Be Live Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Be Live Grand Punta Cana reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Be Live Grand Punta Cana  

Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

"Research, Research, Research!!!"
Posted by: Mad As Hell on Dec 28, 2012
see all reviews

Be Live Grand Punta Cana Reviews
Be Live Grand Punta Cana Pictures and Information
Be Live Grand Punta Cana Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#5
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.1

Based on 58 reviews

Be Live Grand Punta Cana Information


The Hotel Be Live Grand Punta Cana is an exclusive 5-star All Inclusive Hotel in the Dominican Republic. It is the perfect place to enjoy a family holiday, a business trip or simply a few days of rest and relaxation, with its luxury facilities for all kinds of events and its Spa area and Casino, among many other services.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.1 of 5 58 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  20
Average
  13
Poor
  9
Terrible
  11
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (34)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (15)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
1 - 10 of 58

"The place was immaculately clean, all the time."

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Blair from Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
239 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 16-23 2008
This was a Sunwing Vacation and from the moment go once again Sunwing delivers as a more frills airline by going way above and beyond on smiles, service and then sum! We arrived at airport, everything was so organized to find our way to the proper bus. 20 minutes to hotel which got us there at 11:30pm. Checkin took 30 minutes for about 20 couples which to me is very impressive. Right away we were impressed with the clean and palatial lobby, not to mention the great music coming from the disco upstairs.

Rooms:
Our room was in building 5, one of the oldest ones and slated to be renovated. A well used room, however it was very clean, beds were comfortable and everything worked just fine. The A/C didnt pump super cold air but was acceptable, after all I did come here for the heat! The next morning we asked to see a suite not because anything was wrong with the room and we took the suite (sweet) upgrade. What a room which an oceanview and just an awesome setup. We did get a sewage smell in the room for 2 days but it was after a monster rainstorm, no big deal to me, it was not unbearable at all and you have to keep things in perspective when travelling.

Restaurants and Bars:
We hit the disco 30 minutes after we checked in, and then just about every night of our stay after spending hours at the piana bar (no piano but the bartender Abel kept us entertained and a couple nights there was Karaoke). Great 2 bars. As for the beach and pool bars, perfect! We went to the texmex and italian places twice each and again above and beyond service and great food. The Windows buffet was also an astounding selection and terrific, specifically the porage, wow!!! Nothing was ever too greasy. The second night at the Italian place the Caesar salad had too much dressing for me compared to when I had the night before but no big deal, they brought me the Caprese salad with a smile. There really is something for everyone's taste and the food is not just good, it is great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great, sure there was seaweed but this is the ocean and it makes for much better fish watching, I spent hours 20 feet from shore where the seaweed is, closer to shore it is clear and perfect. Saw a ton a wonderful fish and even a seasnake.The pools were perfect too! 3 of them!!! The ground super clean and I didnt worry about a broken tile here and there. I should also say we never felt there was a feeling of being super busy. Never had to wait in lines longer than a minute literally and it is large enough of a resort to keep quiet areas quiet and exciting areas like the disco upbeat, also not so large you couldn't walk it in 10 minutes which I like very much.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We took the Cigar factory free tour which was short and nice to see, and I am not even a smoker. Also took the Saona Island/Catamaran/Speedboat/Starfish tour. This was $80 per person and worth it 1 hour into the 2 hour busride when the drove us through Higuey to see the city and cathedral, WOW! Keep in mind it almost always takes longer to drive/do something than they say so the 2 hour busride turned into 3 (fine by me, we get to see more) and that also means the 90 minute Catamaran took 2 hours, tons of fun. This is a long day excursion but so worth it!!! We also took the 90 minute bicycle ride the hotel offers for free, breathtaking, easy enough for anyone to do. We also took a short walk into the village to a market, felt perfectly safe, had a drink from a local and didnt get sick at all (we didnt take any shots/medicine).
We also did the parasailing, perfect!

Other Comments::
I would like to point out a couple things:

- I travel a fair amount, been all around North America, UK, South Africa, India, Australia - My wife doesn't travel as much but has been on a Cruise and all over North America. - We both agree you would have to work very hard to find fault and issue with anything. It amazed me to read prior reviews of this hotel and even the Dominican that were so negative to complain the hotel needs tlc. Who cares about some cracked tiles, the place was immaculately clean, all the time. The workers have a stronger work ethic than most people I meet and work with in "civilized" countries.
The food was so much more than we expected.
I am a VERY picky person and take service very seriously. What kept amazing me was all the small things that were consistently done to provide the WOW factor, to me that is always the hard part to deliver on for a hotel/service business, and they did deliver.
I should also comment on the vendors, they were tons of fun to speak with and always very polite if I said no thanks. Then again I enjoyed speaking with them and learning about them, even after taking their time and still saying no thanks, very polite.

So stop setting yourself up to expect the world, stop readying yourself to complain and find fault, if you do speak to someone about it.

I had expectations of service with a smile, cleanliness and good food. We got so much more and would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The only thing "GRAND" about this place would be the staircase in the front foyer."

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  C & D from Winnipeg, Manitoba  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
233 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec. 28th-08 to Jan. 5-09
We have been to the Dominican many times over the last 20 years and of all of our trips, this one tops the list as the śworst ever.The resort was a gross misrepresentation of the product being offered down right disguisting. The property is listed as a 4-4.5 by Signture and Sunquest you are lucky if it is a 2.5/3 star rating. The lobby was full of disgruntled or furious tourists at all times during our stay. I am normally one not to complain and always make the best of a situation when travelling, however, I have never been so disappointed in a property in all of our travels....

Rooms:
I was sweeping my own floor in my room because the dirt, dust bunnies and hair (many types of body hair) all over when we got there, was completely gross and disgusting. The toilets in all four of our rooms plugged or didn't work continuously, our shower leaked lakes on the tile floor with every shower, the girls room had a leak from the room above that the water ran out of their light fixture (isn't that safe). These complaints were brought to the attention of staff at the front desk that would simply write your room number down, and that they would get someone to look after it.only someone never showed.

Restaurants and Bars:
We spent the week serving ourselves; which is exactly what we and all other tourists did, from every cup of coffee or water that we wanted (that is if you could find a clean cup to drink out of); to cleaning tables off (which I did many times myself), so that our families could sit down to eat- that is if you could find a clean plate to eat off of by the serving area. We always had to walk around(sometimes 5 minutes) and wait for clean plates to arrive so that you were able to get your meals. Tables in the buffet were never set or reset; at most we could count was 8 serving staff in the restaurant; a total joke for the size of the facility. Food trays were always empty and never replenished in a timely manner. Many tables sat empty and unset while people where lined up 50+ deep at the door waiting to get in. Food in the buffet was generally cold, salad was repulsive (frozen, wilted and two days old) and the RAT that ran across our feet in the Seafood Restaurant pretty much did me in. The only hot meal all week was the meal in the TexMex restaurant and fresh salad one day at the beach restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I have to admit that the beach and the grounds were beautiful. It was all downhill from there. Towels- or once again, lack of - what a frickin joke. You could rarely get a clean towel each day; then when you could and went to change it in at the end of the day they wouldn't give you a towel card because you were too late. They were always out; usually all clean towels gone by ten in the morning. Clearly, once again, no staff to keep up with the demand.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Our two families did have loads of fun at the beach with the kayaks, banana boats, parasailing, the segways and a beautiful beach spot 15 minutes down the beach to the left for snorkelling. The guys/kids also went ziplining which was "ok"...

Other Comments::
The only thing "GRAND" about this place would possibly be the staircase in the front foyer.There was no attention to detail or customer service at this resort in any way, shape or form. The management is obviously running the place into the ground. There was never an adequate amount of staff for the buffet, the restaurants, the bars or the beach. The only place that had staff was the Casino, actually 26+ of them most nights standing around and doing ABSOLUTELY nothing. Just a thought, maybe they should consider sending them to work where they are actually needed serving the tourists in the restaurants, the buffet, the bar and the beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We tried to enjoy oursevles but in the end the minor details got to us."

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Carleen from Vancouver, BC  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
226 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 28th-Jan 6th
Booked our trip with Air Transat- Nolitours.
Our plan was delayed 4hrs at YVR so we did not arrive untill 3:30am.
Staff were somewhat friendly and spoke moderate english, got our mickey flask of rum and were escourted to our room- (by an eager porter looking for a tip)

Rooms:
First impression good- we were in room 11109 (swim out room in building 11)... room was spacious, bright, seemed clean..... over the next 6 days we had some not great experiences with room such as: the stinky/musty/tropical/cigar/urine smell, bed was hard, had 1 gecko in room, were told we were not allowed to flush toilet paper, maids forgot to clean rooms one day, air conditioning work but had only one setting - mega cold-, barely any hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found over all, the restaurants to have really bad service
Aqua- Exclusive (Cameleon etc)- OK, very bad service, tables not cleaned, pre-used silverware sitting at place settings, food most often cold with flies around.
WINDOWS- usually something edible, bad service in most sections- but good waiter in the back middle section finally took care of bringing us drinks, water, cutlery etc. Often flies around desserts (because all have sugery glazes on them) and fruits. Food recycled from meal to meal and not really refrigerated.
De Mario- Good Food, ok service-- GONG SHOW to get reservations at any alacarte restaurant- what they do is let the rest. fill up at 6pm and then start taking a waiting list after that time- so if you send one member from your famliy up from the pool to book a table they had to wait sometime 30-40 mins to get a time to come back...poorly managed (often tables sat empty for long periods of time after first dinners left)
Beach Garden- ok if starving- got shooed out of sitting inside at 3pm because they were trying to get tables ready for the dinner sitting but didn't close untill 4pm- fries were always cold (ON THAT NOTE- SAW HOTEL STAFF WITH A CHIQUTA BANANA BOX CARRYING COOKED FRENCH FRIES FROM BEHIND WINDOWS REST. DOWN THE PATH TO THE BG REST- not covered) DIdn't go to Seafood restaurant
American Grill-Tex Mex-- Great food (veal tenderloin was hubbys fav) again same type of mis-management as de mario- one night we waited outside untill 630 cuz they were seting tables, but were told the 'cooker hadn't shown up yet'
*note- they say you can only go to the alacarte restarants 1 time, but we actually went to the Italian 2 times and tex mex 3 times nobody asked for our coupon

*bars were ok, drinks sometime rancid/strong- all alchohol was fake? (baileys in similar bottle but called sallys, no premium labels- all Brugal?)

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach- lots, walked past the 3 resorts to public not crowded beaches that was nice too Pools- nice, favorite was the new one out back by building 15? great bar there often quite- NO HOT TUB- what looks like a hot tub on the map is actually colder then pool its near by. Pools were kept clean/with out much debris, and i actually saw somebody scrubbing the 'scumline' 2 times while there.
Grounds- really nice, pathways a little rough for wearing high heels but pretty flowers, flamingos and turtles to look at

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
_Borrowed Kayaks- paddled that was fun
-Did Zip Line with Bavaro Runners Safari Adventure (AWESOME) cost $220 cdn -Was supposed to go the Marinariam tour but company FORGOT to pick us up- we waited at designated location but no one every showed up and we got to watch the boat drive away from pier with out us (was told we were getting refund- will check credit card again to see if processed) - took free shuttle to "nicoles" which is a store of a french canadian lady that sells jewlery, vanilla $3, santo domingo coffe $5, hand rolled cigars god prices.

Wanted to get to hard rock cafe at the end (to get some stable food) however couldn't peice together enough information from the 6 people we asked about the 'free shuttle' to the 'plaza del mar??? shopping centre' which may or may not pick up a couple times a day

Other Comments:
We tried to enjoy oursevles but in the end the minor details got to us--- especially the extra 16hr delay for the way back.... at the resort we found if you spoke spanish you got better service, howevereven then you might never get your drinks at dinner, and don't even try to ask for a modifcation to a meal at the a la carte restaurants. Our resort was set about 30mins away from others like Bahai PRincipe etc- there were 3 of us out there, you can see the marinarium and reef explorer locations from the hotel beach- they are right out front. There is a very agressive market across the street from the hotel- 'my friend, my family come have a look', we would walk past to the "mini market" to get snacks much cheaper then resort mini-bar and store... (price on resort for pringles $5usd mini can, $3 chocolate bar) In all like a said we went there with an open mind, we tried to like it but in the end were defeated by the continual rude/inattentive service. I would never go back to the Dominical Republic not just based on this experience- but flying from Vancouver is 6hrs 30mins there and 8hrs 30mins back--- to enjoy nice beaches, tropical destination etc- I could do that in mexico within 4-5hrs....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Luke warm food."

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debra (Simplydeb) from Aurora, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
228 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 15 - 24, 2008
The flight down to Punta Cana from Toronto was comfortable. We left Toronto late 45 mins. late, but somehow managed to arrive only 15 mins. later than our original arrival time. The tail winds were with us! The resort is only a 15 min. drive from the airport. We were greeted by a friendly fellow at the main reception desk and we were checked in and in our room within 15 mins. of arriving at the resort.

Rooms:
Our room was in building #9 on the Bavaro side of the resort. We had a king size bed and it was very comfortable. The room was very clean and faced the Aqua restaurant and beach. There was a slight musty odour in the room which my spouse was convinced came from the air conditioning unit, so we left the AC off and used the ceiling fan and left the windows open for the breeze to sleep in the evening. It did seem to make a difference. The buildings #9, 10 and 11 on the Bavaro side back onto a small village which has a pack of wild dogs roaming the street and they bark often. I was awoken a few times during the night by the barking. I'm not sure if we had the AC turned on and the windows shut if it would had made a difference. In any event, you could hear them barking on and off all day...and night.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was plentiful and there was a good variety, however, I found all of the food that was suppose to be hot either cold or luke warm. We ate at the Aqua restaurant twice for dinner and once for breakfast. Each time the food was luke warm. The two times we ate dinner there, the food was overcooked. We ate at the italian restaurant once. I had the cream of carrot soup which was hot and delicious, but the pasta was cold. We ate at the American Grill twice and although the service was slow, at least the food was hot and not too bad. I found a work around to get my food hot at the Windows Buffet. At breakfast they will make an omelet while you wait. You pick out the ingredients and they whip it up and put it on the grill in front of you. For dinner they have the same idea, but with a Pasta Bar. You pick your pasta, sauce, extras and they put it in a pan on the burner in front of you. I ate omelets and pasta for a few days to get my fix of hot food and both the omelets and pasta were very tasty!

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The grounds were spotless and beautifully maintained. The greenery was lush and spectacular. All the pools were clean and well maintained. I read before I left that the seaweed on the beach was a problem, but I certainly didn't see much of a problem. There was very little seaweed and any that was laying around was swept up often. The beach was beautiful, white sand, blue ocean. We walked about 45 mins. down to the far point and back every day. It was an amazing stretch of beach to walk..just beautiful. We had the resort pretty much to ourselves when we first arrived and had no problem finding a beach chair pretty much anywhere on the beach. People started arriving and the resort became fairly busy about 2 days before Xmas, but we still managed to find chairs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We went on the Bavaro Runners excursion at $60.00 US per person and I would definitely recommend it. It was a full day of excursion through the Domican countryside which is beautiful...sugar cane fields, rum, horseback riding, rum, lunch, rum, cigar rolling, rum, cocao/coffee farm, rum, and lastly a spectacular beach called Macao beach were we went boogie boarding and of course..rum. The resort has a different nightly show at 9:30 each evening. One night was the Michael Jackson show. My spouse is not a MJ fan and even he was impressed. The shows are definitely well done and alot of fun.

Other Comments::
I would go back to this resort again if they could guarantee me hot food and I would stay in Building #7...across the other side of the resort away from the barking dogs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The grounds are gorgeous!"

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from Northern Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
231 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 2008
We stayed in the Cameleon Select area of the resort in building 10. Check in was a breeze with a drink ready and a bottle of rum as a welcome. Our beach towels were already in our room and we were on the beach in less than 1/2 an hour.

Rooms:
Our room was great. Big and clean. We found the maid service to be good if a little late in the day - they come and take the dirty towels and then come and clean the room restock the towels and the mini bar in three different trips. The food was good.

Restaurants and Bars:
The only restaurant that we didn't get to was the seafood. The Japanese was VERY good (and didn't cost anything with our Cameleon Select room). The buffet had tons of choice and is all "American" there's no hint that you're in the Caribbean in the food. We thought that was too bad but the others we were with were very happy about it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are gorgeous! There is sea weed on the beach but it's not bad enough to be a problem and they are always raking it up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on The Reef Explorer, The Marinairum, and the Bavaro Runners Safari Adventure tours. I would recommend all of them!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"You will love it there!"

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy from Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
249 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec. 27, 2008-Jan. 3, 2009
We left Toronto at 6:30 a.m., arriving at Punta Cana at 11:30ish. We were booked through Nolitours-Air Transat so were staying in the Cameleon section of the resort. Picking up the bags went quickly despite another flight from Toronto at the same time. We arrived at Grand Oasis Bavaro shortly after midday, booking in through the Punta Cana side's big lobby. One of the big differences between this resort and others is that there is no long driveway to the resort flanked by lawns and gardens (such as the Catalonia). Grand Oasis Bavaro/Punta Cana is right on the road and all their beautiful property is on the other side. I had chitchatted on e-mail with the Rooms Manager, Caren de Vries and she came out from the back office to greet us. Our 2 rooms were not quite ready but we expected it at that time of day. So we did all the paperwork and headed off to the buffet, Windows for lunch, then a tour of the resort. After relaxing on the patio at the Beach Grill and enjoying a few drinks, we got our room cards and headed off with our luggage.

Rooms:
Our rooms were located in the Cameleon section, Building 11 on the 3rd floor, as I had requested. We had rooms 11304 and 11308. Both were beautiful, clean and very contemporary in decor. Even flat screen TV's! We were really impressed. We had stayed before at Casa Del Mar in La Romana and while we really enjoyed it there, my kids both commented that our rooms at Grand Oasis Bavaro were far nicer. We had 2 queen beds in each room, constant hot water and great air conditioning the entire week. We were allotted bottles of water, 2 beer and 2 pop each day and they were replenished faithfully. We had great room service, usually done by midday or shortly after.

Restaurants and Bars::
We basically found the food really good at this resort. We did not find Windows the best buffet we'd ever eaten at, but there was lots of othe choices at the a la carte's. We loved Da Mario's, the Italian restaurant and ate there twice. Also the Tex Mex was quite good. Only the Japanese restaurant required reservations and we ran out of time to eat there! Aqua, the restaurant located by the Bavaro section, served a great breakfast buffet. We ate there every morning and enjoyed the ambiance, plus being so close to our rooms. Also ate there for dinner one night and again it was quite nice. We managed to get a table outside and really enjoyed it there. We found the waiters really nice at all the restaurants. Yes, there were times when the tables before us were not cleared off very quickly, but if we wanted to sit there, we just moved the dishes to another table and continued on with our meal. No big deal. We enjoyed lunch at the Beach Grill(that is also the Seafood Restaurant at night). It was nice and close to the beach area, and we could be back on the beach again in no time. We were here over New Year's and on New Year's Eve, there was a big gala dinner at the big buffet, Windows. They closed the a la carte restaurants so everyone went to the Gala. THAT night the food was amazing at Windows! It was really delicious and they pulled out all the stops. All the tables and chairs were covered with white slipcovers so very elegant looking.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
This was an absolutely beautiful beach and you could walk for ages in the northern direction, which my husband did every morning. One of the many really nice things about this resort was its location on the beach. It stretched lengthwise along the beach, not deep from the beach. So there was alot of beach associated with the resort but it was also very easy to access your room or the pool or restaurant, etc. Another reviewer put it right when they said it was a "cozy" resort. It's still a big enough place with lots of areas to explore and walk through but it was not enormous, which we liked about it.
We found the beach quite clean most days, with people constantly walking through and picking up the plastic glasses etc. Although the water was not really clear right in front of the resort because of the currents kicking up the seaweed and sand, it was still nice to swim there because the sand underfoot in the water was that soft soft ripply sand. A 5 minute walk up the beach brought you to the really clear aquamarine water where it was decent snorkling. That was also where the beach was undeveloped so it was rather nice to have just green bush and trees to look at instead of resort buildings and bodies! Our resort was very lush and green and beautifully maintained all the time. There were some flamingos and egrets and turtles in the various ponds around the place.
I think there were at least 4 pools at this place, which is rather unusual for a resort that size. We avoided the big central pool because of its busyness and noise but really enjoyed the snake shaped pool right in front of Building 11. It was definitely a very calm oasis all the time. Some people just stayed around there with their loungers all day. This pool was also right below our rooms but it was never noisy at any time. All the pools looked very clean to my eye but there were always people maintaining them daily also.
Bathrooms off the lobby and on the beach were always quite clean considering the number of people using them! I always use that as a barometer in a resort!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Our kids went parasailing right off the beach and loved it. It would be a good idea to try to be the first of the day, then they seem to keep you up longer as an advertisement to others!! They also went on 2 1/2 day excursions. One was the Zipline Adventure which was very well organized and very safety conscious. The other was the 4 wheeler (ATV) excursion with the Bavaro Runners I think. They really liked both of them very much but were glad it was just a half day away, as they hated to leave the beach too long! We booked both of them with our Nolitours Rep with a credit card with no problem. Our 2 Nolitours Reps were very patient and helpful with us and others and very professional.

Other Comments::
The New Year's Eve celebration was amazing! I was abit worried that my kids (ages 22 and 23) would find it too quiet compared to their usual New Year's parties. But they loved it. First, as mentioned before, the Gala dinner at Windows buffet. Then there was a pretty good theatre presentation with entertainers and dancers imitating Madonna, Janet Jackson, Elvis, even Usher.

The backup dancers for these imitators were absolutely amazing. They obviously were the same people for each performance but could have held their own on any dance video. Then there was a beach dance party starting at 11:15 p.m. There was a DJ setup on the beach and my son, who is also a DJ, was quite impressed with their presentation. After 11:00 p.m. the dance party started and it was great music...a little bit of everything. It was all very organized and timed just perfect. Everyone was dancing and hopping to some extent. They did the countdown to midnight and of course many people had noisemakers etc that the resort had handed out. Then the most fabulous fireworks show I have seen in ages! Only the one at Disneyworld was better! It went on for ages and ages and was the most perfect ending of the night for us! It was a really happy and fun evening! We went on to bed but our kids stayed up dancing for a few more hours. The next morning the beach was surprisingly clean considering there had been a beach party there until 5:00 a.m. apparently!

We had friends staying the exact same week at the Riu Palace Macao way up the beach and their time was not so positive! They all had tummy problems the entire week! We NEVER had any problems, but were very careful to just use the bottled water. We also tried a wide variety of the food offered and nothing bothered us. Back to the Riu, they found it very very large to get around, plus their air conditioning never worked well, with their sheets and towels always feeling damp and clammy the whole week! Also, their New Year's celebration was nothing compared to ours. No beach party or anything! So.....it made us feel even happier with our choice.

This resort has been receiving quite a few negative reviews lately and I just want to reassure people that it IS a lovely place and definitely worth visiting and we really really enjoyed ourselves. However I did agonize over my decision beforehand because I kept reading those darned reviews!! I'm rather angry at myself now that I allowed those other bad comments to ruin my anticipation! I do have certain standards and expectations but learn to accept things done abit differently in the Caribbean. Yes, there were probably lots of "little" things that bugged people, but those things are found anywhere in the world, especially in Canada and the U.S. I feel sorry for those people that go looking for problems. Go with an open mind and let things "flow over you"! And don't forget to ask for things with a smile on your face and in your voice! You will love it there!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will return if the price is right"

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy from Trenton  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
219 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 07-21-2009
There was a 2 hour delay out of Toronto , so our arrival went smoothly as we were the only couple to check in. That limited us to taking the room that was avaiable , it was very nice except far from the beach ,they did tell us we could move later in the week after some check outs, but we elected to stay as it was a nice room just not preference in location. I did e-mail ahead for a request but as it goes reception forgot it.

Rooms:
our was very spacious as were all the room in the Bavero Camelon section.Big walk in shower also a jacuzzi tub which we never use. When we arrived there was no air conditioning so our room was at 25.8 very hot for sleeping it was fixed within 24 hours but again, towards the last couple of days, again the tempature was around 25.8 it was uncomfortable but they were trying to do repairs, A/C was not fixed before our departure. very hot and humid.

Restaurants and Bars:
very pleased with all resturants and bars. remember a small tip goes a very long way to having great service. we were always taken to a table very quickly and the service was very good. Selection of food and beverages excellent We never had any complaints or problems.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was very clean and raked, lots of chairs , they could use a few more palapas and repair the one that need it. Pools were clean and comfortable tempature. landscaping very well done. every thing was very nicely done.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
there were many activities on the beach and around the pool.lots of games to play if you wanted too. Kids club looked like fun for the small ones face painting , they had a place to go and play inside out of the sun and give mom and dad a break,we did go on a 1/2 day 4 wheeler tour on the beach it was okay.we find the tours very exspensive and quite often diappointing for the amount of money put out, we did hear others complaining of the same. staff works very hard with long hours and low pay nightly shows were the same as usual Micheal jackson, folklore, they did have a circus act it was very good and the beach party was also good we enjoyed ourselves very much.

Other Comments:
My personal comments : we definialty will return if the price is right, Floors in the Windows resturant very slipperry ,needs to be degreased, they could use a few more staff as some nights looked liked they under staffed and over worked, some staff looking not so happy as the week wore on, but trying to cover with a smile. It's too bad as they do work hard and such long hours. the other issue is if they are under powered to run the air condition they should find a solution to this as we were very hot and uncomfortable trying too sleep.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Can't believe that a resort can go that far downhill in 2 1/2 years."

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Lori and Al from Mitchell, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
218 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 19 to Jan2/09
We arrived Dec 19 and check in was a nightmare. We have travelled extensively and this is the slowest I have ever seen.

Rooms:
We had to change rooms 4 times to get a satisfactory one. First one was on 3rd floor and we had requested 1st as I have mobility restrictions.Next room was filthy, next room the door lock had been kicked in and patio door lock broke, toilet did not flush, phone did not work, and the list just went ona nd on As by this time it was 3am we kept this room for the night with a chair pushed up against the door and a screw nail in patio door. This was all Friday night. Took until Monday to get satisfactory room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Cold and raw food everywhere. The food is hardly 3 star. The buffet is always cold unless you had an omelet or pasta.Meat cooked at cooking stations you had to tell them to keep putting it back on or it was raw.DiMarios food terribleCeasar salad tasted like it was rolled in fish, meat tough, all was cold, waiters slow. Tex Mex was good but you can only go once a week.Careful of using minibar in room. The give you 2 pop, 2 beers and 1 big water a day. If you use anything else it is very expensive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds maintained well, but not 4 or 5 star.Pools clean. At adult pool the no children rule not enforced. To get in the jacuzzi one day I had to tell 6 kids to leave. Their parents were sitting right there. Another day had to tell other kids they did not belong. Staff does nothing about this. The pools are clean and good temp. Beach nice once seaweed is cleaned up. Not enough chairs. Constant battle and sometimes people stealing chairs, saw arguments on the beach for stolen chair and stuff.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the shopping trip to Higuey and it is a rip off. We were to see a cathedral, tobacco place, market, have a Dominican lunch, and guided tour. We saw the church, one shop and a grocry store thenthe driver took us back to the hotel. We couldn't get through to him as he spoke NO English. Booked trip for speedboats and Sunwing rep wrote down the wrong time so they never came to pick us p. Took right up until we were getting on the bus to go to the airport to get money back.Sunwing rep was MIA for a few days!

Other Comments:
We were at this resort in Feb 06 when is just changing from Punta Grand to Sunscape and it wa first rate. That is why we went back! The resort did do a very nice job of the Christmas celebrations and New Years Eve. Can't believe that a resort can go that far downhill in 2 1/2 years. Would never go, and would think twice about any Globlia resort (the parent company).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Glad to be leaving."

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Marion from Oshawa  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
221 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We arrived after a very long delay at the airport....

Rooms
After being exausted from a 15 hour day we finally arrived . My first thought on the room was YUCK whats on our toilet seat. Turns out what looks like urine was leaking from somewhere above and if you didnt want to be hit with it while going to the bathroom you had to time it......

Restaurants and Bars
We spent 7 days eating cold food because nothing was ever hot except at one of the a la cartes. You could be first in line or the last and food was always cold with undercooked meat(If thats what it was)

Beach/Pools/Grounds
pool was good/beach weedy and unkept

Other Comments
I would NOT reccomend this place to anyone it was awful from the start with the exception of the drinks which were always good and the sun was always shining. Everyone has their hand out looking for money here and there is no escaping vendors because they are everywhere on the resort with shops right there begging you to come in everytime you walk by. Either the staff choose not to speak english or they really dont because there was always a huge language barrier. I really cant believe this is suppose to be a 4.5 star . I wish I had of read the reveiws better before booking .....There was alot of unhappy travellers at this resort who like me were glad to be leaving.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not go back."

Be Live Grand Punta Cana
User Rating:  Be Live Grand Punta Cana Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary from Toronto  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
221 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 18 - 25
We had contacted the resort ahead of time to guarantee that we would have desireable rooms. We were in adjoining rooms, with a view of the ocean and also the town street that the dogs frequent during the night hours. Check in was easy as the Cameleon lobby is small and not busy when we were there. There is another lobby, much grander, in the main hotel and it was always busy.

Rooms
The rooms were clean and looked new. They have alot of wood paneling and that gave off a smell until it was aired out. The a/c did not work properly in the one room, would not shut off and maintained the same temp all the time, the other room the a/c did not work despite many requests to have it repaired. The conditions of the bathroom area varied, from okay to not great. The pillows on the bed were what seemed to be foam that was cut into pieces and then stuffed into a case, most uncomfortable.

Restaurants and Bars
The restaurants were well decorated and an effort was made on the food however, the quality was not what we hoped for. The best was Aqua, for the Cameleon guests only. The Wines were not acceptable! We had to purchase a bottle with dinner at anywhere from $40. up, $40. got you a wine that sold for $16. in a store there, and the other drinks were all out of machine except for the bar at the Cameleon area where the used a blender and fresh fruit. Only the beer was acceptable.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was beautiful, the Grand Oasis is at the very end of the line of hotels so there were fishing boats in the area. You could walk a few miles and the ocean was good, for the Atlantic. This area is not the official Bavaro Beach as I was led to believe, that area is a bus ride away. There were another 8 or 10 resorts along the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did not partake in too many of the activities the area around the main hotel was very active with many 20 somethings, a very busy spot at all hours. We went on diving trips through someone on the beach who has a hut in front of one of the hotels, it worked out fine. Went to dive/snorkle on the Caribean Sea, much more beautiful water in that area. The wind was always at the beach and the water was stired up so the snorkling off the beach wasn't any good. The Casino was a joke, the slot machines were ancient and didn't work properly.

Other Comments:
The staff try to do their best, however very little English is spoken or understood.
The down side was two days before we left 2 of us got sick, throwing up and one was so bad she had to be admitted to the hospital overnight! I had to stay in and just drink water for two days, and now that I am home have stomach problems and went to the Doctor. This type of problem has nevered happened to me before, and I have been to many islands, so all in all I would not go back to the DR.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube