Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA

4.2 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2013

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)  

Avenida Alemania S/N, EL Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana Dominican Republic

"Excellent Resort"
Posted by: Donald on Apr 12, 2013
see all reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews
Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Pictures and Information
Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#2
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.3

Based on 68 reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Information


Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) is a five star luxury resort that distinguishes itself by offering deluxe spacious rooms, fine dining and personalized service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.3 of 5 68 reviews
Excellent
  26
Very good
  32
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (32)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (1)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
11 - 20 of 68

"Outstanding Vacation"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eunice  on Dec 29, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
464 people found this review helpful

We returned for another fabulous vacation, this is the first time as Now Larimar; there were some changes mostly in staff but the overall experience was once again excellent. Marcelino Lora was very helpful and as always an excellent host. We did miss some of the staff but with the new company they brought their own people. We have seen three different names for this resort and this is the first time the staff has been very different. The only thing we experienced with the Now company is that they promote Time Share. We were approached the first day we got there but politely told the person we were not interested and were not bothered the rest of our stay. I would recommend this resort to all my friends; and have. Marcelino and his staff are very helpful and try to accommodate their entire client to the best of their ability

Room Number:
2342

Room Block:
2

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best !!!"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ghislaine  on May 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
642 people found this review helpful

Absolutely divine, clean, beautiful beach, great staff, great environment, great food, the best!!!

Room Number:
1135-1133

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolute paradise on earth!!"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Mar 19, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
682 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the NH Real Arena for March break last year and loved it so much, we returned this year. Again, we had an amazing week. The staff at this resort are perpetually happy, can't do enough for you, and pretty much guarantee a pampered week in which to rest, relax, soak up the sun, and enjoy quality family time.

We couldn't be so lucky as to repeat the picture-perfect weather we had last year. This year it rained every day, however, there were still long periods of hot sun and we all came back tanned. You know what they say, a bad day at the beach still beats a great day at the office.

Room Number:
2464 & 2466

Room Block:
Paradise Club

Arrival:
We were received at the Paradise Club reception area, served cool tropical drinks and re-oriented to the resort. We were travelling with our 2 teenage daughters and had made reservations for connecting rooms. When staff checked us in, we were told that we did not have connecting rooms. We didn't get angry or overreact but respectfully asked if there was anything they could do about this as we didn't feel comfortable having our young daughters in a separate room. Within minutes, we had our connecting rooms.

Rooms:
As mentioned, the rooms were in the Paradise Club section. Last year, we had the standard room and were actually very happy with that. The balcony for our rooms this year looked out on the hallways of the NH Royal Beach next door but we figured that our view options were limited in favour of the adjoining rooms so no complaints there.
Last year, we had a lovely view of the interior grounds.
Rooms come complete with double sinks in the bathroom, bar fridge, safe, nice large closet, lots of shelf/drawer space for clothes. The air conditioning always worked well, the maids took excellent care of us, and we had turn-down service nightly.
While there were some nice perks of Paradise Club, having stayed in both types of rooms, we would not pay extra for this. The rooms are a tiny bit larger but not noticeably so, you do have access to two private pools, however, to be honest, these were often frequented by an obnoxious group of guests so we preferred the main pool anyway. You do get free daily internet access and a lounge with snacks and drinks that is open all day/evening. Some will say that you get extra a la carte reservations with Paradise Club but I think that depends more on your tour operator. We ended up with Paradise Club because it was a free upgrade at the time we booked, however, the regular price would have been an additional $1,600 for the 4 of us - definitely not worth that price. When we go back, and we WILL go back, unless the upgrade is free, we will just book he standard room.

Restaurants and Bars:
We simply cannot understand the number of people saying that the food is awful. There is absolutely something for everyone. The a la cartes are excellent - the Asian the best -, and if you can't find something you like at the buffet, you're either very picky or intent on being dissatisfied. Felix and Noel, the omelette-makers, out-do themselves and always have a friendly greeting first thing in the morning. We have one daughter who is a vegetarian, one who can't eat dairy, and my husband and I are big meat-eaters - we were all happy with the food.
Frequented only the pool-side bars - friendly, fast, and great drinks. Say hi to Pablo! Take your Bubbas! These large, insulated cups are great for keeping drinks cold and last much longer than the wee plastic cups they serve at the bar - more environmentally friendly too!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Spectacular beach. One couple we met said that they preferred it over the beaches they went to in Hawaii. The pools and grounds are absolutely immaculate. You will see staff working on the lawns, flower beds, walkways, trees, beach and pool areas constantly - they do a really great job.
The sand is like flour!
Once you walk past your resort, you're fair game for the "salesmen" on the beach, trying to convince you to shop at their stall in the markets. This is fun once but not so much after that - you either feel like you're getting taken or ripping off someone in an impoverished country. When we go back, we plan to avoid the open markets and wait for the one day where the vendors set up stalls around the pool area of the resort - we got some really nice stuff for very reasonable prices. Bartering is an expectation. A beautiful jade and silver bracelet that I was initially told was $65US, I ended up getting for $15US.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We highly recommend the Segway tour. Guests are bussed 20mins. away to the Punta Cana Hotel where we were put on these battery-operated machines that are like 2-wheeled, high-powered scooters that you stand on while you whisk around the island and along the most picturesque coast and golf course. There's also a stop at the ecological reserve to see iguanas, turtles, etc. as well as a swim in a freshwater lagoon. We got this tour for $60US per person, rather than the originally cited $80.
Although we planned to participate in a lot more resort activities, ie. yoga, sailing, etc., we just couldn't tear ourselves away from lounging on the beach!
Our daughters went parasailing, as they did last year, and again thoroughly enjoyed it. The two of them went for $75.

Other Comments:
The NH Real Arena has become our "Happy Place", a truly beautiful place with gracious people, a magnificent beach, great food, nice rooms and a relaxing and hospitable vacation environment.
As of May 1st, it will be changing to the NOW Larimar Resort, owned by the Dreams/Secrets chain. We heard from staff that they are all keeping their jobs and that they are happy with the change. According to them, the resort will essentially remain the same but that you will no longer have to book reservations for the a la cartes or wear bracelets. We hope it remains affordable.
We miss you already NH - we'll be back!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Impressive"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul  on Mar 7, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
523 people found this review helpful

Nothing negative here.
What a place! We took all the upgrades(Paradise Club)and it was well worth it.
From the rooms, to the pools, to the beach, to the food, booze, service, every thing was great, including the weather.
We had an ocean view to wake up to every morning and then a tub on the balcony for morning coffee.
We wouldn't hesitate to go back there and we have been to the DR ten times to mostly high end places.
We could only suggest that they perhaps could put a full lenght mirror in the room some where so the ladies can check themselves out before hitting the fancy eateries.
A clock would be nice as well.
We never knew what time it was when we woke up.
I wouldn't believe anything negative you have read about this place.
I'm sure who ever beefed about this place had a personal axe to grind.
Did the snokelling/booze cruise and the Jeep Safari and both were a blast.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort was great"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Karen  on Mar 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
484 people found this review helpful

I can not say enough about this resort. The rooms were so clean, service and staff were just great, they work so hard and are always smiling. They could not do enough for you. Never had a bad meal, you could not go hungry, there was something for everyone. We plan to return next year.

Room Number:
1144

Arrival:
The check in was fast and very professional

Rooms:
The rooms were so clean you could eat off the floor

Restaurants and Bars:
I can not say one bad thing regarding the restaurants or the bars. The food was so good. The staff were so much fun. You have to go see Felix at the breakfast buffet. That man could can cook. What ever you want to drink go see Pablo at the beach bar that man can make you a good drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very Clean. The staff that works around the pool and beach were so much fun... Great activities

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Alot to choose from

Other Comments:
One of the best holidays we have every had.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We love this place"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  frank  on Nov 20, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
500 people found this review helpful

Six Time Guests: Excellent Resort-Very friendly staff and Managemnt. The Paradise Club Manager -Marcelino will do whatever he can to make your stay the best. Great food and one of the best beaches in Punta Cana (been to several) We look forward to our 7th stay in Jan 2011. Rooms are very clean and Houskeeping does a good job every day to keep it that way. Mr Avila the hotel manager is very easy to talk to if you do have a problem -you will be taken care of. Deloris and Frank , Toronto Canada

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing resort, wonderful time!"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Renee  on Sep 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
546 people found this review helpful

My family - myself, my husband and our 5 year old daughter stayed at this wonderful resort from August 27 to Sep 3. This is our 2nd time with NH Real Arena. We came here in 2008 when it first opened, we said we want to come back again, and we did this year. We will definitely go back next year!

Arrival:
We booked through Transat Holiday, and arrival was smooth and fast. A tour bus picked us up with tourists for other resorts. NH was the last resort to drop off tourists, so we have the opportunity to check out the other two - IFA and Melia. We end up thinking NH has the best resort groud.
We emailed NH's Room Manager - Roberto a few weeks before our arrival with our requests and inquiry about the cost for room upgrade. Roberto has been wonderfully prompt with his response and with the detail of his response! We arrived at the resort around 5:30 pm, and Ramon at the front desk was extremely helpful. We were pleasantly surprised that they have assigned the same room we stayed at in 2008. Apparently they have taken the time to check their record! We were even more pleased when Ramon presented us with the a la carte booking for the rest of the week! They have prebooked the 4 a la carte for us, which I didn't ask for. We thought we will have to book them when we arrived. Of course there were welcome drinks waiting for us.
We were then promptly cart away to our room.

Rooms:
We stayed at room 2347, which is the regular room. We thought of upgrading before we arrive to the Paradise Club, but once we found out we were given the same room as last time, we decided to keep it.
The room has a king size bed (we requested it), and they opened the sofa bed for us so our daughter can sleep in it. It's clean, bright and everything is functional. With hot water in the tub and shower, no problem with flushing and the air condition was cold and in full blast. There was no musky smell at all.
The mini fridge was well stocked. I wrote a notes asking for more diet coke, and for the rest of the week, we got at least 2 bottles stocked up in the fridge.
The regular room has an opening between the bathroom and the room. I know a lot of people are uncomfortable with this setting; however, we actaully love it!
They have a LCD TV, with tons of channels, both English and Spanish.
Our room is facing the pool, with partial view of the ocean, on 3rd floor of building 2. very close to the elevators.

Restaurants and Bars:
Roberto booked all 4 a la carte restaurants for us, but we ended up just going to the Asian and the Shore Grill since for the two other occassions our daughter decided to stay in the pool till almost night time. Both restuarants were good. The Asian restaurant has tapanyaki setting, and we were happy with the food and the dessert (fried ice cream). The Shore grill has good steaks and fishes.
We ate most of our dinner at the Festival Buffet. My husband actually said the food there was much better than 2 years ago! I'm a vegetarian, and I also found their selection of vegetable and fruit expanded. There were so many selections for you to choose from. Their dessert section definitely is a must visit!
For lunch, we always go to the buffet near the beach. They have charcoal grill pork chops, chickens, and seafood rice/noodles, with a selction of pizzas, grilled sandwiches, vegetables to choose from. They also have soft icecream too!
We mostly get our drinks from the pool bar, and we went to the lobby bar - Alisio twice too. The staff were so friendly and always have a smile on their face.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
What can I say about the pools and the beach of NH! Just one word - magnificent! They have 6-7 pools in total, all well kept and clean. I saw staff checking out the quiality of the water of each pool every morning and at dusk. Our daughter is learning to swim, so we ended up staying in the small pool (the farthest one from the beach) most of the time. It's quiet and we have the pool to ourselves most of the time!
We went to the beach several times over the week too. It's what I recalled from last time - long, wide with clean soft white sands. The surf for the first couple of days was choppy, this might due to hurricane Earl approaching. But after a day of rain, it's back to calm sea again. This year we found that they have put up a lot more "huts" on the beach, so no need to fight for a shade.
The ground has been kept immeculate all the time. We saw staff cutting grasses, trimming the vegetation all the time.
NH is not a resort that would have Salsa music blaring all day long. Instead, it's quiet and relaxing. At the buffets, both Festival and the shore one, they have very hip European music in the background.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went for the nightly entertainment 3 times. They start a bit late to my liking - 9:45 pm. We went for the Circus, the Multiplicity show, and the White theme show.
LOVE the Circus and the Multiplicity. On the night they were doing the Multiplicity show, it's on the day when Hurricane Earl was the closest to PC. We have the show at the roof top bar, and it's fun! They have an acrobat, magician and live music!
The Circus has the Cirque de Sole feel to it; and their acts were awesome! My daughter has so much fun just staring at their costumes and make up! Not to mention their acrobatic moves and mesmerizing singing.
You can see that the entertainment team put in a whole lot of effort to make sure everyone enjoy their shows. We definitely did!
They also have a hip and cool Spa - RAM. And their Gym is right beside the Spa with full equipments.

Other Comments:
I've already told Roberto we are going back next year. NH Real Arena is a marvelous resort, everyone work so hard to make sure all their guests are happy and satisfied. I have to say NH is great place for relaxing, not a partying resort. Maybe it's my bias, but NH is the best resort in PC!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not Good"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  charles  on Aug 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
532 people found this review helpful

We arrived on a Friday. Room was ready and we were upgraded to poolside room ground floor as promised if available. Resort and beach were pretty but it seemed to be a weekend resort for local dominicans , puerto ricans and cubans. The resort had very few American tourists. Consequently almost no english was spoken by the guests nor the hotel staff who seemed to cater to spanish speaking guests. The buffet was ok but lots of local spanish or dominican specialties. The ala carte restaurants were terrible with the exception of the Asian restaurant. We walked out of the ala cartes mid meal to eat at the buffet. The ground floor rooms were infested with mosquitos and the hotel had to fumugate the rooms three times during the week we were there. Although the beach was beautiful you were constantly harassed by local peddlers trying to sell you something. All in all the resort lacked a lot of class. It felt like a cheapie weekend retreat for the locals. We would not return again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved this place"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Aug 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
519 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
When we arrived at the airport we did not realize that we had to pay taxes. For the 5 of us it was over $60.

Rooms:
We were very impressed with the spaciousness of our room. It was very centrally located on the first level which made it easy to get to both the pools and restaurants. The walk out patio was very nice. Not sure if it was because the hotel was not very busy but sometimes our room was cleaned twice a day. My kids developed a very nice relationship with one of the house keepers and looked forward to her daily visit.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at both the Festival Buffet and the specialty restaurants but preferred the buffet because with kids it was hard to wait for your food. The food at the buffed was decent but the presentation was beautiful. There was always a large variaty to choose from. The kids enjoyed helping themselves.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were very pretty and always very well maintained. The beach was also very beautiful. However, during our visit there was a lot of seaweed on the beach which I hoped they would have cleaned up daily but they didn't. So it made the beach look "dirty:. But I understand that they can't control seaweed.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took advantage of the kayaks, windsurfing and katamerans. All of which were very fun. We also paid to go parasailing which was very much worth the money.

We also made reservations to go on the Marinarium. This was a 4 hour excursion that took us out to snorkel and swim with sharks and stingrays. This too was worth the money. A light lunch was provided with drinks and great entertainment. We got lucky because we went on a Monday and children are free on Mondays so we saved a lot of money. They even had a silly clown dancing around with a pupper and face painting. It kept the kids very entertained. At one point the boat lets you off to take a dip in the ocean. That was a great experience.

Other Comments:
Overall, we had a wonderful FIRST experence to Punta Cana. I was getting a little nervous right before our trip because of all the negative reviews I was reading about NH Real Arena. I can't say enough how friendly and professional the staff was. I felt very at home there and even got a little choked up when it was time to leave. After spending a few days there the staff was starting to recognize us and we felt very welcome.

The only negative comment I can make about this resort is that the nightly entertainment started rather late. Sometimes it was almost 10PM before it started. And with little kids it was a little too late. But the shows were always good and we didn't want to miss them.

Lastly, the kids club was great. The kids enjoyed playing with the things there. The staff in there was very friendly. It was nice to know that our kids were being well taken care of when they were in there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Honeymoon"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kyle  on Jul 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
484 people found this review helpful

Ill try and write a short and to the point review. We both were very satisfied with the resort it was great and we had a lot of fun. It was also our first carribean vacation. There were some things we could critique about the hotel but nothing to complain about. They did an outstanding job.

Your Arrival:
We arrived at the airport. The airport is very hot and busy. The apple vacation people were nice, they took us to the hotel. I was a bit apprehensive before we actually got into the lobby because of the area. You could see like poor carribean villagers and some piles of rubble and garbage piles then every so often you will pass some nicer resorts but can only see the gates. Once you get through the gates and get into the lobby, the lobby is very nice with fountains and....just nice. We booked the paradise club and for the little bit extra its really worth it....atleast to us. They seem to go out of thier way for you more and theres some extra amenities that are nice.

Rooms:
The rooms have marble like floors and are very fancy with nice showers. The beds prabably wernt the comfiest but they wernt terrible either. Ours was near the beach, but i was noticing some of the rooms were near the dance club and if you go to bed before 2 those rooms would be awful.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were great. Never had to walk more than 100 feet to have a drink put in your hand. My wife thought Roberto at the beach bar was amazing. If you didnt get the paradise club you might have to wait for drinks at some bars. They didnt have a good top shelf selection though....just some nice gin, disarrono and nice vodka. No high end tequila and only dominican rum. I Read a lot of reviews saying the food was bad. I think this was prolly a little black and white. There was food that was very very good and there was also food that wasnt very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were very nice and there was an army on people keeping them clean. Id just look at pictures. What I liked was you could windsurf kayak and katamaran all for free. The people who rent them out are quite rude though. The only people in the hotel I thought were. Beach chairs were quite packed, but beach wasnt. they had security guards keeping away the local peddlers so that was very nice to not be bothered by them. The water was nice. Prabably not the best ive seen in the whole of the carribean but just as good as any other in punta cana.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to the marinarium and the dolphin explorer. We had a great experience with the marinareum and a bad one with the dolphin explorer. The dolphin explorer was over priced, we missed a lot of the event because our driver kept us in the van for an hour while trying to find another couple at another resort. Then they wouldnt allow us to take pictures and charged an arm and a leg for thier own pictures. I implore you to not go on the dolphin explorer. The marinarium however was great. It was priced very well. We swam with sharks stingrays and in the coral with the fish and it was great. The people were extremely nice as well, we had a great time in this excursion.

Other Comments:
We had a great time and would go back again. All the staff were extremely courteous and they went out of thier way for you. I could critique some things, but nothing bothered me and we are both fairly picky customers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube