Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 68 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 12, 2013

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe  

Carretera Bavaro Km 1

"impressed"
Posted by: wendy on Jul 12, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Reviews
Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Pictures and Information
Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#12
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 17 reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Information


The Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe, located next to the beach, amidst wonderful Cocotal is the center of life for the Excellence Playa Bavaro, the "authentic Bávaro Beach". Ideal environment for people who love watersports, quiet honeymoon getaways, and a relaxed, fun and safe environment for couples with children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 3.9 of 5 17 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  4
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (17)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 17

"Wonderful Second Stay in Ocean Front Suites"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  PETER  on Jun 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
346 people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at the Barcelo Deluxe Ocean Front Suites. I contacted Hotel Manager 1 month in advance for requesting an upper floor unit for the Ocean Front Suites. These suites have 1 unit on ground floor w/patio and 1 unit upper w/terrace. Since these units are directly on Ocean walkway, the ground floor units do not allow for privacy as people can see directly into your room.

Your Arrival:
Arrived on early AM Continetal Flight from Newark, NJ. I was so, so happy the room we requested was available and was available for check in so early in the day. It was 12:00 Noon and we were able to check into room and immediately go to lunch. Was changed into swim suits and on the beach by 3:00 PM.

Rooms:
Upper Unit Ocean Front Suites are the best selections in the resort. Views of ocean from inside unit and terrace are amazing. These units are worth the extra expense.

Restaurants and Bars:
La Brisa open air restaurant is for deluxe guests only and offers better service than larger buffet restaurants in resort. La Brisa setting is a lot quieter and relaxing.
Buffet Caribe is the larger buffet restaurant but still good for having very good selections.
La Pina Grill has expanded due to closure of the Steak House during construction of the new Deluxe hotel area.
Chez Palace was a disappointment. We waited almost 1/2 hour for getting a breakfast omelet. Better to go to buffet restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Barcelo needs to expand with additional pools. I am surprised there is only 1 pool for the entire beach area resort. Luckily the pool did not get overly crowded and chairs were available even at mid-day.
The Deluxe area had best and most uncrowded beach. Plenty of chairs and free space available. It feels a lot more secluded and private in this area also.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Barcelo needs to build larger Gym/Spa.
Needs to build larger Lobby for Deluxe Hotel.
Needs to really expand with more pools.

Other Comments:
Rain from tropical depression Alex did not dampen people's spirits. The weather during week of June 21st was mostly overcast and there was always rain in later part of each day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dont waste your money.. Go some place else"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  SuperEggz1  on Sep 13, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
330 people found this review helpful

I Wrote a review on the palace side but I stayed in this section of a horrible resort. There are 7 hotels in 1 large resort but apparently this was the best one. The service is non existent .. Tipping didnt help, these people do not care about you. If you speak Spanish, you will have better luck but if you dont you will be left on your own.

The rooms were good and the beach was excellent - other then that this hotel is not worth it. This is not a 5 star resort, this is not even a 3 star. Whoever says this is a 5 star resort has never been to one!!

It took us 4 hours to check along with other groups that were waiting to check in. They gave us a key, a small map and said Have fun!!

That was it!!!


We ate at the buffet's each night because the restaurants had long lines and it took people hours to get seated. The buffet food was 2 stars.. The flies eat most of it.

Also we had a junior suite deluxe room partial ocean view. Pay attention because I will save you money. The hotel sections are in U shapes. The sides of the hote are partial ocean view, the far center are in the middle and the ocean front are in the front sides of the U shape hotel. There is no difference in the rooms.. You are paying more money for a section of the hotel and are being robbed!! Do not waste your money on the ocean front, there is no privacy and the sprinkler system comes on and soaks you in your sleeping on a chair.

At check out they made us wait a whole hour because security needs to check our room in case we broke anything!!! This was insane!!! Who does this to an adult couple?? This hotel was a joke!!

Save your money and go to Iberostar or Gran Bahia.. I will never step foot in a barcelo resort ever again!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"spectacular 3rd time here"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  jack  on Oct 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
342 people found this review helpful

I love this resort, My wife and I have been to Dominican Republic for our last 8 vacations (I know, go somewere else. we cant pass on the best beach in the world for its price though). the palace is the 5th resort we have stayed in at Bavaro beach and we LOVE IT. I love the food and the people. I love the full ocean view room. My wife and I are there to lay on the beach and soak in the sun and RELAX, and we do.

Arrival:
we book our own flights and times and we always take a cab from the airport. we usually stop and eat at a roadside place and grab a Presidenta beer. Once again we take our time and enjoy the ride and people.

Rooms:
Love the rooms, great flat screen TV's and the air works great and comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
we normally eat at La Brisa and love the food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great pool but usually lay on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
sun and drinks

Other Comments:
Most of the reviews I see are (or seem) to be from very uptight Americans, and yes I'm american, that expect to pay for a bargain and get attention and special treatment. Just go and relax and have fun, so you got sprayed by a sprinkler Geez! The golf is great and the fun for any kids is awesome.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Heaven within paradise"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Jan 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
367 people found this review helpful

This resort was so special and the staff are fantastic, from Andrea and pedro at La brisa to Rossi at the palace bar. the reception crew and the management team. Big smiles friendly service. The food was great and the room was made up so nice everyday and the minifridge fellow filled you up with what you wanted if you left him a note in spanish. Spreading a few dollares around to the staff made the smiles bigger, after two days thanks to my Canada tattoo the bar staff knew my drinks orders before I made it to the counter. They called me Captain and or Mr Canada! We loved it so much 8 of us are going March 2011!

Arrival:
Met at Airport by shuttle bus great tour guide stopped of and got us ice cold beer. Realy helped get us the mood to lay back and relax.

Rooms:
Spacious new and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
clean well run excellent staff and great management team. These folks work long long days so we can relax!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best beach in the world cleaned daily and the tree trimmer climbed up and got coconuts for the ladies and trimme dthem up so you could put drinks in them!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tons of things to do or just lay back and relax your choices are limited only by your imagination.

Other Comments:
For ebery positive review you read there are hundreds of satisfied people who just dont feel the need to spread the joy. for the negativve revies read them carefully and you will see why these folks did not enjoy themselves! In the Dominican you have to become Dominican chill out relax smile laugh dance and sing and don't be in a hurry or in a rush and drop a few dollars here and there it brightens up their smile and your heart!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best time of my life"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  lis  on Jan 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
399 people found this review helpful

this was the best time i have had ever! the beahc is beautiful and so is everything else...the staff are so nice! its a trip i will remember forever!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Definitely Worth The Money!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  shirley  on Feb 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
410 people found this review helpful

Hubby and I have been to the Dominican 8 times prior. This was the first time at this resort. We found the food was very good at all the restaurants. The specialty restaurants were very good and the service was good. The main buffet restaurant had a great variety of foods but, because my husband has a major shellfish allergy, we ate at the "adults only" buffet on the convention side of the resort where no shrimp or lobster was served. I think there truly is something for everyone here. The adults only end of the beach is much quieter and serene. No kids squealing or crying. And, if it's an issue with you, we only saw about 8 topless women the entire time we were there. Our room was nice although I don't like the "rain" shower. But, the bed was comfortable and fresh towels were brought everyday. Bring your own washcloths as these are very limited. While I was there I became very sick. The young gal that is the concierge in our lobby was an absolute angel. Because my Spanish is limited, I went to her to ask her to interpret my health issue to the pharmacy. No only did she make sure my symptoms were explained properly, she made sure they brought the meds I needed immediately. Within a day I was much healthier and was able to enjoy my vaction. Overall, this is a pleasant, beautiful, resort. It is large and has about 9 restaurants to enjoy. The casino is just a small place, not at all like a Vegas cassino. I found the employees to be helpful and hardworking. Most work 12 hour days.

Room Number:
2232

Arrival:
On a Thursday afternoon, 20 Jan 2011. The airport is a little confusing. We just asked which bus was ours and was directed to the correct bus that delivered us right to our hotel.

Other Comments:
As Americans that traveled by way of Canada (Montreal) we found this to be a real bargain. We booked last minute through Air Transat and got quite a discount. Overall...happy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never Again!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy and Ron  on Mar 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
841 people found this review helpful

We arrived and stood in line for almost an hour watching people in front of us looking frustrated and confused. When it was our turn at the registration desk, we were asked what language we spoke...we told them we were American. After 15-20 minutes of standing at the desk, we were told there were no rooms available and that we were being sent to the conference center down the beach for at least one night and we would return the next day. They told us - Everyone needs to do this-- per the clerk at the desk--who barely spoke English. Exhausted, we agreed and traveled down there. The next day, our Apple representative calmed down an angry crowd who all got sent to the conference center. We were offered certficates from the hotel for a free one week stay to be used within the next year. We also received a letter and a bottle of rum (sent to our room directly). The letter incdicated the hotel was sorry for the inconvenience and offered a couples massage. Ironically, the letter was addressed to the wrong name. My husband and I are well traveled and have never experienced the type of hospitality we experienced at this resort. Believe the reviews of those who have had poor experiences. We had a better time at the airport with the plane staff who sang the Lion King song to us. --Ron and Kathy Ebert, Wisconsin

Room Number:
6339

Arrival:
Horrible

Rooms:
Awesome, once we got into one. Another couple was trying to get into the same room right behind us. Opps.

Restaurants and Bars:
Slow. Reservation method was not good. Very frutrating.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful, one of the best we have stayed at. Funny, it was so windy every day the grounds keepers had to shovel sand! :)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Off resort...awesome!

Other Comments:
Go somewhere else. We probably won't even use the free week they gave us. Our vacation time is too valuable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathryn  on Mar 11, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
761 people found this review helpful

We had a great time! The resort was beautiful and well-groomed. The staffing was a bit off, I believe that this section had recently been completely renovated, and so we put it down to the fact, the kinks hadn't been worked out completely with staff, training, etc. however, everyone had a smile, a hello, and was willing to help in anyway if you just asked.
We also tip, which we KNOW helps get thier attention. :)

Since we travel frequently to the Dominican, we know what to expect. This is a third world country afterall. There are language barriers, but that is our fault, if you spend anytime talking to anyone whether guests or staff, most speak several languages, while most american's barely speak english properly. You are in another country and immersed in another culture, ENJOY it!

Shade is an issue here, there are no cabana's on the beach, and it is one big general pergola at the main pool, and only a few cabana's at the adult pool, which fill up fast and early.

Room Number:
6221

Arrival:
Check-in was standard. It takes awhile to settle all the paperwork, no longer than other places, no shorter than other places. They did call the bar and we ordered drinks, of our choice, that was nice.

We arrived around 3pm, after check-in, we were taken on a quick tour as we walked to our room.

Rooms:
Rm# 6221
The room was beautiful. King size bed, double sinks, separate toilet and shower. desk, closet, iron and board, phone, clock, minibar, and a few snacks. 2 couches, Balcony had a jacuzzi tub (standard for all rooms)with a drop down shade for privacy.

Restaurants and Bars:
At check-in we were told that you did not need reservations for any of the restaurants.....BUT.... (and they didn't tell us this part)

Between 530 and 6pm the restaurants open, at that time a long line forms, if you are ready for dinner, meaning you have met dress code (which is enforced) and are ready to eat now, you probably can get right in and be seated for dinner. If the restaurant is full by the time you reach the front of the line you are able to make a reservation, depending on how many are in front of you, the times get later and later, so your option maybe something like 9-10pm. That is IF you are dressed for dinner, they will NOT seat you OR give you a reservation if you are not dressed for dinner. In order to get a reservation for dinner, you MUST be dressed for dinner. (men:pants/collared shirt-women dresses slacks) and no flipflop footwear. You must go to the restaurant of your choice, stand in line, and then you can probably get a reservation.
You can not show up in beachwear, saying you just want a reservation for a later time and you will go change before showing up at the designated time...you will NOT get one! Nor are you able to get a reservation for any other night. There is NO cheating on this one believe me we tried.

There are 3 buffet restaurants, opening and closing at different times. Breakfast,lunch, and dinner.


Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great, the reef is far away from shore, so the water was very calm, there were grasses growing, so the bottom wasn't all sand.

There are no huts on the beach, making shade a great commodity, you had to move your chair every half hour of so to stay in the shade, or to get out of the sun. We did ride the train down to the villa's, and they had much more shade on the beach, but still no huts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a train that will take you all around the resort. You can get off, wander around and get back on. While riding it, we saw basketball courts, tennis courts, the golf course, we got off a few times, wandered around, had a drink, and got back on. There is also a church, something we have not seen at other resorts. The schedule for service is clearly posted on the front.
There is a larger and a smaller waterpark.

Other Comments:
We would recommend this resort and would probably even go back there. The fact that there were so many things to do for the kids, make us think about taking the kids there...someday.

The biggest warning I would want to give is about the restaurant reservation system they have. it clearly doesn't work well, it was a hassel.

The resort was probably around 80% occupied during our trip and mostly english speaking visitors. It's always handy to have a few basic phrases of spanish, but thats anywhere you go in the Dominican, not just here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
800 people found this review helpful

I sometimes wonder if all the complaints you read here are legitimate.Some of the complaints really make me laugh.A lot of complaints about staff not speaking english.Grow up people! If these people visited your country would you be able to talk to them in there language! I have never met so many rude travellers in my life.Some of you come to a wonderful island like this and seem to think you are the most gifted people in the world.With that being said we have also met some wonderful people from all over the world..

We arrived at 1:00 PM on a Saturday and by 1:15 PM we were checked in.Yes there were a few in our group that had to wait awhile for there room.Lets remember people that check out is at 12 noon and check in is 3:00 .That is a very small window to get all these rooms ready.Personally i think they do a fantastic job!





Resort
There have been many extensive renovations done here.All have been done beautifully.The Casa Club is a brand new building housing most of the restaurants along with many boutiques including a dutyfree store.From its two story lobby with a beautiful staircase to all of the other amenities including casino,disco and sports bar this seems to be a favorite gathering place. There is also a great coffee and cigar bar with a great selection of coffee and chocolate drinks.

Do not believe all the bad you here.Remember when this resort is full it caters to 4000 guests.

Staff
So many wonderful people.Even with the language barrier we were always greeted with a smile and Hola...Not once have we ever been mistreated or ignored by anyone.Tips are included in your vacation but remember how hard these people work for the little they earn compared to our lifestyle.

Room Number:
4231

Arrival:
arrived at 1:00 PM on a Saturday and by 1:15 PM we were checked in.Yes there were a few in our group that had to wait awhile for there room.Lets remember people that check out is at 12 noon and check in is 3:00 .That is a very small window to get all these rooms ready.Personally i think they do a fantastic job.Check in

Rooms:
Rooms
Rooms were cleaned everyday in the morning.Had a slight problem with the shower so we call guest services and it was repaired in 30 minutes.Try to get that done at home!Everything in the room worked just fine.Mini bar was kept full of juices,coke,fanta, sprite,juices and plenty of bottled water..Also Lays potatoe chips and peanuts.Thankyou very much to our maid Altagracia what a wonderful lady

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants
We found all the resturaunts to be very good.Excellent service at all of the ala cartes and a good quality meal and always with a smile.The buffets always had plenty of food and a great selection..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach
What can you say about the beach.STUNNING! With the reef surrounding the resort you have very calm waters.To the peolpe who say they never seen anyone raking the beach you could not have been at the same resort i was at.The beach was raked morning and afternoon everyday of the week

Pools And Grounds
They have done a fantastic job with all of the new pools and for families with small children you will love the Barcey water park.The grounds are not only beautiful they are also very clean and very well maintained..

Other Comments:
If you would like to experience a great vacation and see first hand a beautiful resort and meet some wonderful people don't let some of these reveiws change your mind.They have just finished renovations in Dec.2010 and in that short time i think the staff and management have done a great job.And will only improve with time.This resort is the most beautiful one we have ever been to.

JW
Canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The most relaxing vacation ever!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
780 people found this review helpful

Everything about this resort was fantastic. The room - junior suite deluxe was very luxurious with the hot tub on the balcony. It was clean and the bar fridge was stocked daily. The food was great but it would be nice to see them change the protocol for reservations. Standing in line for a seating is not what you want to do after a long day at the beach. It would be easier to know you have a reservation. Other than that no complaints. I would definitely go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube