Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
11 - 20 of 45

"Very disappointed in lack of chairs, restaurant reservations and overall customer service"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
1526 people found this review helpful

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed here 2Jan-5Jan2012. Rained 3 of 5 days. If you didn't get out by 7a.m. to grab a chair at any of the pools or the beach you didn't get one! As bad as a cruise ship! Room was nice and large but TV small and old. Ocean was nice but you had to take a tram car to get there the resort was so big. Same for dining. The Buffet room you had to be dressed. Food was plentiful but mediocore. We were entitled to 2 reservations at the speciality restaurants and went to make reservations while awaiting our room to be ready and were told there was no availability at any restaurant at any time! After a one hour fight and a return the next day, we finally were able to get reservations (not the restaurants we wanted) and one we had to eat at 9:20pm. Customer service was horrible, no one cared and they all played the 'I don't understand' card if you had a problem. Very little english spoken to spite the fact the bilingual school is directly across the street. Obviously none of the staff at this hotel attended. Resort much too big and more than they could reasonably handle. Had been to La Romana in the past at an all inclusive and was 10 times better all around for 1/3 the price!

Room Number:
31-311

Arrival:
Long wait for room and very unclear directions on where things were.

Rooms:
Cleaning staff very helpful and probably the best staff.

Restaurants and Bars:
Some had attitude and others overbearing. About 5 staff members had a stack of evaluation cards already filled out, hovered over us the entire dinner trying to get my daughter and I to turn them in - they had everything rated as excellent. Bar service was ok but I didn't find any bar with friendly staff - all seemed mad at the world and we were bothering them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean and neat. Activities directers at pools less than enthusastic. Chair availablity extremely poor and when you asked for help to get one they said there was nothing they could do.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not participate but heard from other guests it was not worth it, very unorganized, and late and spent more time waiting than doing.

Other Comments:
Would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never Again"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Craig  on Mar 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
776 people found this review helpful

Let me start off with saying,we are AMERICANS, we are a average couple,50ish in age,have traveled to Mexico 13 times, 3 cruises, and twice to the Dominican Repulic. So we have seen and experienced quite a large field of differences. Our trips have always been to all inclusive resorts.
THIS WAS AT THE " GRAN BAHIA PRINICPE PUNTA CANA BAVARO "

Your Arrival:
When we arrived in the Dominican we were greeted by warm air and smiles, we did not have transfers arranged, so when a baggage guy came up to us and started talking, we asked where to catch a Taxi, with smiles he brought us to where the taxis are, and thanked us, we tipped him a couple of bucks and he was happy. ABSOULTELY NO PROBLEM with finding a Taxi, the cost to our resort was $40 which we found out was the going rate and had no problem paying it, tipped him a $5. Takes about 30 minutes to get there.
Checking into our resort was some what of a hassle, because the really do not speak english very well at all, if any !!! It took us about 20 minutes to finally get a room. Some of the staff are alittle better at thier jobs then others, just like any where. During this transaction I asked which way the beach was and he pointed to his left, then I asked him which way our room was and he pointed to his right, no way was he going to move us closer, but he did let us know there was a pool right outside our building. The POOL was a small shallow piece of cement with 3 COLD whirl pools in it. After we took a trolley to our building ( building 51 ) we started to get a feel for how FOOLISH LARGE this resort is.

Rooms:
We were on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool (LOL), Just about as far from the OCEAN AS POSSIBLE! King size bed, which was extremely firm, Bathroom where very nice with a exceptional shower, just like anywhere you had to rent a Key to Activate the safe, well worth the $26. My wife and I had been bit in the night by bugs, 2 nites in a row, so on the 3rd day, we stripped the pillow cases, sheets, and comforter off and threw them out side our door so the chambermaid would totally understand, she did not speak any english what so ever. Rooms were pretty good size, and air conditioner worked well, as well as the ceiling fan. Very comfortable temp. Plenty of closet space, iron, blow dryer, and your frig was stocked every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
BOOZE, weak, very weak, and your FROZED DRICKS, where not FROZEN, they came out of a chilled slushy machine. This was the only place we have seen that there was a charge for stronger drinks, good scotch, brandy, ETC. OK OK, NOW ABOUT THE FOOD. WHERE SHOULD I START!! COLD, to LUKE warm, now when I say this, please don't say I'm being to picky, it was EXACTLY THAT. Every meal, morning noon and night, and the selection of food was diffenetly catering to the people from germany,Italy,Spain,France, not the Americans, you have a better Quality of food you enjoy in your local buffets. It got so bad, we started making grinders to take back to our room, because of the selection of american food. Once again they the staff did not speak english. They did not even know what a cup of ice was.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One of the nicest beaches we have seen. Clean, Sandy, no Rocks, very very comfortable water temp. Some topless, no major issue, alot of chair saving and then never showing up. Same with the little covered Cabanas. LOL, it got so bad with the saving thing, that if I had not seen anyone show about to the covered cabanas far a few hours, I would throw the towels and books,hats off on to a nearby chair so other peole were able to enjoy them.
Pools down at the beach area where kept up nicely, and very clean. The beer at the snack bars in the beach area were the coldest, food still was cold to luke warm, but the beer was cold!

Other Comments:
Absolutely not American friendly, ( American food,speaking english or lack there of)
We had to take a trolley from our room, to get to the lobby, then take a different trolly to the beach that was about 1/2 mile away from the lobby. To time consuming and inconvient. Did not enjoy it.
To large of a resort, (3500 people and it was booked full)
Staff - did not speak english, and the evening shows were terrible, now we were not expecting las vegas by a long shot, but these people never practiced and it showed, could not even keep in step with ANY and I measn ANY dance routine. Sound system was loud and very blurry, could not uderstand what they were saying, even the few very very broken english words they tried. WE WILL NEVER GO BACK, I HOPE SOME OF YOU READ THIS AND CHANGE YOUR PLANS, YOU WILL BE DISSAPOINTED IF YOU GO. YES THE WATER IS NICE, YES THE WEATHER IS NICE, YES ITS IT JUST PLAIN NICE TO GET AWAY WITH YOUR SPOUCE, HOWEVER YOU WILL NOT LIKE THIS RESORT.
TheY work off of QUANITY, NOT QUALITY !!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big Thumbs Down! Would Never Go Back"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Mar 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1189 people found this review helpful

Aside from the beautiful beaches and nice weather, neither of which the resort can take credit for, everything from check in to check out was an ordeal. The resort is way too big and cannot accommodate the number of people staying there. The hotel staff for the most part were rude, unhelpful, and dismissive. The food was mediocre at best and most of the time the buffet was the your only option. Most of the options were stale and consisted of whatever was left over from the day before. If you were lucky enough to get a reservation at one of the restaurants, you realize the food is pretty much the same thing available at the buffet, just presented a little differently. If you are an english speaker, you are in the minority. We had bed bugs in our room and nobody seemed to care. The pools and beach were overcrowded. If you want a lounge chair, be prepared to be up and out there staking your claim at about 7 am everyday. The housekeeping and some wait staff (usually the bussers) were very nice. Also, the women in the guest relations office were helpful most of the time. Overall the resort was way too big, poor in design, and non user friendly. I cannot say it was relaxing in the least. The experience was disappointing and I would never recommend this resort to anyone in the future.

Room Number:
77305

Arrival:
Check in was a process due to the fact no more than two people were working behind the desk. Nothing was explained to us in terms of how to navigate the resort or even find our rooms. We were given a poorly designed and extremly unhelpful map that was pretty much useless. Nobody explained to us there was an orientation meeting we could attend in order to find out some information about the way the place worked and we basically stumbled our way through everything. By the time we figured out how the place ran, it was time to leave.

Rooms:
The rooms were ok at first glance. However, we had bed bugs and our keys never worked. Our phone constantly flashed that we had voicemail, but we could not check them or even call the front desk because the buttons did not work.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was terrible. Eating at the buffet was a dreaded experience each day. If you were able to actually book a reservation in one of the restaurants, you were not pleasently surprised by what was served. Despite the fact there were bars ALL over the place, none ever seemed to be open except the one in the main lobby. The drinks were small and watered down. If you want alcohol in your drink you have to request it. And you better bring money to tip or you will have a hard time getting anyone to pay attention to you.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful but overcrowded and loud most of the time due to the "fun activities" taking place all the time and some entertainment host yelling into a microphone all day. The lounge chairs were old and not very comfortable to lay on. The same thing with the pools. There were not enough chairs so you have to get up really early to go out and claim one. By early I mean like 7 am.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The excursions were ok, but it was a constant attempt to sell you something and get more money out of you. It got really old being hassled all the time for money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"understaffed and overcrowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  TK  on Apr 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
797 people found this review helpful

This resort was lacking simple ammenities: Pool towels were unavailable, air conditioning wasn't working, rooms weren't cleaned until almost dinner, unfriendly staff

Your Arrival:
Arrival was rushed and confusing. Packets were handed to guests as we arrived on a bus with no verbal information. Rooms were not ready upon arrival. While this is common, no one gave us information as to when.

Rooms:
Not very clean. Outdated.

Restaurants and Bars:
Understaffed. Difficult to find tables at breakfast in particular. Food was mediocre.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach. Limited chairs. Beautiful, well manintained grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
excursion = Marinarium... must see... swim with nurse sharks and sting rays

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The good and the bad "

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andy  on Jan 21, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | With friend
1198 people found this review helpful

First, the good. The place is enormous, much bigger than the town I live in. It has a train system to get you around. Beautiful well kept grounds. Very clean, nice friendly staff. Rooms are as you would expect in a club of this type and it is like many we have experienced in our travels. Room towels are about Motel 6 quality.

Room Number:
38311

Arrival:
Quick check in and cold drinks as we arrived. No problems.

Rooms:
About what you would expect in a club of this quality. Mini bar but like anyone I have ever seen in a hotel, never cold enough. Bed was good as were the furnishings but the bath towels were Motel 6 quality and like so many other places in the latin world, face cloths have to be requested.
And like every other country in the world I have visited, ice was hard to get. You had to walk to the bar to get it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Could not get any reservations at any of the restaurants so we ate at the buffet every meal. Buffet was good and varied with many items, a lot not to the tastes of Americans (stewed cabbage and salami for breakfast) but plenty of selections.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach too small and crowed. You had to clime over people to move around. The beach is one of the worst on that section of the ocean. Pools jammed. Bars were good and good service.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Do not take the go cart of beach buggy trip. They take you to places where people swarm over you trying to sell you junk.
Do go to Sanona sland. Nicest beach I ever saw.

Other Comments:
Due to the crowed beach, I would not return to the resort. Just too crowded.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"FAMILYTRIP TO PUNTA CANA"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  BRIAN  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
844 people found this review helpful

We just got back from Punta Cana last night . 1 st time at Bahia Principe. We liked the grounds and reception area . The smoking was totally out of control if you are taking kids forget it . Food was very good in buffet but restaurants were questionable. Rooms are ok for A 4 STAR BUT NOT 5 AT ALL. We had to stay with one bed for family of 4 as hotel was full . Trollys took 30 min to get to beach . dirty in some areas . shows were good, would we go again <<< NOOOOO Front desk staff will not fix anything and managers hide behind doors.

Room Number:
16310

Room Block:
16312

Arrival:
ROOM WAS NOT READY

Rooms:
1 BED FOR 4 PEOPLE

Restaurants and Bars:
BUFFET NICE BUT RESTAURANTS IFFY

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH NICE,POOLS EXCELLENT,GROUNDS TROPICAL

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
MARINARIUM- SCARRY FOR KIDS .

Other Comments:
CRAZY PEOPLE PARTYING ALL NIGHT AND YELLING . NOT FOR FAMILYS WANTING SOME REST

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They have over built! Packed like sardines on the beach"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Oct 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
742 people found this review helpful

Second time to this resort but they have added many new sections and this has been very negative for the resort. The beach is so crowded they line up the beach chairs in rows. I have never seen such a crowded beach in any of my many trips to the south. The rest of the resort is great, good food, great rooms, good entertainment, well managed. Too bad that they fail on success. We will never go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay Away from Arrecife Studios for the Wedding Pictures"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Enrique  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
897 people found this review helpful

I recently had a wedding at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana and the same thing that happened to sebitasalejo occurred to us. They told us that it would be ok and not to worry about it, but when you show up it's a different story. They tell you that you have to talk to the wedding people to deal with them in person. Even if you have it in writing via email that your guest can take pictures with a professional camera. They'll make you sign a paper that says they can charge you $500 if they feel that the pictures being taken are professional pictures. So in a sense it's all a very grey area that they control. They even stopped someone in our party taking pictures in the middle of the ceremony. It was so annoying and frustrating. I would not recommend dealing with arrecife. Jackie was has a lower IQ than george bush. She wasn't helpful at all. She portrayed herself as the manager of Arrecife and said that if they didn't take the pictures than we would get charged $500. It's a total scam and they leave you with no choice but to use them. You don't need things like this right before your wedding. It's stressful enough and don't forget that this is a business to them. When you show up to the hotel to do all the paperwork you don't have a choice anymore. You're cornered!! We decided not to purchase any of their pictures as other people took plenty of pictures. Plus, my brother and I saw what the photographer Willy was doing to the pictures and it's not brain science. All he was doing was applying a preset setting on the pictures he took. He was using the program lightroom from adobe. I know of it because I used it for a class I took during the summer for fun. The same pictures they give you, you can do on your own with the same quality, but with a higher quantity at a WWWAAAYYYY Cheaper price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not outstanding"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Lee  on Nov 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
808 people found this review helpful

We booked into the Golden section of the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana for a 2 week stay < a big mistake> for a first time stay at any hotel.

Arrival:
We arrived after dark and we were taken to a room where we were handed our packages the key cards and other information. Included in this package is a list of items that were in the room and that we were not to remove upon our departure. We were then taken to our room which was in building 20 at the beach. We get to our room and our keys didn't work. The bellboy used a master key to open the door and then we were told that we would have to go back to reception to get the keys activated< not impressed with the service as we had no idea how to get back to reception>.

Rooms:
The room needs to be updated, lighting very poor< 5 watt bulbs>. It was too dark to read at night.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in the main buffet was not very good quality, and lacked in presentation. The hot food was newer hot, usually lukewarm - cold. When we asked the chef & the restaurant manager why the food wasn't hot, this is what we were told" If the food is hot, the when you put it on a plate, the plate will get hot and then the guests will complain".

We tried all the reservation restaurants with the exception of the Japanese. My favourite was the Italian, Il Capriccio & my partner's favourite was the Gourmet, French style.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool, beach & grounds are beautiful.

Other Comments:
I would never return to this resort. It's too big, service not what we're used to in the DR. It doesn't compare to the Gran Palladium Bavaro.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not worth it"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  louis  on Sep 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
1354 people found this review helpful

The country,the staff, the vendors , they are far from friendly. Every body is out to get you,they're looking for your money,if you're not a good tipper I would suggest Mexico,there you may Pic the same resort and get the real deal.
Note I consider my self to be a very good tipper,but being put under pressure wile on vacation is not what was looking for.

Room Number:
9210

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
on the resort good
off the resort I dare you

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube