Bahia Principe San Juan Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Rio San Juan > Rio San Juan Hotel Index > Bahia Principe San Juan reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahia Principe San Juan  

Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic

"I had the perfect holiday"
Posted by: job on Jun 8, 2014
see all reviews

Bahia Principe San Juan Reviews
Bahia Principe San Juan Pictures and Information
Bahia Principe San Juan Rio San Juan Dominican Republic

#1
of 2 Hotels in Rio San Juan

User rating 3.7

Based on 41 reviews

Bahia Principe San Juan Information


The Bahia Principe San Juan was opened in July 1995 and is set on a 5 km private beach sheltered by a coral reef. It covers an area of more than one and a half million square meters, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation with mangrove swamps.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Bahia Principe San Juan Reviews

Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 3.7 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  14
Average
  7
Poor
  7
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
1 - 10 of 41

"The Gold package was not worth the location!"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ann  on Jan 1, 2009  >  8 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
245 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 4 - 11/09
Arrived on time but hotel was overbooked and rooms were not ready. Wasted most of the day waiting.

Rooms:
Clean but rock hard beds, lumpy pillows. Very little water pressure or hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobster meal we paid $65 extra for was not worth it.
Italian was good. Buffet was great..lots to choose from.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We were Gold members but will not do that again. No food available on Gold end of the beach. Had to go to buffet or 10 min. walk to Diamond end for Beach lunch.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on horseback riding. Loved it and enjoyed the lagoons and beachs.

Other Comments:
The Gold package was not worth the location ! Would love to go back again and just be in the normal rooms. Weather was perfect and enjoyed ourselves on the beach. Had to laugh that all the cocktails seemed to be the same ingredients !!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My stay at Bahia Principe"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ann  on Jan 1, 2009  >  8 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
246 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 4 - 11/09
Arrived on time but hotel was overbooked and rooms were not ready. Wasted most of the day waiting.

Rooms:
Clean but rock hard beds, lumpy pillows. Very little water pressure or hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobster meal we paid $65 extra for was not worth it. Italian was good. Buffet was great..lots to choose from.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We were Gold members but will not do that again. No food available on Gold end of the beach. Had to go to buffet or 10 min. walk to Diamond end for Beach lunch.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on horseback riding. Loved it and enjoyed the lagoons and beachs.

Other Comments:
The Gold package was not worth the location ! Would love to go back again and just be in the normal rooms. Weather was perfect and enjoyed ourselves on the beach. Had to laugh that all the cocktails seemed to be the same ingredients !!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would strongly recommend this resort to anybody"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julie  on Jan 1, 2009  >  9 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
221 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 19 to 26, 2008
Was late but check in was very good, quick and got a ride to our room quickly. People were very friendly. Buy a safe for peace of mind.

Rooms:
Very clean..Cleaned each day...Bring a tip for the maid, they very much appreciate it. We gave them coloring books, crayons, shampoos, toothbrushes and more essential items.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the buffet and it was very good food. Very much choice in the food they serve, and the servers in the buffet were very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool and grounds were cleaned constantly and everything was very clean for having so many people around. We saw very few bugs.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were very fun, and they had many of them. They had dancing and aerobics, and even games for all ages. They also had entertainment all day and night. We also went to Ocean world and swam witht he dolphins which I would strongly recommend to anyone, it was a blast. We also went on a safarie and that was a great learning experience and the guide Junior was hilarious.

Other Comments:
I would strongly recommend this resort to anybody. The staff were very friendly and include everyone in everything. Join in and you will have an amazing time. I think this place was amazing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our stay at Bahia Principe"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Jan 1, 2009  >  12 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
218 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 17-24
My wife and I just returned from BPSJ Jan 17-24. Booked Diamond accommodation through Sunquest - strongly recommend for advantages of room location, extra ammenities and separate office. Sunquest also included arrival and departure fees. Skyservice AM flight arrived on time - met appropriate bus for 1.5 hour transfer to hotel, that included other stops but very interesting to observe local areas and conditions. Fairly smooth check-in but had to wait until after lunch for room.

Rooms:
First impression is the massive size of this resort with a beach that just keeps on going. The grounds are beautifully manicured and maintained. This large complex appeals to all tastes. We appreciated the quieter Diamond section. Likely similar at Golden area. The larger cental area had plenty of activities and a more party like atmosphere. Be prepared for plenty of walking to work off the food although tram rides will be provided upon request. Room was clean and quite adequate but could certainly use some updating. AC, bar fridge and older TV were OK. King bed was fine. Shower always provided hot water. Nice towels. Lovely balcony view.

Restaurants and Bars:
In comparison to Cuba and Mexico, we were quite pleased with the food quality, variety and quantity - with so many venues to choose from that added to the variety. Plenty of berages available throughout the facility. Coffee was as bad as Cuba - so if that's important, bring your Tim's and they will provide a coffee maker. Also bring a coffee mug for to-go as they only provide plastic glasses. Not aware of any sickness and we came prepared. Clean practices and hand sanitizer everywhere.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We loved the beach - while not white sand, there was plenty of shade and it went on for miles. Several pools for variety of tastes. Recommend bringing bug repellant and anti-itch remedy to combat sand fleas. Use some common sense when placing personal items and especially towels on the sand.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
BPSJ is very isolated. We came for R&R and chose not to go on tours but lots available.

Other Comments:
Really impressed that Customer Service called twice, unsolicited, to ask if everything was satisfactory and functional. Furthermore, the number of repeat Canadians - one couple 14 years @ 2 weeks - was testament to this resort. Bring US $1 - as tips and gifts are most deserving and appreciated by a hard-working staff. BPSJ was certainly good value for our money for a nice winter escape. A huge staff is waiting to make your stay enjoyable - what more can you ask. Our stay included some terrible stormy weather which is beyond their control. Continuous rain caused severe flooding, massive beach damage and seriously affected air travel. Many were impacted terribly. However, staff fought an amazing battle to cope, clean and maintain facilities for a guests during a difficult time. Kudos to ALL. Slippery tile floors are a concern everywhere. Despite the disappointing weather BPSJ was good value during a nice break from a brutal winter.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We felt we received very good value for our money"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Jan 1, 2009  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
242 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 8-14, 2009 We were "Gold Club" who get checked in at a separate building near the main lobby. Our flight was delayed about 3 1/2 hours and we arrived at the same time as another group, thus overwhelming the staff. They called for help and got us checked in as quickly as possible. Rooms: These were good, but not luxurious. Fortunately we prefer a firm mattress. We had a little trouble getting hot water and a leaky air conditioner, but they were fixed promptly and politely. TV is a little small, with a dozen or so English channels but who is there to watch TV anyway. Room refrigerator froze everything in it, and I couldn't find a way to adjust it. Restaurants and Bars: Main buffet is just OK. Breakfasts are not their specialty. Mexican a la Carte good with lots of energy. Italian is the best...mouth watering pasta and fish dishes. It was open for lunch when we were there too !! Mediterranean was nice and the restaurant is beautiful. Seafood was only OK. The beach restaurant (lunches snacks) is pretty tacky. My wife says they had the best french fries of any Resort she's been too. The house red wine was the best I've ever had as well, although they changed about half way through the week. It was not as good but still an improvement from previous visits. Bars had the usual local selection of alcohol. Quality of the drinks prepared varied by the bartender. Generally fairly quick and friendly Beach/Pools/Grounds: Main pool is very large. Water seemed a little "cool" to me but probably normal for January. Plenty of cots, but you need to stake your claim by 10 AM latest. Golden and Diamond pools were nice and also quiet.The beach was clean with plenty of cots and shade. We stayed away though because of the sand fleas. Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel: The Animation crew did a nice job with out being annoying. Had lots of activities and games like bingo, darts, pool exercise, volleyball, horse-shoes, waterpolo. The night time shows were a little better than average. Other Comments: The place was absolutely full of Canadians this week. Plenty from la belle province as well. We felt we received very good value for our money. The small additional charge for Gold Club status was worth it as well. No one pushing Time shares on you either.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach was alright but I am sure there are nicer beaches elsewhere."

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Jan 1, 2009  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
227 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 20 to Dec 27, 2008 All went fine , we were checked in quite fast.

Rooms:
The room was nice, you could tell it was not new but it was clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
We did not like the Mexican restaurant, but the buffet and the other restaurants were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was alright but I am sure there are nicer beaches elsewhere. The pools and grounds were very well kept. We really only used the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went snorkling on a katamaran, it was rough and many people were sick including myself, but my husband was okay.

Other Comments:
We both got bites of some sort on our legs, & backs, at first we thought it was sand flea bites, but once we were home I did some research and I am pretty sure it was bed bug bites. The bed and room looked very clean but it is very hard to see bed bugs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I really enoyed my stay at BP San Juan"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tricia  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
217 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 26 - Jan 2
I heard that 600 Canadians checked into the resort on the 26th. We arrived around 9:40pm in the pouring rain. I was in my room by 10:20 and my bags had been dropped off. A small buffet for late arrivals was set up in the main dining room. It was simple but certainly welcomed after a long flight and bus-ride.

Rooms:
The room was simple but clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lunch at the Italian restaurant was more pleasant that going to the main buffet. Smaller and much quieter. Dinner at the Seafood restaurant on the Thursday night was great. New Year's Eve buffet at the mnain restaurant was great. Staff did a wonderful job!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful although the sand fleas in the early morning were a pain. Sitting on a lounge chair on the Hacienda/Diamond section of the resort was heaven - blissfully quiet and far from the business of the pool area.

Grounds were nicely maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I went on the Laguna Jeep Safari. It was a really enjoyable day. Being dropped off at Babba Beach towards the end of the day was great.

Other Comments:
I really enoyed my stay at BP San Juan. It is very remote (1 1/2 hrs from the airport) so for some it might not be the best option. I wanted a quiet, relaxing place to unwind. It was perfect for that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The bahia is a great hotel"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Glen and Lisa  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
219 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 31/08 to Jan 7/09
arrival was on time my one teenage boy loved the bus ride the other was scared the whole time. our rooms were not ready when we got there so we had to hang out at the bar for about 1 hour.

Rooms:
we had asked for rooms close together and recieved them right next door to each other. the mini bar was restocked each day, maid service was good. and our rooms were both clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
the main buffet was good with a large selection, we went to the mexican restuarant one night and the food was excellent. most of the bars were not really busy so could get a drink almost anytime. our teenagers were impressed with the fact you could eat 24 hours a day there(and i think they did try one night)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
my wife and i were never in the pools but the kids enjoyed the swimm up bar. the beach on the diamond side was realy nice and to take a walk down the beach to the east was realy cool. the grounds are unbelevable the work put into the hedges on every path was fantastic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we did not go on any tours when we were there,we only stayed for 4 night then we taken to another hotel. we were aproached the second day we were there to move, the hotel was overbooked for sunday monday and tuesday. a friend we met when we were at this hotel in april/08 aproached us about the package. we were given a bus ride to playa dorada, two rooms at the grand ventana,four tickets to ocean world, four tickets on a jeep safari, four tickets for a peurto plata city tour, and 660.00 american cash. this seems to good to be true, but it wasn't. herman from campo tours escourted us on the bus on sunday and went on all the tours with us. we had his room number at the grand ventana and also his cell phone number. i believe we were treated very fairly by the bahia, talking to peaple at the grand ventana this overbooking seems to happen every year around this time. we did have to get our own taxi to the airport but we knew about this when we left the bahia, it cost 30.00 american. the grand ventana was also a nice hotel and i will post a review about it also.

Other Comments:
i have no ill feeling towards the bahia principe for getting rid of us, actually i would book there the same time next year and hopefully can get the same type of deal. and if not the bahia is a great hotel. any questions email me at glgeddes@rfnow.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our stay at Bahia Principe San Juan"

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Greg  on Feb 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
231 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 5 - 12
Arrival was good,other than if you know some spanish,it helps. Airport clean and all went well. Filling in forms was confusing. fill them in, don't fill them in, which ones!!!!!!!

Rooms
Rooms were 7/10 . We felt Mexico was cleaner. Hot water ran out on us a couple of times and our friends a/c was not working. Beds were either hard or lumpy, we had 2 twin beds. Pillows were terrible.

Restaurants and Bars
Lots of good food but be very careful walking in restaurant , the floor was like a skating rink. WOW slippery from the cooking oil being used during meal prep.Drinks in my opinion were watered down alot. Rum was ok but weak

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach at our resort looked like a muddy river with huge sand bags to break the surf. Not a great sight!!But the grounds were beautiful with lots of plants and trees native to DR

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Definitely do not book on hotel site, if you are comfortable dealing with locals, go see Herman at east end of beach, SAVE some cash and do some of the tours.Many locals selling their goods but if they say $100.00 you should reply with at least 1/2 like $50.00

Other Comments
Definitely not as organized as Mexico or even Cuba, but nice people in DR. We had 5 days of rain and 6th day and 7th day were great. Even though it rained, the weather was warm and NO SNOW!!!!
gwelter@wiband.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would go back again."

Bahia Principe San Juan
User Rating:  Bahia Principe San Juan Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Josee  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
219 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Flight was on schedule. Bus ride to Hotel was an experience we will never forget. We had a driver that believed on breaking a record in getting his passengers to the hotel in no time!

Rooms
Our room was 1323, middle of the resort. It was clean. Do not leave anything sweet on bathroom counter or you will see lots of tiny ants. Everything worked in room. Bed was comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars
Food was good at the buffet but does tend to repeat its menu quite often. We enjoyed our breakfast in the smaller buffet which is in the Italian restaurant. The "a la carte" restaurants were all good. The Mexican was the best. The Seafood restaurant was also good, my husband recommends the surf n turf.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach is not very wide but very long. When we got there they just had almost 2 weeks of rain so the water was not very clear but by the end of our vacation it was clearing up nicely. The pool we never went in, very crowded,you need to get up early to claim any lounge chairs at pool. There are lots of sand fleas at the resort, bring bug spray, but if they like your blood there is no stopping them from nibbling on you.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
The staff were awesome in keeping everyone entertained when we had a major downpour. Watch the floors when they are wet, very slippery. We did the Dune Buggy ride which we recommend. But be prepared to get very dirty and muddy. We also suggest you jump in the ocean after this tour to get most of the mud off yourself. It is a 3 hour tour and well worth it.

Other Comments
It is a beautiful resort and very big. The day goes very fast. Drinks are watered down so you can drink a lot and never get drunk. The night shows were good. We liked the idea that after 11 pm you just go down the street which they have closed off for the night life. Lots of dancing and drinking. We would go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.