Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino  

C/ El Cortecito, Playa Bávaro, Punta Cana

"Beyond my expectations!"
Posted by: Liset on Jul 4, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#7
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.9

Based on 27 reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Information


The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino is set in an exceptional spot right on the sea front of the well-known Bávaro beach. It is built on an enormous site next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa and Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facility is surrounded by a coconut palm plantation and lush tropical vegetation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Reviews

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.9 of 5 27 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  8
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
21 - 27 of 27

"I highly recommend this resort for all ages"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Charmaine from New Brunswick  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
201 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We were on our shuttle to our resort within 30 minutes of arrival at the punta cana. Nice quick service. Only problem was that my friends luggage didn,t make it. But luckily we are the same size and I brought more than enough for both of us.

Rooms
We were delighted and impressed with our room. We had a view of the beach as well as the pool. The room was exceptionaly clean and our fridge was well stocked with beer and soda as well as 2 large bottles of water. We had a beautiful jucuzzi in the middle of our room. The surrounding ledge around it was marble as was the floor, even in the bathroom. We had a double closet with a safe in it. Our patio was a good size within a stone throw from the beach.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was excellant. I've been to 2 other resorts in Punta Cana and this was the best for food. We had a great variety of food in all three buffets including the beach buffet. The people were very friendly and cheerful. We had no need to do a la carte dining even though you don't have to make reservations. we were addicted to the wonderful buffets. We even had roast turkey and roast beef with gravy. There were many nationalities of food in the buffets.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was to die for! We only went to 2 pools but they were beautiful. The animation team were awesome! They have a great sense of humor and make you feel like you've known them all your life.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
No. We didn't want to miss one minute on that beautiful resort. Also there was no time to get bored. Just too much to do and see. There are all kinds of little bus stops all over the resort where you could catch a train if you were too tired to walk. The train came around every 10 minutes. There are two theaters where you could watch some really good entertainment. There is a disco and a casino. There is a chappel which I've never seen on any other resort I've been to. I thought that was a nice thought for those who are interested. There is always a live band in the evenings in the beautiful lobby where there is a bar and has tiffiny lamps all over the place.

Other Comments
If there was such a thing as more than a 5 star, this would be it.I highly recommend this resort for all ages. I'm already looking forward to going back next year. I've been to a 5 star in Jamaica and this tops that resort.

cupe720@nbnet.nb.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is an awesome resort, well worth the money. We will return"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dave ~ Thunder Bay, ON  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
206 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Arrived in Punta Cana through Transat Holidays via Westjet around 7pm. Comfortable plane, great ride from airport shuttle to resort. We were greeted promptly at the front desk by the bellhops, a warm "Hola" and some beverages. Bags were brought directly to our room, no time wasted..great start!

Rooms
Awesome. Stayed in block #86 (which I read was good from this website). It was very close to everything..lobby, pool, ocean, buffet,spa/gym, casino and trolly. The room was very nice..jacuzzi tub, king size bed, patio to the pool deck..what more can you ask considering you spend very little time in the room anyhow.

Restaurants and Bars
Considering they feed around 8000 people a day, the restaurants were not too bad...but a quick tip..the beef is nothing like here in Canada I must say, it's best described as possibly a piece of rubber. Variety was nice at the buffets, but some foods were so so, others pretty good..it was hit and miss. Buffet wise..ate mostly at the main Palace buffet(Las Torres)The "gala" buffet on Friday night was great. A la carte restaurants were OK as well, but the line-ups were a bit long some days (2 hours for the Italian!!) Italian(Mare Nostrum), Mexican(Mariachi) and Asian (Bamboo) were good, Steakhouse(Arrecife) and Brazilian were less than desirable. There is a new Japanese a la carte that just opened, didn't get a chance to try it though. Apparently if you are a guest of the Royal Suites portion, you can reserve tables for specific times, for the rest it's 1st come 1st on the waiting list!

Bars- Went to almost all of them. Reception bars were the best by far for entertainment and socializing, mainly in the Palace and the Bavaro sections..watch for the "Spanish Flamenco" guitar player, he was good. Disco was sweaty and likely more for young hooligans, but OK if that's your thing. Hemingways bar in the mid section of the Bavaro section is quiet, yet comfortable..there are premium liquors there, but beware it is smokey. Saw the Michael Jackson show that everyone kept raving about,it was OK, but mainly a way to drink for 2 hours and laugh.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Very nice..and very well layed out. 4 pools to choose from (we preferred the centre pool at the Punta Cana resort as you have access to all of them) Beaches were awesome..although windy..long walk if you want to, or just flake out in the chairs..by the way, the towel on the chair thing is really not necessary, we scored prime seats all day long. Might be a cool idea to bring an inflateable matress to float around in the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Went on the "Zipline" tour. It was fun, but only if your not afraid of heights. The trip was long and bumpy, but got to see a lot of the villages and countryside along the way up to the mountains. No alcohol was offered along the trip, and the "after zip snack" was nothing more than a few pieces of fruit.
There are may activities around the pool each day..salsa lessons, water aerobics, etc, so there is plenty to do.

Other Comments
-Mosquitoes were minimal, but still around..repellant is reccommended for the evening or any off resort adventures.

-El Corticito is the market right beside this resort..be careful, and be prepared to be bombarded by locals selling their stuff for WAY to high prices..you will have to barter and cut them down by at least 60-80%, we found most of the same items in the shops on the resort for decent prices.

-Internet is available in all of the reception areas, and wireless is available as well for laptops

-Bring sunscreen, it's hot..especially this trip..hi's of 85-90 and nightly lows of 75 or so..great!

-Bring along a travel mug to get your beverages in, way easier that going back to the bar 10 times. On that note, only tip if they deserve it. You really dont need to tip, but it was nice if you recieved exceptional service.

All in all, this is an awesome resort, well worth the money. We will return

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A huge problem with the rooms."

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Mar 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
202 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 21 - 28
arrival was same as last 5 years, find the tour kiosk, find the bus, pass every slower vehicle on the road and honk lots . ha ha

Rooms
had a huge problem with the rooms.we were all statying in the palace section and the check-in sheet in the lobby had our room #'s typed in but they were scratched out and others written in .The palace side was full and as returning guests we were moved to the suites for 1 nite.Our daughter and husband on their honeymoon and returning guests were put in the furthest rooms in the palace section for 2 nites.Brother-in-law and wife were actually down graded to the worst rooms in the punta cana section for 2 nites.We have never seen or heard of someone being down graded , the suites had lots of empty rooms .Our wives went to the nite manager and complained but he just said no and stared past them.We had booked the trip in sept.and paid more for the palace section having stayed there 2 years before we knew the resort and sections well. this almost wrecked the trip believe it or not.Very frustrating.

Restaurants and Bars
restaurants were not as good as 2 years ago.food was actually not very good and buffeys had less food.Couldn't believe it was the same hotel.The bars on the beach and the sports bar were very good and so were the staff there.The lobby bar people didn't seem to care if you got a drink or not.Even if you tipped them.Most people were getting there own drinks from the bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach was very nice as usual.You still could get a chair but had to get up before 7:30 to get a palupa.Pools were good and looked after.Grounds people did a great job keeping it maintained,and i always tip them.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Only did some shopping in corticeto having been there before.

Other Comments
really disapointed with how the front desk staff treated patrons.Food has taken a drop in quality and quantity.there was free internet in the lobby but people would let their teenagers sit for hours on chat lines,no time limits.I think we would return to this hotel if a new owner and management took over.We have stayed at 4 hotels in 6 years in Punta Cana and will not be returning or telling friends to go to the Palladium.We are not hard people to please and don't normally complain unless we feel we didn't get what we paid for.We feel sorry for our in-laws having to go through such a hectic first 2 nights.If you over -book your hotel you should be moving patrons up rooms ,not down grading rooms..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a fabulous time"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin from East Rochester, NY  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
225 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb.26 - March 5
Arrival was uneventful. Flew from Rochester to Atlanta and then on to PC.I thought it was odd that it took more than three hours from Atlanta to PC. In past trips we have flown direct from Buffalo or Toronto and it has taken about the same time. We used IBK for our transport to and from the resort which was great. Thanks Bronly. They were there waiting for us with cold beer and the trip to the resort was about 20 minutes

Rooms
The Palace part of the resort is the most compact of all the sections. We were in bldg. 93 which was right next to the pool-perfect!! We had 6 rooms total. four were in bldg.93, one in 91(beach front) and one in 92(loft suite-beach front)The rooms were fine. Very clean, mini bar filled daily. The jacuzzi in the room was small. Definately not for two. Everything worked fine.

Restaurants and Bars
Buffets were typical. Tons of food, most was good. You can't go hungry here. Went to two ala cartes. The Mexican, very good and the Italian(Mare Nostrom) also very good. Service was great at both.They use a pager system. If you want to get right in, you should arrive before 6:30pm when they open.Otherwise you might wait up to an hour or more. You can also go have a couple of drinks at the bar while you wait. Also went to Sports bar for food.Not bad but not great.The burgers were ok but the fish nuggets were pretty good. Always cold beer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Baech was fantastic as always, water very nice some good waves.The pools were great. We preferred the Palace pool because of its location to our rooms. We did spend time in the other pools. We liked the PC pool(furthest from the beach) next and then the Bavaro pool. The other PC pool was very crowded but we still had fun there. All had nice swimup bars with good service. The grounds were beautiful. Very lush and well maintained. Everything was perfectly manicured and very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Most in our group did the Saona Island trip.We had a blast. The only negative- and this could be a big negative for some- was the trip to the other side of the island where we started. It took more than two hours from the Grand Palladium. It was in a small bus which was comfy- but two hours each way was long. It was a long day 7am to 7pm. That being said, We had a great time. When we got on the huge Catamaran it was a 2.5 hour slow cruise to the island. The whole time listening to music and drinking beer and Rum and cokes. When we got to the island the beach was fantastic!! We played on the beach ate a nice bb-q lunch and after a few hours we had to go on a large speed boat back. About a mile from shore, they made us get out of the boat where we were in waist deep water, nice sandy bottom for more boozing and swimming. They even picked up some star fish!! It was a lot of fun. If you can take the long bus trip it is well worth it in my opinion.

Other Comments
We thought the service was really great. The staff was very friendly and always made us laugh. We made friends with several bartenders including Willis at the Palace swimup bar, Sandro and Isreal at the lobby bar and William at the PC swimup bar.
Overall we had a fabulous time and would go back to this resort in a heartbeat. Please pm me with any questions.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Vacation at Grand Palladium Palace"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marge  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
187 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Arrived from Halifax via AirTransat after a 5 hr weather delay. We had booked our vacation in Oct, for an ocean view room at the Palace section of this resort complex. When we arrived, we were told we would have to pay an extra fee for the ocean view room and that, in fact, none was available. We were given a room with a partial ocean view in the Punta Cana section. When we inquired as to why we did not have a room in the Palace section, we were told by the front desk and the Transat rep that they consider all the rooms equal in 3 sections of the resort(Palace, Punta Cana, and Bavaro, even though they are advertized separately) and assign rooms as available. We tried to switch rooms for 2 days, then gave up- definately a hassle. There were several other couples with similar complaints.

Rooms
Very basic and in need of upgrading- No hot water for the hot tub or shower. 3 power outages over the week, each lasting more than 1 hr. Cleaning staff did a nice job keeping the rooms clean and stocked.

Restaurants and Bars
Only visited the buffets- wide variety of foods, but cannot say it was spectacular.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beach disappears at high tide,so not a resort for beach lovers. Pools very small for number of people using them. Needed to reserve poolside by 7 am or no chairs left. Basic grounds, no interesting statues or history.

Other Comments
All in alll a "cookie-cutter" resort- very little personality to this resort. The wait staff was excellent, the front staff difficult- we would not recommend this resort, nor will we return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"By far the nicest holiday my husband and I have had."

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ellen from Sarnia, Ontario  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
217 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
Had the loft suite. It was amazing, clean and roomy

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots to choose from. All were excellent

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool area was immaculate, beach was amazing

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No, having far to much fun to even think of leaving this resort

Other Comments:
This was our first time in the Dominican and all I can say is that this was by far the nicest holiday my husband and I have had. I was amazed at how nice this place was. I can't even begin to imagaine anyone with complaints. The rooms were kept so very clean, there were so many choices of restaurants to eat at and the food was excellent. I can't wait to return next year. I don't even have to think twice about trying someplace else. We will go next year to the same place, hopefully the same loft suite. It was so close to everything. My husband and I could have have been happier and still talking about it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We got a really good deal on this resort"

Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stephanie from Ontario, Canada  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
209 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 12 - 19
Our SkyService plane was late leaving Toronto and therefore late arriving in Punta Cana. Of course the obligatory photo op at the PC airport ate up some more time but hey we had to wait for our luggage anyway. Then on to the small shuttle bus where we had to wait as one of the passengers had not received her luggage. We had noticed a case destined for Heathrow on the carousal in PC. Do you think hers was there and theirs was here? Ha Ha Our arrival was close to midnight but after our quick check in we were off to the Sports Bar for a bite to eat. It was a long walk back to our rooms - 20 minutes or so - but we did crawl into bed at around 2 am.

Rooms
We were in building 68 and I would not recommend that room to unless you like to hear and see all of the staff arriving and departing and all of the tour buses arriving and departing. The staff and buses arrived at our usual time of sitting on our balcony and trying to enjoy the first coffee of the day and the staff and buses departed as we tried to wind down on the balcony with an evening cocktail. This was a daily experience and if we had been staying our usual 2 weeks we would have asked to change rooms on the second day.

Restaurants and Bars
Our first a la carte was at the new Brazilian Restaurant. It had just opened that past week. Personally, we(4 adults one teen) felt that this was not the best restaurant this resort had to offer. If face to but it mildly we all left hungry and unimpressed. But it could only go up from there right? We enjoyed Mare Nostrum so much that we ate there twice. We did try the Japanese and we felt it was just okay. The Seafood was again okay. We ate at the buffet for dinner on two occasions and found it to be quite delightful. The bars was fine and dandy. I think if you were heavy drinkers and heavy tippers you would have had a totally different experience and found it quite pleasant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
We spent most of our time on the beach between the Punta Cana resort and the Palace resort. There was one time that we moved down to the Bavaro beach area but my cousin and I found that we were "eaten" alive by sand fleas. On that note we were the only ones that complained about it but it did drive us from the beach for the rest of the day. We hit the rooms and showered but still I was feeling the affects from the bites for the rest of the week.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We did not plan any activities off of the resort as this was our third time in the country. The other 4 in our party, not myself, did go para sailing. The cost was $160.00 for the four (2 trips of 2) of them and to be honest although they did find it pleasurable my husband felt that it could have been even better if they had put them up a little higher in the air. We did walk into town to visit the shopping mall and of course I use that term loosely. Since we have been to the Dominican Republic before we had already purchased all of the cheesy touristy things that our hearts desired but my cousin and her family had not. The Bavaro plaza? was an experience we did not wish to encounter but we felt that our company had to have the pleasure at least once. The teenager although a little overwhelmed did enjoy all of the haggling and fun name calling. Being from Canada was an extra bonus even though we were keeping his starving children starving.

Other Comments
Would we recommend this resort? Whole heartedly. Would we go back? In a heartbeat. We got a really good deal on this resort so I think that if we could find a similar deal next year for around the same time period we would go again. If you have any questions feel free to email me and I will try to answer them.

atomlevelhockeymomm_1999@yahoo.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube