Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Runaway Bay > Runaway Bay Hotel Index > Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Runaway Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2012

Club Ambiance

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 7, 2012

Royal DeCameron Club Caribbean

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 6, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay  

Salt Coppers Villa | Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica

"Terrible service"
Posted by: terry on May 24, 2013
see all reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Pictures and Information
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Runaway Bay Jamaica

#1
of 11 Hotels in Runaway Bay

User rating 3.6

Based on 29 reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Information


Enjoy our facilities: four lake-type swimming pools that are connected to each other and surround the main building, with childrenís section. Mini-club for children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 3.6 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  9
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (19)
Party (2)
Wedding (6)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (1)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
1 - 10 of 29

"Terrible service"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  terry  on May 24, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2013 | Business | Family and Kids
99 people found this review helpful


We stayed at Grand Bahia May 16 to May 23 2013. This was our first time in Jamaica. After we checked in our room key didn't work, so we had to travel from the 7th floor via the elevator to the check in desk. They reset the key card and after several tries it opened the door.
On May 21 the door swipe card stopped working. We went to front desk and they reset our cards. The swipe still didn't work so we went back down to see the Checkout / Exchange desk attendent Annoy and his trainee Shevaynie Gaynor. (names may be spelled slightly different). They took our cards again and must have reset again. We ventured back to our room and still no luck. At this point we were told to wait outside our door for maintenance. We travelled back to the 7th floor of our building and waited for 1 hr for maintenance. No one showed, so we went back down to the front desk and informed the same people. More time passes and now I am getting pissed. Annoy disappeared for a few minutes, then said wait here and he wondered off. We went on an excursion early that morning and just wanted to get in our room to change, then go eat and relax in the sun. After standing in the lobby for another 20 mins and no update we are both really pissed off. At this point we have been waiting for hours to get in our room. An important looking guy dressed in a white shirt walks by and I stare him down as he asks if everything is ok. I explain my dilema to him. His name is Mr Fran and he is the Resident Manager. He gets on his phone and makes a calls. Then says to follow him. We go to our room and Annoy is trying to get into the room to no avail. Mr Fran speaks to him and he is back on the phone. Maintenance shows up and opens the door. Maintenance explains that he has to replace the lock system on door. Mr Fran explains this never should have happened and assured us that the hotel would make it up to us.
The next day we went to the Public Relations desk and spoke to 2 women working there to explain our half of a day wait to get in our room the day before. They wrote our room number 13712 on a piece of paper and beside it wrote fixed and that was it.
Later that day we spoke to our Sunquest T.A. Simone and explained our issue and she was going to look into it.
On May 23 after we checked out of the hotel and were waiting for our bus to the airport we decide to get an update from out Travel rep Simone. She said she looked into it and no one knew anything about it. I said that is odd because one of the names I gave you is at the front desk now. 20 mins later she gave us hotel staff shirts a 200 mil bottle of $3 rum (checked at airport) and small bag of coffee. cont. below in arrival

Room Number:
13712

Arrival:
Needless to say we weren't impressed with how anybody handled this. This hotel needs to clean house with the management. It was hit or miss with service in the restaurants. Like I have seen reading other reviews here. There is a trend of some shifts to provide no service and others are great. Strange how one day we would have nobody come to our table to ask us if we want coffee, water etc. and the next day new staff would give us terrific service.
On the no service days you would see staff talking in small groups, only to break away to provide service to hotel staff dining or if a Manager asked them. Unfortunately, not enough management presense to direct.



Terry and Nina

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not accommodating for large groups"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Becky  on Jan 29, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
121 people found this review helpful

We were on different floors and different ends of the one wing.
We were golden. But that meant to much time in the golden room.We had no towels or robes in the room upon check in. They didn't like to stock our fridge with the four pops and two beers. No coffee a few mornings, once again had to go to the Golden Room. We had to fight every day in the Golden Room (always a line up)and wait until 5 pm to find out if we could eat with other family members. They said they would place under door.....never happened. You would think with 45 people we would be at a seating with someone else.
Liked to give us 9.30 pm meal times. Pool closed at 6:30. Entertainment was at 10. Made no sense.
They messed up the flowers for the wedding after a discussion they fixed this matter. Not enough chairs set out for the wedding.The D.J was booked for 2hrs and played for 1hr 10mins. I guess he started without us.(he was good) We ate and ran out of super without coffee or tea. Think they would have figured out how long meals took by now.
No food open when we left on the following Monday. Restaurant opens at 7am the same time the bus was there to pick us up to take us to the air port.
I think for 2 people to go may work out better.
Not alot to do unless you leave the resort.
The restaurant by the ocean was gross covered in flies and the food sat for long periods of time.

Room Number:
4604

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best honeymoon !"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sharon  on Jun 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

The gran bahia is a wonderful hotel to stay at when visiting jamacia, the entire staff @ this hotel was very professional, friendliness, warm and welcomed us with open arms. the grounds food were clean,the food was awesome, and the entertainment staff were very entertaining. we would definetly recommend this hotel to stay in, your wont regret it @ all. this was our second visit and we are looking forward to planning and booking our next vacation @ the gran bahia with the family.

Room Number:
23307

Room Block:
junior suite

Arrival:
we arrived on june 10,2012 the front desk and bell boy was great, friendly and helpful with our check in and escorting us to our room.

Rooms:
the room was clean and neat upon arrival, and the housekeeping kept the room clean as well as providing fresh bath towels.

Restaurants and Bars:
the bars were all great bartenders made the perfect drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
we loved the beach and pool the grounds were very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the activities on the resort were very nice the entertainment crew always had something for you to do and that was exciting.

Other Comments:
their are a few special thanks we would like to give the supervisor in the orchid restaurant mr wayne lewis, timoya, trainee christopher mcken, sabena, trainee nadine, the entire staff in the orchid restaurant who made the food breakfast, lunch and dinner so tasty and good.the grill near beach side gregory, marlene and the entire staff over there the food, drinks were superb. the pool bar supervisor leroy and all the bartenders who made the drinks to perfection. thanks to the entire entertainment crew that kept us busy, dancing smiling and enjoying the shows, and thanks to all the security that made sure we were safe. everyone @ gran bahia was wonderful and as they say when you return to jamacia a second time you are jamacian so we will be back home to jamacia soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not go to this hotel!!!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deandra  on May 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Party | Family and Kids
199 people found this review helpful

Do not go to this hotel. Waste of time and money. Came here for a family party with many of us- more than 30 people. Horrible service!!!! The sheets were dirty upon arrival. The elevator shuts on you before you leave- you have to dash out so the elevator door does not hit you. The food bar outside by the beach had nasty food that had been sitting out for a while and flies were sitting on it. It's such a far walk there too! From the hotel there. One part that was good was the pool and the pool bar. Not very good liquor for the all inclusive- you have to pay for the "premium" liquors. Also- the disco. First of all, they shut off the lights around nine o clock. So you have to find your way around the dark to find the blasted disco. Took so long to get there- and it was a dissapointment!! Was not a good disco. Service was horrible. At night, about 30 of us were just hanging out in the lounge, not making any fuss, and they shut off the lights on all of us! So rude. Also, they shut off the lights at night where the stairs are- and that's such a danger hazard. It's easier to say what it right with this hotel than what is wrong, because there was soooooo many downsides to staying here. We are all Jamaican ourselves, and trust me, Jamaica has much better all-inclusive resorts to offer. Do not go here!!

Rooms:
Dirty!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was not so impressive at all. Bartenders were only friendly if prompted to be friendly. You have to ask them to put a smile on their faces.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Everything is so far apart to walk to. Pools were ik but were very shallow. Bar at the pools were nice.

Other Comments:
Horrible service!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"1st time, plan to go back."

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Al  on Mar 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
199 people found this review helpful

Just got back from our first trip to Jamaica. Hotel gets our appreciation for moving us to a full ocean view room, "beautiful". Food and service were great, used local taxi service, for a day trip, had a great time. Michael's Taxi Service, very nice young man, highly recommended. Look up at hotel entrance or e-mail michaelhaye@yahoo.com, you won't regret it.

Room Number:
1522

Room Block:
18

Arrival:
3-15-2012

Rooms:
Great

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good

Other Comments:
Had a great time, planning to return someday.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liska  on Mar 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
202 people found this review helpful

Group of 4 traveling with Air Canada Vacations, Feb 11/12 to Feb 17/12
We went as a couple with another couple and all of us enjoyed our week immensely. The staff were hard workers, always busy but very friendly. Food was quite good, lots of choices during the day, a few less at night but still available. You must keep in mind you are in another country so some of the flavours may be different but experiment! No one got sick, we loved that you can drink their water.
Evenings around the hotel were pretty quiet once the sun went down but a short walk to the entertainment area and there was something to do. There were people from all over the world, but mainly Canada. Sad to say the only rude ones we encountered were from a certain area of Canada! Very clean, well lit, never felt unsafe.

Room Number:
23600

Arrival:
We arrived at Sangster International just after 8pm. We had no issues with customs and immigration and had our luggage and directions to our bus quickly. Just over an hour ride with a quick stop at a roadside establishment for those who wanted a beer or Jerk chicken. Check in was quick and efficient, received a complimentary drink and we weren't part of the Gold club. Our bellman took our bags to our room and our friends which was one floor above us. We did tip and he was most thankful.
We did miss the restaurant for dinner but we also got instructions at check in to the all night burger place. It was fairly busy and a little slow, but you are on vacation in Jamaica.

We also got all our dinner reservations at check in for the. ACV allowed 4 so we got to try all 4 a la cartes.

Rooms:
Our room was fairly new and wonderful. Beds were comfy, very clean everyday. Balcony overlooked the pool and ocean. Not unlike most resorts, you do need to ask for 2 cards at check in so you are able to have power to your room, even when out. There is a reader on the wall to put the card in which keeps the AC going. The first night our safe didn't work. We asked Philip at teh desk to reprogram the card which he did twice but no luck. Just kept our stuff in our friends safe for the night. Next day our ACV rep Kamisha took care of the issue immediately. (Very efficient ladies who are willing to help) Our tv worked fine, not that we spent much time watching tv. Lots of hot water at any time of the day, awesome views. Our maid introduced herself the next day and was always friendly and helpful. We gave her a few dollars the first day and received the same great service everyday so we tipped her nicely our last day. The rooms have big wooden doors, but you can still hear activity in the halls. no big deal - we weren't there to sleep all day anyway.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffets were great, lots of choices for every pallet.
Mikado our favorite. 2 types of service - try to reserve the Tampanaki - your dinner is cooked on the grill in front of you, tons of food and a show.

Don Pablo - very good, small portions but we were full.

Garden - also very good, small portions but suffice

Dolce Vita - none of us were crazy about this one, food was not as great and service was mediocre.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
First couple of days we were pool people til we went to the main part of the beach. It is a big resort so take some time to explore. Beach was amazing, soft sand, very clean, 2 bars and there was service is you were really lazy. Great area for novice snorkelers as well. Lots of things to see. Beach restaurant was at the east end of the beach with fantastic Jerk Chicken every afternoon. A must try! Beach crew were always cleaning up the area and emptying garbages, straightening chairs. Never had a problem finding beach chairs there.

The pool was very nice, clean and huge. Only issue was with people reserving chairs early in the morning but never being there. We actually saw towels placed out the night before. 2 pool bars so you never went thirsty. The one closest tot he main lobby was louder and busier as the activities seemed to go on there.

Grounds were beautiful, clean and well kept. Great for photos.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did 2 excursions off the resort. First one was with Cool Runnings. Took about an hour bus ride to Ocho Rios, boarded a catamaran to Dunn's River Falls. Climbing the falls was a little scary but the system works and we did not see anyone get hurt. When they tell you to leave all unecessary gear on the boat they mean it - you will lose whatever is not attached to your body! The crew was amazing. Fun yet very professional and took great care of their passengers. We did this one on Valentines Day so they made it special!

2nd trip was about 15 minutes away in Discovery Bay. Small group called Bracco tours took us tubing in the Rio Beuno. Awesome trip, great guides and very fun and relaxing. Our ACV rep Clarise recommended them and we were so glad she did.

Other Comments:
We tipped quite a bit. Sometimes it was expected, others seemed grateful. Service was only moderately affected by tips. The workers were so very friendly and helpful. Lots of times they walked around singing. I like the fact it is an English speaking country. They do however speak their own language which sometimes felt a little awkward. You were never really sure if they were talking about you. You must keep in mind you are in Jamaica and they have their own time! Relax and go with it. They WILL get you to the airport in plenty of time!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Vacation...1st Time to Jamacia"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  COLLEEN  on Mar 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
202 people found this review helpful

Well.6 of us stayed at the GRAN BAHIA .....we were on the 3 rd floor ...over looking the first part of the building which looked like a castle....loved our room with the canopy bed...the baloncy ....the bed...
meals were great...but most of all the staff was wonderful....especially at the front desk....loved the snorkling every day.....came home with so many good memories...especially the Dunn River Falls ....INCREDIBLE..............AIR CANADA VACATIONS STAFF were excellent........than you to all who made our vacation in jamacia wonderful..

Room Number:
23501

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
FEB12,2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would Recommend this Resort to Anyone!!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelsey  on Mar 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
209 people found this review helpful

I stayed at this resort with a group of 17 people ranging from age 17 to 55. Every single one of us was nothing but impressed! The food was a highlight for all - huge buffet with different items each day. The hotel staff were friendly and very accommodating. The rooms and the hotel in general were always clean.

There were 5 of us girls in our 20s and we found the resort great from a social aspect. It is a large resort so the disco and bars were always full! The area for nightly entertainment was also superior to what I've seen at other resorts (this was my sixth all inclusive holiday). Because the resort was so large, whenever we were sitting on a patio, it was full of people - the kind of atmosphere you might expect if going to a festival or park at home. Lots of people, lots going on all the time.

That being said, the resort was not over packed or uncomfortable. During the week that we were there, the hotel was at its capacity. We were still able to get chairs together by the pool every day, and we never had to wait at the restaurants to eat. The hotel is laid out properly for the number of people it can accomodate. The staff were also extremely helpful to us when we were trying to sit together by the pool. They would go around and bring enough chairs to us so that everyone could sit together.

One tip we got before we went was to bring our own cups for the bar as the cups they give out are very small. A lot of our group did that, and it was a good idea so I would recommend that to others as well.

There were a few times that we wandered off the resort on our own and not as part of a tour. When leaving the grounds, the staff make you sign out and sign back in. For security purposes, this was very comforting.

Be prepared to have a great time at Gran Bahia Principe!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Left a bad taste"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  drew  on Jan 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
220 people found this review helpful

There is no way to call this a 5 star resort. The resort is so large, that they simply cannot maintain a quality establishment.
People who have given this resort a positive review, clearly have not been to resorts that have high standards and that are operated by common sense management. ( there were so many simple solutions to my issues)

Room
If you are a light sleeper you are doomed! Doomed I tell you! The slamming of doors from the other rooms were constant! ( let alone the drunks shouting in the hallways at 3 in the morning, no consideration)

My TV. did not work ( I know, you are on vacation) I called 6 seven times, yup 6 ( over 5 days) and never got it fixed.

Beach/pool
Reserving a spot early in the morning every day, should not be a stressful task. There must be some way to address this.

Employees
A few would sit in the lobby chairs, just hanging out, while people clearly were looking for a place to sit.

Also, walking on the walkways, I would see them not move over as others were coming their way. Couldnít believe that.

Food
Barley passable, good luck! And the house wine is horrible, just horrible ( probably doing this so you will buy from their wine list)

Ocho rios
Going to the market was unbelievable. You are not even finished politely telling the lady working her shop, no thank you before the next lady is on you. Iím not kidding, it was comical but after 5 minutes I couldnít take it any longer!!!

Bobsled
Cool, but literally a 4 minute ride

Dunnís fall
Again cool, you think it canít be safe but truly was fine

Misc

They painted the railings in some areas, no "wet paint" signs and of courseÖtwice!

It appeared that that most of the employees do not like their jobs.

This place would never last a month in North America. It seems once they get you there and have your money, they donít care anymore.



Room Number:
23213

Room Block:
23

Arrival:
dec 29

Rooms:
23213

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jessica  on Nov 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
226 people found this review helpful

My husband and I decided to travel to Jamaica to celebrate our anniversary. We chose Gran Bahia because it was beautiful. We had a wonderful experience. I was nervous after reading some reviews but I didn't have any issues. Staff was amazing especially Diana in guest relations. She made sure we had champagne for our anniversary and was very helpful with all of our questions. The food on the buffet was ok but what do you expect the Ala cart restaurants were delicious. We had an awesome vacation. I would recommend this resort to anyone I knew going to Jamaica. Also we had no problem getting chairs at the pool or the beach. We never put towels down before hand.

Room Number:
23412

Arrival:
11/11/2011

Rooms:
Our room was beautiful we had an awesome view of the ocean and Jacuzzi tub. Our room was always cleaned very well. Our mini bar was restocked every day. Yes I tipped but there were days I didn't and my room still looked wonderful.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was ok but the Ala cart restaurants were all very good. We didn't eat at the Italian restaurant because we only had 3 Ala cart meals but I am sure the food was good there as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and pools were clean and very inviting. We never reserved chairs with our towels but we never had a problem finding one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment was ok but gets a little repetitive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube