Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort  

Playa Bavaro, Dominican Republic

"awesome trip for us"
Posted by: chris on Jul 30, 2014
see all reviews

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Reviews
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Pictures and Information
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#9
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.0

Based on 21 reviews

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Information


Hotel Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort is part of the Hoteles Catalonia, a Spanish hotel chain whose principal goal is to ensure the comfort and quality in all of the chain resorts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Reviews

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5 21 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  13
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 21

"Unpleasant experience"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vasyl  on Jan 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
565 people found this review helpful

Just got back from this crappy resort this morning and want to share my experience. It is my third time for all inclusive vacation to the 4.5* and the biggest disappointment ever. First of all it is not a 4.5* resort - the most its 3* and it should be advertised accordingly. I had been to 4.5 stars twice before and Catalonia Bavaro does not stand a chance. The food was very bad!!! The best meal at this resort is a pizza!!! Rooms are outdated and service is poor!!!
Bed sheets never got changed during the stay and had stains – see picture. Towels did not get changed every day as well (I marked with a pan - just was curious) and sometimes they would leave only one towel or none (happened to my friends).
Generally I felt that the resort is short with everything – sometimes they would run out of the beer at 24 hour bar, the drinks at the lobby bar were served without straws as they did not have any at the moment. If you are taking a late lunch – do not bet on a desert – it will be gone and not refilled. We asked to light a candle at Italian restaurant – guess what – they did not have new ones, just burn old one in the middle of the table.
The main buffet is very unpleasant place to eat and food is terrible!
I found coffee is very good there if it was made properly. Very poor consistency at the lobby bar, better service at other small bar near Japanese restaurant (drinks better as well)! And if you want to have a latte or cappuccino – they were only available at bars unfortunately. If you wanted it at a la carte restaurants or buffet – no luck there
In conclusion – very disappointed what Catalonia Hotel had to offer for the money, food is the worth turn off. I will try to stay away from this chain of hotels….did I mention that my magnetic key died and I had to spend an hour waiting for a security and locksmith guy…same happened to my friends, but fortunately they had two keys on them at the time…

Room Number:
2401

Rooms:
I stayed in the room 2401 and would recommend avoiding it as it is very dark, with split washroom, very unpleasant shower room (shower head collapsed during the first time use – had to hunt for a plumber) and dragging front door. The TV in the room is old and has a really bad reception, remote control did not work properly. There are no watch or iron in the room. The wardrobe is located in the washroom. Furniture is outdated and crooked (see pictures).
Bed sheets never got changed during the stay and had stains – see picture. Towels did not get changed every day as well (I marked with a pan - just was curious) and sometimes they would leave only one towel or none (happened to my friends).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The best part of the resort is their grounds – generally well maintained and beautiful, but water in fountains requires a lot of cleaning – see picture.
Beach…is not bad – cleaned regularly every morning from see weeds. Felt a little bit undersized. It spreads along the sea for 200 meters and 50 meters wide – numbers are approximate – do not catch me on this. If you want to have a nice spot – you will have to show up early. During the day it is hard to find unoccupied spots even in a low season (end of November). Ocean is warm and shallow in this part of the world – u can be a mile away from the shore and it will be still 1-2 feet deep…There is a little bit of the snorkelling, but do not get excited about it – most of the sea area is covered in sea weeds…U can walk for a long time along the shoreline to the north passing other resorts, but in some areas its not very pleasant walk as there is a lot of sea weeds drying and realising certain smell on the shoreline and a lot of ocean garbage washed out as well…

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not all 5 stars are the same"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don from Edmonton AB  on Dec 9, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
312 people found this review helpful

Stayed on the Royal "adult only" side of the resort for 2 weeks. This was our 7th different hotel in Punta and 13'th all in. The most important thing to realize is that not all hotel chains are created equal. In other words, the Catalonia Royal is rated a 4.5 to 5 star...which may true for the Catalonia chain, but means nothing compared with an equivalently rated Iberostar or Bahia property. This was a budget year for us due to the economy so we paid less and we got less. It wasnt a disaster but 2 weeks is a long time at the Catalonia. It is visualy very boring (bordering on ugly) and the food is just okay. In the end, you get what you pay for. In our opinion, if you can get the Ocean Blue, Bahia Pricipe or Iberostar's at a smililar price, you'd be much better off. Asfar as adult only goes, The Bahia Pricipe Ambar is much much superior.

Arrival:
we take taxi, 15 minute drive

Rooms:
Rooms okay, some stuff doesent work like light switches,etc. Air worked fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good alcohol variety, a la cartes are limited in menu choices, not much for fresh veggies, etc. The main buffet gets tiring very fast at the Catalonia.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool is smallish on the adult only side. Beach walking is limited as hotel is by itself, either side is public and beaches are filthy. If you like strolling down the beach in front of other propertie for miles and miles....this aint the place.

Other Comments:
Not a horrble hotel, we went with first timers and they loved it but then again they have never experienced the other resorts we have been to.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Vacation at Catalonia Bavaro"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gary from Illinois  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
233 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 18th through 24th:
We arrived in Punta Cana on January 18th. When we left Chicago, the temperature was zero degrees (F) and there was a foot of snow in our yard, so when we stepped off the plane into the Punta Cana sunshine it was quite an eye-opener. Otherwise, the arrival at Punta Cana airport was fairly uneventful. We each paid our $10 entrance fee, were each given a card and then took a few steps and promptly handed the cards to another person. This is a business I wish I would have thought of starting years ago. As for getting to the Catalonia, thanks to information on this board we chose IBK Servicios and we're glad we did. Even though he was a few minutes late picking us up, we were finally on our way to fun in the sun. Check-in was relatively quick, although the desk clerk said he wanted to check with housekeeping to see if the room was ready, so we went to the bar for a Presidente or two. As it turned out, this would be the first of many Presidentes. Upon arriving in our room we noticed that we were not given a lock and key to the safe and the rules sheet said that if the lock and key were not returned at check-out we would be charged $50.00. Since I had better use for my $50, I went to the front desk to ask for a lock and key but was told I would have to return the next morning at around noon, since we could get one from someone who was checking out. This same scenario repeated itself the next couple of days as locks and keys never seemed to be available until our third day there. I suppose I can't be too upset about this situation because the first two days we were there we somehow managed to lose our room key...twice. A new key was given to us each time with no questions asked, which come to think of it may or may not be a good thing, since I could have said I lost my key to any other room and would have been handed one to someone else's room...twice. Oh well...

Rooms::
We were in Villa 24 on the second floor. We had e-mailed the resort a couple weeks earlier asking for something close to the beach, non-smoking and on the second or third floor. Well, one out of three wasn't bad, I suppose, as the only request that they honored was the second floor. It's a good thing we weren't on the first floor as the lock on our patio door was broken, but being on the second floor we felt reasonably certain nobody would be climbing the wall to get into our room to steal our dirty underwear. It turns out that Villa 24 was perfectly situated in the middle of the resort, so walking to and from the beach...and to and from the activity areas (main bar, main buffet, shops, etc.) was easier than being on one end or the other. The room was pretty much how most people described it. A bit dark, a bit old, but not too bad. The soaking tub was huge...the shower wasn't. Actually, the shower was an okay size, assuming we had hot water, which was probably only about 70% of the time. But since the shower curtain left a gap of about eight inches at the bottom, keeping water inside the shower became almost impossible. Extra towels were needed to mop up the floor following every shower. A couple times the power went out and not only was the room dark at night, but the toilet wouldn't flush and the water wouldn't run. I was shocked that the electric would affect the water like that, but I guess that's how it's set up. In the bathroom there always were a number of tiny, almost microscopic ants scurrying across the vanity top and in the sink. It became sport to see how many I could kill with one tissue...I think my record was 57. Other than the ants, there were no other bugs in the room (that we could detect, anyway). The beds were sort of an adventure. I have read reviews where people said their beds were soft. We must have been staying at another resort because our bed was not soft...far from it. It was almost rock hard and slanted to one side. I'd say the pillows were a joke, but they weren't funny...they were just lumpy and small and extremely uncomfortable and nearly non-functional. Our maid did a decent job...we tipped her a couple of bucks every day and she did the towel creature thing and generally cleaned pretty well. She did have a habit of barging right into the room every day around 3:00 to replenish the water bottle supply, which was just about the time we got back from the beach each day. A couple of times we were in the shower, napping or in various stages of undress, but she seemed to think nothing of it. I guess when you're a maid in Punta Cana you've seen it all.

Restaurants and Bars::
The food was one of the things we were most looking forward to, but ended up being disappointed by the most. The buffets were generally mediocre. Breakfast was pretty bad, as the bacon was barely cooked, the pancakes and french toast were sitting in bins and both were always cold and dry. Getting coffee was hit and miss...some days they were right there with coffee, other days you could sit for 15 minutes or more waiting. And some days the coffee was hot, others not. We did think the selection of bread was outstanding, particularly the many loaves of french bread, which usually was my standard breakfast along with a chocolate croissant and some yogurt. Lunch was usually a trip to the pizza and chicken stand by the pool. The pizza was okay, but the way some people have raved about it I was expecting the best pizza in the world. The chicken was good and the self-serve Presidente poured into our insulated mugs was a bonus. Dinner in the buffet was only slightly better. The selection of food was large enough, but much of it wasn't the most appetizing stuff. Although, the grilled shrimp was outstanding. Not so outstanding was the fact that the girl who was grilling the chicken and beef would use a set of tongs to pick up the raw chicken and beef and then immediately grab a grilled piece of chicken or beef and put it on some unsuspecting person's plate. I'm thinking this may be the source of so much illness I've read about in recent reviews of the Catalonia on Trip Advisor. Another may be the numerous birds who fly through the buffet area and land on tables to consume bits of leftover food. They really need to consider putting up netting (or something) to keep those birds out, as they also carry disease. Luckily, the only illness we suffered was self-induced after a long afternoon at the pool bar with multiple Presidentes and "mucho rum"...a phrase coined by fellow Debbie's poster Geronamo, who as luck would have it, ended up right next to us at the pool bar one fateful afternoon. It was a fun afternoon, followed by a not-so-fun evening...I'll spare you the gruesome details. But Martin, the pool bartender was great...he kept the drinks flowing with a smile on his face. We didn't have smiles on our faces later that night, but as I said, I'll spare you the details. One hint...when sitting at the pool bar with your back to the sun, be sure to put on sunscreen. Yours truly didn't heed that advice and I'm still paying the price. Another bit of advice, when ordering a slushy drink from the machine, they have no alcohol in them. Be sure to say "with rum" if you are so inclined. A number of reviewers have said that they felt short-changed since they didn't think there was much alcohol in those drinks...turns out they were right. As for the ala cartes, we only tried the Japanese (which was generally pretty good) and the Mexican (which was generally "okay"...although the tequila shrimp was excellent). Also, the margarita in the Mexican restaurant was far superior to any we had in the main bar...mainly because the main bar didn't put ice in theirs. A warm margarita is not too tasty. Although, that was fixed by a trip to the bar for a cup of ice. One pleasant surprise in the main bar was the popcorn machine, which served as an adequate appetizer on more that one night. One night we went to the Creperie for dessert and it was okay, but the requirement for long pants in the evening is ridiculous in a Creperie/Ice Cream parlor, for gosh sakes. I didn't see the dress code actually enforced in the Creperie, but in the handout you are given at check-in, it clearly states that long pants are to be worn in the Creperie in the evening. They've got to be kidding. We also went to the beach party on Tuesday night, and it was okay.

Again, most of the food was merely passable, but they sure did go to a lot of effort to set up that whole event.
People who had been there before knew how to circumvent standing in line and would grab plates and cut in front of people who had waited for 20 minutes in line. These people are probably the same people who are chair hogs (see below).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were impeccably kept. Lots of palm trees, shrubs, plants, flowers, ponds, etc., all in beautiful shape. I wish my yard looked one tenth as nice. The beach was also beautiful with the numerous palm trees. We never had a problem getting a palapa. In fact, most days we were able to get the same one, arriving around 8:30 each morning. But the reports of chair/towel hogs are not an exaggeration. Upon arriving at the beach, it's towels as far as the eyes can see. People? Not so much...they're all off doing whatever chair hogs do while their precious chair sits unoccupied (other than by a towel) for hours at a time. There was one group of Japanese tourists who came to the beach one day about the same time we did, took a palapa and put four white room towels across the chairs and then left. By the time we left at 3:00 they still had not returned. The next day the same thing happened. The following day we noticed the white towel thing happening again and nobody occupying the palapa until about 10:00, when only one woman of their group finally came and sat there for most of the rest of the day by herself, texting her buddies back in Tokyo. It's people like this who ruin it for everyone else. The ocean water wasn't quite the crystal blue that you see in other places like Playa del Carmen or Jamaica, but it certainly looked a lot nicer than Lake Michigan. As for seaweed, it's true that there is seaweed that washes up onto the beach, but they generally do a pretty good job of keeping up with it. Although one day there was a particularly huge amount of seaweed both on the beach and in the water. It may be due to a rainstorm that happened overnight, but the seaweed was especially bad that day. Walking along the beach that day wasn't too pleasant...although most other days it was fine. Speaking of rain, we were lucky in that regard as the rain generally only came overnight (with the exception of one early afternoon where it may have rained for about 15 minutes, if that). People on this board say to bring bug repellent for mosquitoes. We can say we did not see one mosquito. What we did see were wasps...they seem to love the beach. One comment about the beach restroom: There was always a woman in there cleaning up the place and placing flowers on all the sinks. I found it odd that they had women cleaning the men's restroom and men were going into the women's restroom to stock the toilet paper and towels. It first it was strange standing there peeing in front of a woman, but when you gotta go, you gotta go. Of course, there's always the ocean...not that anyone would ever do that, would they?? We walked over to the "Royal" side of the beach and honestly it was very small...nowhere near the size of the huge "regular" beach. It also seemed dreary and kind of gloomy, like nobody there was having a very good time. Other than escaping kids (which there really weren't that many on the "regular" side when we were there) I can't see paying extra for the Royal side. Being from the U.S., it's kind of funny to be in a place where Americans are a minority. The bulk of the people were from Europe or Canada and you heard a whole United Nations of languages everywhere you went. I also noticed that the vast majority of guests were smokers. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but living in Illinois where smoking in public places is now illegal, it caught us a bit off-guard.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We stayed on the resort the entire time...didn't do a tour. Our plan was to lay on the beach for a week and in the immortal words of George Bush, "Mission Accomplished".

Other Comments:
Check out took about 10 seconds. When we got into the IBK van for the ride back to the airport, one of the security guards came after us wanting to see our check-out ticket. Nobody told us we needed to show it to anybody before we could leave. I almost threw it out...good thing I didn't or we would probably still be there trying to get home. As for the airport, we realize that airport food is generally high-priced, but almost $10.00 for a value meal from the airport Wendy's was a little much. Also, they never did post our flight at our departure gate...they only had a flight to Montreal listed, so a number of us who were trying to get to Chicago where just a little confused. But we eventually worked it out and were soon winging our way back to the frozen tundra. All in all, the trip was a nice getaway to a warm climate, with the chance to lay on the beach. Would we go back to the Dominican Republic? Possibly. Would we go back to the Catalonia? Probably not. It's a decent place, at a good price, but you really do get what you pay for. We're really not all that fussy when it comes to food, but there would have to be some major improvements in that department before we could ever consider returning.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very dissapointed."

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy from Illinois  on Feb 4, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
248 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 1/28/09 - 2/4/09
check in was quick no locks for the safe until the next day

Rooms:
rooms were clean enough, but hot water or water pressure was a problem

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet was ok. the snack bar by the pool was very good. went to the mexican rest. the service was the worst. food took 90 min. italian was the same sercvice was very bad, but food was ok when we finally got it. the steak house was by far the best sercice and the best food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was clean and nice. pool area was very nice. the grounds were well kept and clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
four wheeling tour set up by our fun jet rep was terrible. on a truck for more than an hour then rode on the black top road for 1 hr and back on a cattle truck for another hour. set up our own through the hotel and it was great and cost much less. it was four wheel ride through trails and did not have to ride for an hour.

Other Comments:
very dissapointed. staff was not very friendly. had a hard time with restaurant staff they only know the words coffee (which was hard to get) and beer. we felt very confined on the resort. will not go back. we were all ready to go home after 3 days. the entertainment was awful. to bad as they appeared to have great talent, but the show were a disaster.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful resort, relaxing atmosphere, good food, good room "

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  B A  on Apr 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
922 people found this review helpful

Had a great flight from Toronto, arrived to blast of heat, check in went smoothly except for 1 person who had too much to say. They brought complimentary drinks for some, but forgot to come back. Room was great, air con a little loud, lots of hot water for shower and tub. Great balcony, busy, friendly workers 24-7. Meals ok once you got used to what to eat.
Pool great, beach great, lots of chairs in sun or shade. My first experience with topless, but nothing I couldn't handle. We went for rest and relaxation and that is what we got. Did one excursion with the dolphin swim, excellent, well worth the money. All in all good bang for the buck. Not a five star, but that's not what we paid for.

Nolitour people well informed and friendly.

You always learn something with each trip.

The shows could have been better, Michael Jackson show good, but the before activities dancing with the kids and some adults a little boring. Again we went to relax.

Other Comments:
Would love to have Karen's e-mail if possible
(Nolitour rep)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DO NOT get room 1515."

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jason from Kingston, Ontario  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
731 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 24 - 31
Arrival at the Catalonia (standard- not Royal section) was faily uneventful. We emailed a week prior to coming and asked for buildings 2-4 which are closest the beach and pool. They hadnt responded to the email nor did they give us our requested building. "Impossible!!!...99 percent capacity" was the standard line. In the end we were kind of glad we didnt get buildings 2-4 due to noise from the pool and beach stereo. Noise likely to interfere with afternoon Siesta

Rooms:
We stayed in building 15 and room 1515 which looked nice from the onset but once you got settled in you could see the age of the resort, buildings and rooms. DO NOT get room 1515. There was a large wooden frame for the curtains which we noticed 3 days in was barely hanging by 2 screws (the other 2 screws were rusted in half. The 2 screws still in the wall were halfway out. It would have either seriously injured or killed someone had it fallen. People complained about the water pressure but I found it great on the 2nd floor. Our friends stayed in room 1525 which was above ours. Appparently the 3rd floor has virtually no water pressure.

So there I am trying to enjoy my luke warm shower...aaaahh..what great water pressure..then I turned off the water...yup, still great pressure! Thats when I looked up and realized that the water was pouring down on me through the vent which in turn comes from the drain of the shower in room 1525. YESSSS..I was showering in my neighbours umm..previously enjoyed water (no lie). This was reported to the staff and they did get to it. (the day before we left). We just made the best of it and coordinated showers with ours friends above in room 1525. The room had a fridge that was barely cold and a tv with most of the channels fuzzy.

The day we left the shower top broke off and sprayed all over the bathroom...yikes! Oh yeah...the water from above also leaked through the hallway potlight (still lit) into our room when they showered. I believe the leak was eventually fixed though. The bed and pillows are also quite uncomfortable but the room is air conditioned..noisy fan though!

Restaurants and Bars::
Buffet- not bad but the staff were the main issue. There could be 30 people standing in line and they would throw on only enough food for 5-10 people. The rest of the grill was bare??? Couldnt figure that one out.

Beach restaurant- terrible for breakfast but the lunch was really good. They do chicken on the rotisserie which is EXACTLY like Swiss Chalet--even the same fries..mmmm A-la Cartes:

Japanese- definitely the best. I dont like Sushi and that kind of stuff but they had chicken and steak too. Probably one of the best meals I have had anywhere. Everyone agreed it was amazing. they cook it Tapanyaki style where you are all seated around the grill---totally awesome!

Italian- very good food---really hot and stuffy in rthere though with no windows. The food seemed legit italian though.

Mexican- Really not very good...thumbs down and a waste of time--not much more to say there.

Steak House- kind of rude staff and the smallest portions...really quite funny. The one gal in our group went with chicken fingers because she wasnt a big steak eater. We all laughed at her until it arrived. Her chicken finger platter was bigger than all our meals combined. Until of course she bit into her hugemongous nugget and realized it was just batter with not one morsel of chicken hidden within....hahahahha- Fun meal for a laugh though!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool-The pool is awesome,pretty warm too. It is quite huge with a swim up bar. The drinks are really quite good with nicely made pina colads, daquiris etc (frosty, not watered).

Beach- Very nice long stretch of beach. I didnt really see any probs with coral like others reported. it seemed like a normal white sandy beach. The odd coral I guess on the north side. As the day progressed the seaweed startes to come back in again but it is raked out waaay early in the morning (I'm sure like 5am). When we leave at 5pm it is still fine...just starteing to roll in...really no problem at all. Great animation team at the beach..playing games and music etc. They arent so much at the pool though which kind of sucked.

Grounds- really very nice...getting old but they are always in a state of trying to maintain it. I like the older resorts because of the growth of the palm trees etc.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Excursions-
We did the zipline tour which was really quite cool. My wife is deathly afraid of heights but after some coaxing she did it. there are 10 zip lines with the longest being 275 meters (I believe 275 feet high). It was fun but it made for a long day. I was a bit ticked off because they said it was only 45 minutes from the resort (thats a huuuge lie). We were supposed to be picked up at 1:30 but werent until 2:30. Then off we go to stop at 4 resorts along the way which takes forever then it was like an hour past that. we were told we would be back at 5:30. We arrived back at 8pm...after suffering a flat tire. Its no surprise since the guy drives like a maniac and the roads are terrible. It really was a hellish trip there and back but the ziplining was great fun and fairly easy. That cost $89 each.

Plaza Bavaro- We took a city bus to Plaza Bavaro to do some shopping. Great deals there for sure. It was a little scary at first but we met a local who worked at one of the resorts. He kind of told us where to stand to catch the bus back and how EXECTLY to get to Plaza bavaro. The cab was $20-$25 each way so we (being cheapy cheapy haha) took our chances. We hopped aboard a truck that took us to the main road outside the reosrt. we then waited about 15 minutes and hoppe aboard the city bus which took us to a main intesction. we got off and waited once again for 5 minutes and caught another bus which dropped us near the the plaza (total cost- $2 one way). we shopped for about 2 hours and traded stuff from home--they love to trade anything for cologne by the way! We then traded 2 bottles of cologne along with some Pringles, water and pop to one of the cabbies down near the Plaza for a free ride back to the resort. We were quite proud of ourselves for striking that deal. Glad we made the trek...well worth it!

Other Comments:
All in all it wasnt a bad trip. We didnt get too stressed over the room issue. I know some might have gotten angry over the condition of the rooms but they were well cleaned daily. It was just a matter of age getting the better of them.
A friend checked out the Royal section which was supposedly very nice but VERY quiet. No offence to some but even some elderly folks refered to it as the "Dinosaur Museum" haha. It is the never section though with top notch food and extremyly nice rooms. They apparently try to charge $20 extra per person/per room/ per day. Some one we talked to got it for $15 extar per person/per room/per day. Maybe worth it..maybe not?
I would rate this resort a solid 3.75- 4 out of 5. Definitely not a 4.5 but not so bad its a 3.5. Hope that helps those in search of a resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good deal, lovely place"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Larysa  on Feb 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
911 people found this review helpful

Truly a lovely place. Staff were very accomodating, polite and friendly.

Your Arrival:
check in is not available until 3pm, so if you leave Toronto in the morning, you will have to wait a few hours once you arrive. Nolitour reps were fantastic! Very helpful and very involved with making your stay the best it can be. Provided our group with some very good tips on ensuring a fantastic stay.

Rooms:
we were in Villa 9. Our room was very clean. Air conditioning wasn't super cold, but cool enough,especially with the ceiling fan on to circulate the air. Bar was restocked daily, and there was always a maid around to ask if you needed more water, beer,etc. We tipped a couple of dollars everyday to the maid and were happy with the service we received. One day, our toilet looked as though it was acting up and the front desk sent someone within 25 minutes to fix the problem.

Restaurants and Bars:
the steakhouse and mexicanrestaurants were great, my husband thought the italian was fantastic as well. I would recommed the surf and turf at the steakhouse. Bars were good, all bartenders were always smiling. Staff in the main restaurant were great, very accomodating. Food was good there. For breakfast, they have an omlette bar as well as a crepe bar. Lots of selection for all meals. They have a pasta bar set up for lunch and supper.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is amazing. Animation staff is great, but not too pushy, but they do a good job of making sure everyone is having fun. The evening shows were very entertaining and the Michael Jackson show was very good. Pool was nice (didn't spend much time there, but people seemed to enjoy it. The grounds are well kept, lots of staff maintaining the grounds and walkways.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the Marinarium excursion where we got to snorkel and swim with a stingray and nurse sharks. A great afternoon with our host "Sharkey" and the rest of the staff on the boat. Great music and a nice swim in the "piscina natura" at the end of the day was the perfect way to finish it off.
Other people at the hotel also said the swimming with the dolphins excursion was very good as well.
If you are palnning on golfing and don't have a prebooked package or are going to rent clubs there, be prepared to pay 100.00 (US) for a round of 9 holes. The course looked like it was in good (not great) shape.
We also went scuba diving. The scubadiving centre on the resort is very helpful, very organized. The rental equipment is in good shape. We went to El Nino- a reef with lots of fish and a small cave (depth is about 20-25 ft).

Other Comments:
Great value for under 1000.00 (CDN) per person. We are considering going back there next year!! Best beach!!
If you got to the small market located at the south end of the beach (just off the resort), there is a girl there named Dorka who does braids/extensions. She does a far better job than the people on the resort and she is cheaper as well. Be prepared to hagle if your planning on buying something.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Catalonia Royal, Punta Cana"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lucy  on Mar 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
912 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
First time to Punta Cana, Dominican. We take vacations several times a year and this time my husband wanted to go to the Dominican. Our choice was the Catalonia Royal because it was a five star, adult only and in some reviews people wrote about the great snorkelling right of the beach. This was what we were looking for. Sunquest as tour operator, skyservice airlines.
Arrived late in the evening, later as expected due to a computer glitch in the landing gear and backdoor that was not closed properly. Punta Cana Airport was chaotic for first-timers. Went to sunquest desk and were rushed to a small bus that brought us in about 20 min to the resort. We were the only two for this resort. We were dropped off at the Catalonia Bavaro which was next door of the Royal. Waited in line and were given a welcome drink. When it was our turn we were told to go next door and we were put in a golf cart and driven to the Royal. There they took a copy of our passport, gave us the keys and carted us off to the room. No welcome cocktail over here, and no sunquest representative the whole week.

Rooms:
Asked for a top floor room got a ground level room. Asked for another room but was told the hotel was full. Room was next to the maid’s closet, where the maids have loud discussions and collect plates etc. early in the morning when they start their day. The room was nice and modern. King-size bed,lumpy and with loud springs. Big round tub in the room. Little flat screen TV with lots of channels. Wireless internet, but very slow. Little fridge full with soft drinks, two bottles of beer and four bottles of water. Air co was very loud, but could not get the room cold. We put it on so we could not hear the loud talking in the hallway. Bath room had a shower with wood slats on the floor. There were cockroaches under it and also in the waste basket. When we came there was a piece of soap sticking to the shower wall and it was still there when we left. Water pressure was good and lots of hot water. We got lots of towels but only once clean sheets. Patio on busy path with two chairs, table and a hammock. We always left money and little gifts for the maid. One weird thing: we were stacking up our nightly chocolates with our stuff to take home; a maid came in, saw them and took them all away while we were there.

Restaurants and Bars:
The lobby bar was very quiet, sometimes a man was playing the piano or the tv was on. We usually went to the other side were it was a lot busier. This was were the entertainment was. Shows, live bands and late at night a disco. We went to the Mexican, Steakhouse, which were good and the Italian. The Italian had very bad service; we got our appetizer and soup at the same time and were not even done with them when they came with the main course. In twenty-five minutes we were in and out. Husband got very sick the same evening. Very good food at the Thalasso and the beach lunch restaurant. Breakfast every morning in the Thalasso, very good. Tried the buffet on the Bavaro side once but it was very chaotic, lots of kids.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is very nice, always chairs available. Non-royal guests laying on the chairs were send away. Good juice bar. Ocean is full of grass and depending on the wind, lots of it washes up to the beach. There are always guys raking the beach. Very shallow, but the snorkelling was not what we expected. There is a large concrete tube with holes in it in the water and there are indeed lots of fish on the end of the tubes. That’s it. I understand there is a reef further in the ocean, but I don't think you can swim out there. Left and right of the resort are long empty beaches, and once you are past the beach vendors you can make long walks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The weather was sun and cloud and lots of wind with a couple of days no sun at all, no rain. But I am not complaining, at home it was snowing. We did not go on tours. We only stayed at the beach, we were there to relax and soak up some sun

Other Comments:
This is a nice small resort, no kids, lots of Europeans. Very quiet. You had to go to the Bavaro side for more action. Staff is very friendly but maid service could be better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful time at the Catalonia"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Neil  on Dec 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
919 people found this review helpful

Spent a wonderful week Nov.4th to 11th. Great flight, rained a couple days through the week flooding the walkways once or twice.
Staff were great here, anything to help.
Pool is big but with more people i think it would get very busy at the pool and pool bar during the day.

Room Number:
2225

Room Block:
22

Arrival:
Flew with AirTransat, left about 30 min. late an exit light wasn't working. Both flight and service was great. Landed to cloudy skies but it was warm. No problem thru customs and baggage was very quick. Met our driver from IBK and off we went.

Rooms:
Got our rooms about 3pm, but enjoyed lunch and the pool until then. Nice 3rd floor room right across from the pool and close to the beach. The first two days rooms were cleaned late. No towels until 6 pm, but a little complaint and things were great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good, there was always a great selection. Service was always good. My wife is celiac and they were great making sure she had food to eat.
Drinks were plentiful, bars did get busy at certain times. Only one person at the beach bar so things were quite slow there, but always with a smile.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We spent a great deal of time around the pool and it was busy. Trees need to grow a bit by the beach to give more shade. Always a nice breeze by the beach in the mornings.
The grounds everywhere were kept nice, around the beach and walk ways everything was always clean and trimmed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Never did any activities off resort this time.

Other Comments:
We had a great week here and would definately return. The Royal section looks very nice also

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"KINDA QUIET"

Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort
User Rating:  Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  PAUL  on Feb 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
933 people found this review helpful

I COMMENTED TO MY WIFE ON ARRIVAL HOW QUIET THE PLACE WAS, THINKING IT COULD NOT HAVE MORE THAN 3/4 FULL FOR IT BEING THE HIGH SEASON.

Your Arrival:
WE CABBED IT FROM THE AIRPORT, QUICK AND EASY AS WE ONLY HAD OUR CARRY-ON'S IT SEEMS OUR LUGGAGE WAS NOT ON THE SAME DELTA PLANE AS US FOR SOME REASON. FROM THERE SEEM TOOK A TURN FOR THE BETTER. WENT TO CHECK IN AND ASKED US TO BE THERE GUEST IN THE PRIVALEDGED SECTION, EVEN THO WE ONLY BOOKED A REGULAR ROOM. ALRIGHT WHEN DOES THE OTHER SHOE FALL/TIMESHARE MAYBE? BUT NOPE WE GOT A NICE ROOM WITH SOME OTHER EXTRA STUFF BESIDES. SO THAT WAS COOL.

Rooms:
THE ROOMS WERE NICE, HAMMOCK ON THE BALCONY/GOOD MAID SERVICE, MY WIFE IS A BIG TIPPER, ME NOT SO MUCH.ALWAYS COOL IN THE ROOM, LOST POWER ONE MORNING BUT IT WAS RIGHT BEFORE WE WERE GOING TO GET UP ANYWAY AND IT WAS NOT OFF THAT LONG.

Restaurants and Bars:
FOOD WAS VERY GOOD,WE ATE AT THE BUFFET MOSTLY THE FIRST WEEK AND FOUR TIMES AT THE STEAK HOUSE, GOOD STEAKS, I TRIED THEM ALL. WE TRIED TO EAT AT THE MEXICAN PLACE BUT THE AC WAS BROKEN THAT NIGHT SO THAT WAS IT FOR ME, BACK TO THE STEAK PLACE. WE WERE THERE OVER SUPER-BOWL SO THEY LET THOSE INTERESTED WATCH IT IN THE DISCO, WITH OUR NEW FRIENDS DON AND LISA AND MIKE AND MARY, WAS FUN.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THE BEACH WAS ALMOST DESERTED MOST DAYS, I PLAYED HORSESHOES MOST DAYS WITH ABOUT THE SAME PEOPLE. THE LOCATION OF THIS RESORT IS A LITTLE TOO ISOLATED FOR MY TASTE BUT I AM SURE SOME WOULD LOVE IT. WE HAD ALOT OF ELBOW ROOM. THE BEACH WAS AWESOME THO AND THOSE WORKERS CLEANING UP THE WEEDS EVERYDAY WAS GREAT.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
WE WENT ON THE SEGWAY TOUR AND IT WAS REALLY FUN, RODE THRU A LITTLE TOWN AND THEN ON TO THE BEACH THRU A COUPLE OF RESORTS, VERY COOL. THEN WE SNORKLED A COUPLE OF TIMES BUT MOSTLY JUST DRANK BEER AND SUN-TANNED. MET A REAL NICE COUPLE FROM FRANCE, A TRUE GENTLEMAN, DENNIS AND HIS WIFE, HE TAUGHT ME TO SLOW DOWN A LITTLE AND ENJOY LIFE, WHAT EVER WILL HAPPEN WILL HAPPEN, THEY WERE THERE A MONTH,NICE.

Other Comments:
THIS IS A VERY NICE RESORT AND I WOULD GO BACK IF THEY COULD JUST MOVE IT DOWN THE BEACH MAYBE BY THE IBEROSTAR RESORTS,HA HA. MO-DEF WORTH THE MONEY.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube