Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Secrets Wild Orchid

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 23, 2012

Secrets St James

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 16, 2010

N-Resort (Formerly FDR Pebbles )

4.3 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 5, 2011

Riu Montego Bay

3.5 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2013

Spa Montego Bay & Grand Palladium Jamaica

2.3 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 4, 2013

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort  

P.O. Box 999, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"Another wonderful holiday"
Posted by: Mary on Nov 2, 2013
see all reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica

#2
of 34 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 4.3

Based on 26 reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Information


Nestled between the scenic Jamaican mountains and turquoise Caribbean waters, Rose Hall Resort & Spa truly inhabits a more exclusive ocean-front location than other Montego Bay Jamaica resorts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.3 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  9
Average
  4
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 26

"Another wonderful holiday"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Nov 2, 2013  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
77 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Returned to this wonderful and very well managed resort for the second time. It’s a 20 minute bus ride to the three Iberostar sisters (Beach, Suites, and Grand) which are next to each other. Nicely landscaped resort, easy walking distance to everything from all rooms.

Rooms:
Once again we had a nicely appointed room with lots of dresser and closet space. Everything worked well. No problem drinking tap water. Provided with bottled water during fridge replenishing. Our maid Viviene, was friendly and professional, and kept our room very clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
We always had breakfast and dinner at the buffet, and lunch at Uncle Tony's. Very pleased with selection and quality of all food and drink. Neither of us was sick, nor were any other guests complaining of illness.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is nice, with lots of chairs and shade available. Ocean was very warm, like bath water. We both got stung several times by jelly fish (no see ums), with mild burning reactions. Snorkeling was decent, a lot less lion fish this trip. My husband also came across a box jelly fish (also do not touch). The only complaint we have is that garbage was not collected. Empty drinking glasses used by the beach bar would be collected by the bar staff several times a day. However, various garbage such as empty water/pop bottles, empty sunscreen bottles, any items guests fished out of the ocean etc would all be left behind. We don’t remember it being this way during our last visit.

Other Comments:
Whole resort still very clean, with the cleanest washrooms we have ever seen anywhere. Everyone provided excellent service. Special hugs and thanks go out to Patrice.

Very much enjoyed our second holiday here, and hope to return for a third visit. We have stayed at several Iberostar resorts, and can honestly say that this resort chain is definitely the best there is, and our favorite!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Resort ever"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on Feb 11, 2013  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
136 people found this review helpful

I just spent 2 glorious weeks with my husband and 3 friends at this amazing Resort from January 26th to February 9th, 2013. We have travelled for many years and been to many Resorts. This one is our favourite and we will definitely be returning.

With the exception of one minor personal negative matter on which I will comment at the end of this review, this Resort was outstanding. It gets top points for cleanliness in the rooms, lounge area, pool area, beach, bathrooms and eating areas. The staff is very , friendly, entertainment was very good but top points go to the buffet food. Two of the A la carte Restaurants were not the best which is unusual for Resorts. The Japanese and the Cajun we did not repeat during our second week but we did for the Steak House. The Buffet was the best we have ever had both for variety and selection. Every lunch and every dinner had something new and extremely tasty. They had fruits we have never tried before and always a wonderful selection. They had a fish (never heard of it but it started with a “P”) that was so delicious we ate it whenever it was served at the buffet. They also had the best and hottest coffee of all the islands. We also took a pass on the beach BBQ probably because the buffet was so amazing.

In the lounge nightly, they had different themes for the music.. Played softly, but just there. One night old tunes, then country etc. Nice. And the music was softly played at the buffet also.

There are sufficient lounge chairs both at the pool and the beach, with enough shade for everyone who wants it.

The bar service on the beach and pool is the best. We did have difficulty for a few days getting bar service in the lounge because we were not at the immediately bar area, choosing to sit away from the noise but after speaking to management, that problem was rectified.

A warning to families with children – there is no children’s pool.

The only thing I did not personally like was the loudness of the music and especially the microphone of the entertainment crew both on the beach and around the pool. We did, a few days, ask them to turn it down because we could not speak to the person sitting beside us without shouting and they did but you had to do it daily. It lasted from 10 am to 11:30 am and then moved to the pool which abuts the beach and would start up again at the pool at 12:00. That said, there was an amazing young man, Patrick “Lemonhead”, who was part of the entertainment crew. He never failed to put a smile on our face and make us laugh every day. Definitely the “star” of the Resort.

Arrival:
Check in was excellent

Rooms:
So clean and done early

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful time"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emily09  on Jul 23, 2012  >  6 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
235 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
3344

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
We (my husband and 10 yr old son) stayed at the Suites.

Upon arrival we used Jamaica Tours and they were great. Arrived on a Thursday at 10:55 and after customs and the 20 minute bus ride to the resort, we checked in at 12:50pm, by 1:00pm we were in our room. Front desk service was fast and very efficient. Extremly friendly

Rooms:
We were in building 3 on the 3rd floor. Double beds with a pull out couch. Room was big with a very nice balcony. We requested ocean view and thats what we received. Nice view. The bathroom was huge. Double sinks, huge tub and stand up shower, even had a phone, which my son kept saying "thats weird".haha. The room was cleaned every day at or around 2:00pm. They state the fridge is stocked every other day, but we had it stocked every day at the same time the room was cleaned (cokes, water, beer). Inroom digital safe worked well. Nothing ever came missing from the room. (We had an alarm clock in the room).

Restaurants and Bars:
We had no issues making reservations. We made reservations for all 4 restaurants on site and one at the beach resort without problems. You are all allowed to make so many up front upon arrival according the the number of nights you stay, but we didnt, we made them every day for either the same night or the next night. The line to make reservations was never long, maybe one or two in front of me. We had the breakfast buffet every morning and it was very good, we ate dinner there twice and it was average, reservation ones I thought were better. Room service has a limited menu, but it was good, they always said 30-45 minutes for room service but we always received within 20-30 minutes. We sat at the lobby bar every evening and it was always busy, but you never waited more the a few seconds to get noticed and order a drink. The swim up bar again always busy but never waited long.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach area is nice, being to Aruba twice, we thought the beaches were average and no where near as nice as Aruba, but it was still nice to walk, not rocky and the water was clear and warm. They kept the beach clean, no trash or things laying around. The pool area is extremly nice. Two pools, one with a swim up bar and one activity pool with basketball hoop and valley ball net. Also a lazy river which was fun and relaxing. Around the pool area they have 3 ping pong tables, foos ball and darts. My son played there every day. The star friends are fun and not annoying and they do not pressure you to get involved. They games they played are fun to watch. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
They offer free kayaks, sail boats and snorkleing. Dressel Dive Center is located next to the beach resort and they are extremly friendly. We booked 2 excursions with them. Margaritaville and lagoon tour, both were fun. The lagoon is awesome and magical, must try this. Dressel Dive is the place you check out your kayaks, sail boats and snorkeling gear. They also have parasailing and give free scuba tryouts in the pool. My son and husband got scuba certified while we were there. The dive instructors are very professional, fun and friendly.

Other Comments:
I'll be happy th answer any questions and share pics. I have several hundred pics of the resort and excursions.

***If you want to get scuba certified go talk to Marie at Dressell dive center she is always smiling and very friendly. Rogan is the instructor that helped my 10yr old get certified and he was very nice and willing to go the extra mile to make sure he was confident and comfortable....we were very lucky to have him teach them. I cant say enough things about Dressell, the staff is what made our trip that much more enjoyable!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  margaret  on Jan 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
261 people found this review helpful

This has been the first time in many years I have been back to jamaica,this time with a wheelchair for my little one ,no problems, except going to the beach. there should be a paved strech from the pool bar to the beach.The other thing that shouldbe taken care off, is the childrens entertainment. musical chairs and one childrens song is not enough.whan you had the party on the beach all the children had a great time. the same should be done whan indoors.
room and service good, food exeptional,pool super. if possible will come back
margaret & elli

Room Number:
1340

Room Block:
???

Arrival:
19th december did not have to wait in the bus ,but was taken with a car to the hotel.

Rooms:
good ,service great, ask for extra water no problem

Restaurants and Bars:
good.chef of the kitchen was very understanding and mashed my little one's veggies every day,as she only had one tooth left. thank you this made it easy for me

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great pool,beach is ok,but should be taken care off in the future build a pass ,there are to many people with walkers and wheelchairs, strollers that cannot get near the watrer ,for the sand.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I am limited to participate in games and outings as I have a wheelchair for my daughter, except for the short time at 8p.m. (chilrens hour) which was very poorly done my little one has no speach, but likes music she cannot walk in the sand,but spend a great deal of the time in the water

Other Comments:
getting a chair was no problem,keeping it was an other story

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Grand It is!"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Louise  on Dec 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
273 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall for 10 days and we could have stayed longer. It was simply perfect. We have travelled to many different resorts, this was one of the best. The Staff, the resort, the beach, the service, the food are of superior quality. We could not find any negative issue with our stay. We shall return very soon and again. Thank You to all for making our stay a real dream and hopefully this will help others to make their decision, in choosing this resort.

Room Number:
5425

Room Block:
5

Arrival:

Greeted with a cold towel and glass of champagne.
Check in was quick and smooth. , Took literally 2 minutes, but the desk was not busy when we arrived.

Rooms:
Large size room, lots of storage, clean with no unpleasant odors. Perfect room on the 4th floor with a great view (pool and ocean). Had a couch and swinging double chair on the balcony, also had a pull out rack to hang wet bathing suites.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was excellent with , a lot of selection at the Buffet and/or a la carte Restaurants. Lots of seafood in all restaurants. Service in all, was professional, friendly and prompt.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was very welll kept, no seaweed, and cleaned and racked constantly.
Lots of chairs and shaded huts to choose from. Didn't have to get up at 6 am to reserve, although some people did, although the double beds on the beach were spoken for early ande quickly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:

My husband played golf at Cinnamon hill and raved about the course and the caddies.
Did not participate on any activities but a lot to do if you choose too.

Other Comments:
This Resort is truly a 5 star and has many repeat vacationers and I understand why. The staff truly work hard and will do what it takes to make your stay a delightful experience that you will remember and will want to relive again. The butlers concierge staff are always at your disposal for what ever you need, and deliver with a smile. The Jamaican People are friendly, and kind, and it is easy to communicate with them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar delivers yet another excellent holiday"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Dec 13, 2011  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
404 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Stayed 21 Nov to 5 Dec 2011. Bus ride took 30 mins. Three sister resorts are next to each other, Beach, Suites and Grand. Nicely landscaped, not a big resort, close walking distance to everything from all rooms. No need for umbrella, can walk everywhere through the bldgs. Incredible view of ocean from lobby balcony overlooking pool and gardens. Evenings and nights were warm (25C), no need for sweaters.

Whole resort very clean, cleanest washrooms ever seen. Service was excellent from everyone: Kamisha our buffet waitress, bartender Patrice (often at the lobby bar, ask her to mix you up a Lady Cordelia, very refreshing rum based drink), chef Ramon, plus many others which we do not know their names. They ALL provided excellent service.

Rooms:
Room was very nice, lots of dresser and closet space. Everything worked well, despite AC having a few hiccups. Shampoo and body wash in shower dispensers. Very well insulated rooms, could barely hear our neighbours (unlike the Dominican and Cuba). No problem drinking tap water, however are provided bottled water during fridge replenishing. Or, ask for it at front desk. Our maid Karlene Wallace is a super nice lady and did an excellent job looking after us.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate at the buffet. Very pleased with selection and quality. I am hard pressed to come up with a complaint. All I can think of is that the green beans and carrots were always undercooked. Cajun and Japanese restaurants are next to buffet. The only beach front restaurant is Uncle Tony's which is open for late breakfast, lunch, and snacks. Evenings it transforms into a-la-carte Steakhouse. Our pet peeve is guys with baseball caps and sleeveless muscle shirts in restaurants (and I don't mean beach restaurant). Come on now, you're not at McDonald's!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is nice. Lots of chairs, and lots of shade from trees and palapas. No palm trees on beach, just around resort bldgs and gardens. Water shoes not required. Sea grass washed in, more so closer to pier. Excellent snorkeling, best along rock piles, and all within roped in area. Starfish (even at knee depth - plse be kind and do not remove them), lion fish (absolutely beautiful, but stay away), trumpet fish, ray, flounder, sargeant major, tang, puffer, parrot, eels, less electric ray, barracuda, skate, etc. Also small clear "no see-ums" jelly fish, and brown ones which sit on ocean floor, dome side down, and kind of look like a brown plant. My husband got stung daily by clear jelly fish even in waist deep water. Feels like pins and needles, sometimes lasts several hrs. For a good part of our 2 wk stay, ocean was not clear due to churned up sand. Would occasionally see, but one miserable cloudy and very windy day it was really bad, bits of white styrofoam washed up on shore. Were told it floated in from a river somewhere. Beach bar located under pool bar. Washrooms on beach level are next to bar, and at Uncle Tony's.

Other Comments:
Shopping, beach vendors located past pier. Also free shuttle to Rose Hall Shopping Plaza, 10 mins drive; 30 stores, 10 of which are jewellery stores.

Neither one of us was sick, nor were any other guests complaining of illness. Had only 5 bug bites, barely itchy, not at all reactions like we had elsewhere.

Very much enjoyed our holiday, everything was perfect except for the ocean conditions, but that you have no control over. We give this resort a 5 star rating.

A well deserved thanks goes to Debbie for her website.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst experience with rude, inconsiderate and heartless employees"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  JULIE  on Jun 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
358 people found this review helpful

My first night at the hotel, I was out with friends with I slipped on a puddle of water on the disco's dance floor causing myself to fall and hit my head on a ledge. My head was cut open and I laid on the floor bleeding from my head for an hour before the ambulance came. During this time, I became non-responsive. The hotel claims they did everything possible for me because they had a nurse in there. There was nothing the nurse could do for me because it was a head injury. The resort took over 30 minutes to call for an ambulance because someone had to offer to pay $2,700 upfront before I could be taken. The hotel never once offered to help while I laid on the floor bleeding from my head. I spent the next 20 hours in the hospital with a severe head injury. When I returned to the resort, none of the employees sought me out to make sure I was ok. I had to find them and talk to them about the incident. After I filled out my incident report, they said they would be in contact with me. No one ever spoke another word to me. They sent me 2 letters stating the EXACT same thing on each letter, but changed the person's name at the bottom. I saw these people multiple times throughout the week, but not one of them asked me how I was doing or even apologized to me. Their employees were supposed to make sure the dance floor was clear of spills, but they did not. My friends took pictures and have proof that there was a spill on the floor, but the resort claims it's from the ice in a plastic bag that was used for me head. They tried to say that it wasn't there fault because me, the one with a concussion and memory loss, could not state for sure how I slipped even though there were witnesses that also filled out reports saying I fell because of spilt liquids on the ground. At the very least, I expected the employees to check in on me and make sure I was ok; after all, the chief neurologist from the hospital I was at came to the hotel the day after I left the hospital to check on me because he was that concerned about me. The hotel will not cover the cost of my hospital stay nor will they comp the night I missed at the resort. I have never been treated so inconsiderately by employees at a resort in my entire life. Loreto Lazo, Toffel Fletcher, Oniel Douse and Milton Reid were inconsiderate and heartless in this matter.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hey all. This is a fantastic resort hotel."

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ms. Frederica  on Apr 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
416 people found this review helpful

It was my first time in Jamaica. I have been all over the world and I must say I was very impressed with the service from the hotel staff and the exceptional entertainment crew at the hotel. Every whim was granted and I would reccommend this hotel to singles and families. Wheather was excellent too. I will be going back and I hope you all get a chance to find out the delights of this great place in the sun. Cheers. Freddie from the Uk.

Room Number:
2248

Arrival:
4th April 2011

Rooms:
Lovely, clean and cool.

Restaurants and Bars:
Exceptional treats for all tastes.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Just beautiful. Clean and plenty of sunbeds to go around. Staffing was attentive and full of fun.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
With shows on every night it was just great. The dancing and entertainment teams where always full of energy and the performances where excellent

Other Comments:
Will be coming back Jamaica.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bring your Lounge/Chair for pool and beach area"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Allen  on Apr 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
385 people found this review helpful

Had a pretty good visit there for our first time. However, many of us were somewhat disconcerted by the fact that you could not relax around the pool area and sometimes at the beach because of the lack of lounges. This occurred everyday as many folks would get up at the darkest hours in the AM and go save a lounge or chair by filling them with personal items and then not even use them until later in the day. Many others like my self who were there for leisure and not wanting to set the alarm for 4am were grumbling everyday about this. In speaking with the Hotel safe they admitted it was a hotel policy not to do that very thing but there wasn't anything they could do about it. All though the stay was very good that one issue with us and many others seemed to detract from the overall vacation.

Room Number:
1318

Arrival:
03/21/2011

Rooms:
Good

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not so good see above comment

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
average

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had A Great Time"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aaron  on Mar 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
374 people found this review helpful

Had a great time but it was tough checking in. They gave us a room with two double beds. I had a king ocean view reserved. After a long wait The room and view was great. I had a lot of fun I would return.

Arrival:
Wrong room given to us.It took two hours to get it right

Rooms:
great room and view. but maid did not restock fridge with beer and soda I had to leave note or call front desk for more beer.

Restaurants and Bars:
We got lucy and went to all three at opening during week. Japanese was best but buffet was good to.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
had to save chairs at pool by 6:00 am and Beach by 8:00 am

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went horseback riding at Braco Stables down to beach into water. Booked online with Jamaica Cruise Excursons. It was cheaper. It was Great.They had good shows but lasted barly one hour. The star friends were wonderful but they work them to long. Also went shopping at Rose Hall and Catermaran ride. But if you don't snorkel its not worth it. I booked it at the hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube