Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
31 - 40 of 45

"Beautiful resort but takes a few days to get your bearings."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  jody  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
725 people found this review helpful

Arrived at 09:30 am and proceeded to check in. The desk was very busy but a rep from Signature Vacations - the copmany we booked with passed out envelopes with out info and arm bracelets for the week. We were told we could not go to our rooms until 3PM but could use the resort facilities and eat at the beach restaurant. Everything was very clean and the grounds were beautiful. We were told to meet at 09:30 the next moring for more information from our tour rep. This meeting was quite useless as the accent was too thick and we could not hear what he was saying. We found overall that the staff had problems communicating in English but were much better in Spanish and French. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Beach chairs could be reserved by placing your beach towel on the chairs and this could be done up to 9 am or so. After this time the chairs are all taken. Evening shows were well posted and quite good considering resort staff were uesd. Beware of the water drains at night as several people including us tripped and fell. The swimming pools were very nice and always clean. The beach was very busy and seemed to always too windy for our taste. Overall, our week was very enjoyable and we had a great vacation. If I consider an all inclusive vacation in the future I would perfer a smaller resort as this one was very busy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"understaffed and overcrowded"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  TK  on Apr 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
797 people found this review helpful

This resort was lacking simple ammenities: Pool towels were unavailable, air conditioning wasn't working, rooms weren't cleaned until almost dinner, unfriendly staff

Your Arrival:
Arrival was rushed and confusing. Packets were handed to guests as we arrived on a bus with no verbal information. Rooms were not ready upon arrival. While this is common, no one gave us information as to when.

Rooms:
Not very clean. Outdated.

Restaurants and Bars:
Understaffed. Difficult to find tables at breakfast in particular. Food was mediocre.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach. Limited chairs. Beautiful, well manintained grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
excursion = Marinarium... must see... swim with nurse sharks and sting rays

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort was fantastic"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  CJ  on Mar 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
655 people found this review helpful

Several friends and family went to the Bahai Principe Bavaro in Puna Cana for a wedding. The resort was amazing, people were friendly and all of us would return their again. I would highly recommend this resort - it was fantastic.

Your Arrival:
No problem with the arrival at the airport or at the hotel.

Rooms:
Very clean, well stocked and beautiful. Staff was so friendly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Such variety and the food was amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Our room was just outside the pool, which was beautiful. However we spent most of our time at the beach, which was lovely.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do if you had the time.

Other Comments:
The other problem we had was stamps. Bought some post cards and could notlocate one stamp at the entire resort. However, that was the only blemish on a perfect holiday weekend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never Again"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Craig  on Mar 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
775 people found this review helpful

Let me start off with saying,we are AMERICANS, we are a average couple,50ish in age,have traveled to Mexico 13 times, 3 cruises, and twice to the Dominican Repulic. So we have seen and experienced quite a large field of differences. Our trips have always been to all inclusive resorts.
THIS WAS AT THE " GRAN BAHIA PRINICPE PUNTA CANA BAVARO "

Your Arrival:
When we arrived in the Dominican we were greeted by warm air and smiles, we did not have transfers arranged, so when a baggage guy came up to us and started talking, we asked where to catch a Taxi, with smiles he brought us to where the taxis are, and thanked us, we tipped him a couple of bucks and he was happy. ABSOULTELY NO PROBLEM with finding a Taxi, the cost to our resort was $40 which we found out was the going rate and had no problem paying it, tipped him a $5. Takes about 30 minutes to get there.
Checking into our resort was some what of a hassle, because the really do not speak english very well at all, if any !!! It took us about 20 minutes to finally get a room. Some of the staff are alittle better at thier jobs then others, just like any where. During this transaction I asked which way the beach was and he pointed to his left, then I asked him which way our room was and he pointed to his right, no way was he going to move us closer, but he did let us know there was a pool right outside our building. The POOL was a small shallow piece of cement with 3 COLD whirl pools in it. After we took a trolley to our building ( building 51 ) we started to get a feel for how FOOLISH LARGE this resort is.

Rooms:
We were on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool (LOL), Just about as far from the OCEAN AS POSSIBLE! King size bed, which was extremely firm, Bathroom where very nice with a exceptional shower, just like anywhere you had to rent a Key to Activate the safe, well worth the $26. My wife and I had been bit in the night by bugs, 2 nites in a row, so on the 3rd day, we stripped the pillow cases, sheets, and comforter off and threw them out side our door so the chambermaid would totally understand, she did not speak any english what so ever. Rooms were pretty good size, and air conditioner worked well, as well as the ceiling fan. Very comfortable temp. Plenty of closet space, iron, blow dryer, and your frig was stocked every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
BOOZE, weak, very weak, and your FROZED DRICKS, where not FROZEN, they came out of a chilled slushy machine. This was the only place we have seen that there was a charge for stronger drinks, good scotch, brandy, ETC. OK OK, NOW ABOUT THE FOOD. WHERE SHOULD I START!! COLD, to LUKE warm, now when I say this, please don't say I'm being to picky, it was EXACTLY THAT. Every meal, morning noon and night, and the selection of food was diffenetly catering to the people from germany,Italy,Spain,France, not the Americans, you have a better Quality of food you enjoy in your local buffets. It got so bad, we started making grinders to take back to our room, because of the selection of american food. Once again they the staff did not speak english. They did not even know what a cup of ice was.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One of the nicest beaches we have seen. Clean, Sandy, no Rocks, very very comfortable water temp. Some topless, no major issue, alot of chair saving and then never showing up. Same with the little covered Cabanas. LOL, it got so bad with the saving thing, that if I had not seen anyone show about to the covered cabanas far a few hours, I would throw the towels and books,hats off on to a nearby chair so other peole were able to enjoy them.
Pools down at the beach area where kept up nicely, and very clean. The beer at the snack bars in the beach area were the coldest, food still was cold to luke warm, but the beer was cold!

Other Comments:
Absolutely not American friendly, ( American food,speaking english or lack there of)
We had to take a trolley from our room, to get to the lobby, then take a different trolly to the beach that was about 1/2 mile away from the lobby. To time consuming and inconvient. Did not enjoy it.
To large of a resort, (3500 people and it was booked full)
Staff - did not speak english, and the evening shows were terrible, now we were not expecting las vegas by a long shot, but these people never practiced and it showed, could not even keep in step with ANY and I measn ANY dance routine. Sound system was loud and very blurry, could not uderstand what they were saying, even the few very very broken english words they tried. WE WILL NEVER GO BACK, I HOPE SOME OF YOU READ THIS AND CHANGE YOUR PLANS, YOU WILL BE DISSAPOINTED IF YOU GO. YES THE WATER IS NICE, YES THE WEATHER IS NICE, YES ITS IT JUST PLAIN NICE TO GET AWAY WITH YOUR SPOUCE, HOWEVER YOU WILL NOT LIKE THIS RESORT.
TheY work off of QUANITY, NOT QUALITY !!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort great weather amazing food."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
743 people found this review helpful

Left Montreal December 31 2009 9:00 am flight with Can Jet Airlines,4 hours with no leg room,a sandwich only to eat.i will not fly Can Jet again,will fly Air transat or sunwing,and i think i will go for first class.Four hours is too long to not be comfortable.It took only 30 minutes to get to the hotel.
we had reserved the royal golden deluxe,The difference with the royal golden deluxe.they call it the Esmerelda, there is 4 villas,closest to the beach.the safe is included with the royal deluxe.

Your Arrival:
Rooms are just ammazing, we had a king size bed,jaccuzi in the bathroom
could not ask for moore.

Rooms:
we went to book our a la cartes at 8:30 am the next morning,computer was down.
we went to the pool came back 1 hour later,she gave us 5 ala cartes, instead of 4. the only one we couldn't get was the steak house.we went to the japonese
restaurent, meat was overcooked,has they cook the meat first instead of last
Sushi was great, ambiance fantastic.we went to the Bella Italia.we didn't enjoy it.the main buffet at the principe lobby is huge great food can't complain.over all we did like the food.

Restaurants and Bars:
The beach is beautiful white sand.the pools are great cleaned daily.this is a 5 star hotel, it was my fisrt time in the dominican republic,and we will be returning for 2 weeks next time. we have travelled to cuba 4 times puerta vaillarta , jamaica, and puerto rico, this being the best resort so far,so please do not take in consideration all these negative reviews,some people complain about everything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We went to the casino we did not do any excursions, we just wanted to relax on the beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nightmare Vacation"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  D  on Mar 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
844 people found this review helpful

6th time in the Dominincan, 4th in Punta Cana. All of our other vacations to the Dominican were amazing...and we looked forward to returning before we even left. However after this stay we will not return to a Bahai resort, and we will probably not go back to Punta Cana. We will never deal with Transat!!!!! We hope all other vacationers have a great experience at this resort, and it was obvious the fun many people were having...but we feel we must share our experience.

Your Arrival:
We flew Air Transat. First time with this company. Lots of leg room, but flight attendants refused to smile. They actually yelled at my daughter for not having her table up, when I told them it was due to the fact they had not collected her food or partially full juice, they snapped it up and walked away. Otherwise...good flight.
We were directed to the wrong bus at the Punta Cana airport with another couple. Drove for 1 hr before they simply just dropped us at the Bahai. They were not expecting us, and after a long debate drove us to the Esmeralda part of the resort. After another 30 min, alot of Spanish and tension we were told we were not staying there. Then we were taken back to the lobby (soaken wet with our Canadian clothes still on) and very thirsty (could not get a drink due to no wrist bands). Another 30 min or so and they found our room with the Golden Club. Keep in mind, I had my Hotel Voucher with me and let everyone read it several times. Finally got the package with wrist bands and we were taken to our room.

Rooms:
Upon entering our room with the Bell Boy, we quickly noticed we had been put in a room that had yet to be cleaned. The family/group before us sure had a good time...the room was a disaster. We knew if we left, we probably were not getting another room and the Bell Boy told us not to worry and to get settled. Hot, sweaty and very irritable...we slipped into our bathing suits in disgust, locked our stuff in our suitcases in the corner (had not been told about a safe) and ventured to the beach...without towels !!!

Restaurants and Bars:
You are pre-assigned your 4 a-la-cartes. Which is good and bad. Great to have the opportunity to actually get into 4 during your 7 day stay, but the times meant an early day from the beach in order to get cleaned up. We used 2 of them and enjoyed the atmosphere at both. The main buffet on alternate nights was always good, and very clean. We enjoyed breakfast over looking the Ocean every morning and it was beautiful. Snack bars by the pool and beach crowded and hard to find a table...but enjoyed by the kids several times a day.
The bar staff were wonderful and entertaining at the main pool bar (both swim up and walk up). The male bar staff at the Sports bar very accomodating and friendly. They went out of their way to get the Canada Hockey Game on every night and cheered along with us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds lovely. Always people working and quick to say Ola !!
Pools clear and warm. Beach clean with lots of chairs. Towel guy at main pool irritable always and refused to change towels at the end of the day. We didn't have bath towels so we tried to get fresh beach towels before getting cleaned up for the night but he refused. We ended up keeping them and getting new ones in the morning..only to be yelled at daily for not handing them in for washing over the night. I explained every day our dillema...he simply did not care.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Hardly saw the entertainment staff, which was dissapointing for our kids. They did do alot of activities but due to the size of the resort it was hard to know what was going on when. Staff didn't cirulate as they did at the other resorts we visited and didn't try to get the tourists involved. We did see the Lion King and Michael Jackson...3+ maybe. Not sure of the off resort activities since we missed the Transat Tour meeting, and when we asked our rep about it, she didn't answer but told us to look around.

Other Comments:
Our girls (18yrs)were coming home from the Karoke one night and took the trolly to our room. Upon exiting the trolly the driver summoned them to him, and they went. He then opened his phone and showed them a video of a Bull having sex with a woman, all the while talking Spanish to them. They were terrified and ran quickly to the room. Their vacation changed from that moment on...as did ours. We finally went on the long walk with determination to find the Transat Tour Lady the next morning and went through all of our concerns (even though we had discussed them to Golden Club earlier twice with no luck). She was vaguely interested in the room and getting lost issues...but jumped when told of the video stating he would be fired immediatley and wanted more info. We declined at that moment, fearing the girls would be targeted by other staff and agreed to give all info as we signed out. She agreed this would be best for the girls and agreed to meet...however never showed up at check out time and we could not find her...not surprised !! He is still lurking around......

Other concerns:
No face clothes. No bath towels for all of us. Room never swept (big insect of some type was dead at the base of our patio doors all week) we left him there as our check. Bar fridge filled 2 times all week..we really only needed the water and had to get our own. Our rep actually told us to brush our teeth with tap water, which in the past was a huge NO.

CHECK OUT:
Again...no Transat Rep around. Quick and efficiant sign out at the Golden Club. We saw a group from our flight entering a bus at our designated time. I asked the Nolitours rep if it was our flight and he said yes to get the family and luggage. I told him we were Transat and he said no problem. Once on the bus they asked us to leave. We said ok but needed to get our luggage. They said no, our luggage would be at the airport for us when we got there. We refused to get off without it. Finally at his insistence we were leaving, and he quickly said "go sit back and stay" then came and explained numbers (no clue what he was saying, but realized other Transat people on the bus were looking quite concerned ). I wanted to speak with Transat Tours...but could not find anyone. We stayed on the bus...and cheered when we arrived at the airport and new we would soon be in Canada to celebrate our Gold medal wins !!!
It was the best feeling ever to be home...and that is a first for all of us. It is especially disappointing when you go through the propper channels with your concerns and no one cares...hence the reason I am writing this review.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent resort, good food, great beach, friendly staff, "

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bill  on Feb 26, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
768 people found this review helpful

I visited the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro from Feb 5 - 12, 2010. The weather was beautiful each day and I avoided two major east coast snow storms while I was there. I have been to 20 or 30 all inclusive resorts, including five or so in Punta Cana. I purchased this trip as an Apple Vacations "Square Deal". It was among the best resorts for the money I've been to. The resort is located directly in front of the Astron shipwreck.

Your Arrival:
When we arrived at the resort a person from guest services pulled us out of line at the front desk and took us to a corner of the lobby and gave us a very quick briefing about the hotel, gave us our room keys, room assignment, towel cards and reservations for two nights at two of the specialty restaurants. It was among the fastest and best done check-in procedures I've seen.

Rooms:
Our room was a junior suite, as all rooms are, it was large with a big bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, good sized sleeping area and a smallish sitting area with a table, two chairs and a sofa bed. The TV was a small tube style TV with 30 or 40 channels, mostly in Spanish. The room also had a balcony. We were on the third floor. All of the rooms are in three story buildings.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet restaurant is off the lobby and is very nicely decorated. I I thought the food was very good while also pretty typical of what you find at the nicer all inclusive resorts. The buffet restaurant is air conditioned. The buffet was well set up with several stations which allowed for better than average traffic flow. At each meal we were greeted by a very friendly hostess and shown to a table immediately. There are also restaurants by the beach that serve breakfast and lunch with a more limited, but still good, variety of food. We went to just one specialty restaurant, which was the Japanese one. The food was good, the decor was nice. This is a very large resort and has several bars. There are four or more pools, each with a pool bar. The lobby bar is very nice. There is a bar in the theater and bars by the beach. The service at the bars and restaurants varied from super attentive and fast to "when did I become invisible". I'm not sure there is a real method for which servers take drink orders for which tables. I never felt I was being intentionally ignored, but sometimes it was hard to get a drink, but at other times I'd be asked three times what I'd like within one or two minutes. When I was at a bar and not a table service was always very fast.
There's an excellent selection of liquor in the lobby bar with top shelf brands available to guests who upgrade to the appropriate wrist band color.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort is really large. It is nicely landscaped and exceptionally clean. The distances between the beach, our room and the lobby was pretty big. I think it's about 1/4 mile form the lobby to the beach, so if you walk back and forth to your room, meals, pools and the beach you can log a lot of miles. There are trams that run constantly too. The beach is wide and long. On parts of it the palm trees form a canopy and you can find shade without a thatched umbrella. There are many thatched umbrella's and even though the resort seemed near full I could always find one. As with most resorts the "best" locations were staked out early. It was not as easy to find an umbrella by any of the several pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I did not do any off resort trips. The nightly shows are typical of all inclusives. Over the years I've seen enough hotel staff lip syncing songs and attempting to dance for one lifetime.

Other Comments:
The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro is a great resort with good food, a friendly staff, a beautiful beach and large rooms. I wouldn't mind if it was more compact but that's not really a fault with the resort.
Internet is $15 a day (unless you have upgraded to the "gold" section) and only works in the lobby, and even then, not very well. This seemed unreasonably expensive to me. They offered a good selection of things to do in the evening evening including karaoke, a casino, shows, music in the lobby, food available all night long, several bars and a disco.
For me this resort easily rates 4 out of 5.

Photos: http://www.billsphotos.com/GranBahiaPrincipeBavaro2010.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No Better Place for a Wedding!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandie  on Feb 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
862 people found this review helpful

Wow! For a large resort they do most everything very well.
We travelled as a group for our daughter's wedding and have to say that it was wonderful. Jasmine, the wedding planner was terrific and definitely went above and beyond to make sure the wedding and dinner were as we wanted. Kuddo's to Jasmine. The ceremony was on the beach with a musical trio playing. An aisle was decorated with flowers and led up to the arch where the ceremony took place. The ocean provided a beautiful backdrop (except for the folks who think it's cool to be in a strangers wedding photos - no prob. we'll just air brush you away!) The chairs were all done up with covers and ribbons and everything looked wonderful. It was a traditional but still casual ceremony. Of course, it goes without saying that the Bride and Groom were radiant! The judge speaks Spanish and Jasmine translates but that didn't detract from it at all. At my daughter's request we had a sand ceremony which was very nice. She used sand from home and from the beach there. The wedding dinner was in the Italian Resaurant - Il Capriccio. Although we had chosen to have the dinner in the public area of the restaurant, they did it up so beautifully that it might as well have been a private reception. They decorated the table with the items we had brought and added flowers and flair. Judy was the maitre d' and was extremely helpful,he even checked with the bride before each course to be sure the timing was okay. The wedding cake was 3 layers and delicious! There was no way we could eat it all after our delicious meal so we asked the staff to enjoy it later. We were able to do toasts and all those good things. It was truly a great wedding!

Your Arrival:
Arrived via Air Canada Vacations out of Toronto at 1pm. Customs and Immigration was a breeze even though there was another plane load of people arriving at the same time. We were bussed to our hotel with a minmum of fuss and check in was relatively simple. As expected our rooms were not ready and we spent a lot of time sitting in the lobby waiting. After a little lunch our rooms were ready and they loaded up our luggage and took us off to our home away from home.

Rooms:
Our rooms were just as we requested, on the ground floor and together for the older group with the young adults a little further away. Rooms are clean and spacious. Some nights we received exta "warm" towels and some morning our room was decorated with flowers, towel art and balloons. We definitely felt welcome. Our room was always cleaned in the morning - perhaps it helped to have the "make up room" sign out by 9 am.

Restaurants and Bars:
2 Alacarte's were chosen for us (the whole group) and we weren't sure we liked that. We could have tried to change the reservations but in the end it didn't matter what restaurants we went to. Our favourite was the Japanese. It's nice to have someone cooking in front of you and the food was good. All of the other restaurants would have a buffet for appetisers and dessert but you order the main course from the menu. The selection of appetisers was awesome at every restaurant. The lamb as a main course was excellent but the lobster was way overdone. You never went away hungry. They were very accomodating the 2 of us that had alllergies, offering at every meal to make us something different if need be.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We were upgraded to diamond bracelets which allowed us access to the Diamond Pool and the restaurant nearby for breakfast and lunch. That was one of the best features. We had no problem getting chairs at the pool in the morning and would get 8 for our group. Some of us went to the beach which was very crowded. They certainly pack you in! We are shade lovers and there is an area with lots of palm trees so it was relatively easy to find chairs in the shade and then move about as the sun changed locations. Sand flies were a problem. Although we never saw them biting we had lumps and bumps, that appeared as hives later. My daughter, the bride, was severely affected. Some people were distressed by this others were okay. In the end, although a beach person by preference, I opted for the pool.

The grounds are beautiful, very well kept. They can do things with a macheti that are unbelievable.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were activities around the pools (not the Diamond pool - yeah) and at the beach but we managed to not be distracted by them. The shows in the evening varied some really cheezee, others were pretty good. They had new shows most of the nine nights we were there.
Most evening we spent on the terrace, drinking cappucinos and "Chocolate Monkeys" and followed it up with a train ride, twice around the resort.

Other Comments:
It would be convinient if the trolleys all met at a hub and you could transfer to different lines. Sometimes getting to the restaurants or the Ambar was a challenge for those with mobility issuse.

It was a great resort, the weather was terrific (only 30 mins rain at breakfast one day!)and a great time was had by all!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Beautiful Paradise!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Terri B  on Feb 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
712 people found this review helpful

This was our first holiday as a family and it was wonderful. We had 2 adults, and 3 boys 17, 17 & 18, and we also went with another family of 6 - 2 adults, 3 girls 18, 17, 13 and one boy 11. The weather was hot during our entire stay. We had a shower once during the day for 10 minutes otherwise it was hot during the day and warm at night. The day we left December 24th we were at the beach until 11:00 am then came back to the room to pack up to go home and then the rain came.

Your Arrival:
We arrived December 17, 2009 at 4:30 pm. The weather was so warm compared to what we left behind in Edmonton, Canada. Going through the Punta Cana airport was fast and organized. The buses waiting to take people to the resorts were all properly labeled. The ride from the airport to the resort was approx. 25 minutes. The driver and tour guide on the bus were very helpful and had everyone's information for their resorts except for us. The reason being is that instead of us staying at the Gran Bahia Punta Cana, they upgraded us to the Esmeralda. We arrived at the main lobby, and then a driver grabbed our luggage and drove us to our resort. The staff at the front desk were very friendly. We were greeted with a cool towel and a drink. They were very accomodating by giving us 2 rooms joined.

Rooms:
The boys room had 2 double beds, and our room had a king size bed. The rooms were grand and fit for a king and queen. The bathroom had a rain shower, a jacuzzi tub and 2 sinks. Everything in the bathroom was in marble, and had a window to the room, which you could easily pull the curtain over it. The rooms were clean, the air conditioning worked, the maid service was wonderful, they cleaned the rooms daily, left fresh towels, fresh pillows and towel art on the beds daily. They even came back in the evening to turn down our beds. The rooms also had a couch that pulled out to a bed, there was a table with 2 chairs and a balconey. We were on the main floor, so I would go out to the balconey to warm up because my husband was enjoying the air conditioning to much. The balconey had a table with 2 chairs. Our rooms were non smoking, but you could go out on the balconey to have a smoke. Sitting on the balconey in the late evening was very warm and calming.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were very good. We ecspecially liked the Japanese restaurant. The buffets at our resort had a vast variety of food. They had all kinds of meat, fish, soups, pasta, vegetables, fruit, cakes... you name it they had it. The buffets had a different them everyday from canadian, italian, chinese, american to mexican. They still had alot of your basic foods as well. The buffets breakfasts, lunches and suppers were just a good if not better than some of the A La Cartes.We tried other buffets at the resorts and they were the same as ours, very good. The bars whether at the main lobby, or the lobby at our resort, or the swim up bars. The people there work very hard to please us, and we had a wonderful time. Manwell, and Abraham are the best bartenders at the swim up bar, and the bar at Esmeralda. We had a great time and a lot of laughs with them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was gorgeous, there was plenty of chairs, as well as the sun huts. The kids played beach volleyball everyday. They had games at the beach, they had a bar at the beach, and they also had security which you didn't see unless something went wrong, then they were there immediately. The sand is so soft and white. The overall smell of the outdoors had a floral hint to it. The grounds at the resort were immaculate. There was always someone working on the grounds either doing the plants, painting the borders, cleaning up dead leaves, sweeping the walkways, or cleaning the tables at the pools.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always something going on day or night. During the day there was plenty happening at the beach, the pools had activities, there was snorkling lessons, they had excursions to go on. There was a market on the resort you could do some shopping, they had a mini golf course, a spa, the kids even went and played basketball at the courts, but only lasted 15 minutes, it was to hot for them to play. Again the weather was great!! The evening had shows at the main theater like 80's show, The lion King and Michael Jackson look a like. The shows were very entertaining. The main lobby had a big meeting place you could sit and visit and have a drink. It was a nice place to meet other people.

Other Comments:
I don't have one bad thing to say about this resort, they spent alot of time trying to please everyone that stayed there, and they even went out of there way to make your stay there enjoyable. The people there are friendly, and funny. English isn't a language barrier there, because they try so hard to please everyone. I would definitely return to this hotel, and I would 100% recommend the Gran Bahia Principe to anyone and everyone. I can hardly wait to go back there again!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Two reasons for a Four Star rating"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kayne  on Feb 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
756 people found this review helpful

Recently back from the Bahia and will keep this short.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was a pleasant surprise, rather than stand in line at the front desk we were escorted to take a seat and brought a cold drink. The receptionist came to us to check us in. Before our departure we had written the resort telling them that we were repeat guests, we asked for any available upgrades but didn't know what we would get. Well, at first it didn't seem like we would be getting anything but then a second lady from the front desk came over, confirmed who we were and then proceeded to cut off our bracelets and replace them with the VIP ones! Wow, we were spoiled every where we went. Not that manners and some small tips hurt but still amazing.

Rooms:
The room was huge and gorgeous. The only issue I had was that the shower would keep cutting out almost as if there wasn't enough water pressure to keep it flowing. We were on the third floor though. Oh yeah, one morning while enjoying my coffee while waiting for my sister to get ready to go, a man came around the corner from the next balcony onto ours to clean cobwebs from the ceiling! Good thing I had on the bathrobe, LOL!! He took me quite by surprise! Dangerous too, the rooms must have 10ft ceilings.

Restaurants and Bars:
All excellent. Had one piece of fish that was undercooked (out of 30 so that's not bad.) Garden Grill had the best steak I've had in a long time, yummy.
Here comes bad point number one: the liquor was all watered down! I'm not that big a drinker but it still really bothered me, a lot. Tried ordering doubles but even that didn't cut it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Spectacular everywhere.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did one catamaran tour, basically a snorkel booze cruise. Had a blast. Not the best snorkelling I've done, there was another boat out at the same time and it was way too crowded to try and see any fish. When I went away from the group out on my own, I got called back closer. Oh well, their rum wasn't watered down.

Other Comments:
Here comes bad point number two: the resort was too big. Didn't like meeting people and then not seeing them again for the entire week we were there. Beach too crowded.
Amazing staff, polite and courteous.
Wouldn't go back because of the liquor or size.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube