Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Reviews

Home page > Jamaica > Ocho Rios > Ocho Rios Hotel Index > Sandals Grande Ocho Rios reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Ocho Rios Hotels with Similar Ranking

Couples Sans Souci

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 23, 2010

Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed May 2, 2013

Riu Ocho Rios

3.3 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed May 24, 2014

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa

1.6 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 16, 2012

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios  

Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

"I'm totally under-whelmed, the worst stay I've ever had so stay away!!"
Posted by: richard on Mar 13, 2013
see all reviews

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Reviews
Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Pictures and Information
Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Ocho Rios Jamaica

#2
of 16 Hotels in Ocho Rios

User rating 3.3

Based on 19 reviews

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Information


Sandals Grande Ocho Rios far exceeds the most lavish dreams of couples searching for that ideal lovers' getaway in the tropic

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Reviews

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 3.3 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  5
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Wedding (3)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
1 - 10 of 19

"HORROR SHOW!!! DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY!!!"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cass  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
356 people found this review helpful

If you like to stay in dirty motels then you'll love this resort. We stayed on the Manor side in a villa(Paid extra to have our own private pool). We arrived upon our villa to see that pool looked like a lagoon...It hadn't been vaccumed for god knows how long,the patio was black from all the dirt,and there were towels left on the old,needed to be repaired lounge chairs. I'm guessing they were from the previous guests that left towels and noone came to clean up the pool. We got into our villa..we didn't even wanna take our shoes off the floor was soo dirty. We than inspected the rest of the villa..we found hair(NOT OURS!!) In the bath tub.The kitchen was really crappy,with an old dirty fridge filled with crap drinks and no name booze. You couldn't make a rez for dinner so when dinner came around if you didnt wait on line outside for 45min before the restaurant opened you would have to eat at the buffet(which was aweful) The only good restaurant was Valentinos.All others were low grade crap food. The beach was very small on the riviera side.Not to mention the hammering because of construction while trying to relax by the beach.The pool on the manor side was dirty with mold growning on the swim up bar...And top shelf liquor consisted of JD and Cointreau..everything else was no name crap...so forget about a good martini..The nitelife was aweful..They had nothing going on and the activities for the day were the same EVERYDAY!!! WORST VACATION EVER!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not safe!!!"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  kathy  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
352 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Sandals in Ocho Rios for 6 nights and I would not recommend this resort to anyone!! The second day we were there I had $850.00 stolen from my safe. The next day our son had his Iphone stolen from the room. The next day my daughter had a glass taken from her room and when she asked the conciere about it, somehow it reappeared.
Our son's fiancee had her credit card used for unauthorized purchases and when we came home our son-in-law had his debit card used for unauthorized purchases

We were told we would receive a copy of the report taken from security before we left and never have received it yet! When asked if we had travel insurance we told them we didn't and they said that was too bad. Maybe they need to get insurance for their employee's sticky fingers!

The hotel is beautiful and the bar service great but staying here will cost a lot more than what you paid for your trip!!

Room Block:
7501-7504

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They won't let me tell u how bad it was!"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marc  on Mar 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
231 people found this review helpful

We were so dissappointed by our experience. The Travel Agent had convinced us that we had finally reached a level of income and age that a Sandals vacation was warranted. That we had earned the "best of the best" and all they did was take our money and treat us poorly. We have been to several "all-inclusives" and this one just took our money and our pride away.

Arrival:
Flight departed from Toronto on Sunday January 15 and returned on January 22.

Rooms:
We arrived at the resort only to find silence. There was no one available, which was fine, but the shuttle driver was reluctant to let us remove our own bags from the vehicle so we had to wait. Soon a Porter was located and with our bags in hand we rushed off to check in, only to find we the Porter chancing after us telling us that we needed to tip the driver. Hmm, this was a bit bold, and a little unexpected.
• The check in was slow and cumbersome to say the least. Six people (three couples were on the shuttle bus) and there were three staff members standing behind the check-in desk. For some reason only one staff member acknowledge the shuttles arrival and began booking us in one by one. I guess it would have been too much to have each desk staff member assist in the check-in process.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast at the Bayside was barely adequate which was very unfortunate since it is the same breakfast every morning. There was super salty bacon, dry breads and pastries, some mixed meats and a greasy omelet station. Thank goodness for fruits, toast and peanut butter. Not quite what I expected from a Sandals resort. Last year the Flight Center booked us into the Paradisius Resort in the Mayan Riviera and the buffet for breakfast, lunch or supper was far, far superior.
• After leaving breakfast we went to the front desk to make reservations for the two restaurants which we were told was almost mandatory if you wanted to ensure a position. At the front desk we were informed by the unwelcoming staff that there was no availability for the week. Stunned, we tried to explain that we only arrived last night and begged them to find something. They simply shrugged and said that they could do nothing. Only after asking to speak with a resort manager the front desk staff decided to call the restaurants to see if they could indeed book us something. It later became abundantly clear that many tourists fail to show up for their reservations since they double book or drink to much during the day. Simply put, the front desk service was again inattentive and would rather argue then try to resolve the concern. There would have been room on any given night if we were willing to wait for table to become available due to cancellations or no-shows, so why the conflict.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We then booked a shopping tour for the next day. The tour cost $20 per person or $40 per couple and lasted two hours. We were told to show up at 9:40 for a 10:00 o’clock departure. We arrived as requested and waited and waited. By 10:10 I asked the young lady Chaniqua who booked our tour why we needed to show up so early since she only arrived at 10:00 herself and why the shuttle was no where to be found. She assured us that the shuttle was indeed on its way and that we simply needed to be patient. As fate would have it, during our wait we learned that we could book a taxi for $13 and it would take us shopping in town and we could stay as long as we liked. Upon hearing this news I asked Chiniqua to cancel our excursion and please call us a taxi. Understandably she was not thrilled but she complied, or at least so it appeared. After waiting 30 minutes for a taxi, a Porter named Clinton walked by and asked what we were waiting for. I told him and he said that he would call the taxi again, but he soon returned to inform us that Chaniqua had never called the taxi, she had simply left us abandoned and waiting. Okay, things are not getting better; we began counting down the days that this vacation would be over.
• The following evening we are walking around the resort when a downpour occurred so we took shelter near an outside lounge beside the amphitheater where we met an older couple from New York. They were well travelled and had stayed at many Sandal resorts and confirmed our impression of this resort. They simply said “please, please do not judge Sandal resorts by this one. This is very poor and we have an appointment with the manager to express our dissatisfaction”. Intrigued and trapped by the rain we decided to socialize further and enjoy further substandard service. The young bartender seemed more intent on conversing with the young lady at the far end of the bar than attending to other patrons. As the night progressed the young lady became more interested in the bartender and the bartender became more intent on her to the point that we had to walk into the bar to get service regularly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Activites on the resort are EXTREMELY expensive"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alla  on Jan 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
143 people found this review helpful

Our stay at Sandals Grande was HORRIBLE, the people at the resort were great, the staff was friendly and nice, but the food, the activities, and the layout was not good. On the Manor side the villas are so far up the hills and covered by the natural growth of the trees, that your pool will never be warm enough to use in December.

Rooms::
The rooms were ok, the room attendant was great.

Restaurants and Bars::
Restaurant and bars were ok, the portions were extremely SMALL and there was no special dinner for Christmas day. The entire mood of the resort on Christmas was just very subdued.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
The beaches and pools were ok. I wouldn't reccommend that anyone upgrade to the concierge level in December, the private pool was always cold and we could not swim in it even one day. That was a wasted upgrade.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Activites on the resort are EXTREMELY expensive compared to other resorts. You would be best served to go with another hotel activity group and not use the Sandals provided one.

Other Comments::
If you are planning a wedding, do not take the wedding package that is included in the Concierge level. You will find that EVERYTHING is an additional cost. You are given only 1 photo, and depending on how many you need you will have to pay between $600 to $1,200, and this does not include the negatives, this is an additional $200.00(robbery). You will have to pay $89 each for your guest not staying at the resort, and that is only until 6:00pm and doesn't include food. If they have to stay after 6:00pm that is an additonal $90.00. If you want them to have a meal, then that is an additional cost. Flowers, and anything else you would NEED for your wedding will be an additional cost. The basic package only gives you a pastor and a drive to the location.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Too Far from Montego Bay"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Feb 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
171 people found this review helpful

This resort is extremely large - We stayed on the Manor Side in an old villa.
Every morning husband had to do worm removal from the floors for me. Also had a family of gecos or some kind of lizard living in our kitchen. I am not one with nature. Hated taking the bus to the Riviera side and the little jitneys back to our villa. Would rather have been able to walk to ocean side.
Food was excellent, expecially Arizona Rest. We ate there 3 night. Rest. intern from Baltic ( think her name was Jennela) was excellent!!! Friendly and talkative - should do well wherever she winds up. We went back to villa early afternoon one day to nap - no napping for us!!! Workmen outside sawing and hammering. I guess working on one of the other rooms in villa. We would not go back - After staying the Royal Bahamian, this resort seemed like it was in need of a total face lift.

Your Arrival:
Jan. 26. 2010

Rooms:
Villa on Manor side

Restaurants and Bars:
Arizona Restaurant our fav.
San Genaro was only so-so

Beach party was really good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I'm totally under-whelmed, the worst stay I've ever had so stay away!!"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  richard  on Mar 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Wedding | Family and Kids
121 people found this review helpful

After my arrival we had to be relocated the next morning because of all the noise from construction. The next room was next to the laundry pickup and the sounds golf cart alarms was 24 hours a day. The bed was good but that's pretty much it. they cleaned the rooms at 4 pm daily which made for difficult showers and changing.

The food was subpar and every meal was tiny portions, overcook and lacking any quality of preparation. The final blow was we had to wait for 2 hours to even get a seat and then it took another hour to get the meal served on the table. The manager of the restaurant had no idea how to run a restaurant.

Drinks very weak and the poorest of liquors. Had to request proper mixers and still used as little liquor as possible.

this worse than a cruise ship as they charge you to make a phone call to the adjacent property. Buses not on time, the pick up service never comes even after several calls. The refills for the in room frig weak at best and they only put tiny bottles of juice or water. Pretty much the Carnival of the land resorts, cheap, shitty service and overpriced to say the very least.

The wedding party had to move rooms since they had partitioned their room and add fuel to the fire, the entire planned event was totally screwed up by a novice DJ who got the sequence totally wrong and decided on his own to add some stupid local dancer which blew the wedding party over the edge with that crapp.


Overall I'd strongly suggest finding another resort of quality and forget any Sandals locations.

The worst I've ever seen and I live out of a suitcase most of the year so I'd know a quality resort if it were possible. They advertise strongly but fail to deliver.

STAY AWAY AND FIND ANOTHER RESORT OF QUALITY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Number:
7346 AND 7501

Arrival:
7/3/2013

Rooms:
7346 AND 7501

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing..."

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on Jun 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
306 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed on the Riviera Beach side and let me tell you, WE WILL NEVER COME BACK HERE AGAIN! We've been to many places before Ocho Rios, e.g. Dominican Republic, Cancun, Cuba, Costa Rica... and Jamaica, is at the bottom of our list. We were not expecting to have the time of our lives, but even relaxing on the beach front was not enjoyable. The water was dirty and not clear/blue like expected and the sand was not white and SOOOOOO dirty as well! The food was also NOT up to par and coffee (which I need every morning), was SUCH a disappointment. The only thing that we were satisfied with was our actual hotel room, however, we woke up every morning to the sounds of construction as they were renovating. We sure didn't get our money's worth for this trip. At best and I mean at ABSOLUTE BEST, this should have been a 4 star resort, NOT 5!!!! (and believe me, 1 star difference can make a huge difference in price...especially going from anything to a 5) Of course, everyone has their own expectations and maybe ours were a bit high seeing we've had such great experiences our other vacations. Take my review with a grain of salt and do your research. If you do end up coming here, I really hope you have a better time than we did.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disappointed"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
242 people found this review helpful

I found the level of service very poor. On more than one occassion we missed our tee time/dinner reservation because the staff did not inform us of the correct day or time. It was like they were all new!!!

Another example was the new years eve party, no one informed us it was included, we were lead to believe we had to purchase an excursion, with which it was included??

The food was ok, not great. There is very little beach.

The best part was we stayed in a villa, and we could get away from the loud music played in the main pools.

I would never go back to this resort.

Room Number:
7244

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"-30 and better than snow"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Liane  on Feb 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
164 people found this review helpful

We travelled to Jamaica for a second time staying at Couples Sans Souci in Ochos Rios the last time we were there. We have stayed at other Sandals, Beaches, and many other resorts in the carribean. The purpose of the trip was to attend a wedding with friends and family. First off, this resort is big. It is divided in three sections. The Riviera section, Manor Section and the Villas at the back of the Manor. Our first disappointment is that you have to take a shuttle to the beach if you are staying at the Manor. No big deal you say, well it is when you acccount for everytime you want to go to the beach, time taken away from your holidays. We were apparently upgraded to the the Villas when we were suppose to stay at Riviera side were the beach is. The bride had requested that the guest attending were to stay in one area instead we were split up all over the Manor side. There is alot of walking which can be good or bad. Good because you can walk off the tasty food that Jamaica offers, bad if you need to go back to the room and you are quiet far,or you can wait for a tram to take you. O.K. so we stayed on the Manor side and did alot of lounging around the pool. They are like little fourplex and on a good not we never heard our neighbors.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival went smoothly going through immigration in Montego Bay was a breeze. Since it was Sandals we all went to the Sandals Bar and a few red stripe beer until everyone got there (there was 26 of us). The bus ride was as previously mentioned close to 2 hours with a stop in between for bathroom and more red stripe. Sandals was ready for us and everyone was checked in fairly smoothly. We attended the welcome/parking lot supper. All of the other restaurants are closed during these theme nights just like the beach party supper everything is closed unless you go to a grill to get a hamburger/fries/hotdogs/nachos. The first night was great fun for everyone and it's a good start to your holiday were you can unwind, mingle and celebrate the fact that you are on holidays!

Rooms:
Ahhhh, the rooms....well they are in need of some fresh paint and a little elbow grease cleaning. I bring Lysol or dysinfected spray, nuts you say. Well think about all of those people that were there before you and wonder how well they clean. Not taking any chances to be sick or pick up something during my holidays. The maid did our beds and cleaned our room very well. These villas are big and have a little kitchenette, why I don't know. Not planning to cook and there are no utensils and the stove does not work. As previously mentioned in other reviews the pool in front of the room is cool it is far to shade to warm up and had no desire to go for a dip, nice to look at though. Everything worked fine in the room no issues, watch out for the bed it is high nearly killed myself getting out, forgot how high it was. I'm 5"2 so clearly had to make sure I watched my step going in and out of bed, very comfortable bed and pillows.If you are like us we are out very early soaking in every minute of our holiday and if you are all day in the sun and indulging of alcohol needless to say, we slept like babies. Fridge was stocked up with water, pop, fruit juice and we asked for beer one day and he gave it to us. Ask for it and they probably will give you what you want.

Restaurants and Bars:
All of the restaurant were really good, the only issue is the Market and the omelette station it was far to slow some waited 20-30 minutes for an omelette and some gave up all together like my husband who loves the omelette station in the resorts no luck at this one. Some of the staff was friendly some others weren't but most of them were generally well cordial. They say no tipping but boy they did accept and the only issues here is that they were not happy with a few dollars it seems like they wanted 17%-20% of whatever you would tip at home. Bars of course like previous reviews not enough staff for the bars unless you tip them well (not pleased with that concept, I do not always carry cash). We had a few issues in trying to book or get everyone to attend meals they do not like having to seat a big group, so after one or two tries decide just to go two or four at a time it doesn't matter if you don't all sit together and it was much easier to do it this way. We had a rehearsal supper and that was fantastic the food and the entertainment was superb!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
As mentioned every time you want to go to the beach you jump into a van that takes you there. (The beach is located on the Riviera side). A bit of an issue we did have an idea by the previous reviews and now we know why we don't book at a big resort! The pool was great and with the hottub close by it gave you some option of course the pool bar is close but again they were not enough bartenders for this huge resort. The grounds were well maintained spectacular flowers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
When you attend a Sandals you can partake in the other Sandals resort near by and the closest one to us was Sandals Dunn River. We went there on the recommendation to try the Pizza...mmmmmmmmmmmm that's all I can say about that. We also went to the Italian restaurant there and very delissssh. Make sure men that you have a collar on your shirts and closed toe sandals out of the 12 every one happen to have the criteria and in we went. We took in the Catamaran/snorkeling/dunns river climb it was all good just found that after the river climb they took us back in hurry a bit disappointed in that. Snorkeling was o.k. I asked them if they fed the fish it's cool when they do that because you will a variey of species and for the ones that have never snorkeled get to see something. Also did the horseback riding in the ocean, totally enjoyed this I was always concerned because on other resorts the horses look thin and always put it off to doing it but these horses are nice and healthy and they were all calm, this was of all things I have done on resorts the a huge high great feeling of running in the ocean with these horses, thank you Patrick and his crew for a great memory. Jill our orientation queen and activity guide you are one of a kind and enjoyed meeting you, everytime I went somewhere, there she was and she remembered us, people like you make up for everything else.

Other Comments:
The wedding was great, fantastic! The bride & groom seemed very happy with everything. The wedding planner kept us on a schedule for toast, cutting of the cake, the bride & groom dance and all other request that had been made by the wedding couple. I love destination weddings especially when everything went as smoothly as this one! Thanks for inviting us we loved it! Congratulations Stephanie & Richard xoxo.

Would I recommend this resort not if you love the beach stick with what you booked for. For a wedding yes, but be careful with large groups and the ages that are travelling with you and attending. Dunns River Sandals is on a smaller scale and more to our liking mind you I think it is more expensive because most of the rooms are ocean view not sure on that one but you can always go and spend the day at the Sandals we were at if you book at the Dunns. I can honestly say that out of the 26 who attended everyone seemed happy and content and for the ones that have travelled before know that this resort is to big and not a 5 we were rating it more as 3+. Places travelled: D.R. Cuba St.Lucia Aruba Mexico Jamaica

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful mature landscaping But not a 5 star"

Sandals Grande Ocho Rios
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ralf  on Nov 21, 2010  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
351 people found this review helpful

Having recently returned from two weeks (November 2 to 16, 2010) at the Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Beach and Villa resort, it is with great reluctance that I have to write this e-mail on our experience at this resort and in doing so, hopefully prevent others from a similar misunderstanding or experience.

Having traveled extensively the past 43 years, both for pleasure and business throughout a good part of the world including USA, Canada, Europe, Caribbean, Asia and North Africa, I am able to objectively look at resorts and places based on local conditions, people and the environment.

Also, taking into account our previous two stays at Beaches Resorts, including the one at Negril Jamaica, and the recommendation of travel agent, the extensive marketing material, brochures and TV advertisements, we were surely assured of an all inclusive luxury vacation at the five star Sandals Grande Ocho Rios. Our expectations were at this high level only to be dashed shortly after arrival to a much lower level at best a 3 star rating. Even though the vacation package cost was less than the brochure rate, one must remember that this is low season and ALL resorts reduce their prices to attract customers BUT the standards are never compromised.

With the cost of this vacation, even at the discounted price, it was twice as expensive for half of the services that could have been at a luxury 5+ star Mexican beach resort or at similar cost for a resort in Aruba or St. Lucia.

Never at any time or on any other trip to anywhere in the world did I empathically state that I wanted to go home on the second day, this indicates the level of frustration and disappointment about this resort, it was the accumulative little things AND first impression.

On the positive side, the people, country and the mature landscaping of the resort was impressive and the strolls amongst the various villa pathways and overall grounds was a pleasure, but that is where it about stops. We must give full credit to Sandals with their foundation to improve the lives and environment of Jamaica and we full heartily gave our support to their “Golden” preschool building efforts.

Arrival:
Upon arriving at Montego Bay airport, clearing customs and heading directly to the Sandals lounge, we were greeted by Sandals staff, placed our luggage in theirs hands and we were told to wait for the transfer bus.

Transfer to/from Resort

- Advised transfer bus here, exit Sandals lounge have to identify baggage to “Redcap”, “Redcap” place on cart, wheeled to minibus.
- Baggage placed on bus, MUST pay “Redcap”, trip to resort, independent driver and bus, again payment required to unload baggage.
- Return trip the reverse procedure.
- Last time at Beaches in Negril, luggage was tagged and room marked at airport lounge, all check-in info given on bus to resort. All was taken care of by Sandals.

Check-in

- Upon check-in fill out form with information that was provided by travel agent, online pre-registration and on-line Sandals chat
- All three were provided with my Sandals number; however, it was not in their system
- No time for hot towel or drink, form to fill out, cramped area to write, etc. and go to reception for credit card imprint.

Rooms:
Room Issues

- Room number mix-up we were sent to wrong room, key did not work, new keys brought out. Why not redirect to correct room???
- Booking was for Manor building but sent to villa, as an upgrade? Even though they did not have Sandals number?
- Villa room was supposedly concierge but with old décor and furnishings.
- Next day, after dinner, during a major downpour, dropped off at villa, got to room, BOTH keys did not work. Cannot get into room, had to walk 5 minutes through pouring rain to front desk, told I must have put card next to cell phone or camera for it not to work. My wife had hers in a purse, it did not work either. New keys issued.
- Four days later, same thing happened, four new cards programmed but this time two given without end date. (These worked for the remaining time)
- Concierge features in room three bottles of alcohol, all had their seals broken and not usable
- No telephone directory to any resort items by the phone or anywhere in the room. Limited to what was printed on daily activity sheet.
- Inconsistent room services, not all towels replaced when needed, pool towels taken and not replaced, dust bunnies by our baggage.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food

- Overall the food was good and acceptable with no major gastronomical problems but the variety for a tropical country and from previous stays in Jamaica was considerably reduced and inconsistent between days. The size and selection was about half of that in our last Mexican and Beaches stay.
- Also, although they advertise multiple a la carte restaurants, there are only two distinct ones, Orchids and Valentio’s, the rest are reshuffled from snack bar, breakfast and lunch buffets rooms. These two distinct ones, in my opinion were close to a 5 star, the others on the pier, patio, terrace or in buffet rooms, a novelty but not 5 star, maybe a 3+
- The snack bars were avoided, after two attempts. Either overcooked or raw burgers, inedible hotdog, associated buns or questionable fries.

- As a returning Sandals/Beaches guest, we had the pleasure of the manager’s dinner, since a 2 week stay we attended both dinners, first was nicely prepared chicken but the second was Italian lasagna. (Last Beaches manager dinner was lobster)
- In all the restaurants, even though coffee or tea is part of the meal, none was ever offered or available.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities

- The sports center was difficult to figure out, due to poor weather and rough seas, requested snorkel fins only ( have own mask & snorkel) from water sport center to practice within the calm area within break wall. They stated, they do not give these to guests unless they are on the boat snorkeling tour. Talked to guests that went diving and found out how rough seas where, 2 to 6 foot waves. This I could not snorkel in.
- Without asking could not find out about tennis, rackets, tennis balls and or court usage.
- They did provide their normal pool activities, rock climbing and games as weather permitted.
- The best evening entertainment was the Sandals “Encore” where the best talent from their other resorts where in competition. Managed to see the show by hearing it was on, not really open to the guests.

Other Comments:
The Resort

- In general the resort is showing its age and they are renovating as time goes by, however, first impressions are important and long lasting, cannot understand why two long peeling strips of yellow paint are hanging from ceiling in Market Place Restaurant, very visible, the side of the waterfall from the upper pool to the lower has a large flaked area of paint, and multiple steps need edge painting for safety. Yet they find the money to repaint the curbs green, ceiling at entrance and replace fully functional TV with flat panels.

Overall, if an issue was identified, all verbal efforts were made to resolve the problem, however, mostly talk and hoping guests do not follow-up. The resort setup, three tier guest consisting of “normal”, “concierge” and “butler” made for a class guest society, this should not be in an all inclusive, all guests equal except for room locations or view. Only “butler guests” had 24 hour room service and other perks. Most of the employees were trying to please, service improves with “tips”, and some went far beyond what could be expected. These were few and selective.

Sad to say, based on this experience and our opinion, this is NOT a 5 star resort and we therefore cannot trust the literature or any other advertisement of any Sandals resort or property for another vacation. This was our last Sandals experience.


Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube