Del Rijo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Del Rijo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sancti Spiritus Province Hotels with Similar Ranking

Hostal Plaza

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2014

Club Ancon

4.2 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 15, 2014

Club Amigo Costa Sur

4.1 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 13, 2014

Gaviota Los Helechos

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 14, 2014

Finca Ma' Dolores

3.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 13, 2014

Las Cuevas

3.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 3, 2014

Del Rijo  

Honorato del Castillo, No. 12 esq. a Máximo Gómez, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba

"beautiful place"
Posted by: kim on Jun 6, 2014
see all reviews

Del Rijo Reviews
Del Rijo Pictures and Information
Del Rijo Sancti Spiritus Province Cuba

#5
of 11 Hotels in Sancti Spiritus Province

User rating 5.0

Based on 6 reviews

Del Rijo Information


Boutique Hotel next to Sancti Spiritus' Iglesia Mayor. The house used to be the residence of the renowned doctor Don Rudesindo García Rijo, after whom the hotel is named.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Del Rijo Reviews

Del Rijo Review: 5.0 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 6 of 6

"beautiful place"

Del Rijo
User Rating:  Del Rijo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  kim  on Jun 6, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
16 people found this review helpful

Well, one word for this hotel is comfortable; it is colonial style bliss that I enjoyed. I stayed here on my May 2014 vacation and stayed for 7 days and enjoyed y holiday very much here. Breakfast here was a thing of joy, the portion was big or large enough to fill my stomach at the same time it was tasty, it was the usually Cuban breakfast or fruits and eggs. The staff was very helpful and pleasant and asked me questions about where I was coming from and how life was where I come from. First of all, Santiago de Cuba is a beautiful city where there are lots of places to go sightseeing so I never was really bored during my stay here as I had help from the staff on where to visit. This place is a very beautiful and stylish colonial hotel that is one of your best options to stay in while in this wonderful city. I enjoyed my stay here with all the balconies, fountains, statues and colonial furnishings it had just made it very homely. The view from this hotel was beautiful and the rooms are large and spacious enough for me and my luggage. The room was very clean and was well equipped, you will get your money’s worth here, it is of great value. The bathrooms are big and clean with hot water shower and the air condition was in perfect working condition. I will be back next time when I am on vacation again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A quiet colonial gem in a bustling historical city"

Del Rijo
User Rating:  Del Rijo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rodney Allan  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
489 people found this review helpful

We loved this hotel so much we decided to extend our stay just so that we could stay here another 2 days!!!

Room Number:
9

Room Block:
n/a

Arrival:
Upon arrival ~ even before we got out of our rented car ~ we were politely directed where to park (on the street right in front of the hotel)and informed that the hotel had 24hr guest-vehicle security. Both hotel porter and concierge greeted us warmly and as the porter stood by our luggage we were quickly checked in ~ not at a stand-up desk, as is the usual hotel feature ~ but sitting in a very comfortable and relaxed side room filled with beautiful colonial antiques and paintings. Check in was effortless and the porter, with a smile, showed us to our room and proceeded to show us the amenities in it.

Rooms:
Simply Beautiful!!!! The huge room, we noticed, first of all was absolutely spotless. Then, looking around we noticed the faithful attention to historic detail: gorgeous draperies, Spanish colonial furniture, 14 (yes, 14) foot beamed ceilings, antique tiled floors, 10 feet high french doors with shutters that opened onto a generous balcony overlooking the historic Plaza Honorato. Off the main bedroom is a smaller room with ample closet space and a marble vanity, and beyond that a spacious bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
The intimate restaurant is situated in the courtyard of this mansion. There is a bubbling fountain in the center around which, against the walls are several small tables always beautifully set. For a relaxing after dinner cocktail the bar in the open front arcade was the perfect spot to watch the goings on in the plaza beyond.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
n/a

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Sancti Spiritus is a great colonial city with a thousand things to do and see.

Other Comments:
Can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wow! Great boutique experience!"

Del Rijo
User Rating:  Del Rijo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Theresa Kiefer  on Jul 10, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
466 people found this review helpful

We rented a van and drove from Havana to Santiago, staying at three destinations along the way. It was worth it to stop in Sancti Spiritus just to stay at this little museum of a hotel. There were 7 of us; two Cuban couples, one with a 10 yr old girl, and myself and my partner from Canada. They gave us all nice rooms (I think there are 16 in the hotel), but we received a very special corner room with a sitting area, two bathrooms (one for the sitting area) and two balconies. One balcony faced the little park/square in front of the hotel and the other faced the Casa de la Trova, which happened to be closed during our stay - our only disappointment. The air conditioning worked well, we had a beautiful king sized bed and the Spanish Colonial furniture, mixed with the modern bathroom amenities were really a treat. The ceiling must have been 18 feet high! The safes were included with the price of the rooms (about $68 CAD/night, and the 10 yr old was free). We booked online with www.cubaism.com. This is one of the four "Encanto" chain hotels in Cuba. We stayed at two of them on this trip and saw a third. I can't imagine that there is a more luxurious small hotel in Cuba. From the flat screen TV and fully stocked minibar to the flowers in the foyer and gracious service, this place was top notch.
After touring the town in the late afternoon, we ordered perfect mojitos on the patio that were so delicious; we chose to have dinner at the hotel. As the rain was threatening over their interior courtyard they set up a special table for our largish group facing the square. Their wine list included an Australian Shiraz and Argentinean Chardonnay, both of which were very nice. The food was exceptional. The complimentary breakfast the next day was a bit more modest, but completely satisfactory and included a bottomless cup of the best cappuccino we had on our trip. Parking was also included with the price of this stay. It's a little out of the way, but if you want a little luxury with your authentic, off the beaten path Cuban adventure, this is the place to stay!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a great place!"

Del Rijo
User Rating:  Del Rijo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sheila  on Aug 26, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2009
904 people found this review helpful

Stayed just one night whilst touring with a group in August 2009 - Castro's 83rd birthday celebrations were in town. Very friendly service, lovely decor and well placed for looking around the town. We had a downpour during dinner and had to move the tables in from the verandah - but this was no problem for the helpful staff. The central courtyard was well-watered. Excellent cocktails. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"recommandations"

Del Rijo
User Rating:  Del Rijo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  gallian  on Mar 30, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Mar, 2009
701 people found this review helpful

je vous recommande cet hôtel pour le charme,la tranquillité,le service ainsi que la qualité du pesonnel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A great hotel in the city"

Del Rijo
User Rating:  Del Rijo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alexandra Berg  on May 31, 2008  >  3 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2008
814 people found this review helpful

We spent only one night at this hotel in March 2008 and it was dreamlike. Everything was extremely clean, done in a marvelous colonial style. The hotel has a great location and the price is good…I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube