Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Royal Caribbean

4.0 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2012

The Ritz-Carlton Golf & Spa Resort

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 26, 2011

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa  

Montego Bay

"Horrible Trip"
Posted by: Jane on Jun 13, 2014
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Montego Bay Jamaica

#4
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.5

Based on 18 reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Information


Situated in the harbour town of Lucea, Hanover, just north west of Kingston, the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Jamaica Resort & Spa Hotel is a very special Jamaica deluxe spa hotel.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 3.5 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  6
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 18

"Horrible Trip"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jane  on Jun 13, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
454 people found this review helpful

After spending hours of researching resort destinations we booked at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. This was the most miserable trip that I have been on in my life. I have been on many All-Inclusive trips and expected to receive what I paid for. The accommodations are outdated and run down. The first day that we arrived and were assigned a room, we went there to find that there was no air (all night). We reported it and it was not addressed until the next morning. The same night the bathroom shower flooded, the sink backed up, I asked for a refrigerator because my finance' is on insulin that needed to stay in the refrigerator and the refrigerator in this room did not work at all. We opted to get ice from the ice machine to keep the meds. cold, but the ice machine was not working. There was supposed to be beverages in the refrigerator and nothing was there, not even bottled water. There was a toilet brush in the bathroom with feces in it.

After making many complaints known to the front desk and guest relations, we were told that we would be moved the next day. We waited all day for a room. I called 9 times to ask if there was a room ready and was told that they would contact us. I made one final call at 2:15 pm and was told that there was a room ready finally.

We were there for only 4 days and spent one with all the problems above and the 2nd waiting for a room. Which when we finally received it, again, no beverages in the refrigerator (which is the "mini-bar" by the way), not even water until that night after calling 11 times.

In addition, in the 2nd room we attempted to use the Jacuzzi which was filthy! After I cleaned it and ran water, it backed-up with black soot and grime. I called to see if it could be fixed and their way of repairing it was by removing the stopper (not sure how one is supposed to contain water in the Jacuzzi if there was no stopper).

There were cracks, holes and broken pieces of ceramic throughout the property, including our room, the steps and grounds. In fact, I slipped on the broken step leaving our room, but thank God I did not get hurt. There was no elevator to rooms on levels higher than the first floor. This was very upsetting to me since I wrote to a Guest Relations Representative prior to our arrival and explained that we needed a refrigerator for the meds and that my finance' is in need of a hip replacement, and could not do a lot of walking. We ended up on the 2nd floor.

We feel ripped-off, I disappointed my finance by trusting the resort.
I advised the resort prior to my arrival that I would be visiting as an option for a wedding there in October. Things went so bad that now my finance' has decided that there will not be a wedding at all.

Their way of fixing things after I wrote a letter of complaint was the offer of an upgrade if we paid to return. What an insult! They do not value their guests. Go to

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Females Beware"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michele  on Feb 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
821 people found this review helpful

We arrived the week of January 9th, 2011. First impression was that it was an OK resort, not as nice as some of the AI's we visited in the Mayan Riviera in years past. Nicely appointed rooms, lousy wireless internet service that you had to pay for, OK food with slightly more than half the restaurants open on any given day. Pool/beach service much less attentive vs that in Mexico, much less appreciative staff-perhaps due to the noticeable cultural differences between Jamaicans vs Mexicans.

The point of my review was that early on the Saturday evening, while I was walking back to my building down a lit pathway, less than a 5 minute walk from the main building, I was abducted by three Jamaican men to a dark, secluded area of the beach and viciously raped by them, two of them holding me down & covering my mouth and eyes while the third one raped me. They each took their turns raping me, then left me there. Thankfully I am still alive...

I don't know how I managed to collect myself and stumble back to the front reception desk to report the rape and ask for medical attention. The female receptionists treated me with only mild concern but did call the medical clinic at the resort and I was taken there, administerd a rape kit then escorted back to my room where my family was waiting. Needless to say they were horrified at what had happened to me, but due to the circumstances, and not being able to identify the assailants, we decided not to call the police as there would not be much they could do.

The next day we reported the incident to one of the Air Transat tour representatives with only the intention of informing them of what had happened, and to ask about alternatives for early departure as we were NOT going to stay for the entire week we had booked. The Air Transat tour rep took the complaint to hotel management, who denied any report of the rape, but considering the huge tourist dollars that Jamaicans rely upon for their livelihood, it was no surprise to us.

It was fortunate we were able to leave the resort ahead of our original departure date. At NO TIME between the rape and our departure did the resort bother to call us to see how I was doing, nor did they offer any additional help/compensation for what had happened to me. Our overall impression what that they were sweeping it under the rug, so to speak, so as not to raise concern over the safety at the resort. In retrospect, in comparison again to similar level resorts in Mexico, the level of lighting at night, and the numbers of actual security staff patrolling the grounds is NOT enough to deter such men from committing such brutal crimes against women.

Our lawyer confirmed that it would be impossible to seek legal action as I could not identify my assailants and the only physical evidence I have is my clothing and the photos we took of my injuries.

Please be careful if you choose to stay at this resort. DO

Room Number:
N/A

Room Block:
N/A

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wedding Nightmare"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Russell A Wilson  on Oct 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
703 people found this review helpful

To whom it may concern:
We would like to take some time and describe our wedding / honeymoon in Jamaica. We stayed at The Grand Palladium for six days and five nights.August 31, 2011 to Sept 5, 2011.
Day 1, we arrived to Jamaica around 1:00 pm. From a distance the resort looks beautiful, up close there are numerous things that are not very appealing about the resort. The walkways were in horrible conditions that need repairing. When we arrived to our room, the room had a horrible musty smell to it. The air conditioning did not work, the refrigerator did not keep anything cold or even cool, the bathroom was dirty, the bathtub was dirty and one of our glasses from the mini bar had not been replaced with a new one. After calling the front desk to have to someone come clean we went to grab some lunch. Our first stop was Mo Bay buffet. Everything was cold. We had a positive outlook on this and said well the great thing about this is that its all inclusive so we can go try somewhere else. We walked down to the Jerk Hut that was highly recommended. They did have great chicken, but we did not like the rice that was served. So we ventured to Sunset Cove. First, my husband asked if they served any Vodka and we were told yes. He asked for Grey Goose and the server said he would be right back. The server came back and said they not only had no Grey Goose, but no vodka period. So my husband ordered something else. Next, we ordered our food. My husband ordered a Jerk chicken sandwich with fries and I ordered the jerk pork chop with fries. A few minutes later the server came back and said they did not have anymore pork chops. Ok, no big deal I said. What do you have, I asked. The server assured us that they had everything else. So I decided on the jerk chicken. My husband order did not change. About 20 minutes later, maybe longer. The server comes back with two plates of food. Neither plate has any fries, the server tells us he is sorry but they are out of fries. He proceeds to put our dishes in front us and they both are the exact same thing! Jerk chicken, rice and beans and some type of pasta. My husband had no bread for a sandwich and the server said to us.....sorry mon....maybe you come back earlier tomorrow. So we were not even given a option at that point what we were going eat.

Arrival:
I have a nut allergy and we could not get a answer on how to proceed with it. The front desk told us that the wedding coordinator should give us something, the wedding coordinator said the front desk should give us something. We had no idea who to listen too. We had to meet with the wedding coordinator so we called for a cart to come get us from our room. We waited about a half hour and no one came, we called again. About another half hour went by and still no one to pick us up. Finally, our wedding coordinator called and requested a cart pick us up. A hour later, she called our room and she asked why we were still in our room, we explained no one came to pick us up yet. She called again. Finally, my husband and I walked all the way to her office even though my husband has MS and bad knees. We met with the wedding coordinator, after we were there about ten minutes, the bell man called the wedding office to say he was at our room to pick us up. She explained to him we were already there and how long we waited. We were so frustrated at this point we went to guest services to complain. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was on the second floor. We had already expressed numerous times we needed first floor because of my husbands medical condition. But we decided to not complain. Upon arrival to our new room the floor was dirty and we had guests. Several ants everywhere! Again, we decided to not complain at that moment. The refrigerator was not cold and the room was cooler then the other room however not cool enough. Outside of our door we had a fire extinguisher box with no fire extinguisher in it! We went to bed hoping the next day would be better.

I have a nut allergy and we could not get a answer on how to proceed with it. The front desk told us that the wedding coordinator should give us something, the wedding coordinator said the front desk should give us something. We had no idea who to listen too. We had to meet with the wedding coordinator so we called for a cart to come get us from our room. We waited about a half hour and no one came, we called again. About another half hour went by and still no one to pick us up. Finally, our wedding coordinator called and requested a cart pick us up. A hour later, she called our room and she asked why we were still in our room, we explained no one came to pick us up yet. She called again. Finally, my husband and I walked all the way to her office even though my husband has MS and bad knees. We met with the wedding coordinator, after we were there about ten minutes, the bell man called the wedding office to say he was at our room to pick us up. She explained to him we were already there and how long we waited. We were so frustrated at this point we went to guest services to complain.

Rooms:
We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was on the second floor. We had already expressed numerous times we needed first floor because of my husbands medical condition. But we decided to not complain. Upon arrival to our new room the floor was dirty and we had guests. Several ants everywhere! Again, we decided to not complain at that moment. The refrigerator was not cold and the room was cooler then the other room however not cool enough. Outside of our door we had a fire extinguisher box with no fire extinguisher in it! We went to bed hoping the next day would be better. The next morning my husband was up about 6:30 am on the porch enjoying the view when he realized there were ants everywhere on the porch. He came to wake me up and saw a ant on the bed where I was sleeping. Also, there were ants on every table, both sinks, inside the mini bar and other places. Our refrigerator still was not cold, so my husband called the front desk to complain. They sent someone to spray. And the maintenence guy came to fix the refrigerator. We left a note for the staff to restock the mini bar with diet coke, water and orange pop with a tip next to the letter. We left to start our day. We met with guest services and they gave me a allergy card to show at the different restaurants. Our family arrived and everyone went to their rooms to change before lunch. We get back to our room, our mini bar was not stocked right, but the tip and letter were gone. They did spray for ants, but they left the dead ants everywhere. We called to ask the desk to send someone to clean up the dead ants, no one was ever sent. We went to meet our family for lunch. At Mo Bay I asked the chef if there were any nuts in any of the desserts and showed him my allergy card. He told me there were no nuts. I go to my table with my dessert plate and my husband stops me and says that I cannot eat the dessert. I explained to him that I asked the chef and he said I could. My husband said no you cannot there is nuts in it. A couple minutes later, the chef comes up to the table and tells me I cannot eat the dessert he just told I could because there are in fact nuts in it. We made reservations for dinner, and told them there was 16 of us and we would like to sit together. When we arrived to dinner they told us we could not sit together, even though there was a whole section open. After a 10 minute debate and speaking with management we were able to sit together. While at dinner and talking to our family we found out that several of their rooms were not cleaned, their refrigerators and air conditioning did not work either. We also learned that they all got fruit baskets and a bottle of rum upon their arrival. My husband and I had not gotten either.

Restaurants and Bars:
Day 3 still hoping for a better day in Jamaica. We did get our fruit plate, but no rum. Called and explained this to the front desk who assured us we would get our rum the following day. Ants are back everywhere in our room. This is the day before our wedding and the power has gone gone out a few times leaving our phones not NOT working. The phones not working continues until Saturday ( day 4 ) sometime ( after our wedding ). Saturday the power went out a few times also. We were charging our video camera when the electric went out and it surged our video camera, that we had recorded our wedding on. After the wedding we had lunch at Mo Bay. Everything went ok until they never brought our wedding cake out to us. When we asked where our wedding cake was, the staff had no idea about our wedding cake or if it was even in the back. So, we agreed to have it at dinner . We had reservations for the steakhouse. We arrive at the steakhouse to find two tables for our reservation. We had specifically asked to be seated together for dinner, since we had just got married earlier that day! Of course this became a big ordeal as usual, but finally after a debate, the tables were moved together. Next problem, we had three flower arrangements from the wedding. They were setup at Mo Bay for lunch and then they were suppose to be at the steakhouse for dinner. There were two big floral arrangements and a smaller one. The steakhouse only had the two big floral arrangements. When I asked where my small one was, they had no idea or explanation. Next, when I made the reservation I reminded the woman that I had a nut allergy. The reservation consisted of 16 orders. 15 orders were steak orders and 1 chicken. I had to tell the woman how I wanted the steaks cooked before hand. And I was told the dinner would include the salad bar. Also, I had to pick a dessert. I picked strawberry cheesecake because it is my husbands favorite. While at dinner we learned that we did not get the salad bar with our dinner. At this point, not even worth the argument! When dinner arrives to the table eleven out fifteen steaks were undercooked! Now, I ask what is the point of having me tell you how to cook the steaks if they are still going to be wrong? So now we have a couple guests eating while the rest are returning food. Not a ideal dinner for our wedding night. While all of this is going on, my husband is trying to speak with management. He continually asked for the person in charge over and over again. The staff continues to bring him every supervisor in the building. He continues to explain that he wants the highest manager possible. This went on for at least a hour during our dinner. Finally, he spoke with the guest service manager who really could offer no help!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Now the wedding cake has been brought out and it looks horrible. The letters were uneven and spaced terrible. At this point in time we were not even in the mood for cake so we asked them to box it up so we could take it back to the room. The strawberry cheesecake was brought out and it had nuts in it! Unsure why anyone would let me pick a dessert with nuts in it when I had a allergy card and told the woman I made the reservation with. The cake was delivered to our room and was not covered / wrapped completely. Well since we had ants in our room we could not keep it there in fear the ants would begin to eat our wedding cake. Someone came and picked up the cake and held it in the refrigerator in the lobby or somewhere. The next morning, our last day in Jamaica. We started our day with a meeting with guest services. We made reservations for dinner. This time we agreed to having two tables for our reservation. We were told this would unsure the best possible service to us and our guests if we sat seperately. We just wanted to have a good last night with our family. Dinner started out fairly well. We had two tables and two waiters. Our waiter at our table was wonderful. However the table was not too happy with their service. The waiter was not keeping up with their drinks and we had begun eating at least 20 minutes before the other table even started to get their food. My mom and daughter ordered the pork chop. It was pink throughout and red towards the bone! Not safe at all.
We experienced one nightmare after another on our trip! We asks for the general mgr to call us on Monday or Tuesday. One week later we have heard nothing from anyone. This was suppose to be perfect! We did get married after all. We are asking for a full refund.

Thanks for your time,
Russell & Tasha Wilson

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BEWARE OF THEFT!!!"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Leighann  on May 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
828 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort for a week and it was a complete NIGHTMARE! Me and my boyfriend were robbed of $600 on our second night! We had gone out to dinner with friends and when we returned our safe was open and our money was gone. The hotel will take NO RESPONSIBILITY! The did door and safe readings and of course it said that nobody was in our room except us. It had to be someone in the resort because after writing my review on trip advisor I had many people contact me all with the same experience! DO NOT USE THE SAFE!

In addition, the service is HORRIBLE! If you eat at a restaurant it will take you 2 hours to be serves, not including the time you are waiting to be seated.

Please do not waste your money here! I booked my vacation through Liberty Travel and cannot believe that they would send clients to an unsafe place such as Grand Palladium!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor service and accomodations"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Renee  on Jun 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
608 people found this review helpful

My experience at the Grand Palladium was not pleasing. My room would not cool off. The food was not tasty. The accomdations was not what I expected. We asked the maid to refresh our refrigerator that never was did. We asked for wash cloths and soap never received it. We needed transportation one evening by tram no one answered the phone. The cold water in the shower was not working properly so it was to hot. Finally the room flooding and we had to move. These things should not happen in a "five star" rated hotel..

Room Number:
4004

Arrival:
June 15th

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"O.K."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jeanette  on Jun 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
739 people found this review helpful

The resort was beautiful, but the deals were misleading in terms of the ammenities included in the package. The patrons were quite unfriendly and we had to deal with rowdy teenagers slamming doors, yelling, and running from room to room throughout our stay. Although security came out, they never caught the teens in action, so our nights were rather miserable once returning to the room and trying to get rest. Afterwards, security never randomly dropped in so as to make sure our stay became more peaceful. We paid almost $400 for massages and a facial...it was the worst massage ever!!! The masseuse was unfriendly and seemed indignant at having to provide the service, putting forth as little pressure as possible.

Nevertheless the maids, bartenders, waiters/waitresses, taxi drivers, and pool attendants were most friendly and accomodating.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Infrastructure problems, average food"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Feb 1, 2009  >  10 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
301 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 1st - Feb 15th
Our Vacation was booked through Signature Vacations out of Toronto with the "Star" Service option. The bus ride to the Hotel was less than an hour including a stop for refreshments in route. Our room was not ready when we arrived but was available within a couple of hours

Rooms:
Our room was a nicely appointed Jr. Suite with a King Size Bed in Building 16. During the last couple of days we had difficulty with the A/C and at the time of our departure had not been resolved. This was one of a liteney of infrastructure problems which ranged for water leaks, water backups and strong sewage smells.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at all 3 of the of the Buffet Restaurants and 4 of the 7 A-La-Carte Restaurants. The Mo-Bay and The Negril Buffets are on a staggered schedule for lunch, Because of high winds the Blue Lagoon was closed for a few days during our stay. Bubba's Steak House was by far the most popular and because there were no reservations one had to get there early or endure a long wait to get in or be denied access completely. The Pasta restaurant was just as popular while the others there was usually a little or no wait accessing the other A-La Cartes. The food was great in the 4 A-La-Cartes we ate in especially, the Rib Eye Steak in Bubba's, and the Rasta Pasta and the Jerk Chicken in the Creole. The Seafood Food Possidon Restaurant was not open the first week we were there.
Management were constantly handing out assessment forms in the buffets asking guests their opinion to the point of overkill. We had difficulty with guests picking up and handling food with their hands rather than use the tools provided.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All in my family felt constrained by the resort model."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angus  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
360 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 21 - 28
A 6 pm departure from Halifax meant a 3 pm arrival. Landed at Montego Bay at 11 pm, five hour flight, processed through customs, forty minute ride to resort, in room by 1:30 am. All amounted to just under 12 hours travel time.

Rooms
Our "basic" room was on the third floor, with a corner balcony overlooking the Caribbean. It was over 500 square feet in size, and had amenities beyond my needs. Contrary to those who had comfort issues with the mattress, this light sleeper never awoke once during the night. The room was as good as it has to be: clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Housekeeping staff are discrete and do a wonderful job. I liked the feature where the a/c doesn't operate when you have the balcony door open. It is but one of the measures taken in the spirit of being environmentally concious.

Restaurants and Bars
Got to all restaurants but one, and left that one, Bubba's, to those tourists (not from Canada), who can't seem to go without their daily fix of steak, burgers and hot dogs - not that I'm no patron of red meat, but given options like Indian, Asian,Mexican, Italian, Jamaican, and buffets with a huge variety, I chose to avoid the familiar. There was ample choice on all menus, and apart from the Mexican dishes lacking anything exciting, my family unanimously endorsed every meal. Our favourites were the Poseidon for its fish, and the Asian. For lunch, we kept the jerk chicken and jambalaya chefs in business - their location at Sunset Cove dictated our choice of beach. If I was a whiner, I might complain about the quality of the coke they mixed with my rum, but this was as bad as it got. Feel sorry for me yet?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All in my family felt constrained by the resort model."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angus  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
360 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 21 - 28
A 6 pm departure from Halifax meant a 3 pm arrival. Landed at Montego Bay at 11 pm, five hour flight, processed through customs, forty minute ride to resort, in room by 1:30 am. All amounted to just under 12 hours travel time.

Rooms
Our "basic" room was on the third floor, with a corner balcony overlooking the Caribbean. It was over 500 square feet in size, and had amenities beyond my needs. Contrary to those who had comfort issues with the mattress, this light sleeper never awoke once during the night. The room was as good as it has to be: clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Housekeeping staff are discrete and do a wonderful job. I liked the feature where the a/c doesn't operate when you have the balcony door open. It is but one of the measures taken in the spirit of being environmentally concious.

Restaurants and Bars
Got to all restaurants but one, and left that one, Bubba's, to those tourists (not from Canada), who can't seem to go without their daily fix of steak, burgers and hot dogs - not that I'm no patron of red meat, but given options like Indian, Asian,Mexican, Italian, Jamaican, and buffets with a huge variety, I chose to avoid the familiar. There was ample choice on all menus, and apart from the Mexican dishes lacking anything exciting, my family unanimously endorsed every meal. Our favourites were the Poseidon for its fish, and the Asian. For lunch, we kept the jerk chicken and jambalaya chefs in business - their location at Sunset Cove dictated our choice of beach. If I was a whiner, I might complain about the quality of the coke they mixed with my rum, but this was as bad as it got. Feel sorry for me yet?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great relaxing holiday!"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Deborah  on Dec 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
541 people found this review helpful

My sister and went to the Grand Palladium for a week as a result of and over booking problem she and her husband had in February. The were bumped around a bit and didn't get to the actual resort til the 3rd day. However, they enjoyed their stay once they got there. They were given a free weeks stay to compensate for their trouble. Her husband could not get away at this time, so lucky me she took me!
There was a bit of a hold up at the airport getting our transfer bus sorted out but arrived just after lunch. No problems checking in and we were quickley in our room. It was Villa 11 closest to the main pool and lobby. We were on the third floor and had a lovely view of the ocean and resort. Stairs were a bit much for our weary aging bones, but that was our problem not theirs, and the room was lovely.... No issues what so ever.... bed was always made up pretty each morning with flowers and no issues with towels (even had fresh face cloths each day) and beds turned down every night except a few, but we had just gone back to our room too early. The staff was always friendly and courtious.
This was obviously a slow season, as the resort was not busy at all. Never a issue getting a spot at the pool or beaches. We were able to make reservations at the alacart restaurants (my sister was not able to do that on her first trip here do not understand that policy ???) Really enjoyed Bubba's the steak house it was fantastic would highly recommend it we went twice and had the filet which was cooked perfectly. A gentleman beside us had the T-bone and it was huge and we heard him rave at how good it was. The Italian and Mexican restaurants weren't too bad. We didn't try the oriental, creo or indian ones. The Seafood restaurand down by the beach was a total disappointment for lunch and supper. The Buffet was good always good choices when we were there for breakfast and lunch, only ate supper there twice and it was pretty good, my sister didn't think it was quite as good as when she was there in February, and not all the restaurants were'nt open every night probably because of it not being busy enough.
Can't comment on the entertainment, we didn't go to any shows, we mainly went for some sun and relaxation, and we weren't disappointed. Lazed by the pool or at the beaches, plenty of sun or shade whatever you wanted. My sisters one complaint was that the pool is cold... but I managed to get her in everyday once or twice.... I found it refreshing once you got in.
I would recommend and would even go back if I got the opportunity.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As for the hotel, it is indeed beautiful but it ends there..."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dorothy  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
309 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 7 - Feb 18
We arrived in Montego Bay around 10:00pm....No problem with the airport..all went smooth. Found JTL counter for our hotel transfer, was ushered outside to our bus...sat and waited an hour for 2 more people that were going to Negril...just anxious to get to our hotel...Our checkin at the hotel went smooth as well...

Rooms:
Our room was beautiful...a huge jaccuzi which easily sat 4 people...an awesome outdoor shower, long chaise loungers on the balcony facing the ocean. Too bad the bubble was about to burst...A rock hard bed awaited us...I can compare it to sleeping on a box spring that someone forgot to put a mattress on...Not a good night's sleep the whole time....For a 5 star hotel and the price we paid we expected more comfort....everyone we met were commenting on the beds....room was clean and had no rpoblems during our stay...

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were cafeteria grade food.....The seafood restaurant at Sunset Cove was by far the best with a limited menu...The crab & cheese bread was delicious and were the mussels...Bubba's steak was so chewy.... left a lot to be desired....The Creole restaurant has good pork chops, we ate there twice it was tasty food with great service. All the bars were the same except the swim up bar is not easily accessible for those a little timid in deeper water...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The best beach is Sunset Cove....the others are for sunning only.... We spent a lot of time at the Adult pool, loved the chairs in the water....The grounds are lovely and will be quite stunning with the time....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube