El Castillo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > El Castillo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Baracoa Hotels with Similar Ranking

Hostal 1511

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 17, 2014

La Habanera

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 1, 2014

Porto Santo

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

El Castillo  

Calle Calixto García, Rpto. Paraíso, Baracoa, Guantánamo, CUBA

"nice view but needs better management"
Posted by: nelly on Jun 5, 2014
see all reviews

El Castillo Reviews
El Castillo Pictures and Information
El Castillo Baracoa Cuba

#1
of 6 Hotels in Baracoa

User rating 4.2

Based on 6 reviews

El Castillo Information


El Castillo hotel (The Castle), located on the top of a hill, used to be an old colonial fort (Sanguily Fort), which was built in 18th century. From here you can enjoy splendid views over the surrounding mountains, the city and one of the bays of Baracoa.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

El Castillo Reviews

El Castillo Review: 4.2 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"nice view but needs better management"

El Castillo
User Rating:  El Castillo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  nelly  on Jun 5, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
23 people found this review helpful

Let me start from the food offered in this restaurant, breakfast and dinner was great and I enjoyed every meal that I ate at this hotel. I stayed here in April 2014 for four days and had an amazing holiday here. This hotel has an amazing setting and also it is well located just that in my opinion, it is badly run and could be better if only they improved on their services and managing skills. The flight of stairs I had to take stairs up and down to get to town was nerve wrecking for me which is probably the reason I may not come back here again. The location is perfect, the setting is beautiful but I just thing that the hotel needs better management. From the hotel, you will get to see a beautiful view of the El Yunque. The rooms are basic but they are very clean and comfortable. One of the good sides of this hotel which lifted my spirit was the poolside bar where I went to have a couple of drinks by the poolside and relax. I came here on vacation and I didn’t have the vacation I dreamed, I was supposed to stay for about 10 days but changed my mind after four days, I hope when next I visit, they must have improved. Let me not forget the staff that tried to make my stay a great one but their effort didn’t really help me as I needed more than they could offer.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice view"

El Castillo
User Rating:  El Castillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wilfried  on Oct 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
197 people found this review helpful

This hotel has à very Nice location in the centre.
You must be able to climb some stairs!
THE swimmingpool is good with Nice warm clean water.
The breakfast is also o.k.
We can advice you to stay There.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a view"

El Castillo
User Rating:  El Castillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pascale MINNEBOIS  on Aug 21, 2011  >  11 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
229 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
spacious, good bed, nice old colonial furnitures

bathroom : not very new, could use a refreshment

Restaurants and Bars:
bars : nice coktails

restaurant : diner is really bad, the buffet does not taste. do not eat there but go down to the city and you would eat much better (tropical paladeres)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
swimming pool : very nice although the water does not seem that clear and clean

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Splendid view and friendly staff"

El Castillo
User Rating:  El Castillo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jozef Martin  on Apr 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
246 people found this review helpful

We stayed for two nights and had a good time. Splendid view at the balcony, a nice swimming pool and a good bed. Breakfast with good choice. Dinner (once) was tasty and well served.
Staff is friendly and helpfull.
Some furniture could be better, but this did not spoil our good experience.

Room Number:
204 ?

Arrival:
friendly and correct.
You will need a taxi, because the hotel is high up on a hill (overlooking Baracoa)and with luggage it is too hard to climb the stair.

Rooms:
nice view over the town and the bay.
Good bed. Misfitting (broken) toiletseat and showercurtainrod. Little space to put your clothes.

Restaurants and Bars:
nice, spacious with freindly staff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of Cuba's best - Exodus Aug 2008"

El Castillo
User Rating:  El Castillo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Penney  on Aug 19, 2008  >  4 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2008
1305 people found this review helpful

We stayed here august 2008.
Fantastic location - the view across the Caribbean is wonderful with the city spread out at our feet. The pool was welcoming after a long day's travelling as were the fabulous daquiris.
The rooms have style, space, peace and plenty of hot water.
The cocktail bar has a superb menu and the breakfast buffet set us up for the day.
The group voted it our favourite hotel on the trip (we did stay at 11 different locations in 16 days!)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gaviota Hotel Castillo, Baracoa 2008 overview"

El Castillo
User Rating:  El Castillo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stephen Davie (Esteban)  on May 20, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2008
1328 people found this review helpful

I WAS A GUEST IN CASTILLO HOTEL FROM FEBRUARY TRHOUGH TO THE END OF MAY, 2008. THE MANAGER, OLGA, IS A TRUE TEAM LEADER, AND ALL OF HER STAFF ARE PROFESSIONAL, ATTENTIVE, CARING AND THEY WORK IN ABSOLUTE HARMONY. I WAS MADE TO FEEL AT HOME AND BE ONE OF THE FAMILY. THE ACCOMMODATION IS A BARGAIN FOR THE PRICE, THE VIEW OF THE TOWN, THE SEA, AND EL YUNQUE AND THE MOUNTAINS...UNRELENTINGLY BREATHTAKING. HE ACCESS TO TOWN IS TERRIFIC....QUICK...YET THE HOTEL IS UNTO ITSELF ON THE HILLTOP. IN ABOUT THREE MINUTES YOU GO FROM THE MOUNTAINTOP VIEW TO THE TOWN, THE ACTIVITIES AND THE LEGITIMACY OF UNFETTERED CUBAN LIFE. THE FOOD IN THE HOTEL IS GOOD AND THE BUFFET BREAKFAST FEATURES FRESH EGGS, TORTILLAS, AND VARIOUS LOCAL FRESH FRUITS. THE ENTIRE STAFF ARE ALL WARM AND EAGER TO PLEASE. THE POOL IS CLEAN AND THE POOL DECK IS ENHANCED WITH LOVELY GARDENS, AMAZING FLOWERS AND MATURE COCONUT PALMS, ALL SURROUNDED BY AGED STONE WALLS WHICH NEVER INHIBIT THE BREATHTAKING VIEWS. MY THREE MONTHS THERE WAS A JOY, AND WHEN I LEFT, MYSELF AS WELL AS SOME STAFF IN THIS INCREDIBLE HOTEL, SHARED THE SAME EMOTIONS, AS I HAD BECOME AS IF THE NEWEST MEMBER OF THEIR AMAZING FAMILY, AND IT WAS SIMPLY VERY SAD TO LEAVE. I AM NOT A NOVICE TRAVELLER, NOR WAS THIS THE FIRST TIME IN CUBA, AND YET I CAN SAY WITH SINCERITY THAT AS ON MAY 2008, THE MANAGEMENT AND STAFF AND SERVICE IN THIS HISTORIC HOTEL, LOCATED IN THIS SLOW MOVING SURVIVING UNDAUNTED SLICE OF HISTORIC CUBA, ARE ALL SIMPLY FIRST RATE, AND FOR THE PRICE THEY CHARGE TO LIVE THERE, MY BILL WAS ALMOST AN EMBARRASSMENT FOR THE AMAZING EXPERIENCE, SERVICE AND FRIENDSHIP. I WILL RETURN THERE IN THE EARLY FALL. FEEL FREE TO EMAIL ME IF YOU HAVE SPECIFIC QUESTIONS, OR WOULD LIKE PHOTOS, NAMES OR ACTIVITY IDEAS IN THE AREA. THANKS FOR LISTENING....STEPHEN DAVIE/ MAY 19, 2008.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube