Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino  

C/ El Cortecito, Playa Bávaro, Punta Cana

"Beyond my expectations!"
Posted by: Liset on Jul 4, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#7
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 27 reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Information


The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino is set in an exceptional spot right on the sea front of the well-known Bávaro beach. It is built on an enormous site next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa and Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facility is surrounded by a coconut palm plantation and lush tropical vegetation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.9 of 5 27 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  8
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
11 - 20 of 27

"Great Food, Great Beach, Horrible service and management"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  FP  on Apr 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
687 people found this review helpful

Please read the full review to understand.

We are a family of 5. 3 adults and 2 children. Stayed 2 weeks. We requested 2 rooms in the same complex which is not out of the norm. Problems from day one!

Stay somewhere else

Your Arrival:
Upon arrival 1 room was in on complex and the the other 400 meters away in a different complex. The children had to be separated and this caused problems. I instantly went over to management who was impossible to assist me. Delaying my request and saying the everything was booked. Later I found out it was at half capacity. The next morning I had a meeting a 9am with the hotel manager and he strolls in around 10am as if everything was normal. The only complex to carry 2 rooms was the ocean view section and I had to pay an additional large fee, even though, one room was made available instantly and second the following night. The rooms where loft suites as ordered from Toronto. A useless luxury as you have no view from the loft and are looking at the slanted ceiling. Upon checking in, the rooms were very hot and the A/C did not work well. Outside was 35c and inside was 27c. I complained and the situation was repaired marginally in 5 hours.

Rooms:
The rooms where loft suites as ordered from Toronto. A useless luxury as you have no view from the loft and are looking at the slanted ceiling. Upon checking in, the rooms were very hot and the A/C did not work well. Outside was 35c and inside was 27c. I complained and the situation was repaired marginally in 5 hours.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were plentiful and the food was clean and good but... the reservation system was horrible. You had to be at the steps of each restaurant by 6:00pm and wait in a long line to make a reservation for a later time. Let me just explain that this resort is very large and each restaurant is spread across the complex of at least 500 acres. To access the restaurants was by a little train which came by every 15 minutes. There is no advance booking for the restaurants unless you are on the couples(adults only side) We paid way more than the Royal price but could not stay there as kids are not permitted. We were penalized for having kids at all reservations. The problem was that we generally stayed at the beach till 7pm , so it required me to get dressed to get on the train and make reservations which was generally offered to me 2:30-3:00 later. Impossible!! Then return back to the beach or room.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is wonderful, clean and water was warm. The sports complex would open at 9:30am and close at 11:00am. What the hell!! To get a ball for volley, you had to chase around the resort to find a member of the team. The water sports section was part of the lower end resort which was a 20 minute walk away. By the time we would get there it was either reserved, out or unavailable. B.S. We gave up after 3 days of trying. We paid for a banana boat ride which caused many delays and problems. They said it would be available in 5 minutes and every few minutes he would say five minutes again. We waited over 1 hour & 20 minutes.

I came here to relax and catch up on same sleep, but had to wake up every morning at 6 am to run down to the beach ( which was a nice jaunt) to get an umbrella with chairs as they were taken up very quickly. The children needed the protection offered by the umbrella's.

Beach Towel service - horrible: They would open around 9-9:30 in the morning and usually closed at 3:30. In order to hand in the towels you had to be there between those times even to exchange. If not, you had to hold on to them till the next day soggy, sandy and smelly.

The beach bar was few and far, the drinks available were also very domestic. One type of beer and a few sweet liquors to mix. Rum Vodka and Gin. That's it. If you wanted anything special like a mojito or other drinks, you had to walk all the way to the main lobby bar which was far and the only place available for those drinks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Never book the dune buggey tour through the resort. The machines are very unsafe and rusted out, no seat belts and the machines look like they where put together from scrap metal parts. My wifes seat bounced off the track and she hit the top bar with here head. No helmets. The tour was to some extremely poor farmers yard with a few trees and chickens running around, not a real cocoa plantation. Every corner there was someone trying to sell you over priced garbage. Even after arguing with them that I wanted to go back to the resort and get a refund, they said no!! (Very unsafe)
I spoke to the management who said that they are not aware of the conditions of these excursions offered in their resort.

Other Comments:
The service personelle were usually friendly but the majority of the time, they made you feel as you owe them big time for being there, major attitudes.

5 star food
5 star beach
4 star room
2 star bars
2 star service
2 star childrens program
2 star internet/business access

Managements answer to everything was NO!

This is definitely not a high quality resort for the high price. Stay at a Dreams or RIU Palace for less price and better service and food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Trip marred by bad weather"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Van  on Mar 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
644 people found this review helpful

February 27,2010 with CANJET (NOLITORS).
slight delay in leaving Toronto along with 4 Skyservice flights within 15-20 minutes of each other. No complaints there...the weather was not the greatest in Toronto and they did keep us informed to some degree.

Can't say I was impressed with CANJET flight although they redeemed themselves somewhat on the trip back when we arrived at the Punta Cana Airport, the line was mercifully short compared to others.

They served dried fake chicken-and-cheese sandwiches. Beverages were served over 20 minutes later. A woman sitting beside me with her two young children showed more patience than I would have as she waited for water with unscrewed juice bottles on the tray. The attendants, though friendly, seemed a bit out of it. On our trip back we received 1/3 glass of ginger ale and not so friendly looks when asked for more.
-

Your Arrival:
We arrived quite late at night so the welcome drinks were missing. Our check in was quick and painless.

Rooms:
We really lucked out on our loft. It faced the ocean. It was comfortable enough to fit 3 women with too much clothes, cremes and cosmetics. The jacuzzi bath in the middle of the room served no purpose whatsoever other than taking up space that could have been better utilized in a bigger toilet and shower.

We left a hefty tip daily, not because we wanted extras but because we realized how hard the maid service staff worked to keep our room clean. I saw them washing the railings on the balcony. Our was immaculate and there was no problem getting extra towels.

This practice of renting pillows seems absurd for a chain of this calibre. It's petty and cheap. The beds were hard but comfortable. Lots of shelving and cupboard space. The robes and slippers were a nice touch.

Although there were 3 in the room we had 2 chairs on the balcony, 2 coffee cups and 2 glasses.

Restaurants and Bars:
Having been to Punta Cana on one other occasion, we were not expecting too much in the way of food. We came for the beautiful, pristine beach.

We dined at the a la carte restaurants and the food was acceptable. El Arricife has the best lunch buffet. Breakfast was standard and didn't vary much. Not much in the way of local fare but palatable. The Spanish restaurant was also very good.

Surprisingly the Chinese (Bamboo) was also very good (compared to the Palladium in Mayan Riviera) and the chef Pedro who hails from Hong Kong was very accommodating to some dietary restrictions. The staff were friendly considering they are dealing with thousands of people passing through weekly.
The Brazilian restaurant was a nice experience and I advise to take a little of the meats as they keep coming (chorizo, turkey, lamb, beef, chicken, vegetables).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
In previous reviews, well meaning travellers recommend you reserve your spot early. This inevitably caused much discord. By the third day, after spending too much time trying to find a shady spot, or a chair, we decided to follow these recommendations. At 7:30, a member of our group went to find a spot. An elderly man actually raced her to the beach. There she found a number of men sent there by their wives to "reserve" the palapas. The hotel specifically prohibits this practice...and on occasion it was the cause of words being exchanged and may have led to some international incidents.

Chairs were left unattanded for hours. I suggest the hotel tighten their policy and advise that any spot left unoccupied for more than 2 hours, be removed to allow for everyone to have equal access to the amenities.
This was my biggest complaint.

My second complaint is the dirge of people selling trips (horseback riding, parasailing etc). They would NOT take no for an answer. We were harrassed daily and by the third day began to lose our patience.

We did enjoy a wonderful massage on the beach, although a bit overpriced and much shorter than the stipulated time.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The animation staff were friendly (overly which at times was annoying) and well meaning.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a lovely beach which goes on for miles and miles.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"nice and musty"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Mar 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
434 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just came back from the Dominican on Feb 4 2010 we stayed at the Pallidium Palace resort,spa and Casino.We started to look for where to go in October .We read Debbies reviews and we picked the palladium palace because over all the reviews were good and we noticed they had a loft suite which we thought would be nice.Before I go any further we went to the Bahia Principe in 09 and we loved it we loved the punta cana area but wanted to try someplace different but in the same area thus we booked the Palace!

Your Arrival:
Our trip there and arival was good no problems,we went to the front desk and they gave us our room#8617 please make note of this room number if you are going there!

Rooms:
When we went to our room and opened the door we were hit with this god awfull musty smell,but we were so excited to be there we thought no one had stayed in the room the prior week and that the smell would go away! It did not so we asked our maid who spoke and understood no english for some air freshners she smiled shook her head and off we went to the beach !Every time we came back to the room bang this smell hit us.The room was clean but outdated not what we had hoped for at all!We then went to the front desk and told them of our problem the manager on duty said smell would go away !It did not so on the 3rd day we back to the front desk and they sent us to customer relations girl who was very nice she talked to the manager and they said they would try and get us another room to check with them tomorrow we did they said that the next morning we could have another room this now being end of day 4 we had our stuff all over the room and thought it just isn't worth it to pack all up and move.The smell did not go away and is in our clothes and luggage to this day!!We talked to some other people from Ontario there and they said a friend of there's had to move to 3 different rooms!This ruined our trip and would never go back or reccomend this resort even to an enemy of mine!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
we found no fault in the restaurnts or bars,but also cannot say they were fantastic,just ok and nothing more!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was nice and the pool but the best part was their animation team on the beach they go all day long and try to make sure everyone is haveing a good time they were great!!When they are done at the beach they go to the pool area for games and stuff there then at night they go to the theaters and go make sure everyone is good cannot say enough about their animation team made our trip!!They really made or day and night and almost made us forget our room until we went back to it !!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Bavaro Runners day trip and it was great highly recccomend this to everyone,you really get a hands on look at the Dominican people and their way of life!!
The Casino was dissapointing it looks big on line but is in fact so small I had to step outside to change my mind I rate their Casino about a 2 out of 10! There is big lights and big sign saying Casino but Ive seen better and bigger Casino's In bars!!

Other Comments:
So in a nut shell we made the best our trip dispite our awfull room!we went as I said earlier to the Bahia Principe in 09 for our first trip and it was beautiful all over but since it was our first trip south we could not compare it to anything else now we can.the Bahia Principe is a full 5 star resort and the Pallidium resort is a 3 1/2.If you want to go there go royal suites it was the upgraded version and it looked better! As far as LOFT SUITES not what they are made up to be at all!
We also found that there was alot of French speaking people there in fact 90% I feel was French not that I have anything against the french but it was real rewarding When we did happen to find english speaking people the few that there were! So if your Franka phone or speak fluid french this is the resort for you!Just one little dig I would like to throw in there is that it seems the French really like to hear themselves talk!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our sixth visit to this complex, that should say enough"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Hlywud  on Dec 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
472 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov. 21- 28 2009

Rooms:
Excellent room with marble floors, in room Jacuzzi, separate toilet stall and large walk in shower clost. Nice ocean view balcony on the second floor.

Restaurants and Bars:
All buffets were very good with an excellent selection of food.
A la cartes were very good, we did the Mexican, Asian and Japanese Teppanaki which was excellent.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Absolutely beautiful white sand beach with lots of palapa's available, pools were also clean and well maintained. Grounds are spectacular, great for any photo junkie and with the train easy t0 get around

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did a deep sea fishing charter with Mike's Marina which is very good.

Other Comments:
Our sixth visit to this complex, that should say enough about it, the place is lean and very well maintained with excellent staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This Hotel is horrible"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rosa, Chicago  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009
274 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 2009
This hote is horrible, it is in mayor need of repair. The hotel does not have an inviting atmosphere, and it is not joyous or complimentary. There are many restrictions for an all inclusive. Many times the restaurants are closed. The food is not the best. The sport bar is a grease dump, with a dirty server conered behind an oven so that tourist cannot see him.

Rooms:
The rooms are musty and the lower level room flood when it rains. The pillows are like a panckage flat, and they have a pillow menu so that tourist can rent pillows three dollars per night.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurnat a la carte are mainly full to capacity, immediately after opening. They say that they have reservations full to capacity, however, there are no reservations needed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful, and the grounds are clean. The pool is deteriorated.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are no activities. All the activities are additional paid tours, and the tour advisor harrass tourist all day about getting tours.

Other Comments:
This is a horrible place to go. This hotel advertises as a 5 star resort, and it is not. It should be banned from selling to tourist in the US. It is plaintly a rip off, and it is sad that american sacifice to go on a nice vacation, and trust the american tour companies that are selling this resort, and then when they get there is a dump. The tour companies in AMerica that sales tours to other parts of the world, should be more responsible than to do something like that to american tourists, and then just shot the door in your face when a claim is made.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We saw two mosquitoes and got no bites in 14 days."

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steve from Brockville, Ontario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
256 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 28 - March 14

The Flight
We decided to fly out of Ottawa this year instead of Toronto. We booked our 14 day vacation with Transat Holidays and were pleased to hear that our flight would be with West Jet Airlines. The trip to the Airport at 2 AM was uneventful. We arrived at the Ottawa Airport our required 3 hours prior to departure and looked forward to leaving the -16°C bitter cold wind behind us. Once inside the airport, we were surprised at the line up in front of the West Jet counter. We could only assume that these people were for earlier flights. We stood in this line for over 1.5 hours, as people for the earlier flight who were behind us in the line up were whisked past us to a special line for people who want to travel but don't like standing in line. West Jet had an employee walking up and down the lines picking out these slackers for special treatment; her time would have been better spent handing out tickets so we all could have moved through the line more quickly. Other than this minor inconvenience our West Jet flight experience was all we hoped it would be. The aircrafts were clean and comfortable and both flights departed and arrived very close to schedule.

Punta Cana Airport
Once on the ground we exited the plane and walked outside to a balmy 29°C. We walked the entire length of the airport outside to a special entrance where unsuspecting tourists are funnelled through a single opening for mandatory photographing. These photos are strictly a promotional thing and are for sale to you at departure. The luggage arrived quickly and the transport to the hotel was ready and waiting. The trip to the resort was quick and uneventful.

Rooms:
Grand Palladium Palace
Once at the resort check-in was quick and painless. The only down side was that we were checking in about 2 hours too early and our room was not ready. We left our luggage with the attendant in the lobby and set off to get the lay of the land. We were immediately impressed with the size and quality of everything on the resort. The lobby was huge and elegant, I personally have never seen so much marble tile used everywhere on the floors and walls. We used the supplied map went to find the lunch buffet for a quick bite before going to check out the beach. It was a short jaunt from the lunch buffet to the beach and after a quick look at the beach we went in search of our room. We found building 85 and our room 8507 with the door open and the maid just finishing up. We managed to get a peek inside and were pleasantly surprised to see marble floors and an in room Jacuzzi. We headed back to the Lobby to finish check-in and get the keys to our room. We were told our luggage would arrive at our room shortly but the bell-hop was not at the luggage area and they must have forgotten to tell him. We had to make another trip to the lobby for our luggage which was quickly delivered with apologies for the mix up. We have nothing but good things to say about this entire resort. The room and king size bed were very comfortable, the pillows appeared to be some kind of memory foam with amnesia. In all fairness we are extremely picky about pillows and each have a selection of 2 or 3 at home to choose from.

Restaurants and Bars:
The resort staff was always pleasant and willing to help make your stay a memorable experience. They were appreciative of tips but never appeared to be expecting of them. The main buffet restaurant was available for breakfast 7AM and supper at 7PM the selection was always good and done in various themes throughout the week. We liked the buffet so well we only ventured out to the a la carte restaurants twice. The International and Brazilian were both excellent. I my humble opinion the Grand Palladium Palace is five star quality all the way. We had full access to two of the other three resorts on the complex the Grand Palladium Punta Cana and the Grand Palladium Bavaro both appeared to be of excellent quality and guests there also had full access to the Palace.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We were informed by someone staying at the Royal Suites that it was not worth the upgrade. The only disappointments were the small Casino supporting a resort of this size and the mini golf course. This course was designed by someone with no knowledge of Physics or golf. Tiger Woods could not par this course, but then there was no score card or any indication of what par should be. We played it once and swore never to go back.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Weather
The temperature ranged between 29°C in the day to 20°C in the evenings. The rain showers were almost always late at night with one exception a 10 minute shower one day while eating lunch. It was mostly sunny with cloudy periods every day for the entire 14 days. The only downside was the wind. It was quite windy from day 3 on and it really messed up my plans to scuba dive. I booked 5 dives on my second day and did my 1st dive on day 3 it was a good (not great) dive with about 40 ft visibility. My 2nd dive on day 5 was terrible. Because of the large waves we could not go out to the regular dive sites and we were taken to a spot where the maximum depth was 18 ft and the surge was wild. It was the equivalent to 30 minute safety stop or really bad snorkelling. I got up early several more days trying to get my dives in but they were always cancelled due to rough seas. We tried to book an excursion to Catalina Island (near La Romana) where I was assured the diving would be much better. Unfortunately it was only available on Saturdays and Tuesdays. We were too late booking to make the Saturday trip and the Tuesday trip was cancelled because although 9 people had booked I was the only one to show up with the money to confirm. I never did get diving again but on the up side I had no trouble getting a refund. The rough seas made all water sports difficult to do and made snorkelling impossible. We were forced to lie on the beach or at the pool and soak up the sun and the pina coladas. I would rate this vacation a 6 out of 10 but only because of the lack of diving and snorkelling. I would go back in a minute for the food, sun and miles of beautiful white sand beaches but I cannot recommend Punta Cana for divers or snorkelers. I may have just hit a bad two weeks but it sounds like the diving would always be better in the La Romana area.

Other Comments:
As for the malaria ridden mosquitoes we were warned about in online reviews, we saw two mosquitoes and got no bites in 14 days.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be careful booking tours on the beach."

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Delores from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
278 people found this review helpful

Arrival
AirTRansat, flight Uneventful, The local people were a great help to locate our transportation going to the resort. While on the bus they sold us cold beer for $4.00 US. It sure tasted refreshing.The weather for two weeks incredible, high 80's! Air Transat lost one piece of luggage on return flight but it was recovered :)

Rooms
Very Clean, iron & iron board, shampoo etc. included. About The "loft Suite", We were sorry for booking this room although nice it was so very inconvenient, we are sorry now we didn't request a room change immediately. We were in building 83, Close to just about everything. Be careful on the walkways that go to your building, they are very narrow and slippery when wet.

Restaurants and Bars
Nelson, the buffet worker was great, look for him. Buffet at the pallace and Punta cana nice, The beach & pool buffet also good but much more variety at the Punta Cana pool buffet. Japanese was great, Asian fairly good, Brazillian OK. The food was satisfactory and better than the others 5 star resorts we've stayed.
Bar worker's were great,Willard (Pool bar) When you consider the many different languages they encounter, We must give them credit for a job well done. Swim up bar was so fun, we got to meet new and interesting people.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach beautiful, Lots of pallapas available but Unfortunately you must get up early (by 6:30 am) and place your towels if you require shade. Same applies at the pool, If you bring your own towels it may be worthwhile. Most people are honest. The Grounds are beautiful, The workers don't seem to expect a tip and are very grateful when you do.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Be careful booking tours on the beach, Your travel rep will let you know.
The old cliche is true "you only get what you pay for"!!!!

Other Comments
"BEWARE" The charges for the use of the resorts phone was ridiculous Even with your own Calling Card, every time we call out we were charged approx.$7.00 US regardless if the connections was made or not (NO connection many many times????? very very suspicious), then you had to pay the regular charges that applied to your calling card! We were very surprised & disappointed to be hit with an additional $106.00 US phone bill at checkout time.(We only called a few times but got charged for all the attempts) So beware of this and check with your travel rep for the best way to call if necessary. This was the only negative we encountered because we just didn't know how the resort's phone operated. We will learn from this experience!!!Also Bring bug spray, sunscreen. We bought at the shops at the resort(reasonable) instead of up the beach. Friends of ours got hair braids done up the beach very reasonable ($30 Us for just braids to $80 Us for extentions) For this service the resort wanted over $200.00 US) Don't overpack & Have a great vacation!

dweyman@seascape.ns.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is incredible and the beach is amazing"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin from Halifax  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
221 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 15 to 29
March 15th, 2009 for 2 glorious weeks

Rooms
Rm 8518

Restaurants and Bars
We had access 7 a la cartes, buffets for breakfast, lunch and supper

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Everything was fantastic. This is our 6th all inclusive and this has to rate as the best so far. We have been to Jamaica, Mexico, Cuba (twice)and now our 2nd trip to the DR. The beach is incredibe, the pools fantastic and the grounds were lushious and well-groomed!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went on a tour to Santo Domingo, a long ride, but very interesting. We took in a Zip Line tour which isn't probably for everyone, but we were glad that we did it, although not sure if we would do it again. We also went to Manati Park which was not bad. For $30.00USD it was worth it.

Other Comments
We just returned March 29th from 2 fantastic weeks at the Grand Palladium Palace in Punta Cana, DR. This is our 6th all inclusive and we have to say it is the best so far. The service and the food and the resort were all top notch. We have nothing but praise for this resort. Don't listen to any of the naysayers. This resort is incredible and the beach is amazing. There are 2 pools in each of the 3 resorts within the complex you have access to. There are 7 a la cartes which do not require advance booking and you can go any amount of times you wish! We never had to wait for another time, just waited in line at the opening time and got right in. The entertainment was very well done too. The grounds were lush and constantly attended to. The selection of food is incredible and the wine flows constantly.

Photos: http://community.webshots.com/user/tedebear57

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is really nice"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda from BeaverBank, NS  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
273 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 23 - 31
We flew West Jet form Halifax, good flight, nice airline!

Rooms
We stayed in room 8704,upon arrival we did have to wait quite a bit for our rooms but they wete very nice, clean and great service all week,, we were there with a group of 10, most of us were all around each other.

Restaurants and Bars
I cannot say enough about the great food and service, top notch,, this was my 5th time to Punta Cana, best food yet!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is just fantastic as always, first time it was quite windy tho and we did not get out sailing, as the week went on the wind died down it got really HOT so we welcomed the breeze!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Some of our group did tours, we have gone on alot in the past, we really just enjoyed this complex,you have access to alot of bars and resturants. it is big and at times we sure welcomed the train that goes around the resort, Alot of our crowd really enjoyed the shows especially the Michael Jackson show!

Other Comments
This resort is really nice, I picked it and we booked last October and I am so glad our group was happy, Biggest thing if you are gone for one week and it goes by fast, enjoy and well you will not be disappointed!, Long ole hard winter this year for alot of our area and the week away under that great Dominican sun was welcomed!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place is by far the best we have ever stayed at."

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jocelyn from Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
224 people found this review helpful

My husband and I (ages 34 and 36) stayed at the Grand Palladium Palace from Macrh 8-15th, 2009 and had the most awesome vacation! We cannot say enough about this superior resort, you will not be disappointed; or if you are, then you should just vacation in Canada or the US. We have stayed at 4 other resorts in the DR in the past, and one in Cuba, and we thought they were all good/fine, but this place is by far the best we have ever stayed at. We have NO complaints at all about this place, and it is leaps and bounds above all our other Punta Cana and Cuba resorts.

Let me sum it up by saying that the people/staff here are excellent and friendly and will do anything for you - anything to make your stay more comfortable. Most spoke conversational english too so that was helpful. The drinks were A-1 as were the bartenders. Hola William and Francisco from the Samana swim up bar! The food was by far the best we have ever had at a caribbean resort. Always hot, tasty, plentiful, a great deal of variety, and of good quality. Clean restaurants. Eight ala carts between the 3 complexes, and like 3-4 huge buffets.

The rooms were in great condition, cleaned daily, my bed was changed daily, A/C worked like a charm, in room safe worked great, mini bar stocked daily, Pillows a bit flat, but thankfully I brought my own so I was safe. Beds a bit firm but certainly acceptable. Huge beautiful soaker/jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room that we used daily too. We had rooms 6802 and our friends (ages 34 & 37) had 6803, and we loved our garden view and were very close to the Samana bar, pool and buffet, in the Palace section. Huge pools on every corner with lots of loungers, and lots of shade if you wanted it. A bit of early morning chair saving going on, but that never bothered us.

The grounds were immaculate like most are, the beach beautiful but windy, the water rough but gorgeous. The weather excellent, sure beats Nova Scotia in March!! Great value too, all you can eat and drink, 7 nights, and airfare for just over 1000.00 dollars canadian. The entertainment the 3 nights we went was good, we went to the Casino one night and made a donation (ha!), did some shopping in the little shops (decent prices on souvenirs), used the Spa and internet cafe with no problems, what more can I say. Go and have fun and enjoy yourself at this resort, it's awesome. We are going back next year!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube