Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Royal Caribbean

4.0 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2012

The Ritz-Carlton Golf & Spa Resort

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 26, 2011

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa  

Montego Bay

"Horrible Trip"
Posted by: Jane on Jun 13, 2014
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Montego Bay Jamaica

#4
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.5

Based on 18 reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Information


Situated in the harbour town of Lucea, Hanover, just north west of Kingston, the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Jamaica Resort & Spa Hotel is a very special Jamaica deluxe spa hotel.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 3.5 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  6
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
11 - 19 of 18

"Great relaxing holiday!"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Deborah  on Dec 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
541 people found this review helpful

My sister and went to the Grand Palladium for a week as a result of and over booking problem she and her husband had in February. The were bumped around a bit and didn't get to the actual resort til the 3rd day. However, they enjoyed their stay once they got there. They were given a free weeks stay to compensate for their trouble. Her husband could not get away at this time, so lucky me she took me!
There was a bit of a hold up at the airport getting our transfer bus sorted out but arrived just after lunch. No problems checking in and we were quickley in our room. It was Villa 11 closest to the main pool and lobby. We were on the third floor and had a lovely view of the ocean and resort. Stairs were a bit much for our weary aging bones, but that was our problem not theirs, and the room was lovely.... No issues what so ever.... bed was always made up pretty each morning with flowers and no issues with towels (even had fresh face cloths each day) and beds turned down every night except a few, but we had just gone back to our room too early. The staff was always friendly and courtious.
This was obviously a slow season, as the resort was not busy at all. Never a issue getting a spot at the pool or beaches. We were able to make reservations at the alacart restaurants (my sister was not able to do that on her first trip here do not understand that policy ???) Really enjoyed Bubba's the steak house it was fantastic would highly recommend it we went twice and had the filet which was cooked perfectly. A gentleman beside us had the T-bone and it was huge and we heard him rave at how good it was. The Italian and Mexican restaurants weren't too bad. We didn't try the oriental, creo or indian ones. The Seafood restaurand down by the beach was a total disappointment for lunch and supper. The Buffet was good always good choices when we were there for breakfast and lunch, only ate supper there twice and it was pretty good, my sister didn't think it was quite as good as when she was there in February, and not all the restaurants were'nt open every night probably because of it not being busy enough.
Can't comment on the entertainment, we didn't go to any shows, we mainly went for some sun and relaxation, and we weren't disappointed. Lazed by the pool or at the beaches, plenty of sun or shade whatever you wanted. My sisters one complaint was that the pool is cold... but I managed to get her in everyday once or twice.... I found it refreshing once you got in.
I would recommend and would even go back if I got the opportunity.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic! Returning next year, for sure; Great facilities; great kids club; great food."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tim  on Mar 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
399 people found this review helpful

Our family (Myself, wife, and 6-year old daughter) were here from Mar/7/2010 through Mar/14th. We plan to return next year. This is probably the nicest resort vacation we've been on (went to Melia Caribe in DR twice; Melia Guillermo in Cuba once; Sol Guillermo in cuba twice; Sol Melia CayoCoco once).

We picked this resort in part due to advice that it had a good kids club / kids programme, and we were very pleased with how this worked out: There was a good space which was well setup; perfectly happy for kids to be dropped off for an hour or two, or longer (half or whole day if you wanted - although we didn't leave our daughter there that long). Staff for the kids club were excellent, and they have a well structured program.

Your Arrival:
Transfer from airport was typical/painless/well organized; approx 45min drive from airport to hotel lobby.

Quick efficient check-in, bags (and us) were shuttled directly to our room very promptly. A 'welcome drink' while you wait in line for a few minutes was not unwelcome. The lobby is very nice space.

Rooms:
Rooms are well maintained, clean, very nicely setup (LCD/flat screen TV is a perk for example). Beds were comfy; cleaning staff was efficient; fridge was restocked consistently.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was excellent, consistently. Always plenty of good choices (including an amazing pastry selection at the main breakfast buffet every am - REALLY GOOD; not just frozen-thawed junk). Excellent 'juice bar' at breakfast - lots of nice fresh juices available. Lots of healthy food options, and less healthy (but tasty of course) options too if you prefer :-)

A-La-Carte - was easy to book at the guest service counter. Book a few days out at once so you have things laid out. We tried many of the a-la-carte restos and they were all good.

Bars were good; sometimes longer lines formed at 'peak season' (beach bars in particular) but I suspect this is inevitable. Good selection of drinks, very good service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A number of different beach areas each with their own character gives this resort a nice flavour: A bigger beach with water-sport activities at one end of the resort; a small quiet beach for sun bathers but also with excellent coral snorkeling; a larger beach near the main section of the resort - some rocks at one end make it 'a bit of a challenge for swimming' - but just move down this same beach 100-200m and you have excellent swimming. Further down the beach there is less sand, more 'coral shoreline' so not really for swimming - just sunning or rock-hopping to explore tidal pools (which are nice and interesting actually).

Grounds are *lovely* -- well maintained, and the covered walkways are nice to keep you out of the sun as you walk about during hot-hot sunny days during peak burning times.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Standard on-resort activities, but our main focus was the beach and the pool, and we were very happy with these. Night time entertainment was good (we only went 2 nights but it was good). We didn't end up going 'off resort' at all - we were enjoying ourselves far too much 'on resort'.

Other Comments:
This place is simply fantastic. The staff are very good, and management clearly are making an effort to 'stand out' from 'typical all inclusive' resorts. They have a management welcome cocktail meet-and-greet on Mon/Tues nights and they setup a 'beach party' on Friday night - lots of good food, tons of tables - seating for .. various hundreds .. in the 'main poolside / beach-volleyball area' - which is a significant amount of setup work - with good live music, good food - so a nice touch.

Small detail: This is really a 'two in one' resort - one 'half' is "Lady Hamilton"; the other half is the "Grand Palladium Jamaica" - but anyone staying at either side has full access to everything. I think Lady Hamilton is a more recent addition and possibly booked up more heavily with Transat/Noritours affiliated charters. (but I'm not 100% certain about this). Either way, we were very happy with our stay at Lady Hamilton.. can't want to go back next year for another week (or maybe two! ? :-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joan  on Mar 10, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
395 people found this review helpful

Our first time in Jamaica and we will definately go back we were there a week, the people were great, the resort was beautiful and the food was excellent. I can't say enough about this place truely. I enjoyed every minute we were there. If you don't like the pool that everyone shares there are pools outside the rooms almost like your own private pool, which is what we had, and it included our own bar tender and she was wonderful. The music was enjoyable and there was always something to do if you wanted to spend extra money. They always had plenty of restaurants opened so you didn't have to eat at the same place each night, and we tried all of them and enjoyed them all. I have been to many places and this is by far the best of them all.

Your Arrival:
The arrival was quick and easy, you get dropped off at your resort and they have people to take your luggage while you check in and get a drink! They are always willing to accomodate as we were suppose to have a ocean view, and there was a small mix up which was quickly fixed the next morning.

Rooms:
The rooms were beatuiful and clean, every day they make another design on your bed with the towels, and the fridge in your room was replenished daily and if they forgot a quick call fixed the problem.

Restaurants and Bars:
All I can say about this was the food was excellent and the drinks were perfect, if you do go make sure you order a dirty banana it was to die for!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was rocky wear some shoes but there is another place to eat where they serve jerk chicken down by the beach, and it was the best and the view was wonderful and the beach was gorgous.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buffets have good selection"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Francine from Ottawa  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
364 people found this review helpful

Stayed at this resort from Dec 4 to 11, 2009. We were very impressed with the size of the room. Safe included and fridge replenished daily. Most of the staff is very friendly and eager to assist. Wireless internet provided free of charge in the lobby, so if you have a laptop or notebook, you`re all set! In room safe is big enough for notebook 10-11 inch but not 15 inch laptop though.

Rooms:
Spacious and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets have good selection and you can even get various meats and/or fish grilled fresh. Bars have good selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks.
We tried the Grill Restaurant (Bubba's), Asian and Italian. They were all good but preferred the grill, don`t miss it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools are beautiful, clean and well maintained. There are pool attendants all day to ensure the grounds surrounding the pool is kept clean. The grounds are patrolled by unarmed and armed security 24 hours a day.
Beach however is very rocky, recommend wearing water shoes. The best beach is closest to Lady Hamilton however not easily accessible as there are many steps.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Local shopping tour with rhum cake factory was 40$ US and we found better prices at the Airport Duty free shops when it came to coffee, spirits and tobacco products. The craft market however had better deals if you are good at bargaining.

Other Comments:
This is our first time in Jamaica and will definitely return. I recommend this resort wholeheartedly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't make a mountain out of a mole hill and you'll have a great time."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Annet  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
312 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 6 - 14
Two couples - our first time to Jamaica. We had a later flight and arrived at the airport around 9:30 p.m. It was about an hours drive from the airport - check in was fast and our room was ready, we spend little time waiting to get to our room.

Rooms:
We had oceanview rooms - WOW - beautiful view - but remember - this is a much newer hotel and landscaping, trees, shrubs etc., require time to mature.

Restaurants and Bars:
Most bars are quick in serving you. Leroy at the main pool swim up bar is fantastic - a small tip will definately get you great service! Make sure you ask Leroy for a "triple tower", and his famous shooters! The bar by the activity center wasn't too bad - took a little longer for the cocktails - but who's in a rush - your on holidays! Buffets are great - different selections every day. We went to a few of the A La Cartes (which you did not need reservations for - because there are quite a few) and they were good as well, but we decided - why dress up - we were on holidays - and the buffets were great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I did quite a bit of research before booking this hotel and knew going in the beach(s) were not their best feature. Nice smaller beaches, if you go for a holiday mainly for a fantastic beach - you might want to reconsider going to this hotel - but having said that - the complaints about the pool - wow people - a few tiles (1" x 1") is really not a big deal. The pool was in magnificant shape when we were there. Grounds are super clean. The employees are extremely friendly and courteous. The weather was a little windy on the first few days, but the rest of the week was hot and sunny, and thankfully there was a bit of a breeze.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The place is above average to say the least"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rollie  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
349 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Palladium from March 1st to March 8th. We read the reviews of the place and the bad ones left us a bit apprehensive. The place is above average to say the least.

We stayed at the Rosehall Iberostar last year. If you were to compare the two properties, they are both above average. They are totally different styles of resorts, though. The Iberostar is a more centralized, NY hotel style. The Grand Palladium is more California styled, sprawling resort. The GP has lots more shoreline and acreage. The Iberostar has a higher quality of buffett food, complete with champagne at midnight and desserts, etcetera. The GP has a larger pool, specialty restaurants, and a greater number of bar stations.

They are both good resorts in their own, yet different rights.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All in my family felt constrained by the resort model."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angus  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
360 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 21 - 28
A 6 pm departure from Halifax meant a 3 pm arrival. Landed at Montego Bay at 11 pm, five hour flight, processed through customs, forty minute ride to resort, in room by 1:30 am. All amounted to just under 12 hours travel time.

Rooms
Our "basic" room was on the third floor, with a corner balcony overlooking the Caribbean. It was over 500 square feet in size, and had amenities beyond my needs. Contrary to those who had comfort issues with the mattress, this light sleeper never awoke once during the night. The room was as good as it has to be: clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Housekeeping staff are discrete and do a wonderful job. I liked the feature where the a/c doesn't operate when you have the balcony door open. It is but one of the measures taken in the spirit of being environmentally concious.

Restaurants and Bars
Got to all restaurants but one, and left that one, Bubba's, to those tourists (not from Canada), who can't seem to go without their daily fix of steak, burgers and hot dogs - not that I'm no patron of red meat, but given options like Indian, Asian,Mexican, Italian, Jamaican, and buffets with a huge variety, I chose to avoid the familiar. There was ample choice on all menus, and apart from the Mexican dishes lacking anything exciting, my family unanimously endorsed every meal. Our favourites were the Poseidon for its fish, and the Asian. For lunch, we kept the jerk chicken and jambalaya chefs in business - their location at Sunset Cove dictated our choice of beach. If I was a whiner, I might complain about the quality of the coke they mixed with my rum, but this was as bad as it got. Feel sorry for me yet?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All in my family felt constrained by the resort model."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angus  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
360 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 21 - 28
A 6 pm departure from Halifax meant a 3 pm arrival. Landed at Montego Bay at 11 pm, five hour flight, processed through customs, forty minute ride to resort, in room by 1:30 am. All amounted to just under 12 hours travel time.

Rooms
Our "basic" room was on the third floor, with a corner balcony overlooking the Caribbean. It was over 500 square feet in size, and had amenities beyond my needs. Contrary to those who had comfort issues with the mattress, this light sleeper never awoke once during the night. The room was as good as it has to be: clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Housekeeping staff are discrete and do a wonderful job. I liked the feature where the a/c doesn't operate when you have the balcony door open. It is but one of the measures taken in the spirit of being environmentally concious.

Restaurants and Bars
Got to all restaurants but one, and left that one, Bubba's, to those tourists (not from Canada), who can't seem to go without their daily fix of steak, burgers and hot dogs - not that I'm no patron of red meat, but given options like Indian, Asian,Mexican, Italian, Jamaican, and buffets with a huge variety, I chose to avoid the familiar. There was ample choice on all menus, and apart from the Mexican dishes lacking anything exciting, my family unanimously endorsed every meal. Our favourites were the Poseidon for its fish, and the Asian. For lunch, we kept the jerk chicken and jambalaya chefs in business - their location at Sunset Cove dictated our choice of beach. If I was a whiner, I might complain about the quality of the coke they mixed with my rum, but this was as bad as it got. Feel sorry for me yet?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Infrastructure problems, average food"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on Feb 1, 2009  >  10 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
301 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 1st - Feb 15th
Our Vacation was booked through Signature Vacations out of Toronto with the "Star" Service option. The bus ride to the Hotel was less than an hour including a stop for refreshments in route. Our room was not ready when we arrived but was available within a couple of hours

Rooms:
Our room was a nicely appointed Jr. Suite with a King Size Bed in Building 16. During the last couple of days we had difficulty with the A/C and at the time of our departure had not been resolved. This was one of a liteney of infrastructure problems which ranged for water leaks, water backups and strong sewage smells.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at all 3 of the of the Buffet Restaurants and 4 of the 7 A-La-Carte Restaurants. The Mo-Bay and The Negril Buffets are on a staggered schedule for lunch, Because of high winds the Blue Lagoon was closed for a few days during our stay. Bubba's Steak House was by far the most popular and because there were no reservations one had to get there early or endure a long wait to get in or be denied access completely. The Pasta restaurant was just as popular while the others there was usually a little or no wait accessing the other A-La Cartes. The food was great in the 4 A-La-Cartes we ate in especially, the Rib Eye Steak in Bubba's, and the Rasta Pasta and the Jerk Chicken in the Creole. The Seafood Food Possidon Restaurant was not open the first week we were there.
Management were constantly handing out assessment forms in the buffets asking guests their opinion to the point of overkill. We had difficulty with guests picking up and handling food with their hands rather than use the tools provided.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As for the hotel, it is indeed beautiful but it ends there..."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dorothy  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
309 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 7 - Feb 18
We arrived in Montego Bay around 10:00pm....No problem with the airport..all went smooth. Found JTL counter for our hotel transfer, was ushered outside to our bus...sat and waited an hour for 2 more people that were going to Negril...just anxious to get to our hotel...Our checkin at the hotel went smooth as well...

Rooms:
Our room was beautiful...a huge jaccuzi which easily sat 4 people...an awesome outdoor shower, long chaise loungers on the balcony facing the ocean. Too bad the bubble was about to burst...A rock hard bed awaited us...I can compare it to sleeping on a box spring that someone forgot to put a mattress on...Not a good night's sleep the whole time....For a 5 star hotel and the price we paid we expected more comfort....everyone we met were commenting on the beds....room was clean and had no rpoblems during our stay...

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were cafeteria grade food.....The seafood restaurant at Sunset Cove was by far the best with a limited menu...The crab & cheese bread was delicious and were the mussels...Bubba's steak was so chewy.... left a lot to be desired....The Creole restaurant has good pork chops, we ate there twice it was tasty food with great service. All the bars were the same except the swim up bar is not easily accessible for those a little timid in deeper water...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The best beach is Sunset Cove....the others are for sunning only.... We spent a lot of time at the Adult pool, loved the chairs in the water....The grounds are lovely and will be quite stunning with the time....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube