Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)

4.3 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA

4.2 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2013

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)  

Avenida Alemania S/N, EL Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana Dominican Republic

"very energetic animation team"
Posted by: mason on Sep 8, 2014
see all reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews
Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Pictures and Information
Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#1
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.3

Based on 69 reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Information


Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) is a five star luxury resort that distinguishes itself by offering deluxe spacious rooms, fine dining and personalized service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Reviews

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.3 of 5 69 reviews
Excellent
  27
Very good
  32
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (33)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (7)
With Spouse/Partner (17)
Solo
21 - 30 of 69

"Great Honeymoon"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kyle  on Jul 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
492 people found this review helpful

Ill try and write a short and to the point review. We both were very satisfied with the resort it was great and we had a lot of fun. It was also our first carribean vacation. There were some things we could critique about the hotel but nothing to complain about. They did an outstanding job.

Your Arrival:
We arrived at the airport. The airport is very hot and busy. The apple vacation people were nice, they took us to the hotel. I was a bit apprehensive before we actually got into the lobby because of the area. You could see like poor carribean villagers and some piles of rubble and garbage piles then every so often you will pass some nicer resorts but can only see the gates. Once you get through the gates and get into the lobby, the lobby is very nice with fountains and....just nice. We booked the paradise club and for the little bit extra its really worth it....atleast to us. They seem to go out of thier way for you more and theres some extra amenities that are nice.

Rooms:
The rooms have marble like floors and are very fancy with nice showers. The beds prabably wernt the comfiest but they wernt terrible either. Ours was near the beach, but i was noticing some of the rooms were near the dance club and if you go to bed before 2 those rooms would be awful.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were great. Never had to walk more than 100 feet to have a drink put in your hand. My wife thought Roberto at the beach bar was amazing. If you didnt get the paradise club you might have to wait for drinks at some bars. They didnt have a good top shelf selection though....just some nice gin, disarrono and nice vodka. No high end tequila and only dominican rum. I Read a lot of reviews saying the food was bad. I think this was prolly a little black and white. There was food that was very very good and there was also food that wasnt very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were very nice and there was an army on people keeping them clean. Id just look at pictures. What I liked was you could windsurf kayak and katamaran all for free. The people who rent them out are quite rude though. The only people in the hotel I thought were. Beach chairs were quite packed, but beach wasnt. they had security guards keeping away the local peddlers so that was very nice to not be bothered by them. The water was nice. Prabably not the best ive seen in the whole of the carribean but just as good as any other in punta cana.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to the marinarium and the dolphin explorer. We had a great experience with the marinareum and a bad one with the dolphin explorer. The dolphin explorer was over priced, we missed a lot of the event because our driver kept us in the van for an hour while trying to find another couple at another resort. Then they wouldnt allow us to take pictures and charged an arm and a leg for thier own pictures. I implore you to not go on the dolphin explorer. The marinarium however was great. It was priced very well. We swam with sharks stingrays and in the coral with the fish and it was great. The people were extremely nice as well, we had a great time in this excursion.

Other Comments:
We had a great time and would go back again. All the staff were extremely courteous and they went out of thier way for you. I could critique some things, but nothing bothered me and we are both fairly picky customers.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent!!!"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret  on May 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
532 people found this review helpful

My Boyfriend and I, with a couple of friends just arrived back from the NH Real Arena lastnight and I would go back tomorrow. We loved it, the Service, food, rooms, everything was wonderful. I would definitly suggust it to anybody! Go stay there, you will LOVE IT!!

Your Arrival:
We arrived around 12:30 pm at the hotel, got our room at 2:30. We booked the Le Mirage Deluxe and the room was excellent! The check-in was fast and the had drinks and snacks, a big screen TV and couches to lounge on to wait in the Le Mirage section of the checkout. The lobby was very nice!

Rooms:
We got to our room and it was a garden view near the midpoint between the lobby and beach but a gourgeous view of a fountain and palm trees and gardens. There was a giant hole in the wall, which was interesting and not a big deal to us but might be to other people if they are travelling with friends, not much privacy!! The other couple with us got the Le Mirage Concerige rooms, which are closer to the beach but don't have holes in the walls, They had to switch rooms to an upstairs floor because the room was very musty and damp. Upstairs is definitly better in that section, their second room was better.

Restaurants and Bars:
We didn't get to experience the A La carts, we had friends arriving 4 days after we did and we wanted to wait to book then. Well waiting was the wrong thing to do...BOOK YOUR A LA CARTS ASAP!! when you arrive at this hotel, they book up fast and they're not open all nights. Not a huge deal for us, but I wish I would have asked eariler, that was my fault. They have signs everywhere, at the entrance to the buffett and the lobby telling us what days they are open or closed. The Buffett was amazing tho, the had Oriental, Italian, dominican, international, mexican, and american nights. The food was always fresh and very tasty. Breakfast was to die for, Ommlettes, bacon, boiled eggs, lots of breads..everything. No shortage of great food!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was perfect! as it always is. the best and widest! Pools were awesome! pool bar seperate (which is wonderful cause im not a big drinker all day) Big pool and a seperate quiet pool behind that. Also, two pools on each side close to the beach with there own pool bars for the Le Mirage Conceriage. The grounds were very well taken care off. Flawless!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They had dancing, yoga and water arobics at the beach everymorning, but don't worry there was a quiet side too go if you just wanted to relax. There was also great fun at the pool everyday. The activities workers always were around having fun and getting people to join in on the fun. They were very good at their jobs.
The International entertainment was UNBELIEVABLE!!! AMAZING!! I've been to the DR from a 3+star to a 5 star and this, by far was the BEST ever!
Pre shows, beautiful singers. They had fire dancers, acrobats, dancers. Special people in the shows including, a Argentinan male dancer. Mexican Fire throwers. Cirque de Solie. And the disco tech was very fun and always full after the shows.

Other Comments:
This place was perfect and I would highly suggust it to anyone and I would go back myself in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Apr 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
364 people found this review helpful

This is the first time my husband and I have stayed at this resort. It will not be the last. The resort itself is not overly big which in my opinion is a plus. All of the people their were great they always had a smile and were very helpful. We were their for two weeks which normally my husband after 10 days says he wants to go home. Not this time. We are already anxious to book for next year. We did upgrade to Le Mirage it did give us a few extras and I found it was worth it.

Your Arrival:
The airport is a little hectic. Hold onto your luggage. I know they mean well but they pick up your luggage even if you only have to go a few feet and then the want a tip.
When we arrived at the resort we were plesantly surprised. They took us into a bar area had us fill out some forms got our bracelets and told us our room was not quite ready but did point us to the direction of the buffet area. Once finished off to the room we went.

Rooms:
The room was superior. Very clean, lots of towels and facecloths. The bed was very comfortable. We have stayed at other resort in Punta Cana and had the worst sleeping accommodations. Shower was out of this world, plenty of hot water and pressure to. The balcony overlooked both the pool and the ocean. It was very nice to sit outside and just relax.

Restaurants and Bars:
Our favorite was the Asian however they were all very good. We never went hungry. They have a buffet by the pool, their is a women their that makes cesar salad it was great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We changed from day to day beach one day pool the next. We never had a problem with chairs, however we are both early risers. They have several pools. I believe the one we went to was the main one. It was big and never seemed to be crowded. It was cleaned constantly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went for pure relaxation so did not participate in any activities.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this resort (which I already have) to anyone. Service, room food I felt everything was excellent.
It was one of the best holidays ever.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Time this time around"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
380 people found this review helpful

I will not say much about the flight except that it went smooth and Air Transat gave us champage and a hot meal.
Check in was quick and having been there before we knew where we were going. We wanted to give this resort another try and I am glad we did. We are a group of 4 couples that travel together. The rooms were still the same big, clean and still had that opening in the bathroom looking into the bedroom. I still do not like it but this time I expected it, so it was no big deal. The food at the buffet restaurant was really good. We always sat in the same section and Juan our waiter, who worked all the three shifts during our week there, had a table ready and champagne on ice for us. On the days that we went to the A la Carte we would always go back and have the champagne with dessert. We tried the Asian, good. The steak - good. Italian - good. We met one of the chefs an avid Soccer fan - as was our group - and one night he surprised us with a Lobster feast. They also had a fire grill by the beach restaurant and the food was very good.
There were the usual games in the pool, beach games, aerobics. As far as entertainment goes it is still very low keyed good for relaxing. In 2008 there was a keyboard player in the lobby bar and people danced. This time around there was not. The shows were basically the same as last time and some were very good. There was a bit more interaction between the animation staff. They would be at the Tahntra Disco Bar until about 1 am and dance with the guests. The disco would switch up between American disco and Latin music. The Sports bar would close at midnight. There was a bowling lane but you had to pay $10.00 per game. We had a great time this time because we knew what to expect. It is still not the type of Resort that one is used to in Punta Cana and therefore I will wait a few more years before I would return.
We spent our second week at the Iberostar Punta Cana - I will also write a review.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely magnificent two week stay."

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eunice  on Apr 13, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
356 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks and could not have been treated better. We have travelled to a lot of different islands and resorts and this is the best we have been treated. The room was beautiful, clean and great view of the pool and ocean. My husband celebrated his birthday there and we were presented with a lobster dinner, balloons, cake and wine. The staff at his resort is extremely friendly and helpful. They were so greatful when you tipped them, even if it was only a dollar, you would have thought they had received a hundred dollars. This is the second time we have been to this resort and are planning on returning in the fall again. The tours we went on were exciting and went very smooth. The staff at the towel/excursion hut at the beach are the greatest, they do as much as possible for you to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The conceirce staff are fabulous and extremely busy all the time. My only comment is that some people who stay here think they are better than the staff who work there and as far as I am concerned we are all the same and should be treated equally. During our stay we observed a lot of rude people who were constantly complaining about trivial and stupid things and being disrespectful to the staff. The resort was full and the staff were constantly on the go, some even working their days off and 15 hours or more. I would like travellers to take the time and think about what they are complaining about the next time they go on a trip and ask themselves if their complaint is really worth complaining about.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"NH Real Arena...NH Really Amazing"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane  on Apr 11, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
354 people found this review helpful

Overall for the price we paid we were very pleased with NH Real. We booked "Le Mirage" through transat holidays with our Travel Agent at tripcentral in Bedford, NS. Didn't see the need to upgrade to "Conceirge". Although we would upgrade to the NH Royal (adults only) if we return here. We are a married couple, aged 50 & 55. This trip was all about rest & relaxation. I booked NH Real because the beach and rooms sounded great (and they were). Here is our detailed review of the NH Real Arena:

Your Arrival:
We departed Halifax on Friday April 2 at 6:45am on Canjet. Flight uneventful and arrived at PUJ airport on time. Passed in our Immigration cards and got our passports stamped at the airport counter, through security...then unto pick up our luggage. Wait wasn't very long. Boarded the bus and enjoyed the short daytime ride to resort (only 20 minutes).
The entrance to the resort is very plain and minimalistic. The inside lobby is quite dark with all of the dark colours and wood. Very Zen looking with incense burning most of the time. We rather liked it....the clean, open, spacious feel. If you like a rustic, jungle-type property....this isn't it.
Having booked "Le Mirage" we were able to access the private Paradise Club Lounge. We checked in there actually. They offer a small bar, coffee, water, soft drinks, fruit, sandwiches, snacks, a nice seating area, internet access and always had staff on hand to assist. We arrived around noon and our room wasn't ready, so we changed and headed to the beach...Wow! After a look around and a cold drink we checked on our room status again and it was ready at 1:00 for us...so off we went with the porter and our luggage.

Rooms:
I had emailed the NH Real one week before we arrived requesting a poolview room. I never received a response back from them but we did get our poolview room. We were Room # 2143. The Punta Cana building, ground floor, Rm. 43. Very well appointed rooms with a nice big shower, separate toilet area with a frosted glass door, large whirlpool tub and the "infamous" hole-in-the-wall....it was a non-issue for us. I enjoyed soaking in the tub and watching TV at the same time. Adequate drawer & closet space. The safe is free. Iron came in handy twice. We did bring along extra hangers since you don't get many. We packed facecloths but they do have them....the maid finally gave us some after a few days.
Room had a king bed (very firm), 3 pillows, a small sofa, coffee table, armchair, bureau with 4 drawers, desk & chair, 2 nightstands with drawers.
We thought the rooms were spacious. There is a terrace outside. Rooms do have coffee makers. Mini fridge stocked daily with beer, Coke, Coke Lite, Sprite & water.
The only issue we had with our room was mosquitos coming in when housekeeping was cleaning. The slippers provided made a good flyswatter....lol! No big deal but I think an upper floor would be better!

Restaurants and Bars:
We mostly used the Festival Buffet for our meals. Selection was quite good. Yummy omelets for breakfast. Lots of fresh fruit available at all mealtimes. I was pleased to see plenty of salad veggies. Usually had 2 types of lettuce, arugula, ripe tomatoes, cucumbers, shredded carrtots & beets, onions etc.
Carving stations had turkey, fish, ham etc. Had grilled shrimp a few times. They had nice stuffed baked potatoes one night. Lots of hot vegetables.
We thought the bread was very good. Nice dessert selection and ice cream. The service in the buffet was very good. But we found the staff very friendly and helpful.
We usually lunched at the Beach Restaurant. They have a large BBQ grill set up everyday outside offering chicken, beef, fish, fried rice etc. Inside they have hamburgers, hot dogs, assorted meats, veggies, salad & desserts. It is best to go early when they open at noon...it is hard to find a table at around 2 when it is busiest. Somedays I just made up hamburgers and wrapped them in napkins to take back to our beach chairs.
We only booked 2 a la carte restaurants. The Shore Grill - fair-good. We had the shrimp wrapped in bacon and the ribeye. The meal starts with an appetizer of nachos & a few chicken wings. Tasted ok but never warmer than room temperature. Other folks we talked to said the same. I think they must prepare them ahead of time and just serve them 'as is'. Then came a ceasar salad...good but had at least qtr. cup of dressing poured on top of it. Even asked for dressing 'on the side' but still received the salad the same way.
The shrimps were good but the ribeye was quite fatty. It tasted good...you just had to cut off all the fat first. It came with a baked potatoe.
Dessert was a small cheesecake topped with a brownie & white chocolate decoration....very good. There is definate room for improvement at the Shore Grill Restaurant.
Our second restaurant choice was the Asian-Tapanki - Good. We were seated at the cooking station and enjoyed the sushi, fried crispy onions & soup as an appetizer. The busboy was over-enthusiastic and absconded with my husbands soup and onions....we light-heartedly teased him when he returned and laughed it off. The main course was fried rice with egg & veggies, shrimp, chicken & beef...all good. We then were ushered to a large table for a dessert of fried ice cream. Overall we enjoyed this meal but felt a bit rushed. Although we understand the need to have the next seating on time...we felt that an offer of coffee with dessert would have been nice.
After speaking to a few of the staff...they suggested that the French restaurant, Senses offers the best meal of all, they recommend the beef tenderloin......have to remember if we go here again. Anyone should be able to find a decent meal at this buffet unless they are super-picky.
NH Real also has a sports bar that opens at 5pm (I think). It has a couple pool tables, popcorn machine & a bowling alley ($10 per game to bowl) And a few TV's.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach...the reason we chose this resort...and it is gorgeous. We love to take long walks and this fit the bill perfectly. Waves not too big, soft white sand, no rocks. I love this beach.
Yes...the towel game is in 'full-force' here. There were a couple mornings that you still could get chairs at around 8:30-9:00 but most mornings we had to get up around 6 and claim our palapa. Then back to the room for an early coffee on the patio...breakfast at 7:00...then hit the beach for the day. There are not as many palm trees on this area of beach so the palapas provide the most shade. We only encountered a problem on one day when a family of 5 parked themselves under our palapa. They never moved or touched our chairs..they just decided to squeeze under with us....we said "Hello" but got absolutely no response from either him or her. They just turned their heads away from us and kept talking in French. I thought "Hello" was a fairly universal word! We have galdly shared our shade before but were asked first. To be totally ignored I thought was a deliberate insult to my husband and myself. Yes...we ended up moving. It was just too darned uncomfortable and weird to stay there with them.
The pool wasn't used much by us since we're beach people. I found it a bit too noisy and too many kids. Very hard to get a chair with shade at the pool. I didn't even try.
The grounds are very nice. A few more years will see the plants and shrubs mature and more flowering vines. Overall very tidy, clean grounds. One suggestion would be for the resort to provide a few benches or seating areas around the grounds. We enjoyed a stroll every evening but found nowhere to sit and jusy enjoy the atmosphere. We didn't like sitting in the central courtyard because it smells of smoke from cigarettes eventhough it is open air, it is enclosed on all four sides by the buildings.
One afternoon we watched a maintenance worker scrub the beach rocks around the base of the palm trees by hand. He had a wheelbarrow with soapy water in it and a scrub brush...we went to the bar and got him two cold drinks. Smiles & handshakes were exchanged and we wondered what he'd make of our 'gas powered high-pressure washer' at home!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't take any tours this trip. We only went for rest & relaxation this time. Shopping is an adventure in itself here. The prices at the hotel gift shop are very expensive. One small tube of sunscreen = $26 us. Thankfully, we bought plenty from home.
We did want to purchase coffee and rum to take home and I found directions on the internet (can't remember where from originally) to the Supermarcado behind Captian Cook's restaurant in Cortecito. Overall their prices were about half of what the hotel gift shop wanted. We bought 6 large bags of Santo Domingo coffe @ 105 pesos each (hotel price 300) The best Dominican Rum 368 pesos (hotel price 575) Pringles 86 pesos (hotel price 150) Overall our shopping cost us $55.00 us for everything. Hotel shop would have charged us over $100 us for the same purchases.
To find the supermarket....looking out at the ocean, turn left. The walk is about 25-35 minutes down the beach. Go past the restaurant that sticks out in the water about another 5 minutes...watch for Captain Cook sign. Turn in right beside Captain Cooks and walk through the alley. Be careful crossing a small paved road, as there are lots of motorbikes. The doors to the supermarket are right there. You should see a few metal carts outside the door. It is a real grocery store with set prices.
The vendors along the way are very persistant! Be firm but polite. Don't believe what they tell you! We mistakenly told them we were looking for the Supermarcado....and twice we were told that they was no supermarcado up there and we could buy from them...ha ha ha!
As for the entertainment....we have no comment on this aspect of the trip. We never saw one show. We were usually in our room by 9:30-10:00. The shows didn't start until 9:45. Didn't use the Tantrah Bar upstairs either.

Other Comments:
I must mention the service at this hotel...we were very impressed with the level of service we received. We thought it was the best we have ever had at any resort we've been to.
We never felt any pressure to tip however we did when we felt it was appropriate.
Being a 'curious' person I wandered over to the NH Royal one day and had a walk around their pool area. I didn't know that I wasn't allowed. I just wandered by and entered the property. The swimming pool is fantastic! It is a lazy river type. The lower level rooms all have sun lougers outside their patio doors right on the edge of the pool. It's almost like having a swim-out room. It's nice & quite, adults only and you have access to all the NH Real facilities & restaurants. And no kids allowed the Royal beach.
If we go back to this resort it would be to the Royal section for sure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort and Beach, Excellent Food and Great Service"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on Apr 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
376 people found this review helpful

This was our eighth trip to the Caribbean and first time in Punta Cana. We are experienced travelers and put a lot of thought into our choice of resort. We were looking for a nicely designed, quiet resort, not too large, with good food and service. This is the nicest resort we have found to suit our requirements.

NH Real Arena is a very well planned resort, with everything in close walking distance. It is also very stylish and sophisticated, with quality materials, contemporary furnishings and beautiful colour accents. Nothing is over decorated or quaint. The quality of the design contributes to the calm and restful character of the resort.

Ideal weather with not a drop of rain and temperatures up to 33 degrees C made our week perfect.

Your Arrival:
Travel Agent: Yourtraveltickets.com
Tour Company: Transat Holidays
Airline: Canjet

We arrived very late at night. Punta Cana airport customs was very quick and easy to get through. The hotel reception was very efficient. A bellboy took us to our room in an electric cart. Our bags were delivered minutes later.

The welcome meeting the next morning was quick and efficient, no long sales pitch for out-trips. The Transat reps were great, always available and very helpful.

Rooms:
Our Deluxe room was beautifully decorated in a minimalist spa style. There was a comfortable king size bed, flat screen TV, stocked mini bar, ironing board and iron and room safe at no extra charge. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub, with window looking into the room, large separate tiled shower and separate toilet stall. The balcony was spacious and had quality rattan-type chairs and a table.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Festival Buffet has the best buffet food we have had. The selection changes somewhat everyday, even at breakfast. Dinner is a different theme every night. We really never felt like it was the same old thing. On the Asian night there was sushi and very good California rolls, complete with soya sauce, wasabi and pickled ginger. Desserts were fabulous. There is a Cappuccino machine, always fresh juices and yogurt smoothies for breakfast. You can even have champagne and mimosas for breakfast if you want. We have been to resorts where people had to line up to get into the buffet house and then line up to be served. We never experienced that here, even though the resort was full booked for March break.

We ate most of our lunches at Los Alos, the beach grille. Here there is a large outdoor grille, where they make excellent paella one day, fajitas the next, delicious grilled chicken and pork. Los Alos has a large covered area and an outdoor deck with umbrellas. It is busy at lunch time, but we always found a table and had good service.

There are four specialty restaurants and three reservations were included with our package. We chose Senses: French/Gourmet, Cinque Terra: Italian, and the Shore Grill: Steak House. We thought they were very good by Caribbean standards. Senses is certainly the best, with a very contemporary Philippe Stark inspired interior.

There are two main bars, Alisio's - off the front lobby, and the pool/beach bar. Alisio's has a bar menu, and a special drink of the day every night. Try the NH Special or the Bougainvillea. Service was very good and much quicker than at large resorts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Bavaro beach is the reason you go to Punta Cana, and the NH Real Arena has a very nice deep section of beach with white sand, turquoise water and coconut palms swaying in the breeze. Add a nice shady palapa and a drink and it's pretty close to paradise! There are lots of palapas, but those closest to the water are reserved very early in the morning. By about 9:30am they're all taken.

The pools are beautiful. There are plenty of dark rattan style lounge chairs and tiled loungers built right into the water. With +30 degree weather, lounge chairs in the shade are reserved very early in the morning.

The grounds are also beautifully maintained with an in ground sprinkler system keeping the lawns green. The rooms are in four storey buildings with elevators, arranged on either side of a central garden. This means that everything is very close and all buildings are linked by covered walkways. At one end of the garden is the beach and at the other end is the lobby, buffet, restaurants and a palm filled courtyard, which serves as an outdoor lounge before dinner and as an outdoor theatre in the evening.

Other Comments:
Staff were very friendly and helpful. There are beach aerobics in the morning and pool aerobics in the afternoon, but the animation was very discreet and never noisy.

We would definitely go back to NH Real Arena and would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a calm and relaxing spa-like holiday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DO NOT FLY WITH TRANSAT HOLIDAYS OR STAY AT NH REAL ARENA (formerly EdenH)"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  K & J  on Mar 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
312 people found this review helpful

HORRIBLE TERRIFYING HOTEL EXPERIENCE BLATANT MISREPRESENTATION BY TRANSAT HOLIDAYS! From time we boarded plane sat in our pre-paid seats including entire week stay at this hotel-hell to when plane left runway to come home it was like very bad nightmare!You know the stories you hear that happened to other people & you find them a little hard to believe? Believe them because they happened to us. To start: pre-booked/paid for seats with transat rep guaranteeing quick access/use of washrooms in front of plane(medical reasons)-was forced to use rear plane bathrooms. 5 pieces of wilted, stale fruit on plate and pee-warm bottle of rot-gut champagne was our 25th anniversary welcome gift. On first day was served one drink from private pool bar and was totally incapacitated within 30 minutes displaying ALL symptoms which indicated having been roofied-this was at 4 in the afternoon and was the first drink at this bar! After becoming violently ill,losing bodily control & collapsing in room someone attempted to enter our room while I was propped over a wastebasket on the bed and husband was in shower washing off my vomit from his body. Trip continued downhill from there! Being charged extra $ for already paid for "upgraded inclusions", bars running out of glasses, straws, ice, mix, alcohol and all but two closing by 10 pm! No water in our mini-bar even when we replaced it ourselves-it would vanish! So-called staff coming into our room numerous times per day.We were walked in on at least 4-5 times! Arranged tour from hotel concierge-after waiting two hours to be picked up we were then dropped off and left with no ride back and no info as to when driver would be back! Took a cab back with 3 other couples. Had dope smokers on either side of our balcony so unable to use our jacuzzi-told to call security and they would be taken to jail! We were not there to send anyone to jail! Told we could move to another room-with no guarantee where it would be located. Once neighbors checked out discovered our jacuzzi drain wouldnt keep water in! Refused use of kayaks because I was carrying snorkel gear and underwater camera! Numerous phone calls and room visits in middle of night. Hotel tried to charge us for our complimentary late check out which was arranged by transat reps due to the horrible experiences we had there-verbal battle ensued with concierge-key card was disabled. On way home, Transat airport personnel first tried to confiscate our souvenirs stating we weren't allowed to take wood products-all painted/finished pieces, then charged us for extra weight-had our own scale and we WERE NOT over limit, they mixed up our bag tags and interrogated a poor young woman while ripping bags open and cutting open all our packages of coffee. Then security came on board the plane wanting our passports for no reason other than we had coffee in our bags!

Your Arrival:
Were made to feel as though we were inconveniencing the concierge with our check in! He was not friendly or welcoming at all in fact quite cool and abrupt.

Rooms:
Room was OK-Not able to use the balcony due to "neighbors" on their balcony smoking dope at all hours(morning, noon, evening, middle of night). Waste of money for an upgraded package as most of the "extra perks" were never received or they tried to charge us extra for them!

Restaurants and Bars:
A la Cartes were nothing special. Serving staff seldom would speak to you or even make an attempt to talk to you. Sit-eat-leave was the atmosphere.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful as was the weather. Witnessed a child vomiting profusely in the children's pool while the mother watched and other children splashed about! She then patted him on the back and they walked away-she didn't notify any staff to clean it up. It was disgusting!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE MARINARIUM! If you do go, take a big knife to cut through the rope cages and free these poor creatures! We really weren't prepared for the conditions these poor creatures are subjected to!
DO NOT BOOK SHOPPING TRIP TO MUNDE AUTENTICO through concierge--they promise to take you there and bring you back...they do not tell you that you are dropped off and left there for more than two++ hours-for a shopping trip that is done in 15-20 minutes!
DO BOOK WITH PUNTA CANA MIKE AND BE SURE TO TAKE SCHOOL SUPPLIES! THIS WAS THE ONLY POSITIVE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP!!

Other Comments:
The few incidents described are only a few highlights from our hotel-hell NH Real Arena experience! We also heard experiences of ER visits from families with children who became very ill at this hotel. In fact we heard several very negative experiences from those staying at this hotel--tourists FROM CANADA, USA, BRAZIL, etc!

NH REAL ARENA IS NOT A 4-1/2 STAR LUXURY RESORT AS PROMOTED BY TRANSAT HOLIDAYS! The all inclusive is NOT all-inclusive.

Transat flight director filed a verbal and written complaint and insisted we do same. WE SUBMITTED A 5 PAGE HAND WRITTEN (done on plane)COMPLAINT FOR THE FLIGHT DIRECTOR AS WELL AS A 7 PAGE TYPED COMPLETE REPORT FAXED TO TRANSAT HOLIDAYS AND OUR TRAVEL COMPANY. WE HAVE WAITED FOR > 2 MONTHS FOR A REPLY AND JUST TODAY TRANSAT REFUSES TO ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY OF OUR HORRIBLE EXPERIENCES WHICH OCCURRED AT THE NH REAL ARENA! I QUOTE: "AS A TOUR OPERATOR WE MUST CONSIDER THAT YOU RECEIVED AND BENEFITED FROM THE COMPONENTS OF YOUR PACKAGE." When booking the trip the brochures and fine print didn't mention being drugged and set up for a possible robbery as part of our trip component!

IF YOU ARE FROM THE CANADIAN PRAIRIES P-L-E-A-S-E DO NOT BOOK/FLY with TRANSAT HOLIDAYS- they have proved to us they do not take care of their customers during or after their vacation!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you want a vacation in paradise, book the NH Real Arena!"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Mar 21, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
285 people found this review helpful

Just came back from a heavenly week with my husband, and 15 and 13 yr. old daughters. Regarding the many bad reviews we read prior to leaving for our trip, we just kept shaking our heads, throughout the week, because we couldn’t figure out what people had to complain about. We heard a few people complaining, about minor things, and can only say that they sounded like the type of people who wouldn’t be happy with anything.


Tips that we appreciated:
taking “Bubbas” for our drinks!
a couple of candles for the room works wonders for any musty smells. The must is NOT a reflection of a bad resort but the humid reality of the tropics.
While gratuities are included in the package price, as mentioned above, these people work incredibly hard to achieve a standard of living far lower than we take for granted. We tipped the housekeeping and bar restocking staff a dollar each a day in addition to leaving a few small trinkets we picked up at the dollar store before we left home - jewelry, stationery, hair stuff, etc. - and they treated us like royalty.
Take LOTS of sunscreen! Our family of 4 went through 3 spray cans and 3/4 of a bottle of cream in one week. If we would have had to buy a bottle at the hotel, it was $30.00US.
We booked our a la carte dinners immediately after we checked in and had no problems booking what we wanted and when.

Make the effort to learn a little bit of basic Spanish before you go. While most of the staff speak English quite competently, they appreciate the effort and will go out of their way to make communication easy.


Rooms:
The rooms are nicely laid out and we had a beautiful view of the resort and the ocean.
One really nice surprise, for those of you with concerns about the “open concept” window in the bathroom, they obviously got the message that this is not a welcome thing for families or non-couples sharing a room. The window now has a pane of glass in it with a painted floral mural on it. This still allows light to filter in but provides complete privacy.

Restaurants and Bars:
With regard to the food, there’s something for everyone. I highly recommend the beef sirloin at Senses, the ribeye steak at the Shore Grill, and the Asian a la carte is a fabulous experience - we’re glad we saved it for our last night. The daily buffets have dishes to suit appetites from the bland to the adventurous.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort grounds and facilities are absolutely immaculate. I never figured out how they kept the pools so spotless as we never saw staff actually cleaning them but you couldn’t find so much as a grain of sand in them - they must clean them at night! The staff are some of the friendliest people in the world and boy do they work hard.
The beach is absolutely heavenly! The sand is like flour and they keep it so clean and well-tended. In addition, there’s an absolute sense of security there with security guards patrolling 24/7. The palapas (reed-covered huts on the beach) do get claimed quickly - many people put towels on them by 7:30am but we found that there were some still available at 8-8:30. Even when they had all been claimed, we could always find enough lounge chairs by the pool and would just hang out there until a palapa became available, often by mid-afternoon.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Explorer dolphin excursion was an incredible, once-in-a-lifetime experience!

The excursion to Saona Island is absolutely beautiful - this is where they filmed the Brooke Shields movie “Blue Lagoon” and I cannot imagine a more perfect place on earth.

The beachside flea markets can be a fun bit of Dominican culture or a nuisance, depending on your personality. Most vendors are respectful of a polite but firm, “No, gracias” but some can be quite pushy. Negotiating prices is an expectation and we were advised by our Turinter rep. that you can usually take off 30-50% for the first offer and then inch up from there. We would just decide before starting, what we were willing to pay, offer it as a final, and prepare to walk away. This worked well but I think most important is to aim for what’s fair to you as a tourist and to the vendor who is trying to make a living.

Other Comments:
Long review, I know, but I so appreciated all of the many reviews I pored over that helped us plan what turned out to be the perfect vacation! If you are planning a trip to this resort, are respectful of the people whose country you are visiting, and accept that you are going, in part, to experience a different culture and not duplicate the one you live within, then I have no doubt that you will have an incredible vacation. Enjoy!! We are already planning our next trip back and will be returning to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't do it"

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)
User Rating:  Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  william  on Mar 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
319 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from this resort on March 8th. We arrived on March 1st and were scheduled to stay until the 10th. We daparted 2 days early!!!

Your Arrival:
We were greeted, checked in and brought to our room. Originally, we were to have a Deluxe Garden Room view.

I asked about an upgrade to Priemere Room which was given to us at an additionla cost of $25.00 per night. Don't waste your money!

Rooms:
The room smelled of mildew. The mini bar, that was in each room according to the website, consisted of an empty refrigerator.

Phoned down to room service have beverages sent up. a half hour later the so called mini bar was stocked with 4 sodas, 3 beers and 2 bottles of water. If we wanted additional items, there would be an addtional charge. What happened to ALL INCLUSIVE!!

My sister arrived this past Saturday as a surprise. She took a Garden Roon which was much nicer that the one my wife and I were in. The bathroom was actually inclosed.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet had plenty of offerings and overall wasn't bad. The grill at pool side was also good.

There so called specialty resturants, if you could even get a reservation because they are alwyas supossidly booked, is a waste of time.

My wife and I had dinner the second night there at the Italian Restaurant. We were given a small porion of anti-paste and a small seansoned strip steak. On to the buffet to completed the meal. If your looking for italian foof in thier italian restaurant, forget it.

Third night we had dinner at their steak house. I had a rib eye that wan't even edible. Tough and had a tail of pure fat on it. Back to the buffet.

My wife had baby back ribs that were under cooked which led to an illness the next day.

The bar service was poor no matter where you went in the resort. We upgraded so we would have access to the private pool and bar. Robert at the private bar had 0 customer service skills and was slow. Service was much better at the regular pool bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ig the only good thing about this resort. Beach, pools and grounds were very well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Poor

Other Comments:
I have traveled throughout the carribean and this resort is far from being a 5 star resort.

I found the staff very rude an uncarring after learning that my wife had fallen ill. It took hour for room service to bring up a simple bowl of steamed rice, for which they were looking to charge me extra for.

The Doctor was very caring and showed a lot of human compassion. Of course she was not an employee of the resort.

Although we wiould probably travel back to the Domincan, it would not be at this resort.

I would strongly reccommend that anyone that is looking to stay here, find another reort, you'll be much happier.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube