Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
21 - 30 of 45

"One of the worst experiences- a warning"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joe  on Jan 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
665 people found this review helpful

The purpose of this review is to give warning to other vacationers who have the mindset that their trip is going to be perfect and nothing will go wrong... Our first day at the resort, there was a few of drinking around the swim up bar. Around 4 o'clock we went to get ready for supper. As we were getting ready my fiances sister collapsed in the shower. When we found her she was unconsious and having convulsions. We don't have any proof, but the probable cause is the she was drugged by the bartender at the resort. He was very strange, knew she was the only single one, and she did not have that many drinks. Her doctor here in Canada says she was undoubtedly drugged. Even if she was not drugged, the medical service we got was shocking. We called for the doctor three times, no one came. It took around half an hour for someone to come and take her to the doctor. It would have taken us 5 minutes to carry her there if we knew where to go. I could not believe it, no one would help us. Once we got her to the doctor I asked security to give me a ride back to her room so I could get her passport and insurance so that she could be treated (it was our first day, the resort is large, and it was dark so I didn't know how to get back to the room). The answer was no. It was outraging. Everyone had a lazy attitude and didn't care to help. The only positve was the doctor herself, she was very helpful. In the end we got her to the hospital, she had a close call with death but fortunately she is now okay, though she did not fully recover for the rest of the trip. So be aware, in a medical emergency, no one at this resort will step up and help. It seems that no one is in charge and they give you the run around. Which leads to another bad experience. A few days later my fiance was getting ready at the spa with her brides maides for our wedding. They shaved part of her eyebrow off, and burnt another girls shoulder, not to mention not doing any of the hair right. The girls walked out on them and guess what? We got charged for the spa. And once again, no one seems to be in charge to answer, they give you the run around, and lie straight to your face. We complained the next day and they wouldn't give us a refund because they said we didn't complain when it happened.... I don't know maybe its because we were about to get married! So it is not hard to beleive that this whole ordeal put a major stress on our wedding and continues into our marraige. I know many people will like this resort but this is our experience so be careful. We spent alot of money to only have the one of the worst weeks of our lives.
Other negatives
-most of the safes never worked
-door handles were broken
-volleyball was flat (they didn't have an extra)
-overcrowded - I only saw 2 volleyball courts for a couple thousand people
-remote control never worked
positves
-running water which was usually hot

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"FAMILYTRIP TO PUNTA CANA"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  BRIAN  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
585 people found this review helpful

We just got back from Punta Cana last night . 1 st time at Bahia Principe. We liked the grounds and reception area . The smoking was totally out of control if you are taking kids forget it . Food was very good in buffet but restaurants were questionable. Rooms are ok for A 4 STAR BUT NOT 5 AT ALL. We had to stay with one bed for family of 4 as hotel was full . Trollys took 30 min to get to beach . dirty in some areas . shows were good, would we go again <<< NOOOOO Front desk staff will not fix anything and managers hide behind doors.

Room Number:
16310

Room Block:
16312

Arrival:
ROOM WAS NOT READY

Rooms:
1 BED FOR 4 PEOPLE

Restaurants and Bars:
BUFFET NICE BUT RESTAURANTS IFFY

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH NICE,POOLS EXCELLENT,GROUNDS TROPICAL

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
MARINARIUM- SCARRY FOR KIDS .

Other Comments:
CRAZY PEOPLE PARTYING ALL NIGHT AND YELLING . NOT FOR FAMILYS WANTING SOME REST

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Resort"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sonja  on Dec 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
556 people found this review helpful

This was my 4th visit to Punta Cana and the 2nd time to a Bahia chain resort. We stayed in the Mayan at the Akumal. I would rate the Gran Bahia PC at a 4 1/2 star.

Check-in was done in the lobby sitting down as a group. We arrived at 12:30 and our room was ready at about 2pm. We enjoyed a very nice lunch at the buffet.

Our room was the standard Bahia room....very clean and well looked after all week by our maid. The trolleys run up and down the middle of the resort from the lobby to the beach but the walk only takes about 7 minutes.

We had made our a la carte reservations before arriving by email and so we stopped into Guest Services to pick up our papers and reserve for the beach buffet. The Japanese Restaurant was excellent! Everyone is at a cooking show table and then you are moved to another table for dessert. The Steak House was also a great choice with very tender steaks! We found the choices at the buffet to be very good. Each night was a different theme eg. Sea Food, Asian, Italian etc... our wait staff was very friendly and effecient. We went to the lobby bar in the evenings and the bartenders were great. Not the variety of shots that we are use to in Mexico but good for the ones they had.

The pools were well taken care of and we could usually find loungers with no problems BUT we are early risers. Participated in the water aerobics and water volleyball. The beach is beautiful and very busy. We walked up to the market (about a 1/2 hour walk). We purchased vanilla (pure clear thick one) $5, coffee beans $5, premium rum $12 and colourful wraps $12 each. Barter barter barter!!

We signed out the boogie boards and had a blast with the great waves!
All in all, we had a restful vacation with friends and great weather!

If you are looking for a luxury resort try the RIU or Palace chain but the Bahia is great value for what you get!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Den Den and Family - The esmeralda was a delightful experience."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dennis  on Dec 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
703 people found this review helpful

We stayed with our family at the Esmeralda resort which is part of the Bahia Principe groupd of resorts. Our resort was very nice and the stay was pleasant.

Arrival:
Arrival was a little confusing since the Esmeralda does not accomodate the bus that takes you from the ariport. You must get off the bus and load your luggage on a wating cart to shuttle you to the resort check in. Check in was quik and we were soon on the beach with our family.

Rooms:
Rooms are nice and the maides keep it very clean. No complaints there.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went to a few a la carts and they werer OK for food. The only a la cart I really enjoyed was the italian. The food selection at the Buffet is OK I guess. I have stayed at other resorts that had a much larger election but that's just me. The food was OK but not great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is good and the pools are nice. I really wish people would atop running out at 7:00am in morning to claim their spots. This is very annoying since we saw one set of towels on some chaors all day and no one showed up to even use them. Hey...there are other pople who could use the spot doe heads!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not outstanding"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Lee  on Nov 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
558 people found this review helpful

We booked into the Golden section of the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana for a 2 week stay < a big mistake> for a first time stay at any hotel.

Arrival:
We arrived after dark and we were taken to a room where we were handed our packages the key cards and other information. Included in this package is a list of items that were in the room and that we were not to remove upon our departure. We were then taken to our room which was in building 20 at the beach. We get to our room and our keys didn't work. The bellboy used a master key to open the door and then we were told that we would have to go back to reception to get the keys activated< not impressed with the service as we had no idea how to get back to reception>.

Rooms:
The room needs to be updated, lighting very poor< 5 watt bulbs>. It was too dark to read at night.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in the main buffet was not very good quality, and lacked in presentation. The hot food was newer hot, usually lukewarm - cold. When we asked the chef & the restaurant manager why the food wasn't hot, this is what we were told" If the food is hot, the when you put it on a plate, the plate will get hot and then the guests will complain".

We tried all the reservation restaurants with the exception of the Japanese. My favourite was the Italian, Il Capriccio & my partner's favourite was the Gourmet, French style.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool, beach & grounds are beautiful.

Other Comments:
I would never return to this resort. It's too big, service not what we're used to in the DR. It doesn't compare to the Gran Palladium Bavaro.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They have over built! Packed like sardines on the beach"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Oct 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
472 people found this review helpful

Second time to this resort but they have added many new sections and this has been very negative for the resort. The beach is so crowded they line up the beach chairs in rows. I have never seen such a crowded beach in any of my many trips to the south. The rest of the resort is great, good food, great rooms, good entertainment, well managed. Too bad that they fail on success. We will never go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another Great Time at the "AMBAR""

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gary  on Sep 3, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
569 people found this review helpful

Back for our sencond trip to the Ambar section. Another great week in the sun. Everything went smooth form arrival at Toronto airport to board Air Transat right thru to the arrival in Punta Cana.

Arrival:
Arrived on time, thru customs and had luggage ready to board bus in no time flat. When leaving the aircraft and seeing the thatch roof terminals again, you know your finally here. Having your first cold Presidente once you leave the airport is great also. Smooth bus ride to Bahia and quickly transported to the Ambar lobby. Greeted with a welcome drink and within 15 minutes had our room keys and we chose to walk to our room since it was sunny and warm and it was only a 3 minute walk. Luggage was delivered to room about 15 minute later.

Rooms:
The rooms are big and spacious. We were in bldg. 64. Great few and only steps to the pool and 2 minutes to the beach. Rooms were clean,towels were plenty and the turn down service was great. No matter what room you are in, you are only a a few minutes to the lobby or the beach. From the lobby to the beach is only a 5 minute walk.

Restaurants and Bars:
Emailed down 10 days before we left with our request for reservations and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find our we got what we asked for. The "Mediterranean - El Olivo" was my favorate. "Don Pablo Gourmet" was great, Japanesse - Maiko was good and had lots of fun. The Italian restaurant at the "Esmerelda" section was excellent. Don't over look the buffets. The food is excellent and a great variety. The wine is so so ... but you can order other wine's from the wine list that aren't to bad price wise. Bars looked to be well stocked. I enjoy the Presidente so that what i mostly drank.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool at the Ambar is quite compared to the other sections. Large and very clean. Great swin up bar were you get to meet people from around the world.
The beach is the best part. Warm white sand right to the waters edge. Lot's of palapas and shade from the palm trees. Beach bar close by to quench your thirst. Even in May when it was quieter, the "Towel Games" were play. If you arrived later in the morning, you could still get chairs with shade, but the prime locations were taken. If you want the prime locations.. then the old saying applies... " If you can't beat them ... then join them."
Pictures speak for themselves about the beach here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Mainly here to relax, laid by the pool or on the beach during the day and enjoyed the evenings all around the resort. The Ambar lobby is quite, but just a short walk away there is plenty to do. Show'are in the theater each night. All the lobby's close at 11pm but then everyone moves over to the Pablo Square where there's the Casino, Disco and shops. If you want the activities and night life, there's pleny there on the resort. If you just want the peace and quite, then you can stay in the Ambar lobby and enjoy the quite entertainment.

Other Comments:
Many thanks to all the staff. Everyone was friendly and always greated you with a smile. They work hard and a tip here and there is much appreciated. Would not hesitate to return to the Ambar.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gran Bahia Princiipe Bavaro - Diamond Club lived up to our expectations plus more!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Jul 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
580 people found this review helpful

Myself (40 years old), my husband (43 years old) and our niece (15 years old) spent two lovely and relaxing weeks at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Diamond Club Section from July 8-22, 2010.

Arrival:
When we arrived we immediately left our bags with the bellboy at the front entrance, walked 100 metres or so to the Diamond Club lounge and very quickly checked in with the incredibly professional Francy Dugarte, the Diamond Club Manager. She explained our a la carte bookings, gave us a map of the resort, and provided us with a cold welcome beverage. After signing for our electronic key we were directed back to the front area where a bell boy placed all the luggage in a tram and drove us to our villa #34 directly beside the Diamond Club pool. Alexandro carried all the bags to the third floor room and welcomed us with a smile.

Rooms:
The room in the Diamond Club room was spacious and included two double beds, though king size beds are available upon request and if you aren't travelling with a third like we were. There was also a sitting area with a table and two chairs, a television, dresser drawers, bedside table with reading lights on either side and enough closest space for everyone. My recommendation to you is to bring along extra hangers or ask your maid for additional ones upon arrival. There were only 5 hangers per closet side. The hangers you will receive upon request are wire hangers so if you have an issue with them, bring your own plastic ones.

The bathroom consists of a jacuzzi tub/shower combination with marble surround as well as the sink and toilet. Don't forget that the water is NOT DRINKABLE out of the tap at this resort and therefore you will have to brush your teeth using the bottled water provided. There are new bottles delivered to your room every day.

In the room there is also a mini bar fridge that contains water, pop (pepsi, 7-Up and Orange) and two cans of Brava beer. The fridge is restocked as needed. Each evening when we returned back to the room, there was new stock free of charge. The fridge does have some extra room in the event you bring your own wine, liquor or refrigerated snacks with you on vacation.

As well, every room does have a walk out balcony with a small table and two chairs. I would suggest that you bring along clothes pegs or a clothsline if you wish to hang your bathing suits or towels to dry in the evening because there is no rack made available on the balcony and otherwise you are hanging items from the chairs or the balcony rail, neither of which are ideal. My only suggestion regarding the room to the resort is a drying rack added to the balcony, I have come across them at RIU resorts in the Dominican and Mexico.

Restaurants and Bars:
When you book at the Diamond Club section you are allocated four a la carte reservations per week with your concierge. In addition, at the Diamond Club section you are provided with exclusive use of the Italian Restaurant for breakfast and lunch each day. It is only steps away from the Diamond Club pool and is a much quieter and relaxing breakfast and lunch experience.

On the evenings we ate at the buffet restaurant it was just ok compared to the a la cartes but we never went hungry on those evenings and simply understood that the process of presenting food on such a large scale isn't going to produce gourmet. Now the a la cartes are an entirely different story because they are all FABULOUS in their own unique ways! Our favourite was the Garden Grill located mid resort, with the highest quality food I have ever experienced at an all inclusive! The manager is Joselo, an incredibly friendly gentleman who will greet you with a smile and assist in making your dining experience a great one. I highly recommend you book this location as soon as you arrive.

Our second favourite restaurant was the Italian Restaurant with a wide selection of main entree as well as an enormous variety of appetizers in a buffet style. I can't say enough about the entire staff working in this restaurant from first thing in the morning when they greet you for breakfast till your evening dinner reservation. Very hard working, always with a smile and each one of them made our vacation a great one! Thank you Yulia, Jesus, Juddy, Ramon, and Rafael for your professionalism and daily smiles!

Our third and final favourite that I'll mention was the Japanese Restaurant. You have two options for eating at this restaurant, the tapanaki area where they cook the food in front of you and the table service. Don't forget to request the tapanaki so that you aren't disappointed. As well, just a tip, always double check your reservation slip after booking with the concierge to make sure the request is noted. We did see a family quite upset when they were seated in the table service area after believing they requested the tapanaki but unfortunately that area was completed reserved for the night and the slip was table service.

The bar service was on par with the majority of other resorts in the caribbean that I have experienced over the past 15 years or so. The beer on tap was Presidente, there was champagne for mimosas and cocktails were colourful and well presented. There are blenders at the bars and I would suggest you request they be used for some drinks because the "slushi machines" don't do them justice.

There were three bartenders who stood out as the friendliest, most professoinal and most customer service oriented during our visit. They are located at the Diamond Club pool.Thank you to Maria, Starling and Joselo!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I can't comment greatly on the services and fun available on the beach because I am pretty much a pool tourist but on the days I did walk down to watch my husband take out the catamarran, I found plenty of lounge chairs and a sandy ocean floor to walk on. The water is not as clear as it was during our last visit three years ago but it was quite wavy due to a storm system in the area. I did see an entertainment crew running games such as horseshoes and volleyball so it looked like there was plenty to keep you occupied on the beach. As well, there was a beach bar for guests with a slightly less assortment of drinks to choose from.

The grounds are positively immaculate for such a large resort and you will always see groundskeepers out in the baking heat trying to make your day a visually appealing one. Positively no complaints with the grounds!

There are an assortment of pools in this resort. There is a beach front pool divided into sections with the deepest area being to the right of the swim up bar. I was actually a bit surprised at how deep it is, a good 5 and a half feet because it came up to my shoulders so I don't think I'd want too many little people in that area. This pool is positively CRAZY during the day with people and activities. If you are looking for relaxation, don't sit at this one! This is the pool for those booked into the Junior Suites and not upgraded to Diamond Club. Like I've said before, book Diamond Club and avoid disappointment. This booking gets you four a la cartes instead of two per week along with a nicer breakfast and lunch and the exclusive use of the nicest pool on the property.

Which brings me to the Diamond Club Section pool. I have taken both videos and photos of this area that speak for themselves. The links are attached to this review. It is a large free flowing pool with a swim up bar, pretty views to every side and plenty of lounge chairs. The towel service and bathroom is a 20 second walk and it is also directly on the transportation line that runs the length of the resort. A special thanks to Jose, the pool guy who kept the pool area clean and inviting during our entire stay. He greeted us each and every day with an "hola" and a smile, a very sweet man.

As noted on other reviews, this resort is very large but not daunting and very manageable with the "tram" transportation service that runs every 3-5 minutes along three seperate lines of the resort from front to beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Regarding activities on and off the resort, I can't review off the resort because I didn't book any, yet there are a number available from the representatives who walk around the resort everyday.

On the resort you have the pools, the beach activities (non-motorized water sports-one hour free daily), the games around the pools and beach and the shopping in the resort at the front area to the left of the lobby. As well, there is a casino but I don't think I've ever met anyone who has won at one in the Caribbean.

Other Comments:
This resort is a very solid 4.5 star and certainly a 5 star if you factor in the quality of the a la carte restaurants. The service was fantastic, the room location ideal, Diamond Club pool inviting and hotel as a whole completely lived up to our expectations and exceeded them! One last note that we found helpful when packing for our own trip. Men are allowed to wear dress shorts in the buffet restaurant, and all but one a la carte restaurant so if you wish to try the French restaurant you must wear long pants...no exceptions.

I know that on the review sites the reviews for this resort differ greatly, with some loving, some hating and those that thought it just so-so. We are experienced 15 year + all inclusive travellers who have stayed at 2.5 star resorts, 4 star resorts and 6 star resorts and I can honestly tell you that we would return to the Diamond Club section, Premier section, the Ambar (adults only) or the Esmeralda section in a heart beat! I didn't really go into the Esmeralda area review, but there is video about it on my video link. It is a smaller resort attached to the property directly on the beach but strictly for those guests who book there. It looked heavenly when we walked around it and when talking to guests they compared it to the Bahia Principe Ambar but for families. It is very tempting to stay there next time as well.

You won't go wrong booking the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro but Diamond Club or better is a must!

Please don't hesitate to email me if you have any questions regarding this review. My email is kcponce @ hotmail.com.

Cheers and happy travels!

Kelly

Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/Ilovlos/GranBahiaPrincipeBavaroDiamondClubSection02#

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/lovlos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific experience"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vic  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
549 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Our flight from Halifax was smooth and hassle-free at the Punta Cana airport. We felt very welcome. After our bus ride to the Bahia Principe, arriving at 0930, we were allowed to check into our room by noon.

Rooms:
While we had booked a 2nd-floor room, the folks at reception assigned us a ground-level room just 2 minutes from the beach. This was great, and allowed us to easily get our towels onto the beach chairs by 7 a.m.
The one glitch was with the room safe. While we anticipated paying for it, the darn thing wouldn't lock. After nagging reception a couple of times, they sent a technician who simply said there was a problem with our room key card. I don't think he knew more than a cuple of English words. Eventually we had to walk back to reception to get a new card, and it worked. But we were delayed for over 2 hours from getting to the beach. It turned out they had incorrectly programmed the card.

Restaurants and Bars:
There's way more food than you can comfortably eat here, folks. We had something different at the buffet each meal and still did not get through all the choices by week-end.
The a-la-carte restaurants were good, but not exceptional. We ate at Tex-Mex, Japanese and Mediterranean. Service was okay, depending on how busy they were. We showed up at one restaurant on the wrong night, but they sat us anyway, without any problems.
Being used to Canadian beer, the watery stuff they served inclusively was simply disappointing. If you like extreme sugar highs, go for the Pina coladas, Coco-Locos, etc. Tons of sugar and hardly any alcohol.
The waitresses were friendly and prompt, except for one instance when we could not get someone to come anywhere near our table. They speak very little English, and a lot gets lost in translation.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
No complaints here. Aside from the fact that the big pool and the beach were way overcrowded, everything was clean and orderly. The most irritating activity was the "DJ" who had access to a powerful amplifier system, and used it on max! I simply turned up the volume of my iPod to drown this loathsome noise out, but I guess the dance/fitness stuff attracted a few people who were continuously berated by the DJ for whatever reason he could think of.
If you want some peace in the afternoon, go WAY up the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the VIP Safari, Dune Boogies and deep-sea fishing. These activities were terrific, despite being way over-priced.

VIP Safari: We explored the countryside in a small open bus, visiting an organic farm (coffee, cocoa, etc), which was well worth the visit, Also stopped at a sugar cane harvesting operation and a school and cathedral in Higuay. We finished up the day with grilled lobster (quite unlike our North Atlantic, but really good). Our guide was intent on distributing beer and rum throughout the trip, spilling it everywhere when we hit bumps in the road. This, to him anyway, was really hilarious. The requisite "shopping stops" were tolerable, but just.

Dune Boogies: This excursion allows teams of two to ride in each dune buggy, but follow the leader in convoy fashion. Speeds were never high, the countryside was fascinating (except for the piles of garbage everywhere).
We visited Macau(?) beach, which had great rollers of surf coming in. A good spot for a swim (except for literally mounds of garbage everywhere and the usual hawkers). The cave we explored was pretty neat, located next to a mini shopping mall in the middle of nowhere. Which came first? We went for a swim in the cave, and great volumes of dirt came off everyone.

Fishing: By far, the best activity of our stay, and our boat of six people landed a 60-lb and a 300-lb (!) marlin. I got a barracuda. Simply one of the best fishing trips I've ever been on, made possible by Gone Fishing!

Other Comments:
Aside from the (preventable) safe incident on the first day, we have very few complaints. In general, staff were willing to please, although very few of them can speak more than a few sentences of English.
I would definitely return to this resort. You can be as active (or inactive) as you like, and still enjoy yourself immensely.
Security was first-rate, and even after I had stumbled onto the beach late at night, a couple of security guys (I assumed they were, anyway!) got me pointed in the right direction even though they could speak no English at all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Tremendous value for the price"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bob  on Apr 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
571 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at the Bahia Principe Bavaro/Punta Cana as the two resorts are interchangeable. We've been to the Punta Cana area nine times, stayed at the Riu Palaces, Iberostar Bavaro, Grand Palladuim Bavaro and Secrets Excellence. The Bahia was as good as any of those but cheaper. As is written in many of the reviews, this place is gigantic which gave us the only negative aspect, too many people and this was the beginning of a lower season. They handled the crowds very well, we never had to wait for anything, we just prefer less crowds. The resort is huge and that eats up some time to get around. The trains were excellent, 1 or 2 minute waits at most. However, we love to walk so this was a great advantage for us. The food in general was as good as the other resorts I mentioned and better than most.
In summary, if you don't mind lots of people and want a great value for the price you pay, go to Bahia.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube