Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium BŠvaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA

4.2 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2013

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)  

Avenida Alemania S/N, EL Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana Dominican Republic

"very energetic animation team"
Posted by: mason on Sep 8, 2014
see all reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews
Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Pictures and Information
Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#1
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.3

Based on 69 reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Information


Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) is a five star luxury resort that distinguishes itself by offering deluxe spacious rooms, fine dining and personalized service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.3 of 5 69 reviews
Excellent
  27
Very good
  32
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (33)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
1 - 10 of 69

"very energetic animation team"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mason  on Sep 8, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
12 people found this review helpful

This was where I spent my summer vacation this year and I cannot begin to describe how happy I am that I chose this resort. First off, the reviews I saw online were very encouraging but when I got there myself, the reviews were very short on how amazing this resort is. The animation team is as energetic as ever, they always find a way of carrying everybody along, they are fun to be around and they are caring as well. The shows were great and they had lots of activities arranged for us. The buffet never disappointed me for even a day because the food and choices they have there was always on point. I always look forward to visiting the buffet because I love everything about the place. The staff is accommodating and friendly especially the restaurant staff members. There was the only problem of communication, they tried to speak English but it wasnít as good so there was the language barrier but who cares? I donít. Moving onto the rooms, they were very clean, the resort grounds was clean so was the room. The a/c didnít have any faults and the bathroom was clean with the necessary amenities in it. There is this beautiful courtyard that added to the beauty of the hotel, it was such a nice experience at this resort. They have lounge chairs at the pool side so it was fun, lots of volleyball activity at the beach and the beach was well maintained.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Resort"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donald  on Apr 12, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
290 people found this review helpful

Travelled to NOW Larimar in Mid March 2013 with grand daughter and two of my 29 and 31 Year old daughters. Food and accomodations were excellent. We paid to upgrade to Preferred status and I would recommend that anyone travelling there do the same. The $300.00 per room cost gets perks well worth the cost.
The rooms are spacious and kept very clean, tipping early in the week works wonders. The staff are friendly, polite and outgoing without being pushy. I particularly enjoyed the fact that their command of the english language was excellent. In fact by midweek many of the serving staff remembered your name and greeted you at meal times like old friends.
We also liked the fact that this is a wristband free resort, no shortage of loungers at the pool or the beach and no annoying pool towel cards.
This is our 4th trip to the Dominican and the first resort that we would return to. In fact our youngest daughter is getting married in Punta Cana and this would be our first choice of resort to have our guests stay at.
A very strong 4.5 stars....it falls a little short in a few small areas, chipped floor tiles in the hallways and the buffet meals could have a little more in the way of choice but these are minor. The a la carte restaurants are all excellent with the exception of the Italian, the food at which I would rate poor.

Room Number:
1238 and 1244

Room Block:
Preferred Oceanview

Arrival:
We arrived by taxi rather than shuttle bus so we were the only ones there. We wanted to upgrade upon arrival and the staff quickly at patiently showed us 3 additional levels of upgrade for us to choose from.

Rooms:
Clean and in good condition, the only negative we had was that the ac didn't seem to cool our room as well as the room our daughters were in, however having said that it was okay just not good. They would have changed our room but the hotel was at capacity and there was nothing else available. In fact although we had paid to upgrade to preferred class they were unable to offer us a preferred room but we did get all the perks.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars are well stocked with local liquor and beer, but all the outdoor ones close at 6PM which is a little early. The lobby bar(s) and VIP lounge (If you upgrade to Preferred class offer name brand liquor and American beer (Budweiser) for my money the upgrade for this alone was worth it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is wide and staff were busy all day cleaning the seaweed that washed up on shore. Ocean bottom was sandy and free of coral. Being on the Atlantic Ocean side the water is a little rougher but fine for swimming and other water sports.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities if you wanted to partake and you are not pestered should you decline.
The evening shows were excellent well done productions.

Other Comments:
Considering that the resort was at capacity (Front desks position) during the day you were never really aware of it, there were always beach chairs available. The same for the pool. It wasn't until the evening around show time at 9pm were you aware of thw crowds and you wondered where all the people came from.

Good mix of age groups although not a lot of children around considering this was the march break holiday, at least for those of us in Ontario. This was excellent value for the money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good for Weddings & Families"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Catherine  on Jan 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Wedding | With friend
329 people found this review helpful

We booked at NOW Larimar because that's the resort the bride chose to be married in - reputed to be very family friendly for their three children. The group (about 15 people) arrived and departed all at different times.

Resort is about a half hour drive from the airport. The resort is beautiful and very well kept up. When we were dropped off at the main (Ocean side) section, the reception staff explained that we had booked on a "deal of the day" and so would be in the garden side of the hotel, which was a 3-5 minute walk from the main lobby. They offered the chance to upgrade to various options for $20-40 / day but we weren't interested. The garden side is a new building and has its own pool, swim up bar, buffet and reception. Rooms are very nice but smaller than the ocean side rooms, and do not include drawers to allow unpacking. Each room has a jacuzzi tub (garden side - outside balcony tub, ocean side - tub in the room). From what I could tell the two younger kids (7 and 9-10) really liked the kids club and they always had tons of activities planned for them.

Room Number:
6106

Restaurants and Bars:
No reservations required for the A la carte restaurants (with the exception of the Japanese / Asian restaurant which required reservations to sit at the chef's grills). If you choose to reserve note that we had an approx 3 day wait for this - might be different at a less busy time of year. They do have tables which do not require a reservation as well. Fabulous service at both buffets (there are two) and the beachfront grill.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very well kept grounds, beaches raked for the ever present seaweed every day, pools on both the garden and ocean side were very clean. Note pools were closed each day at ... 9 pm, I think (don't recall).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Both the bride and I had our hair done at the spa for the wedding ceremony - very reasonable for an updo ($59 american). Johanny was very pleasant and fast.

Other Comments:
Love love love the staff at this resort. Pedro M at Garden reception, Alexandra in housekeeping, Alejandro and Zoris at Windows (Garden side buffet), Adalgiza and Santa at the beachfront grill, David and Wilton at the Carnival Cafe (main buffet), and Ambiorix at the Blue Water Grill (American ala carte).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Now Larimar--Not the greatest experience."

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donna  on Sep 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
411 people found this review helpful

We had previously done an all inclusive trip to Cancun, so decided to try Punta Cana. Beautiful country, but the Now Larimar was not for us. Most of the staff was excellent, but the constant rush of people trying to sell us something or requests to buy wine with dinner or pictures by the pool grated on our nerves. Our safe was broken when we checked in. Our friend's refrigerator never worked during the whole stay. The food was good in places. Menus at the specialty restaurants were very limited.

This hotel was given a 6 Golden Apple rating, but I would consider it a 4 at best.

Room Number:
2132

Arrival:
9-13-12 to 9-16-12

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wish I stayed somewhere else."

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Partick  on Jun 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
608 people found this review helpful

First off, if you donít know much Spanish good luck getting by in this hotel. About 50% of the staff at the resort spoke broken English at best while the rest spoke strictly Spanish.

I have stayed at 5 all-inclusive resorts throughout the Caribbean and this was by far the worst one Iíve stayed at.

Room Number:
2308

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
Total mix up. Such a headache. We called ahead a week in advance to make sure our 6 rooms were all on the same floor or close to each other. I understand having 6 rooms next to each other isn't plausible but I expected to be somewhat near each other. They had us split up all over the place and I had to convince them to move us to a common area on the second day. This mess up was not exactly how I wanted to start my vacation.

Rooms:
The rooms were nice upgrade to a pool view for sure. It is worth it. The only thing is their is a hole cut into the bathroom area. May get weird if you are with family or friend you are not comfortable around.

Room service comes around 9am and if you miss it donít plan on seeing them again until around dinner time. If you are locked out of your room, ask any person that works there to let you in. No identification required to get into your room, or anyone elseís for that matter. If you are a thief this is the hotel you want to be at. Luckily nothing was taken from my room but it is extremely easy to do.

Restaurants and Bars:
I went with a group of 11 people total and the hotel was not very welcoming to our large numbers. Every night at dinner was a constant hassle to sit together even when we would make reservations a day in advance. Many nights we were told to split into 2 tables a group of 6 and of 5 sitting directly next to each other. We asked many times to push the tables together but with no reason why the manager sternly said that was not an option. This was an issue every night. The food was relatively good but the service was not.

The bar was very limited. No flavored vodkas, Presidente was the primary beer which wasnít that good in my opinion, and most of the drinks at premade mixes. You also had to be a very lucky person to get a cold water bottle 2 out of 3 times it was luke warm.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools are nice and the resort is kept relatively clean. The only downfall for the beach is their is a lot of seaweed but it is still crystal clear so that makes up for it.

If you plan to go to the shops down the beach get with a guy in a yellow shirt that works with the hotel. They make sure you don't get attacked and he keeps everyone together. If 11 enter the stores he makes sure 11 comes back out of the stores together. Worth checking out but not on your own.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment staff is very dedicated and work long hours. They were very pleasant and made the experience a little better.

Other Comments:
Avoid going to the main court yard on Wednesday nights. The hotel lets in outside vendors to come harass you into buy things that are absurdly over priced. If you do plan on buying anything haggle them down to 30% of what they originally offered. Be careful on this night they may grab you and take you to their stand or verbally harass you. Donít be fooled by their ďfreeĒ gifts. Once you walk away you pay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Resort with Growing Pains"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Jun 6, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
611 people found this review helpful

This was our first time booking with Now Larimar Punta Cana. Having stayed at several other resorts along Bavaro Beach, we decided to try Now Larimar Punta Cana as it is a fairly new resort (took over NH Real Arena in 2011). We arrived on May 13, 2012 for 1 week.

Room Number:
2393

Room Block:
Preferred Club

Arrival:
When we arrived, we were introduced to our butler Wilson in the Preferred Club Lounge. Wilson brought us to our room (Our room was 2393 - Ocean Front). Wilson took care of everything for us during the week, and always asked how things were - he is very professional, and personable - the check-in was a 10/10!

Rooms:
The Ocean Front room is AMAZING, with a Jacuzzi on the balcony. The sunrise every morning was superb! a 10/10!

Maid Service was a 10/10!

Room Service was a 6/10 (not a lot of selection, and incomplete orders)

Restaurants and Bars:
The Preferred Club Restaurant (inside Carnival Buffet) has two friendly servers that once they saw us, they had our coffee & orange juice ready at our table each morning. They worked from breakfast through dinner. - David & Manual are both dedicated workers that give a smile to you as you enjoy great food

We did not try the other restaurants as we always found something good at Carnival, and there were theme nights with various choices :) - a 10/10!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Pool Bar (The Sandbar) in Preferred Club has two of the friendliest individuals we have ever met - Solome & Junior! They both are Amazing at providing a smile & making people laugh. 10/10!

The beach was clean, and well managed, a 10/10!

The grounds were well kept, a 10/10!

Cleanliness of the resort was 8.5/10 (litter in some of the walkways between buildings)

Other Comments:
Overall
Staff 10/10 !!!

Areas of Improvement
1) The bed in our room is dated and both our backs were sore by mid-week.
2) When it was a NH Real Arena, it had a VIP swimming pool (one for NH Real family club and one for NH Real Adults club) - I would recommend this option to Now Larimar as currently both Preferred Club pools are Family Club and some guests prefer a Adults Only Area.
3) Introduce a "Bracelet Service" for Preferred Club members for staff to identify paid Preferred Club Members. We waited to be seated in the Carnival Restaurant without being asked if we were Preferred Club - which has a designated seating area with upgrades included.
4) Introduce a towel card, as we witnessed people leaving the towels on chairs, and getting new ones (not recycling) , unfair for people wanting fresh ones

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will not return"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  susan  on Mar 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
670 people found this review helpful

positive facts
very clean hotel
nice beach and soft white sand , you can walk for miles
staff pleasent
no reservations required for four of the specialty retaurants
negative points
food is just okay
specialty restaurants food not that great
travelled with family of 4 and two were quite sick (diarreha)
daughter found brown bug in her bed
arriving home 3 of 4 of the family had bed bug bites
the oceanview room had large opening in the wall seperating the bedroom from the bathroom, which made privacy an issue.
husband had to stay on the deck while the girls showered etc.
however there is frosted partial frosted glass on the shower door and bathroon door
it is not worth the money
would not return

Arrival:
march 14 2012

Rooms:
1

Restaurants and Bars:
food not the greatest

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful beach seaweed a problem
pools very nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome resort"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  coleen  on Feb 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
738 people found this review helpful

We thoroughy enjoyed this resort. Its perfect if you dont want a lot of walking. We stepped out of our room and the beach and pools were right there. The food was excellent, the people very friendly, and the beach was beautiful with very litte rock and coral. This is my 3rd time going south and the first that i can say there were no complaints and had a great time.

Room Number:
2162

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
april 17th 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a wonderful holiday"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janet  on Jan 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
660 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time. The hotel was lovely, the service was excellent. The food selection was great. The a la carte restaurants were all good except the Castaways where we found the food poor and the service worse. That said, there were lots of other places to eat. Our room was well appointed and maintained.
Our biggest issue was with the internet. We purchased 25 hours for $25 and spent all our time trying to log in. Once we did the connection kept dropping. We saw others who had problems as well but still others had no problem at all. They tried to blame it on my I-pad but some with laptops had issues too. I think it was related to our distance from the WiFi tower.
I would like to go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away too far from beach"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Jan 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
675 people found this review helpful

The weather was great!

The first 3 days no hot water!
No hot food!
The rooms have these sensors lights that go on and off every 30 seconds. during the night if you moved your hand in bed the lights came on.
No ressers to put clothes in so you keep everything in suitcase.
5 minute walk to main lobby then maybe another 10 minutes to beach.
Not enough beach chairs and people would put their towels down on sand to lay on.
We were put into the new buildings at the back of the resort which we did not know about or enjoy.
This resort is not a 4 1/2 by any means.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube