Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Runaway Bay > Runaway Bay Hotel Index > Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Runaway Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2012

Club Ambiance

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 7, 2012

Royal DeCameron Club Caribbean

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 6, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay  

Salt Coppers Villa | Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica

"Terrible service"
Posted by: terry on May 24, 2013
see all reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Pictures and Information
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Runaway Bay Jamaica

#1
of 11 Hotels in Runaway Bay

User rating 3.6

Based on 29 reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Information


Enjoy our facilities: four lake-type swimming pools that are connected to each other and surround the main building, with children’s section. Mini-club for children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 3.6 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  9
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (19)
Party (2)
Wedding (6)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (1)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
1 - 10 of 29

"We loved this resort and would not hesitate to go back!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carol and Mark from Ontario  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
138 people found this review helpful

We arrived at the Bahia, after a 3 hour delay, the bus ride took about 45 mins to get to the hotel. We were given our room assignments on the bus, I didn't like where my room was, and the rep on the bus called the hotel and had our room changed before we arrived at the hotel. We thought that was awesome.

Rooms:
Our room was beautiful and had a view of the beach. We were in building B on the 5th floor. The rooms were very clean, mini bar stocked, we didn't get any pringles at first, but called the royal club, and they brought them to our room in about 15 mins. The maid service was great both day and night for turn down.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at all the a la cartes, they were pre-booked for us by the Royal club before we got there. We liked all the restaurants, the grill was our least favourite, but I think it depended on what you ordered. My husband had lamb and loved it, I had fish and it was just ok. Our favourite restaurant was between the Gourmet and the Japaneese. Both were fantastic. The Italian was good, but none of us were all that hungary, so it was hard to judge fairly. We thought all the bars were great, the lobby bar made the best frozen drinks and shooters and the pool bars had really good special drinks. The service at all of them was fast and friendly. We never had any problems getting served or getting what we asked for. The bartenders were always happy and full of smiles.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was beautiful and clean, I thought the water was pretty warm, we had a really hot week so it was definately refreshing. I thought the beach was nice and pretty, the water is calm and warm and not very deep. We do prefer a long walking beach with soft sand ( like Punta Cana) but we still enjoyed it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't take part in any activities on or off the resort so I can't comment on this one.

Other Comments:
We loved this resort and would not hesitate to go back! I would definately recommend upgrading to the Royal Club, it is well worth the extra money. I'm not sure why other reviews are negative, we travelled with 2 other couples and we all had a great time and had absolutely no complaints!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't believe the negative reviews!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Jan 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
131 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica January 15th-22nd 2010. Travelled with a group of approximately 30 for a destination wedding. We flew with SkyService out of Toronto, Ontario. We went with the Golden Club upgrade, which other than room location, didn’t have a lot of benefits, but the room location made up for it, so I’d do it again. Either a lot of past reviewers are used to staying at 5+* resorts, or the hotel has really done a great job at fixing some of the problems experienced in the past. This was my second time in Jamaica, having previously stayed at the RIU Negril. Other than the beach, I would say that the GBP is equal to or better than the RIU Negril. This resort is quite big, so prepare to do some walking. We were told that this will be the biggest resort in Jamaica once it is finished. There will be 2000 rooms. They were building an addition while we were there, but we didn’t see or hear anything.

Summary – In General, I don’t return to the same resort twice, as I like new experiences, but i wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this resort to anybody that was considering a trip to Jamaica. Don’t believe all the negative reviews. This resort is a 4-4.5 * star resort, as advertised.

Your Arrival:
Check-In – we were checked in on the bus from the airport. We were given our bracelets, room keys, excursion info and coupon for a free bottle of Rum(Bacardi Limon – we didn’t even bother – why not Appleton?). The bus trip took just over an hour, with a roadside stop for drinks/food midway there. Once we got to the resort, the bell hop took us to our room immediately, which was a surprise, as we arrived just after noon.

Rooms:
Rooms - being part of the Golden Club, we were given upgraded room location. We ended up in room 18422(18 means building A, 4 means 4th floor, 22 is the room). We were in the building closest to the ocean, with a 180 degree view of it. We were very impressed. I spent a few mornings/evenings just sitting out there listening to the waves. We had no issues with our room. We were even lucky that we didn’t have to keep our room key in to keep the electricity on. We tipped our maid daily, and received extra towels, and of course the decorative towel art.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants – We had read the reviews, and were expecting the Japanese restaurant to be good, and the others to be subpar. The reviews were right in that the Japanese was the best, however, all of the others were good as well. I was pleasantly surprised by the Chateaubriand at the Don Pablo restaurant. The banana flambé was also quite good there. As for the Jerk Hut...what else can be said...I ate there every day, and loved it every time. We also took advantage of “Burger Principe”, which opens at 11pm. It was nice to be able to grab a cheeseburger before bed after a few Red Stripes.

Bars – The bars were all good. I think they could use another one near the main beach. Both the small bar by beach buffet and the bar at the end of the beach were consistently busy. They have espresso/cappuccino at the main lobby bar as well.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds – The grounds were beautiful, and well maintained. Nothing to complain about here.

Pools – The pool was huge. It was a little chilly, definitely colder than the ocean. It wraps around the front of the resort. They have volleyball, water polo, etc organized every few hours to keep people involved, but we were never pressured to join in.

Beach - The beach, as others have written, is not the soft white baby powder like Punta Cana. It is a little hard to walk on with bare feet. However, it is quite large, and there was never any problem getting loungers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment – I don’t go on vacation expecting Broadway shows, so the entertainment was comparable to other resorts. The Michael Jackson show was my favourite. They do have a Karaoke bar, which we made good use of(sorry to all of the other guests, as we hogged the mic on most nights).

Watersports – They have the standard snorkelling gear, windsurfers, and catamarans. We ended up taking out the catamaran (when the ocean was calm enough – Yellow or Green flag) a few times. It was quite enjoyable. One other person in our group took out a windsurfer, but found that ocean windsurfing is a lot harder than Great Lakes windsurfing. The snorkelling was also quite good compared other resorts I have visited.

Disco – We went to the disco a few times, and it was fun, but not very busy most of the time. We made our own fun for the most part.

Shopping – They have a few shops in the commercial square(which is the same place that the Karaoke, Disco and Burger Principe are located), that sold most of the same stuff you would buy at souvenir shops off the resort.

Excursions – We did the cool running’s tour, which consists of bus trip to Ocho Rios, followed by a Catamaran cruise to Dunn’s River falls. You climb the falls, which was a lot of fun( i would highly recommend it), and then you return to the catamaran. After that, you do some snorkelling, and after that, they open the bar for the return trip to Ocho Rios. They put on some great tunes, and dancing inevitably ensues.


Other Comments:
Golden Club – Aside from the really nice room location, there were not a lot of benefits to the Golden Club. They do have the lounge, where you get free internet, but personally I can’t stand to be on a computer while on vacation. Vacations are for getting away from computers.

Wedding – The wedding was absolutely beautiful. The wedding planner and the photographers were both very nice, and a lot of fun. The resort even through in a free upgrade of the live reggae band during the ceremony. A very nice touch.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best ever"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Caroline  on Jan 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
146 people found this review helpful

Let me put your mind at ease, you will not regret picking this hotel. It's clean, spacious rooms, excellent food, huge pool, friendly staff, but not very knowledgeble.

Your Arrival:
Quick and easy

Rooms:
Very spacious and very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
enough and great food

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach not the best but the pool and grounds make up for it

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did not use the activities on the grounds or outside the hotel. This was my 4th trip to Jamaica and I have already done it all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Above and Beyond"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia  on Jan 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
152 people found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our week here. I think people reap what they sow. When you are rude to staff, human nature dictates they may be rude or at the very least indifferent towards you. Everyone we encountered was very pleasant. There were times when we felt they may be shot staffed but that was certainly not this staffs fault. Perhaps something managment could address.

Your Arrival:
Check in at Golden club was as smooth as posible.

Rooms:
We had a BEAUTIFUL room. Very spacious and clean. Our oceanview overlooked the pool as well. Could not have asked for anything else. As others have noted, the bathrooms were spacious. The water pressure in shower was strong and that is often not the case in resorts.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was clean and well stocked. The waitstaff kept our tables clean and glasses filled. The alacart restaurants were very good as well. The Japanese was my favorite but the others were also good. The snack bar near the beach has a jerk chicken stand that was open from 12:30 till the chicken was gone. If you're late you lose. When its gone, its cgon. Don't miss this little treat.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were clean. One note* The whirlpools were not working while we were there. The grounds are well kept. Very pretty place. The beach was also pretty but being pool people, we only walked it once.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We never left the resort and were happy to stay on sight and rest, swim, read and drink for 7 lovely days.

Other Comments:
While on the internet in the Golden Club room, I overheard a young (25-ish) woman telling the rep in teary voice that she had had a fight with her boyfriend and didn't know what to do or where to go. The rep gave her a room so she dodn't have to stay with the boyfriend. I thought that was an exceptional act of kindness.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unbelievable!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lorraine  on Mar 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
166 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived in Jamaica an hour late on Skyservice. AirTransat rep handed out our envelopes with room key and information. Stopped off on way to resort for washroom break and chance for people to buy drinks. Room wasn't ready so we went to lunch.Got our safe deposit box key before someone took us to our room with luggage on a cart.

Rooms:
Room was very spacious and well kept. Large balcony faced the shopping center where the nightly entertainment and disco was also. Asked for two double beds but got a king-sized poster bed instead. Couldn't be bother complaining to have it changed. Bar stocked everyday. Beach towels, bathrobes and bottle of rum awaited us as promised.Bathroom was large with jacuzzi bathtub in addition to shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
Golden Club had prebooked our a-la-carte restaurants. We didn't like the 8:30 time of the Italian so we changed it a 6pm time at the Don Pedro. The service was excellent the first two times but the third at the Don Pedro seemed to be greatly understaffed and we waited long periods between each course. Wound up cancelling at the Mikado because of the 8:30 time and couldn't get in anywhere else. Good job because we heard from others that the Mikado even though it had good food it was overbooked resulting in bad service. Bar service was good everywhere although at times the waitress seemed to be extra slow and we usually went to the bar directly and got our own orders. Beach grill was great with the jerk chicken and pork and mini buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was too cold to swim in all week. After the second day we stayed on the beach everyday. There seems to be a lack of chairs around the pool too in addition to the age old problem of saving them with towels. Don't understand why they post "no saving chairs" on the signs around the resort when they don't enforce it. We saw so many chairs saved both around the pool and beach and a lot of people didn't even show up until almost noon. The grounds were beautiful with greenery and spotless. Beach didn't have the usual soft sand that other beaches have and there is a lot of rock except in the small coves to the right and left of the resort which involves a lot of walking.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on one excursion only to Dunn's River Falls where my husband climbed up it. Went also to a Botanical Garden in Ocho Rios which was very nice and informative. Thought it was rather nervy of the fire-eating man who did a routine for 30 seconds at the end of the tour to ask for tips for his performance along with tour guide who asked for tips also.

Other Comments:
My only comment is that the hotel should accommodate guests that are leaving for an early flight by supplying them with some coffee, juice and pastries in the lobby. The main buffet doesn't open until 7 a.m. and we had to be on the bus at 7:20. This is a little hard to do when the buffet is at one end of the resort and you have to come upstairs to the front of the hotel to catch the bus. I certainly could come back to this resort. It was worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful resort"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dave  on May 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
156 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Transportation from the airport was well set up. We were taken directly to the hotel (minus one stop to buy drinks etc. which we didn't mind). Check in was quick. We arrived at 11:30 am and got our room at 1:30pm (not bad...I have had to wait longer at other resorts).

Rooms:
I thought the rooms were very good. You have a sitting area and beautiful bathroom. We did not have a problem with hot water or power. You have to put your card in a device near the door to keep the lights on (note they did diable the power on the morning of our departure, I guess to get us to leave). You need about $50 us deposit for the safe (they charged $6 a day for it, but I would recommend it). We stayed on ground level, the only issue I had was someone stole my bathing suit when I left it out to dry overnight.

Restaurants and Bars:
The japanees was the best of the alacartes. The main buffet was ok but not as good as I expected from what I had heard about Jamaican food. I would compare it to what we experienced in Mexico. Service was good. Bars were good, strong drinks though. The beach bar is at the far end of the beach, not real convenient. Two pool bars with swim up were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I was disappointed with the beach to the far left of the resort. Weedy and rocky areas, but it suited our purpose. Pool was huge and warm when we were there. The grounds themselves are well kept and beautiful. I liked the area where weddings are done, it is more secluded than many resorts in the carabean have, making it much more romantic. You cannot walk the beach other than what the hotel has (unlike Mexico or Domincan where you can walk for miles).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did Dunn river falls and shopping in Ocho Rios. Enjoyed both but if you like to shop you might want to take a taxi as we felt rushed.

Other Comments:
Beautiful resort but secluded. I would go to Ocho Rios or Montego Bay next time. Lots of kids. We got our money's worth.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Resort!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Taylor  on May 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Business | With Group
178 people found this review helpful

I would first like to say that this was my 9th all inclusive vacation. I've been to Dominican, Mexico, and now Jamaica. I read alot of negative reviews on this resort and was alittle worried about going here. But we were going with a group of 16 ppl for a wedding, and had no control on the venue. Don't believe the negative reviews, this was one of my favourite vacations!

Your Arrival:
Flew Air Canada from Toronto to Montego Bay. Flight was quick, about 3 1/2 hrs. Going through the airport was easy. Air Canada rep was waiting for us, and directed us to our bus. Bus ride took about 1hr. They stop mid way for bathroom break, you can buy food, drinks and local items here...t shirts etc.

We arrived at the hotel around 3:30pm. All of our rooms were ready, and those of us who booked together were all placed on same floor, and very close together. Which was great!

Only complaint here was that my brother and I asked for double beds, and were given a King bed. Apparently they only have limited Double Bed Rooms, and they save these for ppl travelling with children. When they found out we were brother and sister, they brought in another bed for my brother. It was a full size double, placed in the sitting area. It worked out great! When you check in, they will only give you one room key. Very silly! But, we waited until that evening and asked for another key. They were happy to give us one. We found that if you have any issues that need to be addressed to front desk, WAIT AND ASK NIGHT STAFF! They are much nicer, probably because they are not as busy as day staff. And be nice, smile and you'll get what you need. The guests who were rude, and verbally abusive to staff got NOWHERE. Righfully so if you ask me :)

Rooms:
We stayed in room #12303. Our room was FABULOUS! No complaints at all! Our lights and AC stayed on without having to put room key in the slot. Not sure why, but we didn't complain LOL. AC worked great, bathroom was very clean, and the location was fabulous. We were minutes to loby, buffet, restaurants and pool.
Maids were fabulous, restocked mini bar everyday. We tipped $2-3 US a day, and she did a great job.

Restaurants and Bars:
I was worried about the food after reading negative reviews on this resort. I'd just like to say, I don't know what these ppl were complaining about. Unless you are Oprah with a world class chef in your home cooking for you, there is NO WAY you could complain about the food.

BUFFET: The buffet was AWSOME! So much to chose from, and the food was good quality. They also did a good job changing it up every night as well. There is definantly something for everyone. They even had a "kids section" at the buffet. The counter was lower, and had favourite kid foods...fries, hotdogs ect, very cute :)

ITALIAN RESTAURANT: We ate here one night. This was the only meal I didn't like. The food wasn't bad, I just found that I like having more choice with the buffet.

JAPANESE RESTAURANT: This was THE BEST A la Carte! If you have a large party....and of course we did, you get your own private room with a chef who cooks right in front of you. rice, veggies, chicken, beef, shrimp and fish. It was fabulous! I Had the Tempura starter, and Fried Ice Cream for dessert...Both Fabulous!

THE GRILL: This was were we had the Wedding Dinner. Bride and Groom chose our meals. Food was good, we had lamb, some had fish instead. Only complaint here was the AC was not working this night, and everyone was VERY HOT! Especially since we were all dressed up for the wedding.

BEACH GRILL: This is an outdoor buffet on the beach. This is were the Jerk Chicken is! OMG, SOO YUMMY!! We had it almost everyday.

BARS: The drinks were AWSOME! I have been to Domincan and Mexico where they put way too much liquor, and your drink ends up tasting Horrible...lol I must say the drinks here was VERY tasty! Made so you could enjoy it! And if you like alot of liquor, just ask for a double, they will gladly do it for you :)
My favourites were Pina Colada and Banana Daquiri's. Very yummy. There beer is good too.

Don't leave without trying "THE BOB MARLEY" shot. It has 3 layers, all different colors.... red, yellow and green, and it doesn't mix....really neat!

WATER: One GREAT thing about Jamaica....You can drink the tap water! I think this is why none of us in our group experienced any type of stomach issues. I felt the same as I would have felt eating at home.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
BEACH: This is my only complaint about this resort. The beach is not nearly as nice as D.R or Mexico. Not the resorts fault, just the way god made this strip of beach I guess. It is very rocky as you walk closer to the ocean. There is an area far to the left that is nicer if you don't mind the walk.

POOL: Very nice, clean large pool. Pool bar was great! We enjoyed that daily. There are limited chairs around the pool. We were lucky, my dad likes to get up at 5am and he went down and grabbed chairs under the palapa for us. Other wise, you probably wont get a chair around the pool. If we needed more chairs, we just brought some up from the beach...its a very short walk. No one complained, and alot of guests did this as well.

Grounds were beautiful, well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I am not one to be "Active" on vacation...but if you are, there are things to do everyday around the pool. Your typical stuff....volleyball, water polo etc. They also had Bingo, beer drinking competitions, water balloon toss ect.

As for tours off the resort, there are lots to chose from. Again, I did neither of them. But ppl in our group did some. They chose different tours, and they all enjoyed themselves.

Other Comments:
WEDDING: This is a great resort to have your beach wedding. The wedding Gazebo is right on the beach overlooking the ocean, the perfect backdrop for your special day.

Overall, I would say this was a great resort, and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just an okay review for an all-inclusive."

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chris  on Jul 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Wedding | Family and Kids
153 people found this review helpful

My first trip to an all inclusive. Had a good time. IF you don't have a problem, everything is great. For me, the hotel fails when a problem arises. They just don't seem to know how to resolve an issue. Often times (I had two different instances) it seemed like they didn't care about resolving the issue since they know you will be gone soon. According to others, compared to other all inclusives - this should be more like a 3 star resort.

Arrival:
Hotel looked fabulous on arrival. Greeted with smiles and a drink - welcomed in the heat. We requested non-smoking, two rooms side by side, upper floors. We got two separate rooms, 2nd floor smoking section. On check in, we were offered to move one of the rooms to be beside the other. The next day this was no longer possible but can be done on lower/ground floor. No explanation about other procedures like booking restaurants, towels, gym, spa, equipment rental etc.

Rooms:
Rooms were great for us. No complaints here. Everthing as expected. The maid that looked after our room was terrific. Made lovely bed ornaments that thrilled the kids.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good. Theme nights were good. Service was great - everyone with a smile - not long to wait but when you have over 200 relatives there, you can always find a seat. Specialty restaurants reservations only available late (9:00 pm was the earliest we could find) even though you walk by them and they clearly have room. Specialty restaurants ran out of food and food was bad - we left to go back to the buffet (Specialty restaurant was the Grill). Problems with booking specialty restaurants: have to be there in person well before they open at 10:00am. After certain time they cannot book ahead but only for same day. Some restaurants only open certain days.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Over the 7 days we were there, they ran out of towels 3 times. The gym had 4 machines that were either broken or not fully functional (bikes worked as long as you didn't have to adjust seat height). The pool has lots of room but as the day goes on, water tends to get murkier with all the paper from the straws falling in the pool. People go down early in the morning to reserve they seats so by 9 am all the pool seats are taken. The sad thing is that I was beside one set of seats that was reserved with a towel but now one showed in the 4 hours I was there before lunch and the 2 hours after.
They keep the resort clean, always had people sweeping and mopping floors, sweeping and wiping down rails and walls, even painting the curbs and bricks.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of hidden costs: $$ to use spa, $$ to learn to use equipment then free to use.
Everything seems far just because of the mere size of the resort. They list a lot of activities but they don't always tell you where it is happening - some you just have to assume. For example, they list darts but don't tell you where but water exercise you have to assume the pool (you still have to guess the location in the pool). Not clear where you can rent/use stuff for activities - I didn't know if you have to rent/sign out a volley ball for the beach volley ball or supply your own.

Other Comments:
At wedding, items were stolen from private room, champaign that was purchased was not served, buffet was supposed to be 2 lines 1 provided. Front desk manager is only good at spouting policy and procedure not at sloving any problems. They double booked the bride's room so a staff and two new vacationers walked in on her naked.
We had smoke in our room one day and we called to find out what was happening, they sent someone with a can of air spray to fix problem. This is how we found out that we were in smoking section.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"SAFETY OF HOTEL AND STAFF"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  garyandnan2@yahoo.ca  on Nov 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
173 people found this review helpful

Our stay from Oct.6-13, 2010. An incident happened after my daughter's wedding at approx.0300 hrs.Oct.11, her wedding was Oct.10 in Mahoe falls.Most scareist experience I had ever seen. Heard a help x3 below our balconey, 3rd floor. My husband called the operator. To make a long story short, we saw a woman on the ground who "apparently fell". OMG. 1 worker came, took a while , for more to come, no lights, but from phones. Then 2 men came w/ the pool wooden lounger, what??? to carry her? Finally, approx. 45 min. a woman came, medical staff? and finally transferred her to the old fashion plastic stretcher. Are you doing health and safety? What kind of emergency equipments do you have? Ambulance accessable? a ramp for modern stretchers?. Your hotel is excellent, trained staff as well.

Arrival:
Arrival= Oct. 6 and left the 13th.

Rooms:
apears some meldew forming along the seams of shower wall.

Restaurants and Bars:
All great!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great also.

Other Comments:
other than safety, none

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nov Vaca"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Nov 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
171 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe between Nov 5 and Nov 12.

Rooms:
Hotel is fantastic. Room spacious and clean as was the rest of the resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great especially the Grille and don Pablo - gourmet, Italian was so so. The buffet had lots of choices every single meal.

Great staff - lounge bar - hats off to Antonio & Ric, restaurant servers - Gordon and Dexton.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
My only disappointment was the beach or lack thereof, we are beach people and this was more suited to snorkling. Rocks and seaweed gallor.

The staff would rake up the seaweed and leave them in clumps along the shore.

Other Comments:
Would definately return to Jamaica, but maybe next time Negril so that I can sit on the beach all day and not near the pool.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube