Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
41 - 46 of 45

"Villa 29 was home for a week"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Barb  on Feb 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1572 people found this review helpful

We chose the Dominican Republic because every trip to Mexico resulted in at least one day of sickness. NO PROBLEMS AT THIS RESORT!! Every thing was very clean and the hot food was hot and the cold food was cold. I thought the wait staff and customer service was fantastic. They were always smiling and never seemed to expect to receive a tip (even though I do believe in tipping and tried to reward them). On our previous trips to the Cancun area it was sometimes hard to get a drink without currency in hand. Not so at this place. They always replied to a thank you with "mucha gusto", it pleases me much. Speaking of drinks, they were GOOD. The buffets always had a good assortment. The Garden Grill Steak House was excellant as was the japanese hibachi. I would not recommend the El Mason Spanish ala carte. The Michael Jackson show and the Circus show at the nightly theatre were very good. The other shows just OK. Book any excursions after you arrive the resort not ahead of time. Had some issues with that but not the resorts fault. We were part of the Diamond club which provided us a designated pool area. Liked that alot. Not as crowded and chairs available. Nice lobby/bar area to socialize after a day in the sun. We will go back

Arrival:
check is very smooth

Rooms:
bed was small but nice size room. Bring your own face clothes, only bath and handtowels provided.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good drinks. Liked main buffet best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Large resort but many trolleys always running from end to end. Never a long wait for a ride

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not take advantage of activites on site. Did excursions and relaxed at pool/beach.

Other Comments:
Don't let negative reviews scare you off. I was very pleased with our vacation

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort great weather amazing food."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
743 people found this review helpful

Left Montreal December 31 2009 9:00 am flight with Can Jet Airlines,4 hours with no leg room,a sandwich only to eat.i will not fly Can Jet again,will fly Air transat or sunwing,and i think i will go for first class.Four hours is too long to not be comfortable.It took only 30 minutes to get to the hotel.
we had reserved the royal golden deluxe,The difference with the royal golden deluxe.they call it the Esmerelda, there is 4 villas,closest to the beach.the safe is included with the royal deluxe.

Your Arrival:
Rooms are just ammazing, we had a king size bed,jaccuzi in the bathroom
could not ask for moore.

Rooms:
we went to book our a la cartes at 8:30 am the next morning,computer was down.
we went to the pool came back 1 hour later,she gave us 5 ala cartes, instead of 4. the only one we couldn't get was the steak house.we went to the japonese
restaurent, meat was overcooked,has they cook the meat first instead of last
Sushi was great, ambiance fantastic.we went to the Bella Italia.we didn't enjoy it.the main buffet at the principe lobby is huge great food can't complain.over all we did like the food.

Restaurants and Bars:
The beach is beautiful white sand.the pools are great cleaned daily.this is a 5 star hotel, it was my fisrt time in the dominican republic,and we will be returning for 2 weeks next time. we have travelled to cuba 4 times puerta vaillarta , jamaica, and puerto rico, this being the best resort so far,so please do not take in consideration all these negative reviews,some people complain about everything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We went to the casino we did not do any excursions, we just wanted to relax on the beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time at Gran Bahia Principe in Punta Cana"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
969 people found this review helpful

We were at the Bahia Principe from Feb 21 to Feb 28, 2011.

Overall, it was a fantastic experiece. The resort is well kept, grounds are stunning, the beach is unbeatable, the food was great, rooms were clean and safe, bars were good, althought here was sometimes a language issue when ordering drinks... but staff were super friendly and helpful.

Specific comments are below, but I have to say the most annoying issue we had on this vacation were the French Canadian tourists. I've heard all sorts of bad things about 'them' but never seen any evidence, until this trip. I guess because we flew out of Ottawa, we had a large number of Quebecers on the flight. They were rude in boarding (pushing, shoving and then taking their time to pull stuff out of their carry-on when the plane was boarding - and similarly stupidly slow when de-planing).

On the bus at the resort, they were pushing and shoving to get off, would bud in line at check in, bud in line at the buffet in the resort, we had a chair 'stolen' one day when we left the beach for lunch, despite leaving a towel and clothes on the chair. I've never seen such rudeness and general selfishness from any one group of people.

I don't want to tar all French Canadians as rude, but holy cow it seemed everyone who was FC at our resort was seriously short of the 'respect and politeness' gene.

Anyway, the resort offered wifi in the lobby only, and I saw lots of people with their laptops surfing. They offer free internet access to Royal Golden guests and I went online twice. First time was a waste of time... unbelievably slow connection. Second time was way better.

All in all, the Bahai Principe Punta Cana was a great experiece for us. Any negative comments below are mostly picking nits. I would recommend this resort to anyone as we all had an awesome time. I wouldn't return to it however, only because there are so many other places to see/stay... but I would return to Punta Cana for sure. The Riu next door looked amazing and we're intrigued to see what it would be like.

Room Number:
1208

Room Block:
Royal Golden

Arrival:
We departed from Ottawa via a 6 a.m. flight. Our travel agent told us to be there three hours in advance, as the operator (transat vacation) closes their desk one hour before take off time, regardless of who's in the line. No one likes to get up at 2:15 a.m. but we did and much to our surprise, the airport was open, but we had to wait 2+ hours after we got through security. oh well

THe flight was via Canjet. Seats were cramped and service not the greatest on the flight.

Arrived on time and was struck by how beautiful the Punta Cana airport is. Thatched roof and waaay nicer than the airports in Puerta Plata and Veradero (my only other two caribbean airports I've been to). The airport itself was clean, well lit and easy to navigate. Operators were easy to find once through customs and the bus was pretty quick in getting us to the resort (about a 20 min ride). The Transat 'host' was kind of annoying as we found him over the top with his 'rah-rah you're in punta Canada, no stress' crap... That stresed me out. LOL

Check in was via the Royal Golden check in. Rooms were not ready but they gave us a place to change and to watch our bags. We went back to the bags a couple of times, and the bellman asked each time if we were the owners.

Once we got to the rooms, they were great and in the building over looking the seafood resto, next to the beach. :) There was a minor mix up in room prep (previous guests left the 'do not disturb' sign on their door and then checked out... idiots... but management was awesome about it.

Rooms:
Rooms were spacious and clean, albeit a bit dark. The bathroom was particularly dark with not enough lighting. We had an adjoining room with the kids (20 and 17) and had some issues getting the safe to work, but it eventualy decided to co-operate.

We paid for Royal Golden service which included an evening bed turn down. We only got this service twice in a week. Also a few times we returned to our room at 5 p.m. to find it still not cleaned, despite the kid's room being cleaned. NOT impressed with that and found we had to put out the 'please clean our room' sign to ensure it was cleaned in the morning.

Also part of the Royal Golden service was a promised 'club house' exclusive to RG guests, that featured a private pool and news papers, etc. The place doesn't exist. Resort people were counfounded by this when I asked where the private pool and louge were. There is a private pool, but only for 'Diamond' guests. Transat will be hearing about this, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment. The only real benefit of Royal Golden serivce is the 24 hour room service (although a VERY limited menu) and being right next to the beach. The resort is HUGE and it would suck to be almost 1km walk from the beach. They do have a shuttle service but stumbling out of your room to the beach (or vice versa) is very handy.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the food generally very good. Lots of beef too, and all well cooked and prepared. The buffet was great, but as mentioned it's a long distance from the beach. The a-la-carte restaurants didn't seem to offer anything different than what was available at the buffet other than a different location. We found the buildings freezing cold via the A/C and in one, the A/C was dripping water on my better half. We asked that that unit be shut off, or we be moved... neither happened.

There are three beach front restos and we discovered the food at the two western most ones much better than the one beside the pool. Hours for accessing the buffet and these restos was odd and sometimes you find yourself hungry and nothing was open. Not a BIG deal, but still.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was awesome! The resort was over-capacity which meant for a very busy beach. The bad was that in order to guarantee you having the chairs and real estate you want, you have to get out there to stake your claim before 8 a.m. or you're SOL.

The beach was, as I said, awesome. Sand was uber soft and the water was great. There is an under-tow on this beach, so little ones must be closely supervised.

Crews were on the beach each morning cleaning up seaweed, and vendors were there selling stuff, but not annoying people at all.

Pools were great. Big and clean and no issues. Grounds are gorgeous and having the shuttle buses to get your around the resort was fantastic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't participate, so can't really comment. Our goal was sun and sand and that's all we did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Resort, Great Food, Friendly Staff"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kay  on May 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1121 people found this review helpful

GIFT STORE- souveneirs are reasonably priced, becareful for alcohol buys if it is not duty free. they have most US/CAD products you may NEED.

SERVICE - They are amazing staff. usually ONE USD dollar is enough of a tip as it converts to approx. 45 Pesos +/-.

TRANSPORT - they have shuttle trolleys every 5 mins to and from the main lobby to the beach - its not far to walk if you want to, but a nice ride if you need it.

$4/night for the safe
don't leave money out or the maid might take it as a tip.
Almost EVERY drink is included - see menu at the sandbar for foreign drafts/brandy/specialty drinks.

Leaving - ask the receptionist to call and give her the money to pay for a cab - you may get it less than $38 USD if no shuttle.

Airport - has an IMMENSE WAIT TIME - and have at least 12 different checkpoints. International coming into the states/cda has so many restrictions its a bit too much - but you have to go thru it unfortunately.

Leave enough time for connecting flights as they tend to get delayed on the field going into the states ( ours was birds on the field, then checking baggages etc) we had two hours between and we still missed our connecting flight.
if it is the airports fault insist on getting a hotel voucher instead of paying yourself for an overnight stay for the next flight out.

OVERALL - Completely worth the trip and awesome stay - great memories and a very relaxing time.


Arrival:
Get a shuttle to the resort or pay 38 USD dollars for a private cab ride. Everything is monitored from the airport so the cab drivers cannot cheat you. We exchanged CAD and USD dollars at the airport - waste because they underrate you obviously and the locals prefer USD dollar bills as payment or tip rather than Pesos.

Shockingly - they charge $10 per person getting off the plane as 'an entry into the country fee' - couldn't argue so we paid.

Getting into the lobby at reception we were greeted with refreshing drinks.
**Careful tho- the receptionist basically flat out asked for a BRIBE to put us in a beachfront villa** Glad we said no because our villa was halfway between the pool and the main indoor buffet (needed if you want airconditioned meals as opposed to beachside buffets - still nice but mid-day is a bit hot) He seemed to be the only 'bribed' staff.

Also be cautious of the lobby - they say to go on a 10 mins free helicopter ride, or win this and that if you listen for 10 mins to them... its a timeshare scam, just say no thank you, walk away and they wont bother you again.

Restaurants and Bars:

any ala carte restuarants book the day off your stay, because they fill fast... we waited till the second last day so didn't get any reservations - but were not at all disappointed because the main buffet was excellent

FOOD - at the main dinning buffet area - great choices - changed everyday to a different theme. had the plain hotdog, hamburger, fries for those that dont like flavour, and then had the variety section based on themes, then standard salads, desserts etc. some with the theme flavours (e.g. Japanese, Mexican, Dominican, Italian, Canadian, French, etc)

For babies they give a whole carton of milk if you ask for it instead of a cup (its usually 1% with added calcium) we had no choice but to use that - and our baby didn't seem to have a problem.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THINGS to bring - Lots of ONE DOLLAR BILLS for tipping, Conditioner, sun tan lotions, toothpaste/brush, your basic necessities you can't do without if they dont have it in the room.

No need for towels they have a beach towel and room service.

They have room umbrellas for use.

Vast grounds, impeccably manicured lawns.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Don't leave the resort - not worth it.

TONS of activities to do within the resort - but expensive (individually or per family) - altho seems like you can negotiate prices because they WANT you to sign up, if not one person then the whole family.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Stay Wonderful - Airport Line Up of Legalized Beggers"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Mar 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
917 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Bahia Principe twice - Club Diamond and Club Golden. both were excellent - Diamond gives you a private pool, Golden is closest to the beach. We had choice of 4 al a cartes. Buffet was consistently good. People are wonderful and friendly and helpful. So respectful and attentive to elderly guests! Holiday damper always arrives when leaving the country . . . if your luggage is anywhere near the limit,you will be charged (even though no charge at departure point) - their scales are fixed. We paid an extra $24 - people next to us paid an extra $48. What could you possibly buy in Punta Cana to cause your luggage to go overweight? Everyone has their hand out: porters, washroom attendants, photographers, singers, duty free attendants. Honestly, you feel like never going back after going through that for 3 hours (the amount of time they make you wait at the airport).

Room Number:
3206

Room Block:
Villa 3

Arrival:
Private check in for Club Golden - goes pretty quickly. Porters take you to your room.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean and spacious. Robes and slippers provided. Also provided with a fruit plate, t-shirts and decorative swans.

Restaurants and Bars:
Spanish restaurant - massively overcooked meat - inedible. Steakhouse was nice but not our usual type of steak. Italian was the best. Japanese was fun. Buffet was almost always very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean - no seaweed on the beach. Busy in February though - hard to find chairs unless someone gets up early. The problem seems to be that people mark chairs by the pool and then take chairs at the beach and go between them. so you always see empty chairs but you can't use them because they are reserved! Selfish . . .

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities and tours.

Other Comments:
If only someone could make the aiport experience more civilized!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Time..."

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvie  on Jun 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
1288 people found this review helpful

I have to say that it was an awesome resort. Great friendly staff, great food, and very clean. We went a group of 5 women and we were treated well. We are now going back in October / 11.
I would recommend it to everyone.
Thank You
Sylvie

Room Number:
32110

Room Block:
Villa 32 / Club Diamond Section

Rooms:
Rooms were cleaned every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Italien was very good and the B.B.Q also.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool and beach were clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube