Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2015

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2015

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA  

C/ El Cortecito, Playa Bávaro, Punta Cana - Dominican Republic

"Not a friendly place to visit."
Posted by: Patrice  on Nov 6, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Reviews
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Pictures and Information
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#10
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.2

Based on 20 reviews

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Information


The newly renovated Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa is located on a privileged setting right on the seafront of the world famous Playa Bavaro. Built on an estate of 80,000 m2 next to the Palladium Bavaro Grand Resort & Spa and the Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, all set in the midst of a coconut plantation and lush tropical vegetation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Reviews

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.2 of 5 20 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  14
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Wedding (2)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
11 - 20 of 20

"An awesome family vacation"

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Jackie and Rick from Parkhill  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009
918 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov 21-28, 2009
We just returned from a awesome family vacation. There was five of us ranging from 12 years old to 80. It was a sunwing package and we highly recommend this company. Sunwing flight was on time and the crew was great and very accomodating

Rooms:
We had accomodations in the 3000 block which we would recommend as it is central to everything within minutes walking.The only disappointment with the room was the bathroom. It had a jacuzzi tub and you had to step up into to use the shower. It is not very accessible for older people or anyone with a disability. When you used the hand held shower it was very messy and the whole bathroom was wet when you were finished. Not very practical.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very friendly staff and the food was good. The best was the Japanense and Chinese a la carte restaurants in our opinion.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
These were all immaculate. Very clean, well looked after grounds. Maybe it was the time of year but we had no trouble finding a spot at the pools or beach. There was not a lot of english speaking tourists at this particular resort but that was ok as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows were ok but were in every language possible and therefore was kind of hard to follow at times. We only went a couple of times because it started at 10:00 We booked two excursions through sunwing and would highly recommend them as well. Extreme dune buggy ride was well worth the money but bring old clothes to wear you get very dirty. The other was the Country Adventure which is well worth the money and you see the real life on the island. Very educational.

Other Comments:
This is our first time at a resort. We went on a cruise two years ago to the western carribean. The resort was far better for relaxation and better value for your money (All inclusive) Punta Cana was beautiful with perfect weather at that time. We are looking forward to going back soon and would not hesitate to return to the same resort and travel with sunwing.

Email Jackie and Rick: jtiedeman@sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The play area was a kid heaven"

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Jim & Christina from Toronto, ON  on Sep 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
702 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 2009

Our Arrival: We left Toronto at 3:50 p.m. flying with Sunwing. We arrived in Punta Cana at 9:50 p.m. Our flight was uneventful considering we were traveling with our daughter who is 18 months. Going through the airport was quick. We were guided to our bus and after a speedy bus ride we arrived at the hotel around 11:00 p.m. Check in was smooth and a crib was immediately sent to our room for our daughter.

Room: Our room, which was a 2-minute walk from the beach, the pool and the lobby, was in block building 3000. The room was nice; housekeeping did a great job and they even provided turndown service, which was unexpected.

Grounds: The grounds were immaculate. Luscious greens everywhere. It was truly breathtaking.

Pool: The pool was nice and we were usually there late in the afternoon.

Beach: It was breathtaking. The water was beautiful and the sand was perfect!!! Lots of shaded areas were available.

Bugs: None! No mosquitoes either.

Restaurants: We ate at all the buffet restaurants and they were good. We also ate at the Brazilian Steakhouse (Rodizio) and the Italian Restaurant (The Mare Nostrum) they were both excellent.

Clubs/Bars: We hung at the lobby lounge after dinner where there was live music.

Staff and Service: Everyone we spoke with was really helpful and friendly.

Activities: There were planned activities throughout the day at the beach and the pool.

Shopping: There were about 15 stores at the resort were you could find souvenirs and basic items like sun block, snacks, etc.

Going Home: We had a late flight out of Punta Cana that was about 1 hour delayed. We landed in Toronto at 2:40 a.m.

Summary: The primary objective for this trip was to go to a safe, kid friendly resort because of our daughter who is 18 months. The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa was great for her. The play area was a kid heaven and she loved spending time there in the afternoons.

Please feel free to email me should you have any questions. christina_samaras@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A fantastic stay for 7 days."

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Emil  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
630 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 23 2008
Via Westjet; nice airline service; staff was enthusiastic & friendly, departed on time, arrived on time, no-fuss service. Punta Cana airport a smooth running operation especially the immigration process, baggage handling a bit messy but OK. Finding the WestJet Vacations counter a bit confusing as well as getting the shuttle, but not too bad. Shuttle trip was a bit "hairy" driving it as a passenger but also OK Check-in was so easy and no-fuss that I didn't notice we were done and the bell boy had already taken the bags- WOW No-fuss, professional, front-desk staff was also friendly, curteous and helpful given my limited skills in Spanish.

Rooms:
WOW! WOW! WOW! Yes I bought an upgraded room, but WOW! Spacious, clean, well-appointed and laid out, fresh clean atmosphere, marble-finish everywhere. 4-post bed with curtains/netting. A/C and lighting automatically comes on and goes off when entering and leaving the room by inserting the room key into an in-room key slot. SMART! Large balony with a small table and chairs facing the beach at the end of the 4000 building. Maids were very friendly and did a great job for which we left gits and a tip; much appreciated. Bathroom could be considered a bit small but I didn't care. A/C did blow directly over the bed which did get a bit chilly even at lowest settings overnight, but again a very very minor point. Large closet with free use of the safe. I could not have imagined getting better accomodations.

Restaurants and Bars:
All positively excellent. Buffet or a-la-carte. Friendly, prompt service and always willing to go extra step for folks with limited understanding of Spanish. Food choices were very varied, all good, and there was a nightly theme at the main buffet. Other buffets were also very good to excellent in terms of choice, quality, and service. Bars and drinks were all excellnt. Drinks were on the strong side but not too much. Israel at the Main Lobby bar was fantastic!!!! Made superb cocktails and adjusted them to our preferences. He made a stomach-soothing concotion one night that helped my wife almost instantly. All the other bars very much the same. Atmosphere at the restaurants and bars was very classy and relaxing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Beach was very picturesque."

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Steph from Sittingbourne, Kent  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2009
621 people found this review helpful

Arrival: June 2009
The Flight - flew with Thomson from Gatwick and was very good. Boarded and took off on time which always helps. Good choice of films with seat back TVs, although the films play on loops so if you start watching one which is longer than other, when you want to watch the next one it will have already started so worth paying £5 each to upgrade your tv set. Food was great, although the snack meal before you land was a bit disappointing.

Arrival - Punta Cana airport is very quaint it has a thatched roof and operated pretty smoothly. The coach was full of people going to the grand palladium, so the journey only took about 40 mins in total. Check in was very quick, although if a large group were to check in at once, it could be quiet slow. The Punta Cana reception was less grand than that of the Bavaro, but still very nice.

Rooms:
Room - We stayed in room 4116, and I had requested a room in block 4000 as having read reviews this seemed to be the nicer block. Which was very true the room was spotless and pretty large. There was a huge king size bed and large bath in the main room, with separate shower and toilet room. Mini bar was stocked with beer, water and soft drinks and was restocked daily. We had nice views over a garden area and could see the sea. We did not over look the pool which meant that this was one of the quieter rooms. Although at night, when people were coming back to their rooms, the corridor outside our room did end up quiet noisy, so if you are a light sleeper, may be worth paying a little more for a villa style room (blocks of 6/8 apartments).

Restaurants and Bars:
Food - Breakfast: We tended to eat most breakfast times in the large buffet by the Palace reception Las Torres. It had a much wider selection than the other breakfast buffets and was open most days. All breakfast buffets had fantastic freshly squeezed juices!

Lunch - We had a mix of the snack bar food and buffet food for lunch, and each restaurant offered a different menu half the time. It was hard to tell whether a restaurant was going to be a snack bar one day or a lunch buffet. The lunch buffet was generally very nice and offered similar food to the evening buffets, although less variety.

Evening meal - we ate in almost all restaurants for the evenings. We ate in the buffets a couple of times and were impressed with the variety they have themed nights and some are much better than others. All restaurants typically offer you water/wine with your meal. You can ask for a soft drink, but do not expect cocktails with your meal! We tried the Asian, Mexican, Spanish, steak and seafood and Italian a la cartes. All offered a buffet, starter, main and dessert, although portion sizes were huge so we found it hard to eat the main course. All of the restaurants were very nice, although our favourite was the Mexican.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Palladium is a resort where I can “afford to stay”."

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  C & C. Smith from NS  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
609 people found this review helpful

April 25 – May 9 2009
We have travelled to the Dominican Republic six times and have stayed at all inclusive resorts. We have a travel budget and stay at resorts where we feel we get the best value for our money. It is true, that you will find better, nicer, fancier and newer resorts than this one, but people who compare various resorts have a tendency to make their comparisons without price differential and basically compare resort “A” with resort ”B” based upon amenities with no mention of price variation which can be considerable.

Cost and Travel:
Our trip was booked through Sunwing Vacations out of Eastern Canada and the Grand Palladium package for two weeks was in the lower 20 % of their price range of resort choices in Punta Cana. This was our second trip to the same resort and there was not a great price increase over the previous year for similar dates of travel. We always find the prices lower after Easter. Many travelers will discuss “when to book” for the best value but we have always travelled for two weeks and there are no significant “last minute” deals on two week vacations but you may get some price reductions when certain sales are promoted. Sunwing Airlines and Sunwing Vacations provided a “better than average” service compared to other companies we have dealt with. Flights were on time with no surprises. Fairly new Boeing 737-800 aircraft with a 189 seat configuration which provides for adequate “charter” type seating. Seat pre-booking is available on their site. Hot meal served both ways with champaign breakfast and wine with dinner on the return trip. Weight restrictions on luggage are typical at 20 Kg. per person for checked luggage and 10 Kg. per person for carry-on.

Arrival:
Flight was on time. Very quick transition from Airport to bus and onto the resort. Our check-in went very quickly and we received the room request that I had previously made to the resort via e-mail about a week prior to our trip. Palladium management is very good with respect to responding to requests within their ability to deliver.

Room:
Our room was a standard Deluxe room in building 4000. We were located on the second floor. I requested this building as it is close to the beach and other amenities and not bordering on the pool which makes it a little quieter in the evening. Room was as expected. Rooms are very clean. Our Jacuzzi bath was not working when we first arrived but a request at the front desk quickly resulted in repairs. Air conditioning worked well. We started each day by leaving a tip for the maid and one in the fridge for the bar attendant. Our room was cleaned early most days and our bar fridge filled every day with Diet Cola as we requested and four bottles of beer. Two Presidente and two Bohemia Special. No complaints with the room or the room services.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Palladium is a resort where I can “afford to stay”."

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  C & C. Smith from NS  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
609 people found this review helpful

April 25 – May 9 2009
We have travelled to the Dominican Republic six times and have stayed at all inclusive resorts. We have a travel budget and stay at resorts where we feel we get the best value for our money. It is true, that you will find better, nicer, fancier and newer resorts than this one, but people who compare various resorts have a tendency to make their comparisons without price differential and basically compare resort “A” with resort ”B” based upon amenities with no mention of price variation which can be considerable.

Cost and Travel:
Our trip was booked through Sunwing Vacations out of Eastern Canada and the Grand Palladium package for two weeks was in the lower 20 % of their price range of resort choices in Punta Cana. This was our second trip to the same resort and there was not a great price increase over the previous year for similar dates of travel. We always find the prices lower after Easter. Many travelers will discuss “when to book” for the best value but we have always travelled for two weeks and there are no significant “last minute” deals on two week vacations but you may get some price reductions when certain sales are promoted. Sunwing Airlines and Sunwing Vacations provided a “better than average” service compared to other companies we have dealt with. Flights were on time with no surprises. Fairly new Boeing 737-800 aircraft with a 189 seat configuration which provides for adequate “charter” type seating. Seat pre-booking is available on their site. Hot meal served both ways with champaign breakfast and wine with dinner on the return trip. Weight restrictions on luggage are typical at 20 Kg. per person for checked luggage and 10 Kg. per person for carry-on.

Arrival:
Flight was on time. Very quick transition from Airport to bus and onto the resort. Our check-in went very quickly and we received the room request that I had previously made to the resort via e-mail about a week prior to our trip. Palladium management is very good with respect to responding to requests within their ability to deliver.

Room:
Our room was a standard Deluxe room in building 4000. We were located on the second floor. I requested this building as it is close to the beach and other amenities and not bordering on the pool which makes it a little quieter in the evening. Room was as expected. Rooms are very clean. Our Jacuzzi bath was not working when we first arrived but a request at the front desk quickly resulted in repairs. Air conditioning worked well. We started each day by leaving a tip for the maid and one in the fridge for the bar attendant. Our room was cleaned early most days and our bar fridge filled every day with Diet Cola as we requested and four bottles of beer. Two Presidente and two Bohemia Special. No complaints with the room or the room services.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach was nothing less than perfect."

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Lib from Markdale, Ontario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
453 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 17-24
Was very smooth. We flew from Toronto with West Jet. We had a free week at the Palladium after a mix up last April. Travelled by cab to the resort, which was only $40. for the 4 of us. Check in was a breeze, got 2 rooms side by side with ocean view upon request. Upon arrival was met with a nice red tropical drink for us 4 ladies.

Rooms:
We stayed in the 4000 building, which was directly across from the lobby. We had 2 double beds in our room, with a large whirlpool in it. Was disappointed in the actual washrooms, it was more like a closet, with just the toilet and shower stall. Rooms were kept spotless, usually being cleaned by mid day by a lovely lady, with whom we left gifts for each day with a note in spanish stating our appreciation. We were pretty central to everything, and rooms were very soundproof, not hearing outside noises or neighbours. The other ladies we travelled with had only a kingsize bed in their room, and upon request they brought in a single bed. Didn't spend alot of time in the rooms other and sleeping and grabbing a shower before dinner.

Restaurants and Bars:
We sticked basically to the one buffet, which had a different themed dinner each night. After enjoying our supper we'd grab a table at the bar right outside the restaurant called Samana (i think) enjoyed a few beverages and chit chat. At the Italian ala carte twice. First time was great and fairly quickly served, on the second visit, was terribly long, over 2 hours for our meal. Food everywhere was great, didn't go hungry at any meal. Rum punch rocks, along with Banna Mamma.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were beautiful. Beach was nothing less than perfect. Huge complaint about the saving of lounges. If you wanted a lounge, especially under shade, you had to be on the beach by 6am evey morning to save with towels or t-shirts. Not impressed with that at all. Another huge downfall at the beach was the constant annoying pestering of vendors coming up and asking you to buy or purchase their services, such as massages, parisailling, cigars, you name it. Pools were spotless, didn't spend much time there, too hot with no breeze.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't pertake in any activities on or off the resort, just used my week to soak up the Caribbean sunshine and enjoy myself.

Other Comments:
There were some downfalls with the resort, but nothing major, or maybe I'm just fussy lol.
Would recommend this resort to anyone. Any questions, feel free to im me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I don't know if I will ever go anywhere else!"

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  B, R & K from New Brunswick  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
442 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We flew Sunwing from Moncton, NB. The flight left a little ahead of schedule and the people at the airport were friendly and helpful. Arrival at Punta Cana airport was smooth and luggage arrived quickly. Very easy to find our bus to the hotel.

Rooms
We stayed in rm 2028. Very clean. Our mini bar was stocked daily. We asked for extra water and they left us a case of 6 large bottle everyday! We left the maids a gift and a dollar bill every day and we also put a dollar bill in the fridge so they would remember to restock. The shower is my only complaint...it is very nice to look at but if you stand up and try to shower in the bathtub there will be a flood in your bathroom! I would suggest sitting down and taking off the removable shower head to try and contain the water in the tub. Also, bring facecloths as there are none.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was TOO good! The buffet had a great selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate at the Italian, Brazilian and Steakhouse/Seafood a la carte. I would highly recommend the Brazilian and Steakhouse/Seafood. Great service and great food. The Italian was good but the portion sizes were tiny and you will wait for hours and hours to get a table. The Sports Bar has pizza, chicken wings and other american food 24hrs/day! It is very good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was breathtaking! The water was turquoise, the sand was white and there was absolutely no seaweed. The pools were great...the one in the centre was colder than the one by the buffet. We put our towels on chairs under a hut everyday before breakfast. Even if we chose to move we could usually find chairs. I found the beach too windy and cold in the early mornings so I chose to lay by the pool by the buffet until lunch and then make my way closer to the beach.

Other Comments
I would highly recommend this resort. I don't know if I will ever go anywhere else! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful...when they say "no problem" they mean no problem! There are courtesy rooms so we were well taken care of even though we had to check in and out early. We could store our luggage safely and shower before heading to the airport. I felt extremely safe at this resort. The shows were very well done and I would definitely suggest going to them most nights. The casino is also a good way to spend some time. The biggest market is also only about a 10-15 minute walk down the beach. You can get some good deals there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The vacation was great."

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Connie from NYC  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
428 people found this review helpful

Arrival: February 15 through February 22
Flew in from JFK in NYC--all was on time. Arrival in Punta Cana went well and the airport experience--including getting our bags was all good.

Rooms
Hotel room was in the 7200 block. Lovely, clean,bright and comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars
Specialty restaurants were wonderful. The buffets are always fun with plenty to eat for all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach is lovely--seems smaller since I came here about 3 years ago.

Other Comments
The vacation was great--all was good . Hope to go back next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"You can't go wrong by enjoying your vacation here."

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Bob & Carm from Ancaster, ONT  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
472 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 25/09 - Feb 1/09
Arrived at Punta Cana Intl Airport on Sunday at noon and we got thru customs and the baggage carousel in short order as usual (this is our 4th time to Punta Cana). Flight was with Skyservice unfortunately, as everyone is packed in like sardines. I had to pre-book 3 emergency exit seats at $70/each return in order to get an extra 8 inches or so.

Rooms:
Our group was made up of 3 families with 11 people in total. We all had rooms in building 2000 which was very convient as this building is next to the beach. All our rooms had poolside views and no one complained about noise or other issues. The rooms all had the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom which was not an issue. Rooms are clean and functional and no one had problems to report. Maid service was fine, but we've had better service at other resorts. We left U$5 each day for her, yet we didn't receive hand towels daily as we had requested. At other resorts, we found beautiful towel creations with flowers each day thanks to our tips, but this time it was lacking most days. This wasn't an issue for us, but we did notice however.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is a large resort complex with 3 or 4 lobbies for each of the individual resorts (Bavaro, Palace and Punta Cana). It was indicated that we would have access to 3 a la cartes for the week, but we found no one keeping tabs on your visits so we could have dined at the a la cartes each night if we wanted. Two of the evenings we ate at the buffet (Las Torres) and found the food to be plentiful and of good-to-very-good quality. We also ate at the International/Seafood restaurant and found it to be good. We visited the Mexican restaurant twice and their food was very good. The beef steak and tenderloin were excellent and quite tasty. The fish (sea bass) was also excellent. One night was spent at the Spanish restaurant which was very good and one at the Oriental restaurant. Although it was "OK", we all agreed it was our least favourite of the restaurants. We brought our own wine from home and had no problem bringing it to dinner and having the servers serve us with our own wine. We tried on several noghts to get into the Italian restaurant but it was impossible to get in with a party the size of ours. Its a smaller venue and many had to wait with pagers for up to 2 hours to be seated so we decided to go elsewhere. Breakfasts are very good with amazing variety.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort staff was very friendly."

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA
User Rating:  Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Jim from New Jersey  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2009
453 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 2007
This was my first trip to the Caribbean and I went by myself, so I wanted an all inclusive. I booked through Apple and everything went smoothly. The first thing I noticed upon pulling into the resort was how well kept the grounds were. The lobby was an open air design and had a bar with comfortable sitting area around it. The front desk staff was friendly and check in was a breeze. I arrived prior to their check in time, so I had to wait until around 3pm for my room to be ready. I definitely would recommend packing a change of clothes in an easily accessible bag so you can change and start to enjoy sooner.

Rooms:
They have many different room types on the grounds. I was in a free standing unit with about a dozen rooms. I had a ground floor unit that faced the basketball courts and recreation area. The room was very nice. You get a second room key which is to be used for the A/C and lights. They ask that you remove it from the slot when you leave your room to save energy, easy enough. The beds were okay, typical hotel beds, and the pillows were flat. I only lost power for a few minutes, but it wasn't anything worth complaining about. The fridge had sodas, water and beer and were restocked as needed. The only thing I'd do different next time would be to request a non-ground floor unit. It would have been nice to sleep with the sliding door open at night with the A/C off.

Restaurants and Bars:
I didn't eat at any of the ala carte restaurants, but the buffets were fine. There was plenty of food and each night was a different theme. I never had a hard time finding something to eat and the staff was very friendly. The bars were nice, I really enjoyed the pool bars and the service was quick.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I cannot say enough about the grounds. The staff was constantly cleaning, trimming and pruning. The pools were clean and just warm enough to enjoy. The beach was well kept and security was there, but not intimidating. There was some locals selling goods on the beach, but were not pushy and took no thanks easily and kept going. I took a couple of long walks down the beach and never had a problem.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities crew was friendly and always had something going on. I took one tour, the Outback Safari and loved it. The staff was friendly and made it a blast for all of us. Definitely would recommend it to anyone. Just one note, when they say all you can drink be careful, they mean it.

Other Comments:
This resort was recommended to me by two coworkers. They were right on. The resort staff was very friendly and always willing to help. I would go back there in a heart beat and have no problem telling others how great it was.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube