Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Runaway Bay > Runaway Bay Hotel Index > Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Runaway Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Breezes Runaway Bay Resort & Golf Club

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2012

Club Ambiance

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 7, 2012

Royal DeCameron Club Caribbean

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 6, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay  

Salt Coppers Villa | Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica

"Terrible service"
Posted by: terry on May 24, 2013
see all reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Pictures and Information
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Runaway Bay Jamaica

#1
of 11 Hotels in Runaway Bay

User rating 3.6

Based on 29 reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Information


Enjoy our facilities: four lake-type swimming pools that are connected to each other and surround the main building, with children’s section. Mini-club for children.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Reviews

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 3.6 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  9
Average
  4
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (19)
Party (2)
Wedding (6)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With friend (1)
With Group (6)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
11 - 20 of 29

"I loved it!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  LP  on Aug 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
207 people found this review helpful

I have nothing negative to say about this vacation. The resort is gorgeous and the staff are the best! I'm quite sad because the flash card in my camera got ruined so I lost ALL of my pics. if anyone is going in the near future, PLEASE post or send pics, especially of the entertainment staff since there are already plenty here of the resort itself. Thanks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort overshadowed by salmonella"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Greg  on May 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
215 people found this review helpful

I really have to say this is a beautiful resort great service. that said i returned home very ill to find out i got salmonella from this resort.Not a good way to end a beautiful vacation.I cannot believe they would risk the lives of paying customers by being this careless i will never go back to this resort.
I emailed the resort and recieved a reply that stated i was an isolated case and no one else got sick there. I happen to know another 6 people that have reported this to the resort.
Really to lie to try cover up a screw up instead of an apology i find appauling.

Room Number:
23302

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing Experience"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jacqueline  on Apr 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Jamaica
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
163 people found this review helpful

I attended a family wedding and several family members accessed the hotel
by a day pass. We were told that a room would have been provided upon
availability. Well we had to crash in on our overseas relatives at the resort
as the wedding was stretched between 11-12noon ceremony and 6-8pm dinner reception.
We had a 97 year old guest and we could not access a wheelchair for her to get
from point A-B. Only one wheelchair was available on the entire 700 room
property.
Thirdly, the reception for the wedding was held in one of the private restaurants and we were told we could not have a reception (speeches and toasts) as the other guests would be disturbed. Surely if you are providing a
service - please provide a service.

Room Number:
not applicable

Room Block:
n/a

Arrival:
April 5 2011

Rooms:
not applicable

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was sometimes annoying however relaxing at the same time."

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Derek  on Apr 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
165 people found this review helpful

Jamaica Trip 2011 & Gran Baha Pincipe Resort Review

Carrier:
AirTransat - Flights were fine except that we stopped in Winnapeg for an hour and a half to pickup people. Instead of a 6 hour direct flight from YVR (Vancouver Airport) we were on the plane for 9 hours. Plane staff were hospitable to some degree.

Resort:
The resort was impressive when we first arrived, large pillars greet you and some magnificently large artsy sculpture in the lobby looked really interesting. Once we stepped of the bus, our bags were unloaded by the driver and he sped away in the large bus. We stood there looking for a bell hop with a trolley because we had six bags. After 15 minutes we realized that the bell boy was not coming, I was surprised after all it was a tip opportunity thwarted. We were lucky enough to be members of the Gold Club, so when we found the welcome room we were greeted with a drink and a smile, nice. After the first week at the resort we noticed many people tipping the bar staff. It was surprising to me after all we just paid $9,000 dollars to be here for two weeks. The impression we had was that the staff were underpaid, and this was confirmed by someone I talked to working at the resort. The staff lived off of tips from the clients. I suppose it is naïve to think otherwise, but it was a little weird and awkward feeling guilty for not tipping at times. For the first three days we had trouble trying to get towels from the one towel stand near the middle of the pool. People were supposed to turn in their towels daily but they never did, the reason being they were using them to reserve the nicest spots near the pool early in the morning by throwing their beach towels on the loungers. We witnessed a new person every day trying to get towels only to find out that they were out of them, ridiculous. I bought a bottle of rum from the gift shop for $32.50 USD. Another guest mentioned that it was cheaper at the airport, I tried to return the unopened bottle at the resort but they would not let me, lame.



Kids Club:
Our kids did not go to the kids club, however another boy mentioned that it smelled really bad and the video games were really old, with only one or two games.

Weather:
We were here from the middle of March to the beginning of April. I would not recommend coming to this resort at this time of year due to the wind. Every day in the afternoon the wind would pick up from an estimated 30 to 50 km/h gusts. When we were at the beach we had sand fly into our eyes many times. At the pool the wind was annoying too, in the afternoon one of the palm trees was blown over due to high winds.





Overall Rating 2.5/5 considering all pluses and minuses.
Would I go to this resort again? No. We would opt for Nigril the other side of Jamaica if we ever go again

Room Number:
21000 - second floor ocean view

Arrival:
Ground Transport:
Tips Tips Tips, how annoying, from the moment you set foot outside the airport in Jamaica the hands are out for tips. From the people that move the bags into the bus to the bus driver. The 1.5 hours bus ride once we landed in Jamaica to the resort was an unwelcome annoyance as well with the bus stopping for the driver to get a beer and a seedy little store for 20 minutes of the ride. This was particularly annoying as we have 6 and 8 year old boys.

The ride to the resort showed the real side of Jamaica, which is a poor third world country. There were bars on all of the store and home windows and large gates to keep out presumably all the thieves and beggars. It was not a pretty site and almost made me feel guilty to come from a rich G8 nation like Canada where we have so much. Once we arrived at the resort the driver reminded us that tips to the driver are greatly appreciated, how annoying!

Rooms:
Room:
Wow! What a magnificent view from the room, I must say it was the best that I have ever had. We were on the second floor facing the ocean with views of the beach and resort pool. After we were in the room for a week we started to notice all a lot of flaws. It was amazing to me how run down the room was when the resort was opened in 2006, wow. There was no fan in the bathroom, which surprised us.

Restaurants and Bars:
There Don Pablo was the best restaurant, others were mediocre at best. Bars were sometimes far away from base locations at the resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches:
The beach was nice, white / tan sand, lots of locations to sit on loungers. There were some strange Jamaican characters who sold pretty much anything you wanted near the nudist beach at the resort.

Pool:
The pool was kept fairly clean all the time, and the chairs arranged every night back to their specific positions. We really enjoyed the pool with our children.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Scuba Diving:
The scuba diving was pretty good, but the wind stirred up the visibility on some of the days. I dove in Fiji in 1999 and this was the best I have ever seen, the most pristine reefs you will find on the northern Fiji Island.

Dolphin Cove Day outing:
We went to dolphin cove on one of the days, it was quite a tourist trap. They would not allow you to take images with your own camera which annoyed us. The amount they were charging for a video and or image CD was ridiculous too, way over the top as far as price. We ended up purchasing one picture of the family with a sting ray, $9.00 dollars. The entire CD would have been around $89 dollars, rip off. The only time my family got sick was after eating lunch at the dolphin cove, the burgers were under cooked. The dolphin program we in different categories, look, touch, and swim with dolphins, all at ever increasing prices (this was a 300+ dollar day). In my opinion it was worth around 1/3 of what we paid.

Other Comments:
Very run down resort for only being 5 years since opening.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Waste of Money!!!!"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steve  on Mar 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
159 people found this review helpful

I could write for hours of how bad this resort was. We are frequent travelers and have never been to what they described as a 5(five) star. If I could it would be a -5.

We started by only staying a week but thought for the extra $ 860 per week each we decided to stay the additional week.

We started the journey from the airport being harassed by the bus driver who was the a druggie and his dealer hopped on the bus as we were existing the main gate. We stopped at some sleazy bar on the way. He followed me into the washroom when we arrived at the side of the road. He followed me into the washroom and waited behind me until I finished at the urinal. The hotel also also these druggie types on the private beach to try and sell you whatever you heart fancies.

We were told when I booked the $ 6000 trip, we would have an upgraded room, we landed on the main floor looking into the parking garage. We arrived at around 1am and didn't get the room until close to 4pm. After what seemed an hour or fighting with the manager we were told that a room would be available the next day. They came through with this.

We decided to upgrade to Gold class and we very sorry. We were to receive turn down service every night. Only received it 3 times in our stay. If I didn't write daily instructions to the maid, you would never know how your room would be when you got back for the day, it was a hit and miss.

The staff had such poor attitudes they complained about how cheap the owners were including not getting yearly bonuses.

The resort has about 5 what they consider 5 star hotels. We cancelled many of our reservations due to the poor staff and food. We ended up sick both two times. In saying this, there were several kids that truly liked their jobs and would would seek them out when we went to the two buffets. We went to the Japanese restaurant and the Chef's choice was beef tenderloin. I ordered that and received a 4 oz steak, mash potatoes and frozen veggies.. How they figured that was Japanese I still can't figure out.

Room service in Gold class was a joke. The menu consisted of hotdogs / hamburgers and french fries mainly, that's if there was anything left at 11pm. I had to get fruit plates several times and eventually gave up later in our stay. I complained to the Gold Class staff and nothing changed.

The kids working the pool continuously asked for drinks while we were there and if you didn't tip all of the staff you basically received crap service.


Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great resort"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  randy  on Feb 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
165 people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at the resort for two weeks and had a great time the only problems we has was with the golden club it is really not worth the money as we do golden club everywhere and this was by far the worst.at the private check in your told you have to go stand in the line with everyone else for a safe key plus the girls who work in there are not very plesant or helpful with out seeming like you bother them there is booze in there but not sure how it works as we were never offered a drink only two computers and there always busy very hard to get use but we found that the people who own the stores in the market will let you log in to check your mail and stuff also on checkout if you have room charges you can't do golden checkout .so there was really no value there
pillows in the room sucked they were more like cushins other then that everything was great.
the beach is very good there is a nude part which is fenced off
the pool is always busy people put towels out at 6 a.m some never show up so if you see a spot you like and no one there just remove the towels as there are no reserved spots.
the restraunts are very good also the best for us was the japaneese
don pablo is good but if your not very hungury order the surf and turf as there is not much on the plate my sisterinlaw left hungury
only the japaneese and don pablo serve everything the grill and the itillian you have to get your own apps and desert from a buffet.
would we go back to this resort a deffinate yes

Room Number:
21407

Arrival:
when we arrived no one greeted us at the golden checkin or even offered us a drink

Rooms:
room were facing the ocean but the door handel fell off three times during out visit and there is only a handle on the inside so you can get locked out on your balcony

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the resort is new so not much for the grounds the pool is very big three swim up bars

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we didn't do any activities on the resort but we did go to a school in brownstown and to dunns river falls which was excellent we went with a local guy paid 120 u.s for the day paid our own way into the falls which was 68 u.s for 4 ppl and stoped for lunch at a jerk chick and pork place called scotches very good food we met omar up at the shopping complex he hooked us up for the trip

Other Comments:
other then the golden club our trip was excellent

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic hotel"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cara  on Feb 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
175 people found this review helpful

Loved the hotel, very modern, loved the room, large bathroom & large room with canope bed, table & chairs & sofa, large balcony with table & chairs to sit outside in morning if you like to have a coffee, etc. Small fridge with soft drinks, water & beer. Just leave a note if you want something different or call the front desk & they will deliver it & we were not "Gold members". Always clean towels.

- Hard to get clean beach towels, have to go first thing in am or early afternoon.
- To get chairs by the pool, have to go between 6:30 & 7:00 am to get the spot you like best. But there is also a beach further down which is much nicer than the pool & the man made beach near the pool. The water is crystal clear & you can go far out before you go above your head, but I'm only 5' 1 1/2" tall!!
- Some times you have to wait until they replenish the bacon or butter in the large buffet room, there is also a smaller one around the corner from it (but not as much choice.
- The "a la carte" restaurants are great, especially the Japanese one, the Grill and the Gourmet one was also excellent. We had "Surf & Turf" at the Grill but it wasn't a lot, but with the salad bar (& you have to try their cheese sticks with a light coating & lots of cheese - fantastic), etc. & dessert, we were not hungry when we left.

Room Number:
14304

Room Block:
3rd floor

Arrival:
Our arrival was a bit crazy, was slow at first but when they got more people out it went fairly quickly. We arrived around 1 or 2 pm & as our rooms were not ready, we left our suitcases at the front & went for lunch. By the time we came back we were led to our rooms.

Rooms:
Fantastic.

Restaurants and Bars:
The "a la cartes" are great esp. the Japanese, the Grill & the Gourmet one. Didn't think I'd like the Gourmet but it turned out to be great!

The beef at the buffets was usually tough, I think they cook the meat too long or they just have tough beef, at least at the Grill they ask how you like it but even though I said "medium", I still found it was not as tender as our beef (and this was Golden Medallion with the surf & turf).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Have to get your towel on those chairs early, 6:30 am or 7 am the latest!! The beach isn't so bad, but it depends if you want shade as they only have so many Palapa's (umbrella like, made with bamboo, I think)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good entertainment in the theatre area where the shopping plaza is.

Went on a tour of the Dunn River Falls & the falls were great but they didn't give us enough time for the shopping. Stopped at 2 places, one with the locals where they were all over us but u can deal with them & then real stores,as I refer to them, and you could deal a bit with them also.

Other Comments:
Shopping is ok, but you have to deal, especially with the locals, but some of the stores in the resort you can deal with but the "Logo" shop you can't. If it's on sale you get it at that price, if not, no deals to be had there!

We went with friends & they said they would go back, or go to another Gran Bahai Principe but I don't like to go to the same place twice, too many other places to go & see but I would also stay in another Bahai Principe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice rooms, mostly nice staff, not enough info up front"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rose  on Dec 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Wedding | Family and Kids
169 people found this review helpful

We booked through a travel agency Bahia Principe USA our of Miami who was coordinating the travel to our nephew's wedding at this resort. We were told that we would receive our travel vouchers once we were paid in full. They never explained until much later that everyone attending the wedding had to be paid in full before we received the vouchers. While we were paid up two months before departure we only received our vouchers the week before. The agent booked our children on the plane and made a mistake booking their return flight home as 6 days later than ours. Unfortunately, we didn't notice until the night before our Jamaica departure when we went to print the boarding passes. We had to call the airlines and charge $300 to our credit card to fix her mistake. I have e-mailed her about the mistake and charge and haven't heard back yet - now 2 days later. It would have been nice to receive more information about the hotel amenities and restaurants before check-in so we would be prepared to make reservations upon our arrival. Some of the guests who made reservations or tried to add people to their reservations were given a hard time when they arrived at the restaurant. The pool was very nice. I noticed many commented our the rocky beaches. I agree; however, a guest who came earlier in the week showed us the sandy beach further down that was very nice for sunbathing, swimming, and snorkeling. It would be nice to have that information in advance and also to know that some of the beaches are rocky so that people would pack water shoes. The wedding was nicely done and the minister was excellent. We weren't told which restaurant the reception dinner would be held until after the ceremony. My sister-in-law said that the wedding planner wasn't very flexible when she asked for a few extras, such as taking the wedding cake which was cut and not served over to the wedding pavillion where people were dancing to serve to the guests. The wait staff, maids, and lifeguards were all very friendly. The front desk staff could use some people skills. Our rooms were very nice. We were put in smoking rooms even though we didn't want to be in them. Our kids were next door and supposed to have 2 double beds but instead were given a king bed. If you want to be moved you have to check back with them after 1:00 the next day. It wasn't worth re-packing when we were only there for a few days. The food was OK. There was enough variety at the buffet everyone could find something to eat; however it got very repetitive. For a tropical island the fruit was very disappointing.

Room Number:
109 and 110

Room Block:
14

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Get Room Confirmation First"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rod  on Nov 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
164 people found this review helpful


If you cannot confirm that your room will not be one of the odd numbers of Blocks 14,15,16,or 17. DO NOT book your trip. These rooms are adjacent to the entertainment stage and disco. The noise starts at 10 pm and stops at 4 am. So unless you are actualy at the disco making the noise then sleeping in any of these rooms will be all but impossible.

Why they booked two old farts like us in a room they knew was unsuitable for us is unfathomable. We are not the disco types. Certainly they know the problem. The fact the front desk people didn't give a shit really annoyed me.

Arrival:
Simple, fast no issues. There is a daily charge for the room safe which is silly. Why they just don't streamline it and inlcude it in the room cost.

Rooms:
Big and comfortable. Housekeeping was good.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were great and the staff friendly. The buffet was good for breakfast and lunch. Dinner was a bit repetitive. The a la cartes are only semi a la carte since you still had to serve yourself the first course and dessert from a buffet. The Jerk chicken at the beach bar was very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was less than great. Rocky and weedy in spots. Good for kids with sand bars that keep it shallow well out. Good snorkelling at the far end in relatively shallow water.

Other Comments:
If possible avoid the US thanksgiving week. We had 100 American 20-somethings near us experiencing 5 % beer for the first time. They were drunk most of the time, blaring top 40 rap music and finding cause to punch each other out every once and a while. Usually at 3 or 4 in the morning. Imagine 100 Macaroni Rascals from the Jesey Shores TV show and you'll get the picture.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nov Vaca"

Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
User Rating:  Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Nov 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
174 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe between Nov 5 and Nov 12.

Rooms:
Hotel is fantastic. Room spacious and clean as was the rest of the resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great especially the Grille and don Pablo - gourmet, Italian was so so. The buffet had lots of choices every single meal.

Great staff - lounge bar - hats off to Antonio & Ric, restaurant servers - Gordon and Dexton.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
My only disappointment was the beach or lack thereof, we are beach people and this was more suited to snorkling. Rocks and seaweed gallor.

The staff would rake up the seaweed and leave them in clumps along the shore.

Other Comments:
Would definately return to Jamaica, but maybe next time Negril so that I can sit on the beach all day and not near the pool.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube