Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
21 - 30 of 45

"They have over built! Packed like sardines on the beach"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Oct 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
741 people found this review helpful

Second time to this resort but they have added many new sections and this has been very negative for the resort. The beach is so crowded they line up the beach chairs in rows. I have never seen such a crowded beach in any of my many trips to the south. The rest of the resort is great, good food, great rooms, good entertainment, well managed. Too bad that they fail on success. We will never go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not outstanding"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Lee  on Nov 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
807 people found this review helpful

We booked into the Golden section of the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana for a 2 week stay < a big mistake> for a first time stay at any hotel.

Arrival:
We arrived after dark and we were taken to a room where we were handed our packages the key cards and other information. Included in this package is a list of items that were in the room and that we were not to remove upon our departure. We were then taken to our room which was in building 20 at the beach. We get to our room and our keys didn't work. The bellboy used a master key to open the door and then we were told that we would have to go back to reception to get the keys activated< not impressed with the service as we had no idea how to get back to reception>.

Rooms:
The room needs to be updated, lighting very poor< 5 watt bulbs>. It was too dark to read at night.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in the main buffet was not very good quality, and lacked in presentation. The hot food was newer hot, usually lukewarm - cold. When we asked the chef & the restaurant manager why the food wasn't hot, this is what we were told" If the food is hot, the when you put it on a plate, the plate will get hot and then the guests will complain".

We tried all the reservation restaurants with the exception of the Japanese. My favourite was the Italian, Il Capriccio & my partner's favourite was the Gourmet, French style.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool, beach & grounds are beautiful.

Other Comments:
I would never return to this resort. It's too big, service not what we're used to in the DR. It doesn't compare to the Gran Palladium Bavaro.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Den Den and Family - The esmeralda was a delightful experience."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dennis  on Dec 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
976 people found this review helpful

We stayed with our family at the Esmeralda resort which is part of the Bahia Principe groupd of resorts. Our resort was very nice and the stay was pleasant.

Arrival:
Arrival was a little confusing since the Esmeralda does not accomodate the bus that takes you from the ariport. You must get off the bus and load your luggage on a wating cart to shuttle you to the resort check in. Check in was quik and we were soon on the beach with our family.

Rooms:
Rooms are nice and the maides keep it very clean. No complaints there.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went to a few a la carts and they werer OK for food. The only a la cart I really enjoyed was the italian. The food selection at the Buffet is OK I guess. I have stayed at other resorts that had a much larger election but that's just me. The food was OK but not great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is good and the pools are nice. I really wish people would atop running out at 7:00am in morning to claim their spots. This is very annoying since we saw one set of towels on some chaors all day and no one showed up to even use them. Hey...there are other pople who could use the spot doe heads!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Resort"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sonja  on Dec 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
803 people found this review helpful

This was my 4th visit to Punta Cana and the 2nd time to a Bahia chain resort. We stayed in the Mayan at the Akumal. I would rate the Gran Bahia PC at a 4 1/2 star.

Check-in was done in the lobby sitting down as a group. We arrived at 12:30 and our room was ready at about 2pm. We enjoyed a very nice lunch at the buffet.

Our room was the standard Bahia room....very clean and well looked after all week by our maid. The trolleys run up and down the middle of the resort from the lobby to the beach but the walk only takes about 7 minutes.

We had made our a la carte reservations before arriving by email and so we stopped into Guest Services to pick up our papers and reserve for the beach buffet. The Japanese Restaurant was excellent! Everyone is at a cooking show table and then you are moved to another table for dessert. The Steak House was also a great choice with very tender steaks! We found the choices at the buffet to be very good. Each night was a different theme eg. Sea Food, Asian, Italian etc... our wait staff was very friendly and effecient. We went to the lobby bar in the evenings and the bartenders were great. Not the variety of shots that we are use to in Mexico but good for the ones they had.

The pools were well taken care of and we could usually find loungers with no problems BUT we are early risers. Participated in the water aerobics and water volleyball. The beach is beautiful and very busy. We walked up to the market (about a 1/2 hour walk). We purchased vanilla (pure clear thick one) $5, coffee beans $5, premium rum $12 and colourful wraps $12 each. Barter barter barter!!

We signed out the boogie boards and had a blast with the great waves!
All in all, we had a restful vacation with friends and great weather!

If you are looking for a luxury resort try the RIU or Palace chain but the Bahia is great value for what you get!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"FAMILYTRIP TO PUNTA CANA"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  BRIAN  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
843 people found this review helpful

We just got back from Punta Cana last night . 1 st time at Bahia Principe. We liked the grounds and reception area . The smoking was totally out of control if you are taking kids forget it . Food was very good in buffet but restaurants were questionable. Rooms are ok for A 4 STAR BUT NOT 5 AT ALL. We had to stay with one bed for family of 4 as hotel was full . Trollys took 30 min to get to beach . dirty in some areas . shows were good, would we go again <<< NOOOOO Front desk staff will not fix anything and managers hide behind doors.

Room Number:
16310

Room Block:
16312

Arrival:
ROOM WAS NOT READY

Rooms:
1 BED FOR 4 PEOPLE

Restaurants and Bars:
BUFFET NICE BUT RESTAURANTS IFFY

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH NICE,POOLS EXCELLENT,GROUNDS TROPICAL

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
MARINARIUM- SCARRY FOR KIDS .

Other Comments:
CRAZY PEOPLE PARTYING ALL NIGHT AND YELLING . NOT FOR FAMILYS WANTING SOME REST

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the worst experiences- a warning"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joe  on Jan 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
927 people found this review helpful

The purpose of this review is to give warning to other vacationers who have the mindset that their trip is going to be perfect and nothing will go wrong... Our first day at the resort, there was a few of drinking around the swim up bar. Around 4 o'clock we went to get ready for supper. As we were getting ready my fiances sister collapsed in the shower. When we found her she was unconsious and having convulsions. We don't have any proof, but the probable cause is the she was drugged by the bartender at the resort. He was very strange, knew she was the only single one, and she did not have that many drinks. Her doctor here in Canada says she was undoubtedly drugged. Even if she was not drugged, the medical service we got was shocking. We called for the doctor three times, no one came. It took around half an hour for someone to come and take her to the doctor. It would have taken us 5 minutes to carry her there if we knew where to go. I could not believe it, no one would help us. Once we got her to the doctor I asked security to give me a ride back to her room so I could get her passport and insurance so that she could be treated (it was our first day, the resort is large, and it was dark so I didn't know how to get back to the room). The answer was no. It was outraging. Everyone had a lazy attitude and didn't care to help. The only positve was the doctor herself, she was very helpful. In the end we got her to the hospital, she had a close call with death but fortunately she is now okay, though she did not fully recover for the rest of the trip. So be aware, in a medical emergency, no one at this resort will step up and help. It seems that no one is in charge and they give you the run around. Which leads to another bad experience. A few days later my fiance was getting ready at the spa with her brides maides for our wedding. They shaved part of her eyebrow off, and burnt another girls shoulder, not to mention not doing any of the hair right. The girls walked out on them and guess what? We got charged for the spa. And once again, no one seems to be in charge to answer, they give you the run around, and lie straight to your face. We complained the next day and they wouldn't give us a refund because they said we didn't complain when it happened.... I don't know maybe its because we were about to get married! So it is not hard to beleive that this whole ordeal put a major stress on our wedding and continues into our marraige. I know many people will like this resort but this is our experience so be careful. We spent alot of money to only have the one of the worst weeks of our lives.
Other negatives
-most of the safes never worked
-door handles were broken
-volleyball was flat (they didn't have an extra)
-overcrowded - I only saw 2 volleyball courts for a couple thousand people
-remote control never worked
positves
-running water which was usually hot

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely but crowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marc  on Feb 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
900 people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This resort is large and confusing at first as it is actually four resorts in one with about 7000 guests. It took me a couple of days to figure it out then I was fine. The most confusing thing is that the reception areas for the Punta Can side and the Bravaro side are mirror images. We only went on one excursion which was to Santo Domingo. It was a 14 hr day but quite interesting.
First the good:
-Beautiful, clean beach, great sand
-lovely clean, clear ocean with moderate ways, great to play in
- clean, well maintained grounds
-clean rooms, NO mustiness, good, strong A/C
-two weeks of great weather, only a couple of evening and one small morning showers
-nice main lobby bar
- the Japanese restaurants and the BBQ
- the service at the a la carte’s
- frequent trolley service
-no upset tummies!!
-clean pools
Now the average:
-the food; other than the Japanese and BBQ restaurants,
-room décor
-landscaping
-service
And the bad:
-resort is way too big!
-beach is very crowded. If you’re not down there by 7 am to claim a spot you won’t get a palapa
-rude people on the beach (maybe because of crowding??). We had people try to move under our palapa sometimes even if just one of us moved out into the sun. Conversely, we had people park themselves so close to the palapa on occasion the it made it difficult to move into the sun.
-buffet restaurants were extremely noisy. Not because of kids, but because of the design and loud staff.
-not enough beach bars and no staff serving drinks on the beach. It needs some small beach bars where you can sit in the shade, have a cool one and visit
-a lot of the people there, guests and some staff, seemed quite unfriendly. Not nearly the number of friendly greetings or Hola’s that we normally hear in the DR.

This resort is very popular with French Canadians which probably accounted for 60% of the people with the rest from the US, the rest of Canada, and Europe. I would only recommend this resort if you like being around a lot of people.
All this being said we still had a wonderful vacation and will return to Punta Cana, but to a smaller resort.

Room Block:
24

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pluses outnumbered the minuses"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ronald  on Feb 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
942 people found this review helpful

This resort is huge. It is clean, well maintained and beautiful. The staff were always friendly, smiling and courteous. The room we had was very nice with appealing decor in my opinion, though the safe nor the alarm clock worked and we had a 15 inch color TV.

Because of its size getting around takes a fair amount of walking or waiting for a tram. We were at this resort for 6 days and were never able to eat ala carte because we had not made reservations before we left home. Don't worry you not go away hungry.

The beach is beautiful with a few topless women which no one seemed to mind or pay attention to. People stake out their chairs by 8 AM and then don't show up until noon. This is kind of peeve that takes place everywhere.
The nightly shows were Ok but don't waste your time with "Black Theatre". By the end of the performance 50% of the audience had gotten up and left.

We came for the weather and in that regard we were not disappointed. Sunny and mid 80's everyday.

Everything was not perfect but the good far outweighed anything negative and we would recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay Away from Arrecife Studios for the Wedding Pictures"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Enrique  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
896 people found this review helpful

I recently had a wedding at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana and the same thing that happened to sebitasalejo occurred to us. They told us that it would be ok and not to worry about it, but when you show up it's a different story. They tell you that you have to talk to the wedding people to deal with them in person. Even if you have it in writing via email that your guest can take pictures with a professional camera. They'll make you sign a paper that says they can charge you $500 if they feel that the pictures being taken are professional pictures. So in a sense it's all a very grey area that they control. They even stopped someone in our party taking pictures in the middle of the ceremony. It was so annoying and frustrating. I would not recommend dealing with arrecife. Jackie was has a lower IQ than george bush. She wasn't helpful at all. She portrayed herself as the manager of Arrecife and said that if they didn't take the pictures than we would get charged $500. It's a total scam and they leave you with no choice but to use them. You don't need things like this right before your wedding. It's stressful enough and don't forget that this is a business to them. When you show up to the hotel to do all the paperwork you don't have a choice anymore. You're cornered!! We decided not to purchase any of their pictures as other people took plenty of pictures. Plus, my brother and I saw what the photographer Willy was doing to the pictures and it's not brain science. All he was doing was applying a preset setting on the pictures he took. He was using the program lightroom from adobe. I know of it because I used it for a class I took during the summer for fun. The same pictures they give you, you can do on your own with the same quality, but with a higher quantity at a WWWAAAYYYY Cheaper price.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time at Gran Bahia Principe in Punta Cana"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
969 people found this review helpful

We were at the Bahia Principe from Feb 21 to Feb 28, 2011.

Overall, it was a fantastic experiece. The resort is well kept, grounds are stunning, the beach is unbeatable, the food was great, rooms were clean and safe, bars were good, althought here was sometimes a language issue when ordering drinks... but staff were super friendly and helpful.

Specific comments are below, but I have to say the most annoying issue we had on this vacation were the French Canadian tourists. I've heard all sorts of bad things about 'them' but never seen any evidence, until this trip. I guess because we flew out of Ottawa, we had a large number of Quebecers on the flight. They were rude in boarding (pushing, shoving and then taking their time to pull stuff out of their carry-on when the plane was boarding - and similarly stupidly slow when de-planing).

On the bus at the resort, they were pushing and shoving to get off, would bud in line at check in, bud in line at the buffet in the resort, we had a chair 'stolen' one day when we left the beach for lunch, despite leaving a towel and clothes on the chair. I've never seen such rudeness and general selfishness from any one group of people.

I don't want to tar all French Canadians as rude, but holy cow it seemed everyone who was FC at our resort was seriously short of the 'respect and politeness' gene.

Anyway, the resort offered wifi in the lobby only, and I saw lots of people with their laptops surfing. They offer free internet access to Royal Golden guests and I went online twice. First time was a waste of time... unbelievably slow connection. Second time was way better.

All in all, the Bahai Principe Punta Cana was a great experiece for us. Any negative comments below are mostly picking nits. I would recommend this resort to anyone as we all had an awesome time. I wouldn't return to it however, only because there are so many other places to see/stay... but I would return to Punta Cana for sure. The Riu next door looked amazing and we're intrigued to see what it would be like.

Room Number:
1208

Room Block:
Royal Golden

Arrival:
We departed from Ottawa via a 6 a.m. flight. Our travel agent told us to be there three hours in advance, as the operator (transat vacation) closes their desk one hour before take off time, regardless of who's in the line. No one likes to get up at 2:15 a.m. but we did and much to our surprise, the airport was open, but we had to wait 2+ hours after we got through security. oh well

THe flight was via Canjet. Seats were cramped and service not the greatest on the flight.

Arrived on time and was struck by how beautiful the Punta Cana airport is. Thatched roof and waaay nicer than the airports in Puerta Plata and Veradero (my only other two caribbean airports I've been to). The airport itself was clean, well lit and easy to navigate. Operators were easy to find once through customs and the bus was pretty quick in getting us to the resort (about a 20 min ride). The Transat 'host' was kind of annoying as we found him over the top with his 'rah-rah you're in punta Canada, no stress' crap... That stresed me out. LOL

Check in was via the Royal Golden check in. Rooms were not ready but they gave us a place to change and to watch our bags. We went back to the bags a couple of times, and the bellman asked each time if we were the owners.

Once we got to the rooms, they were great and in the building over looking the seafood resto, next to the beach. :) There was a minor mix up in room prep (previous guests left the 'do not disturb' sign on their door and then checked out... idiots... but management was awesome about it.

Rooms:
Rooms were spacious and clean, albeit a bit dark. The bathroom was particularly dark with not enough lighting. We had an adjoining room with the kids (20 and 17) and had some issues getting the safe to work, but it eventualy decided to co-operate.

We paid for Royal Golden service which included an evening bed turn down. We only got this service twice in a week. Also a few times we returned to our room at 5 p.m. to find it still not cleaned, despite the kid's room being cleaned. NOT impressed with that and found we had to put out the 'please clean our room' sign to ensure it was cleaned in the morning.

Also part of the Royal Golden service was a promised 'club house' exclusive to RG guests, that featured a private pool and news papers, etc. The place doesn't exist. Resort people were counfounded by this when I asked where the private pool and louge were. There is a private pool, but only for 'Diamond' guests. Transat will be hearing about this, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment. The only real benefit of Royal Golden serivce is the 24 hour room service (although a VERY limited menu) and being right next to the beach. The resort is HUGE and it would suck to be almost 1km walk from the beach. They do have a shuttle service but stumbling out of your room to the beach (or vice versa) is very handy.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the food generally very good. Lots of beef too, and all well cooked and prepared. The buffet was great, but as mentioned it's a long distance from the beach. The a-la-carte restaurants didn't seem to offer anything different than what was available at the buffet other than a different location. We found the buildings freezing cold via the A/C and in one, the A/C was dripping water on my better half. We asked that that unit be shut off, or we be moved... neither happened.

There are three beach front restos and we discovered the food at the two western most ones much better than the one beside the pool. Hours for accessing the buffet and these restos was odd and sometimes you find yourself hungry and nothing was open. Not a BIG deal, but still.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was awesome! The resort was over-capacity which meant for a very busy beach. The bad was that in order to guarantee you having the chairs and real estate you want, you have to get out there to stake your claim before 8 a.m. or you're SOL.

The beach was, as I said, awesome. Sand was uber soft and the water was great. There is an under-tow on this beach, so little ones must be closely supervised.

Crews were on the beach each morning cleaning up seaweed, and vendors were there selling stuff, but not annoying people at all.

Pools were great. Big and clean and no issues. Grounds are gorgeous and having the shuttle buses to get your around the resort was fantastic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't participate, so can't really comment. Our goal was sun and sand and that's all we did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube