Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino  

C/ El Cortecito, Playa Bávaro, Punta Cana

"Beyond my expectations!"
Posted by: Liset on Jul 4, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#7
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 27 reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Information


The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino is set in an exceptional spot right on the sea front of the well-known Bávaro beach. It is built on an enormous site next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa and Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facility is surrounded by a coconut palm plantation and lush tropical vegetation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.9 of 5 27 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  8
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 27

"This Hotel is horrible"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rosa, Chicago  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009
274 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 2009
This hote is horrible, it is in mayor need of repair. The hotel does not have an inviting atmosphere, and it is not joyous or complimentary. There are many restrictions for an all inclusive. Many times the restaurants are closed. The food is not the best. The sport bar is a grease dump, with a dirty server conered behind an oven so that tourist cannot see him.

Rooms:
The rooms are musty and the lower level room flood when it rains. The pillows are like a panckage flat, and they have a pillow menu so that tourist can rent pillows three dollars per night.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurnat a la carte are mainly full to capacity, immediately after opening. They say that they have reservations full to capacity, however, there are no reservations needed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful, and the grounds are clean. The pool is deteriorated.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are no activities. All the activities are additional paid tours, and the tour advisor harrass tourist all day about getting tours.

Other Comments:
This is a horrible place to go. This hotel advertises as a 5 star resort, and it is not. It should be banned from selling to tourist in the US. It is plaintly a rip off, and it is sad that american sacifice to go on a nice vacation, and trust the american tour companies that are selling this resort, and then when they get there is a dump. The tour companies in AMerica that sales tours to other parts of the world, should be more responsible than to do something like that to american tourists, and then just shot the door in your face when a claim is made.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Food, Great Beach, Horrible service and management"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  FP  on Apr 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
687 people found this review helpful

Please read the full review to understand.

We are a family of 5. 3 adults and 2 children. Stayed 2 weeks. We requested 2 rooms in the same complex which is not out of the norm. Problems from day one!

Stay somewhere else

Your Arrival:
Upon arrival 1 room was in on complex and the the other 400 meters away in a different complex. The children had to be separated and this caused problems. I instantly went over to management who was impossible to assist me. Delaying my request and saying the everything was booked. Later I found out it was at half capacity. The next morning I had a meeting a 9am with the hotel manager and he strolls in around 10am as if everything was normal. The only complex to carry 2 rooms was the ocean view section and I had to pay an additional large fee, even though, one room was made available instantly and second the following night. The rooms where loft suites as ordered from Toronto. A useless luxury as you have no view from the loft and are looking at the slanted ceiling. Upon checking in, the rooms were very hot and the A/C did not work well. Outside was 35c and inside was 27c. I complained and the situation was repaired marginally in 5 hours.

Rooms:
The rooms where loft suites as ordered from Toronto. A useless luxury as you have no view from the loft and are looking at the slanted ceiling. Upon checking in, the rooms were very hot and the A/C did not work well. Outside was 35c and inside was 27c. I complained and the situation was repaired marginally in 5 hours.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were plentiful and the food was clean and good but... the reservation system was horrible. You had to be at the steps of each restaurant by 6:00pm and wait in a long line to make a reservation for a later time. Let me just explain that this resort is very large and each restaurant is spread across the complex of at least 500 acres. To access the restaurants was by a little train which came by every 15 minutes. There is no advance booking for the restaurants unless you are on the couples(adults only side) We paid way more than the Royal price but could not stay there as kids are not permitted. We were penalized for having kids at all reservations. The problem was that we generally stayed at the beach till 7pm , so it required me to get dressed to get on the train and make reservations which was generally offered to me 2:30-3:00 later. Impossible!! Then return back to the beach or room.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is wonderful, clean and water was warm. The sports complex would open at 9:30am and close at 11:00am. What the hell!! To get a ball for volley, you had to chase around the resort to find a member of the team. The water sports section was part of the lower end resort which was a 20 minute walk away. By the time we would get there it was either reserved, out or unavailable. B.S. We gave up after 3 days of trying. We paid for a banana boat ride which caused many delays and problems. They said it would be available in 5 minutes and every few minutes he would say five minutes again. We waited over 1 hour & 20 minutes.

I came here to relax and catch up on same sleep, but had to wake up every morning at 6 am to run down to the beach ( which was a nice jaunt) to get an umbrella with chairs as they were taken up very quickly. The children needed the protection offered by the umbrella's.

Beach Towel service - horrible: They would open around 9-9:30 in the morning and usually closed at 3:30. In order to hand in the towels you had to be there between those times even to exchange. If not, you had to hold on to them till the next day soggy, sandy and smelly.

The beach bar was few and far, the drinks available were also very domestic. One type of beer and a few sweet liquors to mix. Rum Vodka and Gin. That's it. If you wanted anything special like a mojito or other drinks, you had to walk all the way to the main lobby bar which was far and the only place available for those drinks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Never book the dune buggey tour through the resort. The machines are very unsafe and rusted out, no seat belts and the machines look like they where put together from scrap metal parts. My wifes seat bounced off the track and she hit the top bar with here head. No helmets. The tour was to some extremely poor farmers yard with a few trees and chickens running around, not a real cocoa plantation. Every corner there was someone trying to sell you over priced garbage. Even after arguing with them that I wanted to go back to the resort and get a refund, they said no!! (Very unsafe)
I spoke to the management who said that they are not aware of the conditions of these excursions offered in their resort.

Other Comments:
The service personelle were usually friendly but the majority of the time, they made you feel as you owe them big time for being there, major attitudes.

5 star food
5 star beach
4 star room
2 star bars
2 star service
2 star childrens program
2 star internet/business access

Managements answer to everything was NO!

This is definitely not a high quality resort for the high price. Stay at a Dreams or RIU Palace for less price and better service and food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Vacation at Grand Palladium Palace"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marge  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
192 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Arrived from Halifax via AirTransat after a 5 hr weather delay. We had booked our vacation in Oct, for an ocean view room at the Palace section of this resort complex. When we arrived, we were told we would have to pay an extra fee for the ocean view room and that, in fact, none was available. We were given a room with a partial ocean view in the Punta Cana section. When we inquired as to why we did not have a room in the Palace section, we were told by the front desk and the Transat rep that they consider all the rooms equal in 3 sections of the resort(Palace, Punta Cana, and Bavaro, even though they are advertized separately) and assign rooms as available. We tried to switch rooms for 2 days, then gave up- definately a hassle. There were several other couples with similar complaints.

Rooms
Very basic and in need of upgrading- No hot water for the hot tub or shower. 3 power outages over the week, each lasting more than 1 hr. Cleaning staff did a nice job keeping the rooms clean and stocked.

Restaurants and Bars
Only visited the buffets- wide variety of foods, but cannot say it was spectacular.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach disappears at high tide,so not a resort for beach lovers. Pools very small for number of people using them. Needed to reserve poolside by 7 am or no chairs left. Basic grounds, no interesting statues or history.

Other Comments
All in alll a "cookie-cutter" resort- very little personality to this resort. The wait staff was excellent, the front staff difficult- we would not recommend this resort, nor will we return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hmmmmm"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rachel  on Apr 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
853 people found this review helpful

A bit late in posting our Palladium Palace experience; long but here goes...

We travel to Punta Cana 2 or more times per year always for 2 weeks since 1998. We do not care for the large conglomerate resorts with marble and a stuffy atmosphere – we are down to earth people, not hard to please while on Vacation and just want to get what we paid for.

Our 4th vacation at the palladium properties since 2005 – we booked with Airtransat for the cheap?? price of 4789$ for2 people for 2 weeks from Ottawa Feb 13 – March 1, 2010.

We are seasoned travelers but thought we would treat ourselves to the Palladium Palace. For clarification – When we visited the Pallace 3 years ago we liked it because it was a beautiful and the Palace was the smaller one of the 3 (now 4 with the Royal suites) of this very huge complex. Back then the buffet had some character such as the staff recognized you and always brought your coffee promptly or had your beer at the table before you sat down or close to it. They have since modernized the buffet it is much larger and has been amalgamated with the Royal suites travelers. Personally I don’t care for the “fish bowl feel” of this impersonal large windowed space…. Not one hint of the Caribbean feel here…

Like many resorts regular perks for repeat clients are the usual bottle of rum, fruit basked and/or a letter – which is usually the standard.

After some 30 AI vacations to Punta Cana - there is no need for a 4 poster bed, a honeymoon suite, flat screen TV, special colored towels for the beach, robes and/or disposable slippers in the room, drinks delivered to your chairs on the beach or any other special treatment for that matter…. Oh I almost forgot – getting ahead and bumping everyone in the line to get into the ALacartes… Well the later for repeat clients IMHO

Your Arrival:
When we arrived at the Palace reception as the gentlemen was putting on our bracelets my husband happened to mentioned that we were 4 time repeat clients and he thought they provided different colored bracelets – the gentlemen said “OH I have to check” and goes behind the closed doors to check with the supervisor. He comes back with no expression looking like we caused him extra work. We then put on a yellow bracelet and when asked “what does this bracelet represent” - the man says “nothing – the staff will know you are a repeat customer” again with no expression or smile….. Oh - ok tx ; (ever get that feeling that you are disturbing the person who is serving you??)

Rooms:
In our email we had requested a top floor in room 9218 it was our old room while there in 2006. After arriving to our new room bell boy in tow we arrive to a very small dark ground floor room with no view whatsoever because of a sand burn across the road in front of our window. OK we could live with that … well sort of – they had not even tried to accommodate our request with at least any top floor.

Restaurants and Bars:
Our first morning for breakfast – to our surprise the Royal suites are eating in the now altered Palace buffet – just felt like a huge stuffy unorganized cafeteria surrounded by windows.

1 The coffee cups are bigger than a French onion soup bowl with a handle so your coffee get’s cold quickly.
2 There were 2 toasters that are totally UNACEPTABLE - you must put the bread through minimum 6 times before you even get a slight beige color or a bit of a crunch. Please repair or replace them.
3 The food arrangement is unorganized – one gentlemen could not find 1 or any Bananas to go with his breakfast???
4 The smoothie bar was hit and miss – watered down or empty jugs
5 One day they serve peperetts and the next morning it was bacon for breakfast – I don’t like ever or eat peperetts with my omelet. Actually that is one of the reason we chose to go back to the Palace b/c the last vacation they served the best bacon EVERYDAY.
6 They served margarine – I DON’T LIKE OR EAT MARGARINE.
7 The staff is totally unorganized – for 2 days after spending 15 minutes getting my toast barely with a crunch and getting omelets made someone finally came after we had started eating our breakfast and brought us coffee….

On our third morning at breakfast - we were just totally disapointed.

We find out there are NO reservations to the ALA cartes as previously you could go to the Public relations desk anytime during the day and book any 3 alacartes at once – it was a nice touch and you could plan your evenings acordingly.

Now when you arrive at the ALA cartes for diner there are lines ups so long that you just want to turn around…. Or if you decide to stay and take your chances to later find out that the Royal Suites folks bumpped you and now it is FULL ; (

We did manage to make it to one of the Alacartes - the Japanese.
Reservations are taken at 5:20PM ??? directly at the Japanese alacarte entrance. So there I am sitting on the beach and almost forgetting about the 5:20 diner reservation time - I ran up to the restaurant (10 minute trek from the beach) to get in another line up to reserve for diner for that evening with only 8:30 seatings available. That is not what I call a fun and relaxing vacation. We thought an All Inclusive to be a NO stress kind of Vacation??

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is getting a bit overcrowded for our liking.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the 3rd evening we went to a planned Meet and Greet organized for the PalladiumAddicts members by SR. Octavio S– who I had emailed in previous years to recommend and send family and friends. Oh! when I said hello to Octavio “he said he was going to a meeting”??? @ 10PM???? And said he had to leave???? Nice ;-[
In our short stay we never made it to any of the evening intertainment.

Other Comments:
We met friends who were staying at the Palace complex and upon checking were immediately upgraded to the royal suites along with the 6 other couples who had never been to the property??

Personally we find the Royal suits a bit to stuffy for our liking – what we would have liked was to be able to go to any or some of the Ala cartes without line ups and/or to NOT stand in line to just be told “it’s full”. We DO NOT drink top shelf liquor so really all we wanted was the room request and bit of seniority for the Ala cartes – no special treatment – just get what we really paid for and no Kindergarden type games for the Ala Carte dinners.

Well after totally being ignored for 3 entire days and being denied any special efforts by the Public relations to get us into ONE of the ALacartes…. my husband decided he wanted to move to another resort – after thinking long and hard we came up with the place we really like and was in the vicinity of Elcorticito. We decided to go to the Barcelo Dominican Beach which was a significant down grade according to what we had paid maybe $1200 less.

IMO I do not think our expectations for a room request or access to the Alacartes were excessive. Why the change to NO reservation policy? How does this benefit the resort? For us it was a big draw back.

We have been numerous times to the Barcelo Dominican beach and they KNOW we are repeat clients and treat us as such.

After a few phone calls -to the Barcelo Dominican beach they came and recued us.

The manager himself, and I am not talking about the public relations or reception manager it was the Manager of the Resort it was the “jefe” himself of the Barcelo Dominican Beach resort that came to pick us up at the Palladium Palace at 9PM in his own personal SUV.

I have to say when the Public Relations at the Palace got wind of us wanting to leave it was a TOTAL different story – they appologised, they practically begged us to stay. They offered us another room, move to the Royal suites, free messages, any alacarte we wanted… for us it was too late and our vacation time left was becoming precious.

WOW BARCELO – now that was customer service with white gloves for repeat clients - the vacation then began.

As repeat clients we were given our old room – top floor directly on the beach a stone through away from the ocean – free wifi in our room, and ANY and as many alaCartes as we wanted we just had to walk in.

KUDOS to Barcelo

Don’t think we will ever stretch our budget to plan a vacation at the Palladium properties again – we will spend our hard earned travel money elsewhere…and have a no stress vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"nice and musty"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
434 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just came back from the Dominican on Feb 4 2010 we stayed at the Pallidium Palace resort,spa and Casino.We started to look for where to go in October .We read Debbies reviews and we picked the palladium palace because over all the reviews were good and we noticed they had a loft suite which we thought would be nice.Before I go any further we went to the Bahia Principe in 09 and we loved it we loved the punta cana area but wanted to try someplace different but in the same area thus we booked the Palace!

Your Arrival:
Our trip there and arival was good no problems,we went to the front desk and they gave us our room#8617 please make note of this room number if you are going there!

Rooms:
When we went to our room and opened the door we were hit with this god awfull musty smell,but we were so excited to be there we thought no one had stayed in the room the prior week and that the smell would go away! It did not so we asked our maid who spoke and understood no english for some air freshners she smiled shook her head and off we went to the beach !Every time we came back to the room bang this smell hit us.The room was clean but outdated not what we had hoped for at all!We then went to the front desk and told them of our problem the manager on duty said smell would go away !It did not so on the 3rd day we back to the front desk and they sent us to customer relations girl who was very nice she talked to the manager and they said they would try and get us another room to check with them tomorrow we did they said that the next morning we could have another room this now being end of day 4 we had our stuff all over the room and thought it just isn't worth it to pack all up and move.The smell did not go away and is in our clothes and luggage to this day!!We talked to some other people from Ontario there and they said a friend of there's had to move to 3 different rooms!This ruined our trip and would never go back or reccomend this resort even to an enemy of mine!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
we found no fault in the restaurnts or bars,but also cannot say they were fantastic,just ok and nothing more!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was nice and the pool but the best part was their animation team on the beach they go all day long and try to make sure everyone is haveing a good time they were great!!When they are done at the beach they go to the pool area for games and stuff there then at night they go to the theaters and go make sure everyone is good cannot say enough about their animation team made our trip!!They really made or day and night and almost made us forget our room until we went back to it !!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Bavaro Runners day trip and it was great highly recccomend this to everyone,you really get a hands on look at the Dominican people and their way of life!!
The Casino was dissapointing it looks big on line but is in fact so small I had to step outside to change my mind I rate their Casino about a 2 out of 10! There is big lights and big sign saying Casino but Ive seen better and bigger Casino's In bars!!

Other Comments:
So in a nut shell we made the best our trip dispite our awfull room!we went as I said earlier to the Bahia Principe in 09 for our first trip and it was beautiful all over but since it was our first trip south we could not compare it to anything else now we can.the Bahia Principe is a full 5 star resort and the Pallidium resort is a 3 1/2.If you want to go there go royal suites it was the upgraded version and it looked better! As far as LOFT SUITES not what they are made up to be at all!
We also found that there was alot of French speaking people there in fact 90% I feel was French not that I have anything against the french but it was real rewarding When we did happen to find english speaking people the few that there were! So if your Franka phone or speak fluid french this is the resort for you!Just one little dig I would like to throw in there is that it seems the French really like to hear themselves talk!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A huge problem with the rooms."

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Mar 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
209 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 21 - 28
arrival was same as last 5 years, find the tour kiosk, find the bus, pass every slower vehicle on the road and honk lots . ha ha

Rooms
had a huge problem with the rooms.we were all statying in the palace section and the check-in sheet in the lobby had our room #'s typed in but they were scratched out and others written in .The palace side was full and as returning guests we were moved to the suites for 1 nite.Our daughter and husband on their honeymoon and returning guests were put in the furthest rooms in the palace section for 2 nites.Brother-in-law and wife were actually down graded to the worst rooms in the punta cana section for 2 nites.We have never seen or heard of someone being down graded , the suites had lots of empty rooms .Our wives went to the nite manager and complained but he just said no and stared past them.We had booked the trip in sept.and paid more for the palace section having stayed there 2 years before we knew the resort and sections well. this almost wrecked the trip believe it or not.Very frustrating.

Restaurants and Bars
restaurants were not as good as 2 years ago.food was actually not very good and buffeys had less food.Couldn't believe it was the same hotel.The bars on the beach and the sports bar were very good and so were the staff there.The lobby bar people didn't seem to care if you got a drink or not.Even if you tipped them.Most people were getting there own drinks from the bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was very nice as usual.You still could get a chair but had to get up before 7:30 to get a palupa.Pools were good and looked after.Grounds people did a great job keeping it maintained,and i always tip them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Only did some shopping in corticeto having been there before.

Other Comments
really disapointed with how the front desk staff treated patrons.Food has taken a drop in quality and quantity.there was free internet in the lobby but people would let their teenagers sit for hours on chat lines,no time limits.I think we would return to this hotel if a new owner and management took over.We have stayed at 4 hotels in 6 years in Punta Cana and will not be returning or telling friends to go to the Palladium.We are not hard people to please and don't normally complain unless we feel we didn't get what we paid for.We feel sorry for our in-laws having to go through such a hectic first 2 nights.If you over -book your hotel you should be moving patrons up rooms ,not down grading rooms..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, a nice resort, but wouldn't return or recommend..."

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Larry  on Jan 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
801 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Palace from December 30/2010 - January 13/2011.

Room Number:
9720

Room Block:
97

Arrival:
We booked a last minute with Transat and flew CanJet out of Winnipeg. We reserved our seats in advance and were surprised to find emergency exit seats still available. Definitely worth $35/seat each way for the extra leg room making the flight very comfortable.
This was our 6th time to Punta Cana with all previous flights direct. This time we had a 50 minute stop in Puerto Plata which wasn't too bad, however, I was surprised we had to leave the plane with our carry-on and then line-up to get back on.
In any event, we arrived in Punta Cana on time with easy transition to the bus and ride to the resort. We were the only ones dropped off at the resort, so check-in was a breeze. Front desk clerk was very helpful and our immediate impression of the resort was favourable.

Rooms:
We booked a deluxe room, but it didn't look or feel deluxe. Being an older resort, it was a small room as compared to newer resorts that tend to have suites. The sink with a small vanity and jetted tub were visible in the room with a VERY small bathroom and shower stall behind a slidiing door. The furniture and television were dated, but the king size bed was comfortable. The room also contained the usual mini-bar, safe, and balcony. Overall the room was fine, but small, especially the bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Overall, the food was very good in both the buffets and a la cartes, but we had two observations/complaints:
1. The Palladiums have a no reservation system in the a la cartes for "most" of the resort guests. Sounds good initially, however, all you do is stand in line waiting for a table. I do enough standing in line at home and do wish to stand in line when on vacation, or at least keep wait times to a minimum. As a result, we ate only 4 times at the a la cartes during our two week stay. The Japanese restaurant was by far the most difficult to get into. It opens at 6:00 PM. I got into the line-up at 5:15 PM and at 5:45 they announced there were no more reservations available. I spoke to many other guests and they reported similar experiences.
2. Regarding the buffets and beach-side lunch restaurants, we consistently had to wait a ridiculous amount of time to get a waiter's attention to get a glass of water and order a couple soft drinks. We consistently had to wait at least 10 minutes (couple times 15 minutes!)and it didn't matter if we filled our plates first or waited for our beverages and then went to get our food. We were particularly puzzled when it came to getting a glass of water. There is no ability to get your own glass of water and whenever we went to the soft drink dispenser, we were told to sit down and that we would be served shortly. We felt that water was in short supply and that staff had been coached not to proactively serve on their own. It was a very strange experience and it happened every day and at at every buffet and beach-side lunch restaurant. Again, I spoke to other guests about the beverage issue and it was the same story. Very very strange.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Can't say much more about the beach, pools, and grounds that hasn't been said before...absolutely beautiful! The resort is large, but easy to get around. We love to walk and took the train only once.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No shortage of things to do on the resort with plenty of selection of restaurants, bars, shops, and evening entertainment. We went on two excursions...zip lining and a Cap Cana day cruise. Both were fantastic!

Other Comments:
We had received a ton of positive feedback on the Palladiums so I think our expectations may have been too high. At the end of the day, we found the overall resort experience no better than the other 5 resorts we've stayed at in Punta Cana. After having said that, we would not return or recommend this resort based on our "strange" water/beverage experience at the buffets and no reservation system a the a la cartes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Clean hotel bad service"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liane  on Mar 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
803 people found this review helpful

We stayed in this hotel from February 19-24. It is clean, well maintained and the food was very good. There were six of us in our party with two rooms. The two children were 13 and the teen club proved to be worth our extra digging to find something for the kids to do.We purchased the extra imperial service which was a complete waste of money. They offer you five items. Rum, a fruit plate, robes, slippers and a Dominican doll. We received the Rum and fruit plate. Our conceirge barely spoke English and told us on the first day they would take care of the missing items. Day three still nothing. Day three I asked our Transat rep's for an extra blanket because the front desk told us only one per room(we were two adults travelling with a 13 year old)I also told them about the missing items. We received an old rickety blanket and slippers on day 4. Day 6 our T.V. stopped working, one of the two sinks was clogged so I reported it the front desk-conceirge was gone for the day already. No one fixed anything. We asked for a late checkout on day 6 for day 7 and were told no problem. They locked us out of our room at 12:00p.m. and we had to return to the lobby 3 times until a supervisor stepped in and gave us a card to get our items from the hotel room. Our maid left the door wide open on day 5 and we had books of all things missing from our hotel room-everything else of value was locked up in the safe. We don't recommend this hotel but do recommend Punta Cana.

Room Number:
1438

Room Block:
14

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Trip marred by bad weather"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Van  on Mar 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
644 people found this review helpful

February 27,2010 with CANJET (NOLITORS).
slight delay in leaving Toronto along with 4 Skyservice flights within 15-20 minutes of each other. No complaints there...the weather was not the greatest in Toronto and they did keep us informed to some degree.

Can't say I was impressed with CANJET flight although they redeemed themselves somewhat on the trip back when we arrived at the Punta Cana Airport, the line was mercifully short compared to others.

They served dried fake chicken-and-cheese sandwiches. Beverages were served over 20 minutes later. A woman sitting beside me with her two young children showed more patience than I would have as she waited for water with unscrewed juice bottles on the tray. The attendants, though friendly, seemed a bit out of it. On our trip back we received 1/3 glass of ginger ale and not so friendly looks when asked for more.
-

Your Arrival:
We arrived quite late at night so the welcome drinks were missing. Our check in was quick and painless.

Rooms:
We really lucked out on our loft. It faced the ocean. It was comfortable enough to fit 3 women with too much clothes, cremes and cosmetics. The jacuzzi bath in the middle of the room served no purpose whatsoever other than taking up space that could have been better utilized in a bigger toilet and shower.

We left a hefty tip daily, not because we wanted extras but because we realized how hard the maid service staff worked to keep our room clean. I saw them washing the railings on the balcony. Our was immaculate and there was no problem getting extra towels.

This practice of renting pillows seems absurd for a chain of this calibre. It's petty and cheap. The beds were hard but comfortable. Lots of shelving and cupboard space. The robes and slippers were a nice touch.

Although there were 3 in the room we had 2 chairs on the balcony, 2 coffee cups and 2 glasses.

Restaurants and Bars:
Having been to Punta Cana on one other occasion, we were not expecting too much in the way of food. We came for the beautiful, pristine beach.

We dined at the a la carte restaurants and the food was acceptable. El Arricife has the best lunch buffet. Breakfast was standard and didn't vary much. Not much in the way of local fare but palatable. The Spanish restaurant was also very good.

Surprisingly the Chinese (Bamboo) was also very good (compared to the Palladium in Mayan Riviera) and the chef Pedro who hails from Hong Kong was very accommodating to some dietary restrictions. The staff were friendly considering they are dealing with thousands of people passing through weekly.
The Brazilian restaurant was a nice experience and I advise to take a little of the meats as they keep coming (chorizo, turkey, lamb, beef, chicken, vegetables).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
In previous reviews, well meaning travellers recommend you reserve your spot early. This inevitably caused much discord. By the third day, after spending too much time trying to find a shady spot, or a chair, we decided to follow these recommendations. At 7:30, a member of our group went to find a spot. An elderly man actually raced her to the beach. There she found a number of men sent there by their wives to "reserve" the palapas. The hotel specifically prohibits this practice...and on occasion it was the cause of words being exchanged and may have led to some international incidents.

Chairs were left unattanded for hours. I suggest the hotel tighten their policy and advise that any spot left unoccupied for more than 2 hours, be removed to allow for everyone to have equal access to the amenities.
This was my biggest complaint.

My second complaint is the dirge of people selling trips (horseback riding, parasailing etc). They would NOT take no for an answer. We were harrassed daily and by the third day began to lose our patience.

We did enjoy a wonderful massage on the beach, although a bit overpriced and much shorter than the stipulated time.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The animation staff were friendly (overly which at times was annoying) and well meaning.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a lovely beach which goes on for miles and miles.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First trip to Punta Cana!"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claire  on Mar 21, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
792 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
9112

Room Block:
91 near beach

Arrival:
Arrived at Punta Cana airport around 10:30 p.m. Surprisingly, the place was bustling with tourists (it was our first night flight). The entire operation went smoothly except that 1) the airport staff was either blasé or blatantly grumpy, yelling and whistling at us to move along. 2) The customs lady make absolutely NO eye contact with us, no smile, not even a gracias, a de nada, or a "Next", only screaming a very impatient "Vamanos" at us. I counted 13 people before us and she did not look up once from her desk. Quite the welcome committee... 3)As for the baggage pick-up, they had us running in every direction because of a mix-up of carrousels (the screens finally lit up after 20 minutes). No AIR TRANSAT rep in sight to help or direct us (nor any other employee).
Then out to the busses (another slight confusion there) and finally to the hotel.

Check-in went smoothly and quickly... once we got to the desk, as we were 20 people arriving and only ONE person at the reception, hmmm. Fransisco was very professional and calm, smiling.

Rooms:
Because we were celebrating our 31rst anniversary and it was our FIRST DR trip, we requested in advance a room in a building close to the beach. We were extremely pleased with room 9112, loft suite I think, next to beach. Very clean, well decorated, nice balcony view of grounds, palms and the beach.
Lots of clean towels, hot water, well-stocked fridge, 2 tvs (one upstairs with the bed and one downstairs near therapeutic bath (which we did not use).
Room lady Santa was thorough and professional. Spoke very little English (and no French) so was hard to communicate...

Restaurants and Bars:
The Palladium site is huuuge, with several restaurants and a buffet in each of the 3 sections (Palace, Bavaro and Punta Cana). In the Palace (quieter) section, the a la carte restaurants: Japanese, Brazilian, and Meditarranean/Italian. We tried the Japanese and the Italian. Preferred the latter.
Also tried the Bamboo (Chinese) restaurant in the Bavaro section which I do NOT recommend (duck fried rice had 2 pieces -I think it was duck...- the size of my pinky nail and the sweet and sour pork loin turned out to be a very tough and grizzly pork chop deep fried in inedible salty batter, yuk!) VERY disappointing despite nice decor.
Tried the GPP Buffet and the Bavaro Buffet, preferred ours, far more quiet. Our last night was "Spanish Night" with sangria, paella, the works, wonderful!

Lobby bar waitresses were delightful and William at the pool bar is a hoot. Overall, though, staff does not smile much, imho. Also, many of the staff hardly spoke English, let alone French, but whatever, when in Rome... A couple of us spoke a bit of Spanish so we got by.
Drinks were okay... no mojitos or other fancy drinks at beach bar, had to go to lobby for the best drinks. We brought some champagne and porto from home so that helped!
Finally got to Hemingway's Bar at the Bavaro. Very (almost too) relaxing. A must see-HEAR is the jazz pianist there who is muy stupendo, wow!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is undeniably breathtaking, stretching for miles on the left (on the right, about a quarter mile away were the beach boutiques and further on, a village, so we walked mostly left). Had wonderful 5-6 miles walks each day, wunnerful weather too all week!

The shock for me was not the colour of the water or the waves but the thousands of people along the beach (March break), the many excursion boats going up and down the coast, the dang helicoptor over our heads every 15 minutes, and of course, the beach merchants sellings their 'packages". Now forgive me but here's where Cuba scores higher, just because there's none of that (at least yet!) in Cuba, except for the odd local panhandling. I guess I'm just not used to all of that... Definitely distracting.

The pool appeared clean and well-kept. We only visited the pool each day around 5-ish for Happy Hour before we hit the showers. Uncrowded and relaxing. Dudes! Where's the music? Snippets of a semblance around 5 at the pool where the animators (on the far side opposite to where the PEOPLE were, HELLO? is where they stationed themselves for games). Our second to last day was cloudy, so most of the patrons were at the pool. Again, practically NO MUSIC, no animators, no water volley (had to insist twice to finally get a ball; whazzup with that?), no ambience...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
As far as the activities go, I can only speak about the beach animation, which we witnessed each day around 11. Some of the animation staff were friendly enough (Sugar, Naomi) but for some reason the PPs failed to rally many people during the week. For one thing, they've GOT TO CHANGE THAT DANG TECHNO music! Dudes! We get that all year long on our media, what we want is SALSA! :D Now THAT gets my juices flowing! lol What I noticed was that aside from scheduled activities, the PP animators were almost nowhere to be seen. Almost no mingling, ergo no ties with the clients, no conversation, no camaraderie. They could use some PR training (and English/French lessons) from people like Alexis Jimenez at the Iberostar Playa Alameda in Varadero, for example, who could rally up 30 people in 10 minutes for workout on the beach or salsa lessons (and this is a small resort). Maybe it's the size of the Palladium? Maybe it's a lack of experience or the age of the staff (mostly under 25)? They just seemed mostly blasé and frankly disorganized, like they had no training in 'How to conduct a workout session" or "how to get a group to salsa/rumba/merengue" or "how to mingle". And don't get me started again on the music...lol

The only "excursion" per se that we did was to visit the Nicole Jewelry Boutique which was 10 min off the resort, private driver to and from, beautiful high quality larimar jewelry on 1rst floor and forgettable cigar/souvenir shop on 2nd floor. The Air Transat reps (Blaise or Emily) make your reservations.

Other Comments:
My deepest thanks to Damaris, my little sobrina querida, and to Mirpil at Guest Services. Very helpful, always smiling, very professional. It was a pleasure to meet you and to get to know you! Besitos muchos!
Thanks to Fransisco at the Reception, very helpful and honest.
Holà to Sugar and Naomi, animators, who tried their best to get (some) of us involved.

My all-around biggest complaint about this resort (and I represent the 17 other people in my group who all commented on this aspect to managers) is the no-reservation policy for the a-la-carte restaurants. GPP DIRECTORS: This system DOES NOT WORK! I mean, WHO eats at 10 p.m. when you've been at the beach all day??? Seriously! Heads up : If you do NOT get to the a-la-carte of your choice by 7 p.m., you could wait HOURS for a table (even if you see empty tables inside, go figure). It really is disappointing, having to check your watch and run to the shower because you're worried about the line-ups at a particular restaurant. Mind you, this was March break, hopefully the rest of the year it's not that bad. They DO have a pager system, which means that when u arrive at the restaurant, they take your name and give you a pager disk that lights up when a table becomes available (which could be hours and NO they cannot even give you an idea of when you will eat). Some people obviously did not mind waiting/drinking for 2 hours until they ate (I'm talking after 8 p.m....). I'd rather eat early (between 6 and 7), then relax, DIGEST, and have a drink or a walk about before retiring. Maybe I'm getting old?? lol

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube