Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Montego Bay > Montego Bay Hotel Index > Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Montego Bay Hotels with Similar Ranking

Secrets Wild Orchid

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 10, 2015

Secrets St James

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 16, 2010

N-Resort (Formerly FDR Pebbles )

4.3 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 5, 2011

Riu Montego Bay

3.5 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 10, 2013

Spa Montego Bay & Grand Palladium Jamaica

2.4 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2014

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort  

P.O. Box 999, Montego Bay, Jamaica

"Another wonderful holiday"
Posted by: Mary on Nov 2, 2013
see all reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica

#2
of 35 Hotels in Montego Bay

User rating 4.3

Based on 26 reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Information


Nestled between the scenic Jamaican mountains and turquoise Caribbean waters, Rose Hall Resort & Spa truly inhabits a more exclusive ocean-front location than other Montego Bay Jamaica resorts.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Reviews

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 4.3 of 5 26 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  9
Average
  4
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 26

"Exceeded all expectations"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  caleb  on Nov 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
471 people found this review helpful

Staff was top notch everyone smiled and was truly friendly. The more you tipped the more love they showed you. The staff were honest and decent with us about where to go off the resort. Example don't go to Margaritaville. Complete tourist trap way over priced and it isn't real Jamaica. Some of the excursions are amazing the Dreamer Cruise (booze cruise) was awesome. The tour of the country side was ok. The food for buffet style was outstanding. The three special restuarants were good the best being the cajun place and the japanese place. Can't stress enough about the staff hook up with a few of them and they will really take care of you.

Arrival:
Travel from the airport was fast only 25 minutes from the airport.

Rooms:
Were by far better then I expected. Kept insanely clean and leaving a tip for the maid makes sure your room looks new everyday your there. No issues with thievery either. The room had a safe and several times we left someone out accidently and it was always there when we got back.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobby bar awesome: Dewayne, Dean, and Micheal really work their rear ends off.
Leaving a few bucks everyday makes sure you are served quickly and with top quality drinks (nothing weak). The music bar was run by Delbert who was the friendiest guy there great stories from him.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Immaculate beach swept everyday I am not kidding. Pools ere very pretty but often cold. I was there in Novemeber though.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Stay away from Pier One and Jimmy Buffets place it isn't real Jamaica. They are crappy american bars overcharging tourist. Hook up with a staff member to show you some cool stuff in Jamaica (SHOPPING, RESTAURANTS, VARS ETC).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was even better than imagined!"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Candance  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2009
289 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 2009
After visiting the Hilton Rose Hall Resort and Spa online, it was exciting to arrive and discover it was even better than imagined!

Rooms:
The rooms are small but have a lot of character and are clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars all served amazing food and drink and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach area and pools are incredible! The kids had a great time in the lazy river and on the waterslides and I especially enjoyed the beach. One employee in particular, Berton Hudson, was so friendly and helpful---I learned to windsurf and had many amazing hobie cat rides out to sea. I hope the Hilton Rose Hall Resort and Spa realize what an exemplary employee they have in him!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on a zip-line tour. It was very expensive, but extremely fun.

Other Comments:
I've been doing a bit of research and have discovered that the lifeguard staff at most of the resorts only make the equivalent of about $50/week! Please bring tip money! Most of these people, who are always so happy and friendly, have families to support which, even in Jamaica, cannot possibly be done with that kind of income. It is my hope that someday the Jamaican government along with the tourism industry, will raise the standard of living for all these hard-working citizens.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were treated like royalty by the friendly staff"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Dec 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2009
284 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov 25 to Nov 28, 2009
Airport arrival was uneventful. We took a taxi for $30 and we arrived at the Grand in under 30min. Checkin was 3pm, but they allowed us to register and have lunch/drinks early - room was ready by 1pm. We were greated with a drink while at the registration desk, and a cool cloth hand towel to 'cool' yourself.

Rooms:
We stayed in an oceanview room (not ocean front). It was fantastic - the room was clean and looked exactly like the pictures on the website. We had a king sized bed, linen sheets, A/C was perfect, beautiful bathroom. There was nothing to complain about, and if you put the 'do not disturb' card in your key slot they really did respect that. People were very friendly - including the butlers. A++.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the Surf/Turf resturaunt - food was 'good' and nice atmosphere. Another night we ate at the Japanese resturaunt, it was also 'good to better'. We ordered room service one night, it was fair (food was luke warm). Bars were stocked well, good drinks, service was slow at times - but that is to be expected. The buffet was clean - breakfast was super, lots of variety. Only sub-par feature for us was there was not much variety for lunch buffett and there was not as much fruit as expected.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"iberostar beach"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  George  on Feb 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
552 people found this review helpful

Arrived in a group of 6 with each couple being on different carribean holidays before. Each of use agreed that this was the best resort and vacation we have ever been on. Bartenders to entertaintment staff was 1st class. Clean rooms, excellent food, and very friendly staff will make us all come back. When you are there make sure to ask for the 'tremor'.

Room Number:
1145

Room Block:
??

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We will surely be back there again in the future!!"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Glenn and Diane  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
307 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Apr 27- May 11
Everything went smoothly, arrived approx noon. Reception staff are very friendly and it was great being able to communicate plainly in english.

Rooms:
Average rooms, clean and well air conditioned. Bar fridge stocked every second day which was a pain...fixed with a small tip and friendly chat with maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great!! Steakhouse was excellent. Buffett was well tended and a great varity of tastes. Hats off to waiter Shane and Marco on the food line.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were well tended and very clean. We are beach folk so can't say much about the pool...seemed like everyone there was having a good time. The beach was one of the nicer we've experienced. The bar service on the beach was great, as we hardly had to move to refresh our drinks. Thanks to Shaneka, Leroy and Paul, they made our stay there worthwhile!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We stuck mainly to the resort but did do the sunset catamaran cruise from 6-8, which was worth the trip. We stayed in town after the cruise and walked down the strip to Margaruitaville. Found that place a little overrated...lousy service! We took the shopping trip shuttle to Rose Hall Shops...too many jewellery stores!!

Other Comments:
We have visited the Dom Rep 3 times as well as Cuba and this is the first Resort that we would consider going back to! The people of Jamaica are truly an experience worth checking out and we will surely be back there again in the future!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff made up for the bad weather"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jim Rorison  on Jan 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
366 people found this review helpful

We stayed the first week of January, 2010 at the Beaches and were both blown away by Jamaica and its people. Prior to leaving we were both skeptical of traveling to Jamaica due to its reputation of crime and violence. We are both police officers and have had more than our share of encounters with aggressive people of Jamaican descent. This trip has totally dispelled this skepticism and we are already planning a return trip with our extended families.
We arranged for a private transfer from the airport that ended up being a waste of money. I figured that after such a long flight from Calgary with my 18 month old daughter it would be better to buck up and get to the resort as quick as we could. Well, the people with the free transfer arrived about 5 minutes after we did, so we didn’t gain much of a reprieve other than not waiting behind a line to check in.

I had tried calling the hotel directly the day before to ensure there would be a crib available so we wouldn’t have to drag our play yard down for Riley and they simply told me not to worry that it would be looked after when we got there. Upon arrival check in was quick and friendly and they were calling for housekeeping to have a crib put in our room. We had upgraded to an ocean front suite to ensure a bigger room and also give us a view when we were waiting for the princess to finish up her afternoon nap and evening sleep.

For you parents traveling with infants or toddlers, the crib was clean and in good repair. We brought our own sheets and blankets which worked out well. Having said that the crib is rather small, so if you have a large child they might be able to get out. I saw my daughter trying to put her leg up on the railing to escape, something she never tried at home that I am aware of until that moment.

The room was very clean and the bed was a comfortable king size, nothing like the hard beds in most resorts in Mexico. There was lots of closet space as well as drawers for clothes. The bathroom had lots of counter space and included a hair dryer that Christine said worked well, so you don’t have to bring your own. The only fault I could mention, because we spent time on the balcony while Riley slept was that when sitting down on the balcony chairs the thick stone railing blocks your view of the ocean. Trifling for sure but when you’re reading book or just sitting you have to stand up to see the ocean or look at the beach.

The food at the Beaches was great, although they don’t have as many food stations as they do at the Bahia Principe in the Mayan the quality was very similar. Breakfast included the usual omelets, real sausage, crispy bacon, and a donut making station that we managed to stay away from. We ate lunch each day at the outside buffet near the Dive Centre and I know I ate mine and someone else’s share of jerked chicken each day. They offered chicken, turkey and beef burgers as well as a variety of salads.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort ... lots of praise for Iberostar chain!"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ken  on Feb 1, 2009  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
271 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
By Skyservice from Toronto; delayed by 10 hours with bogus excuse; cramped seating; too many passengers continually walking and milling around; awful in-flight food Upon arrival they lost our baggage (left in Toronto); it arrived 24 hours later Check in was relatively slow, given it was 10:30 p.m. and very few travellers

Rooms:
Our room was Oceanview ... beautiful, well cleaned and bar stocked. It s a new hotel, and therefore in good shape; a/c was great

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars everywhere and good service; food was the best we've had at an all-inclusive; great variety and buffets; a la carte was great at Tony's Steak House

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds are beautiful and well-maintained; beach was beautiful with lots of loungers and mix of sun and shade; lots of spots to relax around the grounds; pools very nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Took shopping trip to MoBay; first stop a 'crafts village' .. we were swarmed and felt very uneasy ... worst experience of hasselling we've ever had; other shops were fine.

Other Comments:
Beautiful resort ... lots of praise for Iberostar chain. We would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Jamaica was Beautiful, Sunwing was the Problem!"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lillian  on Jan 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
393 people found this review helpful

I travelled to Montego Bay on December 27 with my daughter and son for a week. We had a great time in Jamaica at the Rose Hall Beach Resort, a resort that is only two years old. It shares the beach with the Rose Hall Grand and the Rose Hall Suites, both more costly to stay at. The Beach Resort was elegant, spacious and well laid out. Someone was always cleaning so it was spotless! Staff was friendly and always smiling. There were children but not as many as I've seen elswhere.

Your Arrival:
We went through the airport quickly but waiting for other passengers to board the bus was time consuming. It was almost 11 when we arrived after a short 20 minute drive. Check-in was slow as only 2 people were working on the desk. My son got us a drink from the bar while we waited. They did serve a light meal in the restaurant for late arrivals.

Rooms:
Nicely done and clean. One of the nicest I've been seen in the Caribbean. There was a view of the ocean even though it was a garden view room. We were even able to watch City TV from Toronto.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good in the buffet and was also very good in the three a la carte restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools are big and there is a swim up bar. They are good but don't compare with the pools at the Sheraton in Cabo San Lucas. Beach was good but there was always some seaweed and sea urchins. Cuba still has the greatest beaches!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Visit Montego Bay, especially Margaritaville. Great Fun! Norman, the cab driver gave us a great tour of Montego Bay and came back and got us a few hours later.
Do the glistening waters/snorkeling tour at the hotel. Amazing!

Other Comments:
1. The a la carte restaurants insist on long pants for men. My son only had jeans, I had assumed he had packed long pants so he wore dress shorts to dinner. The Japanese restaurant was very rude about it so he had to go and put jeans on. The night before the Steak House said his shorts were fine.
2. When you stay at the Rose Hall "Beach" you are not allowed on the other Rose Hall properties even though the other 2 resorts can visit and eat in the Beach restaurants. If you try to look in the other resorts they are rude and ask you to leave. Money counts here!
3. We had brought Starbucks insulated mugs for drinks ($20 each), the maid removed them from the room thinking they were garbage, even though they were sitting on a desk away from any other dishes. We never got them back. Starbucks in Jamaica? Front desk was of no help and said we had to deal with the maid ourselves.
4. There are Sea Urchins in the water and not just on the rocks. My son stepped on one the first day and it was quite painful. Apparently it happens all the time. Wear water shoes!
5. We arrived at the airport on time for a 9:45pm departure on the Sunday night but there was no indication Sunwing was coming, resulting in mass confusion. The Sunwing rep had been at our hotel while we were waiting to leave for the airport. They finally checked us through only to continually delay the plane, first 12:45am, then 3am, then 7am. At 12:30am the Sunwing rep said the plane wasn't coming and we would be sent to the Holiday Inn. Many passengers were angry and we were never clearly told why the plane wasn't coming.
We met with another Sunwing rep at 10am the next morning who said weather had held up the plane and we would be flown out but not until 11pm that night. Many passengers were upset about this late departure.
We did have another day in Jamaica at an all inclusive so that was the good news. The Holiday Inn doesn't compare with the Rose Hall resorts but they do have a great beach.
***** The lack of communication from Sunwing was very poor and I heard several passengers say they will never fly Sunwing again. Hope this info is informative for other travellers.

Overall I would return to Jamaica and the Rose Hall.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Iberostar delivers yet another excellent holiday"

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Dec 13, 2011  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
901 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Stayed 21 Nov to 5 Dec 2011. Bus ride took 30 mins. Three sister resorts are next to each other, Beach, Suites and Grand. Nicely landscaped, not a big resort, close walking distance to everything from all rooms. No need for umbrella, can walk everywhere through the bldgs. Incredible view of ocean from lobby balcony overlooking pool and gardens. Evenings and nights were warm (25C), no need for sweaters.

Whole resort very clean, cleanest washrooms ever seen. Service was excellent from everyone: Kamisha our buffet waitress, bartender Patrice (often at the lobby bar, ask her to mix you up a Lady Cordelia, very refreshing rum based drink), chef Ramon, plus many others which we do not know their names. They ALL provided excellent service.

Rooms:
Room was very nice, lots of dresser and closet space. Everything worked well, despite AC having a few hiccups. Shampoo and body wash in shower dispensers. Very well insulated rooms, could barely hear our neighbours (unlike the Dominican and Cuba). No problem drinking tap water, however are provided bottled water during fridge replenishing. Or, ask for it at front desk. Our maid Karlene Wallace is a super nice lady and did an excellent job looking after us.

Restaurants and Bars:
We only ate at the buffet. Very pleased with selection and quality. I am hard pressed to come up with a complaint. All I can think of is that the green beans and carrots were always undercooked. Cajun and Japanese restaurants are next to buffet. The only beach front restaurant is Uncle Tony's which is open for late breakfast, lunch, and snacks. Evenings it transforms into a-la-carte Steakhouse. Our pet peeve is guys with baseball caps and sleeveless muscle shirts in restaurants (and I don't mean beach restaurant). Come on now, you're not at McDonald's!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is nice. Lots of chairs, and lots of shade from trees and palapas. No palm trees on beach, just around resort bldgs and gardens. Water shoes not required. Sea grass washed in, more so closer to pier. Excellent snorkeling, best along rock piles, and all within roped in area. Starfish (even at knee depth - plse be kind and do not remove them), lion fish (absolutely beautiful, but stay away), trumpet fish, ray, flounder, sargeant major, tang, puffer, parrot, eels, less electric ray, barracuda, skate, etc. Also small clear "no see-ums" jelly fish, and brown ones which sit on ocean floor, dome side down, and kind of look like a brown plant. My husband got stung daily by clear jelly fish even in waist deep water. Feels like pins and needles, sometimes lasts several hrs. For a good part of our 2 wk stay, ocean was not clear due to churned up sand. Would occasionally see, but one miserable cloudy and very windy day it was really bad, bits of white styrofoam washed up on shore. Were told it floated in from a river somewhere. Beach bar located under pool bar. Washrooms on beach level are next to bar, and at Uncle Tony's.

Other Comments:
Shopping, beach vendors located past pier. Also free shuttle to Rose Hall Shopping Plaza, 10 mins drive; 30 stores, 10 of which are jewellery stores.

Neither one of us was sick, nor were any other guests complaining of illness. Had only 5 bug bites, barely itchy, not at all reactions like we had elsewhere.

Very much enjoyed our holiday, everything was perfect except for the ocean conditions, but that you have no control over. We give this resort a 5 star rating.

A well deserved thanks goes to Debbie for her website.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hey all. This is a fantastic resort hotel."

Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort
User Rating:  Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ms. Frederica  on Apr 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
932 people found this review helpful

It was my first time in Jamaica. I have been all over the world and I must say I was very impressed with the service from the hotel staff and the exceptional entertainment crew at the hotel. Every whim was granted and I would reccommend this hotel to singles and families. Wheather was excellent too. I will be going back and I hope you all get a chance to find out the delights of this great place in the sun. Cheers. Freddie from the Uk.

Room Number:
2248

Arrival:
4th April 2011

Rooms:
Lovely, clean and cool.

Restaurants and Bars:
Exceptional treats for all tastes.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Just beautiful. Clean and plenty of sunbeds to go around. Staffing was attentive and full of fun.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
With shows on every night it was just great. The dancing and entertainment teams where always full of energy and the performances where excellent

Other Comments:
Will be coming back Jamaica.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube