Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe  

Carretera Bavaro Km 1

"9 Days at the Deluce"
Posted by: Rene on May 10, 2015
see all reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Reviews
Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Pictures and Information
Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#12
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 18 reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Information


The Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe, located next to the beach, amidst wonderful Cocotal is the center of life for the Excellence Playa Bavaro, the "authentic Bávaro Beach". Ideal environment for people who love watersports, quiet honeymoon getaways, and a relaxed, fun and safe environment for couples with children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 3.9 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  5
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (18)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 18

"9 Days at the Deluce"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rene  on May 10, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
32 people found this review helpful

Very nice resort.Not very much English.Beautiful sand, very clean beach.

Room Number:
6229

Arrival:
Book through Expedia,private pick up,some problems with pick up driver.At resort 10 min to check in. Pay wifi.

Rooms:
Nice room,junior suite,very clean ,tub on balcony,
water pop beer every day.No bites in bed,no bugs,mosquitos etc.sun blind has black mole on bottom,shower had mold in bottom corner.Maids every day please tip a buck or two a day.sliding door in closet off track.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good buffet,breafest,lunch, dinner .Sport bar good,Japan food good some problems with English. Steak house no good,Italian ok,Fish good,lots of bars no good beer.Every drunk has at least 4 shoots in it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean,pool bars,never not clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Segway good to go,the 4 hr one.Deep sea fishing good.650 amer dollars cash Lots of beautiful people . Lots of things to do and rent,good stores.

Other Comments:
Rude Cubans,no English,people cut in lines,very loud people when they talk. Staff the best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"impressed"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  wendy  on Jul 12, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
124 people found this review helpful

Just like every other Barcelo hotels I have stayed in my recent travels, this is no exception in the kind of professionalism they display and how beautiful it was. This place has great management and the grounds are also well maintained. Asides from being one of the most beautifully designed hotels in DR I have ever stayed in, it is also the cleanest. The rooms were large and I stayed in building 5 which was nice and peaceful at night. My room had a standard view but I could still see the ocean from my balcony. Housekeeping was fantastic; they were polite and usually left flower on the bed for me after cleaning each day, the mattress and sheets were soft and nice. The buffet here was great and the foods given are just okay nothing special. The a la carte restaurants are a bit far from my block but they had nice meals here. I visited the Japanese restaurant to eat sushi that was suggested to me by another guest and it was wonderful. I loved that they had a pool side bar which was great and the staff tried their best to make my stay superb. It was hard to communicate as my Spanish is rusty but I tried was able to communicate on a certain level. The pools here are quite huge and had many lounge chairs for people to come sit so I didn’t have to run out to keep a chair for myself. I had a great time here and thank you to the staff who made it possible.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pay a little extra, get a lot more for your $"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jayne  on May 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
648 people found this review helpful

This is the first time I've taken the time to write a review of a resort - although we've been to the Dominican Republic many times (probably 12 - 15) we were so impressed with the Barcelo Bavaro Deluxe that I had to drop a note of appreciation. If you're thinking about staying at this resort, you won't be disappointed. The staff are friendly and if your Spanish is as good as mine (next to nonexistent) you'll still get your message across - everyone tries so hard to ensure you have a great experience. We were there for 12 days in early April (via Air Canada Vacations) and paid a bit more for the Club Premium ... if you like total pampering while you're away, this is a great choice. As we'd been to this resort before, we were upgraded to a Panoramic Suite - lovely lovely - with a great spa tub on the balcony and tons of room in the three rooms (best room we've ever had). Sincerely, if you're looking for a great vacation choice, you can't go wrong here. If you do go, ensure you eat at the Gourmet Restaurant - best French Cuisine we've had at any resort. We're seniors so can't tell you how the Barcy Club is for kids, but they did look like they were having a good time too. Book it and go - say Hi to Carmen when you check-in!

Room Number:
6267

Room Block:
Club Premium

Arrival:
Checked in in less than 10 mins - super easy

Rooms:
Absolutely beautiful - many amenities and super spa on the balcony facing the ocean

Restaurants and Bars:
Many to choose from - our favourite was the Gourmet (we ate there twice) but all were great; no problems getting reservations at ala carte restaurants (think there are 10 to choose from).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is wonderful - soft white sand and very clean. From my balcony I watched the workers cleaning up the beach before 7am most mornings - plentiful supply of lounge beds and tons of beach towels.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We just wanted a relaxing vacation so only went to the nightly entertainment a couple of times - both shows were good. We've been to the DR many times before so didn't bother with off-resort excursions this time.

Other Comments:
Do pay a little extra for Club Premium if you can - no charge for using computers at any time of day + the food/drinks in the Club Prevmium Lounge were really great.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best vacation ever!!! Definitely going back!!!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana  on Jan 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
734 people found this review helpful

I cannot say enough wonderful things about the week I just spent at this fabulous resort!!! I was there from Mon 1/9 to Sun 1/15 and truly had the best time of my life.The resort staff are all wonderful and so eager to help in any way they can. You truly 'want" for nothing. The beach is divine and don't worry about ever running out of towels!!! And the pools are just as luxurious!You simply can't run out of things to do here... whether it's shopping in the stores, playing games at the casino, dancing in the disco, playing golf, or just lounging around the pools and beach... there's so much going on. Plus there's always the eveing showing at the theatre and all the beach activities... water polo, aerobics, dance lessons, bingo. I can't imagine how we fit it all in! :)The Italian and Japanese restaurants were delectable!!! And the many, many other restaurants and bars were just as great... with the Sports Bar offering food 24 hours a day.I went down with 8 people... and not one of us had a bad thing to say about the trip!!! Pretty hard to come by!!!We even took a day trip to another resort to see what it was like, and I can truly tell you it didn't come close to comparing with the Barcelo Bavaro Palaxe Deluxe!!!We were all so pleased... and are looking forward to going back again next year!!!

Room Number:
8336

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Please....do not stay at this resort. I actually give it a 0"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gloria  on Dec 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
768 people found this review helpful

First, let me start by saying that I was an international flight attendant for some time, so I have stayed in many many hotels world wide. I know what to expect when I travel to different parts of the world specially Dominican Republic, which I have visited 6 times before. I travelled with my family on December 9th, 2011 for a 6 night stay and stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe. Our room was broken into and robbed while we were at dinner one night. The hotel manager, customer service manager and even the director of Barcelo resorts in the carribean, did not take any interest to the fact that one of Barcelo's employees is a thief. After realizing that the hotel staff was not taking action or even apologizing for the robbery, I went to the Punta Cana police station and filed a police report. (which I will be posting online soon). Please, avoid this hotel at all cost. The hotel does not care if you are robbed. Can you imagine if something worse was to happen? Also, the security cameras that you see all over the resort DO NOT work. (that's what the General manager told us when i asked to see the video to find out what employee opened my room with a key). This is negligence on their behalf.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Someone please speak English"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  germana  on Jun 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
970 people found this review helpful

We found the Barcelo Bavarro Palace Deluxe Hotel in Punta Cana to be exquisitely decorated and an extremely luxurious setting. I loved to stroll the entire area enjoying every piece of furniture and art decoration.

What I did not like was the fact that none of the wait staff spoke one word of English and at times found this to be quite annoying. There was no way to communicate other than through some sort of sign language.

What was more appauling was the fact that the buffet was less than stellar. It was the same food over and over again and quite mundane. There was absolutely no taste to any of the food. It was rather bland in flavor and quite tasteless. The restaurants were quite good but needless to say, you only received gourmet portions (very very small). The house wine that was provided free of charge was watered down and taste like soda pop. Awful to say the least. There was a dress code for all of the restaurants which we were not aware of. Thank goodness my husband thought to pack one pair of dress pants because he had to wear the same pants for 6 nights along with closed shoes. Unbelievable. I would not vacation there ever again even though the hotel itself is beautiful.

Room Number:
4217

Room Block:
not sure

Arrival:
We arrived on 5/28/11 and left on 6/4/11. The reservations was under Melofchik.

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great

Other Comments:
the food in the buffet has to be changed and the wait staff needs to speak a bit of English

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will not go back!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  LJ  on Jun 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
863 people found this review helpful

The food is not good. We have been sick ever since we were there. The water has so much seaweed in it that you can't swim there. The resort is beautiful but they do not understand english at all. I would not recommend anyone to go to the island. I would not take my children there. There were topless women all over the beach and a very nasty man doing things that should not be done in public.

Rooms:
Clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Not good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ocean was not clean. Pools were and grounds were.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not up to expectations"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Apr 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
830 people found this review helpful

We have travelled to Punta Cana 2-3 times a year for the past 12 years or so and have always stayed in 4, 4+ or 5 star rated resorts. We booked the BBPD through Transat vacations with the expectation of a Prestige Oceanview room. All info indicated these rooms had large balconies with jacuzzi tubs.

Room Number:
5081

Room Block:
far from everything

Arrival:
Upon arrival at the resort, we soon found that the reviews we had read regarding poor service were true. Front desk staff spoke better French than Spanish or English. Check-in wasn't bad as far as timing and we got our rooms right away, even though it was only past noon.

Rooms:
The section our rooms were in was about as far from the main lobby of the Palace Deluxe as you could get. The room did have a beautiful oceanfront view, but the balcony was relatively small and this was the only section with no jacuzzis on them.

They were also outdated and somewhat smaller than other places we have stayed in Punta Cana.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were so far away the actual "Deluxe" area of the huge complex, we rarely ate at the buffet there, but on the two occasions we did were thankful to have tables outside, because of the odor in the buffet itself. Also, very poorly organized and set-up of food stations was poor.

The buffet at the Convention centre sectopm of the resort was better, as was the little Dominican lunch restaurant and another a la carte with salad bar for which no reservations were required.

We didn't even bother with the a la cartes that were part of the Palace Deluxe because it was too much of a pain to find where to make the reservations and they had to be made all at the same time for the entire week. A very antiquated set-up, compared to the Ocean Blue/Sand and NH Eden Real where you basically can just walk in to any of the a la cartes and if there are tables available you can get in either right away or are given a beeper to let you know when a table is ready.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was lovely, as always in Punta Cana. The pool at the Palace Deluxe area was a madhouse with screaming kids and far too crowded with people. Pool area at the Beach and Convention centre was nice, adults only, but showed evidence of age and wear. There were bare electrical cords hanging where lights used to be.
Grounds were very nice, but lots of areas needed pruning of shrubbery and trimming of grass.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We only saw the activities group once during the day, doing a half-hearted dance. No evidence of any games, fun activities for afternoon entertainment. We didn't go to the main theatre because it was too far to walk and/or wait on the tram. The theatre at the Beach and Convention centre section of the resort was pretty lame, using guests to entertain each other with talent contests, etc. A little of that goes a long way. One night, all they had was Bingo!! I mean, really!?!

We only went off resort to El Corecito by taxi as we wanted to look at the area and see a condo we were interested in renting. We spent a couple of hours checking out the grocery store, bakeshop, and a couple of nice little bars.

Also, we spent quite a bit of time at a little bar just where the markets on the beach beside the resort start, called "Aqua". Nice spot, ice cold bottled beer, good tunes.

Other Comments:
I guess overall although we knew the place was big, it was waaay to big and impersonal for our liking. It was almost impossible to get help from Guest services and we nearly missed our bus to the airport the last morning because our safe wouldn't open and we had to wait an hour and a half until staff were in who could open it for us.

It certainly isn't deserving of a 5 star rating and we would not recommend it or return. We prefer the resorts with fewer than 700 rooms, where the staff are friendly and smiling. There were times we wondered if we were even in The Dominican - the staff at this resort were so indifferent and seemingly unhappy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The most relaxing vacation ever!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
908 people found this review helpful

Everything about this resort was fantastic. The room - junior suite deluxe was very luxurious with the hot tub on the balcony. It was clean and the bar fridge was stocked daily. The food was great but it would be nice to see them change the protocol for reservations. Standing in line for a seating is not what you want to do after a long day at the beach. It would be easier to know you have a reservation. Other than that no complaints. I would definitely go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
928 people found this review helpful

I sometimes wonder if all the complaints you read here are legitimate.Some of the complaints really make me laugh.A lot of complaints about staff not speaking english.Grow up people! If these people visited your country would you be able to talk to them in there language! I have never met so many rude travellers in my life.Some of you come to a wonderful island like this and seem to think you are the most gifted people in the world.With that being said we have also met some wonderful people from all over the world..

We arrived at 1:00 PM on a Saturday and by 1:15 PM we were checked in.Yes there were a few in our group that had to wait awhile for there room.Lets remember people that check out is at 12 noon and check in is 3:00 .That is a very small window to get all these rooms ready.Personally i think they do a fantastic job!





Resort
There have been many extensive renovations done here.All have been done beautifully.The Casa Club is a brand new building housing most of the restaurants along with many boutiques including a dutyfree store.From its two story lobby with a beautiful staircase to all of the other amenities including casino,disco and sports bar this seems to be a favorite gathering place. There is also a great coffee and cigar bar with a great selection of coffee and chocolate drinks.

Do not believe all the bad you here.Remember when this resort is full it caters to 4000 guests.

Staff
So many wonderful people.Even with the language barrier we were always greeted with a smile and Hola...Not once have we ever been mistreated or ignored by anyone.Tips are included in your vacation but remember how hard these people work for the little they earn compared to our lifestyle.

Room Number:
4231

Arrival:
arrived at 1:00 PM on a Saturday and by 1:15 PM we were checked in.Yes there were a few in our group that had to wait awhile for there room.Lets remember people that check out is at 12 noon and check in is 3:00 .That is a very small window to get all these rooms ready.Personally i think they do a fantastic job.Check in

Rooms:
Rooms
Rooms were cleaned everyday in the morning.Had a slight problem with the shower so we call guest services and it was repaired in 30 minutes.Try to get that done at home!Everything in the room worked just fine.Mini bar was kept full of juices,coke,fanta, sprite,juices and plenty of bottled water..Also Lays potatoe chips and peanuts.Thankyou very much to our maid Altagracia what a wonderful lady

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants
We found all the resturaunts to be very good.Excellent service at all of the ala cartes and a good quality meal and always with a smile.The buffets always had plenty of food and a great selection..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach
What can you say about the beach.STUNNING! With the reef surrounding the resort you have very calm waters.To the peolpe who say they never seen anyone raking the beach you could not have been at the same resort i was at.The beach was raked morning and afternoon everyday of the week

Pools And Grounds
They have done a fantastic job with all of the new pools and for families with small children you will love the Barcey water park.The grounds are not only beautiful they are also very clean and very well maintained..

Other Comments:
If you would like to experience a great vacation and see first hand a beautiful resort and meet some wonderful people don't let some of these reveiws change your mind.They have just finished renovations in Dec.2010 and in that short time i think the staff and management have done a great job.And will only improve with time.This resort is the most beautiful one we have ever been to.

JW
Canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube