Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Bahia Principe Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

Riu Palace Macao

4.6 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2014

Bahia Principe Punta Cana  

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Awful service and dirty "
Posted by: Michelle on Jun 6, 2017
see all reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#11
of 80 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.4

Based on 45 reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Information


Gran Bahía Príncipe Punta Cana is set above a beach of white sand, with 500 m of beach front. It extends over 500,000 m² and has numerous tropical gardens and gorgeous walking paths refreshed with the soft sea breezes and natural surroundings.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Reviews

Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.4 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  13
Average
  5
Poor
  5
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (41)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
With friend (7)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
41 - 46 of 45

"Robbed"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
1932 people found this review helpful

Don't go stay away worst experience ever we were robbed while sleeping We arrived Feb 23rd and were robbed the very next evening we stayed in room 77208 I later learned when I returned home that so were other people Robbed. The manager of the hotel didn't not care did not help and they made you feel like a criminal. Not once did anyone say sorry to us. They can't speak english so it was very hard to communicate. The balcany door has only a pin hole to lock, we found our carry on bag on the balcany and look out for the maids I think they are working with someone My husband and I could have been killed hurt or raped and my daughter and her friend were in the next room which I don't even want to think of what could have happened. Sunquest also was no help one of them said to me Did you go to oreintation I said no I travel every year for the past 20 years I don't need to hear Sooo he was implying that if I went it would have helped me I don't think so. You are suppose to be safe in your resort not at this hotel.

Room Number:
77208

Room Block:
77

Arrival:
FEb 23rd

Rooms:
unsafe

Restaurants and Bars:
terrible except for the Japanese

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Other Comments:
Don't go you will be robbed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Huge Resort - Excellent Service"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on May 9, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1505 people found this review helpful

The Ambar is one of many resorts in One BIG resort. I was looking at the various resorts and their ratings on Trip Advisor and on Bahia website. The impression I had was that each resort is separate. After my trip I realized that this in fact is not the case at all. Furthermore, when you visit and stay on your little resort, you will miss many other activities that go on. The best way to explain this is when my wife and I walked the properties of Bahia Principe we found them to be like boroughs and that each borough has a Main hall where the guests of that particular borough can check in, get guest services, help and have access to other specific services and tours. We suggest you take a walk, a ride on the little trolley trains and get to know the shopping, casino, and theaters at the Bavaro (if you are not staying there).

To fully understand the resort and to get a heads up before your vacation, I have made a video explaining the complete resort and posted it on YouTube.

YouTube Video at http://youtu.be/BYLkRjYpdjk

Would I Go Back?

Yes and no. It was clean and had everything with respect to beach, pool, dining and drinking (all you can drink).

My wife and I do not drink anymore and eat very healthy so we will be looking for resorts that offer more activities such as archery, horseback riding, arts and crafts etc...

But in conclusion, there was nothing that happened that would keep us from going back, especially if a bunch of friends were to go.

Room Number:
forgot

Room Block:
forgot

Arrival:
We travelled with Air Transat and they took care of the connections and orientation.

Rooms:
Facilities:

We found the rooms, grounds and all things extremely clean and well kept. After visiting the other resorts, the Ambar is the most luxurious, especially because of some of the added features that their guests have and the other resort guests do not have. An example of this is that the AMBAR guests can eat out at any restaurant every night that they are there (reservations required) while the other resorts allow only 3 night out per week and the balance must be in one of the many buffet style restaurants either on the beach or in the main lobby entrance area.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food:

We found the food from good to great depending at which restaurant or buffet that you visit. As you will see from the video, this place is HUGE! So the challenge of preparing food that everyone likes is in my opinion almost impossible. For example, we had reservations to a fine Italian Restaurant one night. The menu offered many wonderful choices from stuffed fillets to pasta and more. However, we noticed the people next to us ordered a Pizza? So as you can see, they have to cater to all types of appetites and they seem do it well. In fact, my wife and I eat very healthy at home (Green Smoothies, no wheat, red meat etc...) and we were worried that we would get sick. That was not the case at all! In fact we did not even gain a pound. Additionally at the Ambar, there is also 24-hour room service.

With all that said, the restaurants that take reservations offer a fairly good meal but because there are so many people to serve and to sit every evening, the meals are rushed and served quickly, almost head spinning quick. For example, at the Japanese restaurant, we had reservations for 7:15 and as we sat down the waiter took our order. The soup arrived within a minute and the sushi plates about three minutes thereafter. By 8:00 we were done? That is a little quick. I have had better Miso Soup but the sushi was great!

We found the water is safe to drink and their food cleanliness is excellent. When entering any dining place, there was always a woman to greet you and you had to have disinfectant cream squirted on your hands before you entered the restaurant. I do not think that people have to worry about getting food sickness other than eating and drinking too much.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach and Pool:

Remember that the AMBAR is for adults only so the guests from other resorts cannot enter but the AMBAR guests can go everywhere. So there are no children at the pool or on the beach directly in front of the AMBAR.

We thought the beach was one of the nicest we had seen and the pools are lovely. There was white plenty of white sand on the beach and huge pools with sit in bars and so on. We are not the type to sit around in the sun at the pool side or the beach, but we did notice the towel reservation game that happened every morning between 8:00 to 8:30 whereby people would place their towels to reserve a lounge chair on either the beach or pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursions:

We did the Dolphin Adventure and a Snorkeling Adventure. I have videos available for both if you are interested in planning a similar trip. Both trips were fun and we did not experience and problems at all. Remember to bring water and sunscreen!

Dolphins - http://youtu.be/ZbLMFe0kAGE
Snorkeling - http://youtu.be/U0x1ztGeTo4

Other Comments:
The Staff:

Obviously most of the staff speaks Spanish with little or no English except for the waiters. However, we found that they were all very friendly, professional and helpful. We speak French and English but wish we spoke Spanish to better interact with the staff and locals.

Tipping:

You are expected to tip and tips are much appreciated. For example, I spoke to a guest services representative one evening who told me that she was a student from Costa Rica and was completing her education program by working there FOR FREE for six months to get experience. They host her in a small room with 6 other women. So you can imagine how she would appreciate a few extra dollars. Generally I was tipping about 5.00 USD each meal and personally gave it to the waiter or server who provided me with the service. Additionally, I had brought baseball cards (new in small packs) and handed those out for tips as well since they really like baseball in Punta Cana.

Videos: http://youtu.be/BYLkRjYpdjk

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware BED BUGS"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Manda  on Apr 25, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
1580 people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Grand Bahia Principe in Punta Cana was less the enjoyable.

We stayed with the Grand Bahia Pricipe in Punta Cana between the dates of April 12th to the 19th and I have a few major concerns with our stay and our experience.

#1 We had to deal with an infestation of Bed bugs in our room that didn't seem to completely show up until towards the end of our trip. I was affected the worst of our whole family but all of us were bitten at least a half dozen times. I would not expect this to even be a remote concern for a resort that boasts a 5 star rating. We still have our luggage outside of our home because we don't want to risk getting our home infested.

#2 We found that the resort was very unfriendly for children. There were multiple times where there were people by the family pools who were topless and even though the signs say "NO TOPLESS" nothing was enforced. This makes for an incredibly uncomfortable visit to the pool. We attempted to take our children to the kids club one day and the child care worked seemed very disinterested in even being involved with the kids and the activities available to them were simply a joke.

#3 For a 5 star resort the food was incredibly poor. Granted there was a ton of food but much of it was tasteless and low quality. We booked 5 A'la carte meals and the only one that deserved any kind of mention was the Japanese restaurant. My impression is that the resort simply focuses on quantity not quality.

#4 I have to say that there were some friendly staff on the resort but as a whole I found that the service was not there, you felt as if there was no place to get answers for your questions. This may be because of the language barrier but there needs to be a solution to this problem. You could tell we were there because our "money" was needed but not because they wanted us there.

I would never go back again, nor recommend this place to anyone.

Room Number:
21209

Room Block:
21

Arrival:
April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The good and the bad "

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andy  on Jan 21, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | With friend
1197 people found this review helpful

First, the good. The place is enormous, much bigger than the town I live in. It has a train system to get you around. Beautiful well kept grounds. Very clean, nice friendly staff. Rooms are as you would expect in a club of this type and it is like many we have experienced in our travels. Room towels are about Motel 6 quality.

Room Number:
38311

Arrival:
Quick check in and cold drinks as we arrived. No problems.

Rooms:
About what you would expect in a club of this quality. Mini bar but like anyone I have ever seen in a hotel, never cold enough. Bed was good as were the furnishings but the bath towels were Motel 6 quality and like so many other places in the latin world, face cloths have to be requested.
And like every other country in the world I have visited, ice was hard to get. You had to walk to the bar to get it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Could not get any reservations at any of the restaurants so we ate at the buffet every meal. Buffet was good and varied with many items, a lot not to the tastes of Americans (stewed cabbage and salami for breakfast) but plenty of selections.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach too small and crowed. You had to clime over people to move around. The beach is one of the worst on that section of the ocean. Pools jammed. Bars were good and good service.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Do not take the go cart of beach buggy trip. They take you to places where people swarm over you trying to sell you junk.
Do go to Sanona sland. Nicest beach I ever saw.

Other Comments:
Due to the crowed beach, I would not return to the resort. Just too crowded.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed!!Never Go Back There!"

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Jan 30, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2017 | Leisure | With Group
880 people found this review helpful

The resort and grounds are beautiful.

Very disappointed in the food,the buffets were very small and I'm sure they used food from the previous night for their lunch menus.Buffets were very disappointing ,no variety at all, no selection.

English is not a well known language,very difficult to communicate.

Room Number:
81121

Arrival:
Unorganised as we arrived in a group of 33 people.They handed out packages but most did not have door entry keys in them.It seems they were just interested in you going to the meeting the next day so you would spend more money on the excursions.

Rooms:
Rooms are very nice, but they were not replenished daily.Had to ask for supplies.Asked the maid for a facecloth,she told me to call room service for one.Rooms were tidied everyday but not cleaned.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bartendar at the nightly entertainment sucked.Unless you were young and pretty, you were waited on last.The bartenders at the pool didn't understand half the time what you were asking for because they didn't speak english.I asked for a simple vodka and grapefruit,I got wine.I said no Vodka and grapefruit,I vodka and coconut...seriously.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Enjoyed the pool area until one woman decided to take her bathing suit top of and be sleezy with the bartenders and other woman.Just not appropriate!Really...grow up.

Also one reason I go to a resort is to spend time on the beach.Not this one...one day we did because it rained in the morning and we were able to get 4 chairs.It was sooooo packed ,wall to wall people..not pleasurable at all!

Other Comments:
Other resorts we have been to have a BBQ's,lunch served by the pools,we didn't have to leave the pool area to have lunch in a crummy buffet.

The best part is there were probably 6-8 people that left sick .One person from our group was hospitalised for 3 days.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awful service and dirty "

Bahia Principe Punta Cana
User Rating:  Bahia Principe Punta Cana Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Jun 6, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2017 | Leisure | With Group
805 people found this review helpful

Do not go here. We had to switch our room three times due to bugs and mold. It took 8 hours to get a decent room. The staff was rude and disrespectful. The food was also horrible and they would not give us dinner reservations because our room wasn't ready then by the time we got our room number everything was booked, leaving us to eat at the buffet for all meals which was not good quality food. I would never go back and do not recommend this resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube