Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
11 - 20 of 45

"Nightmare Vacation"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  D  on Mar 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
846 people found this review helpful

6th time in the Dominincan, 4th in Punta Cana. All of our other vacations to the Dominican were amazing...and we looked forward to returning before we even left. However after this stay we will not return to a Bahai resort, and we will probably not go back to Punta Cana. We will never deal with Transat!!!!! We hope all other vacationers have a great experience at this resort, and it was obvious the fun many people were having...but we feel we must share our experience.

Your Arrival:
We flew Air Transat. First time with this company. Lots of leg room, but flight attendants refused to smile. They actually yelled at my daughter for not having her table up, when I told them it was due to the fact they had not collected her food or partially full juice, they snapped it up and walked away. Otherwise...good flight.
We were directed to the wrong bus at the Punta Cana airport with another couple. Drove for 1 hr before they simply just dropped us at the Bahai. They were not expecting us, and after a long debate drove us to the Esmeralda part of the resort. After another 30 min, alot of Spanish and tension we were told we were not staying there. Then we were taken back to the lobby (soaken wet with our Canadian clothes still on) and very thirsty (could not get a drink due to no wrist bands). Another 30 min or so and they found our room with the Golden Club. Keep in mind, I had my Hotel Voucher with me and let everyone read it several times. Finally got the package with wrist bands and we were taken to our room.

Rooms:
Upon entering our room with the Bell Boy, we quickly noticed we had been put in a room that had yet to be cleaned. The family/group before us sure had a good time...the room was a disaster. We knew if we left, we probably were not getting another room and the Bell Boy told us not to worry and to get settled. Hot, sweaty and very irritable...we slipped into our bathing suits in disgust, locked our stuff in our suitcases in the corner (had not been told about a safe) and ventured to the beach...without towels !!!

Restaurants and Bars:
You are pre-assigned your 4 a-la-cartes. Which is good and bad. Great to have the opportunity to actually get into 4 during your 7 day stay, but the times meant an early day from the beach in order to get cleaned up. We used 2 of them and enjoyed the atmosphere at both. The main buffet on alternate nights was always good, and very clean. We enjoyed breakfast over looking the Ocean every morning and it was beautiful. Snack bars by the pool and beach crowded and hard to find a table...but enjoyed by the kids several times a day.
The bar staff were wonderful and entertaining at the main pool bar (both swim up and walk up). The male bar staff at the Sports bar very accomodating and friendly. They went out of their way to get the Canada Hockey Game on every night and cheered along with us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds lovely. Always people working and quick to say Ola !!
Pools clear and warm. Beach clean with lots of chairs. Towel guy at main pool irritable always and refused to change towels at the end of the day. We didn't have bath towels so we tried to get fresh beach towels before getting cleaned up for the night but he refused. We ended up keeping them and getting new ones in the morning..only to be yelled at daily for not handing them in for washing over the night. I explained every day our dillema...he simply did not care.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hardly saw the entertainment staff, which was dissapointing for our kids. They did do alot of activities but due to the size of the resort it was hard to know what was going on when. Staff didn't cirulate as they did at the other resorts we visited and didn't try to get the tourists involved. We did see the Lion King and Michael Jackson...3+ maybe. Not sure of the off resort activities since we missed the Transat Tour meeting, and when we asked our rep about it, she didn't answer but told us to look around.

Other Comments:
Our girls (18yrs)were coming home from the Karoke one night and took the trolly to our room. Upon exiting the trolly the driver summoned them to him, and they went. He then opened his phone and showed them a video of a Bull having sex with a woman, all the while talking Spanish to them. They were terrified and ran quickly to the room. Their vacation changed from that moment on...as did ours. We finally went on the long walk with determination to find the Transat Tour Lady the next morning and went through all of our concerns (even though we had discussed them to Golden Club earlier twice with no luck). She was vaguely interested in the room and getting lost issues...but jumped when told of the video stating he would be fired immediatley and wanted more info. We declined at that moment, fearing the girls would be targeted by other staff and agreed to give all info as we signed out. She agreed this would be best for the girls and agreed to meet...however never showed up at check out time and we could not find her...not surprised !! He is still lurking around......

Other concerns:
No face clothes. No bath towels for all of us. Room never swept (big insect of some type was dead at the base of our patio doors all week) we left him there as our check. Bar fridge filled 2 times all week..we really only needed the water and had to get our own. Our rep actually told us to brush our teeth with tap water, which in the past was a huge NO.

CHECK OUT:
Again...no Transat Rep around. Quick and efficiant sign out at the Golden Club. We saw a group from our flight entering a bus at our designated time. I asked the Nolitours rep if it was our flight and he said yes to get the family and luggage. I told him we were Transat and he said no problem. Once on the bus they asked us to leave. We said ok but needed to get our luggage. They said no, our luggage would be at the airport for us when we got there. We refused to get off without it. Finally at his insistence we were leaving, and he quickly said "go sit back and stay" then came and explained numbers (no clue what he was saying, but realized other Transat people on the bus were looking quite concerned ). I wanted to speak with Transat Tours...but could not find anyone. We stayed on the bus...and cheered when we arrived at the airport and new we would soon be in Canada to celebrate our Gold medal wins !!!
It was the best feeling ever to be home...and that is a first for all of us. It is especially disappointing when you go through the propper channels with your concerns and no one cares...hence the reason I am writing this review.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They have over built! Packed like sardines on the beach"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Oct 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
744 people found this review helpful

Second time to this resort but they have added many new sections and this has been very negative for the resort. The beach is so crowded they line up the beach chairs in rows. I have never seen such a crowded beach in any of my many trips to the south. The rest of the resort is great, good food, great rooms, good entertainment, well managed. Too bad that they fail on success. We will never go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No Better Place for a Wedding!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandie  on Feb 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
865 people found this review helpful

Wow! For a large resort they do most everything very well.
We travelled as a group for our daughter's wedding and have to say that it was wonderful. Jasmine, the wedding planner was terrific and definitely went above and beyond to make sure the wedding and dinner were as we wanted. Kuddo's to Jasmine. The ceremony was on the beach with a musical trio playing. An aisle was decorated with flowers and led up to the arch where the ceremony took place. The ocean provided a beautiful backdrop (except for the folks who think it's cool to be in a strangers wedding photos - no prob. we'll just air brush you away!) The chairs were all done up with covers and ribbons and everything looked wonderful. It was a traditional but still casual ceremony. Of course, it goes without saying that the Bride and Groom were radiant! The judge speaks Spanish and Jasmine translates but that didn't detract from it at all. At my daughter's request we had a sand ceremony which was very nice. She used sand from home and from the beach there. The wedding dinner was in the Italian Resaurant - Il Capriccio. Although we had chosen to have the dinner in the public area of the restaurant, they did it up so beautifully that it might as well have been a private reception. They decorated the table with the items we had brought and added flowers and flair. Judy was the maitre d' and was extremely helpful,he even checked with the bride before each course to be sure the timing was okay. The wedding cake was 3 layers and delicious! There was no way we could eat it all after our delicious meal so we asked the staff to enjoy it later. We were able to do toasts and all those good things. It was truly a great wedding!

Your Arrival:
Arrived via Air Canada Vacations out of Toronto at 1pm. Customs and Immigration was a breeze even though there was another plane load of people arriving at the same time. We were bussed to our hotel with a minmum of fuss and check in was relatively simple. As expected our rooms were not ready and we spent a lot of time sitting in the lobby waiting. After a little lunch our rooms were ready and they loaded up our luggage and took us off to our home away from home.

Rooms:
Our rooms were just as we requested, on the ground floor and together for the older group with the young adults a little further away. Rooms are clean and spacious. Some nights we received exta "warm" towels and some morning our room was decorated with flowers, towel art and balloons. We definitely felt welcome. Our room was always cleaned in the morning - perhaps it helped to have the "make up room" sign out by 9 am.

Restaurants and Bars:
2 Alacarte's were chosen for us (the whole group) and we weren't sure we liked that. We could have tried to change the reservations but in the end it didn't matter what restaurants we went to. Our favourite was the Japanese. It's nice to have someone cooking in front of you and the food was good. All of the other restaurants would have a buffet for appetisers and dessert but you order the main course from the menu. The selection of appetisers was awesome at every restaurant. The lamb as a main course was excellent but the lobster was way overdone. You never went away hungry. They were very accomodating the 2 of us that had alllergies, offering at every meal to make us something different if need be.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We were upgraded to diamond bracelets which allowed us access to the Diamond Pool and the restaurant nearby for breakfast and lunch. That was one of the best features. We had no problem getting chairs at the pool in the morning and would get 8 for our group. Some of us went to the beach which was very crowded. They certainly pack you in! We are shade lovers and there is an area with lots of palm trees so it was relatively easy to find chairs in the shade and then move about as the sun changed locations. Sand flies were a problem. Although we never saw them biting we had lumps and bumps, that appeared as hives later. My daughter, the bride, was severely affected. Some people were distressed by this others were okay. In the end, although a beach person by preference, I opted for the pool.

The grounds are beautiful, very well kept. They can do things with a macheti that are unbelievable.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were activities around the pools (not the Diamond pool - yeah) and at the beach but we managed to not be distracted by them. The shows in the evening varied some really cheezee, others were pretty good. They had new shows most of the nine nights we were there.
Most evening we spent on the terrace, drinking cappucinos and "Chocolate Monkeys" and followed it up with a train ride, twice around the resort.

Other Comments:
It would be convinient if the trolleys all met at a hub and you could transfer to different lines. Sometimes getting to the restaurants or the Ambar was a challenge for those with mobility issuse.

It was a great resort, the weather was terrific (only 30 mins rain at breakfast one day!)and a great time was had by all!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent resort, good food, great beach, friendly staff, "

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Feb 26, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
773 people found this review helpful

I visited the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro from Feb 5 - 12, 2010. The weather was beautiful each day and I avoided two major east coast snow storms while I was there. I have been to 20 or 30 all inclusive resorts, including five or so in Punta Cana. I purchased this trip as an Apple Vacations "Square Deal". It was among the best resorts for the money I've been to. The resort is located directly in front of the Astron shipwreck.

Your Arrival:
When we arrived at the resort a person from guest services pulled us out of line at the front desk and took us to a corner of the lobby and gave us a very quick briefing about the hotel, gave us our room keys, room assignment, towel cards and reservations for two nights at two of the specialty restaurants. It was among the fastest and best done check-in procedures I've seen.

Rooms:
Our room was a junior suite, as all rooms are, it was large with a big bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, good sized sleeping area and a smallish sitting area with a table, two chairs and a sofa bed. The TV was a small tube style TV with 30 or 40 channels, mostly in Spanish. The room also had a balcony. We were on the third floor. All of the rooms are in three story buildings.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet restaurant is off the lobby and is very nicely decorated. I I thought the food was very good while also pretty typical of what you find at the nicer all inclusive resorts. The buffet restaurant is air conditioned. The buffet was well set up with several stations which allowed for better than average traffic flow. At each meal we were greeted by a very friendly hostess and shown to a table immediately. There are also restaurants by the beach that serve breakfast and lunch with a more limited, but still good, variety of food. We went to just one specialty restaurant, which was the Japanese one. The food was good, the decor was nice. This is a very large resort and has several bars. There are four or more pools, each with a pool bar. The lobby bar is very nice. There is a bar in the theater and bars by the beach. The service at the bars and restaurants varied from super attentive and fast to "when did I become invisible". I'm not sure there is a real method for which servers take drink orders for which tables. I never felt I was being intentionally ignored, but sometimes it was hard to get a drink, but at other times I'd be asked three times what I'd like within one or two minutes. When I was at a bar and not a table service was always very fast.
There's an excellent selection of liquor in the lobby bar with top shelf brands available to guests who upgrade to the appropriate wrist band color.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort is really large. It is nicely landscaped and exceptionally clean. The distances between the beach, our room and the lobby was pretty big. I think it's about 1/4 mile form the lobby to the beach, so if you walk back and forth to your room, meals, pools and the beach you can log a lot of miles. There are trams that run constantly too. The beach is wide and long. On parts of it the palm trees form a canopy and you can find shade without a thatched umbrella. There are many thatched umbrella's and even though the resort seemed near full I could always find one. As with most resorts the "best" locations were staked out early. It was not as easy to find an umbrella by any of the several pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I did not do any off resort trips. The nightly shows are typical of all inclusives. Over the years I've seen enough hotel staff lip syncing songs and attempting to dance for one lifetime.

Other Comments:
The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro is a great resort with good food, a friendly staff, a beautiful beach and large rooms. I wouldn't mind if it was more compact but that's not really a fault with the resort.
Internet is $15 a day (unless you have upgraded to the "gold" section) and only works in the lobby, and even then, not very well. This seemed unreasonably expensive to me. They offered a good selection of things to do in the evening evening including karaoke, a casino, shows, music in the lobby, food available all night long, several bars and a disco.
For me this resort easily rates 4 out of 5.

Photos: http://www.billsphotos.com/GranBahiaPrincipeBavaro2010.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort was fantastic"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  CJ  on Mar 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
658 people found this review helpful

Several friends and family went to the Bahai Principe Bavaro in Puna Cana for a wedding. The resort was amazing, people were friendly and all of us would return their again. I would highly recommend this resort - it was fantastic.

Your Arrival:
No problem with the arrival at the airport or at the hotel.

Rooms:
Very clean, well stocked and beautiful. Staff was so friendly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Such variety and the food was amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Our room was just outside the pool, which was beautiful. However we spent most of our time at the beach, which was lovely.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do if you had the time.

Other Comments:
The other problem we had was stamps. Bought some post cards and could notlocate one stamp at the entire resort. However, that was the only blemish on a perfect holiday weekend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Tremendous value for the price"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Apr 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
769 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at the Bahia Principe Bavaro/Punta Cana as the two resorts are interchangeable. We've been to the Punta Cana area nine times, stayed at the Riu Palaces, Iberostar Bavaro, Grand Palladuim Bavaro and Secrets Excellence. The Bahia was as good as any of those but cheaper. As is written in many of the reviews, this place is gigantic which gave us the only negative aspect, too many people and this was the beginning of a lower season. They handled the crowds very well, we never had to wait for anything, we just prefer less crowds. The resort is huge and that eats up some time to get around. The trains were excellent, 1 or 2 minute waits at most. However, we love to walk so this was a great advantage for us. The food in general was as good as the other resorts I mentioned and better than most.
In summary, if you don't mind lots of people and want a great value for the price you pay, go to Bahia.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort but takes a few days to get your bearings."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  jody  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
727 people found this review helpful

Arrived at 09:30 am and proceeded to check in. The desk was very busy but a rep from Signature Vacations - the copmany we booked with passed out envelopes with out info and arm bracelets for the week. We were told we could not go to our rooms until 3PM but could use the resort facilities and eat at the beach restaurant. Everything was very clean and the grounds were beautiful. We were told to meet at 09:30 the next moring for more information from our tour rep. This meeting was quite useless as the accent was too thick and we could not hear what he was saying. We found overall that the staff had problems communicating in English but were much better in Spanish and French. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Beach chairs could be reserved by placing your beach towel on the chairs and this could be done up to 9 am or so. After this time the chairs are all taken. Evening shows were well posted and quite good considering resort staff were uesd. Beware of the water drains at night as several people including us tripped and fell. The swimming pools were very nice and always clean. The beach was very busy and seemed to always too windy for our taste. Overall, our week was very enjoyable and we had a great vacation. If I consider an all inclusive vacation in the future I would perfer a smaller resort as this one was very busy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"understaffed and overcrowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  TK  on Apr 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
800 people found this review helpful

This resort was lacking simple ammenities: Pool towels were unavailable, air conditioning wasn't working, rooms weren't cleaned until almost dinner, unfriendly staff

Your Arrival:
Arrival was rushed and confusing. Packets were handed to guests as we arrived on a bus with no verbal information. Rooms were not ready upon arrival. While this is common, no one gave us information as to when.

Rooms:
Not very clean. Outdated.

Restaurants and Bars:
Understaffed. Difficult to find tables at breakfast in particular. Food was mediocre.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach. Limited chairs. Beautiful, well manintained grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
excursion = Marinarium... must see... swim with nurse sharks and sting rays

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific experience"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vic  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
743 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Our flight from Halifax was smooth and hassle-free at the Punta Cana airport. We felt very welcome. After our bus ride to the Bahia Principe, arriving at 0930, we were allowed to check into our room by noon.

Rooms:
While we had booked a 2nd-floor room, the folks at reception assigned us a ground-level room just 2 minutes from the beach. This was great, and allowed us to easily get our towels onto the beach chairs by 7 a.m.
The one glitch was with the room safe. While we anticipated paying for it, the darn thing wouldn't lock. After nagging reception a couple of times, they sent a technician who simply said there was a problem with our room key card. I don't think he knew more than a cuple of English words. Eventually we had to walk back to reception to get a new card, and it worked. But we were delayed for over 2 hours from getting to the beach. It turned out they had incorrectly programmed the card.

Restaurants and Bars:
There's way more food than you can comfortably eat here, folks. We had something different at the buffet each meal and still did not get through all the choices by week-end.
The a-la-carte restaurants were good, but not exceptional. We ate at Tex-Mex, Japanese and Mediterranean. Service was okay, depending on how busy they were. We showed up at one restaurant on the wrong night, but they sat us anyway, without any problems.
Being used to Canadian beer, the watery stuff they served inclusively was simply disappointing. If you like extreme sugar highs, go for the Pina coladas, Coco-Locos, etc. Tons of sugar and hardly any alcohol.
The waitresses were friendly and prompt, except for one instance when we could not get someone to come anywhere near our table. They speak very little English, and a lot gets lost in translation.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No complaints here. Aside from the fact that the big pool and the beach were way overcrowded, everything was clean and orderly. The most irritating activity was the "DJ" who had access to a powerful amplifier system, and used it on max! I simply turned up the volume of my iPod to drown this loathsome noise out, but I guess the dance/fitness stuff attracted a few people who were continuously berated by the DJ for whatever reason he could think of.
If you want some peace in the afternoon, go WAY up the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the VIP Safari, Dune Boogies and deep-sea fishing. These activities were terrific, despite being way over-priced.

VIP Safari: We explored the countryside in a small open bus, visiting an organic farm (coffee, cocoa, etc), which was well worth the visit, Also stopped at a sugar cane harvesting operation and a school and cathedral in Higuay. We finished up the day with grilled lobster (quite unlike our North Atlantic, but really good). Our guide was intent on distributing beer and rum throughout the trip, spilling it everywhere when we hit bumps in the road. This, to him anyway, was really hilarious. The requisite "shopping stops" were tolerable, but just.

Dune Boogies: This excursion allows teams of two to ride in each dune buggy, but follow the leader in convoy fashion. Speeds were never high, the countryside was fascinating (except for the piles of garbage everywhere).
We visited Macau(?) beach, which had great rollers of surf coming in. A good spot for a swim (except for literally mounds of garbage everywhere and the usual hawkers). The cave we explored was pretty neat, located next to a mini shopping mall in the middle of nowhere. Which came first? We went for a swim in the cave, and great volumes of dirt came off everyone.

Fishing: By far, the best activity of our stay, and our boat of six people landed a 60-lb and a 300-lb (!) marlin. I got a barracuda. Simply one of the best fishing trips I've ever been on, made possible by Gone Fishing!

Other Comments:
Aside from the (preventable) safe incident on the first day, we have very few complaints. In general, staff were willing to please, although very few of them can speak more than a few sentences of English.
I would definitely return to this resort. You can be as active (or inactive) as you like, and still enjoy yourself immensely.
Security was first-rate, and even after I had stumbled onto the beach late at night, a couple of security guys (I assumed they were, anyway!) got me pointed in the right direction even though they could speak no English at all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another Great Time at the "AMBAR""

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gary  on Sep 3, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
825 people found this review helpful

Back for our sencond trip to the Ambar section. Another great week in the sun. Everything went smooth form arrival at Toronto airport to board Air Transat right thru to the arrival in Punta Cana.

Arrival:
Arrived on time, thru customs and had luggage ready to board bus in no time flat. When leaving the aircraft and seeing the thatch roof terminals again, you know your finally here. Having your first cold Presidente once you leave the airport is great also. Smooth bus ride to Bahia and quickly transported to the Ambar lobby. Greeted with a welcome drink and within 15 minutes had our room keys and we chose to walk to our room since it was sunny and warm and it was only a 3 minute walk. Luggage was delivered to room about 15 minute later.

Rooms:
The rooms are big and spacious. We were in bldg. 64. Great few and only steps to the pool and 2 minutes to the beach. Rooms were clean,towels were plenty and the turn down service was great. No matter what room you are in, you are only a a few minutes to the lobby or the beach. From the lobby to the beach is only a 5 minute walk.

Restaurants and Bars:
Emailed down 10 days before we left with our request for reservations and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find our we got what we asked for. The "Mediterranean - El Olivo" was my favorate. "Don Pablo Gourmet" was great, Japanesse - Maiko was good and had lots of fun. The Italian restaurant at the "Esmerelda" section was excellent. Don't over look the buffets. The food is excellent and a great variety. The wine is so so ... but you can order other wine's from the wine list that aren't to bad price wise. Bars looked to be well stocked. I enjoy the Presidente so that what i mostly drank.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool at the Ambar is quite compared to the other sections. Large and very clean. Great swin up bar were you get to meet people from around the world.
The beach is the best part. Warm white sand right to the waters edge. Lot's of palapas and shade from the palm trees. Beach bar close by to quench your thirst. Even in May when it was quieter, the "Towel Games" were play. If you arrived later in the morning, you could still get chairs with shade, but the prime locations were taken. If you want the prime locations.. then the old saying applies... " If you can't beat them ... then join them."
Pictures speak for themselves about the beach here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Mainly here to relax, laid by the pool or on the beach during the day and enjoyed the evenings all around the resort. The Ambar lobby is quite, but just a short walk away there is plenty to do. Show'are in the theater each night. All the lobby's close at 11pm but then everyone moves over to the Pablo Square where there's the Casino, Disco and shops. If you want the activities and night life, there's pleny there on the resort. If you just want the peace and quite, then you can stay in the Ambar lobby and enjoy the quite entertainment.

Other Comments:
Many thanks to all the staff. Everyone was friendly and always greated you with a smile. They work hard and a tip here and there is much appreciated. Would not hesitate to return to the Ambar.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube