Couples Negril Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Negril > Negril Hotel Index > Couples Negril reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Negril Hotels with Similar Ranking

Hedonism II

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2010

Couples Swept Away

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 19, 2011

Beaches Sandy Bay Resort

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 25, 2012

Riu Palace Tropical Bay

3.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2012

Couples Negril  

Norman Manley Blvd. | PO BOX 35, Negril, Jamaica

"Best vacation spot we have been to."
Posted by: BRIAN  on Nov 14, 2011
see all reviews

Couples Negril Reviews
Couples Negril Pictures and Information
Couples Negril Negril Jamaica

#2
of 50 Hotels in Negril

User rating 4.5

Based on 4 reviews

Couples Negril Information


At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Couples Negril Reviews

Couples Negril Review: 4.5 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 4 of 4

"great resort, not great for large groups"

Couples Negril
User Rating:  Couples Negril Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Oct 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
423 people found this review helpful

for a country whose motto is "no problem, mon", we sure did have a lot of problems. we had five couples in our party, and the restaurants all acted like it was a huge problem to seat us together. every night was an issue to have dinner as a group.

dining service below average. watery drinks brought 15 minutes after ordered. half the time they forgot to bring them. staff kept trying to take our plates while we were still eating.

toward the end of the week, it got crowded, and harder to find 10 beach chairs and floats for our group.

Arrival:
the arrival was handled smoothly, but the staff was not as warm and welcoming as i expected, having been to the other side of jamaica twice. condescending smiles, no warmth whatsoever.

Rooms:
large, comfortable, housecleaning very good, but could be late in the day by the time it got done.

mini bar and coffee maker, stocked to order daily.

continental breakfast delivery available.

Restaurants and Bars:
we had a group of 10, and none of the restaurants were very accomodating. we showed up for dinner at the heliconia grill and the host scolded us for about 5 minutes for being such a large group and not making a reservation. he refused to seat us together, and would not let us sit at adjoining tables.

at lychee we had to have dinner at 7:00pm or not at all. we did go and the food and service was exceptional there.

on our last night we went to the cassava terrace, after having tried to make reservations earlier that day. we had a 20 minute argument with the host because he was never told of our reservation. he did not want to push any tables together, even though there were plenty available.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful. no complaints.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not enough off resort excursions. only water sports and shopping trips. many of the water sports were cancelled because of the weather.

Other Comments:
excellent recreational staff. daily volleyball at 11a and 4p was always fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best vacation spot we have been to."

Couples Negril
User Rating:  Couples Negril Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  BRIAN  on Nov 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
284 people found this review helpful

It started at the airport where I had left my wallet on the plane in error it was located and returned to me in tact an an efficient and courteous manner WHAT A RELIEF
We then entered the couples suite for a rest and cold beverage the hosts and hostesses were fabulous taking care of our luggage and getting it to our transfer vehicle / Once we left the airport another group that had been here before convinced the driver that we all needed some Red Stripe / what a great to meet & get to know over our stay the ride to the Negril was a lot of fun we
had been in Jamaica & knew that no one drives fast it took a little while but the people the scenery & the drivers made it seem like no time
Once on the property we experienced FIRST CLASS FOOD,SERVICE AND ACCOMODATIONS .


Arrival:
Very fast courteous & efficient

Rooms:
clean clean clean with a beautiful view of the ocean from the balcony

Restaurants and Bars:
It was very easy to move around the resort & always find a quality location to
rest and eat & get a cold drink or two or three

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was one of the nicest and cleanest I have ever seen easy to walk
with the quickest wait staff ever

The pool was (panic central) the pool bar staff made it an extremely lively
and fun place to visit alwas very clean(wear a hat or try to find some shade)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went off Resort a couple of times and found it to be fine

Other Comments:
CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent Resort"

Couples Negril
User Rating:  Couples Negril Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maxine  on Apr 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
408 people found this review helpful

We spent April 6 to 13 at this resort, and from arrival time to departure dropoff at the airport, the service was attentive and always provided with smiles.

Room Number:
9103

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
Stuart (a Couples Negril shuttle-driver) picked us up at the Montego Bay airport and drove us to the resort, providing comedy commentary initially and along the way. The ride was rather long due to construction and congestion along the way, but it was a chance to see interesting new scenery.

We were greeted with smiles and champagne and chilled washcloths in the lobby when we arrived, the checkin was fast (and almost unnoticed), and the bags were taken quickly to our room.

Rooms:
We had a standard room in Building 9, ocean-view and ground-floor, with a really beautiful view of the turquoise ocean, palms on the beach and gardens. What a great way to wake up each morning, facing that water. The room was very clean and well-furnished, spacious enough, with a kingsize bed, good air-conditioning, roomy bathroom with nice deep tub, nice cool tile floors, flat-screen TV, safe, mini-bar, iPod dock, etc. Caribbean colours and accents gave warmth to the room. Maid service was excellent, the room was always well-cleaned, we never had to ask for towels, and the minibar was always replenished as we'd indicated via the daily tick-sheet.

Restaurants and Bars:
All the restaurants were very good - well-prepared good-quality food, attentive service. Nothing was missing that you could want. The variety was incredible in the Cassava Terrace, and we had the best meal of our visit there on Tuesday night the day before we left. The Lychee and Heliconia also provided delicious food and great service, and the Beach Grill for lunch was more than adequate. Only the Otaheite resto was a slight disappointment in terms of service and food quality, but even this was minor over-all. The Cassava Terrace was a delight to eat in, with it's open-air setting and birds flying around, and choice of shady fan-cooled tables near the interior and tables along the outside edges with great views of the ocean and pool.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool:

We did not go in the pool, but spent all our water-time at the beach and in the ocean. There were 2 hot tubs/Jacuzzis attached to the pool, and many lounge-chairs, and all the guests using the pool, tubs and chairs looked as if they were enjoying themselves.

Beach:

The most beautiful beach we've ever seen, a wide expanse of white sand and that beautiful aqua water shading to turquoise and then to deep blue, the sand dotted with palms and wide-leafed tropical trees providing shade. No palapas here (the trees were enough), sufficient white lounge-chairs with clean white mats, and attentive drinks-service provided when we put up a red flag. The water and beach were sparkling and clean, and you could walk out into the water almost up to the swimming boundary-buoys and still see the floor of the ocean at your feet. The water was calm most days, with a very slight breeze from the southwest on 2 afternoons., but that didn't stop anybody from enjoying the water.

We went swimming every morning before breakfast and it was empty and calm and peaceful in the water and on the beach.

Loungers were good-quality and there is plenty of them. We never had problems leaving our stuff there when we went for lunch or breakfast.

Local vendors walked up and down the beach near the water's edge, but none of them harassed us or were aggressive. We'll remember Andre the elegant cigarettes/cigars seller with his "it's gonna be a hot hot hot" refrain, the musicians (especially the trio) who were all really good, and Brian the hat-weaver (who wove as he walked).

We walked a few miles westward down the beach one evening and saw the craft-vendor displays there and were not harassed in any way. There were also craft displays set up at the resort some days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities:

We went snorkeling out at a reef, went on a glass-bottom boat trip to another reef, went on the catamaran cruise one afternoon/evening, and used the kayaks. Never got to try out the Hobie-cats, Sunfish, or do windsurfing or waterskiing, since we loved to spend so much of our time swimming in that beautiful water and lying on the beach. We swam into the caves at the catamaran-cruise destination. We never got to see Rick's Cafe, Margaritaville, or the cliff-divers, which was a bit of a disappointment. We aren't sure if the catamaran cruise usually includes these things or not.

We also walked to a craft market down the road from the resort. There is a lot of duplication in the wares at the stands. We also took a shuttle-trip to Times Square (a local mall) and into Negril town and could have spent longer there exploring the side-streets and cafes.

Evening entertainment:

Jamaican steel-bands, singers, limbo-dancer were all good. Casino and Tuesday-evening auction were great fun.

Other Comments:
Service:

We cannot praise the service enough - it was excellent over-all - attentive, quick, friendly and smiling. We thought several staff were extra special - Feron, Shantea and Kerisha in the Cassava Terrace buffet/resto, Denver at the Heliconia Bistro, Davine the maid who looked after our room, and all the groundskeepers.

Tipping is prohibited at this resort, and while it's nice not always to have to carry money, sometimes we wanted to give staff something for doing their work so well and so willingly.


Summary:

We had a great time and we plan to return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Going back for sure mon"

Couples Negril
User Rating:  Couples Negril Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on Nov 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
437 people found this review helpful

When my fiance told me we were going to Jamaica, I was a little concerned that this would be a nasty trip but staying at Couples Negril changed my view very quickly.

I think a lot of people don't get the point of this resort. The resort it fantastic but it is primarily a couples resort. It is a great place to fall in (or back in) love. People who go there in large groups should keep that in mind. It you are primarily going there to party, find another resort or you will be ruining the vibe for couples. My fiance and I left the piano bar (which has an amazing pianist) on a couple of occasions because of rowdy people who were more into getting drunk than appreciating the atmosphere that the staff work very hard to maintain.

As for the previous reviewer complaining about seating issues, my fiance and I found the service to be excellent and never had any problem with waiting for food or drinks. I think that if you treat the staff well and respect the foundation rules of the resort, you will find the staff to be mutually respectful. If you are getting bad service, you may need to ask yourself why that is.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube