Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 19, 2012

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 68 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 12, 2013

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe  

Carretera Bavaro Km 1

"Pay a little extra, get a lot more for your $"
Posted by: Jayne  on May 6, 2012
see all reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Reviews
Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Pictures and Information
Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#12
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.8

Based on 16 reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Information


The Barceló Bávaro Palace Deluxe, located next to the beach, amidst wonderful Cocotal is the center of life for the Excellence Playa Bavaro, the "authentic Bávaro Beach". Ideal environment for people who love watersports, quiet honeymoon getaways, and a relaxed, fun and safe environment for couples with children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe Reviews

Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 3.8 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  4
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (16)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 16

"Please....do not stay at this resort. I actually give it a 0"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gloria  on Dec 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
616 people found this review helpful

First, let me start by saying that I was an international flight attendant for some time, so I have stayed in many many hotels world wide. I know what to expect when I travel to different parts of the world specially Dominican Republic, which I have visited 6 times before. I travelled with my family on December 9th, 2011 for a 6 night stay and stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe. Our room was broken into and robbed while we were at dinner one night. The hotel manager, customer service manager and even the director of Barcelo resorts in the carribean, did not take any interest to the fact that one of Barcelo's employees is a thief. After realizing that the hotel staff was not taking action or even apologizing for the robbery, I went to the Punta Cana police station and filed a police report. (which I will be posting online soon). Please, avoid this hotel at all cost. The hotel does not care if you are robbed. Can you imagine if something worse was to happen? Also, the security cameras that you see all over the resort DO NOT work. (that's what the General manager told us when i asked to see the video to find out what employee opened my room with a key). This is negligence on their behalf.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never Again!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy and Ron  on Mar 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
830 people found this review helpful

We arrived and stood in line for almost an hour watching people in front of us looking frustrated and confused. When it was our turn at the registration desk, we were asked what language we spoke...we told them we were American. After 15-20 minutes of standing at the desk, we were told there were no rooms available and that we were being sent to the conference center down the beach for at least one night and we would return the next day. They told us - Everyone needs to do this-- per the clerk at the desk--who barely spoke English. Exhausted, we agreed and traveled down there. The next day, our Apple representative calmed down an angry crowd who all got sent to the conference center. We were offered certficates from the hotel for a free one week stay to be used within the next year. We also received a letter and a bottle of rum (sent to our room directly). The letter incdicated the hotel was sorry for the inconvenience and offered a couples massage. Ironically, the letter was addressed to the wrong name. My husband and I are well traveled and have never experienced the type of hospitality we experienced at this resort. Believe the reviews of those who have had poor experiences. We had a better time at the airport with the plane staff who sang the Lion King song to us. --Ron and Kathy Ebert, Wisconsin

Room Number:
6339

Arrival:
Horrible

Rooms:
Awesome, once we got into one. Another couple was trying to get into the same room right behind us. Opps.

Restaurants and Bars:
Slow. Reservation method was not good. Very frutrating.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful, one of the best we have stayed at. Funny, it was so windy every day the grounds keepers had to shovel sand! :)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Off resort...awesome!

Other Comments:
Go somewhere else. We probably won't even use the free week they gave us. Our vacation time is too valuable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dont waste your money.. Go some place else"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  SuperEggz1  on Sep 13, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
326 people found this review helpful

I Wrote a review on the palace side but I stayed in this section of a horrible resort. There are 7 hotels in 1 large resort but apparently this was the best one. The service is non existent .. Tipping didnt help, these people do not care about you. If you speak Spanish, you will have better luck but if you dont you will be left on your own.

The rooms were good and the beach was excellent - other then that this hotel is not worth it. This is not a 5 star resort, this is not even a 3 star. Whoever says this is a 5 star resort has never been to one!!

It took us 4 hours to check along with other groups that were waiting to check in. They gave us a key, a small map and said Have fun!!

That was it!!!


We ate at the buffet's each night because the restaurants had long lines and it took people hours to get seated. The buffet food was 2 stars.. The flies eat most of it.

Also we had a junior suite deluxe room partial ocean view. Pay attention because I will save you money. The hotel sections are in U shapes. The sides of the hote are partial ocean view, the far center are in the middle and the ocean front are in the front sides of the U shape hotel. There is no difference in the rooms.. You are paying more money for a section of the hotel and are being robbed!! Do not waste your money on the ocean front, there is no privacy and the sprinkler system comes on and soaks you in your sleeping on a chair.

At check out they made us wait a whole hour because security needs to check our room in case we broke anything!!! This was insane!!! Who does this to an adult couple?? This hotel was a joke!!

Save your money and go to Iberostar or Gran Bahia.. I will never step foot in a barcelo resort ever again!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will not go back!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  LJ  on Jun 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
709 people found this review helpful

The food is not good. We have been sick ever since we were there. The water has so much seaweed in it that you can't swim there. The resort is beautiful but they do not understand english at all. I would not recommend anyone to go to the island. I would not take my children there. There were topless women all over the beach and a very nasty man doing things that should not be done in public.

Rooms:
Clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Not good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ocean was not clean. Pools were and grounds were.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not up to expectations"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Apr 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
682 people found this review helpful

We have travelled to Punta Cana 2-3 times a year for the past 12 years or so and have always stayed in 4, 4+ or 5 star rated resorts. We booked the BBPD through Transat vacations with the expectation of a Prestige Oceanview room. All info indicated these rooms had large balconies with jacuzzi tubs.

Room Number:
5081

Room Block:
far from everything

Arrival:
Upon arrival at the resort, we soon found that the reviews we had read regarding poor service were true. Front desk staff spoke better French than Spanish or English. Check-in wasn't bad as far as timing and we got our rooms right away, even though it was only past noon.

Rooms:
The section our rooms were in was about as far from the main lobby of the Palace Deluxe as you could get. The room did have a beautiful oceanfront view, but the balcony was relatively small and this was the only section with no jacuzzis on them.

They were also outdated and somewhat smaller than other places we have stayed in Punta Cana.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were so far away the actual "Deluxe" area of the huge complex, we rarely ate at the buffet there, but on the two occasions we did were thankful to have tables outside, because of the odor in the buffet itself. Also, very poorly organized and set-up of food stations was poor.

The buffet at the Convention centre sectopm of the resort was better, as was the little Dominican lunch restaurant and another a la carte with salad bar for which no reservations were required.

We didn't even bother with the a la cartes that were part of the Palace Deluxe because it was too much of a pain to find where to make the reservations and they had to be made all at the same time for the entire week. A very antiquated set-up, compared to the Ocean Blue/Sand and NH Eden Real where you basically can just walk in to any of the a la cartes and if there are tables available you can get in either right away or are given a beeper to let you know when a table is ready.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was lovely, as always in Punta Cana. The pool at the Palace Deluxe area was a madhouse with screaming kids and far too crowded with people. Pool area at the Beach and Convention centre was nice, adults only, but showed evidence of age and wear. There were bare electrical cords hanging where lights used to be.
Grounds were very nice, but lots of areas needed pruning of shrubbery and trimming of grass.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We only saw the activities group once during the day, doing a half-hearted dance. No evidence of any games, fun activities for afternoon entertainment. We didn't go to the main theatre because it was too far to walk and/or wait on the tram. The theatre at the Beach and Convention centre section of the resort was pretty lame, using guests to entertain each other with talent contests, etc. A little of that goes a long way. One night, all they had was Bingo!! I mean, really!?!

We only went off resort to El Corecito by taxi as we wanted to look at the area and see a condo we were interested in renting. We spent a couple of hours checking out the grocery store, bakeshop, and a couple of nice little bars.

Also, we spent quite a bit of time at a little bar just where the markets on the beach beside the resort start, called "Aqua". Nice spot, ice cold bottled beer, good tunes.

Other Comments:
I guess overall although we knew the place was big, it was waaay to big and impersonal for our liking. It was almost impossible to get help from Guest services and we nearly missed our bus to the airport the last morning because our safe wouldn't open and we had to wait an hour and a half until staff were in who could open it for us.

It certainly isn't deserving of a 5 star rating and we would not recommend it or return. We prefer the resorts with fewer than 700 rooms, where the staff are friendly and smiling. There were times we wondered if we were even in The Dominican - the staff at this resort were so indifferent and seemingly unhappy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Someone please speak English"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  germana  on Jun 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
819 people found this review helpful

We found the Barcelo Bavarro Palace Deluxe Hotel in Punta Cana to be exquisitely decorated and an extremely luxurious setting. I loved to stroll the entire area enjoying every piece of furniture and art decoration.

What I did not like was the fact that none of the wait staff spoke one word of English and at times found this to be quite annoying. There was no way to communicate other than through some sort of sign language.

What was more appauling was the fact that the buffet was less than stellar. It was the same food over and over again and quite mundane. There was absolutely no taste to any of the food. It was rather bland in flavor and quite tasteless. The restaurants were quite good but needless to say, you only received gourmet portions (very very small). The house wine that was provided free of charge was watered down and taste like soda pop. Awful to say the least. There was a dress code for all of the restaurants which we were not aware of. Thank goodness my husband thought to pack one pair of dress pants because he had to wear the same pants for 6 nights along with closed shoes. Unbelievable. I would not vacation there ever again even though the hotel itself is beautiful.

Room Number:
4217

Room Block:
not sure

Arrival:
We arrived on 5/28/11 and left on 6/4/11. The reservations was under Melofchik.

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great

Other Comments:
the food in the buffet has to be changed and the wait staff needs to speak a bit of English

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathryn  on Mar 11, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
743 people found this review helpful

We had a great time! The resort was beautiful and well-groomed. The staffing was a bit off, I believe that this section had recently been completely renovated, and so we put it down to the fact, the kinks hadn't been worked out completely with staff, training, etc. however, everyone had a smile, a hello, and was willing to help in anyway if you just asked.
We also tip, which we KNOW helps get thier attention. :)

Since we travel frequently to the Dominican, we know what to expect. This is a third world country afterall. There are language barriers, but that is our fault, if you spend anytime talking to anyone whether guests or staff, most speak several languages, while most american's barely speak english properly. You are in another country and immersed in another culture, ENJOY it!

Shade is an issue here, there are no cabana's on the beach, and it is one big general pergola at the main pool, and only a few cabana's at the adult pool, which fill up fast and early.

Room Number:
6221

Arrival:
Check-in was standard. It takes awhile to settle all the paperwork, no longer than other places, no shorter than other places. They did call the bar and we ordered drinks, of our choice, that was nice.

We arrived around 3pm, after check-in, we were taken on a quick tour as we walked to our room.

Rooms:
Rm# 6221
The room was beautiful. King size bed, double sinks, separate toilet and shower. desk, closet, iron and board, phone, clock, minibar, and a few snacks. 2 couches, Balcony had a jacuzzi tub (standard for all rooms)with a drop down shade for privacy.

Restaurants and Bars:
At check-in we were told that you did not need reservations for any of the restaurants.....BUT.... (and they didn't tell us this part)

Between 530 and 6pm the restaurants open, at that time a long line forms, if you are ready for dinner, meaning you have met dress code (which is enforced) and are ready to eat now, you probably can get right in and be seated for dinner. If the restaurant is full by the time you reach the front of the line you are able to make a reservation, depending on how many are in front of you, the times get later and later, so your option maybe something like 9-10pm. That is IF you are dressed for dinner, they will NOT seat you OR give you a reservation if you are not dressed for dinner. In order to get a reservation for dinner, you MUST be dressed for dinner. (men:pants/collared shirt-women dresses slacks) and no flipflop footwear. You must go to the restaurant of your choice, stand in line, and then you can probably get a reservation.
You can not show up in beachwear, saying you just want a reservation for a later time and you will go change before showing up at the designated time...you will NOT get one! Nor are you able to get a reservation for any other night. There is NO cheating on this one believe me we tried.

There are 3 buffet restaurants, opening and closing at different times. Breakfast,lunch, and dinner.


Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great, the reef is far away from shore, so the water was very calm, there were grasses growing, so the bottom wasn't all sand.

There are no huts on the beach, making shade a great commodity, you had to move your chair every half hour of so to stay in the shade, or to get out of the sun. We did ride the train down to the villa's, and they had much more shade on the beach, but still no huts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a train that will take you all around the resort. You can get off, wander around and get back on. While riding it, we saw basketball courts, tennis courts, the golf course, we got off a few times, wandered around, had a drink, and got back on. There is also a church, something we have not seen at other resorts. The schedule for service is clearly posted on the front.
There is a larger and a smaller waterpark.

Other Comments:
We would recommend this resort and would probably even go back there. The fact that there were so many things to do for the kids, make us think about taking the kids there...someday.

The biggest warning I would want to give is about the restaurant reservation system they have. it clearly doesn't work well, it was a hassel.

The resort was probably around 80% occupied during our trip and mostly english speaking visitors. It's always handy to have a few basic phrases of spanish, but thats anywhere you go in the Dominican, not just here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Definitely Worth The Money!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  shirley  on Feb 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
406 people found this review helpful

Hubby and I have been to the Dominican 8 times prior. This was the first time at this resort. We found the food was very good at all the restaurants. The specialty restaurants were very good and the service was good. The main buffet restaurant had a great variety of foods but, because my husband has a major shellfish allergy, we ate at the "adults only" buffet on the convention side of the resort where no shrimp or lobster was served. I think there truly is something for everyone here. The adults only end of the beach is much quieter and serene. No kids squealing or crying. And, if it's an issue with you, we only saw about 8 topless women the entire time we were there. Our room was nice although I don't like the "rain" shower. But, the bed was comfortable and fresh towels were brought everyday. Bring your own washcloths as these are very limited. While I was there I became very sick. The young gal that is the concierge in our lobby was an absolute angel. Because my Spanish is limited, I went to her to ask her to interpret my health issue to the pharmacy. No only did she make sure my symptoms were explained properly, she made sure they brought the meds I needed immediately. Within a day I was much healthier and was able to enjoy my vaction. Overall, this is a pleasant, beautiful, resort. It is large and has about 9 restaurants to enjoy. The casino is just a small place, not at all like a Vegas cassino. I found the employees to be helpful and hardworking. Most work 12 hour days.

Room Number:
2232

Arrival:
On a Thursday afternoon, 20 Jan 2011. The airport is a little confusing. We just asked which bus was ours and was directed to the correct bus that delivered us right to our hotel.

Other Comments:
As Americans that traveled by way of Canada (Montreal) we found this to be a real bargain. We booked last minute through Air Transat and got quite a discount. Overall...happy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The most relaxing vacation ever!"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
767 people found this review helpful

Everything about this resort was fantastic. The room - junior suite deluxe was very luxurious with the hot tub on the balcony. It was clean and the bar fridge was stocked daily. The food was great but it would be nice to see them change the protocol for reservations. Standing in line for a seating is not what you want to do after a long day at the beach. It would be easier to know you have a reservation. Other than that no complaints. I would definitely go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
User Rating:  Barcelo Bavaro Palace  Deluxe Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
780 people found this review helpful

I sometimes wonder if all the complaints you read here are legitimate.Some of the complaints really make me laugh.A lot of complaints about staff not speaking english.Grow up people! If these people visited your country would you be able to talk to them in there language! I have never met so many rude travellers in my life.Some of you come to a wonderful island like this and seem to think you are the most gifted people in the world.With that being said we have also met some wonderful people from all over the world..

We arrived at 1:00 PM on a Saturday and by 1:15 PM we were checked in.Yes there were a few in our group that had to wait awhile for there room.Lets remember people that check out is at 12 noon and check in is 3:00 .That is a very small window to get all these rooms ready.Personally i think they do a fantastic job!





Resort
There have been many extensive renovations done here.All have been done beautifully.The Casa Club is a brand new building housing most of the restaurants along with many boutiques including a dutyfree store.From its two story lobby with a beautiful staircase to all of the other amenities including casino,disco and sports bar this seems to be a favorite gathering place. There is also a great coffee and cigar bar with a great selection of coffee and chocolate drinks.

Do not believe all the bad you here.Remember when this resort is full it caters to 4000 guests.

Staff
So many wonderful people.Even with the language barrier we were always greeted with a smile and Hola...Not once have we ever been mistreated or ignored by anyone.Tips are included in your vacation but remember how hard these people work for the little they earn compared to our lifestyle.

Room Number:
4231

Arrival:
arrived at 1:00 PM on a Saturday and by 1:15 PM we were checked in.Yes there were a few in our group that had to wait awhile for there room.Lets remember people that check out is at 12 noon and check in is 3:00 .That is a very small window to get all these rooms ready.Personally i think they do a fantastic job.Check in

Rooms:
Rooms
Rooms were cleaned everyday in the morning.Had a slight problem with the shower so we call guest services and it was repaired in 30 minutes.Try to get that done at home!Everything in the room worked just fine.Mini bar was kept full of juices,coke,fanta, sprite,juices and plenty of bottled water..Also Lays potatoe chips and peanuts.Thankyou very much to our maid Altagracia what a wonderful lady

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants
We found all the resturaunts to be very good.Excellent service at all of the ala cartes and a good quality meal and always with a smile.The buffets always had plenty of food and a great selection..

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach
What can you say about the beach.STUNNING! With the reef surrounding the resort you have very calm waters.To the peolpe who say they never seen anyone raking the beach you could not have been at the same resort i was at.The beach was raked morning and afternoon everyday of the week

Pools And Grounds
They have done a fantastic job with all of the new pools and for families with small children you will love the Barcey water park.The grounds are not only beautiful they are also very clean and very well maintained..

Other Comments:
If you would like to experience a great vacation and see first hand a beautiful resort and meet some wonderful people don't let some of these reveiws change your mind.They have just finished renovations in Dec.2010 and in that short time i think the staff and management have done a great job.And will only improve with time.This resort is the most beautiful one we have ever been to.

JW
Canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube