Bahia Principe San Juan Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Rio San Juan > Rio San Juan Hotel Index > Bahia Principe San Juan reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahia Principe San Juan  

Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic

"I had the perfect holiday"
Posted by: job on Jun 8, 2014
see all reviews

Bahia Principe San Juan Reviews
Bahia Principe San Juan Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe San Juan Rio San Juan Dominican Republic

#1
of 2 Hotels in Rio San Juan

User rating 3.7

Based on 41 reviews

Bahia Principe San Juan Information


The Bahia Principe San Juan was opened in July 1995 and is set on a 5 km private beach sheltered by a coral reef. It covers an area of more than one and a half million square meters, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation with mangrove swamps.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe San Juan Reviews

Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 3.7 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  14
Average
  7
Poor
  7
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 41

"I had the perfect holiday"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  job  on Jun 8, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
70 people found this review helpful

It was an amazing holiday for me having stayed here in April 2014 for 10 days; it was home away from home for me. The place is so beautiful and with the many lovely comments about Bahia hotels, they lived up to expectations in my opinion and are very professional as well. This was my first time visiting DR and I must say it is an amazing place to spend your vacation in, I usually visit other countries but decided to try DR this time around and Bahia hotel made it worthwhile for me. It is a beautiful hotel with an amazing staff; the hotel is well managed and maintained. The staff was great and I have never seen dedicated workers like the staff I met here, they still offer the same service to you whether or not you tip them and they do it happily with smiles. The location is also perfect as I was able to go around easily into town. I didnít have to wake up early to reserve chairs at the beach side or poolside, anytime you go, you will always find lounge chairs. The rooms are beautifully decorated and cleaned out, airy not so tight and it had all the necessary things anyone would need to be comfortable. The air condition worked fine and the bathroom was also clean. The staff was always willing to help out and even advised me on places to visit since it was my first time in DR. I had the perfect holiday here and hope to come back soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Experience at the Gran Bahia with S-Trip!"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bailey  on Jun 4, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2013 | Party | With Group
290 people found this review helpful

Awesome stay here! I went for my University's Grad Trip... We went with S-Trip! and they were so awesome. The resort was accommodating to our every need and the staff were a joy to be around. So much fun at the beach and at the pool parties! Would recommend to any large group looking to have a good time. Here's a full account of our trip! http://www.s-trip.com/live/st-fx-grad-trip-to-puerto-plata-2013/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice beach, older hotel, pretty grounds"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jack  on Mar 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
514 people found this review helpful

The low 'flower rating' is mainly because of the food poisoning, and the initial room we were given. Other aspects of the resort - service, restaurants, beach - were pretty good.

This was our 4th trip to Dominican.

Don't pay full price for this hotel - in Feb we paid $650 per person per week, incl air, taxes and fees. That is the right price for this resort. If you pay $1000 or more, then I think you can find a nicer place, or one that is in a better location (closer to excursions).

Room Block:
D7

Arrival:
Fantastic!
Air canada vacations - we were able to 'check in' on the bus! So we got off the bus and already had our room key, just walked to our room, changed, and went to the beach!

Rooms:
Very disappointing. We had a room in D7 building. The room was dark. Two single beds were small and not too comfortable. Not enough pillows. Toilet ran constantly, and did not flush properly. Lack of lighting in bathroom made it difficult to shave without injury.

NO additional electric outlets in the room.
I have a sleeping device and I (eventually) found a questionable-looking extension cord to plug it into. but then the bedside lamp was not plugged in, so I couldn't read at night. Nowhere to plug chargeables like ipod, phone unless I unplug my sleeping device.

The fridge stopped working, and although I mentioned it, it was never fixed.

The TV cable signal was very static-y (not a huge deal for me, I didn't go to watch TV)

Our air-conditioner stopped working 4 days before we were supposed to leave. They sent someone to check it out - he said something to me in spanish about 'compressor', but I didn't get it! It was not fixed that night. I complained again 3 times the next day (not because I'm anal, but I wanted it fixed before I had to sleep at night) After the third time, the manager explained that the compressor was gone, and that it could not be fixed.
They moved us to another room.
The new room was much better - high ceilings, toilet worked, fridge worked, a/c worked, TV cable was clear (we even got more channels???) and the bed was a king-size bed that was more comfortable. Too bad we didn't have this room all along!

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was fine. Don't expect to eat the same as you do at home.

For example, the lineup in the morning for toast was a bit ridiculous - maybe instead of complaining about the line, you could change your routine and just not eat toast??

Desserts are never what we are used to at home. No problem for me - there are plenty of other ways to put on weight.

hard to eat vegetarian (not a surprise, just a comment). You have to watch, a few times I went to grab vegetables - like green beans - only to discover there was bacon mixed in.Not really complaining, I'm not a vegetarian, I just like to eat a lot of veggies. But if I was vegetarian, it would be a challenge! Think I'd be eating a lot of pasta...

But you don't got to a resort in the dominican for the food. All in all it was good, but not outstanding. If you're a picky eater, I think I would avoid Dominican (and probably Cuba). Food at resorts in Mexico tends to be better.

A la carte restaurants a little disappointing c/w other resorts I have been to. I like to go to an a la carte to spend a bit more time, but I felt rushed through my meal.
Italian restaurant not good at all. Everything was too salty.
Mediterranean food was very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice beach - HUGE, in fact! Lots and lots of space, never a problem getting a chair - even if you wanted a chair in the shade. you couldn't always get a palapa, but you could put your chair under one of the many trees and it was fine.

Pools were nice. Not sure if I was allowed to use the smaller pool at what used to be the "club diamond" end, but nobody kicked me out and it was very quiet.

Grounds were lovely. Nice place to do my morning run!

Only thing I didn't like were the constant trams shuttling people around the resort. The resort is not THAT big that people can't walk, so I'm not sure why it was necessary. I have been to a much bigger resort (Grand Palladium in Mayan Riviera) where trams were needed, but they were not needed here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Resort is too isolated. Too far from excursions.
If I were to return to this area, I would probably look to stay in Cabarete or right in Puerto Plata.

Other Comments:
Big downer: my partner got food poisoning at the resort. This was on the 3rd day of our trip. The doctor at the clinic confirmed it was food poisoning, and we hadn't eaten anywhere except the resort.

Laughably, the doctor says "what did you eat?" Really?? After 3 days at an all-inclusive resort, you want a list of what I ate?? So of course there's no way of knowing what caused the problem. It wasn't seafood, b/c we didn't eat any, but other than that??

On the positive side, the medical clinic on the resort was very good (and thankfully so was my insurance!!)
He spent a night in the hospital in Puerto Plata (fun 1-hour trip by "ambulance" - thought it was so ironic that I might die in an ambulance, the way they drive!!) There were 2 other couples from the SAME RESORT at the hospital, also with stomach ailments!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bahia principe San Juan.The worst visit"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Moe  on Jan 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
629 people found this review helpful

We just came back from holidays and stayed at bahia principe resort at san juan.
We had gone through all the reviews before we booked our vacation there.
All is true.this place is a rip off.Our room was dirty and we had flood on newyears eve day.It took them an hour to come and clean all the sewage water from our rooms.
the quality of rooms and the services are very poor and dirty.please be careful not to stay in this resort.we are very disappointed.we ruined all our christmas holidays since day one.

Room Number:
1414/1102

Arrival:
DEC 25 2011

Rooms:
very dirty poor quality.

Restaurants and Bars:
okay.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
okay.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not good.

Other Comments:
Very poor quality,will never go again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Vacation :)"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Mar 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
793 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1624

Room Block:
C6

Arrival:
We landed around 2:30 and check in was not until 3. The staff was very friendly, they politely asked us to go have some lunch and check in after... We had our beach clothes ready so we ate and sat by the pool and had some drinks. We went back to the desk around 4 and our room was ready.

Rooms:
Our room was very standard. There was nothing fancy at all but we really only used the room to sleep and shower. The only down fall was not enough lighting... I think that the light was missing out of the fan...and our bathroom had some ants which was kinda gross :(

Restaurants and Bars:
The food overall was OK. The Mexican a la cart was delicious, I recommend the ribs and the shrimp stuffed fish at the Mediterranean a la cart was really yummy too!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Everything was kept very neat. You constantly saw the very hard workers cleaning around the pool and grooming the grounds. The beach was OK, I recommend using the Banana Boats :) Fun!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Activity group was awesome!!! Mini-Me was the best :) Their night shows are really funny!! They always got people involved and they were not too pushy if you did not want to participate!! I would tell everyone to go to the Disco and the Casino for some extra fun at night!!

Other Comments:
Your vacation is what you make of it and I really wish that some people would quit wasting their vacation pointing out all the negatives and make the best of their trip!! I would recommend this to everyone!!! I had a blast at Bahia Principe and hope to go back again soon :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good but not great."

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Menaka  on Feb 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
860 people found this review helpful

I flew down with my husband, 5 month old daughter, sister and brother in-law.
The weather was fantastic all week long! Total bonus!
The hotel is quite big and about an hour away from the airport...pretty much in the middle of nowhere.
The staff were friendly and courteous, definitely great entertainment.
The beach, I would have to say was not good at all. The water was dark, not your clear blue water. The sand was not white... I actually stayed away from the beach as much as possible, because it had sand fleas. People who spent most of their time on that beach came back with a lot of bites. My suggestion, is to stick to the pool. Make sure its the main pool, the other private pool which is for the diamond club had water ticks or something like that. Not pleasant!
The grounds were well kept, overall a pretty clean resort...but you can tell it's an older place.
The cleaning service was not good at all. We would sometimes come back to our room to only see it pretty much the same. Sometimes it was not swept and they would forget to leave fresh towels for the bathroom.
The food was really good! Something different everyday. They had different sections in the buffet, Italian, English,Mexican. The a la carte restaurants were not that great. After going to 2 out of the 3 we just decided to stick to the main buffet.
Ensure to bring bug spray!!! Those mosquitos are killer!!!
For our first family trip, this was a good experience...definitely our last at this resort.
If your going for the beach, I would suggest going somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Nice"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Danny  on Feb 9, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
828 people found this review helpful

We travelled here from Jan. 29 to Feb. 5 2011.
Well, put your minds at rest. After reading some of these reviews,we thought this resort must have really gone down hill after staying there in 2005. We went with an open mind and our group was very surprised. It was a great holiday! Set your watch an hour ahead.
Yes, the water pressure was not the best, the hot water was hit and miss and there were a few cracked tiles, and the pillows weren't the best...

CHECK IN - We flew in on one of those late flights from Toronto. The transfer from the airport to the hotel was an hour. Be sure to get a couple of large Cervezas for the ride. For me it was a 2 beer ride. The check in was great, fast and friendly with good english. We e-mailed the resort 2 weeks prior with a request for three rooms on the second floor in building A-9,and our request was granted! The bell hop takes your luggage to your rooms, and turns on the lights and A/C. Be sure to tip him a few dollars.
ROOMS - 1233,1234,1235. They are clean and well appointed. Get yourself a cheap clock as there was not on in all three rooms we had. It was very quiet around the rooms at night. Tip, if you have room, take a pillow from home.
GROUNDS - Beautiful everywhere you look!
BEACH - The beach is much nicer on the left or west end. Not nearly as much seaweed and we only noticed bites from the eastern end. Not sure what was biting. We learned to avoid the beach after 4pm or so... there were tiny, tiny black bugs biting after that. 5 of our 8 people had bites so they don't attack everybody and if you are smart you'll be okay. Take a good bug spray and anti-itch with you.
POOLS - There are 4 to choose from. You have access to all of them as there is never anyone there to check your bands. All clean and warm. For some reason the the main pool at the swim up bar is much warmer around 5pm. LOL and the people get pretty entertaining there at this time too.
If you are a diamond guest there is a pool to your far left. Very Quiet.
FOOD - Three a la cartes to choose from Tex-Mex, Italian and Mediteranian.
The Buffet was Excellent! Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Lot's to choose from all hot and well stocked at all times.
THINGS TO DO - Lots! Bikes, mini-put, volleyball ,tennis, ping pong, pools. Something for everyone. And, of course the watersports.
EXCURSIONS - We did the Laguna Jeep Safari, lot's of fun and a great way to see the country.
We also hired a taxi twice - once to the town of Cabarete, a great place for swimming, shopping, beach bars and food. Get the cab to drop you off at the Scotia Bank and you will be in the heart of it all. This trip was $75 U.S return and you can stay as long as you want. The taxi will wait for you, and you pay him when you return.
The other trip we did by taxi was Playa Caleton. Wow, what a beautiful beach! Check this out for sure. $30 U.S return.

So, go to this resort wi

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Trip Great Value"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian and Brandy  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
895 people found this review helpful

From Hamilton, Ontario
Duration: January 7 - 14, 2011.

This is a long review but hopefully it will help answer questions about this resort.

My husband and I just spent a week at the Bahia Principe San Juan and had a great trip. We have been to three different resorts in Punta Cana and one in Myan Riverea and this resort had the best service out of them all! We travelled with Sunquest and were happy to find out that they paid for the $20 US each to leave the country.

We were very impressed as to the amount of English the staff at the resort spoke. We even had a preference of which section to sit in at the a la cartes for English speaking staff. I was a bit embarassed that they knew more English than we knew Spanish. We were very impressed.

Room Number:
1133

Room Block:
A-9

Arrival:
We flew with Thomas Cook Canada and were very impressed. We got off the ground an hour late but made up half an hour in the air. They gave complimentary alcoholic drink one the way there and back and the meals servered were the best airline food we have had. They played more recent movies (headsets are double prong and are $3, credit cards only). The staff on the plane were very pleasant. We reserved the extra leg room at the emergency exit and it was well worth it.

The resort is an hour from the airport so pick up some Presidente at the airport on the way to the bus ($5 US for a big bottle). The tour guild on the bus was good too.

Check in was very informative. They explained where everything was and the hours of the resturant. We arrived in a small group so check did not take long. The safe is $28 for the week.

Rooms:
Our room was average but a great location, just down the path from the beach and the snack bar. This is a bit of an older resort, however they have tried to keep everything at an acceptable wroking condition. We did have an issue with the air conditioning but it was fixed within 10 minutes. You have to control the temperature with the remote and each remote is set to a specific signal (there are 100 different signal settings). Once we figured out which setting we needed to use and we got the correct key, we didn't have any further problems with it. The mini bar was stocked as soon as we left the room in the morning and the maid did a great job. The major issue with this resort is the lack of hot water! The pool was warmer than the shower. Our Sunquest Rep told us to try showering at "off peak" times. We tried early and mid morning, mid afternoon, late afternoon and at night. I only had two hot showers all week however my husband was lucky and only had two cold showers all week. It is very hit or miss.

Restaurants and Bars:
There was a really good selection of food at every meal. If you cannot find something to eat at the buffet then you must be the most picky eater in the world! We loved it all. You do have to server yourself nonalcoholic drinks at the buffet which we liked because we did not have to wait to order and you could get refilled quickly.

The Tex Mex and Mediteranian we liked the most of the three a la cartes. The Tex Mex and Italian a la cartes had a buffet for appetizers and by the time you were finished, your main course was on its way. The service in the a la cartes was "up scale". We never waited in line at the bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We spent very little time at the pool as it was very cold. There were activities going on if you wanted to join but you were still able to relax by the pool if you wanted to. We spent most of the time at the beach as the ocean was really warm. Both the pool and beach were always very clean. There was never a shortage of chairs or shade at either.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are a lot of activities you can do at this resort, both family orientated and for the party goer. We mini-golfed everyday and played basketball when the court was not being used for tennis. Boogi boarding, ping pong, foozeball and pool were also fun. They had a little bowling lane and human-sized checkers set up as well for the kids. We really liked that the disco, casino and night life bars were all located along the private street leading to the resort. After the nightly entertainment the street was closed off from traffic and the party began. We did not check it out because we are not big partiers. It was a great idea to have it all further away from the guest rooms. Even if your room was at the back of the resort, you would not have heard the noise. We only caught a few of the nightly entertainment shows as once you have seen them a few times they are pretty much the same at each resort; however we missed the Lion King which would have been a key one to see.
We did not do anything off resort although we did hear the Paradise Island was amazing and worth it (approx $100 US per person).

Other Comments:
Everyone tried their very best to help us with any request. At first our key for the air conditioner did not fit and they came within 10 minutes to fix it. We forgot our alarm clock to wake us up in time for our early flight home and asked if they did wake up calls. They tried to get us an alarm clock to borrow but unfortuantely there wasn't one available and the man at the from desk was very apologetic. I had to explain to him a few times that it was not a big deal and that we were not upset with him at the least and we were greatful for his efforts. They really went the extra mile to please their guests. The Sunquest Rep was always very humorous and happy.
Overall, we had a great time. We got a great deal on the trip through Sunquest. We knew before going that it was a bit of an older resort but the service and variety of food and activites made up for it. We had great weather. It rained four nights and that was it. We would recommend this resort on a good deal but be patient with the hot water.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"time for changes"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  George from Newmarket Ontario  on Nov 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
865 people found this review helpful

This was our second time at this resort and it was due to a cheap package price.We loved the staff and service was good no complaints here.The grounds were well maintained. Now for the food , okay but boring after a few days,no grill just fried,deep fried ,no food stations for pasta pizza etc. Drinks were local normanday brand nothing exiting.Premium drinks extra charge at disco.Casino,well machines didnt pay at all over four days.The beach was clean but damp with lots of mosquitos so use bug spray all over.As for the store bring your own snacks etc or you will pay big.The shows were okay but
they did there best.The rooms and washrooms are just okay. Our first trip was better a few years back.Overall my impression is that this resort hss run its course and needs to upgrade rooms and restaurants. We have stayed at other bahias and they surpass this location in comfort and quality. Lets face it is 20 years old and you get what you pay for. now tip no.1 for your stay ist go to rio san juan by walking to the road and taking a mini bus for 1 usd each way(taxi 30 usd).Buy your rum at he supermarket for about 9 usd a bottle,beer presidente 2 usd a bottle or corona ,miller etc.coffee 4 usd a pound etc.tip no.2 if they ask 10 usd for somthing at market place pay 5 usd.
tip no.3 bring a laptop as wireless is free in lobby and not 10 usd/hr at kiosk.tip no.4 tv sucks in rooms so bring dvds for your laptop.tip no.5 bring basic meds ,badages etc.tip no.6 staff work hard so tip them.ps if you want a good vacation go to punta cana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not bad"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colleen  on May 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
854 people found this review helpful

single parent travelling with 8 yr old

Your Arrival:
Smooth through arrival. A little slow at the front desk

Rooms:
Hard double bed. Took a while to figure out the A/C (use extra key given to turn on-very noisy). Phone line had been cut!! so for wake up had to rely on someone banging on our door early.

Restaurants and Bars:
We enjoyed the food. My daughter enjoyed picking out food at the buffet. Wish a restaurant had been open on our arrival-they were all closed mid afternoon unless we wanted pizza or hotdogs that had been out all day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I knew the beach would not be the white sand type. Sandbags out to preserve the beach. Beach itself rocky with seaweed. My daughter really enjoyed the pool. Swim up bar for the adults.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
After sleeping on hard low bed, my back was really hurting. Had a wonderful facial and massage- price quite reasonable and staff very professional and friendly.
We took the Jeep Safari that took us to a school (we both enjoyed giving gifts of pensils etc, some candy - eye opener for my daughter as to how other schools are in other countries). Different kind of eye opener when we dropped some passengers off at the Eden hotel on the way back : "Mom that old man playing tennis isn't wearing any clothes"...thought she was joking till I turned around and saw myself!!! Did the dolphin encounter at Ocean World which was well done- daughter old enough to appreciate. We also booked a taxi (forget price but wasn't much) from the resort that took us to another beach for the day..wonderful sand lots of waves and body surfing-daughter had her hair braided.All excursions mentioned are a long way from the resort as the resort itself is pretty much in the middle of nowhere.
Please be aware that the "Kids Club" is practically non-existent. The one time that I left her there was while I had a massage and when I came back the staff couldn't tell me where she was!! After a little panic and search from one end of the resort to the other- she arrived with a staff member who had taken her to get pizza--for the staff member!! My daughter told me most of her time there was spent showing the staff how to work her Nintendo DS!! The staff girls spoke very little English but I did tell them my concern about what had happened-in Spanish (to their apparent surprise).

Other Comments:
We had booked this vacation before the earthquake in Haiti, so I did feel a bit funny about being on a beach when the other half of the island is under rubble. I had brought some basic medical supplies and also we returned with only with the clothes on our back as we had left them with a contact to take to Haiti. People in DR (contrary to what I had heard before arriving) were very worried about their neighbours. Many working in the hotel also come from Haiti.Staff appreciated small tips and gifts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube