Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort  

Playa Bavaro, Dominican Republic

"awesome trip for us"
Posted by: chris on Jul 30, 2014
see all reviews

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Reviews
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Pictures and Information
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#9
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.0

Based on 21 reviews

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Information


Hotel Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort is part of the Hoteles Catalonia, a Spanish hotel chain whose principal goal is to ensure the comfort and quality in all of the chain resorts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Reviews

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5 21 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  13
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 21

"awesome trip for us"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  chris  on Jul 30, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
41 people found this review helpful

I went with my wife to this hotel and we really enjoyed our holiday, it was an awesome trip for us. The rooms are simple and nice, they were cleaned regularly and everything worked fine. They had the important amenities that will enhance the comfort of your stay here such as a mini bar that was restocked with beer and water on a daily basis, the bed sheets were clean so was the toilet and bathroom and towels were available all the time. The food is good, the buffet was just there nothing spectacular and I also noticed the foods were not top quality but they were great just that for an all inclusive, they can do better. The a la carte restaurants were all good. They have a really friendly staff that takes care of the guests genuinely without wanting something in return like some form of tip or something like that. They were descent and friendly so it was easy to communicate with them in case we needed them to help explain something related to or not the hotel. The pools were cleaned daily and looked very well kept; the beach also was cleaned as the sea weeds were cleared every morning. We loved the snack bar that is on the other side of the pool, you should try the burgers when you visit, they taste really good. I do recommend this hotel if you want to have fun in a good and safe environment where they offer the best to their customers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unpleasant experience"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vasyl  on Jan 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
565 people found this review helpful

Just got back from this crappy resort this morning and want to share my experience. It is my third time for all inclusive vacation to the 4.5* and the biggest disappointment ever. First of all it is not a 4.5* resort - the most its 3* and it should be advertised accordingly. I had been to 4.5 stars twice before and Catalonia Bavaro does not stand a chance. The food was very bad!!! The best meal at this resort is a pizza!!! Rooms are outdated and service is poor!!!
Bed sheets never got changed during the stay and had stains – see picture. Towels did not get changed every day as well (I marked with a pan - just was curious) and sometimes they would leave only one towel or none (happened to my friends).
Generally I felt that the resort is short with everything – sometimes they would run out of the beer at 24 hour bar, the drinks at the lobby bar were served without straws as they did not have any at the moment. If you are taking a late lunch – do not bet on a desert – it will be gone and not refilled. We asked to light a candle at Italian restaurant – guess what – they did not have new ones, just burn old one in the middle of the table.
The main buffet is very unpleasant place to eat and food is terrible!
I found coffee is very good there if it was made properly. Very poor consistency at the lobby bar, better service at other small bar near Japanese restaurant (drinks better as well)! And if you want to have a latte or cappuccino – they were only available at bars unfortunately. If you wanted it at a la carte restaurants or buffet – no luck there
In conclusion – very disappointed what Catalonia Hotel had to offer for the money, food is the worth turn off. I will try to stay away from this chain of hotels….did I mention that my magnetic key died and I had to spend an hour waiting for a security and locksmith guy…same happened to my friends, but fortunately they had two keys on them at the time…

Room Number:
2401

Rooms:
I stayed in the room 2401 and would recommend avoiding it as it is very dark, with split washroom, very unpleasant shower room (shower head collapsed during the first time use – had to hunt for a plumber) and dragging front door. The TV in the room is old and has a really bad reception, remote control did not work properly. There are no watch or iron in the room. The wardrobe is located in the washroom. Furniture is outdated and crooked (see pictures).
Bed sheets never got changed during the stay and had stains – see picture. Towels did not get changed every day as well (I marked with a pan - just was curious) and sometimes they would leave only one towel or none (happened to my friends).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The best part of the resort is their grounds – generally well maintained and beautiful, but water in fountains requires a lot of cleaning – see picture.
Beach…is not bad – cleaned regularly every morning from see weeds. Felt a little bit undersized. It spreads along the sea for 200 meters and 50 meters wide – numbers are approximate – do not catch me on this. If you want to have a nice spot – you will have to show up early. During the day it is hard to find unoccupied spots even in a low season (end of November). Ocean is warm and shallow in this part of the world – u can be a mile away from the shore and it will be still 1-2 feet deep…There is a little bit of the snorkelling, but do not get excited about it – most of the sea area is covered in sea weeds…U can walk for a long time along the shoreline to the north passing other resorts, but in some areas its not very pleasant walk as there is a lot of sea weeds drying and realising certain smell on the shoreline and a lot of ocean garbage washed out as well…

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful time at the Catalonia"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Neil  on Dec 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
919 people found this review helpful

Spent a wonderful week Nov.4th to 11th. Great flight, rained a couple days through the week flooding the walkways once or twice.
Staff were great here, anything to help.
Pool is big but with more people i think it would get very busy at the pool and pool bar during the day.

Room Number:
2225

Room Block:
22

Arrival:
Flew with AirTransat, left about 30 min. late an exit light wasn't working. Both flight and service was great. Landed to cloudy skies but it was warm. No problem thru customs and baggage was very quick. Met our driver from IBK and off we went.

Rooms:
Got our rooms about 3pm, but enjoyed lunch and the pool until then. Nice 3rd floor room right across from the pool and close to the beach. The first two days rooms were cleaned late. No towels until 6 pm, but a little complaint and things were great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good, there was always a great selection. Service was always good. My wife is celiac and they were great making sure she had food to eat.
Drinks were plentiful, bars did get busy at certain times. Only one person at the beach bar so things were quite slow there, but always with a smile.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We spent a great deal of time around the pool and it was busy. Trees need to grow a bit by the beach to give more shade. Always a nice breeze by the beach in the mornings.
The grounds everywhere were kept nice, around the beach and walk ways everything was always clean and trimmed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Never did any activities off resort this time.

Other Comments:
We had a great week here and would definately return. The Royal section looks very nice also

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not all 5 stars are the same"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don from Edmonton AB  on Dec 9, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
312 people found this review helpful

Stayed on the Royal "adult only" side of the resort for 2 weeks. This was our 7th different hotel in Punta and 13'th all in. The most important thing to realize is that not all hotel chains are created equal. In other words, the Catalonia Royal is rated a 4.5 to 5 star...which may true for the Catalonia chain, but means nothing compared with an equivalently rated Iberostar or Bahia property. This was a budget year for us due to the economy so we paid less and we got less. It wasnt a disaster but 2 weeks is a long time at the Catalonia. It is visualy very boring (bordering on ugly) and the food is just okay. In the end, you get what you pay for. In our opinion, if you can get the Ocean Blue, Bahia Pricipe or Iberostar's at a smililar price, you'd be much better off. Asfar as adult only goes, The Bahia Pricipe Ambar is much much superior.

Arrival:
we take taxi, 15 minute drive

Rooms:
Rooms okay, some stuff doesent work like light switches,etc. Air worked fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good alcohol variety, a la cartes are limited in menu choices, not much for fresh veggies, etc. The main buffet gets tiring very fast at the Catalonia.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool is smallish on the adult only side. Beach walking is limited as hotel is by itself, either side is public and beaches are filthy. If you like strolling down the beach in front of other propertie for miles and miles....this aint the place.

Other Comments:
Not a horrble hotel, we went with first timers and they loved it but then again they have never experienced the other resorts we have been to.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Enjoyable"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Apr 21, 2010  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
962 people found this review helpful

We arrived in Punta Cana at 10:30am, found our luggage without a problem, were directed to the bus without any confusion, boarded the bus and drove to the Catalonia. We arrived by 11:30. Had a welcome drink. Reception told us to come back at 2:00 and they would have our rooms. We asked for 3 rooms in the same building. Had drinks in the lobby bar, went and got some lunch at the pool bar. Went back to the lobby and at exactly 2:00 we got our rooms. We had asked for 2nd floor but they put us on 1st floor in building 30. Two rooms at one end of building and one room at the other end. We had been to the Catalonia before, so unpacked and went to the pool before 3:30. Got chairs without a problem, drinks.

Rooms:
The rooms are lovely and large. We had a king size bed and a cot for our son, all as requested. The shower is rather small but serves the purpose. Our maid always made us a figure out of towels. Not many washcloths. Fridge was always stocked up. Safe in room is at no extra charge and worked wonderful.

Restaurants and Bars:
They have 4 ala carte restaurants. Steakhouse, Mexican, Italian and Japanese. When we were there before you had to have a reservation so we never bothered. They have changed their practices and you just go to the restaurant and wait until there is a table. We went at 6:30 and never had to wait. You can only go once to each one. They were all excellent and the workers try very hard to make your experience as real as possible. Dress in theme outfits, somberos in Mexican. Japanese is a wonderful treat. They cook at your table. We had never tried such a thing before. Awesome. The buffets are always excellent with lots of choices. The chicken they serve at lunch at the pool bar is beyond belief. Build your own omelettes in the morning, fresh made crepes. There is an ice cream parlour up in the shopping area. Lots of bars and a couple dollars go a long way. Always have tablecloths and linen napkins, fancy glass glasses in the bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is absolutely gorgeous. Huge and pretty warm. Island to swim around. Swim up bar. Only 5'3" deep. Lots of chairs and palapas. Kids pool also. The beach is beautiful. Lots of lounge chairs and palapas. Not rough water at all. It was quite windy when we were there, but so nice. Had a couple showers but not enough to get us off the beach. Sand is so white and soft. The beach is relatively quiet, lots of people to watch, but that is why we like it. Relaxation is important to us. Workers rake the beach every morning and sometimes again during the day. Just up the beach is a "Shopping Mall". Get experience, don't go alone, very overwhelming. Harmless people but not what we are used to. They love to haggle over prices. Never pay more than 1/2 of what they ask.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They had beach aerobics. They had contests at the pool. Kids club. Entertainment at night, but doesn't start until 9:45, to late for us after a big day on the beach. Casino that has quite a few machines. My son and friend paid to swim with the dolphins. Just 2 minutes from the Catalonia. They upgraded to 45 min. in water with 2 dolphins. I paid to go watch and take pictures. Also had a sea lion show. Great experience, well worth the money and only gone for the morning. Lots of other excursions but just takes me away from the beach.

Other Comments:
Tips are not necessary but sometimes are very helpful. If you leave the tip on the table, they have to share. If you put it in their hand its theirs. On our last night there was a torrential rain storm go through. Our bathroom had about 6" of water in it and it ran in under our door. Not much they can do about the weather. Thank goodness it was our last night. One problem with ground floor. Everything outside was under about 4" of water also. Building 30 is right up by the lobby, so I walked there to use the washroom. Overall we had a great holiday and would not think twice about going back for a third time, I have recommended it to several people. Its an easy resort to find your way around in.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful resort, relaxing atmosphere, good food, good room "

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  B A  on Apr 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
922 people found this review helpful

Had a great flight from Toronto, arrived to blast of heat, check in went smoothly except for 1 person who had too much to say. They brought complimentary drinks for some, but forgot to come back. Room was great, air con a little loud, lots of hot water for shower and tub. Great balcony, busy, friendly workers 24-7. Meals ok once you got used to what to eat.
Pool great, beach great, lots of chairs in sun or shade. My first experience with topless, but nothing I couldn't handle. We went for rest and relaxation and that is what we got. Did one excursion with the dolphin swim, excellent, well worth the money. All in all good bang for the buck. Not a five star, but that's not what we paid for.

Nolitour people well informed and friendly.

You always learn something with each trip.

The shows could have been better, Michael Jackson show good, but the before activities dancing with the kids and some adults a little boring. Again we went to relax.

Other Comments:
Would love to have Karen's e-mail if possible
(Nolitour rep)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Catalonia Royal, Punta Cana"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lucy  on Mar 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
912 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
First time to Punta Cana, Dominican. We take vacations several times a year and this time my husband wanted to go to the Dominican. Our choice was the Catalonia Royal because it was a five star, adult only and in some reviews people wrote about the great snorkelling right of the beach. This was what we were looking for. Sunquest as tour operator, skyservice airlines.
Arrived late in the evening, later as expected due to a computer glitch in the landing gear and backdoor that was not closed properly. Punta Cana Airport was chaotic for first-timers. Went to sunquest desk and were rushed to a small bus that brought us in about 20 min to the resort. We were the only two for this resort. We were dropped off at the Catalonia Bavaro which was next door of the Royal. Waited in line and were given a welcome drink. When it was our turn we were told to go next door and we were put in a golf cart and driven to the Royal. There they took a copy of our passport, gave us the keys and carted us off to the room. No welcome cocktail over here, and no sunquest representative the whole week.

Rooms:
Asked for a top floor room got a ground level room. Asked for another room but was told the hotel was full. Room was next to the maid’s closet, where the maids have loud discussions and collect plates etc. early in the morning when they start their day. The room was nice and modern. King-size bed,lumpy and with loud springs. Big round tub in the room. Little flat screen TV with lots of channels. Wireless internet, but very slow. Little fridge full with soft drinks, two bottles of beer and four bottles of water. Air co was very loud, but could not get the room cold. We put it on so we could not hear the loud talking in the hallway. Bath room had a shower with wood slats on the floor. There were cockroaches under it and also in the waste basket. When we came there was a piece of soap sticking to the shower wall and it was still there when we left. Water pressure was good and lots of hot water. We got lots of towels but only once clean sheets. Patio on busy path with two chairs, table and a hammock. We always left money and little gifts for the maid. One weird thing: we were stacking up our nightly chocolates with our stuff to take home; a maid came in, saw them and took them all away while we were there.

Restaurants and Bars:
The lobby bar was very quiet, sometimes a man was playing the piano or the tv was on. We usually went to the other side were it was a lot busier. This was were the entertainment was. Shows, live bands and late at night a disco. We went to the Mexican, Steakhouse, which were good and the Italian. The Italian had very bad service; we got our appetizer and soup at the same time and were not even done with them when they came with the main course. In twenty-five minutes we were in and out. Husband got very sick the same evening. Very good food at the Thalasso and the beach lunch restaurant. Breakfast every morning in the Thalasso, very good. Tried the buffet on the Bavaro side once but it was very chaotic, lots of kids.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is very nice, always chairs available. Non-royal guests laying on the chairs were send away. Good juice bar. Ocean is full of grass and depending on the wind, lots of it washes up to the beach. There are always guys raking the beach. Very shallow, but the snorkelling was not what we expected. There is a large concrete tube with holes in it in the water and there are indeed lots of fish on the end of the tubes. That’s it. I understand there is a reef further in the ocean, but I don't think you can swim out there. Left and right of the resort are long empty beaches, and once you are past the beach vendors you can make long walks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The weather was sun and cloud and lots of wind with a couple of days no sun at all, no rain. But I am not complaining, at home it was snowing. We did not go on tours. We only stayed at the beach, we were there to relax and soak up some sun

Other Comments:
This is a nice small resort, no kids, lots of Europeans. Very quiet. You had to go to the Bavaro side for more action. Staff is very friendly but maid service could be better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous Resort"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pam  on Feb 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
959 people found this review helpful

This was our favourite resort in 8 years. We usually do 4 stars and this was 4.5 star and you could feel the extra half-star. It is not a 5 star, but again, you are not paying for one either. We would go back next year without hesitation. Close to 2 golf courses, very well priced and easy access for golf. I think the resort is older, but well maintained with a very relaxed atmosphere. They did not seem to be full, as it was not at all crowded and we always got seats in the lobby, bar, beach and pool. Plenty of washrooms that were VERY clean. No-smoking in the restaurants and buffet which is nice for the non-smokers.

Your Arrival:
Arrived on time and just a quick drive to the resort. Check in was easy and fast. We got our rooms early at 1:00 instead of 3:00 p.m.

Rooms:
The room we had was fine. They are Junior Suites which gives you a little extra room with a small, wicker loveseat, chair, and coffee table. King sized bed was comfortable and bathroom more than adequate, with seperate room for toilet and shower stall and another room for sink and round tub. The terrace had 2 comfortable rocking chairs and an awesome hammock. The room was clean and well appointed. The air conditioning does not make the room really cold, but it is adequate. Safe, coffeee machine, hairdryer and mini fridge which is stocked daily as promised.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great ! This is the best resort food we have had in the Caribbean in 8 years. All the a la carte's had VERY good food as well as a good selection. The service was great. The Japanese is a lot of fun and the food (plenty of it) was fabulous. The buffet was large and food good for buffet food. Lots of selection, no reason to go hungry at all. There is another beach buffet which has good food ,as well as a place with pizza, chicken and ribs. The creperie and ice cream place which is by the shops is fantastic. Good ice cream, sundaes, crepes, cappiccino and good sit down service. you did not need reservations for the a la cartes, just arrived and were seated promoptly- we went around 6:30 to 7 most nights and had no wait to get seated.

The bars were all good. The lobby bar which also has cappiccino (pardon the spelling) offers hostess service all day and night. Very prompt and friendly. The beach and pool bars were all good, and had a fountin where you could serve yourself water, pop, juice, if you preferred.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach...Ahhhhhh.. gorgeous, white sand, warm water. Yes, there was some seaweed in the water. This IS a beach, the sea..some seaweed is to be expected- it's nature. It was not an impediment at all. There were lots of huts for shade and plenty of loungers. We never had a problem to get beach chairs. The pool is very large and lovely, with a fountain and seperate kids area, there are things going on, plenty of shaded huts and lots of loungers.

The grounds are beautiful, lush and very well maintained. Some ducks, birds and fish around, very lovely.

It is easy to get around, although a large resort, nothing is too far away and is is easy to manage.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The beach party is lots of fun, they had it all decorated with a live band that was very good. The entertainment is pretty good by Dominican standards. Good dancers and the animation staff work really hard to entertain and ensure everone had fun. (Remember folks, this is not Vegas.) The circus show was impressive. All in all we enjoyed the shows. Nice stage and lots of props and lighting. You can sit in rows of chairs for the shows, or there are some tables and chairs set up behind, where you can enjoy the shows and get bar service at the same time.
We did not take in any outside excursions this year, but there are several to choose from. Be careful of ones offered but not part of your tour package (i.e. Sunquest, Nolitours, etc.) I heard there were some injuries on some of the other ones and people had to pay for their own ambulance, no insurance etc.

Other Comments:
This is a great resort and I would not hesistate to recommend it to anyone. Excellent service and accomodations, beach, pool, and food. I plan to return there next year for sure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"KINDA QUIET"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  PAUL  on Feb 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
933 people found this review helpful

I COMMENTED TO MY WIFE ON ARRIVAL HOW QUIET THE PLACE WAS, THINKING IT COULD NOT HAVE MORE THAN 3/4 FULL FOR IT BEING THE HIGH SEASON.

Your Arrival:
WE CABBED IT FROM THE AIRPORT, QUICK AND EASY AS WE ONLY HAD OUR CARRY-ON'S IT SEEMS OUR LUGGAGE WAS NOT ON THE SAME DELTA PLANE AS US FOR SOME REASON. FROM THERE SEEM TOOK A TURN FOR THE BETTER. WENT TO CHECK IN AND ASKED US TO BE THERE GUEST IN THE PRIVALEDGED SECTION, EVEN THO WE ONLY BOOKED A REGULAR ROOM. ALRIGHT WHEN DOES THE OTHER SHOE FALL/TIMESHARE MAYBE? BUT NOPE WE GOT A NICE ROOM WITH SOME OTHER EXTRA STUFF BESIDES. SO THAT WAS COOL.

Rooms:
THE ROOMS WERE NICE, HAMMOCK ON THE BALCONY/GOOD MAID SERVICE, MY WIFE IS A BIG TIPPER, ME NOT SO MUCH.ALWAYS COOL IN THE ROOM, LOST POWER ONE MORNING BUT IT WAS RIGHT BEFORE WE WERE GOING TO GET UP ANYWAY AND IT WAS NOT OFF THAT LONG.

Restaurants and Bars:
FOOD WAS VERY GOOD,WE ATE AT THE BUFFET MOSTLY THE FIRST WEEK AND FOUR TIMES AT THE STEAK HOUSE, GOOD STEAKS, I TRIED THEM ALL. WE TRIED TO EAT AT THE MEXICAN PLACE BUT THE AC WAS BROKEN THAT NIGHT SO THAT WAS IT FOR ME, BACK TO THE STEAK PLACE. WE WERE THERE OVER SUPER-BOWL SO THEY LET THOSE INTERESTED WATCH IT IN THE DISCO, WITH OUR NEW FRIENDS DON AND LISA AND MIKE AND MARY, WAS FUN.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THE BEACH WAS ALMOST DESERTED MOST DAYS, I PLAYED HORSESHOES MOST DAYS WITH ABOUT THE SAME PEOPLE. THE LOCATION OF THIS RESORT IS A LITTLE TOO ISOLATED FOR MY TASTE BUT I AM SURE SOME WOULD LOVE IT. WE HAD ALOT OF ELBOW ROOM. THE BEACH WAS AWESOME THO AND THOSE WORKERS CLEANING UP THE WEEDS EVERYDAY WAS GREAT.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
WE WENT ON THE SEGWAY TOUR AND IT WAS REALLY FUN, RODE THRU A LITTLE TOWN AND THEN ON TO THE BEACH THRU A COUPLE OF RESORTS, VERY COOL. THEN WE SNORKLED A COUPLE OF TIMES BUT MOSTLY JUST DRANK BEER AND SUN-TANNED. MET A REAL NICE COUPLE FROM FRANCE, A TRUE GENTLEMAN, DENNIS AND HIS WIFE, HE TAUGHT ME TO SLOW DOWN A LITTLE AND ENJOY LIFE, WHAT EVER WILL HAPPEN WILL HAPPEN, THEY WERE THERE A MONTH,NICE.

Other Comments:
THIS IS A VERY NICE RESORT AND I WOULD GO BACK IF THEY COULD JUST MOVE IT DOWN THE BEACH MAYBE BY THE IBEROSTAR RESORTS,HA HA. MO-DEF WORTH THE MONEY.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good deal, lovely place"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Larysa  on Feb 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
911 people found this review helpful

Truly a lovely place. Staff were very accomodating, polite and friendly.

Your Arrival:
check in is not available until 3pm, so if you leave Toronto in the morning, you will have to wait a few hours once you arrive. Nolitour reps were fantastic! Very helpful and very involved with making your stay the best it can be. Provided our group with some very good tips on ensuring a fantastic stay.

Rooms:
we were in Villa 9. Our room was very clean. Air conditioning wasn't super cold, but cool enough,especially with the ceiling fan on to circulate the air. Bar was restocked daily, and there was always a maid around to ask if you needed more water, beer,etc. We tipped a couple of dollars everyday to the maid and were happy with the service we received. One day, our toilet looked as though it was acting up and the front desk sent someone within 25 minutes to fix the problem.

Restaurants and Bars:
the steakhouse and mexicanrestaurants were great, my husband thought the italian was fantastic as well. I would recommed the surf and turf at the steakhouse. Bars were good, all bartenders were always smiling. Staff in the main restaurant were great, very accomodating. Food was good there. For breakfast, they have an omlette bar as well as a crepe bar. Lots of selection for all meals. They have a pasta bar set up for lunch and supper.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is amazing. Animation staff is great, but not too pushy, but they do a good job of making sure everyone is having fun. The evening shows were very entertaining and the Michael Jackson show was very good. Pool was nice (didn't spend much time there, but people seemed to enjoy it. The grounds are well kept, lots of staff maintaining the grounds and walkways.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the Marinarium excursion where we got to snorkel and swim with a stingray and nurse sharks. A great afternoon with our host "Sharkey" and the rest of the staff on the boat. Great music and a nice swim in the "piscina natura" at the end of the day was the perfect way to finish it off.
Other people at the hotel also said the swimming with the dolphins excursion was very good as well.
If you are palnning on golfing and don't have a prebooked package or are going to rent clubs there, be prepared to pay 100.00 (US) for a round of 9 holes. The course looked like it was in good (not great) shape.
We also went scuba diving. The scubadiving centre on the resort is very helpful, very organized. The rental equipment is in good shape. We went to El Nino- a reef with lots of fish and a small cave (depth is about 20-25 ft).

Other Comments:
Great value for under 1000.00 (CDN) per person. We are considering going back there next year!! Best beach!!
If you got to the small market located at the south end of the beach (just off the resort), there is a girl there named Dorka who does braids/extensions. She does a far better job than the people on the resort and she is cheaper as well. Be prepared to hagle if your planning on buying something.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube