Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
21 - 30 of 45

"Gran Bahia Princiipe Bavaro - Diamond Club lived up to our expectations plus more!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Jul 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
827 people found this review helpful

Myself (40 years old), my husband (43 years old) and our niece (15 years old) spent two lovely and relaxing weeks at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Diamond Club Section from July 8-22, 2010.

Arrival:
When we arrived we immediately left our bags with the bellboy at the front entrance, walked 100 metres or so to the Diamond Club lounge and very quickly checked in with the incredibly professional Francy Dugarte, the Diamond Club Manager. She explained our a la carte bookings, gave us a map of the resort, and provided us with a cold welcome beverage. After signing for our electronic key we were directed back to the front area where a bell boy placed all the luggage in a tram and drove us to our villa #34 directly beside the Diamond Club pool. Alexandro carried all the bags to the third floor room and welcomed us with a smile.

Rooms:
The room in the Diamond Club room was spacious and included two double beds, though king size beds are available upon request and if you aren't travelling with a third like we were. There was also a sitting area with a table and two chairs, a television, dresser drawers, bedside table with reading lights on either side and enough closest space for everyone. My recommendation to you is to bring along extra hangers or ask your maid for additional ones upon arrival. There were only 5 hangers per closet side. The hangers you will receive upon request are wire hangers so if you have an issue with them, bring your own plastic ones.

The bathroom consists of a jacuzzi tub/shower combination with marble surround as well as the sink and toilet. Don't forget that the water is NOT DRINKABLE out of the tap at this resort and therefore you will have to brush your teeth using the bottled water provided. There are new bottles delivered to your room every day.

In the room there is also a mini bar fridge that contains water, pop (pepsi, 7-Up and Orange) and two cans of Brava beer. The fridge is restocked as needed. Each evening when we returned back to the room, there was new stock free of charge. The fridge does have some extra room in the event you bring your own wine, liquor or refrigerated snacks with you on vacation.

As well, every room does have a walk out balcony with a small table and two chairs. I would suggest that you bring along clothes pegs or a clothsline if you wish to hang your bathing suits or towels to dry in the evening because there is no rack made available on the balcony and otherwise you are hanging items from the chairs or the balcony rail, neither of which are ideal. My only suggestion regarding the room to the resort is a drying rack added to the balcony, I have come across them at RIU resorts in the Dominican and Mexico.

Restaurants and Bars:
When you book at the Diamond Club section you are allocated four a la carte reservations per week with your concierge. In addition, at the Diamond Club section you are provided with exclusive use of the Italian Restaurant for breakfast and lunch each day. It is only steps away from the Diamond Club pool and is a much quieter and relaxing breakfast and lunch experience.

On the evenings we ate at the buffet restaurant it was just ok compared to the a la cartes but we never went hungry on those evenings and simply understood that the process of presenting food on such a large scale isn't going to produce gourmet. Now the a la cartes are an entirely different story because they are all FABULOUS in their own unique ways! Our favourite was the Garden Grill located mid resort, with the highest quality food I have ever experienced at an all inclusive! The manager is Joselo, an incredibly friendly gentleman who will greet you with a smile and assist in making your dining experience a great one. I highly recommend you book this location as soon as you arrive.

Our second favourite restaurant was the Italian Restaurant with a wide selection of main entree as well as an enormous variety of appetizers in a buffet style. I can't say enough about the entire staff working in this restaurant from first thing in the morning when they greet you for breakfast till your evening dinner reservation. Very hard working, always with a smile and each one of them made our vacation a great one! Thank you Yulia, Jesus, Juddy, Ramon, and Rafael for your professionalism and daily smiles!

Our third and final favourite that I'll mention was the Japanese Restaurant. You have two options for eating at this restaurant, the tapanaki area where they cook the food in front of you and the table service. Don't forget to request the tapanaki so that you aren't disappointed. As well, just a tip, always double check your reservation slip after booking with the concierge to make sure the request is noted. We did see a family quite upset when they were seated in the table service area after believing they requested the tapanaki but unfortunately that area was completed reserved for the night and the slip was table service.

The bar service was on par with the majority of other resorts in the caribbean that I have experienced over the past 15 years or so. The beer on tap was Presidente, there was champagne for mimosas and cocktails were colourful and well presented. There are blenders at the bars and I would suggest you request they be used for some drinks because the "slushi machines" don't do them justice.

There were three bartenders who stood out as the friendliest, most professoinal and most customer service oriented during our visit. They are located at the Diamond Club pool.Thank you to Maria, Starling and Joselo!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I can't comment greatly on the services and fun available on the beach because I am pretty much a pool tourist but on the days I did walk down to watch my husband take out the catamarran, I found plenty of lounge chairs and a sandy ocean floor to walk on. The water is not as clear as it was during our last visit three years ago but it was quite wavy due to a storm system in the area. I did see an entertainment crew running games such as horseshoes and volleyball so it looked like there was plenty to keep you occupied on the beach. As well, there was a beach bar for guests with a slightly less assortment of drinks to choose from.

The grounds are positively immaculate for such a large resort and you will always see groundskeepers out in the baking heat trying to make your day a visually appealing one. Positively no complaints with the grounds!

There are an assortment of pools in this resort. There is a beach front pool divided into sections with the deepest area being to the right of the swim up bar. I was actually a bit surprised at how deep it is, a good 5 and a half feet because it came up to my shoulders so I don't think I'd want too many little people in that area. This pool is positively CRAZY during the day with people and activities. If you are looking for relaxation, don't sit at this one! This is the pool for those booked into the Junior Suites and not upgraded to Diamond Club. Like I've said before, book Diamond Club and avoid disappointment. This booking gets you four a la cartes instead of two per week along with a nicer breakfast and lunch and the exclusive use of the nicest pool on the property.

Which brings me to the Diamond Club Section pool. I have taken both videos and photos of this area that speak for themselves. The links are attached to this review. It is a large free flowing pool with a swim up bar, pretty views to every side and plenty of lounge chairs. The towel service and bathroom is a 20 second walk and it is also directly on the transportation line that runs the length of the resort. A special thanks to Jose, the pool guy who kept the pool area clean and inviting during our entire stay. He greeted us each and every day with an "hola" and a smile, a very sweet man.

As noted on other reviews, this resort is very large but not daunting and very manageable with the "tram" transportation service that runs every 3-5 minutes along three seperate lines of the resort from front to beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Regarding activities on and off the resort, I can't review off the resort because I didn't book any, yet there are a number available from the representatives who walk around the resort everyday.

On the resort you have the pools, the beach activities (non-motorized water sports-one hour free daily), the games around the pools and beach and the shopping in the resort at the front area to the left of the lobby. As well, there is a casino but I don't think I've ever met anyone who has won at one in the Caribbean.

Other Comments:
This resort is a very solid 4.5 star and certainly a 5 star if you factor in the quality of the a la carte restaurants. The service was fantastic, the room location ideal, Diamond Club pool inviting and hotel as a whole completely lived up to our expectations and exceeded them! One last note that we found helpful when packing for our own trip. Men are allowed to wear dress shorts in the buffet restaurant, and all but one a la carte restaurant so if you wish to try the French restaurant you must wear long pants...no exceptions.

I know that on the review sites the reviews for this resort differ greatly, with some loving, some hating and those that thought it just so-so. We are experienced 15 year + all inclusive travellers who have stayed at 2.5 star resorts, 4 star resorts and 6 star resorts and I can honestly tell you that we would return to the Diamond Club section, Premier section, the Ambar (adults only) or the Esmeralda section in a heart beat! I didn't really go into the Esmeralda area review, but there is video about it on my video link. It is a smaller resort attached to the property directly on the beach but strictly for those guests who book there. It looked heavenly when we walked around it and when talking to guests they compared it to the Bahia Principe Ambar but for families. It is very tempting to stay there next time as well.

You won't go wrong booking the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro but Diamond Club or better is a must!

Please don't hesitate to email me if you have any questions regarding this review. My email is kcponce @ hotmail.com.

Cheers and happy travels!

Kelly

Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/Ilovlos/GranBahiaPrincipeBavaroDiamondClubSection02#

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/lovlos

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not outstanding"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Lee  on Nov 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
807 people found this review helpful

We booked into the Golden section of the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana for a 2 week stay < a big mistake> for a first time stay at any hotel.

Arrival:
We arrived after dark and we were taken to a room where we were handed our packages the key cards and other information. Included in this package is a list of items that were in the room and that we were not to remove upon our departure. We were then taken to our room which was in building 20 at the beach. We get to our room and our keys didn't work. The bellboy used a master key to open the door and then we were told that we would have to go back to reception to get the keys activated< not impressed with the service as we had no idea how to get back to reception>.

Rooms:
The room needs to be updated, lighting very poor< 5 watt bulbs>. It was too dark to read at night.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in the main buffet was not very good quality, and lacked in presentation. The hot food was newer hot, usually lukewarm - cold. When we asked the chef & the restaurant manager why the food wasn't hot, this is what we were told" If the food is hot, the when you put it on a plate, the plate will get hot and then the guests will complain".

We tried all the reservation restaurants with the exception of the Japanese. My favourite was the Italian, Il Capriccio & my partner's favourite was the Gourmet, French style.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool, beach & grounds are beautiful.

Other Comments:
I would never return to this resort. It's too big, service not what we're used to in the DR. It doesn't compare to the Gran Palladium Bavaro.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Den Den and Family - The esmeralda was a delightful experience."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dennis  on Dec 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
975 people found this review helpful

We stayed with our family at the Esmeralda resort which is part of the Bahia Principe groupd of resorts. Our resort was very nice and the stay was pleasant.

Arrival:
Arrival was a little confusing since the Esmeralda does not accomodate the bus that takes you from the ariport. You must get off the bus and load your luggage on a wating cart to shuttle you to the resort check in. Check in was quik and we were soon on the beach with our family.

Rooms:
Rooms are nice and the maides keep it very clean. No complaints there.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went to a few a la carts and they werer OK for food. The only a la cart I really enjoyed was the italian. The food selection at the Buffet is OK I guess. I have stayed at other resorts that had a much larger election but that's just me. The food was OK but not great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is good and the pools are nice. I really wish people would atop running out at 7:00am in morning to claim their spots. This is very annoying since we saw one set of towels on some chaors all day and no one showed up to even use them. Hey...there are other pople who could use the spot doe heads!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"FAMILYTRIP TO PUNTA CANA"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  BRIAN  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
843 people found this review helpful

We just got back from Punta Cana last night . 1 st time at Bahia Principe. We liked the grounds and reception area . The smoking was totally out of control if you are taking kids forget it . Food was very good in buffet but restaurants were questionable. Rooms are ok for A 4 STAR BUT NOT 5 AT ALL. We had to stay with one bed for family of 4 as hotel was full . Trollys took 30 min to get to beach . dirty in some areas . shows were good, would we go again <<< NOOOOO Front desk staff will not fix anything and managers hide behind doors.

Room Number:
16310

Room Block:
16312

Arrival:
ROOM WAS NOT READY

Rooms:
1 BED FOR 4 PEOPLE

Restaurants and Bars:
BUFFET NICE BUT RESTAURANTS IFFY

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH NICE,POOLS EXCELLENT,GROUNDS TROPICAL

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
MARINARIUM- SCARRY FOR KIDS .

Other Comments:
CRAZY PEOPLE PARTYING ALL NIGHT AND YELLING . NOT FOR FAMILYS WANTING SOME REST

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Resort"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sonja  on Dec 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
803 people found this review helpful

This was my 4th visit to Punta Cana and the 2nd time to a Bahia chain resort. We stayed in the Mayan at the Akumal. I would rate the Gran Bahia PC at a 4 1/2 star.

Check-in was done in the lobby sitting down as a group. We arrived at 12:30 and our room was ready at about 2pm. We enjoyed a very nice lunch at the buffet.

Our room was the standard Bahia room....very clean and well looked after all week by our maid. The trolleys run up and down the middle of the resort from the lobby to the beach but the walk only takes about 7 minutes.

We had made our a la carte reservations before arriving by email and so we stopped into Guest Services to pick up our papers and reserve for the beach buffet. The Japanese Restaurant was excellent! Everyone is at a cooking show table and then you are moved to another table for dessert. The Steak House was also a great choice with very tender steaks! We found the choices at the buffet to be very good. Each night was a different theme eg. Sea Food, Asian, Italian etc... our wait staff was very friendly and effecient. We went to the lobby bar in the evenings and the bartenders were great. Not the variety of shots that we are use to in Mexico but good for the ones they had.

The pools were well taken care of and we could usually find loungers with no problems BUT we are early risers. Participated in the water aerobics and water volleyball. The beach is beautiful and very busy. We walked up to the market (about a 1/2 hour walk). We purchased vanilla (pure clear thick one) $5, coffee beans $5, premium rum $12 and colourful wraps $12 each. Barter barter barter!!

We signed out the boogie boards and had a blast with the great waves!
All in all, we had a restful vacation with friends and great weather!

If you are looking for a luxury resort try the RIU or Palace chain but the Bahia is great value for what you get!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the worst experiences- a warning"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joe  on Jan 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
926 people found this review helpful

The purpose of this review is to give warning to other vacationers who have the mindset that their trip is going to be perfect and nothing will go wrong... Our first day at the resort, there was a few of drinking around the swim up bar. Around 4 o'clock we went to get ready for supper. As we were getting ready my fiances sister collapsed in the shower. When we found her she was unconsious and having convulsions. We don't have any proof, but the probable cause is the she was drugged by the bartender at the resort. He was very strange, knew she was the only single one, and she did not have that many drinks. Her doctor here in Canada says she was undoubtedly drugged. Even if she was not drugged, the medical service we got was shocking. We called for the doctor three times, no one came. It took around half an hour for someone to come and take her to the doctor. It would have taken us 5 minutes to carry her there if we knew where to go. I could not believe it, no one would help us. Once we got her to the doctor I asked security to give me a ride back to her room so I could get her passport and insurance so that she could be treated (it was our first day, the resort is large, and it was dark so I didn't know how to get back to the room). The answer was no. It was outraging. Everyone had a lazy attitude and didn't care to help. The only positve was the doctor herself, she was very helpful. In the end we got her to the hospital, she had a close call with death but fortunately she is now okay, though she did not fully recover for the rest of the trip. So be aware, in a medical emergency, no one at this resort will step up and help. It seems that no one is in charge and they give you the run around. Which leads to another bad experience. A few days later my fiance was getting ready at the spa with her brides maides for our wedding. They shaved part of her eyebrow off, and burnt another girls shoulder, not to mention not doing any of the hair right. The girls walked out on them and guess what? We got charged for the spa. And once again, no one seems to be in charge to answer, they give you the run around, and lie straight to your face. We complained the next day and they wouldn't give us a refund because they said we didn't complain when it happened.... I don't know maybe its because we were about to get married! So it is not hard to beleive that this whole ordeal put a major stress on our wedding and continues into our marraige. I know many people will like this resort but this is our experience so be careful. We spent alot of money to only have the one of the worst weeks of our lives.
Other negatives
-most of the safes never worked
-door handles were broken
-volleyball was flat (they didn't have an extra)
-overcrowded - I only saw 2 volleyball courts for a couple thousand people
-remote control never worked
positves
-running water which was usually hot

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely but crowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marc  on Feb 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
900 people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This resort is large and confusing at first as it is actually four resorts in one with about 7000 guests. It took me a couple of days to figure it out then I was fine. The most confusing thing is that the reception areas for the Punta Can side and the Bravaro side are mirror images. We only went on one excursion which was to Santo Domingo. It was a 14 hr day but quite interesting.
First the good:
-Beautiful, clean beach, great sand
-lovely clean, clear ocean with moderate ways, great to play in
- clean, well maintained grounds
-clean rooms, NO mustiness, good, strong A/C
-two weeks of great weather, only a couple of evening and one small morning showers
-nice main lobby bar
- the Japanese restaurants and the BBQ
- the service at the a la carte’s
- frequent trolley service
-no upset tummies!!
-clean pools
Now the average:
-the food; other than the Japanese and BBQ restaurants,
-room décor
-landscaping
-service
And the bad:
-resort is way too big!
-beach is very crowded. If you’re not down there by 7 am to claim a spot you won’t get a palapa
-rude people on the beach (maybe because of crowding??). We had people try to move under our palapa sometimes even if just one of us moved out into the sun. Conversely, we had people park themselves so close to the palapa on occasion the it made it difficult to move into the sun.
-buffet restaurants were extremely noisy. Not because of kids, but because of the design and loud staff.
-not enough beach bars and no staff serving drinks on the beach. It needs some small beach bars where you can sit in the shade, have a cool one and visit
-a lot of the people there, guests and some staff, seemed quite unfriendly. Not nearly the number of friendly greetings or Hola’s that we normally hear in the DR.

This resort is very popular with French Canadians which probably accounted for 60% of the people with the rest from the US, the rest of Canada, and Europe. I would only recommend this resort if you like being around a lot of people.
All this being said we still had a wonderful vacation and will return to Punta Cana, but to a smaller resort.

Room Block:
24

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time at Gran Bahia Principe in Punta Cana"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
969 people found this review helpful

We were at the Bahia Principe from Feb 21 to Feb 28, 2011.

Overall, it was a fantastic experiece. The resort is well kept, grounds are stunning, the beach is unbeatable, the food was great, rooms were clean and safe, bars were good, althought here was sometimes a language issue when ordering drinks... but staff were super friendly and helpful.

Specific comments are below, but I have to say the most annoying issue we had on this vacation were the French Canadian tourists. I've heard all sorts of bad things about 'them' but never seen any evidence, until this trip. I guess because we flew out of Ottawa, we had a large number of Quebecers on the flight. They were rude in boarding (pushing, shoving and then taking their time to pull stuff out of their carry-on when the plane was boarding - and similarly stupidly slow when de-planing).

On the bus at the resort, they were pushing and shoving to get off, would bud in line at check in, bud in line at the buffet in the resort, we had a chair 'stolen' one day when we left the beach for lunch, despite leaving a towel and clothes on the chair. I've never seen such rudeness and general selfishness from any one group of people.

I don't want to tar all French Canadians as rude, but holy cow it seemed everyone who was FC at our resort was seriously short of the 'respect and politeness' gene.

Anyway, the resort offered wifi in the lobby only, and I saw lots of people with their laptops surfing. They offer free internet access to Royal Golden guests and I went online twice. First time was a waste of time... unbelievably slow connection. Second time was way better.

All in all, the Bahai Principe Punta Cana was a great experiece for us. Any negative comments below are mostly picking nits. I would recommend this resort to anyone as we all had an awesome time. I wouldn't return to it however, only because there are so many other places to see/stay... but I would return to Punta Cana for sure. The Riu next door looked amazing and we're intrigued to see what it would be like.

Room Number:
1208

Room Block:
Royal Golden

Arrival:
We departed from Ottawa via a 6 a.m. flight. Our travel agent told us to be there three hours in advance, as the operator (transat vacation) closes their desk one hour before take off time, regardless of who's in the line. No one likes to get up at 2:15 a.m. but we did and much to our surprise, the airport was open, but we had to wait 2+ hours after we got through security. oh well

THe flight was via Canjet. Seats were cramped and service not the greatest on the flight.

Arrived on time and was struck by how beautiful the Punta Cana airport is. Thatched roof and waaay nicer than the airports in Puerta Plata and Veradero (my only other two caribbean airports I've been to). The airport itself was clean, well lit and easy to navigate. Operators were easy to find once through customs and the bus was pretty quick in getting us to the resort (about a 20 min ride). The Transat 'host' was kind of annoying as we found him over the top with his 'rah-rah you're in punta Canada, no stress' crap... That stresed me out. LOL

Check in was via the Royal Golden check in. Rooms were not ready but they gave us a place to change and to watch our bags. We went back to the bags a couple of times, and the bellman asked each time if we were the owners.

Once we got to the rooms, they were great and in the building over looking the seafood resto, next to the beach. :) There was a minor mix up in room prep (previous guests left the 'do not disturb' sign on their door and then checked out... idiots... but management was awesome about it.

Rooms:
Rooms were spacious and clean, albeit a bit dark. The bathroom was particularly dark with not enough lighting. We had an adjoining room with the kids (20 and 17) and had some issues getting the safe to work, but it eventualy decided to co-operate.

We paid for Royal Golden service which included an evening bed turn down. We only got this service twice in a week. Also a few times we returned to our room at 5 p.m. to find it still not cleaned, despite the kid's room being cleaned. NOT impressed with that and found we had to put out the 'please clean our room' sign to ensure it was cleaned in the morning.

Also part of the Royal Golden service was a promised 'club house' exclusive to RG guests, that featured a private pool and news papers, etc. The place doesn't exist. Resort people were counfounded by this when I asked where the private pool and louge were. There is a private pool, but only for 'Diamond' guests. Transat will be hearing about this, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment. The only real benefit of Royal Golden serivce is the 24 hour room service (although a VERY limited menu) and being right next to the beach. The resort is HUGE and it would suck to be almost 1km walk from the beach. They do have a shuttle service but stumbling out of your room to the beach (or vice versa) is very handy.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the food generally very good. Lots of beef too, and all well cooked and prepared. The buffet was great, but as mentioned it's a long distance from the beach. The a-la-carte restaurants didn't seem to offer anything different than what was available at the buffet other than a different location. We found the buildings freezing cold via the A/C and in one, the A/C was dripping water on my better half. We asked that that unit be shut off, or we be moved... neither happened.

There are three beach front restos and we discovered the food at the two western most ones much better than the one beside the pool. Hours for accessing the buffet and these restos was odd and sometimes you find yourself hungry and nothing was open. Not a BIG deal, but still.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was awesome! The resort was over-capacity which meant for a very busy beach. The bad was that in order to guarantee you having the chairs and real estate you want, you have to get out there to stake your claim before 8 a.m. or you're SOL.

The beach was, as I said, awesome. Sand was uber soft and the water was great. There is an under-tow on this beach, so little ones must be closely supervised.

Crews were on the beach each morning cleaning up seaweed, and vendors were there selling stuff, but not annoying people at all.

Pools were great. Big and clean and no issues. Grounds are gorgeous and having the shuttle buses to get your around the resort was fantastic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't participate, so can't really comment. Our goal was sun and sand and that's all we did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Stay Wonderful - Airport Line Up of Legalized Beggers"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Mar 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
917 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Bahia Principe twice - Club Diamond and Club Golden. both were excellent - Diamond gives you a private pool, Golden is closest to the beach. We had choice of 4 al a cartes. Buffet was consistently good. People are wonderful and friendly and helpful. So respectful and attentive to elderly guests! Holiday damper always arrives when leaving the country . . . if your luggage is anywhere near the limit,you will be charged (even though no charge at departure point) - their scales are fixed. We paid an extra $24 - people next to us paid an extra $48. What could you possibly buy in Punta Cana to cause your luggage to go overweight? Everyone has their hand out: porters, washroom attendants, photographers, singers, duty free attendants. Honestly, you feel like never going back after going through that for 3 hours (the amount of time they make you wait at the airport).

Room Number:
3206

Room Block:
Villa 3

Arrival:
Private check in for Club Golden - goes pretty quickly. Porters take you to your room.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean and spacious. Robes and slippers provided. Also provided with a fruit plate, t-shirts and decorative swans.

Restaurants and Bars:
Spanish restaurant - massively overcooked meat - inedible. Steakhouse was nice but not our usual type of steak. Italian was the best. Japanese was fun. Buffet was almost always very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean - no seaweed on the beach. Busy in February though - hard to find chairs unless someone gets up early. The problem seems to be that people mark chairs by the pool and then take chairs at the beach and go between them. so you always see empty chairs but you can't use them because they are reserved! Selfish . . .

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities and tours.

Other Comments:
If only someone could make the aiport experience more civilized!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pluses outnumbered the minuses"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ronald  on Feb 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
942 people found this review helpful

This resort is huge. It is clean, well maintained and beautiful. The staff were always friendly, smiling and courteous. The room we had was very nice with appealing decor in my opinion, though the safe nor the alarm clock worked and we had a 15 inch color TV.

Because of its size getting around takes a fair amount of walking or waiting for a tram. We were at this resort for 6 days and were never able to eat ala carte because we had not made reservations before we left home. Don't worry you not go away hungry.

The beach is beautiful with a few topless women which no one seemed to mind or pay attention to. People stake out their chairs by 8 AM and then don't show up until noon. This is kind of peeve that takes place everywhere.
The nightly shows were Ok but don't waste your time with "Black Theatre". By the end of the performance 50% of the audience had gotten up and left.

We came for the weather and in that regard we were not disappointed. Sunny and mid 80's everyday.

Everything was not perfect but the good far outweighed anything negative and we would recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube