Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino  

C/ El Cortecito, Playa Bávaro, Punta Cana

"Beyond my expectations!"
Posted by: Liset on Jul 4, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#7
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 27 reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Information


The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino is set in an exceptional spot right on the sea front of the well-known Bávaro beach. It is built on an enormous site next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa and Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facility is surrounded by a coconut palm plantation and lush tropical vegetation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.9 of 5 27 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  8
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 27

"Beyond my expectations!"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liset  on Jul 4, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2013 | Business | Solo
275 people found this review helpful

I recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Grand Palladium Palace Resort. I was a little hesitant about this resort because I had previously stayed at Fiesta Bavaro Resort in August of 2002 and had an awful experience. Considering the management had changed soon thereafter, I decided I would give them the opportunity for redemption and boy was I surprised. The experience was way beyond my expectations. The resort is beautiful, the grounds are well-kept and the staff is overwhelming. From the bellboy who took our suitcases to the staff at checkin and at the different restaurants. "Es un placer" were the words heard over and over again, making me feel that it was their definite pleasure to make me feel at home. At the reception I met Mr. Franklin Watley, very attentive and who answered all the questions I had about the resort, the rooms and the room category I had paid for, the loft suite. I stayed at Villa 81, the best room in the resort, overlooking the ocean. I couldn't ask for a better view. The room was beautiful, with a Jacuzzi greeting me as I walked in, a sofa love seat with beautiful cushions and the best part, the beautiful stairs leading to a loft, a king size bed with soft pillows. I knew I was in paradise !!!! The restaurants were so many, and the food delicious appealing to all tastes and appetites. The pool was incredible and the beach was out of this world. There is definitely a connection between all of the staff and the guests and the effort to make your stay at this resort a pleasant one could definitely be felt. 6 nights were not enough to take advantage of all this resort has to offer, I will definitely be back next year, and this time I will bring a group of family and friends.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in villa 81, oceanview. It is amazingly spectacular.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is the best resort in Punta Cana"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mike  on Mar 1, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
288 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Grand Palladium Palace in Punta Cana for two weeks. The customer service is the best and the staff will go out of there way to make your vacation enjoyable. The room was always clean and refreshing. The food was fantastic in all of the buffets, restaurants,and al la cartes. I also enjoyed the food selection at the 24 hour sports bar. The sports bar served pizza, fries, wings,hotdogs, hamburgers,and salad 24 hours a day. I also really enjoyed the snack bar located on the beach.The pools were always clean, and the gardeners always kept the green grass and vegetation manicured. I truly enjoyed my vacation there and I have not one complaint. I highly recommend it as a five star resort. Please take the time to say hi to all the staff and you will soon realize that they are there to make your vacation the best vacation possible in the Dominican Republic. I especially enoyed the staff at the Palace lobby. Thanks Franklin and Fernellis for making this the best vacation ever.

Room Number:
9206

Room Block:
92

Arrival:
Arrival at the resort was nice and refreshing. The waitress offered us a ice cold non alcoholic drink while we waited to get checked in.Checkin was very fast and efficient. The staff was friendly and spoke very well english. We were issued our room cards after we filled out some documents. The bell boy took our luggage and showed us to our room. When we got to our room the bell boy opened the door for us and turned on the lights and air conditioner. He said welcome to Punta Cana and enjoy your stay.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 9206 which is real close to the beach. The room was very clean and smelled very nice. The bathroom had a nice shower with lots of hot water and pressure. There was also a jacuzzi in the main room away from the bathroom which was nice. The maid cleaned the room everyday and left clean sheets, towels, face clothes and pillows. The room was extremely clean and smelled nice evryday we returned back from the beach.The air conditioner was excellent, infact we turned it off at night cause the room was like a ice box. the tv was nice and had a good selection of channels which included french, spanish, german,and english.

Restaurants and Bars:
we tried all the restaurants and enjoyed the buffets mostly. there was a wide range of foods available and the food was very hot and well displayed.each night has a different theme sucj as italian, mexican, american, dominican and so on. there are 3 main buffets with air conditioning. there is also 8 ala carte restaurants. thre is also a snack bar located on the beach which is opened everyday. the snackbar serves chicken wings, hamburgers, hot dogs, snadiches, pop and coffee. there is also a 24 hour sports bar where you can also eat chicken wings, pizza, hot dogs, frnch fries, onion rings. the food is awesum.you can also get soft ice cream, pop corn and alcohol drinks at the sports bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach is beautiful with pure white sand as far as the eye can see. there was tons of loungers on the beach and no shortage of beach space. the best spots with the cabanas were usually gone early morning so if you want a perfect spot with a cabana you have to get up early in the morning, but other than that we had no problem ever finding a spot on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the resort has tons of activities during the day time with pop animation teams all over the resort. there is also nightly shows that start 10pm and usually get over around 1130 or so. there is also a disco and a casino. there are always music, bands, and singers in each of the lobbies each evening.and never a shortage of bars.

Other Comments:
this is the best resort in Punta Cana, I have been to lots of them and this resort is definately the best bang for your buck. there are tons of restaurants to choose from and lots of activities. you will not regret coming to this resort. the staff are so friendly and go out of there way to say hello and to help you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would go again"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  B  on Apr 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
530 people found this review helpful

Great Hotel with great staff. We had near perfect weather for our 1 week stay. The food was excellent. The one complaint I did have was that the resort was too big. The Palladium is actually 4 resorts in one. You needed to take a train to get around so, you will smell the diesel. The casino... well... Not very much of a casino. It had blackjack and poker tables and about half of the 20 slot machines were broken.
I have been to Iberostar and now Palladium. Tough choice between the 2. The only difference is the size of the resort. Iberostar is smaller.

Room Number:
25

Room Block:
69

Arrival:
Raining when we got there and that was the last we saw of that weather.

Rooms:
The rooms were nice and clean. Ours was a deluxe with a jet tub for 2. The shower was small but excellent water pressure. The bed was a king size and you will not get a sore back from it. Very comfortable. Our maid asked us what we wanted our fridge stocked with and it was stocked that way all week.

Restaurants and Bars:
They have 2 new restaurants.. A steakhouse and an Italian resaurant. We ate at the Steakhouse. There was a 45 minute wait to get in. The only problem was they got our order wrong. I didn't say anything because I was soo hungry. No worries though, what I got was excellent. I heard the same thing from others at the resort at that time...food in the Steakhouse was excellent. We also went to the Brazillian restaurant. This is a must. 1 word ... excellent! The food everywhere else was excellent but I did miss BBQ food. They could use those down by the beach.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was very nice with plenty of lounge chairs. It is a short walk to the vendors huts. Be careful though, when they see you coming, they are like sharks.
The pools were very clean. 4 in the whole resort all with swim up bars. We stuck to the pool at the Palace. If you go, say hi to William behind the bar. He takes the time to get to know you and remembers everything - especially what you are drinking.
The grounds were very clean and being groomed constantly - but behind the scene. Lots of beautiful plants everywhere. I am still trying to figure out a way to get a palm tree home.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took part in the activities put on at the pool and the beach. These "People of Palladium" are energeitic and fun. They work hard (9:00am - 1:00 am) and always have a smile on.
There were shows everynight... just too tired at night to go see them.
We did go snorkelling. We went with the company on site "Dolin Dive Center". Our package included driving our own 2 person speed boat behind a guide. We were driving this boat in the ocean. When sitting on the beach, it doesn't look too choppy. Different story when you get out there. It is hard to control that boat and the passenger may have a concussion by the time you get there. We did see plenty of fish but not as many colours as you would think. If you do want to snorkle, you may want to take the catamaran trip - less choppy.

Other Comments:
I will go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would Go Again Maybe"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Feb 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
628 people found this review helpful

This was our first visit outside of Canada and US and we were very pleased with this resort. The resort itself was beautiful with lots of lush plantings and was very clean. The Palace is the older of the 4 Palladium Resorts there and it is showing signs of being tired looking. The rooms were clean, the food was amazing (and I'm a picky eater) but I always found lots of variety and never left the buffets or a la cartes hungary. The beach was fabulous. Lots of foliage and cabanas for shade and lots of lounge chairs. They need more beach snacks stands. The only complaints we had was that smoking was allowed almost everywhere and that was a bit annoying while eating. The open air buffets allowed smoking and the lobbey bars allowed smoking and we were very bothered by that. The second complaint was the locals trying to sell you an excursion while you are relaxing on the beach or pool areas. We agree that they can have concession stands on the beach and pools areas, but the tourists should approach them for the info not the locals walking the beach all day long harrassing you.

Room Block:
Villa 94

Arrival:
Flight was delayed almost 2 hours, got to our room at 4am. Room smelled musty at first but once we turned on the a/c it went away. Since we were booked in for late arrival, I would have thought the a/c should have been on to cool the room before we got there.

Rooms:
clean but tired looking, some water damage from upstairs room or maybe hurricane damage in the past.

Restaurants and Bars:
food was amazing

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean and perfect white sand beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
didn't do any excursions
employees arranged games, areobics and dance lessions on the beach that was fun to watch

Other Comments:
should consider having no-smoking in public areas
put and end to solicting on the beach and pool areas

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First trip to Punta Cana!"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claire  on Mar 21, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
792 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
9112

Room Block:
91 near beach

Arrival:
Arrived at Punta Cana airport around 10:30 p.m. Surprisingly, the place was bustling with tourists (it was our first night flight). The entire operation went smoothly except that 1) the airport staff was either blasé or blatantly grumpy, yelling and whistling at us to move along. 2) The customs lady make absolutely NO eye contact with us, no smile, not even a gracias, a de nada, or a "Next", only screaming a very impatient "Vamanos" at us. I counted 13 people before us and she did not look up once from her desk. Quite the welcome committee... 3)As for the baggage pick-up, they had us running in every direction because of a mix-up of carrousels (the screens finally lit up after 20 minutes). No AIR TRANSAT rep in sight to help or direct us (nor any other employee).
Then out to the busses (another slight confusion there) and finally to the hotel.

Check-in went smoothly and quickly... once we got to the desk, as we were 20 people arriving and only ONE person at the reception, hmmm. Fransisco was very professional and calm, smiling.

Rooms:
Because we were celebrating our 31rst anniversary and it was our FIRST DR trip, we requested in advance a room in a building close to the beach. We were extremely pleased with room 9112, loft suite I think, next to beach. Very clean, well decorated, nice balcony view of grounds, palms and the beach.
Lots of clean towels, hot water, well-stocked fridge, 2 tvs (one upstairs with the bed and one downstairs near therapeutic bath (which we did not use).
Room lady Santa was thorough and professional. Spoke very little English (and no French) so was hard to communicate...

Restaurants and Bars:
The Palladium site is huuuge, with several restaurants and a buffet in each of the 3 sections (Palace, Bavaro and Punta Cana). In the Palace (quieter) section, the a la carte restaurants: Japanese, Brazilian, and Meditarranean/Italian. We tried the Japanese and the Italian. Preferred the latter.
Also tried the Bamboo (Chinese) restaurant in the Bavaro section which I do NOT recommend (duck fried rice had 2 pieces -I think it was duck...- the size of my pinky nail and the sweet and sour pork loin turned out to be a very tough and grizzly pork chop deep fried in inedible salty batter, yuk!) VERY disappointing despite nice decor.
Tried the GPP Buffet and the Bavaro Buffet, preferred ours, far more quiet. Our last night was "Spanish Night" with sangria, paella, the works, wonderful!

Lobby bar waitresses were delightful and William at the pool bar is a hoot. Overall, though, staff does not smile much, imho. Also, many of the staff hardly spoke English, let alone French, but whatever, when in Rome... A couple of us spoke a bit of Spanish so we got by.
Drinks were okay... no mojitos or other fancy drinks at beach bar, had to go to lobby for the best drinks. We brought some champagne and porto from home so that helped!
Finally got to Hemingway's Bar at the Bavaro. Very (almost too) relaxing. A must see-HEAR is the jazz pianist there who is muy stupendo, wow!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is undeniably breathtaking, stretching for miles on the left (on the right, about a quarter mile away were the beach boutiques and further on, a village, so we walked mostly left). Had wonderful 5-6 miles walks each day, wunnerful weather too all week!

The shock for me was not the colour of the water or the waves but the thousands of people along the beach (March break), the many excursion boats going up and down the coast, the dang helicoptor over our heads every 15 minutes, and of course, the beach merchants sellings their 'packages". Now forgive me but here's where Cuba scores higher, just because there's none of that (at least yet!) in Cuba, except for the odd local panhandling. I guess I'm just not used to all of that... Definitely distracting.

The pool appeared clean and well-kept. We only visited the pool each day around 5-ish for Happy Hour before we hit the showers. Uncrowded and relaxing. Dudes! Where's the music? Snippets of a semblance around 5 at the pool where the animators (on the far side opposite to where the PEOPLE were, HELLO? is where they stationed themselves for games). Our second to last day was cloudy, so most of the patrons were at the pool. Again, practically NO MUSIC, no animators, no water volley (had to insist twice to finally get a ball; whazzup with that?), no ambience...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
As far as the activities go, I can only speak about the beach animation, which we witnessed each day around 11. Some of the animation staff were friendly enough (Sugar, Naomi) but for some reason the PPs failed to rally many people during the week. For one thing, they've GOT TO CHANGE THAT DANG TECHNO music! Dudes! We get that all year long on our media, what we want is SALSA! :D Now THAT gets my juices flowing! lol What I noticed was that aside from scheduled activities, the PP animators were almost nowhere to be seen. Almost no mingling, ergo no ties with the clients, no conversation, no camaraderie. They could use some PR training (and English/French lessons) from people like Alexis Jimenez at the Iberostar Playa Alameda in Varadero, for example, who could rally up 30 people in 10 minutes for workout on the beach or salsa lessons (and this is a small resort). Maybe it's the size of the Palladium? Maybe it's a lack of experience or the age of the staff (mostly under 25)? They just seemed mostly blasé and frankly disorganized, like they had no training in 'How to conduct a workout session" or "how to get a group to salsa/rumba/merengue" or "how to mingle". And don't get me started again on the music...lol

The only "excursion" per se that we did was to visit the Nicole Jewelry Boutique which was 10 min off the resort, private driver to and from, beautiful high quality larimar jewelry on 1rst floor and forgettable cigar/souvenir shop on 2nd floor. The Air Transat reps (Blaise or Emily) make your reservations.

Other Comments:
My deepest thanks to Damaris, my little sobrina querida, and to Mirpil at Guest Services. Very helpful, always smiling, very professional. It was a pleasure to meet you and to get to know you! Besitos muchos!
Thanks to Fransisco at the Reception, very helpful and honest.
Holŕ to Sugar and Naomi, animators, who tried their best to get (some) of us involved.

My all-around biggest complaint about this resort (and I represent the 17 other people in my group who all commented on this aspect to managers) is the no-reservation policy for the a-la-carte restaurants. GPP DIRECTORS: This system DOES NOT WORK! I mean, WHO eats at 10 p.m. when you've been at the beach all day??? Seriously! Heads up : If you do NOT get to the a-la-carte of your choice by 7 p.m., you could wait HOURS for a table (even if you see empty tables inside, go figure). It really is disappointing, having to check your watch and run to the shower because you're worried about the line-ups at a particular restaurant. Mind you, this was March break, hopefully the rest of the year it's not that bad. They DO have a pager system, which means that when u arrive at the restaurant, they take your name and give you a pager disk that lights up when a table becomes available (which could be hours and NO they cannot even give you an idea of when you will eat). Some people obviously did not mind waiting/drinking for 2 hours until they ate (I'm talking after 8 p.m....). I'd rather eat early (between 6 and 7), then relax, DIGEST, and have a drink or a walk about before retiring. Maybe I'm getting old?? lol

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Clean hotel bad service"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liane  on Mar 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
804 people found this review helpful

We stayed in this hotel from February 19-24. It is clean, well maintained and the food was very good. There were six of us in our party with two rooms. The two children were 13 and the teen club proved to be worth our extra digging to find something for the kids to do.We purchased the extra imperial service which was a complete waste of money. They offer you five items. Rum, a fruit plate, robes, slippers and a Dominican doll. We received the Rum and fruit plate. Our conceirge barely spoke English and told us on the first day they would take care of the missing items. Day three still nothing. Day three I asked our Transat rep's for an extra blanket because the front desk told us only one per room(we were two adults travelling with a 13 year old)I also told them about the missing items. We received an old rickety blanket and slippers on day 4. Day 6 our T.V. stopped working, one of the two sinks was clogged so I reported it the front desk-conceirge was gone for the day already. No one fixed anything. We asked for a late checkout on day 6 for day 7 and were told no problem. They locked us out of our room at 12:00p.m. and we had to return to the lobby 3 times until a supervisor stepped in and gave us a card to get our items from the hotel room. Our maid left the door wide open on day 5 and we had books of all things missing from our hotel room-everything else of value was locked up in the safe. We don't recommend this hotel but do recommend Punta Cana.

Room Number:
1438

Room Block:
14

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, a nice resort, but wouldn't return or recommend..."

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Larry  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
802 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Palace from December 30/2010 - January 13/2011.

Room Number:
9720

Room Block:
97

Arrival:
We booked a last minute with Transat and flew CanJet out of Winnipeg. We reserved our seats in advance and were surprised to find emergency exit seats still available. Definitely worth $35/seat each way for the extra leg room making the flight very comfortable.
This was our 6th time to Punta Cana with all previous flights direct. This time we had a 50 minute stop in Puerto Plata which wasn't too bad, however, I was surprised we had to leave the plane with our carry-on and then line-up to get back on.
In any event, we arrived in Punta Cana on time with easy transition to the bus and ride to the resort. We were the only ones dropped off at the resort, so check-in was a breeze. Front desk clerk was very helpful and our immediate impression of the resort was favourable.

Rooms:
We booked a deluxe room, but it didn't look or feel deluxe. Being an older resort, it was a small room as compared to newer resorts that tend to have suites. The sink with a small vanity and jetted tub were visible in the room with a VERY small bathroom and shower stall behind a slidiing door. The furniture and television were dated, but the king size bed was comfortable. The room also contained the usual mini-bar, safe, and balcony. Overall the room was fine, but small, especially the bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Overall, the food was very good in both the buffets and a la cartes, but we had two observations/complaints:
1. The Palladiums have a no reservation system in the a la cartes for "most" of the resort guests. Sounds good initially, however, all you do is stand in line waiting for a table. I do enough standing in line at home and do wish to stand in line when on vacation, or at least keep wait times to a minimum. As a result, we ate only 4 times at the a la cartes during our two week stay. The Japanese restaurant was by far the most difficult to get into. It opens at 6:00 PM. I got into the line-up at 5:15 PM and at 5:45 they announced there were no more reservations available. I spoke to many other guests and they reported similar experiences.
2. Regarding the buffets and beach-side lunch restaurants, we consistently had to wait a ridiculous amount of time to get a waiter's attention to get a glass of water and order a couple soft drinks. We consistently had to wait at least 10 minutes (couple times 15 minutes!)and it didn't matter if we filled our plates first or waited for our beverages and then went to get our food. We were particularly puzzled when it came to getting a glass of water. There is no ability to get your own glass of water and whenever we went to the soft drink dispenser, we were told to sit down and that we would be served shortly. We felt that water was in short supply and that staff had been coached not to proactively serve on their own. It was a very strange experience and it happened every day and at at every buffet and beach-side lunch restaurant. Again, I spoke to other guests about the beverage issue and it was the same story. Very very strange.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Can't say much more about the beach, pools, and grounds that hasn't been said before...absolutely beautiful! The resort is large, but easy to get around. We love to walk and took the train only once.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No shortage of things to do on the resort with plenty of selection of restaurants, bars, shops, and evening entertainment. We went on two excursions...zip lining and a Cap Cana day cruise. Both were fantastic!

Other Comments:
We had received a ton of positive feedback on the Palladiums so I think our expectations may have been too high. At the end of the day, we found the overall resort experience no better than the other 5 resorts we've stayed at in Punta Cana. After having said that, we would not return or recommend this resort based on our "strange" water/beverage experience at the buffets and no reservation system a the a la cartes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another FANTASTIC trip tp the Palladium"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
828 people found this review helpful

We spent Dec 2 - 16 at the Grand Palladium Palace and although the weather was wet the vacation was great as always. This was our 8th trip to this resort and once again we were not disappointed. The staff and management our amazing. They are always there to help and assist you as required. Due to the weather we spent most of our time by the pool at the Palace. William, Janiel and Rene at the bar are a riot. While my wife and I were off on an excursion they looked after my 75 year old mother and treated her like their "abuela" (grandmother). It rained 11 out of the 14 days but we stilled enjoyed ourselves. How anyone can say that these people are rude or that there is nothing to eat amazes me. If you learn please and thank you in Spanish then your on your way to a great time. Treat people like you want to be treated and things will go smoothly. Remember these are a poor but proud people. Try to get to know them and you see how wonderful they really are. We have never been disappointed and are all ready planning our return visit in May 2011.

Room Number:
8401/ 8402

Room Block:
84

Arrival:
Upon arrival we were at the furthest end of the tarmac. Customs was a breeze. We have learned that the easiest way to get your luggage is to get a sky cap and he will wade through the crowds, grab your luggage and be on your way while everyone else is still waiting for there bags. The bus to the resort was 1/2 full and it was about a 35 minute ride. Our room was ready as always and we were escorted to our rooms.

Rooms:
Rooms were right beside the pool as requested and we never had an issue the entire stay. Turn down service every night and fridge was restocked each day.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ample food. Wide variety to choose from and nothing to complain about. The lamb chops are incredible. The swim up bar at the Palace pool is great. William, Janiel and Rene keep the place jumping.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One word for all - 'IMPECCABLE"

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took the EXTREME QUADS for the 10th time and had a blast. We went the day after a rain storm and there was mud and water everywhere. It was great to see the gang at the yard once again.

Other Comments:
Remember that you are a visitor in their country. Show respect, use your manners and enjoy the ride.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Go to the spa! Ask for Rita!"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ali  on Oct 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
810 people found this review helpful

We are a group of girls just wanting a week of sun and relaxation. That is exactly what we got!

Arrival:
If most passengers on your bus are going to your resort, you might have a wait. It's annoying as you make it. Grab a drink and enjoy the lobby.

Rooms:
We stayed next to the pool at GP Punta Cana last time. This time we stayed at the Palace next to the pool there. Be sure to ask at the front desk if your room has the beds you want (king or two doubles) so that you don't have to go back to the lobby.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Japanese place was the best and definitely worth waiting 45mins in line for the reservation. Take a book or hang out with a drink!

Enjoyed all of the a la cartes and found that 7-7:30 was the best time to show up and not have a wait.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We love that the beach, lunch buffet and beach are so close. We got into a routine of beach in the morning, lunch and then pool in the afternoon.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We loved the massages on the beach! We loved it so much we went twice! There is nothing quite like having a massage on the beach with the breeze blowing over you and all you can hear is the sound of the ocean! The beach hut had four beds so four of us went at once. There is a day or two of the week where spa treatments are discounted. Please ask for Rita, Nancy, Aracelis and Attagracia! They were excellent!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hmmmmm"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rachel  on Apr 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
853 people found this review helpful

A bit late in posting our Palladium Palace experience; long but here goes...

We travel to Punta Cana 2 or more times per year always for 2 weeks since 1998. We do not care for the large conglomerate resorts with marble and a stuffy atmosphere – we are down to earth people, not hard to please while on Vacation and just want to get what we paid for.

Our 4th vacation at the palladium properties since 2005 – we booked with Airtransat for the cheap?? price of 4789$ for2 people for 2 weeks from Ottawa Feb 13 – March 1, 2010.

We are seasoned travelers but thought we would treat ourselves to the Palladium Palace. For clarification – When we visited the Pallace 3 years ago we liked it because it was a beautiful and the Palace was the smaller one of the 3 (now 4 with the Royal suites) of this very huge complex. Back then the buffet had some character such as the staff recognized you and always brought your coffee promptly or had your beer at the table before you sat down or close to it. They have since modernized the buffet it is much larger and has been amalgamated with the Royal suites travelers. Personally I don’t care for the “fish bowl feel” of this impersonal large windowed space…. Not one hint of the Caribbean feel here…

Like many resorts regular perks for repeat clients are the usual bottle of rum, fruit basked and/or a letter – which is usually the standard.

After some 30 AI vacations to Punta Cana - there is no need for a 4 poster bed, a honeymoon suite, flat screen TV, special colored towels for the beach, robes and/or disposable slippers in the room, drinks delivered to your chairs on the beach or any other special treatment for that matter…. Oh I almost forgot – getting ahead and bumping everyone in the line to get into the ALacartes… Well the later for repeat clients IMHO

Your Arrival:
When we arrived at the Palace reception as the gentlemen was putting on our bracelets my husband happened to mentioned that we were 4 time repeat clients and he thought they provided different colored bracelets – the gentlemen said “OH I have to check” and goes behind the closed doors to check with the supervisor. He comes back with no expression looking like we caused him extra work. We then put on a yellow bracelet and when asked “what does this bracelet represent” - the man says “nothing – the staff will know you are a repeat customer” again with no expression or smile….. Oh - ok tx ; (ever get that feeling that you are disturbing the person who is serving you??)

Rooms:
In our email we had requested a top floor in room 9218 it was our old room while there in 2006. After arriving to our new room bell boy in tow we arrive to a very small dark ground floor room with no view whatsoever because of a sand burn across the road in front of our window. OK we could live with that … well sort of – they had not even tried to accommodate our request with at least any top floor.

Restaurants and Bars:
Our first morning for breakfast – to our surprise the Royal suites are eating in the now altered Palace buffet – just felt like a huge stuffy unorganized cafeteria surrounded by windows.

1 The coffee cups are bigger than a French onion soup bowl with a handle so your coffee get’s cold quickly.
2 There were 2 toasters that are totally UNACEPTABLE - you must put the bread through minimum 6 times before you even get a slight beige color or a bit of a crunch. Please repair or replace them.
3 The food arrangement is unorganized – one gentlemen could not find 1 or any Bananas to go with his breakfast???
4 The smoothie bar was hit and miss – watered down or empty jugs
5 One day they serve peperetts and the next morning it was bacon for breakfast – I don’t like ever or eat peperetts with my omelet. Actually that is one of the reason we chose to go back to the Palace b/c the last vacation they served the best bacon EVERYDAY.
6 They served margarine – I DON’T LIKE OR EAT MARGARINE.
7 The staff is totally unorganized – for 2 days after spending 15 minutes getting my toast barely with a crunch and getting omelets made someone finally came after we had started eating our breakfast and brought us coffee….

On our third morning at breakfast - we were just totally disapointed.

We find out there are NO reservations to the ALA cartes as previously you could go to the Public relations desk anytime during the day and book any 3 alacartes at once – it was a nice touch and you could plan your evenings acordingly.

Now when you arrive at the ALA cartes for diner there are lines ups so long that you just want to turn around…. Or if you decide to stay and take your chances to later find out that the Royal Suites folks bumpped you and now it is FULL ; (

We did manage to make it to one of the Alacartes - the Japanese.
Reservations are taken at 5:20PM ??? directly at the Japanese alacarte entrance. So there I am sitting on the beach and almost forgetting about the 5:20 diner reservation time - I ran up to the restaurant (10 minute trek from the beach) to get in another line up to reserve for diner for that evening with only 8:30 seatings available. That is not what I call a fun and relaxing vacation. We thought an All Inclusive to be a NO stress kind of Vacation??

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is getting a bit overcrowded for our liking.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the 3rd evening we went to a planned Meet and Greet organized for the PalladiumAddicts members by SR. Octavio S– who I had emailed in previous years to recommend and send family and friends. Oh! when I said hello to Octavio “he said he was going to a meeting”??? @ 10PM???? And said he had to leave???? Nice ;-[
In our short stay we never made it to any of the evening intertainment.

Other Comments:
We met friends who were staying at the Palace complex and upon checking were immediately upgraded to the royal suites along with the 6 other couples who had never been to the property??

Personally we find the Royal suits a bit to stuffy for our liking – what we would have liked was to be able to go to any or some of the Ala cartes without line ups and/or to NOT stand in line to just be told “it’s full”. We DO NOT drink top shelf liquor so really all we wanted was the room request and bit of seniority for the Ala cartes – no special treatment – just get what we really paid for and no Kindergarden type games for the Ala Carte dinners.

Well after totally being ignored for 3 entire days and being denied any special efforts by the Public relations to get us into ONE of the ALacartes…. my husband decided he wanted to move to another resort – after thinking long and hard we came up with the place we really like and was in the vicinity of Elcorticito. We decided to go to the Barcelo Dominican Beach which was a significant down grade according to what we had paid maybe $1200 less.

IMO I do not think our expectations for a room request or access to the Alacartes were excessive. Why the change to NO reservation policy? How does this benefit the resort? For us it was a big draw back.

We have been numerous times to the Barcelo Dominican beach and they KNOW we are repeat clients and treat us as such.

After a few phone calls -to the Barcelo Dominican beach they came and recued us.

The manager himself, and I am not talking about the public relations or reception manager it was the Manager of the Resort it was the “jefe” himself of the Barcelo Dominican Beach resort that came to pick us up at the Palladium Palace at 9PM in his own personal SUV.

I have to say when the Public Relations at the Palace got wind of us wanting to leave it was a TOTAL different story – they appologised, they practically begged us to stay. They offered us another room, move to the Royal suites, free messages, any alacarte we wanted… for us it was too late and our vacation time left was becoming precious.

WOW BARCELO – now that was customer service with white gloves for repeat clients - the vacation then began.

As repeat clients we were given our old room – top floor directly on the beach a stone through away from the ocean – free wifi in our room, and ANY and as many alaCartes as we wanted we just had to walk in.

KUDOS to Barcelo

Don’t think we will ever stretch our budget to plan a vacation at the Palladium properties again – we will spend our hard earned travel money elsewhere…and have a no stress vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube