Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Jamaica Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa  

Montego Bay - Lucea

"Not So Grand "
Posted by: Carl on Jun 26, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Reviews
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea Jamaica

#1
of 1 Hotels in Lucea

User rating 3.2

Based on 10 reviews

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Information


Situated in the harbour town of Lucea, Hanover, just north west of Kingston, the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Jamaica Resort & Spa Hotel is a very special Jamaica deluxe spa hotel.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Reviews

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 3.2 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (7)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 10

"Not So Grand "

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carl  on Jun 26, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
98 people found this review helpful

We were at this hotel for seven days. Air conditioner did not work and was never repaired. Called for towels every day,did not get towels every day. The min fredge did not cool. The pool was very dirty. Not much of a beach, mostly rocks. Food was ok mostly, most of the people were friendly. If we were not with another , I would left second day. What a waste of money and time for a bad trip. Lady Antebella Hotel is the other end of the same hotel. Just called a sister hotel.

Room Number:
2318

Room Block:
2300

Arrival:
06/17/2013 waited in lobby and bar from 11:00 till 4:00 to be given a room.

Rooms:
AC didn"t work. Fredge didn"t work nor would it be stocked without repeated calls. Towels must of been made of gold, hard to get.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was ok. Drinks were low end .

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach rocky, not much. Pool dirty and not being cleaned. Grounds were pretty

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not many activties on the resort. Resort is one hour from airport and most everything else.

Other Comments:
I have been to many resorts on many of the islands and Mexico. This is a waste of a vacation. I feel very cheated.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not safe"

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne-Marie  on Aug 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
150 people found this review helpful

Cash stolen from my locked room only accessible by those with swipe cards. Hotel walked away from us.
Service not very good at all, beach artificial. Overall stay at another hotel like RIU. I am a fair guy and fortunate enough to travel once or twice a year with my wife and three children. Never a Fiesta Hotel again. Yes I am not happy with the way the hotel dealt with my theft, actually I should say the way they did not deal with it as they did nothing but cover their behinds and give me the run around. Thought middle or upper management would do the right thing, I guess not.

Room Number:
2040

Arrival:
July 21, 2012

Other Comments:
NOT SAFE and NO Help when needed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best resort overall in our 15 years of travel"

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  william  on Apr 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
211 people found this review helpful

Don't know where to start everything was a 5 out of 5! The worst part of the trip was the ride in from the Montego Bay airport.(and the extra 4 hours Sunwing added to our getting to destination due to low fuel) The Resort and all the workers were top notch. No line ups for fine dining and no "race to the beach" every day to secure a chair. I especially want to comment on the protocol that exists for security. We had trouble with our safe upon arrival. The battery exploded in the safe mechanism and it opened spuratically. Fifteen minutes later security and the repairman arrived and once the security opened the safe he left the room and the worker asked if he could come in. They don't allow both employees in the room together. We thought it was fixed and the next day we returned after another perfect day at sunset cove to find a note from Diome Cunningham in housekeeping, telling me that the safe was open and that I should contact security immediately. Panic stricken I was surprised and pleased to find all my belongings untouched. Security and the repairman came again and fixed the problem for good this time. I am still in awe at how professional the whole experience was for our group of 6 adults. Not one complaint....everything and everybody were perfect. The food was good and the fine dining was very good. I would suggest the Italian (great beef tenderloin), the Jamaican, Mexican and the Asian restaurants. We chose to eat breakfast outside by the pool....just because we could. We have travelled to Cuba, Mexico, Dominican (both sides)and now Jamaica and this was the best overall. It's true what they say...once you go you know!!!

Room Number:
1716

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool huge....beach small

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Slightly above average"

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nova Scotia  on Feb 20, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
200 people found this review helpful

Traveled with 2 other couples, all first timers to Jamaica. Flew with Thomas Cook/Sunquest/Jazz and aside from 1-2 hours delay on both ends, the flight part was fine for the purpose.

Check in at the resort was painless, got our room assignments and were carted away to start our vacation. Our rooms were top floor, building 11, and those rooms were perfect for us. Nice views of the sea, pool area, lobby and infinity bar. Yes, occasionally there are smells in the halls/stairwells but those smells do not permeate the rooms. The room doors seal when closed. We had requested some specifics regarding rooms and we were quite satisfied with what was provided. If you have a few minutes, go see the concierge in the morning, she will give you a rundown on the resort and may try to get you to do a tour, but the info she gives is useful. We passed on the tour.

The Rooms
We had a regular room. Spacious and clean. Bed was comfy, pillows a bit small but acceptable, a few spares in the closet. A/C worked fine. Bathroom was well equipped, water pressure and temp was great. Water seemed a bit on the hard side. No issues with the room at all. We've been to A.I.'s 8 times and this was one of the best maintained rooms we have had. Our maid was Donalee and she was awesome. She even went out of her way one morning to knock a wasps nest from above the balcony with her broom... neither of us got stung. ;) FYI, maids come early, not an issue for us early risers, but if that's an issue for you, use the Do Not Disturb card.

The Bars
Just a few points... Lots of bars around, but sometimes it's hard to find one open, especially late afternoon. We're not sure what was going on but on two occasions, the bar at Sunset Cove ran out of rum... out of rum in Jamaica?? The Sports Bar does not serve rum after 11:00 pm... so they said. Miss Lou's was relaxing and made great irish/spanish/special coffee. The infinity bar was our favorite with excellent service and the nightly live music was really enjoyable. There is one bartender there in particular who I watched bust his butt all week long serving patrons, he was the best... wish I had seen his name, tall man, maybe Richard?

Room Number:
25

Room Block:
11

Rooms:
Restaurants
Ugh... the concept of walk-up ala cartes does not suit this resort. Not all restaurants are open at once. If you are not there early, the waits are too long. We did one ala carte, had to rush to get there, and the food was nothing to write home about. We tried next night to find an ala carte but alas, we ended up in the buffet. I wasn't a fan of the buffet. Not enough selection for such a big resort, but I didn't starve. We also ate from the Jerk Chicken hut twice, good stuff. We ate at the Sunset Cove restaurant most lunchtimes, food was just OK. Wait service was hit or miss all around the resort. One exception was Owen at the restaurant at Sunset cove beach. He was outstanding. FYI, dress codes are strictly enforced.

Beaches
Sunset Cove is the only real swimmable beach... at least when we were there. The main beach is too rough and windy, Coral Beach or Adults Only beach is too rough and too rocky. Sunset Cove had a nice sandy stretch and is much calmer and less windy, but a long walk from the Jamaica side. There is some snorkelling right off Sunset Cove where I saw garden variety aquarium type fish, the odd octopus, flounder, grouper, lots of urchins and a lionfish. Lots of shade to be had on all beaches.

Pools
Three pools... I think, only saw two. The main infinity pool was where we finished our afternoons... after the Sunset Beach bar ran out of rum. Lots of seating, lots of shade and the staff at the swim up bar were very good. Pool was kept clean and was quite refreshing.

Restaurants and Bars:
Resort as a whole
Big, lots of walking. Some staff excelled, some not so much. Staff in some areas and behind some desks do not seem well informed on activities and such going on around the resort. We were given a run around on a few occasions when asking where we could eat, what was open, etc. The resort is too big to be wandering around following bad advice given by staff. The place was kept clean and tidy, surroundings are very pretty.

A few other things...
There was some concern in reviews about theft and safes. We experienced none of that, and in fact accidentally left about $50 on the desk one morning, it was still there when we got back that evening.
Staff on the resort do not demand tips, though some do earn them.
Public washrooms were cleaned regularly.
The resort uses a towel card system.
Getting loungers and shade anywhere on the resort was not an issue. There is spot saving that goes on, but in my opinion, if those folks got up early just to save a spot, they wasted their time, there are lots of choice spots from which to chose.
Bring your own snorkel gear. I heard there was a $25 deposit to use the resort gear and I don't know about you, but I don't usually take $25 to the beach with me at an A.I. There are also mask and snorkel sets that can be purchased on site.
Most travelers now take their own insulated travel mugs, if not, they can be purchased on site.
The disco is nicely laid out but WAY too loud and a little dark. The DJ needs to recognize that when there are more people standing outside the disco than those in the disco, something might need to be adjusted... I'm guessing the volume.
Room fridges are stocked with 2 water, 2 beer, 4 soft drinks and are replenished daily. Fridges are not very cold though. Bottom floor of each building conveniently has an ice machine that needs a room card to work.
Most stuff you might want to buy is far cheaper at the Airport.
The birds do make a lot of noise, but you can not hear them in the rooms with the doors closed.
Checked out a couple of shows - Perfect Couple night was without a doubt the funniest show I have ever seen, and in Palladium fashion, the importance of guest safety was obvious.
I thought the drinks offered around the resort were very good - quality, variety and strength.


Overall
Ummm... slightly above average resort that with a few little improvements here and there, would be outstanding. One or two little problems don't matter but a handful of little issues can detract from the experience. No big complaints, but not much to really rave about either. Biggest plus would have to be just the general atmosphere. We had a pretty good stay, had a few laughs, met some nice folks, great weather and made it home safely.




Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware the scam"

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  steve  on Dec 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
326 people found this review helpful

Beware,

The Fiesta Hotel Group has a pretty good scam going. My wife and I were booked at the Grand Palladium Jamaica for one night. About 41 hours prior to our scheduled arrival we were contacted by the airline about a change in our flight which would make our one night stay no longer needed (we were booked with another hotel for the remainder of our trip). I immediately contacted the hotel guest relations department and told them of our need to cancel. I was told "no problem mon". We completed our vacation and returned home to find that our charge had not been reversed so we contacted Funjet to get their assistance, they told us all we needed was a letter from the hotel and they would refund us. I emailed Maria Hoffman (guest relations manager for fiesta hotel group) requesting a letter that stated we could granted a refund. Here is her response:

Dear Mr. Dobben, Thank you for your email. It is unfortunate that you weren’t able to visit our resort as originally scheduled due to flight cancelation. With regards to your request for waving the penalty charge, that usually apply by a non show booking, we regret to inform you that we won’t be able to proceed with such without a copy of written notification (email or fax) that was submitted to the hotel prior to your expected arrival. Shall you happen to be in possession of such; we urge you to forward it to us and we will proceed with the refund accordingly. Thank you for your attention. Kind regards,

So their guest relations made no mention to needing me to send them a written notification at the time I called (remember: No problem Mon!) and now the guest relations manager says that without it I would receive no refund.

This is a scam to take your money. It is intentional and speaks to the non existent level of integrity this company operates with. I urge you to consider any other company than a Fiesta Hotel Group property. The Secrets St. James for instance. Don't contribute to a company that scams travelers. By patronizing them you condone their behavior. Don't be their next victim!

Beware of the scam!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wedding worries"

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sparkles  on Nov 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Wedding | Family and Kids
199 people found this review helpful


The overall appearance of the resort was breathtaking, but other standards were not up to speed. I previously made reservations for my guest to gather at one of the restaurants for a rehearsal/ meeting of family’s dinner. We were unable to meet at the one I chose because it was not open at the time and would not accommodate my group. I didn’t receive knowledge of this until the day of. The wedding coordinator had no recollection of the reservation.
Although we traveled with our own DJ, we had to rent the speaker system from the resort. During the reception, the music was muffled and very low. The guests were also unable to hear the toasts and speeches. The wedding coordinator was unavailable for assistance during the reception because she was in a meeting for a wedding the next day. We also had to share our space with another group; we were separated by a sheet. There music was overpowering our group, making it impossible to enjoy our reception. I was also told by the wedding coordinator that I would have the entire section to myself.

As far as the wedding photographer, we were also unhappy with his work. When we were looking over the pictures and discussing the flaws, Mark gave every excuse for the poor pictures. Due to the fact that it was an evening wedding, the sun started setting and he continued shooting. The pictures were dark, unfocused, blurry and slanted. He continued to say that he did not have the right equipment as far as lenses and lighting for better quality pictures. I felt as though he was unprepared for the job at hand. We were unable to pick any of the night shots because of this matter.
One of the most serious issues was my aunt being trapped in the elevator for 45 minutes. There was no alarm, little air and no assistance for the entire ordeal. She had to pry herself out of the elevator injuring her thumb. She is a senior citizen.


Arrival:
From November 17-22 myself and my now husband selected The Grand Palladium as the venue for our wedding. Our wedding date was Saturday November 20, 2010 we were expecting this occasion to be one of the happiest in our lives, unfortunately it was not.

Rooms:
The wedding coordinator also needs assistance, or extra staff. At 6 pm, the reception area was being set up. Cameras were just being placed on tables. It started late and then the guests still had to wait another hour to be served. There is not enough info on hotel activities and restaurant operating hours. The staff needs help with organization and it starts with management. The guests’ rooms smelled like mold, which required several guests to change their rooms. There was a huge lack of communication for our large group, making it impossible for us to all meet up. Guests were divided between the two sides. The wedding coordinator made no attempts to retrieve guests list from reservations manager, who had names to properly room guests at least 2 weeks prior. We reserved almost 20 rooms, and had over 60 guests attending the wedding. Everyone had the same complain, No organization. There was little to no accommodations for the bridal party. We almost couldn’t eat because there is no room service and no take out, so my maid of honor had to plead with staff to take out food. Our pick up was late for the wedding.

Other Comments:
Before leaving the resort my husband and I met with Maria Hoffman, Guest relations manager, to try and come to some sort of resolution. We were unable to do so and she agreed to contact us as soon as possible. My wedding experience was a huge disappointment. I feel as though after our money was spent, there were no intentions of fully accommodating us. No one checked on us after the wedding and no one was available for questions or concerns.Still waiting for response.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Vacation!!"

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Apr 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
293 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1822

Room Block:
18

Arrival:
No problems on arrival but hard to get an extra key.

Rooms:
The room was great. We have been to many contries and this is the best room we have ever had. The hot tub in the center of the room was wonderful.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good. Had nothing but good experiences. The popcorn at the sports bar was great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was my only slight disappointment. The sand and rock were hard on the feet. Missed the long walks on the beach. Adult only beach was nice and quite.

Other Comments:
Overall a great experience and I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Love it"

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy  on Jan 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
297 people found this review helpful

Definitely 5 star resort. Service was great, staff was friendly. Loved our 1 bedroom suite. I would go back again. The landscaping and building are absolutely beautiful .

Room Block:
36

Arrival:
We were 1st in line at check in. Unfortunately they only had 1 person on duty at that on a Sunday night but she was very pleasant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They have an adult only beach and pool which is very nice when u want peace and quiet. The bartender and waitress and waiters were a joy at this beach/pool area.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our First Trip to the Caribbean"

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brennan  on Jan 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
427 people found this review helpful

We found this hotel on CheapCaribbean.com and got a great deal on our stay here. Overall our trip was great! We were on the Lady Hamilton side of the resort. The resort was still in its start-up stages, but we had read a few reviews prior to leaving and knew that going in. There were a few things, but definitely nothing major that we let ruin our trip.

Your Arrival:
We got through customs fairly quickly, and found our transport to the resort. Once on the bus, we had time to run and grab our first Rum punch of the trip. The bus ride was about 30 min or so. If you've never been to Jamaica, be ready b/c the driving can make things eventful! Lucea(pronounced Lucy) is between Montego Bay and Negril, so we were the first to be dropped off at our hotel, as the other vacationers on the bus were headed on to Negril. Upon arrival we were welcomed in the lobby with more rum punch, and a quick check in at the front desk. The resort is fairly large so a golf cart took us to our building, and brought up our luggage. All in all, a breeze and nice experience.

Rooms:
We saw on a Grand Palladium message board that you could try to specify a certain room before arrival. We attempted to do this, but unfortunately didn't get it. No Problem mon! Our room was actually situated in a great location. We didn't have a great view of the ocean; but then again, the only time we were in our room was to sleep. Huge Jacuzzi tub, and shower! Toliet seat was loose when we got there, but by the time we came back that night it was fixed. Didn't even have to report anything. Beds were a little hard, but nothing that made it impossible to get a good nights sleep. You get two room keys initially. When you go in the room one of the keys goes in the slot on the wall, this turns on the power for the room. The key has to stay there in order to keep the power going and keep the A/C on. I'm sure you can get another key, but we just never asked.

Restaurants and Bars:
The swim up bar was by far our favorite. The bartenders were always doing something to keep everyone entertained. They made whatever you asked for, and made it however you wanted. We enjoyed the food pretty much everywhere, except the Indian restaurant. We had never had Indian food though, so decided to give it a try and figured out it's just not our thing. The sushi was really good, as was the Jamaica restaurant. The jerk chicken served at lunch down on the beach hit the spot! There is also an American style sports bar that is open late for those craving a cheeseburger, pizza, or even nachos late at night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There are a few beaches on the property. They aren't very big, as they are man made. It takes some getting used to because the sand is finely crushed rocks. We only went to the beach that had all of the water activities, so I can't really comment on the others. The water was very clear, enough for us to get some great pictures of the coral and colorful fish there. We had a little trouble with one of the people that rent out the snorkles and masks. The lady told us we needed two room cards for two masks. This was confusing as the same lady the day before let us rent two snorkles and masks with one key. Normally though it wouldn't be a big deal except that we only got two keys initially and our other one was still in the slot in the room so that our room stayed cool. Minor blip on the radar of our trip though. Grounds were very nice, and there were always people our working on them. Never came across a person there that didn't say Hello/Good Morning/Good Evening to us. The ocean/pools were a little cool, but it was March. Pool was tiled with very small tiles that were coming up. They were in the process of doing what they could to fix it(a gentleman was in the pool each day trying to reattach them). Again something we knew about before and didn't let ruin the trip. Even became somewhat of a running joke at the swim up bar, as after a few drinks a few guests and us decided to use these tiles as a form of "currency" for each drink. It was all in good fun. We saw some reviews recommending water shoes to combat the coarse sand, and pool tile issue; but neither of us brought those, and neither of us left with cuts on our feet.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always something going on. Whether it was during the day by the infinity pool where they had music going and games of cornhole, volleyball, or a yoga/exercise class going on. At nights they always had some form of music entertainment in the bar located above the swim up bar. They also had different forms of entertainment shows going on in the theater. Later in the night the disco would open up for those guests that were interested in dancing a little. There is a casino on site as well. The resort has a dedicated Entertainment Staff that is constantly offering different things to do to keep you entertained during the day and night. There are numerous options for excursions for guests to partake in. We chose to hire a car and venture to Negril one day. This was our only sour point of the trip. A driver took us and another couple to Negril; stopping at a local shopping mall, a craft mall, and finally Rick's Cafe for sunset. We booked our trip for a Sunday and were told that some of the shops may be closed, not a big deal since we hadn't planned on doing much shopping to begin with. We arrive at the mall and discover that out of the 20 or so stores, 3 are open; and none of them have power due to a pop up shower that had just come through. Our driver dropped us off anyway and told us he'd be back in an hour. So we sat for pretty much an hour. Next we move on to the craft mall. On our arrival, we were taken back to one of the tents to be shown some of the crafts(we all assumed the driver knew the lady and was helping her out with some potential customers). We knew going in that we were going to be approached to buy their items, but weren't prepared for the manner in which they went about it. There are some fairly cool authentic Jamaican items, but the individuals selling them can be extremely overwhelming. Rick's Cafe was our final stop and it was nice to be able to sit down, watch the vacationers jump from the cliffs and the locals from the tree tops on top of the cliffs, and enjoy a nice sunset.

Other Comments:
The resort as a whole was very nice. The people there were all very friendly and helpful when we needed it. We could tell it was a new resort and was going through some start-up issues, but nothing major and again nothing that would ruin your stay there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"For a young hotel it is kind of a disgrace."

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2009
288 people found this review helpful

I´ve been to better resorts

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube