in the caribbean that I have experienced over the past 15 years or so. The beer on tap was Presidente, there was champagne for mimosas and cocktails were colourful and well presented. There are blenders at the bars and I would suggest you request they be used for some drinks because the "slushi machines" don't do them justice.

There were three bartenders who stood out as the friendliest, most professoinal and most customer service oriented during our visit. They are located at the Diamond Club pool.Thank you to Maria, Starling and Joselo!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I can't comment greatly on the services and fun available on the beach because I am pretty much a pool tourist but on the days I did walk down to watch my husband take out the catamarran, I found plenty of lounge chairs and a sandy ocean floor to walk on. The water is not as clear as it was during our last visit three years ago but it was quite wavy due to a storm system in the area. I did see an entertainment crew running games such as horseshoes and volleyball so it looked like there was plenty to keep you occupied on the beach. As well, there was a beach bar for guests with a slightly less assortment of drinks to choose from.

The grounds are positively immaculate for such a large resort and you will always see groundskeepers out in the baking heat trying to make your day a visually appealing one. Positively no complaints with the grounds!

There are an assortment of pools in this resort. There is a beach front pool divided into sections with the deepest area being to the right of the swim up bar. I was actually a bit surprised at how deep it is, a good 5 and a half feet because it came up to my shoulders so I don't think I'd want too many little people in that area. This pool is positively CRAZY during the day with people and activities. If you are looking for relaxation, don't sit at this one! This is the pool for those booked into the Junior Suites and not upgraded to Diamond Club. Like I've said before, book Diamond Club and avoid disappointment. This booking gets you four a la cartes instead of two per week along with a nicer breakfast and lunch and the exclusive use of the nicest pool on the property.

Which brings me to the Diamond Club Section pool. I have taken both videos and photos of this area that speak for themselves. The links are attached to this review. It is a large free flowing pool with a swim up bar, pretty views to every side and plenty of lounge chairs. The towel service and bathroom is a 20 second walk and it is also directly on the transportation line that runs the length of the resort. A special thanks to Jose, the pool guy who kept the pool area clean and inviting during our entire stay. He greeted us each and every day with an "hola" and a smile, a very sweet man.

As noted on other reviews, this resort is very large but not daunting and very manageable with the "tram" transportation service that runs every 3-5 minutes along three seperate lines of the resort from front to beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Regarding activities on and off the resort, I can't review off the resort because I didn't book any, yet there are a number available from the representatives who walk around the resort everyday.

On the resort you have the pools, the beach activities (non-motorized water sports-one hour free daily), the games around the pools and beach and the shopping in the resort at the front area to the left of the lobby. As well, there is a casino but I don't think I've ever met anyone who has won at one in the Caribbean.

Other Comments:
This resort is a very solid 4.5 star and certainly a 5 star if you factor in the quality of the a la carte restaurants. The service was fantastic, the room location ideal, Diamond Club pool inviting and hotel as a whole completely lived up to our expectations and exceeded them! One last note that we found helpful when packing for our own trip. Men are allowed to wear dress shorts in the buffet restaurant, and all but one a la carte restaurant so if you wish to try the French restaurant you must wear long pants...no exceptions.

I know that on the review sites the reviews for this resort differ greatly, with some loving, some hating and those that thought it just so-so. We are experienced 15 year + all inclusive travellers who have stayed at 2.5 star resorts, 4 star resorts and 6 star resorts and I can honestly tell you that we would return to the Diamond Club section, Premier section, the Ambar (adults only) or the Esmeralda section in a heart beat! I didn't really go into the Esmeralda area review, but there is video about it on my video link. It is a smaller resort attached to the property directly on the beach but strictly for those guests who book there. It looked heavenly when we walked around it and when talking to guests they compared it to the Bahia Principe Ambar but for families. It is very tempting to stay there next time as well.

You won't go wrong booking the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro but Diamond Club or better is a must!

Please don't hesitate to email me if you have any questions regarding this review. My email is kcponce @ hotmail.com.

Cheers and happy travels!

Kelly

Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/Ilovlos/GranBahiaPrincipeBavaroDiamondClubSection02#

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/lovlos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another Great Time at the "AMBAR""

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gary  on Sep 3, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
823 people found this review helpful

Back for our sencond trip to the Ambar section. Another great week in the sun. Everything went smooth form arrival at Toronto airport to board Air Transat right thru to the arrival in Punta Cana.

Arrival:
Arrived on time, thru customs and had luggage ready to board bus in no time flat. When leaving the aircraft and seeing the thatch roof terminals again, you know your finally here. Having your first cold Presidente once you leave the airport is great also. Smooth bus ride to Bahia and quickly transported to the Ambar lobby. Greeted with a welcome drink and within 15 minutes had our room keys and we chose to walk to our room since it was sunny and warm and it was only a 3 minute walk. Luggage was delivered to room about 15 minute later.

Rooms:
The rooms are big and spacious. We were in bldg. 64. Great few and only steps to the pool and 2 minutes to the beach. Rooms were clean,towels were plenty and the turn down service was great. No matter what room you are in, you are only a a few minutes to the lobby or the beach. From the lobby to the beach is only a 5 minute walk.

Restaurants and Bars:
Emailed down 10 days before we left with our request for reservations and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find our we got what we asked for. The "Mediterranean - El Olivo" was my favorate. "Don Pablo Gourmet" was great, Japanesse - Maiko was good and had lots of fun. The Italian restaurant at the "Esmerelda" section was excellent. Don't over look the buffets. The food is excellent and a great variety. The wine is so so ... but you can order other wine's from the wine list that aren't to bad price wise. Bars looked to be well stocked. I enjoy the Presidente so that what i mostly drank.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool at the Ambar is quite compared to the other sections. Large and very clean. Great swin up bar were you get to meet people from around the world.
The beach is the best part. Warm white sand right to the waters edge. Lot's of palapas and shade from the palm trees. Beach bar close by to quench your thirst. Even in May when it was quieter, the "Towel Games" were play. If you arrived later in the morning, you could still get chairs with shade, but the prime locations were taken. If you want the prime locations.. then the old saying applies... " If you can't beat them ... then join them."
Pictures speak for themselves about the beach here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Mainly here to relax, laid by the pool or on the beach during the day and enjoyed the evenings all around the resort. The Ambar lobby is quite, but just a short walk away there is plenty to do. Show'are in the theater each night. All the lobby's close at 11pm but then everyone moves over to the Pablo Square where there's the Casino, Disco and shops. If you want the activities and night life, there's pleny there on the resort. If you just want the peace and quite, then you can stay in the Ambar lobby and enjoy the quite entertainment.

Other Comments:
Many thanks to all the staff. Everyone was friendly and always greated you with a smile. They work hard and a tip here and there is much appreciated. Would not hesitate to return to the Ambar.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube