Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sandals Royal Caribbean

4.0 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2012

The Ritz-Carlton Golf & Spa Resort

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 26, 2011

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa  

Montego Bay

"Horrible Trip"
Posted by: Jane on Jun 13, 2014
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Montego Bay Jamaica

#4
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 3.5

Based on 18 reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Information


Situated in the harbour town of Lucea, Hanover, just north west of Kingston, the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Jamaica Resort & Spa Hotel is a very special Jamaica deluxe spa hotel.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Reviews

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 3.5 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  6
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
11 - 19 of 18

"Great resort Great Wedding"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ken  on Jun 4, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Wedding | Family and Kids
625 people found this review helpful

A great hotel, it's a bit far from things but the service and experience were top notch.
The resort is quite large and there is a lot of walking involved in getting around but besides that it is excellent.
We would recommend to anyone.
I made more detailed comments below.

Room Number:
3401?

Room Block:
34

Arrival:
Flight: Canjet from Montreal to Montego Bay. Canjet Select is worth the extra $70 - 80. You get seat selection, priority check-in and luggage service (last on, first off), extra drinks and travel kit on the plane plus an extra 10kgs luggage allowance per person. Plane was fine for a charter, kind of cramped.

Transfer: to hotel was quick 40minutes and at the hotel we got our welcome drinks and with Transat Imperial service priority check-in.

Rooms:
Room: 1 bedroom suite in building 34, a bit of a walk from the lobby but there is a shuttle service. The building is centrally located between the adult beach/pool and bar and the activity beach. The room was large and comfortable with separate bedroom, two balconies with ocean views and a large bathroom. We always had the fridge re-stocked and when ordering extra towels and pillows the service was quick. The AC worked well if you left the keycard in the unit during the day and there were also ceiling fans to circulate the air. The safe worked fine and yes the shower leaks a bit if you point the head at the shower door, not a big deal.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants: We ate breakfast at the buffet below the Infinity bar, the food was the same as in the other two larger buffets for breakfast. The was always a good selections of food.
We tried the buffet and jerk chicken for lunch but were good. The buffets had some theme nights which we enjoyed but the a la cartes were well worth the wait. If you have certain bracelets you can pre-book which we did once for the Steak. If you group is not too large you can just walk up and get a table which we did at the Mexican and Creole again both were very good. The only weak part was snacks which are only available in the sports bar in the lower lobby or at the beaches where there were hot dogs, hamburgers etc.

Bars: At night we spent most of our time upstairs at the Infinity Bar. the chairs are comfortable and the service was good if you treated the staff with respect and a tip or two. There was entertainment each night near the bar. The the younger ones in our group went to both the sports bar and disco later at night and enjoyed them both. There were also bars at each pool and the activity beach.
All served Red Stripe and half decent quality of liquor (regular appletons and local branded liqueurs). The Lady Lou behind the Infinity Bar had some better quality liquors and specialty coffees.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds: Resort is quite large, you should be ready for a lot of walking. We spent much of our time at the main pool, it is very large so there was always room to swim or to lounge under the palapas. The side of the pool closest to the 'Jamaica' side of the resort also had a small hidden bar amongst the trees so you did not have to swim up to the bar if you wanted to stay dry.
There were workers everywhere painting, cleaning etc the grounds are well maintained.
The beach directly in front of the pool is small and rocky but the adult beach and main beach at the far end were much better for swimming. The adult pool is small and busy during the day and open until 10 at night. And yes there are noisy frogs each night....it was pretty cool actually.
There is a fair selection of shops (liquor, cigar, souveniers)on the grounds and the prices range from good to outrageous depending on what you are purchasing (Planters Peanuts $15 us).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did some tours (catamaran in Negril, Zip Lining, shopping and a Dolphin swim) negotiate and you should get free upgrades or a break on the prices. Everywhere we went the people were great, friendly,polite and eager to show off their country. The only draw back is the resort is not close to anything except the dolphin swim and Lucea which is a bustling little town. You pretty much had to hire a driver to go anywhere.

Other Comments:
The wedding was beautiful, on the beach in the sun. The resort does many in a day, we saw 4 or 5 parties each day we were there. The bride would recommend it to everyone.
Tips: Tip the staff and you get better service, $1 for drinks, $2 or 3 for the maid daily, plus for the tour drivers guides etc, they work hard and Jamaica is almost as expensive as North America. US $ are accepted everywhere. Bring your own thermal mugs, drinks are served in small 8 ounce plastic cups except in the sit down bars.

Cons - Size if you don't like to walk
Shows were extremely loud, competing with the Infinity Bar entertainment at night.
No quiet outside areas when the shows were on
Resort is not walking distance to anything
7 days is too short.

Pros - Beautiful grounds
Infinity pool large warm
Rooms large clean.
Most staff friendly
Food
Drinks
Hidden Poolside bar ask Onar for an Ambrosia

My wife originally didn't want to go to Jamaica, now she wants to go back.
We would recommend this resort to anyone as long as they know about quirks of the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The place is above average to say the least"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rollie  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
352 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Palladium from March 1st to March 8th. We read the reviews of the place and the bad ones left us a bit apprehensive. The place is above average to say the least.

We stayed at the Rosehall Iberostar last year. If you were to compare the two properties, they are both above average. They are totally different styles of resorts, though. The Iberostar is a more centralized, NY hotel style. The Grand Palladium is more California styled, sprawling resort. The GP has lots more shoreline and acreage. The Iberostar has a higher quality of buffett food, complete with champagne at midnight and desserts, etcetera. The GP has a larger pool, specialty restaurants, and a greater number of bar stations.

They are both good resorts in their own, yet different rights.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't make a mountain out of a mole hill and you'll have a great time."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Annet  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
314 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 6 - 14
Two couples - our first time to Jamaica. We had a later flight and arrived at the airport around 9:30 p.m. It was about an hours drive from the airport - check in was fast and our room was ready, we spend little time waiting to get to our room.

Rooms:
We had oceanview rooms - WOW - beautiful view - but remember - this is a much newer hotel and landscaping, trees, shrubs etc., require time to mature.

Restaurants and Bars:
Most bars are quick in serving you. Leroy at the main pool swim up bar is fantastic - a small tip will definately get you great service! Make sure you ask Leroy for a "triple tower", and his famous shooters! The bar by the activity center wasn't too bad - took a little longer for the cocktails - but who's in a rush - your on holidays! Buffets are great - different selections every day. We went to a few of the A La Cartes (which you did not need reservations for - because there are quite a few) and they were good as well, but we decided - why dress up - we were on holidays - and the buffets were great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I did quite a bit of research before booking this hotel and knew going in the beach(s) were not their best feature. Nice smaller beaches, if you go for a holiday mainly for a fantastic beach - you might want to reconsider going to this hotel - but having said that - the complaints about the pool - wow people - a few tiles (1" x 1") is really not a big deal. The pool was in magnificant shape when we were there. Grounds are super clean. The employees are extremely friendly and courteous. The weather was a little windy on the first few days, but the rest of the week was hot and sunny, and thankfully there was a bit of a breeze.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buffets have good selection"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Francine from Ottawa  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
368 people found this review helpful

Stayed at this resort from Dec 4 to 11, 2009. We were very impressed with the size of the room. Safe included and fridge replenished daily. Most of the staff is very friendly and eager to assist. Wireless internet provided free of charge in the lobby, so if you have a laptop or notebook, you`re all set! In room safe is big enough for notebook 10-11 inch but not 15 inch laptop though.

Rooms:
Spacious and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets have good selection and you can even get various meats and/or fish grilled fresh. Bars have good selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks.
We tried the Grill Restaurant (Bubba's), Asian and Italian. They were all good but preferred the grill, don`t miss it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools are beautiful, clean and well maintained. There are pool attendants all day to ensure the grounds surrounding the pool is kept clean. The grounds are patrolled by unarmed and armed security 24 hours a day.
Beach however is very rocky, recommend wearing water shoes. The best beach is closest to Lady Hamilton however not easily accessible as there are many steps.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Local shopping tour with rhum cake factory was 40$ US and we found better prices at the Airport Duty free shops when it came to coffee, spirits and tobacco products. The craft market however had better deals if you are good at bargaining.

Other Comments:
This is our first time in Jamaica and will definitely return. I recommend this resort wholeheartedly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joan  on Mar 10, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
400 people found this review helpful

Our first time in Jamaica and we will definately go back we were there a week, the people were great, the resort was beautiful and the food was excellent. I can't say enough about this place truely. I enjoyed every minute we were there. If you don't like the pool that everyone shares there are pools outside the rooms almost like your own private pool, which is what we had, and it included our own bar tender and she was wonderful. The music was enjoyable and there was always something to do if you wanted to spend extra money. They always had plenty of restaurants opened so you didn't have to eat at the same place each night, and we tried all of them and enjoyed them all. I have been to many places and this is by far the best of them all.

Your Arrival:
The arrival was quick and easy, you get dropped off at your resort and they have people to take your luggage while you check in and get a drink! They are always willing to accomodate as we were suppose to have a ocean view, and there was a small mix up which was quickly fixed the next morning.

Rooms:
The rooms were beatuiful and clean, every day they make another design on your bed with the towels, and the fridge in your room was replenished daily and if they forgot a quick call fixed the problem.

Restaurants and Bars:
All I can say about this was the food was excellent and the drinks were perfect, if you do go make sure you order a dirty banana it was to die for!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was rocky wear some shoes but there is another place to eat where they serve jerk chicken down by the beach, and it was the best and the view was wonderful and the beach was gorgous.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our 4th time to Grand Palladium and better than ever!"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Jun 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
770 people found this review helpful

We were one of the first guests at Grand Palladium when it opened about 3-4 years ago and just returned from a fourth stay at Grand Palladium.

The resort is located in a rather rural area half-way between Montego Bay and Negril. It stands alone away from the metropolis of continuous resorts extending from Montego Bay along the north shore and likewise along the shores of seven-mile beach in Negril thus making for a real "island experience". Many other guests expressed the same sentiment.

Daily excursions to Montego Bay and Negril offer guests the experience of the markets, restaurants, and other touristy activities. In addition, there are other island excursions leaving the hotel to go out and explore the island each day.

Grand Palladium is built on an large piece of coastline that offers varied coastal character. At one end, there is an absolutely beautiful, private and secluded cove. It is a haven for sunbathing, swimming, snorkelling, kayaking, paddle-boating, and hoby cats. A restaurant, bar and jerk hut are located at Sunset Cove where one can sit on the beach in the full sun or under mature native Jamaican trees which include almond, ackee, breadfruit, poinsianna, rubber, and palm trees. One feels like they are on their own private tropical paradise.

Other coastline is coral. It is just splendid to explore the coral in a pair of shoes and view what nature has created--the plant and sealife that lives in that habitat (small crabs live in the crags of the coral).

There are other sandy beaches, open to the sea and sun (unlike the cove area) and they have cabanas for shade of desired, bar and food service by the beach as well. The pools are pristine with loads of lounge chairs in open sun or in shade if desired.

The food was very good...far, far better than Dominican Republic...many guests commented on superior quality and tastiness of food compared to Cuba and Dominican.

The service is excellent. It rained heavily one day causing a sewage problem; our room had a foul smell. We went to the front desk and were immediately told we'd be moved to another room, and they would send someone immediately to check out the problem. The problem was immediately attended to and corrected, so we didn't need to move.

The staff are very well trained and well-trained. If a guest is willing to engage with a Jamaican and treat them as a friend and equal, they will reap great reward. It goes a long way to simply say "good morning" when passing a staff member, or to comment on the beauty of the grounds to a gardener, or the quality of the food to a restaurant or buffet server. You will then have a friend for life and it makes for a very pleasant holiday and time away from home. In fact, it makes the resort feel like home.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A little piece of heaven."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lynda  on Jul 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
727 people found this review helpful

This was a trip of a lifetime. It was very hot I Jamaica in July but not a problem. With 5 pools and 3 beaches, air conditioned rooms and restaurants you could get a break from the heat. Arrival was a breeze, checkin took about 5 minutes. Received a gift rum, jerk sauces and coffee upon arrival. Room had fruit tray awaiting our arrival...was nice welcome. Junior suite is quite large with comfortable beds and flat screen TV. Large resort but not hard to get around. Food is great, entertainment fabulous. The staff is 1st class. Everyone speaks English and greets you when you pass. Even the maintenance staff, painters, grounds keepers, pool attendants to the housekeeping staff. The Spa is a gem. It has its own pool, lazy river, steam room and jacuzzis. My new best drink is Jamaican rum cream in coffee, on the rocks or as an ice drink. Don`t be afraid to try the Jamaican patties, jerk pork or chicken or the Fried fish from the Poisiden restaurant. It does come whole but don`t let that deter you it is fabulous. The wait staff is so attentive and remember you. Tipping is always appreciated. Would not hesitate to return.

Room Number:
3215

Room Block:
32

Arrival:
Airport was not crowded as we were expecting. Customs was a breeze and ride to the town of Lucea (Lucy) was quick. Checkin at the hotel was about 5 minutes. There are porters who take you to your room in golf carts. These can be used all the time. We were greeted with smiles by all. You will receive maps and directions for resort amenities.

Rooms:
We had a Jr. Suite and it is very spacious. Flat screen tv. Sheets changed almost daily, maid turn down service, mini bar replenished all the time. Coffee and tea service in room for your use. You can drink the water!!!! Hot showers, Jacuzzi, thick towels. Air conditioning is great. In room safe free.

Restaurants and Bars:
Negril is the main buffet. Good food, plenty of choices. there are 7 restaurants. First come first served but you can make reservations if in imperial club rooms..not limited to the restaurants you go to. Sports bar is open 22 hrs a day. Nice for late arrivals. Posiden restaurant and jerk hut on Sandy cove has great food. I wasn`t too fussy about the creole restaurant. Infinity bar is on the upper level. LouBar is air conditioned and non smoking. All the food we had was amazing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
with 5 pools and 3 beaches you will never have to look for a place to cool off. The main pool is fabulous, about the size of 2 soccer pitches!!!! Pool staff is always cleaning and maintaining beaches and pool area. Never have to look for chairs or shade, plenty of both. Grounds are immaculate.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Plenty for all to do. The kids program seemed to be well attended...they even have their own pool!!!! The entertainment staff is 1st class. I have never seen such a hard working team. The truly seemed to enjoy each other`s company.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing week at the Palladium"

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tana and Sonny  on Jan 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
824 people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week in april 2010 at the Lady Palladium. We had a great flight with air transat. Airport was a breeze. Bus drive was quick and fun, Check in went smooth and got our room immediately. It was our anniversary and welcone letter and goodies in our room. Our room was in bldg 29 a beautiful junior suite overlooking the adult beach. Spectacular view. The weather was very hot and sunny everyday. The food at this resort is excellent, especially the jerk chicken. We also really enjoyed the steak and mexican a la cartes. If there is a downside to this resort it is the beaches for swimming, not the best. There are several beaches to choose from and we always got chairs and fresh towels. No issues there. Our room was cleaned and fresh towels daily. Our fridge was restocked daily with beer and pop. Drinks at the resorts are great,especially the rum cream. We did tip at all the bars and were always served quickly. Front desk was courteous and helpful and the spa was so relaxing. I highly recommend this resort and hope to return again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic! Returning next year, for sure; Great facilities; great kids club; great food."

Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tim  on Mar 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
404 people found this review helpful

Our family (Myself, wife, and 6-year old daughter) were here from Mar/7/2010 through Mar/14th. We plan to return next year. This is probably the nicest resort vacation we've been on (went to Melia Caribe in DR twice; Melia Guillermo in Cuba once; Sol Guillermo in cuba twice; Sol Melia CayoCoco once).

We picked this resort in part due to advice that it had a good kids club / kids programme, and we were very pleased with how this worked out: There was a good space which was well setup; perfectly happy for kids to be dropped off for an hour or two, or longer (half or whole day if you wanted - although we didn't leave our daughter there that long). Staff for the kids club were excellent, and they have a well structured program.

Your Arrival:
Transfer from airport was typical/painless/well organized; approx 45min drive from airport to hotel lobby.

Quick efficient check-in, bags (and us) were shuttled directly to our room very promptly. A 'welcome drink' while you wait in line for a few minutes was not unwelcome. The lobby is very nice space.

Rooms:
Rooms are well maintained, clean, very nicely setup (LCD/flat screen TV is a perk for example). Beds were comfy; cleaning staff was efficient; fridge was restocked consistently.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was excellent, consistently. Always plenty of good choices (including an amazing pastry selection at the main breakfast buffet every am - REALLY GOOD; not just frozen-thawed junk). Excellent 'juice bar' at breakfast - lots of nice fresh juices available. Lots of healthy food options, and less healthy (but tasty of course) options too if you prefer :-)

A-La-Carte - was easy to book at the guest service counter. Book a few days out at once so you have things laid out. We tried many of the a-la-carte restos and they were all good.

Bars were good; sometimes longer lines formed at 'peak season' (beach bars in particular) but I suspect this is inevitable. Good selection of drinks, very good service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A number of different beach areas each with their own character gives this resort a nice flavour: A bigger beach with water-sport activities at one end of the resort; a small quiet beach for sun bathers but also with excellent coral snorkeling; a larger beach near the main section of the resort - some rocks at one end make it 'a bit of a challenge for swimming' - but just move down this same beach 100-200m and you have excellent swimming. Further down the beach there is less sand, more 'coral shoreline' so not really for swimming - just sunning or rock-hopping to explore tidal pools (which are nice and interesting actually).

Grounds are *lovely* -- well maintained, and the covered walkways are nice to keep you out of the sun as you walk about during hot-hot sunny days during peak burning times.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Standard on-resort activities, but our main focus was the beach and the pool, and we were very happy with these. Night time entertainment was good (we only went 2 nights but it was good). We didn't end up going 'off resort' at all - we were enjoying ourselves far too much 'on resort'.

Other Comments:
This place is simply fantastic. The staff are very good, and management clearly are making an effort to 'stand out' from 'typical all inclusive' resorts. They have a management welcome cocktail meet-and-greet on Mon/Tues nights and they setup a 'beach party' on Friday night - lots of good food, tons of tables - seating for .. various hundreds .. in the 'main poolside / beach-volleyball area' - which is a significant amount of setup work - with good live music, good food - so a nice touch.

Small detail: This is really a 'two in one' resort - one 'half' is "Lady Hamilton"; the other half is the "Grand Palladium Jamaica" - but anyone staying at either side has full access to everything. I think Lady Hamilton is a more recent addition and possibly booked up more heavily with Transat/Noritours affiliated charters. (but I'm not 100% certain about this). Either way, we were very happy with our stay at Lady Hamilton.. can't want to go back next year for another week (or maybe two! ? :-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube