Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

The Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa

4.5 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2013

The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium

4.4 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 19, 2012

Now Larimar Punta Cana (NH Real Arena)

4.3 based on 68 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 12, 2013

Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & SPA

4.2 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 6, 2013

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)  

Ave. Alemania, S/N, El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana

"top notch resort"
Posted by: desmond on Jun 15, 2014
see all reviews

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Reviews
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Pictures and Information
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#20
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 4.3

Based on 6 reviews

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Information


The magnificent contemporary style of the Secrets Royal Beach (NH Royal Beach), combined with unparalleled décor grants you a touch of distinction that will make you feel the perfect harmony of this location on the finest Caribbean beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Reviews

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Review: 4.3 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
1 - 6 of 6

"top notch resort"

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)
User Rating:  Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  desmond  on Jun 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
24 people found this review helpful

First of all let me say that the building or the resort is beautiful and incredible with beautiful landscape. The place is constantly clean as you will always see the cleaning crew always cleaning and making the place spotless. The resort is incredibly maintained with very polite staff, there are varieties of restaurants to visit here and the drinks kept coming. The staff was amazing especially the guy at the beach grill who was amazing and always smiling. The staff members working at the pool bar and the buffet were all nice and took pride in their jobs which is rare. The beach here is large and clean without shells and rocks and all that stuff in it. With the many events lined up during the day, you will enjoy your stay here and not have to worry how the day goes. The rooms are beautiful, they were large and spacious with very comfortable and soft beds, and the bathroom was clean and spacious with hot water supply. The animation and entertainment staff did an unforgettable job as they did their best to make sure that the shows and events were very engaging. The lobbies and bars at this restaurant are very relaxing and calm, you can just go and sit and have a quiet nice time. The spa and gym was great for relaxing and working out and it was great. I highly recommend this hotel to you as I did not have a bad experience here, over all, this resort is top notch and I will be come back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific Resort"

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)
User Rating:  Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sandra  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
793 people found this review helpful

Had the pleasure of joining a group of friends from Canada at the NH Royal Beach. The resort is beautiful, the service was outstanding, the staff was incredible and the food was consistently delicious. The beach was glorious although a bit weedy for my liking. I would highly recommend this resort for couples (it is adults only) and groups. Loved it.

Room Block:
5000

Arrival:
Feb 15, 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"7 timers to nh hotels"

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)
User Rating:  Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  frank  on Feb 9, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
798 people found this review helpful

We just return'd fr a wonderful 2 week holiday at NH Royal Beach. We could not have been treated better. Excellent weather, perfect beach,great food and a whole lot of nice people taking care of anything and everything we wntd. The servers in the buffet restaurant made all our meal very enjoying (Maguel,Felix and Jose to just name a few. The Alacarte restaurants were very nice. Hostess's Angela and Erika gave us a nice welcome to the Gourmet and Asian restaurants to start off some very nice meals. Pool Bar was a lot of fun to be at as Dewar the bar tender is very funny. We will be returning for our 8th vacation soon. Deloris and Frank, Toronto

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would not stay there again"

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)
User Rating:  Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Dec 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
793 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the NH Royal from November 24 - December 1, 2010. This is our 7th trip to Punta Cana and have stayed at several different resort including the NH Arena.

The Royal was not that good. The food at the buffet was always cold and the lights in the restaurant were turned down. The rooms were fine. The internet is a scam - they don't tell you that you have to use all your minutes at the same time when you buy it ($4.00 for 15 minutes). When I questioned them about it, they said talk to your tour company, when I talked to the tour company, they said talk to the hotel, and around and around we went. This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel but we would rate it from 3 - 4. We ended up eating most of the time at the NH Arena. There are several very nice hotels to stay at in Punta Cana and we definately won't be staying here again.

Rooms:
fine

Restaurants and Bars:
cold food and poor lighting

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not much for activities but you can go next door

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place is perfect for a week of relaxation"

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)
User Rating:  Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heather  on Apr 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
792 people found this review helpful

We liked NH Royal - a lot. We have lots of experience in Punta Cana - always Adult Only and always 5 star, allowing us to gauge the place in a field of it's peers. It is rated 4.5 which made us nervous but, alas, all was totally acceptable at NH Royal. It has some really good points.

Good drinks with good service - premiums almost always available. Beach bar, pool bar and lobby bar. There seems to be only wine and beer in the dining room but I cannot say for certain - we did not order anythign other than wine. They had wonderful Spanish wine (red) for the first three days - rare in PUnta Cana it seems and then...they ran out and cases of this horrible stuff arrived. It was Chilean and just really... awful. We requested that they find us some of the good Spanish stuff from the previous days and they willingly complied. Once we got it, we really enjoyed the Spanish house wine.

Great spot. Pack your thermal cup, your air mattress and head on down to NH ROyal for a week of complete relaxaion and healthy living. We loved it. All six people in our group concurred that this was a keeper on the "Where To This Time list."

Your Arrival:
Good. NO fan fare - just checked in and that was that. Room was not ready but it was only 11:15 am so that was to be expected. Pool and bar were open so - vacation started immediately!

Rooms:
The room, which surprised us by having two double beds instead of a King, was lovely. Lots of excellent drawers and storage space; a fabulous bathroom with sep toilet room and bidet. Each balcony has a jetted tub outside (YEP!) and inside the bathroom there was a large shower - really an efficient and wonderful set up. All the grooming products provided were of nice quality. Some funny things - no deal breakers or anything but the 2 bathrobes that were provided..oh my gosh - teeny tiny - we had some laughs over that. Ladies, bring your own unless you are a size 4! I don't want to travel with any man that can fit into that little robe!

The only complaint I have (no biggie) is that the rooms are (sometimes - 3 times during our stay) cleaned far too late in the day. When I returned to my room at 5:15 to shower and rest the maids came calling to do their daily work. We turned them away and just asked for clean towels but...that could be improved for sure. There is a rather predictable routine in a resort and nobody wants their room cleaned at 5 pm.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main dining area is at the beach. Wow. Views and breezes - you really cannot beat that. You can sit inside (AC) or outside (ocean view and breeze). The food in the main dining facility is inside a well air conditioned glass room - separated from the dining sections with automatic sliding doors. This keeps things cool and fresh; the food offerings were extremely esthetic and appealing. The food is good - lots of variety - a cook-to-order section allows you to select meat and fish and wait for custom orders or you can select from the various pre-cooked selections. We felt great, we ate well and although not overly inspiring on a general basis there were some very interesting and unusual things available - cavier served in silver spoons and other modern twists. This is a small resort so the food selection and area are smaller - as would be expected. We looked forward to the seafood extravaganza night in the buffet (once a week apparently) but received notice it was cancelled on our week so..no report on that. There are a la carte options in the NH - Pure which is very funky inside and offers a fixed menu of seven courses and then the Mexican Restaruant which is actually a portion of the main dining facility, cordoned off and offering a menu and a small Mexican based appetizer buffet that you select your aps from. It allows you to select eating inside or outside and we really enjoyed this feature. The pounding surf and setting sun are hard to beat for atmosphere so.. it made the food, which was excellent, seem even better. Cudos on the design of the Mexican restaurant concept. We ventured into the main sister resort next door and found the noise, temperatures and people overwhelming after our quiet little oasis so, following a good Asian dinner, we did not venture out again.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools are wonderful. Bring a blow up float to enjoy the lazy river. There were six people in our group and we had many floating sessions - around and around the large pool area. The swim up bar is in a separate and yet visually joined pool.

If you have mobility problems this might not be the resort for you. To get to the beach you much walk up-and-over several (*7 maybe) - bridges which cross the lazy river. There is a method of travelling inside using the hallways so a wheelchair could certainly be used on that route - wide hallways are great and sparkling clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
If you want rock and roll or entertainment you will not find it at NH Royal. After dinner there is a very large and austere patio that features some local talent. We had a lovely liquor each evening - just what we ordered - delivered promptly - in that environment.

Other Comments:
GENERAL COMMENT - not related to this resort specifically

The beach is great - a few more weeds than further up Bavaro beach but the walking was great. It is too bad that Punta Cana now has vendors harrassing the tourists - it was a bit of an irritation and I had to get very cross with one man to get him to cease and desist with his Cheapy-Cheapy come to my store thing. 10 years ago you would not have had to put up with that in Punta Cana. The system of marketing with a plaza (for lack of better term) with 12 vendors who all have the same stuff - trying to drag you into their stall is...irritating and verges on harrassment. Because of this I buy nothign and avoid the places all together. There must be a better way. I think people would buy more trinkets if they were not so rightfully intimidated by the competitiveness and pushy nature of the overwhelming vendors. Food for thought!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to relax"

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach)
User Rating:  Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana (NH Royal Beach) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Igor  on Mar 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
826 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We have purchased this trip through CheapCaribbean.com. Paid little over than $2,500 for 7 nights, transfers and all inclusive drinks (local only)and food. We arrive into Punta Cana around noon. In about 20 minutes we were heading out to the transfer bus with luggage. Very quick. For transfer we used Turinter travel.
Arrived to the hotel at 1:30pm. We asked for an upgrade to the Ocean view, as it was stated in the deal, but were told that the rooms were not available. I am not surprise why, there are only 12 ocean front views.

Rooms:
So, we asked for the third floor, to get more privacy. Room was excellent, nice size, everything is brand new, huge shower, and jacuzzi outside on the balcony. Great view from the balcony, we were in 4306, which is somewhat in the middle between the ocean and the main entertainment stage. So, if you don't feel like going out, everything can be viewed from the comfort of the balcony.

Restaurants and Bars:
I tell you up-front, do not waste your time booking and going to any of the restaurants. They are preparing the same food as in the buffet, just takes a lot longer to bring to the table. And also, you don't have to deal with waitresses, most of them do not speak any English.For example, paper towel, this is something you would expect them to know.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is awesome. Nice sand, which they are cleaning every morning. If you want to get a place in the sun shade, make sure to get up earlier and put your towel to reserve the place. Speaking of towel. They don't bring fresh towels until around 9am, so save one from previous day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I mentioned earlier, we have used Turinter for the transfer. One day we decided to do some snorkeling. Turinter offered us a full day snorkeling trip to the Catalina Island with the stop at the old Casa De ....old Church. The trip cost $120US per person. We were told that at least 3 hours of snorkeling is guaranteed. So, we have been picked before 7 (breakfast place was still closed), at 9:30, along with other folks, we arrived to the peer. Get out of the bus, 10 minutes later, we were told this peer is closed, and we need to go to another one. Luckily, it was only few minutes away. They put us on the boat, with no shade. Brought us to the island, where we were laying on beach for 3 hours, at 1 pm had lunch, did 20 minutes snorkeling and went back. I was trying to get the $$$ back, but didnt want to waste too much time on this. I will file complain on their web site.

Other Comments:
Entertainment: Shows was OK at the sister hotel, but was pretty boring music at our hotel. You would expect a Caribbean music at night with someone from the staff dancing and trying to participate people around. I didn't see this.
Overall, hotel is good, however, I don't see this hotel becomes a upscale resort. You you want to relax, just lay on the beach, this is the place for you.

Any questions, feel free to send it over.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube