The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 68 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 12, 2013

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA

4.2 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium  

C/ El Cortecito, Playa Bávaro, Punta Cana

"good place to go"
Posted by: clarke on Jul 10, 2014
see all reviews

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Reviews
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Pictures and Information
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#8
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.4

Based on 24 reviews

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Information


The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium is an exclusive hotel located within the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Complex Resorts & Spa. The concept of The Royal Suites is a differentiated care with personalized service for adults only. Enjoy privacy, relaxation and tranquility in this luxurious resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Reviews

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.4 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  13
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 24

"good place to go"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  clarke  on Jul 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1 person found this review helpful

Royal suites is a beautiful resort that anybody looking to have a great time out of their normal lives should visit in DR, I enjoyed my stay here and hope to come back here again whenever it is possible. I stayed in this resort with my husband in April 2014 for our annual vacation and it was so much fun for us. We had a room in the building which overlooked the pool and the view was beautiful. We never had any issues with the room or any equipment in the room; it was extremely clean and large enough. All the staff in this resort was nice and friendly and the butler service here was great. The resort grounds are well maintained and well kept. The gourmet dishes were all delicious as we would go there every day to have our meals, the service was very professional. The Japanese and Brazilian restaurants were all great and there was always something to eat there so we never had bad meal day throughout our stay in this resort. The room service is quick and effective and it never took time for our orders to arrive. We specifically enjoyed the beach, it is big and beautiful and we usually take romantic walks on the beach almost throughout the 2 weeks we spent here. There are several shops just outside where you can do your shopping so we bought some things before leaving the resort. We will be coming back here for our next vacation or maybe for Christmas holidays.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Nov 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
282 people found this review helpful

If you want a resort that you will feel absolutely pampered, this is the resort for you. When we arrived we were given a glass of wine and without any wait we were taken to our room. We did not up grade because our room was great. King bed, hydrotub next to the bed and everything was extremely clean. Our butler took care of everything that we could possible want or need. Pools were clean and warm and lots of loungers around the pool and never had to look for a lounger at the beach. If you want quiet this is the resort for you, no kids, no line ups and the restaurants and very private. If you want a bit more noise just head over to one of the other three resorts in the Palladium family (very large resort)
Will definatley return....

Room Block:
56 or 57

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Second Time Around"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Oct 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
281 people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at the Royal Suites Turquesa and it was fabulous, as expected. The newer area with the swim-up rooms is where we stayed both times and would again. The rooms on the second and third floor are superb. Didn't really want the swim-up and I would recommend the rooms on the top floor. That way, you won't hear your adjacent neighbour using their Jacuzzi.
The restaurants were great; one could be satisfied just using the a-la-carts that were exclusive to the Royal Suites. Nice gym for a work-out and the perimeter of the complex is about 5 km for those who like to walk.
A nice feature of this part of the resort was in the evenings, where a small group could hang out at the bar and enjoy company, top shelf booze and no kids.
My wife and I would return for a third visit in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Royal Suites Turquesa, DR = 5 Stars"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Greg  on Jul 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
453 people found this review helpful

Absolutely nothing wrong with this resort. Multiple ala carte restaurants; multiple buffets. Adults only eliminated a lot of headaches associated w/kids. Numerous bars. Maid service (tipped on morning #1) top rate. Help staff did not "work for tips" and very few were left but if you did reward service, they certainly remembered you and followed you for needs. Make restaurant reservations as soon as you arrive; fills up fast and eating dinner at 8:00 or 10:00 doesn't work for us. French, Japanese and Brazilian restaurants excellent. Hibachi grille-show outstanding. Casino small and only play slots or blackjack. Clean beach. More than enough pool/beach palapas. Grounds exquisite and groomed daily. Resort so large, you felt alone. A lot of Europeans; heavy Spanish.

Room Number:
5318

Room Block:
Royal Suites - Adults Only

Arrival:
Names were in daily arrival/entry book; nice touch. Concierge service excellent. Had to wait for 3 pm check-in as flight arrived around noon. Pack a carry-on with pool clothes and you are in the pool waiting it out. Went to lunch. Internet in lobby; two working terminals could make access difficult at times. Wi-fi in lobby as well.

Rooms:
Royal Junior Suite. Second floor; first floor balconies had swim-up pool entries. No building over three stories tall. No elevators. King-size, comfortable four poster bed. Marble -- marble walls, ceilings, floors, vanity and seperate shower areas. Sunken hydro-tub. Gin, scotch, vodka and rum bottles in room. Presidente beer and water with Coke products. Refilled daily. Robes. Slippers. Discreet room service portal. Balcony with chairs and drying rack. In-room Ipod charger/player. Hi-def, wall-mounted TV w/NYC channels. In-room, programmable safe. Remote. Maid service available early or late; your call. Sitting area with pull-out couch and two chairs.

Restaurants and Bars:
More than enough. Did not have time to do all in 5 night stay. La Chantrel (French) needed no reservations as it was exclusive to the Royal Suites clientele. Chateau briand for two highly recommended. Japanese hibachi grille was entertaining and delicious. Brazilian Rodezio was way too much meat! Le Gourmet and Bohio buffets were excellent. Le Gourmet was exclusive to Royal Suites; Bohio in family area and kids can destory a buffet real easy. Room service delivered house wines; wines in room were higher standard and extra charge. Beach bar was excellent; likely due to smallish numbers at pool. Crowd rarely exceeded 20 people it seemed. Wait staff around pool was plentiful, always available and quite fast. Tipping there ensured greater attention. Pool bars also at swim-up pools in adults only area. Bars in palapas on beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach beautiful but short distance from palms to water. Some minor sea grasses but nothing outside norm. Top-optional for ladies- beach only (it seemed). Sand soft and white. Lots of beach foot traffic. Pools excellent. Enough surrounding palms to cast shade into pools during peak sun hours. Each had own "bubble" tubs .. think "hot tubs" but without heat. Getting own palapa was never an issue. Some "towel seat saving" but nothing extreme. Lounge chairs in pools seating one or two. Grounds were exquisite. Daily grooming. Roaming pink flamingos and peacocks. Resort so huge we never saw 50% of it as most dining/casinos/bars are located in middle section of third resort area with adults only section being the fourth. Spa huge but gym/workout equipment sparse or in need of repair. Attached to hot tub/sauna/lazy river/ lounge section. Massages were reasonably priced at about $2/minute.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We had no intentions of dsoing any did none so mission accomplished. A possible trip to Santo Domingo was declined due to one-way, three-hour bus ride. Others did zip-lining and said while course was good, 1.5 hour one-way trip up bad roads with bad shocks was brutal. Plus return. Others did a dune buggy/terrain tour and loved it. Did not stray from resort. Area outside walls was quite impoverished. Stores/shops looked in pitiful shape. Lots of young men roving around on scooters. Just south of resort was beach shop area. Peddlers quite pushy and insistive. Peddlers on beach (parasailing, banan boats, etc.) not too intrusive. Beaches are public so some expressed some fear on the beach at night. A mugging is possible anywhere, even paradise. We did not go there at that time but one must always be aware of their surroundings. The resort opened a local peddlers area in front of casino certain nights and peddlers there are also quite insistent. Small "mall" area on resort and it served our purposes well enough. Sports area in resort is huge and has all fields necessary for every sport imaginable. Activites around our pool were none; which worked well for meeting our objectives of quiet, solitude, sun and drinking. There si a tram service that runs around the resort; recommend taking it first day there and getting to know where things are.

Other Comments:
We would certainly go back. Five days/nights suited us fine. Our son-in-law and daughters might be bored with things; this was not Cancun where there are discos, malls, ruins, Isla Mujares, and eco parks to explore. Hotel is second one on Bavaro Beach so ride to/from airport is short. Airport: small and open air. Seems all the planes come and go at same time so crowd can swell easily. We arrived before the line began and were at security within 30 minutes; others stood in check in line for two hours. Food behind security is American: Sbaro, Wendy's, Nathan's, etc. Nice duty-free shop. Porters swarm you but "no gracias" works fine. There is a $10/person entry fee, payable right before getting bags. Must present receipt and passport to entry officials along with entry form given on plane to enter country.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pool and beach great but food not the best."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  lisa  on Jun 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
532 people found this review helpful

My husband and I usually take a cruise. Had this hotel recommended to us, we did feel staff was very sweet and expecting a tip for everything you do. Somewhat annoying. Would rather give one larger tip than a tip for very move they make. Kept saying OK, OK waiting for the tip. Only 2 restaurant's had good food, Japanese and Brazilian. Casino is small and. Most machines were broke. Intertainment was fine. Thank god the weather was fabulous, the beach and pool was enjoyed. Only 2 types of beer. Presidente and Millerlite. Other drinks a bit sweet. Dessert very tiny. NY cheescake as they called it any New Yorker would flip. Not even close. One thing you don't gain weight like a cruise.

Room Number:
5007

Room Block:
tarquesa

Arrival:
June4,2012 to June 8,2012

Restaurants and Bars:
Gourmet terrible food. Steak place also terrible. Salmon worst I ever had. My husbands steak awful
Japanese and Brazilian were very good. Service good also.Breakfast room service fair. Lunch at pool fine.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds beautiful. Well kept. Pools same. Beach same.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Just pool.

Other Comments:
Need to improve food at restaurant's. Heard other people complaining.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful rooms - food adequate"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Apr 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
523 people found this review helpful

Four of us traveled to the Royal Suites in Feb 2010.
The Palladium complex is made up of several Palladium resorts grouped together. The Royal Suites is the Adults Only quieter section. We stayed in the newer section (farther away from the beach - but still not too far). Rooms were fabulous. Room service quick and awesome! The beach was absolutely wonderful. Lots of shade to be found if you needed (and if you got there early enough). Because there is no limit to how many towels you may have, people seem to "save" extra chairs at both the beach and the pool, but even so, there are lots of chairs available, though not always enough shade. We booked reservations at some ala cartes which are spread out through the complex. Not blown away by any of the food, but all of the service was top notch. A couple of us did come down with stomach prolems, although that could have been from meals we recived on excursions. Speaking of which - Catalina Island Catamaran Excursion was fantastic! The only negative comment I would have is that the complex was almost too large, making for a long way to go for evening entertainment.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great resort!!"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Veronica  on Jan 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
864 people found this review helpful

My husband and I and ten friends went to this resort in November, 2010. Service was excellent, rooms were excellent and food was also excellent. Would definitely recommend staying here and would go again in a minute.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A delightful experience!"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Mar 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
922 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We checked in around 2:30 am to find that we had been upgraded from the Palace to the Royal Suites because the resort was overbooked. Since this was our first trip to a resort, we didn't realize what this meant at first in terms of the extra perks we received during our stay that we would not have gotten at the Palace.
The AC in our room was not working when we arrived, but the problem was fixed right away, even though it was the middle of the night! The receptionist offered to move us for the night so we could settle in, but we opted to wait for the repairs to be done. We had no further problems with the AC during our stay.
One thing we didn't know: we had to insert our second room door card into a slot just inside the door to make the electricity work!

Rooms:
The room was beautiful! Four poster bed, sitting area with two chairs and a love seat, 36 inch TV (although there were no good channels...we were hoping to catch the Olympics, but no channel carried them! According to our tour guide, the Dominicans don't care about winter!), Jacuzzi tub, stand up shower, double sinks, digital safe in the closet, minifridge refilled with water, pop, beer and peanuts everyday. Word of caution: the minibar refiller seemed to be a one-shot deal. If you have your "do not disturb" sign on the door when he comes, you don't get the refill!
My only complaint is that the door to the toilet stall did not extend completely from floor to ceiling, so one can't be modest when using the bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate mainly at the Royal Gourmet, which is the restaurant exclusive to the guests of the Royal Suites. It features a la carte menu at every meal plus the buffet. The selection was fantastic and we enjoyed everything we had. (The filet mignon was to die for!) At some meals there was quite a wait for our a la carte meal)
The wine for the most part was good, but the quality varied from meal to meal and restaurant to restaurant.
Being guests at the Royal Suites allowed us to go to as many a la cartes as we liked, so we tried the Brazilian, Mediterranean, Italian and Asian. The location and atmosphere of the Italian was superb and we were serenaded by a mariachi band. The Mediterranean was well air-conditioned and the food was really good.
The service at all the restaurants was excellent. The rules for booking our a la carte meals were not explained at the outset, so we were not able to book as many as we had wished.
We didn't use the bars much, but the wait staff were all polite and fast.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great, although some people found it cool! They were bundled up in towels!! We only had trouble one day finding a chair.
The pool was lovely, with recliners, chairs and beds to use. We never had trouble finding a place to sit.
The grounds were immaculate with lots of shrubs, palm trees

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We chose not to participate in any activities off the resort. We did go to the Michael Jackson show and the American show, both were mediocre. We went to the disco on Friday night for 70's and 80's night and had a lot of fun! The vendors on the beach should be experienced by all. The bartering is fun.

The gift shops on the resort were reasonably priced, with a good selection of necessities, jewellery, liquor, cigars and clothes.

Other Comments:
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All we did was relax, eat, sunbathe and enjoy each other's company.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Mar 4, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
898 people found this review helpful

Having been avid travelers to other resorts to the Punta Cana Region, we decided to try this resort.

Your Arrival:
When we checked in, we were never given the undivided attention from Michel at the front desk. He kept answering the phone. He indicated that the room was not ready, and to come back. We went for lunch, and came back, to which Michel was no longer at the desk. Our room was not ready. We sat in the Lobby for another hour, and finally Jose assisted us, and we went to our room. Our room keys did not work, so he used the master key to open 5312. We noticed the following:

The safe was locked from the previous individuals
No Bathrobes or Champagne / Rum

one butler said he will look into the safe ASAP, and the room keys. At 5:30pm I walked to the front desk and asked about the status of the room keys, and the safe. The maintenance fellow in charge of the safe came right away, and I got the room keys immediately.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 5312, and it was beautiful.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the buffet every night, and it was excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
one word - AMAZING!

Other Comments:
The resort is EXCELLENT! It is less than 1yr old, and it has some growing pains. The food was superb!
However, any established resort to claim “Royal”, should have a Process that is better. Customer Service is Number One at any place in the Dominican Republic.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Resort - highly recommend"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maureen & Bruce  on Feb 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
932 people found this review helpful

Top 7 Things about The Royal Suites Turquesa, Punta Cana

1) Swim up pool room - is absolutely incredible. We upgraded for $12 US per night and it was worth every penny. Upgrading at the hotel can be done for a fraction of the cost than through your travel agent. The rooms are beautifully decorated and feature a Jacuzzi, IPOD docking station and bar fridge stocked with drinks & snacks. Tip- the rooms in the new section are much nicer and cheaper than the rooms that are advertised as closest to the beach. The rooms closest to the beach are old and dated.

2) Bali beds and loungers - are always available around the pool, even in mid afternoon. No towel game, ever.

3) Room service door - room service orders are delivered through a pass through door and a light is activated in your room so privacy is guaranteed. Room service is on Dominican time so be patient.

4) Free golf cart service for Royal Suites guests - Drivers are always available to drive you through the resort. This is only available for Royal Suites guests and it is very handy because the resort is huge. It is actually 4 hotels on one large property and it takes approximately 25-30 minutes to walk from one end to another. There is a train that makes regular stops every 1/2 hour, but if you miss the train or it becomes busy (as it does in the evening), the shuttle service is great.

5) Free pizza and fruit kabobs - are delivered to guests in the pool area, mid-afternoon. These were a nice treat. Wait staff at the pool area are also available to deliver cold cocktails to your lounger. The swim up pool bar was never busy and stayed open very late. You could also order a nice glass of champagne.

6) Free internet access, in the lobby, pool and your room. This was very handy because our cell phones didn't work and it was handy to connect with family back home.

7) Royal Gourmet restaurant - no reservations required. Athough the food is no better than any other a la carte restaurant, they have great Mimosas for breakfast. They also offer a nice liquor cart for an after dinner drink (Cognac, Baileys etc.). Service is very good and the staff are very friendly.

Other Comments:
What can be improved...
1) Explaining services available to guests - Although the Royal Suites likes to deliver a personalized approach for their guests, it would be really helpful to know what restaurants and services are available. For example, we had no idea where to go for a buffet breakfast or what activities were available during the day. These could be posted for guests rather than having to ask a hundred questions. The other Palladium hotels in the complex posted recreational activities and menus and this is where we obtained most of our information.

2) Detailed map of the resort - Because the Royal Suites is quite new (fall 2009), the new section does not even appear on the resort maps. In addition, the restaurants are not identified on any of the maps given to guests or posted around the resort. Essentially, we took the train to find the a la carte restaurants that we had booked.

3) Food - while the food is good, it isn't great. I was hoping for a little better quality. Coffee is super strong but the cappuccinos are really good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube