Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Secrets Wild Orchid

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 23, 2012

Secrets St James

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 16, 2010

N-Resort (Formerly FDR Pebbles )

4.3 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 5, 2011

Riu Montego Bay

3.5 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2013

Spa Montego Bay & Grand Palladium Jamaica

2.4 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2014

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort  

P.O. Box 999, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"Another wonderful holiday"
Posted by: Mary on Nov 2, 2013
see all reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica

#2
of 34 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 4.3

Based on 26 reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Information


Nestled between the scenic Jamaican mountains and turquoise Caribbean waters, Rose Hall Resort & Spa truly inhabits a more exclusive ocean-front location than other Montego Bay Jamaica resorts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.3 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  9
Average
  4
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 26

"Worst experience with rude, inconsiderate and heartless employees"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  JULIE  on Jun 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
378 people found this review helpful

My first night at the hotel, I was out with friends with I slipped on a puddle of water on the disco's dance floor causing myself to fall and hit my head on a ledge. My head was cut open and I laid on the floor bleeding from my head for an hour before the ambulance came. During this time, I became non-responsive. The hotel claims they did everything possible for me because they had a nurse in there. There was nothing the nurse could do for me because it was a head injury. The resort took over 30 minutes to call for an ambulance because someone had to offer to pay $2,700 upfront before I could be taken. The hotel never once offered to help while I laid on the floor bleeding from my head. I spent the next 20 hours in the hospital with a severe head injury. When I returned to the resort, none of the employees sought me out to make sure I was ok. I had to find them and talk to them about the incident. After I filled out my incident report, they said they would be in contact with me. No one ever spoke another word to me. They sent me 2 letters stating the EXACT same thing on each letter, but changed the person's name at the bottom. I saw these people multiple times throughout the week, but not one of them asked me how I was doing or even apologized to me. Their employees were supposed to make sure the dance floor was clear of spills, but they did not. My friends took pictures and have proof that there was a spill on the floor, but the resort claims it's from the ice in a plastic bag that was used for me head. They tried to say that it wasn't there fault because me, the one with a concussion and memory loss, could not state for sure how I slipped even though there were witnesses that also filled out reports saying I fell because of spilt liquids on the ground. At the very least, I expected the employees to check in on me and make sure I was ok; after all, the chief neurologist from the hospital I was at came to the hotel the day after I left the hospital to check on me because he was that concerned about me. The hotel will not cover the cost of my hospital stay nor will they comp the night I missed at the resort. I have never been treated so inconsiderately by employees at a resort in my entire life. Loreto Lazo, Toffel Fletcher, Oniel Douse and Milton Reid were inconsiderate and heartless in this matter.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beach was small and crowded - water was cloudy!"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  carol  on Apr 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
204 people found this review helpful

I went with 2 other adults and 2 teenagers (age 12). the people were very nice, but the hotel should have had fresh drinking water in lobby . I could nevr get a couple of lounge chairs on beach with unbrella or under tree, because the same people would get up everyday at 4am and take twenty chairs!!!
The water park was too babyish. The beach was much to small - no where to walk - and the water should have been cleaner. It was not like I expected.
the water was too rough to snorkle and the water sport people only stay till 12 noon then go off to another resort.
I did not care for room accomodations. We got the adjoining rooms but rather thatn a king size bed with rollaway we would have preferred two doubles with a roll-away!
They should have sunscreen protector for hair in shop ( or salon). They ran out of 50spf spray.
The golf course was too pricey! The food was fair. I would not go back.

Your Arrival:
Have fresh drinking water available in lobby upon arrival and departure ( or when lounging)
Lines too long to check in. thank heaven I was Hilton member

Rooms:
Rooms were nice, but we had a 5 people and no one wanted to sleep on roll -away bed. For that much $, I can't blame them. the room with two double beds was very nice and kept very clean by housekeeping, who were friendly, and trustworthy
In bathroom, body lotion should have been included with shampoo and conditioner and a shower cap.

Restaurants and Bars:
House wine was disgusting - all watered down, and my brother in-law ( who is a beer drinker ) said the beer ( Red Stripe) was terrible!
and if you orederd water at the bar , they never had a lime or lemon to put in it and I like to drink ice water all day.
The food was ok - as far as restaurants, the food was poor/fair - anything that I wanted to order would have cost me a lot extra, and that's not righ for the $ we paid. Also all the restaurants were booked when we checked in. We did end up eating at once place becasue a person gave us his reservation. ANd the 3 Palms we had to eat 8:30 at night ,which was much too late for anyof us.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was too small, and crowded with beach chairs - it was horrible! and we could never get chairs together with an unbrella - the same people had them reserved every day ( they must have run down there at 4am everymorning to put towels on chairs - we noticed the same pople all week with the premium chairs and unbrellas . It wasn't fair!!!
The water park was too babysish for teenagers. We thought the slides would have been higher.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were only "ok" . the water sports were hard to reserve , since the people left at 12noon or everything was booked when we got there

Other Comments:
Spa massage was not worth the $ /this resort is maybe good for traveling with very small children , but not teens or pre teens

security was very good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Needs to improve front desk manners"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  J  on Nov 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
172 people found this review helpful

We reserved a pool/garden view rm. We got a child's sandy playground and service road view(noisy/ugly)..we also got ants crawling on the nite stands and coffee counter.We reported it and nothing was done..reported it the second time and housekeeping sprayed..then they came back again:more spraying done(I think the spraying should have been done on a daily basis/not only when reported. Wanted room changed and was told by front desk that no rooms
were available(hard to believe)... could not get reservations at any of the
restaurants until late at nite(9PM)... then we were late for the shows (9:45 show time)..wait staff/entertainment group/bartenders very friendly..the front desk workers always passed a problem onto someone else instead of trying to solve it..need to be more personal....the couple travelling with us had a great view of the pool/ocean/and garden..great for taking pictures of the resort...they did not have an ant problem!!!!

Arrival:
arrival was smooth and timely..no glitches

Rooms:
One room Horrible with ants,noise,and child's playgrond
Room 2: no problems.. great view, no critters

Restaurants and Bars:
clean..reservations hard to get when you arrive mid week and stay for 4 or 5 nites

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was littered with seaweed (Tomas had just left 3 days before) but was cleaned daily with machines

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very limited due to rough sea

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"After leaving we felt we have not been to Jamaica"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Serge  on Feb 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
88 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Christmas break
Arriving 2 hours late due to major storm in Toronto. (Dec. 20. 08. for 10 days) Montego Bay Customs/Airport need major improvement. Nearly 2 hours to clear customs is a bit to long .

Rooms:
2 year old Resort ! Rooms are fearly new and standard. Cleaning is basic.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants are basic, clean, good food. Nothing extraordinary , like Punta Cana. Christmas dinner regular! Beach bars: terible drinks ! Watered down. Bartenders do not mix drinks properly. In 10 days no Bartender mixed proper Margarita drink.!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: Artificial with trucked in sand. Recomend wearing sandals when swiming.
Pools: 2 years old an tiles are missing everywhere. Pool deck slipery and cracked everywhere.
Grounds: In a need of a major TLC. Wery pool lanscaping maintenance.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Basic, not like other resorts. Tours: Ochio Rios, Shopping terible no bargins, better deals at the duty free at the airport. Montego Bay: No fency shoping.

Other Comments:
Resort lacks IDENTITY ! Need more Jamaican flavour ! JA MAN ! After leaving we felt we have not been to Jamaica. ( We will remember our first visit to Montego Bay and Jamaica as a major delay and frustration at the Montego Airport Iberostar is Spanish based and management is of a Spanich origin. It blends very well in Punta Cana and Majan Coast, but it needs a major impruvment in Jamaica. We will not be going Back !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We paid big five start prices, but got three star service from the desk"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
94 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 28- Feb 1
After sitting on the runway for two and a half hours to be de-iced, we did not get to the resort until 2:30 pm. We expected a pleasant reception, but felt like we were an inconvenience. We were given two welcome drinks, but NO smiles!

Rooms:
The room was very beautiful and we paid extra to have an ocean view which was well worth it. However, we asked to have our room changed because the large group of people on the balcony next to us were very loud and the cigarette smoke was heavy. They did move our room but it took an hour and we did not get to bed until after midnight. When we left, since the hotel was fairly empty, they gave us a late check out. However, when we came back up to the room, we were locked out because they did not adjust their records to show our late check out and our card was automatically diengaged.

Restaurants and Bars:
If you don't like to eat were people are smoking, stay away from this resort. Lots of people smoke! The breakfasts and lunches were great with lots of choices. I was expecting a large variety of seafood and saw mostly fish and calamari. No scallops, scrab legs, clams. There were mussels once and we missed the lobster that they served the night before we got there. What they had was good. But the desserts were usually pasty, recycled from the night before. They usually had one decent one and the ice cream bar was nice!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice pool and beach. We especially enjoyed the beach. It was very relaxing! The chairs weRe not too comfortable, however. You got one card for a towel and had to use it for a towel. So if you wanted to lay on a towel, you could not have one to dry off with. Not good!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The man that took us on a catamarand (He said we would be fine, but we never did get wind and mostly floated) talked us into going next door to his brother's souvenir stand. BAD idea. Pushy, weed smoking strange people trying to sell over priced items. It was scary. They kept pushing up into a corner and aksing for money. Why did an IBEROSTAR employee send us there?

Other Comments:
Every day the maid took our lines, but never gave us wash cloths. So every day we had to call down for them. We requested an iron to go along with our ironing board, but never got one. We requested the door to our balcony be fixed since it would no lock, but that never happened. We paid big five start prices, but got three star service from the desk. Any one who worked for tips was very pleasant.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had A Great Time"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aaron  on Mar 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
395 people found this review helpful

Had a great time but it was tough checking in. They gave us a room with two double beds. I had a king ocean view reserved. After a long wait The room and view was great. I had a lot of fun I would return.

Arrival:
Wrong room given to us.It took two hours to get it right

Rooms:
great room and view. but maid did not restock fridge with beer and soda I had to leave note or call front desk for more beer.

Restaurants and Bars:
We got lucy and went to all three at opening during week. Japanese was best but buffet was good to.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
had to save chairs at pool by 6:00 am and Beach by 8:00 am

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went horseback riding at Braco Stables down to beach into water. Booked online with Jamaica Cruise Excursons. It was cheaper. It was Great.They had good shows but lasted barly one hour. The star friends were wonderful but they work them to long. Also went shopping at Rose Hall and Catermaran ride. But if you don't snorkel its not worth it. I booked it at the hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bring your Lounge/Chair for pool and beach area"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Allen  on Apr 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
408 people found this review helpful

Had a pretty good visit there for our first time. However, many of us were somewhat disconcerted by the fact that you could not relax around the pool area and sometimes at the beach because of the lack of lounges. This occurred everyday as many folks would get up at the darkest hours in the AM and go save a lounge or chair by filling them with personal items and then not even use them until later in the day. Many others like my self who were there for leisure and not wanting to set the alarm for 4am were grumbling everyday about this. In speaking with the Hotel safe they admitted it was a hotel policy not to do that very thing but there wasn't anything they could do about it. All though the stay was very good that one issue with us and many others seemed to detract from the overall vacation.

Room Number:
1318

Arrival:
03/21/2011

Rooms:
Good

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not so good see above comment

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
average

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wedding at the Rose Hall Beach Resort"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gina  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
113 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 12 - 16
Check-in was good. Even though it was holiday weekend hotel checkin was fast

Rooms
I was there for my brother's wedding and out of the entire party I was the only one who paid an addition 200.00 for an oceanview room. But come to find out everyone had the exact same room without paying the addition charges. I was furious. I requested a room with two beds and I got a room with 1 Kingsized bed. They were able to relocated me to another room but the changed room was missing the safe. I waited for two hours for them to come in and install the safe. The air conditioner never reached a cool temperature. And we had to call and wait for wash clothes everyday. The mini fridge was not working properly

Restaurants and Bars
The restaurants were just ok- Exact same thing onthe buffet everyday. The wedding reception was held at the steak house I made the mistake of ordering the steak it was horrible. The japanese retaurant was entertaining and the food was better.The bars were good. Service on the beach was bad, because the bartender on the beach was very PREGNANT!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The staff on the beach were very entertaining. They tried to get people involved with activities. I was impressed that they remembered our names each day. The male staff that cleaned the beach early were very flirtatous which made me uncomfortable when spending time alone on the beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
There was a magic show one night. It was awful what a waste of time

Other Comments
The wedding went off beautifully. My brother and new wife were happy with the ceremony. The wedding coordinators did a great job. I would rate this resort 3 stars

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First Time In Jamaica "

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laurica  on Jan 29, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
341 people found this review helpful

We are from Regina Sk. Canada. This is our 11th winter in the Caribbean, first time in Jamaica. We were there Jan 6th - 20th, 2011.

Room Number:
1131

Arrival:
We arrived about 4pm. we were the only ones checking in at the time. The bellhop graciously took our bags, but the front desk people took their time getting to us (they weren't busy, just ignoring us) - I felt that each staff member was waiting for the other to serve us. There was no welcome drink - if you came in a bigger group you got welcome drinks, but then maybe no bellhop! We were taken to a lovely room by the bellhop. Once we got to the room, the front desk called to say we missed filling out some forms - had to go back, it was their mistake, not ours. This is about the only negative we had about the resort - hint - if you want something done, go to guest services - they bend over backwards. We told them at guest services that this was our 5th stay at an Iberostar Hotel, and that evening we were gifted with a bottle of Rum and 2 t-shirts.

Rooms:
We had an Oceanview Junior Suite. Lots of storage and quite roomy. The way the hotel is set up, most rooms will give you an oceanview (probably be safest to request when booking). Lots of hot water, shower pressure was excellent. We had a tub as well. There was a fridge in the room that did not work (again complained to the front desk twice - no result), but it really didn't matter. All bars and resturants are really close by.
There is a large safe in the room, no charge.

Restaurants and Bars:
For the specialty restauraants, bookings are made at guest services. They book on a weekly schedule - Monday to Sunday. Saturday mornings is when they start booking for the week (hint, hint!) You can also stop by after 4pm to see if there were any cancellations and maybe get in that way. Restaurants and bars were all 5 star. Food was excellent all the time. We ate at all 3 specialties, and I don't know what to say, they were all great, portion sizes are huge. All types of food was available at all the resturants. Beef was great, not tough as compared to some of the other islands (Dominican, Mexico, Cuba). We didn't see any lobster served, however, lots of shrimp, crab, chicken, pork, beef, fish. A large variety of salads and vegetables, desserts to knock your socks off. The great thing was all the staff spoke English and were more than willing to tell you all about the food, where it came from and how it is best cooked. Food was not too spicy or too bland unless you requested it that way. All soft drinks, coffee and tea are self serve, so you don't have to wait if you don't want to.
Bars were lovely - the lobby bar tended to be a bit slow, so if you don't like waiting, just pop over to get your own. Drinks are good, make sure you ask for a "surprise" once in a while - they make lots of drinks that are not on the menu (sweet orgasm, Jamaica love). You don't have to look far to find a bar - there is the lobby, cigar room, disco, pool, beach and Calypso theatre.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We only spent one day at the pool, as it was very crowded around the pool. Not many loungers were available. The water was not heated, but not too cold. the pools are large, and not many people are in them, so if you actually want to swim, you can do so, provided you can maneuver your way around all the loungers parked poolside.
The ocean was lovely. Water was warm. Sand bottom, no rocks, some muddy spots. You would only wear watershoes if you don't like the mud squishing between your toes :). The beach is small, and loungers can be hard to come by.
Uncle Tony's restaurant is available for lunch, no shirt or shoes required!
(give the kitty a pet for me if you see her)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
All water activities for the 3 hotels are here - parasailing (about $70/per person - 2 people at a time), snorkelling trips out front of the resort was $50/pp, there was hobie cats and kayaks for no charge, but you have to pre-book at the scuba shack)and get one hour at a time.
The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the Rose Hall Shopping Mall, every hour from 10-5 except Sunday. Prices are reasonable. 1 pound Blue Mountain Coffee - $22. US (good coffee).
There are cabs available.
There are some vendors set up on the other side of the pier, but you go at your own risk. The vendors are enthusiastic, and very friendly. They are very willing to haggle. Prices are excellent. (They like talking and touching, if you are friendly and polite, they don't get upset if you don't buy anything).
We went to the Black River/YS Falls - long and bumpy bus ride, but excellent tour guides and lots of beauty and information.

Other Comments:
Tips are appreciated by most of the folks. This is one of the few places we've been to where people have expressed real gratitude ("Really appreciated, mon").

The prices at the shops in the hotel are very high, about twice the prices of the Rose Hall Mall shops, and 3 times more than the vendors.

Buy your liquor at the airport ($11.00 for 1l. Appleton Rum).

Jamaica would not be my favourite place to visit, it is definitely a young people's culture. But the people were incredibly friendly and warm. There was no language barrier, and people love to share stories and information, so it was a very rich experience.

WIFI is $2.00 per half hour in the lobby only on your own laptop. I forget how much to use the internet cafe - about twice the cost - and the computers are really slow, and the two I tried did not work (one had keyboard issues, on had Java disabled).

If you have a chance to fly Air Transat Club Class (about $300 extra/pp)it is well worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our first time in Jamaica!"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Serge  on Mar 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
96 people found this review helpful

Arrival at Christmas
Air Canada delayed 1 Hour ( not due to bad weather ??)

Rooms
Clean, suficient.

Restaurants and Bars
Clean , good food selection,

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Showes wear ( Resort is only 2 years in operation )

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Basic / minimal / Bars were serving waterdown drinks and we found that bartenders did not know how to mix drinks propery,

Other Comments
Our first time in Jamaica!. Airport delays, 1.5 hours to clear customes coming into Montego Bay aftr we landed. Going home 2 hours in line to check in to the Airport !
We found that movment on the island is restricted and we were reminded by the resort not to trawel withou a tour. Did book a tour to Ochio Rios, Not wort it!!
We will not travel back to Jamaica ! Not impressed !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube