The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 8, 2014

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA

4.2 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2013

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa  

C/ El Cortecito, Playa Bávaro, Punta Cana

"A Great Experience....."
Posted by: Ruth (mra) & Dave  on Feb 20, 2013
see all reviews

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Reviews
The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#14
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.5

Based on 12 reviews

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Information


The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa is set in an exceptional spot right on the sea front of the well-known Bávaro beach. It is built on an enormous site next to the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino and Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facility is surrounded by a coconut palm plantation and lush tropical vegetation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Reviews

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 4.5 of 5 12 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  4
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 12

"We definitely recommend this complex to anyone interested"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike & Elda from Markham, Ontario  on Jun 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2009
985 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 10-17
Arrival was great. We flew in on Canjet, first flight out of Toronto. Surprised how much leg room the plane had. When we got to the Hotel our "package" (we had imperial club) was on a table as we entered the lobby. After picking up the package you go to the front desk for check-in. Since we were early our room was not ready so they gave us our bracelets (Black) and were sent on our way to have some lunch at the beach restaurant.

Rooms:
With Imperial Club we got a Jr. Suite. We were in Building 37. We requested a King Size on an upper floor but we got two doubles on an upper floor. We didn't feel like changing rooms so I just removed the middle table and pushed both beds together. It worked out fine. The room was HUGE! The bathroom was also massive. The hot tub was more than enough for two people. Everything in the room worked properly and we had no issues.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only tried two of the restaurants on the property. We tried the Italian and the Mexican. Both were excellent and we had no issues with the food or service. The buffet was excellent as well. There was always something that we said WOW that's amazing! We really enjoyed the pizza especially the garlic one! The crepe station was also a great touch. Gala night was great! Huge selection of food. I have to say the Lamb dishes at this resort were fabulous. The only bar we really went to was Hemmingways. This was a very nice bar and the fruity drinks were made with real fruit and not the slushy stuff. We are early risers so by the time dinner was done we had a quick drink and were off to bed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
What can we say about the beach! AWESOME! There were always plenty of chairs available no matter what time you came down. If you wanted a Palapa you needed to play the game. We were down to the beach by 7:30am and were always able to get a palapa. If you don't get one don't worry as there is plenty of natural shade from the palms. We didn't spend much time by the pool but it did look nice. The grounds are immaculate! The gardeners do a great job keeping the place beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't go on any tours as we are beach bums and like to just relax on the beach. We really wanted to check out Steve's Bar but totally forgot what day it was until it was too late. We definitely check it out next time.

Other Comments:
We definitely recommend this complex to anyone interested. We are kicking ourselves by not coming to this resort sooner. We will definitely be back to the Palladium Complex again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would return to Grand Palladium Bavaro"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dave from Brantford, Ontario  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
994 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 14-21, 2009:
Flight to Punta Cana from Toronto was on time and easy. We flew Air Transat from Toronto. There were several screaming young children that made the flight seem longer. We landed around 4:30 and were at the resort by 6. We were greeted by our Imperial Club concierge, Waldin. He was amazing. We were given a package of material and black bracelets. Our room was ready and the bell man took our luggage and drove us in a golf cart to our room, 1284.

Rooms:
We had requested a Jr. Suite with 2 double beds, close to the beach. I was travelling with my 19 year old son. We were upgraded, free of charge, to a Romance Suite in building 28, overlooking the beach and ocean. The suite had a king size bed and sofa bed and I initially said we wanted 2 doubles, but my son liked the proximity to the beach and was prepared to take the sofa bed. It was not comfortable but he didn't complain. The suite was very big. It included an outside terraza with a thatched roof, that included a shower and hammock. The jets in the hot tub didn't work. Several other issues in the bathroom were taken care of.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate most of our meals at the buffet restaurants. We tried 2 al a carte restaurants, steak/seafood and tex/mex and they were both good. The buffet was more than sufficient and the food was good and lots of variety. The service was very good and the staff were friendly. The Saturday night beach BBQ was fun. Language was not an issue as most staff spoke English. We really didn't frequent the bars enough to comment.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is spacious and beautifully clean. It was a bit slow, perhaps at 60% capacity, so there were plenty of beach chairs and palapas. There was always activity on the beach with kayaks, Hobie cats, diving tours, and parasailing. Of course, there were topless female bathers on the beach, mostly higher up near the palapas. We didn't spend much time by the pool but it did look nice. The grounds are beautiful with many flowers and a nice assortment of trees.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't go on any tours, but many were offered. We were warned not to buy tours from beach vendors. We went to entertainment on 2 nights. The show starts at 10pm. The Friday night show was a big Las Vegas type production show which really didn't do anything for me. It was mostly in Spanish and just not exciting. We were advised to go to the Tuesday night Michael Jackson show by Waldin and it was quite entertaining. Of course, all the music was recorded but the dancing was very good.

Other Comments:
This is a huge complex and includes 3 other Grand Palladium resorts. There is a complimentary train that takes you around. It takes about 15 minutes to walk from one edge of the property to the other along the beach. There is a flea market on the beach outside the east end of the complex. Our Air Transat rep, Caroline, was a very nice and helpful French Canadian girl. Between Waldin and Caroline, we were well taken care of. We thought we were going to experience Tropical Storm Ana but she lost steam the day before her scheduled arrival. Disappointing. Hurricane Bill passed by in the Atlantic but kicked up the surf on Thursday. Summer weather in the Dominican is hot and humid. We spent a lot of time in the suite staying cool. The choice of TV channels wasn't great, no major US or Canadian networks, and mostly in Spanish with subtitles. We had 30 minutes of free internet each day, but the 4 terminals were in demand and 3 of the keyboards were Spanish and not well lit. All in ! all, we would return to Grand Palladium Bavaro.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stayed 4-11/02/2010"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick & Cheryl  on Feb 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1162 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Flew out of Toronto with Air Transat on time. Extra money for Club Class was worth it. Very good flight. Customs in Punta Cana was very quick and painless. Air Transat desk gave us proper instructions to our transportation and our hotel was the first stop. Check in could have been better handled by the front desk staff. We were given room keys that didn't work, information package in French instead of the English we requested, and our room was missing many items as advertised in the Air Transat Imperial Club option. The front desk was advised of the items we didn't receive so as not to be billed for them on check out.

Rooms:
Imperial Club room on the ground floor was very clean, king size bed. Maid service was excellent. We left dollar bills for tips each morning which the maid really appreciated and we were rewarded with additional supplies in the fridge and bathroom. The pillows were inadequate, too flat, and the hotel wanted to charge $3 per night for extra pillows which we didn't go for. Pillows should be included in a 4 1/2 star hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was fabulous! Selection was excellent, and the 3 a la carte restaurants ( Italian, Mexican, Brazilian) had a variety of choices and the staff were entertaining and wonderful. The other nights we ate at the buffet in the Bavaro section and were very impressed with their theme nights. Coffee is not what we are use to and water was not hot enough for tea. We had access to 13 bars and 14 restaurants. The only bar tender we found unpleasant was at the far end of the beach. The pool bar staff were great. Drinks were abundant, not watered down, remember to bring your travel mug as their glasses are small.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the reason for going to Punta Cana and it did not disappoint us. Up early before 7:30 to reserve an umbrella and chairs. We brought our own towels so we could ensure our towels were different from all of the other blue hotel towels at the beach. Hotel towel service was good. Pool was clean and enjoyed the activities. Grounds as mentioned in other reviews were immaculate.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did one excursion and that was the Bavaro Runners all day trip. Highly recommend this tour. Air Transat rep arranged free taxi to/from Nicole's shop located about 10 minute drive where we found the best deal on rum. We spent a lot of time on the beach and participated in their activities. Fun for a laugh.

Other Comments:
We had great weather all week long, sunny and 31 degrees. The resort is huge so expect to walk a lot. There is a train which takes you to the other resorts but is crowded at night. The casino is small and not air conditioned. There are 2 separate night shows which were only okay. The magician was very good. There are flea markets around the pool and near the casino selling paintings, jewelry and cigars. They want to barter. This resort is not the place for shopping. Acquiring internet time is tedious and the screen is in Spanish of which there are no instructions. If you do not obtain your password before 1 pm, the front desk will charge you $8/hr when you are allotted 30 minutes a day free.

Our pick up was for 6:30 pm and check out was at 12 noon. You can opt for either a late check out for $61 until 6 pm or use the courtesy room. We asked for the late check out well in advance and were told 'yes' and to return later that day to pay. When I returned with my money, I was told 'no' we couldn't have the room. My wife was upset and she returned an hour later asking for the late check out and was told 'no problem'. We received our confirmation and paid at check out the next evening.

Because of the problems with the front desk, we would not likely go back to this resort but would try the other resorts in the complex.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grand Palladium Bavaro February 2010"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chuck  on Feb 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1157 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the GPB the first week of Feb 2010. We flew with Air Transat ($1000 pp +tax) from Regina and we’re in a junior suite “Imperial Club”. The imperial club gave us extras such as a concierge, rum and fruit welcome basket, free internet, slippers and housecoats, pool towels in room, and nightly turn down service. All in all this is a nice resort. It was clean, the staff excellent and the food good. With the Imperial Club we also had use of the pools, buffets, ala carts, and beach of the Grand Palladium Punta Cana, and the Grand Palladium Palace. Given this I couldn’t see a reason why anyone would paying more to stay at either of these other resorts.

Your Arrival:
Good. 2 bus loads of travels got off at this resort so check in was busy.

Rooms:
This complex is a older hotel complex so it wasn’t as impressive as some we’ve stayed at. In our room you couldn’t take a shower without spraying water all over the floor (no curatin and only a short galss wall)and their was no drain. It was a jaccuzzi tub but only for 1 person. They were however generous with towels and replaced them twice a day.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was ok but not spectacular. There are no snacks at or near the pools and late in the afternoon the only place to get food is at the sports bar which is near the entrance at the complete opposite end of the resort. Limited types of food and drink are available on the beach but not all day. The food served at the 3 buffets is the same so no need to travel to eat at the others. A small group (<4) can eat at any ala carte without a reservation; just have to wait 30 min or less. The drinks were fair. They kept running out of limes and mint all over the resort. Drinks were always made way to strong and unless it was on their bar menu they couldn’t make it (ex: dirty monkey). At one bar we asked for 2 drinks and they only mixed/blended enough for 1, and then proceeded to give samples to other people at the bar before giving us each our half a drink!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds and pools are well maintained. We tried the spa twice one day but all the hot tubs were cold (maintenace?)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of daily activities. The nightly entertainment is the usual star and movie tributes but they need to upgrade their sound system. The one night they had a beach party.

Other Comments:
The room service and concierge was excellent. My wife has a bad back and the mattress was causing her pain. Upon talking with the concierge the mattress was flipped that night and replaced the next day.

Extras: There’s a pillow menu at a cost of $3/day. Lobster is available at all restaurants but only at a cost. We had a late checkout so we were able to keep our room until 5pm for $40.

Overall, a good resort for the price and a very relaxing holiday but not an outstanding one. Chuck and Sharon

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Perfect Honeymoon"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Toni  on Nov 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1102 people found this review helpful

Absolutely will be going back to this resort! Loved everything about it, the people, the beach, the activities, the food, cant complain about one thing! The hotel gave us some champagne and a bottle of rum for our honeymoon and also hosted a nice dinner for everyone on their honeymoon. We've never experienced a Mariachi band before but we have now!

Arrival:
Very easy, my husband and I dont speak much spanish but the people there were more than willing to try their english for us! Not much of a wait at all for the bus to take us to the hotel, once at the hotel they got us right to our room!

Rooms:
Beautiful. Ours was very basic but we saw another couples room and it was Amazing!! They upgraded and got a big cornerjacuzzi tub with a big standing shower, I think there bathroom was as big as our entire room!! Our air conditioning failed one night but we called the front desk and they sent someone right away and he stayed until it was fixed!

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was saltier than we are used to but I certainly cant complain because there was more than enough of a selection! I would highly recommend the Japanese restaraunt, yummy!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Wonderful. the pool was clean, I didnt see any garbage anywhere, saw a lot of maintenance men around cleaning and making sure everything was good. We saw one taking a rest eating a coconut by a tree and he offered us one, very cool experience to have a man cut a perfect hole in a coconut for you so you can drink the juice!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
So much fun! The people there were SO energetic and friendly, they were VERY entertaining and the activities were cool, I've always wanted to learn the Merengue on the beach and my husband had a blast playing water polo!

Other Comments:
I would recommend doing some of the activities off the resort so you can have an appreciation for how these people live, we did the ziplining and it was quite an eyeopener for us not to drive through the town but to drive through the country side and see the hard work these people put in just to get by. An absolutely beautiful country!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Highly Recommended!"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emily  on Jan 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1013 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1334

Room Block:
Villa 33

Arrival:
Flew with Air Transat. It was a long flight from Vancouver but went smoothly. We had to touch down in Puerto Plata to let some people off and after the quick switch, we were on our way. We arrived at the resort in the evening and check in was fast and efficient. Our bellboy took our luggage to our room and we settled in. Since we arrived so late, we went to the Sports Bar for a bite to eat.

Rooms:
We stayed in a Junior Suite which was great! Rooms are a little outdated and could use some new decor. The bed was not very comfortable and when the fitted sheet came off, I noticed that the mattress was slightly falling apart. Pillows were flat and not comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful with a huge jacuzzi tub and large sink area. Also, I thought by paying extra for a junior suite, we would be closer to the beach. This is not the case. We were actually the furthest from the beach possible. Even so, the short walk wasn't too terrible. We usually stopped at the lobby on our way there for a drink and to check Facebook.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was fantastic! Don't believe what anyone else says! There is something for everyone. I consider myself a bit of an unadventurous eater and I found a ton of stuff that I enjoyed. Our favorite was the Italian Corner at Le Catedral - the main buffet.
We only tried 2 a la carte's which were the Mexican and the Brazilian. Both were great! We tried several times to get into the Japanese restaurant but both times it was a 3 hour wait. It's impossible to get reservations so we usually just resorted to the buffet.
We mostly at at El Catedral because it was so close to our room and had lunch at El Arrecife on the beach which was equally as delicious. Lots of fresh fruit and a good variety of cuisine.
The Sports Bar was another place we ate at a few times if we were snacky in the middle of the night or after drinking at the lobby. It's open 24/7 and has really good bar food like chicken nuggets, onion rings, pizza, hot dogs, nachos etc.
We mainly drank at the lobby bar La Caoba. Look for Francisco! He is awesome! We met some fellow Canadians and the bartenders would just bring us shots of all different delicious things without even asking. If you ask for "especial" they will make you something that they create. My favorite drink was the Dominican Flower - a girly drink that doesn't taste a lot like alcohol. And it's pretty!
There are also bars on the beach that we frequented. They don't make the really fancy stuff here but if you ask, they'll make you anything you want! Don't forget your Bubba Keg mugs - it can get exhausting getting up from your beach chair and walking to the bar every 15 mins.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach here cannot be beat! White, fine sand feels like velvet under your feet. The ocean is so blue and clear it's breathtaking.
Get up early to get a palapa. They're usually all taken by 8am. People save chairs on the beach with their towels even though it's not allowed but do what you have to do to get the spot you want!
We slept-in mostly everyday and never had a problem finding some chairs to lay on. If you want some shade, grab a spot under a palm tree or head to the pool since it's less busy.
Women are allowed to go topless on the beach and trust me, there are a lot that take advantage of this option so if you're uncomfortable with that, then best get your sun at the pool.
The only bad thing about the beach is the amount of hassle we got from locals trying to sell us stuff. Every 5 minutes there would be a guy offering photo shoots, parasailing or horseback riding. As much as I realize that this is their job, it's very irritating to be interrupted during a conversation or awoken from a nice slumber to be offered dune buggy rides. We found that if we put in our headphones and closed our eyes, they wouldn't bother us so much, They also remember you so if you say you'll think about it, they'll approach you day after day. if you straight out say you're not interested, they won't ask you again.
The pools are nice but we didn't use them. It was way too hot. We lasted 10 minutes there the second day and had to leave because we were scorched.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do any excursions or take part in any activities.
We did, however, get a moonlight massage on the beach. It was fantastic! If you can afford the $140, definitely do this. It includes champagne and a massage for two. Very relaxing!

Other Comments:
I celebrated my birthday during our vacation and for it, the staff decorated our room with flowers, roses and towel animals. For a fee, they delivered Moet champagne to our room and a bouquet of roses with a Happy Birthday balloon. They also put a Just Married banner on our door even though we're not married. We got a kick out of that. It was very romantic sipping champagne on the beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutly fantastic, best experience in the caribbean"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ernie  on Feb 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
981 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1264

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
We had a late flight out of Toronto with canjet which went smoothly and right on time. Punta cana airport was very quiet which made for a speedy baggage collection and entrance to country. We had time for a quick smoke before the bus left the airport and the escort was very helpfull and humourous as well. It took us almost half an hour to arrive at palladium but was because we had numourous stops along the way at other resorts. I was first in line at check in and was impressed on how speedy things went, after only a couple minutes at the desk we were on a golf cart going to our room.

Rooms:
The deluxe room was very impressive , ground floor, king size bed , and only a min away from the beach, which was what i had requested. Rooms were very clean , with four large pillows on the bed, which conflicts with other reviews on here, they must have fixed it. Our fridge was the only thing wrong with the room , was not cold enough, but we left a note on the conceirge desk and it was fixed that day when we got back to room. A few days we had gone back to room , for a siesta in the afternoon, and to our amazement our bed had been made up again that same day. We would tip the maid each day and leave her stuff like colouring books , crayons, panty hose , nail pollish etc. Also left a dollar in the fridge a few times and got extra cervesa, as there is a seperate guy that fills the fridges. If we were in the room when they would come , they would give us extra towels, water , pop, beer , what ever we would ask for!! we were very immpressed and tipped them generously.

Restaurants and Bars:
Hemingways piano bar was very classy and impressive. Very quick freindly service and u could get a much better selection of many spirits. The sports bar was prob our favourite place to hang out , we made a point of tipping the cook there , and he would make us fresh wings when we wanted them , the way we wanted them , as most would just go to the hot display and help themselves. A couple dollars a day goes a long way in dominican in the right hands. We were there for superbowl sunday and they had set up another large screen outside for the game, and it was needed , it was totally packed that night , but the cook still came out right to us and asked if we wanted fresh wings. Wow , we felt important, which we were, we were one of a few tables cheering for the packers lol .

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Overall the hole resort was kept very clean and tidy , with maids cleaning posts , and others , sweeping walkways, and ground keepers raking and trimming trees of lose branches and coconuts. Bavaro beach has to be one of the nicest in the dominican. Very fine sand and a gentle slop into the water. The swim up bars were one of my fav places to hang out , although u could not smoke in the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were many things u could do here for entertainment, pool sports, beach sports, excersize, we chose to mostly lay around and watch lol , We went horse back riding at el pat ranch, which was ok but the supervisor we payed claimed he had no change and they would fix us up at the ranch, anyway they didnt and wouldnt, and i tried to buy a bottle of rum from them at a discount because of it and they wounldnt do that either, anyway we got back to resort and i went to see the guy we had booked with and he tried to fix things but everytime he said to go somewhere to see supervisor , he could never be found, it was only 10 bucks , but it was the principle of it. I would highly recommend anyone to take the sanoma island catamaran trip, allthough its a ways away and it will fill up an entire day , it is well worth it. 99 dollars a person , with a great bbq lunch and all the rum and beer u want, u will dance on the catamaran, u have too lol.

Other Comments:
ive been to dom rep a few times now , and this has been the best resort experience ever. I would highly recomend this one to anyone, and would definatly go back to palladium again !!!!!! If you go here talk to Elwyn , hes the puplic relations guy ussually in the lobby, treat him right and he will make your experience in dom a treat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very nice experience"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Yvan  on Feb 24, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1017 people found this review helpful

This being our second visit to this resort, we were pleased to notice that it was just as rewarding as on our first visit. We visited for the first 2 wks of february and as usual during that period of the winter, no rain during the day, some nice downpours during the evening or night, however, this did us no harm as we were busy at our nightly activities.

Room Number:
1564

Room Block:
56

Arrival:
Despite some snow the day before our departure, after de-icing, we were 20 minutes late for our departure, we arrived PC 20 minutes late, very quick through the airport, we arrived our resort around 2:15pm, our check-in went very quickly and our room was ready on arrival.
The staff at the registry counter were very pleasant, spoke English, French to whoever needed help.

Rooms:
Being with Air Transat, we were given a deluxe room in block 5, upon entering the room, we were not satisfied with the set-up, we went back to the check-in counter to enquire about a jr suite and what would the upgrade cost, lucky as we were, we were told that if we could move within 30 minutes, it would be free to us, for being repeat customers.
Unfortunately as it may be, the room in block 43 was lovely but the A/C unit did not work very well and leaked on the floor making the situation hazardous, after 2 days, of trying to repair to no avail, we were offered to again move to another jr suite in block 56, this suite was excellent, everything went very nicely for the remainder of our 14 day stay.

Restaurants and Bars:
We did the Italian, the Japanese twice, the Gourmet, the Bamboo and El Arrecife twice during our stay, need I mention that all of them were excellent, the food was to our liking, the service very nice. We had absolutely nothing to complain about for all our visits to the a la carte restaurants. The reservation system worked very well, unfortunately, you can only book for 6-8 or 10pm, which is quite difficult for us North Americans used to eat before 8pm. My only complain would be that if you get to breakfast after 8:30am, the variety and quantity of dishes diminishes quite drasticly and they are in no hurry to replenish, of course being the busiest time of the morning for breakfast, the buffet is quite busy with patrons and tables are hard to find. The Green/Red markers on the tables is a very good method of keeping your table and well respected by other guests. The remainder of our late meals were taken at the various buffets which were quite good, with multiple choices of menus.Absolutely no complaints about the food or drinks on this resort. For a quick snack, the sports bar has superb choices and all excellent. After discovering Hemmingway's bar, our evenings were pretty well spent there in a quiet atmosphere with all sorts of International Liqueurs.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
What can I say about the PC beach, been there so many times before and still great to walk in either direction. The only draw-back is the towel play to reserve a hut, when we got there on the 3rd, around 7am the beach was empty and lots of place to choose from, by the time our second week rolled around, you had better be there by 6:30 otherwise, it would be a day in the full sun. Did not go to the pool except around 4pm for a couple drinks to close the afternoon. The beach bar closest to our position was manned by a bartender named Luiz, not very friendly and always expecting something in his right hand. If you were of spanish descent, service was the promptest, otherwise, hurry up and wait.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did only one excursion, Bavaro Runners VIP with a lobster lunch, very poor experience, we were driven around for 3 hours with little or nothing to drink before the first bottle of water came out, the trip was way too long and the river cruise was on the Chavon River, almost at Bayahibe, to get there on the back of a 6 wheeler, with very uncomfortable seats, well, I will pass thank you, had we been informed that the cruise was so far away, I would not have purchased. We left at 8am and never returned before 7pm. An experience to forget.

Other Comments:
We noticed that the overall maintenance seems to be on the decline, as for all resorts, when the customer base is well established, everything seems to be taken for granted. All and all, Again we loved the place and would go back in a flash. A great place and hopefully it will stay that way.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ok no exceptional."

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Jan 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
639 people found this review helpful

First off we did not get the room in our package. It should have had king bed instead of 2-doubles. 2nd - No hot water! in fact no water at all at times. Electricity was out in our room only for a period of time. Air conditioning did not work properly. Most of the staff was very friendly, food was average. Nice beaches, pools and grounds.

Room Number:
1127

Room Block:
12

Arrival:
12/01/12

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A beautiful vacation"

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa
User Rating:  The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  C  on Feb 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
641 people found this review helpful

This is the 3rd time for us at this hotel and we were not disappointed. The room we received was a suite and was lovely. The beach can not be beat--so beautiful. My only complaint is that at night in the lobby,the little band that plays music ,plays the same set of music every single night. At first it is enjoyable--they are good but then it becomes too annoying.

Room Number:
1448

Room Block:
44

Arrival:
Feb 16 to Feb 23,2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube