The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA

4.2 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium  

C/ El Cortecito, Playa Bávaro, Punta Cana

"good place to go"
Posted by: clarke on Jul 10, 2014
see all reviews

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Reviews
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Pictures and Information
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#8
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.4

Based on 24 reviews

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Information


The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium is an exclusive hotel located within the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Complex Resorts & Spa. The concept of The Royal Suites is a differentiated care with personalized service for adults only. Enjoy privacy, relaxation and tranquility in this luxurious resort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Reviews

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.4 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  13
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
With friend
11 - 20 of 24

"Great Stay!"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don  on Feb 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
915 people found this review helpful

Went to Palladium and had loft rooms reserved. When we arrived they told us they were upgrading to the Royal Palace Suites.

Your Arrival:
Arrived thru Apple almost 2 hours late due tomechanical problems in Cincinnati. Once at airport everything went very smooth. Bu ride and check-in very easy.

Rooms:
The room was unbeleivable. We were put in swim out suite. The place was new and spotless.Had huge whirpool tub, a shower that had stereo,steam,lights,and many showerheads. In room fridge stocked daily with Presidente, Miller,Pepsi,Sprite,peanuts,crackers and more.Big living room with big flat screen.Bedroom big with flat screen, bed and pillows very comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Gourmet restaurant had lobster,filet mignon, and many other items you would find in a high class restaurant. Food was very good. Bars were all top shelf liquor and Presidente on tap.We did eat at mexican restaurant it was good.The steak and seafood restaurant was not good.Group of 6 and nobody liked the food. Buffet had something for everyone. Sports bar had good food 24 hrs.a day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach beautiful.Grounds immaculate. In our area pools were great. Walked to Bavaro pool and was a little shocked at the difference. Older part of complex and it showed.Many kids and whole different atmosphere.I was very glad we were where we were,adults only and new.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went to Steves bar just off resort and would recommend going just to see the people. Very busy corner.

Other Comments:
Been to the DR 8 times and this was the nicest place.We always choose 5 stars and this one really is.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort will see us again."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Allen  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009
833 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Quick and easy transfer to the hotel from the airport using VIP services. Entry through Customs was as easy as I've ever experienced.

Rooms:
The Royal Suites had excellent accommodations with quality furnishings and a very comfortable bed and very roomy. This section is quiet and secluded from the other areas of the resort but convenient, with the use of the inter-resort train. Loved the swim-up pool, right off of the suite's deck.

Restaurants and Bars:
World-class cuisine and plenty of it! Quality of the food was exceptional, as was the service by the staff. Bars were plentiful, and the wait-staff numerous.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was pristine; sandy, clean, and no rocks to step on. Staff keep the entire complex neat and clean. Pools were clean and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We stayed on the resort grounds since our purpose for this trip was to simply relax and 'chill'; easy to do, but hard to leave.

Other Comments:
The Dominicans were very hospitable, polite and attentive. Lots of smiles and good manners and very welcoming to us, as visitors. This resort will see us again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Room service one late night was surprisingly good."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ed from Strateford, CT  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009
739 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov 12-17

I love PUJ! There is a slight hold-up for the picture with the ridiculously dressed girls, but no harm done. Getting through Immigration took all of 2 minutes, buying $10 entry cards and then returning them up about 10 feet later. Baggage started to come through fairly quickly. It was crowded around the belt but that's to be expected. To leave the terminal, a firm but polite œno thank you got us through the porters and out to the taxi area. Nodding to one of the several English speaking organizers holding up a simple taxi sign, we were escorted to our cab. The driver did not speak English but we knew the fare from the gentleman who got us to the cab. The ride to the resort took about 25 minutes.

Check In

When we arrived, there was no welcome. No hola, no cold drink, no welcome, this is where to go to check in, nada. We knew where to go from our visit last year and waited for the couple in front of us to finish, then sat at the desk for check-in. I got a Presidente and my wife a bottle of water from the fridge next to the bar. Check-in itself was smooth and fairly quick.

Our butler, or who we were told was our butler, escorted us to our room and gave a quick intro to the TV, safe, fridge, etc. He said his name was Adanza and wrote cell numbers on the info sheet we can return to select pillows, define what we want in the fridge, etc. Our bags were brought up about 5 minutes later.

I don't know who brought us up to the room. Adanza, we learned two days later, is a lovely woman. I guess he was free in the lobby and it was easier to have him take us up than to find one of the œreal butlers. When we did meet Adanza, we told her we'd turned in the request form with someone else. The next day, our pillows and bottle of rum arrived. Daily fridge refill is promised but did not happen. In our 5 days, it was refilled once. Not a big deal.

The Room

We were put into room 5026. In the original section, this was a 2nd floor room close to the beach and overlooking the pool. Exactly what I'd requested through Octavio about 10 days before arrival.

The room was in good shape. The toilet seat was loose and one of the chairs on the porch was missing a bolt, but nothing problematic. There is a free safe to use that will hold a small to mid-sized laptop. Not sure about a larger one. The tub was in the room but the toilet and shower were behind different doors, offering the required privacy. What the room lacks is a dresser. There are 3 small drawers in the desk and 3 shelves in the closet but this was barely enough for us staying only 5 nights. If you're on a 2 week holiday and pack heavy, you'll have issues finding room to store your clothes. The TV brought in plenty of English speaking or dubbed channels with fairly decent reception quality.

We left $3 each day for the maid, with a gracias note so she knew it was for her. Everyday around 10-11am, the room was fully cleaned, with flowers and towels animals left behind.

Towels do get a little tricky. Washcloths were there when we arrived but never replaced. Used bath towels were taken when the room was cleaned in the morning but more than once not replaced until the evening. Not great if you want a late afternoon shower before going to dinner. We got around this by taking a couple extra pool towels back up to the room, just in case they were needed for a shower. When done, we returned them to the pool towel hut, now wanting to leave them for the maid to deal with.

Pool

We were right over the pool. For towels, the hut by the center path to the beach opens at 8:30 (usually earlier) and closes around 4:00. The pool itself was not as clean as the neighboring pool by the now closed El Bohio buffet, and we know why. At the RS pool, there's a shallow sloped area to walk in with 2 small bubblers. People think this is where they're supposed to wash the sand off of their feet and sandals! I don't get how people can be so 1) clueless and 2) inconsiderate. I've already sent a suggestion note to Octavio about adding a foot shower by the towel hut or at least adding signage directing people to the shower that is there already.

There are 2 pool bars. The main bar with a swim-up area and a smaller one at the beach entry path by building 50. The main had Presidente on tap, all of the assorted frozen drink machines and a full stock of liquor. The smaller had bottled beer, a couple slushy machines, just the basics for liquor and the fridge for self-serve sandwiches. Both were fine, plus staff circulates around the pool for drink orders.

We had to put towels out by 7:30am latest to get a shady palapa by the pool. RS wristbands are gold, then changing to silver during the week as the color wears off. There were an awful lot of people around the pool with gray wristbands who walked over from other sections of the complex. I guess those are the platinum wristbands for VIPs and repeat guests. Needless to say, there must've been a lot of VIPs and repeat guests that week, as they seemed to take up 25% of the lounges by the pool.

Beach

Beautiful. At any time of day, there were shaded lounges available, sometimes close to the edge of the water and sometimes further back. Plenty of Bali beds too. Drink service was offered for the RS section of the beach.

Lobby

Nice small lobby. Two desks for check-in, a small but fully stocked bar, a fridge with water and beer to grab at any time and 4 free internet desks. In the hallway between the lobby and the courtyard/pool, there's a desk for butler service and others for excursions and tour companies. Will your assigned butler be there? Probably not. But any of them can make you're a la carte dinner reservations.

Dining

The Royal Gourmet was very good for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Food quality was better than at the buffet.
The Los Torres buffet was fine for breakfast or lunch. The quality was OK and the selection was very good. We did not use a buffet for dinner.
Dinners at the a la carte options were mixed. We liked Japanese teppanyaki, Brazilian rodizio was good and we weren't impressed with the Spanish. For all of them, reservations are now available only at 6:30, 8:30 or 10:00.
At all a la carte and buffet restaurants, the hostess gives you a squirt of hand sanitizer as you enter.
Room service one late night was surprisingly good. The margarita pizza was very good and the burger, though it looked burned to a crisp, was tasty if not juicy.

Punta Cana Mike

If you have the opportunity to go off-resort with Mike, do it. He's a great guy. We went with him to a Toros game in La Romana and absolutely enjoyed it. A real treat for US baseball fans. Mike's a friendly and gracious guy.

Departure

Smooth at the RS. Called for luggage pick-up, walked to the lobby, checked out and were in a cab in about 20 minutes.
Same at the airport. Very nice to have Nathan's, Wendy's and Baskin Robbins as food choices. I wish that were true in San Juan, where we had a 4+ hour lay-over and the only food options in the terminal were garbage.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We do not recommend this resort to anyone except for honeymooners."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joe from Florida  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2009
647 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 6, 2009
Reception was a little bit confusing since we made the reservation months ago and they didn't have the room we requested. They offer to "downgrade" the reservation and have us stay in another room. We declined the offer and they were suppose to have our reserved room available by next day. It never happened even after several attempts and almost pleading.

Rooms:
The suite assigned to us was just beautiful but on the second floor and not as requested on the first floor with direct access to the pool. The building bottlers were very attentive and accommodating and would go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were very good and the staff was fantastic everywhere. The Royal Gourmet (there was always a long wait after ordering and food arriving to your table)was the best and possibly only good restaurant. The other restaurants were mediocre in quality and variety. Tried several of them but the Royal Gourmet was mentione was the only good restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were gorgeous and well kept. Pools were clean and beautifully decorated. No complaints on that department but rather our compliments. The snack frig at the lobby was very handy.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went only to one show and took us about half an hour (by train) to get to the theater. The show was good but again not worthy the trip back an forth due to the distance. We stayed at the lobby of the Grand Palladium most of the evenings.

Other Comments:
We had been at many different resorts in Punta Cana as well as in the north coast of the D.R. It was our only time in which we will be without our children and were looking forward to it. We were so disappointed that by the 4th day we called our Travel Agency and had us transferred to another 5 stars resort. The stay at the latter was just fantastic in every aspect. We do not recommend this resort to anyone except for honeymooners.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sheer Bliss!"

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan from Danville, Kentucky  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009
574 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 3 - July 11:
Sheer Bliss. My husband and I thought this was one of our most relaxing vacations in years. I have travelled all over the world, I used to work in the Middle East and got free plane tickets each year so have been many places, and this is one of my favorite resorts. It is just so beautiful there, and the people were so nice. Those beds on the beach were so decadent, the food was good and the people very friendly if you were nice to them. I will say though everyone was right about arrival and departure at the airport. Arrival was swift and efficient, but you better have three hours to get through lines on the way back. Our check in was quick, and we received cold towels and drinks while we waited. I loved the Royal Suites lobby. It was blessedly cool, had snacks, drinks, a lady who made coffees and cappucinos, free internet, that there was never a long wait to get, books, magazines etc. Very pleasant. The butler (more what I would call a concierge) sits at a desk right outside the lobby, and someone was there most of the time. I found them very helpful to book restraunt (do that ASAP) get flight reconfirmed or answer questions.

Rooms::
As we walked with our butler back to our room we were thrilled with how lovely the place was. Just way more beautiful than the pictures looked. Because I have a bad leg I had insisted on staying in building 52, right next to the pool and beach and this was so handy. We went in our room and the butler gave us a quick rundown of the room and options. We were very happy with the room. It was big, with a nice patio that looked over the pool, loved the big jacuzzi and shower and the bed was big and comfortable. Bar was always well stocked every day, and the maid did a good job with the cleaning. I left her usually two dollars and a candy bars and at the end left her several things. Liked the fan over the bed. Very good movie channels. Nice wooden chairs on the patio. I saw pictures of the rooms in the new section and while it did look nicer and their pool didn't close, I loved being right next to the pool, beach and lobby.

Restaurants and Bars::
Our favorite restraunt was the Royal Gourmet. Yes, the Los Torres buffet had more selection, but was also more crowded and sometimes ran out of things. We ended up eating breakfasts, some lunches and several dinners at the Royal Gourmet. I loved the walkways to it. Kept the sun or rain off you when it was hot. Did like the Los Torres next door, the Palace buffet. Very interesting salads and grilled fish and at dinner here once or twice.

I ended up liking La Uva just down the beach in the Punta cana section for lunch. You could just wear a beach cover up and they had usually two rice dishes (sometimes paella) a soup or two, meats you could have grilled or fish or hotdogs, usually some types of pastas, some unusually good mexican selections, and salads and that good homemade bread. But why I liked it usually over the palace beachside restraunt, (which was barely a two minute walk from the Royal suites pool or beach down the service path along the beach( is because La Uva, which was just a bit further down, had such a lovely ocean view while you ate. It was also a good place to get snacks if you didn't want the sandwiches at the bar. Although if you were on the beach around 11 30 they usually brought out yummy fruit kabobs and then pizzas. service was good around the beach, just wave to get their attention.

Our favorite restraunt was the Mare Nostrum the Italian place, right over by the Los Torres buffet and the Royal Gourmet. It was delicious and we would go here at least twice when we go back. Nice starter buffet, delicious main entrees and good deserts. My second favorite was the Japanese one, also right by the Los Torres buffet and the Royal Gourmet, just further down the line. Very good beef and shrimp, good fried rice, excellent fried ice cream. Nice show.

One night we went over to the Bavaro side of the resort. We looked at the flamingos. Had a drink at Hemingways, which is a nice bar, although quicker to get served if you go up to the bar and take it back to your table. Then we ate at the Chinese restraunt, which was okay, not my favorite one. We went and saw part of a show at the theater, but it wasn't our kind of thing. Then we went over to the Bell captain at the little stand in the Bavaro lobby and asked to get a golf cart back since its a long walk and the train had just left. He was happy to assist us. That was the only time we went over to Bavaro, and to be truthful, probably the last time I'd go over there. It was very nice, but very busy, and I was just too spoiled by the things on the Royal Suites side.

We ordered room service several times when we'd had enough sun and didn't feel llike going back out, and it always came hot or cold and quite good. I liked the chicken quesadillas, they called them tacos, the chef salad was a bit strange as it didn't have much lettuce or vegetables, but was a good snack and it always came within thirty minutes or so.

If you get one of the sandwiches from the lobby or bar I reccommend the ham and cheese, quite good. Overall very pleased with the restraunts and selection of food, particularly the service and food at Royal Gourmet. Very good flank steak, eggs benedict and buffet selections. Some a bit strange for our American tastes, like mashed potatoes for breakfast, but still had bacon, eggs, and quite good pastries. Try the french toast. Made from fresh bread and eggs, delicious.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Well the grounds, beach and pools were even more beautiful than the pictures is all I can say. The lushness reminded me of Bali. I thought Hawaii had the corner on pretty landscaping but this was just wonderful. Loved all the flowers, that smelled so good, the shaded beach under the palm trees, those beds on the beach were just wonderful. Stayed on them most of the day. The sea was perfect, just enough wave, but you could float on your raft in it, I used to like to bounce in the waves and watch them frantically doing aerobics over on the palace beach. It was very relaxing. Although I liked the Punta Cana pool, I ended up liking the Royal Suites pool the best, although they did play the towel game there, didn't like to lounge there though, too hot, and it was too pleasant under the palms on the beach. Did like the pool though, those cool whirpools were very nice and there were deep parts in the pool that were refreshing. Beach was one of the prettiest I've seen, and like I said I've been all over the world. Do go for a walk to your left sometime.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We just weren't in the mood to go on adventures this trip. We just wanted to relax. Next time might go on either the dolphin swim or that island one though. I am still mad at my husband for not going to the Michael Jackson show, hehe, it was supposed to be really good. Otherwise, just went to a lobby and got a drink and listened to music. Some of the music at the palace bar was good. Sat out on a beach bed looking at the ocean two nights, that was romantic and very peaceful.

Did go shopping to the shops just to the right a few times. Like the jewelry in the first hut. Best to offer a fourth of what asked and then go up a bit or be prepared to walk away. When I go back, to get to that cheap Los Pinos shop that has set prices (they're not, you can still get them down some) I highly recommend going down the beach to that restraunt and cut through that alley straight to the Los Pinos shop. That second row of shops were just too aggressive for me. The first row of shops really weren't. I guess they've learned not to be. I liked one shop in that alley by the restraunt. Had really nice beach bags. Got a beautiful larimar necklace for my Mom for about twenty bucks. Not bad.

Other Comments::
We had a really wonderful time here and can't wait to go back. Do put towels down in your room. All floors are slippery here. Do bring candy bars and nick nacks to hand out. The towel man was so thrilled when I gave him one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointment & dissatisfaction."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kerry  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jun, 2009
594 people found this review helpful

My husband & I love to travel. We have gone on several cruises & have enjoyed them immensely. Wanting to try something new this time, we chose the Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium which we were told was a 5 star resort. We always have a positive attitude & when we are on vacation, we have the attitude of “we are not at work, we are not at home cooking & cleaning, so how bad can it be, right????”

We usually can find the good in anything, so I will start with the GOOD:

We thought the butler service was a great idea. We loved that our butler made reservations for us at the restaurants so we wouldn’t have to wait in line to be seated. That being said, the butler was only at her desk a couple times for short periods of time so it was difficult to get the chance to speak with her. We loved the fact that they have an adult only section of the resort & beach. It was very peaceful & quiet.

Now for the BAD:

The weather was awful. There were thunderstorms every day & night. In the whole 7 days we probably got a total of a few hours of sun. The rooms were leaking & the resort was flooding. It made getting around pretty difficult. The weather couldn’t have been helped, I admit, but I do think the resort could have made things a little easier for us or compensated us in some way. I am not sure if it was the weather, or if this was just par for the course, but their attitudes were very poor.

Which leads me to the UGLY:

We booked the upgraded swim-up room specifically to have immediate access to the pool. Well, our pool was broke the whole week. The Jacuzzis were broke the whole week. They made no attempt to apologize or to switch us to a different room. Everyone in our building was complaining. We tried to be reasonable but all we were told was “is broke, Senor”. The advertised free wifi didn't work. Again, when we asked about it we were told “is broke, Senor” The only way we could use the internet is if we made the trek thru the floods to go the lobby. Our A/C worked but not that great. We heard some people saying their rooms were cold as ice but ours barely worked. We tried to tell them but they didn’t seem to care. We were told there would be trains making stops at lobbys & restaurants every 10 to 15 minutes. Well, when they were running, the wait was always 30 to 45 minutes. We met an older couple who said they had to wait a whole hour for the train to come to their stop & they would have walked in the rain but they had arthritis. We were told that we could ask anyone to take us anywhere on the complex with a club car or golf cart. Once we were told “the train will come” & another time we asked the driver to take us to the main gate & he simply said “NO” so we walked in the rain! We asked the man at the front desk to show us where Hemingway’s bar was on the map. We even showed him the word “Hemingway” in writing. He said he didn’t know & he called 2 people & then he said “it’s on the map. The train will take you there” so we had to go find it ourselves. Something we found to be funny was on an electronic survey, one of the questions was to rate the staff of the Hemingway bar. Kind of funny since the staff didn’t even know it existed! We booked a tour that was leaving early in the morning. The night before, I tried to preorder breakfast thru room service. The room service breakfast starts at 7 & will get to your room in 40 minutes. That would have been too late so the night before when I called & requested to have breakfast sent to me at 7:30 the next morning, he said “No, you call tomorrow”. That was a huge inconvenience that could have been avoided. What would have been the harm in allowing me to call ahead for one morning? In the Royal Gourmet, my husband said that instead of having an appetizer, he preferred to try 2 different entrees. He was told “NO”. He thought he misunderstood so he rephrased it & the waiter said “NO, ONLY 1!” We were offended since in our opinion, we PAID for that food! At the same restaurant on a different night my husband dropped a fork. When it hit the floor, everyone around us could hear it, even the waiters. They turned their heads in our direction. My husband waited a moment & when it appeared no one would bring him a new fork, he got up to go across the restaurant to get it himself. We had to hold up our glasses to request water refills since it appeared that no one was even paying attention to our table. On several occasions we were served the wrong orders & had to wait even longer. On one occasion, they forgot to make our order & we had to wait a very long time to get our lunch. At the Japanese restaurant, when I walked in the door dripping wet from rain, the girl at the door didn’t offer me a towel; instead she glared at me, shook her head at me, & placed a wet floor sign beside the puddle of water I created. When we went outside of the resort, we saw that other resorts offered their guests umbrellas & rain ponchos. We would have bought them and used them if they were available to us but instead, at our resort we were treated as though our wetness was a nuisance to them. What was a nuisance was we brought very nice dress clothes that were ruined due to the mildew of constantly being wet. Our room was leaking, as all others were, so no clothing would dry even after being draped all over the room all week.

The only thing the staff would do was keep bringing us towels to place all over the floors & tables. My husband went to discuss these matters with Miguel. (the apple rep) Miguel was very friendly but he didn’t seem to be very helpful. He, along with all others, would just smile & tell us to relax. There were no solutions to any of the problems, no apologies, just absent smiles. My husband explained to Miguel that we booked the upgraded room specifically for perks that we weren’t receiving such as the pool & the wifi. Miguel told my husband that all of the royal suites were equal in price. When my husband told Miguel that wasn’t the case, Miguel only smiled & said he didn’t know because he had only been there for 2 weeks. He said that he already knew that the pool was broken since other guests were telling him about it but that we were to “expect” these things since we were in a new section. But, more than a month before our vacation when we asked if this new section would be completed in time, we were told that everything was to be ready & open on May 1st. Had the pool in our building ever been working, or was it working at one point & then it broke? Either way, that was the whole reason of booking a swim-up room & Miguel could only tell us that it was “to be expected”. In the end, we saw the maintenance crew capping off all the jets in the pool so it looked as though there was no hope of it working anytime in the near future. The crew was digging holes all over the place & it appeared that there was some sort of plumbing/piping issues. I understand things break but it seemed as though this place was nowhere near being ready to be open to the public. I believe we were misled greatly. We were also told that there would be no problem with having a late check-out. Our flight wasn’t due to leave till after 8pm. We were told by the man at the desk that we had to be out of our room at noon. We said that seemed too early & asked if we could have late check-out. He became annoyed & said “only 1 more hour. You be here at 1:00.” So, we went to eat lunch & at 12:30 we attempted to go to our room to get our luggage & our keys had already been disabled. We had to go find a maid to let us into our room. Then even though it seemed as though they were in a hurry for us to leave, we had to call twice for a bellboy to pick up our luggage.

All of this being said, individually all of these complaints are not that big a deal but when you combine them into a whole week, it adds up to be very bad vacation. Like I said, we are not the type to complain about anything. We are passive people and we are very fun people. We usually make it a point to make the most of every minute of our vacations. We are usually annoyed when we see guests do nothing but complain thruout their vacations. But when we were blatantly being treated with rudeness & disregard, we were shocked & disgusted! On a cruise we are treated as though we are their friends. They get to know us, they get to know our traveling companions, they even learn how we drink our coffee. It’s the little things that matter to me. An example of how this resort was the exact opposite is what happened on our last day. We had been there for 7 days. We saw the same people over & over. We recognized them & assumed they would have at least known we had been there. Sitting in the lobby after the whole check-out fiasco, a member of the staff actually came up to us & told us that our room would be ready soon. There was never any attempt of them trying to get to know us or making us feel that we mattered. We are not wealthy people. This was a huge expense to us. We even added to that expense by purchasing the insurance plan but how can we be compensated for all of this? Not to mention the vacation days that we can not get back from our employers. We feel as though it’s all been wasted.

There are no other words to explain our disappointment & dissatisfaction

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hats off to Palladium and the staff that make this place what it is."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne from Nova Scotia  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
348 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 5 - 12
Early flight on Air Transat. Club Class the only way to go. No other planes around just ours so the total time from landing to bus leaving was 1/2 hour. From landing to Hotel 1 hour. Taken to resort via big bus only dropping at the other Palladium resorts. Just 6 off at the Suites. Checkin was a breeze while sipping a fruity drink and cool cloth. Rooms not ready as expected, no big deal. Left everything in the lobby and changed into bathing suit, grabbed the big cup hit the bar on the way to the beach. For everyone who get so bent out of shape over your room not being ready, relax just be ready for it and go with the flow. The front desk will appreciate it so much more and remember you for being nice about it. Just hit the beach and relax.

Rooms
I had the prefect room and well as my other travelling companions. My rooms was on the top floor # 5144 just about dead centre of builing 51. Looking directly at the ocean. What a view from my bed. Everything about the room was perfect. Clean is an understatement. These maids work hard. I came back to my room at 9:00 for something and she had the bed pulled out from the wall mopping under it. Never felt sand or grit at anytime. King size bed. Sheets changed everyday. Not that they needed it be but some get bent out of shape if the sheets are not changed. Mini bar stocked everyday with 2 huge bottles of water beer, pop, crackers and 2 cans of peanuts. Flat screen TV, electronic safe. Room was simply beautiful. If there was ever a problem and I did have one with no water on day, called the desk and 5 minutes later the problem was fixed.

Restaurants and Bars
For me the new japanese was the best. In the suites you do get to reserve and bypass the line ups. I did find that they used a little to much salt for me but I usually don't eat it so it may have just been me. Mare Norstrum , way to hot in there for me and it took over 2 hours to get our meal when we did it was amazing but we left before dessert as were all to hot. I did mention this to the Concierge and he reported it to management while I was with him. Bamboo was wonderful and the orange dessert was to die for. Very fast service. El Arrecife, amazing lovely breeze blowing in from the beach, no flys. Service very fast as well. Did the buffet and all the food was really great. Fast and efficient. We always sat at the same area as there were 6 at all times so we got to know them and they us and knew what we wanted before we even asked. We alway left tips so this helps. I did notice that not many people do leave tips and I don't know why. I know one can if they want to and it is not expected but come on people a buck or two here and there really helps these people out.

The Gourmet is just for Suites guests and is on the mark. Service and attention to each person food ordered off menu as well as help yourself to the buffet items. Bars we did frequent Hemingway's which is in a class all by it's self. Mostly we used the bar in our lobby or the beach bar and the pool bar in the Suites area. Most drinks were delivered to us on the beach and perk at the suites. Everyday fruit kabobs delivered to us as well. Very nice touch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach...perfect as everyone knows. Never do a pool when I'm south so I can't comment but they looked great. Very comfortable Bali bed at beach and pool area. The lounger are the best I have ever layed on, long and made of metal with webbing. I did take a MEC sleeping pad with me just in case thing got uncomfortable. These MEC pads are only 700gr. self inflate and pack up small. Good investment. Never had trouble finding a lounger. Landscaping beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Did do parasailing once I got up the nerve and was glad I did, it is very peaceful up there and the view was amazing. Went to Don Lucas cigar lounge. Anyone looking to purchase a excellent quality cigar should give this guy a call, your concierge will have his info. Top quality. He is very informative and picks you up in his vehicle and takes you back. The rest of my time was walking the beach and laying in the sun.

Other Comments
I did get to tour the new section of the Royal Suites and it is amazing. There are three builing opening in 10 days. No ocean view but everything else makes up for it. The swimup suites will be a hit for some for sure. Top of the line everything in these rooms. Only a 3 minute walk to the beach. I had been to the Royal Suites in 2006 and thought it was the best then now things are even better and the additions they have made make it all the better. Anyone who books do it with confidence as this place will give you everything you need in a vacation. Go relax and enjoy! Hats off to Palladium and the staff that make this place what it is. Please remember to tip! Also candy is a huge hit with the young and old. So pick up some discounted easter stuff and bring it along you will be surprised just how happy that will make them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very pleased with the holiday."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Chuck & Grace from Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
310 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We arrived at the suites on Sunday March 22nd after a 4 ½ hour flight from Toronto. After the usual customs and baggage routine, there was a new twist, you had to have one of the porters move your bags for you, you couldn’t use the carts outside of the baggage area. However, when we arrived at the resort, there was no waiting, our room was ready, and we were escorted to our room, 5205 by our butler Carlos, who went through some of the services offered, such as pillow selection, etc.

Room
The room was very nice and spacious, and was just as the pictures and previous reviews had stated. The room was always nice and fresh, with flowers and towel animals. The housekeeping staff was excellent, and were always considerate of the guests needs. The only thing that seemed to be in short supply was the face clothes. They would disappear in the morning, and would return late in the afternoon. Twice during the two weeks we were there, I had to go searching as they had not yet been delivered by 5:00pm. The fridge guy was sort of hit and miss. There were two or three days, he never showed up at all. That was never a big deal, because all you had to do was walk to the lobby, and there were 2 fridges stocked with beer, soda, water, yogurt and sandwiches which you could get at any time.
We did receive two small bottles of rum during our stay, as well as a bottle of chilled champagne and two glasses delivered to the door. We also received a fruit basket the afternoon of our arrival.

Restaurants and Bars
We tried most of the a la carte restaurants as well as the Royal Gourmet. The one we found to be the best was the Japanese as well as the Royal Gourmet. The International Steak and Seafood located at one of the beach grills was by far the worst of the lot. Besides an extremely long wait both times, the beef was as tough as shoe leather, it was so bad, and I could not chew my steak, very disappointing to say the least. The Italian was OK, as well as the Dominican and the Tex-Mex wasn’t too bad either. We never took the time to try the Brazilian or the Oriental. We tried two of the buffets, and found the food to be fairly decent. I personally found that there could have been some more variety in the salads served, but I may have gone with a pre-conceived expectation of what we had last year. Also bacon was not available every day, but the omelettes were excellent. Overall a 7 out of 10 rating for the buffet. There were three of the staff at Las Torress that made the trip, they were Alessandra, Domingo and Yuniour. Always willing to help, and very attentive to the guests needs.

We tried the lobby bar at the Palace, which was nice, Hemmingway’s is a “must visit” while at the Palladium, but the best was the pool bar at the Royal Suites. Theodoro was the main man during the day, and Santos in the evening. They were always pleasant, and quick service. These are hard working people, and should be given credit for the work and effort that they put out.

Beach/Pool/Grounds
The beach is absolutely beautiful, we have been to Puerto Plata twice, and there is no comparison in the beach and the color of the water. The grounds are immaculate and the gardening staff are to be commended for their work. One morning on the way back from breakfast, we watched them grooming some coconut palms, the gardener took down a couple of fair size coconuts, shaped one, and opened it and gave it to my wife to drink the juice. It was one of those moments that made the visit so special.
The pool is nice and with the swim up bar, you never worked up too much of a thirst. The only thing we found different was the “topless” ladies around the pool, we had seen that down at the beach many times before, but that was the first time ever around the pool.

Activities
We did not take in any of the shows at the resort, usually by 10:00pm we were pretty worn out from the fresh air and the sun. We did go on the Nichol jewellery tour and the Dominico Cigar Factory tour but that was pretty much the extent of it. We did go on a shopping excursion to Plaza Bavaro with a chap named Marcus, whom we met in the lobby of the Palace section, selling trips to Captain Cooks Restaurant. He escorted us into town, and then took us to the Supermercado to buy our Rum, Coffee and yes clamato juice. It was a tad on the pricy side (the clamato), but hey, you are in the Dominican Republic. Twelve dollars for the cabs compared to $140.00 for a ½ day shopping trip, and we got everything we wanted for almost the price of the excursion.
We also ventured into El Cortecito, everything is cheapy cheapy, but if you look around, you can usually find what you want, if you are so inclined. It was not too bad of a venture.

Other Comments
Overall we were very pleased with the holiday. Now that I have tried it, two weeks is definitely the way to go. Would we go back to the Royal Suites, yes definitely? My only concern would be once they open up the new section, it will put a lot of pressure on the beach area, which may have a negative impact on that part of the resort. As far as service and guest satisfaction, can’t be beat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved it and would return in a nano-second."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Ann from Halifax  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
309 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We left Halifax in the middle of an ice storm, apparently our flight was the only one that got out that day! How lucky. We arrived at Punta Cana airport, got our bags and found our bus without any difficulties - they have a great system there. I love the thatched roof airport! The drive was only about 25-30 minutes, through some very poor areas, great photo ops though...

Rooms
We were the first to be droppoed off at our resort - The Royal Suites is beautiful. Lobby reminded us a little of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, on a much smaller scale. Our room wasn't quite ready upon our arrival so we changed into warm weather attire (highly recommend you take a change of clothing in your carry-on) and did a bit of exploring. I have to mention, I went into the bathroom off the main lobby, it was spotless and I will never forget the beautiful smell in there - what a great first impression. After an hour and a half or so we got to our room. It was beautiful. We were in the building off the lobby, I believe our room was 5118, corner room on the sceond floor overlooking the lush gardens. It was perfect. So quiet and private. Only thing I would mention that should be brought to the attention of management - the floors in the rooms are marble and they are EXTREMELY slippery when your feet are wet. Perhaps there should be a little warning sign posted somewhere in the room. Just a thought. There were fresh flowers laid out every day, and again for the nightly turn-down service, I loved them! We received a complementary bottle of sparkling wine and our fridge was stocked daily with water and beer (our choice). This is a fantastic perk! The bed was very comfortable and I loved the "pillow menu", I highly recommend the memory foam. The house-keeping staff do a tremendous job and they are so very friendly.

Restaurants and Bars
We ate a few times at the Royal Gourment, I have to say I wasn't a huge fan at all. Perhaps our standards were too high? We actually only ate dinner there once. The staff were great, the presentation was beautiful too - we just found the food to be a little off and lacking in flavor. The buffet right next door (the name escapes me) was more to our liking and if some of the fellow vacationers learned some basic manners on how to treat the staff (and guests), the entire experience would have been perfect. This restaurant makes THE best cappuccino I have ever had - it's pretty much perfect.

We ate at the Brazilian, great chicken! We tried the Mexian, not really to our liking...there was a new Japanese restaurant opening the day we were leaving, looking forward to hearing about that.

The sandwiches available in the lobby and at the pool bars were very convenient and I loved the tuna wraps and the veggies sandwiches! Great with a cold Presedente! Staff at the pool bar were fantastic. I have a soft spot for Theodoro - he even invented a drink for me which we aptly named "The Theodoro." Perhaps he does this for everyone, made me feel special! The frozen daqiris are excellent, especially if you don't want to take in too many coconutty, fruity drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Gorgeous, immaculate, perfect - need I say more? Grounds keepers are constantly working.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We didn't take part in any activites at all - we relaxed the entire week. Most strenuous activity was walking to the bar from time to time. Loved it!

Other Comments
I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for the perfect relaxing getaway. Adult only means no children and while we were there, there weren't any loud and obnoxious tourists either! We loved it and would return in a nano-second.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved this Resort, with a few exceptions."

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
User Rating:  The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Dianne  on Mar 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
322 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 28 - March 14
We arrived on time by Westjet....no complications at the Airport and taken to the Royal Suites very quickly. We arrived at the Royal Suites and were taken right away at the Desk. The only problem was that we had to wait 3 hours before we got into our Room. Our attendant, I believe his name was Jack, went off duty, shortly after he registered us and, the next person on duty never called us regarding the availablity of our room (we were sitting on the chairs right next to him). I finally went up to him and he checked on the status of our room. It was finally ready. There was nobody there to take our suitcases, so we went to the room ourselves, suitcases in tow. We have travelled a lot, to different resorts, and I've never had to wait 3 hrs to get into our room. We were tired from our flight and disappointed with this service. This is something that needs to be looked at.

Rooms
Our Room 5202 was very beautiful, on the ground floor, overlooking the pool. Service was very good. We got champagne and a fruit basket, a bottle of rum and the fridge was filled everyday with water and beer.

Restaurants and Bars
The Royal Gourmet was very good, we enjoyed the main courses very much, the filet mignon was excellent and the desserts were excellent as well. We didn't much care for their buffet. We ate also at the Palace Buffett....great selection and the food was excellent.

The only thing I would suggest that the Royal Suites need a small Dining area of their own, which could be built off the main lobby to the left as you enter the front doors. The Paradisus Punta Cana Royal Suites, have their own Dining Area for Breakfast, Lunch and H'Orederves (sp?) and No Supper. At the Royal Suites Lobby you could get sandwiches but, sometimes they were dry. Again, this is a situation that needs attention.
Beach/Pools/Grounds

We are lovers of the beach, and we liked our private beach very much, except for the logs......sort of blocks your view. The pool area was great as well, we always came to the pool, from the ocean, about 4:00 p.m. for a few drinks. Danny the bartender was great as were the girls that served us.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We really didn't get involved in any activities.....we just wanted to relax, read, walk and enjoy the ocean. The Beach was very clean and you could walk for miles.

Other Comments
We loved this Resort, with a few exceptions, as noted above, and would like to return. However, with the building of 235 additional units (470 guests) makes us wonder how this is going to change this quiet resort, i.e., the pool area and the private beach.....this is a great concern for us, as we loved it the way it was.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube